Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

12 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
9
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

the ultimate piece of junk
4/29/2010

Customer review by rataco707

1.0 stars by rataco707

This tool looks somewhat flimsy at first. When you hold it in your hand, it does indeed feel very flimsy with lose parts that barely hold together. Be careful that the shaft does not escape before you use it because the rubber pieces at the end easily pop out. Assuming that the tool still is in one piece when you first apply it to a chain if you are very lucky, guess what: the end piece supposed to push the chain rivet will most likely break as it did when I first used it despite excessive caution. With more luck, it may only bend. In any case your chain will not open. Only the tool will break. I still rated this product 1 entire star because it was not possible to record zero star or a fraction of a star.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rataco707
Would recommend to a friend? No
very poor quality.
10/4/2010

Customer review by togr

1.0 stars by togr

this tool is very poorly made, and actually, should not even be on the market. i was not even able to remove, and re-install, one(1), pin in a chain,before it broke. it is money wasted-do not buy!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
togr
La Crosse,Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Simple and perfect
4/19/2010

Customer review by quest1966

5.0 stars by quest1966

This is a simple perfectly functioning tool. Works like a charm and easy to use/hold. I haven't used any other chain tool before so I'm a novice and this was a piece of cake to use. Keep in mind this will only push out the pin on the link so the chain can be removed. You need a master link to connect the chain again. If you have a 6 speed (18 speed), save your money and cut the chain with a hack saw then buy a new 8 speed chain for $10 that already has the master link. I could not find a master link that would fit a 6 speed chain.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
quest1966
Roseville, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Bike Chain Tool
3/26/2011

Customer review by gary71

1.0 stars by gary71

Poor quality tool, sloppy threads, crudely made. Go to the Bicycle section of Walmart, look for the Chain Breaker Tool made by Bell. It really works and appears to be well made. Plus - You can easily return it if it does not work for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gary71
Santa Ynez, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Waste of time
11/4/2010

Customer review by nykrinhawaii

1.0 stars by nykrinhawaii

This tool broke the first time I tried to use it. Had to get a refund , a real waste of time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nykrinhawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Worthless
2/7/2011

Customer review by jto2e

1.0 stars by jto2e

I used it a couple of times but it is really flimsy and the bolt stripped out in it really fast. The spacing is all off on the part that's supposed to hold the chain links so you basically have to hold it in yourself. This thing is not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jto2e
Would recommend to a friend? No
No big deal really
12/2/2014

Customer review by NickNameChain

5.0 stars by NickNameChain

I bought this tool on line out of convenience since the closest bike shop is over 50 miles from my home. It worked just fine. It arrived at the store in like one day and was not big deal to pick up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NickNameChain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a piece of garbage
4/7/2011

Customer review by WendyAB

1.0 stars by WendyAB

The pin that is for pushing the chain pin out wiggles and is very loose, the second you try to push it comes off the head of the chain pin, and the pin on the tool bends and dents very easily. Will not work, the part that is to hold the chain steady is spaced all wrong and you are basically trying to hold the chain yourself. crazy piece of trash.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WendyAB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not worth the hassle of buying
6/9/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This product met my expectations in that I paid very little so the quality matched. I expected it to be a piece of junk but at least work once or twice. This tool could not even partially work before breaking under the pressure. Do not buy this item because even the low cost is not worth the hassle of buying and then shortly returning it when it breaks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
11/14/2014

Customer review by Cadillac31

1.0 stars by Cadillac31

Broke the first 2 min PS I'm not new to changing bike chains

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cadillac31
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do not judge it by its looks
12/15/2014

Customer review by abcresty

1.0 stars by abcresty

The tool looked great and worked great until I actually used it, the drive pin which flops around in the handle would not hold steady on the rivet. When I turned the handle the pin bent and would not push the rivet out. The best thing about this tool is Walmart's return policy. I returned the defective tool and was given a refund. I will pay more for a quality item. Save your time and money........

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
abcresty
Would recommend to a friend? No