Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
11
1-20 of 37 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Awful iced tea maker
6/6/2011

Customer review by JWFox

1.0 stars 6/6/2011 by JWFox
by JWFox

I don't usually write reviews, but have to tell you about this iced tea maker. I read some of the negative reviews and thought Oster would have fixed whatever was wrong with this product by now... nope, not a chance. I ran fresh water through to clean as it is directed. I dried all the pieces, and decided to make tea the next day. I even found a nice spot on the kitchen counter and let it sit overnight. So today, I tried it. It wouldn't turn on!!!! Just like other reviews, this thing won't work! Do not try it. It's garbage and will be returned asap. I'll continue to brew tea on the stove and pour it into my old ugly juice container when it cools. Sorry Oster, you've lost my support for good. If you choose to ignore this review, like I did others, good luck to you.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWFox
Nappanee, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
WORKED ONLY ONCE
12/13/2009

Customer review by YinYangTwins

1.0 stars 12/13/2009 by YinYangTwins
by YinYangTwins

After reading reviews on other websites that indicated some people had got ones that only worked one time... I simply ignored it and got one of these from walmart.com... only to brew one single picture of ice tea and it never to turn on ever again there after. Wow, how can a company stay in business selling this kind of junk! It was a great idea, and this was the only black ice tea maker I have ever found (which matched appliances in my kitchen), but very very bad parts.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YinYangTwins
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worked only once!!!!!
1/6/2010

Customer review by workedonce

1.0 stars 1/6/2010 by workedonce
by workedonce

Seems I am not the only one. Is this a bad lot number? The first unit we bought worked one time then stopped so we returned it only to find that the second one only worked once! Love the look of it as it is the only black iced tea maker on the market!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workedonce
Would recommend to a friend? No
Oster Tea Maker
3/26/2011

Customer review by StrawberryA

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by StrawberryA
by StrawberryA

In the age of BPA's and other chemicals leaching out of plastic, it is great to have a glass pitcher. It has a nice slimline handle and makes great pitcher for the table. I am very happy with this maker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StrawberryA
Roanoe, V
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My New Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker
10/27/2012

Customer review by SpiritDancer

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by SpiritDancer
by SpiritDancer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading all of the reviews on this Oster Iced Tea Maker, I was very skeptical of buying it, but I'm very glad I did, & happy with my decision & the product. This is an awesome machine. It does what it's intended for, does it well & is very fast. It only takes 1 to 1.1/2 minutes to make a whole pitcher of tea. It's a good size too. It's great looking, small enough to sit, unobtrusively, on my small beverage counter, & is a pleasant addition to all of my other black appliances. I only use 1 or 2 tea bags (which saves tea bags & still tastes great), not quite as much ice as they call for (my own preference), & the tea comes out great every time. I use 1 cup sugar to every pitcher of tea made, but the tea bag compartment won't hold it all, so I have to add it to the pitcher when the tea is done. Also, the one time (2nd use) I did add the sugar to the tea bag compartment, it didn't all dissolve. Most people's iced tea makers stopped working after the first pot/use, but mine is still working & humming right along, considering I use it once every day. I am quite happy with this beautiful Oster Iced Tea Maker & highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpiritDancer
East of Reno, NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Deal
12/29/2009

Customer review by unclevito

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by unclevito
by unclevito

My son is stationed in Bagdad and this plus tea bags and 50lbs. of sugar was what he wanted for Christmas. Southern Boys need their "Sweet-tea" even in Iraq.. Good, well made product at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclevito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great T maker
2/12/2010

Customer review by Gambler53

4.0 stars 2/12/2010 by Gambler53
by Gambler53

Overall I like it very much. I think the pitcher itself could have been a little more sturdy. It seems a little fragile, especially the handle. I would have been happier if the pitcher had been a nice heavy (unbreakable) acrylic. I am sure though that I can find another pitcher I like better as long as the height is right the design of the brewer itself allows just about any 2 or 2.5 quart pitcher to work as long as the output spout swings out over it. We fill the tank to capacity out of a full pitcher of water and let the brew run into the remaining water in the pitcher so it ends up full of just tea (no ice). We buy loose tea and use 2/3 of a cup for each batch.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gambler53
Winston-Salem NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great, Looks great
1/21/2011

Customer review by NickyChick

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by NickyChick
by NickyChick

I've been looking for a black tea brewer for some time now. Most other stores sell white. I planned to keep it out on the counter and I have black and stainless steel appliances in my kitchen. So I did some online searching and came across this tea maker at Walmart! I was hesitant to buy it because of some of the reviews on here, and I don't usually shop at Walmart. But went ahead anyways because a few reviews doesn't mean every tea maker is bad. Walmart's shipping was super fast! Upon receiving it, I promptly opened it up, cleaned it and used it. I am happy with how it looks, works, and how it brewed the tea. I've used it several times since then, with absolutely zero problems. I HIGHLY recommend!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickyChick
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
really disappointed
1/26/2010

Customer review by zoiemarie

1.0 stars 1/26/2010 by zoiemarie
by zoiemarie

I am now on my fourth one since christmas. The first one made about 6 pitchers of tea. Then would not turn on, the second made two, then wouldnt turn on. The third made two, then of course would not turn on. I am going back to get one more, my friend bought hers the time I got the first one and hers is fine. I am so disappointed, I got rid of our old one for the new stainless steel look to match the rest of my stuff, little did I know -the new ones dont work!!! No one else seems to make a household size in stainless.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zoiemarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
2/23/2011

Customer review by IhaveadognamedDaisy

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by IhaveadognamedDaisy
by IhaveadognamedDaisy

I received this as a Christmas gift (2010) and use it about 12 times a week. We drink a lot of tea! It's very easy to use and clean. I read all the bad reviews and thought WHAT!, I love my tea maker! In the 3 months that I've owned it it has never given me any issues. I thought having the glass pitcher would be a problem but it's held up so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IhaveadognamedDaisy
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product, very classy
9/22/2012

Customer review by IrishQueen

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by IrishQueen
by IrishQueen

I like this iced tea maker because it's easy to prepare the tea and the glass carafe is very classy to serve it. The process is quick and the tea is tasty. It's easy to pour the water in the iced tea maker and it's ready to serve when it automatically shuts off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishQueen
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only worked once
1/11/2010

Customer review by DesertBubbles

1.0 stars 1/11/2010 by DesertBubbles
by DesertBubbles

Got as a gift for Christmas, followed instructions cleaned part, ran the first cleaning pot never emptied. Went to run a regular pot of tea and it would not turn on. Checked several outlets, allowed to cool completely and nothing. It is a nice looking tea maker, however, it appears now I am the 3rd review on here that it only worked one time. I can't actually say if even worked right the first time as nothing ran into the tea pot. Also the glass pot does not feel very sturdy. I am not going to exchange, I would worry that one bump and it would shatter. It ask questions below, I would use it daily but it didn't work. I have had the product since Christmas but just opened the box today to use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertBubbles
Bullhead City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quit Working after 3 months
3/9/2010

Customer review by DDK2010

3.0 stars 3/9/2010 by DDK2010
by DDK2010

I got this for Christmas and while it was working it worked great. But it has just stopped working for who knows why. When you pay $40 for an Ice Tea Maker it should not stop working after 3 months. Also the lid is not the greatest. It has a hole in the top which makes no sense to me because you do not need the lid on to make the tea. So it should have a closed lid that does not almost fall out when you poor the tea. I would not recommend this to anyone. I liked it because of the glass pitcher but other than that, the $15.00 tea maker is probably a much better deal, that's what I am buying next.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDK2010
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Highly Recommend!!!
11/29/2011

Customer review by CntryGrlGray

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by CntryGrlGray
by CntryGrlGray

This is a great tea maker that I highly recommend. It is really easy to use. This was my first tea maker so I used the instructions but after that first time it is great. The color is perfect and will not get as dirty as other colors. I like the design, it is made so when not in use it can stay out and does not take up a lot of room, very compact. One of my favorite features is you can use tea bags or loose leaf tea. This leaves you open to a lot of variety. If you like tea then this is the perfect machine to add to your kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CntryGrlGray
Ruther Glen, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/4/2012

Customer review by texmomo

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by texmomo
by texmomo

I would definitely give this a 5 star rating if the pitcher was made of plastic. I like everything about the tea maker but the pitcher. It is shaped wider on the bottom and I find it a hard shape to fit in my refrigerator and I am concerned about breaking it too. I did not buy this tea maker first because of negative reviews ....but I have found it to be a great tea maker and it looks really nice on my counter top. The real plus for me is that it is black too which are really hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texmomo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted 4 months
10/6/2011

Customer review by imhome

4.0 stars 10/6/2011 by imhome
by imhome

I did not read the reviews before I purchased this. It was wonderful - for 4 months. When I went to make a pitcher of tea it would not switch on. I am waiting for Oster to contact me concerning it, however, I do not expect much as I did not keep the receipt. I would like to purchase another, but after reading the reviews will probably look for a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imhome
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Tea Machine
2/10/2011

Customer review by dcdame

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by dcdame
by dcdame

I have purchased literally dozens of machines over the years and this one brews great. It does not clog up or have a water heating problem as time passes. The only thing I have an issue with is the fact that there never seems to be any extra carafes available. Since they are glass, we have had a few mishaps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dcdame
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/2/2011

Customer review by CricketShopper

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by CricketShopper
by CricketShopper

After years of dealing w/the Mr. Coffee leaking and stained plastic pitchers, it's finally over! Treated gently and handled properly, this product solves all the problems of cleaning and efficient iced tea making without the headaches. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CricketShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1/23/2011

Customer review by foxyladyshopper

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by foxyladyshopper
by foxyladyshopper

I almost didn't get this tea maker because of all the negative reviews . But I'm glad I did .It looks good and so far (knock wood )it works great ! I use it almost every day.Sometimes 2 times a day if I make green tea too.We love tea.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foxyladyshopper
Springdale, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not worth the money!
5/29/2012

Customer review by RobynDeAnn08

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by RobynDeAnn08
by RobynDeAnn08
Walmart associate

bought this as a mothers day gift and it worked for a little while and one day it just quit working.I prefer the cheap 20 dollor tea maker.ive had them my whole life but my mom wanted something different.its not worth a penny

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobynDeAnn08
Mobile,AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews