Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 136 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Helps my dogs know their boundary...
2/20/2010

Customer review by jesserin37

4.0 stars 2/20/2010 by jesserin37
by jesserin37

We originally purchased this when we got a larger-size breed puppy (Australian Shepherd/Blue Heeler mix) so that we could have some "damage control" within in our house. Now we use it to keep him and our older (and also large-size) dog in the utility room of our new house, which does not have a door into the rest of the house. I purchased this gate for around 20 dollars in our local Walmart store and have had it now for about 4 months. While it is not the highest-quality wood, we really like it since we can remove it when need be. Also because we rent and cannot alter the structure of the house by installing a gate that takes screws and would damage the framework of the doors. It takes some getting used to to learn how to adjust the width, but it works well. At first, both dogs, would jump up with their front paws on the gate and it withstood all that pressure. The pads are getting slightly worn on the sides as it no longer holds quite as tight, but for what we paid, we are very happy. I would also recommend using it as a training tool to teach your dogs that this is a barrier that they cannot cross (without jumping over, of course), so that hopefully some day you can remove the gate altogether and they will be trained to not go further than that imaginary line. That's what we're working on with our dogs right now...

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jesserin37
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so Good!!
2/5/2010

Customer review by OhioianGirl

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by OhioianGirl
by OhioianGirl

Great product so far, until my pug learns how to jump it. It went right into the door way with no struggle or assembly needed. So im happy with that. I was originally looking for a cheap baby gate to do the trick but this is all they had in stock at the time. For a similar gate, without the puppy paw prints and a different color of wood you can get a baby gate for about 8 to 10 dollars cheaper. None the less this does the job just fine for now

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioianGirl
Hillsboro, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste the money!!!!
10/6/2011

Customer review by Frostykitty69

1.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Frostykitty69
by Frostykitty69

I bought this last week for our new 6wk old Pit Bull only because I could not find the gate I had purchased 2yrs ago at Walmart for our other dog. It only took about 5 days for her to figure out how to use the door and door frame as leverage to scale the gate like Houdini because the gate is only 23" tall and has wiring that goes horizontal and vertical creating little sort of steps for them to climb. It's a poor design as well. The pressure system doesn't work unless you figure out which notch will work first and then cram and squeeze it into the door and she's already chewed chunks out of it too!! I was able to find the gate that I had 2 yrs ago that Walmart used to carry in store. It's website only now, but you can have it shipped to store for free and it's 40" tall, sturdy metal frame with vertical bars only, so no climbing, with a one touch door for you and a doggy door on the bottom, and it's only $33.00!!!Trust me, save your money and get this one....Carlson Extra Wide Walk Thru Gate item#0089161800130. You'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frostykitty69
naples, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Pet gate
11/22/2013

Customer review by donnafla

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by donnafla
by donnafla

These gates are great..The best feature (I think) about them is, the walls/doorways you use them in- don't need to be flush..Most every other gate I've seen , must be mounted in a flush opening** I use these gates all over my house..I use them in open doorways, so my dogs can't push though the screen doors..I use them to keep them in a specific room, like the kitchen, when I'm going out....When I want to keep bedroom doors open to have fresh air flow - I use them to block the doorways , etc to keep the dogs off the carpeting.. I only wish the offered more sizes..This particular model is fine for smaller dogs..Larger dogs can jump over them..But all and all I like the gates...They are very simple to use and adjust, and they are pretty sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donnafla
Melbourne,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't do the job
10/7/2010

Customer review by Deb1959

3.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Deb1959
by Deb1959

My pet, a toy poodle, was able to jump over it the first day we used it. She also chewed on the bottom wood a little, I guess until she figured out how to jump it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deb1959
Walker, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great gate, great price, and a great cause!
10/10/2011

Customer review by TheSilverdragon

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by TheSilverdragon
by TheSilverdragon

I bought this gate because I have two small daogs that I wanted to keep out of the bedrooms of my new home. I wanted something that was both well constructed as well as nice looking since I was planning on leaving it in place. This gate is made by Evenflo and is of a very nice quality. I like the color and the metal/wood construction As opposed to the plain looking gates that you can find just about anywhere. I also bought it because it is only 23" tall since I am leaving it in place. It makes having to step over it much easier. Plus I was pleased that a portion of the sale goes to the ASCPA. If you need a gate for a small pet and want a styish option, I recommend this gate.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSilverdragon
Massillon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returned to the pound... I mean store
8/31/2012

Customer review by LadiSilverfox

2.0 stars 8/31/2012 by LadiSilverfox
by LadiSilverfox

I bought this gate to help keep my puppy away from my cat, so that she could have her own dog free zone. I was unimpressed. ~ While the gate expands the rubber feet are in a solid position. Not good for older homes where walls may not be as flat as they look. I found the gate would wobble a lot. We had to place a large tupperware bin behind it for added security and stability. ~ The size adjuster was difficult to use. It took both my husband and I working together to strong arm and wiggle the locking piece while the gate was in between the walls to get it to actual lock. Trying to lock it outside the tight walls made it unlock once trying to place it. However once in place even when moved it stayed locked. ~ Not good for doorways you plan on moving through with your pet. It was easy to step over, but while trying to hold a puppy on a leash and remove it from it's pressure fit area was awkward and difficult. I almost knocked my dog in the head several times trying to knee and push it free. If it's going to be blocking that doorway permanently, this is less of a problem.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadiSilverfox
Erwin, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!
4/23/2011

Customer review by Redlotus89

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Redlotus89
by Redlotus89

This is exactly what I was looking for, for the price I was a little concerned but it arrived very fast and was easy to set up. It's short enough so that I can step over it but not so short that my cat can escape.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redlotus89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Better Than Expected!
2/17/2012

Customer review by bizzeecottage

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by bizzeecottage
by bizzeecottage

I am thrilled with this gate! We have a similar gate we have owned for almost 30 years, but it is not as nice as this one. This gate has a wood frame that matches our cherry molding in our home perfectly! It looks like it was made for our home! It has cute pawprints along the top and bottom that are subtle enough to not be tacky. Since the mesh inside the frame is made of covered wire it should last well. I am going to purchase another one because I can get two of these for less than one we saw from a different manufacturer (that is not as nice!) The gate is easily adapted to doorways and hallways, and we even use it to close off our deck where the stairs go down! Great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bizzeecottage
Xenia, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Another "jewel" from Walmart
7/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the first time I've used store pick-up for an online order and it was fairly painless and convenient. Timely delivery and a quality product, as advertised. I am surprised and delighted with the finish and overall build quality. Once you mark where to set the adjustment (I use this in only one location) it's relatively easy it install and it effectively keeps my beloved cat from coming down the stairs to my man cave then I'm "focused" on the project du jour. Perhaps it's the ASPCA endorsement but in any event apparently she still loves me because she comes in to socialize when the gate's not up. I wish the "people gate" to my cave was as effective... Maybe if I get another one of these and put it at human face level... with a "Danger - Keep Out" sign attached. {;-) Anyway, solid product and recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
barely holds up
5/3/2011

Customer review by FrooGalShopper

1.0 stars 5/3/2011 by FrooGalShopper
by FrooGalShopper

bought this for a new daschund pup. gate does not 'pressure' against the wall. there are no springs anywhere to keep up, only a latch in the middle with notches to keep gate open. I will be returning this item.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrooGalShopper
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pet Gate
2/20/2011

Customer review by Darrel641

2.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Darrel641
by Darrel641

I had to return this product to Walmart since it would not secure firmly to each side. All the gate would do is prop up which meant my pet could push it over with ease.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darrel641
Chana,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth the money-that's the problem.
5/17/2011

Customer review by Straker

2.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Straker
by Straker

For $17 the gate is worth it. It has a nice look and finish but when I attempted to lock it in place, the wooden lock bar snapped in two. I'm attempting to glue it together but I'm sure it will break again when under pressure. The gate is okay if you treat it very gently as the wood used is very fragile.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Straker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
3/4/2011

Customer review by mgcvd

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by mgcvd
by mgcvd

This gate fits our needs perfectly. The price is very reasonable and construction is solid. No need to spend any more for pet gate IMHO.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgcvd
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/10/2011

Customer review by KudisMom

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by KudisMom
by KudisMom

The price of this gate was the best I could find. And since it is an ASPCA product, I know it is safe for my puppy,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KudisMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
works well, is cute
4/25/2011

Customer review by reviewCA

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by reviewCA
by reviewCA

It is a bit small, does not cover hall areas. Works well in a doorframe. It is cute that my dog has an ASPCA gate to keep her in specific rooms. She is helping her friends...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pet Gate
5/5/2011

Customer review by BetOnYou

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by BetOnYou
by BetOnYou

Great gate for the price and nice looking too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BetOnYou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks Great
6/17/2011

Customer review by FunToSun

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by FunToSun
by FunToSun

Very sturdy. Keeps my dogs out of the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunToSun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice gate!
8/21/2011

Customer review by startupbluff

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by startupbluff
by startupbluff

Really like how it can be used anywhere! Great for dogs that can't jump very high. NOT that high, so not good for kids or dogs that can jump.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
startupbluff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Does the job!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Manusmom

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Manusmom
by Manusmom

Had to buy a replacement gate, my less than 2 lb. Chihuahua, chewed thru the plastic one. So bought this wire and wood one. This really does the job, she doesn't give it a second look.!! Works very well, sturdy, be careful with the locking part, it can pinch your fingers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manusmom
Clayton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews