Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 77 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
Sort by: 
1-20 of 74 reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Not what was shown.
8/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job of charging batteries and good cost
12/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return. I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior. Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up. These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging. Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fair
12/6/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The electronic control of the unit will not allow you to apply a slow charge rate for long periods of time required to bring a extremely low battery back to life and full charge. I have experienced this multiple times, the charger will shut down showing a bad battery message. This is not the case, I connect my older manual Schumacher charger to the battery and place on a mauual 2 amp. rate and allow the charger to continue to charge for extended periods of time, the batteries are not bad and still in service long after the charge with no problems. Electronic chargers are great for simple applications but I do not reccomend them for very low battery conditions as it will indicate a bad battery when this is not the case.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product, Schumacher makes the best chargers
9/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm glad Walmart could sell great products like these,keeps me shopping on line !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price and great product
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love the feature of just pushing one button to see rate of charge and percentage of charge anytime while charging..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Battery Charger
8/31/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Item works good, a little hard to see the writing on the settings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great All-Purpose Automatic Battery Charger
1/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this charger several times a month. I charge/maintain my daughter's 4 wheeler battery (no charging system) and my deep cycle john boat battery pretty often. It works perfect for my lawn mower battery as well since I charge it fully twice a year. I've had this charger now for nearly 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. It has a desulfation mode for batteries that have begun to sulfate due to lack of use or charging. It is also automatic in that when the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically switches to a trickle charge and will not overcharge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Schumacher Speed Charger
12/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had two of these already. I lost one to the flood in Baton Rouge and wanted the exact replacement. It is an awesome charger. I have fished bass tournaments for decades using the legacy of battery chargers throughout. This particular technology in this charger is outstanding as it can be. I love it!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This may be my last charger
8/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Just used this charger & finally after using many types of battery chargers over the last 50 yrs.. I honestly believe this charger meets all my needs. Very easy to use & gives me all the information I need to a sure charger is working .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought it to keep my motorhome batteries charged while in storage. It worked GREAT!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
best charger yet!
7/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Put on my deep charge boat battery! what a difference this charger made! Used battery for trolling motor and power anchor. Previous charger showed full charge, 4 led lights after 0ne day with little or no use down to one light or 2 for condition of battery. Now after full charge all 4 lights lite . But weight , now after several hrs of use has not gone down to less than 3 lites. That's for trolling motor and anchor use. It really topped off battery properly ! Good job Schmemacher !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DIED fast - my 3rd unit already.
12/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A decent charger, but it is unreliable as you don't know when it will die on you. I had a first one that worked for over 1yr then fan gave out so I got a new one. The 2nd charger worked for maybe 5-6 individual charges then just died. Won't charge anything. Lights up, but will not charge. Unreliable at best.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Charger
1/20/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I picked one of these up at a local walmart yesterday and have charged my wifes car battery (dead because the kids left the door open all night ). It had no trouble bringing the battery up to a full charge from 8.0v. Also charged my portable power pack much faster than the wall wart that came with it. It is currently refreshing one of my ATV batteries. It has a function that is supposed to recondition the battery, we shall see, but in any case it sure seems to be getting the job done. the price was fantastic and the value is there. I've read other favorable reviews and agree with a reviewer from another site that an Amp meter reading would be nice. That's all this charger is missing. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Compact Charger
1/29/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have only used it once to bring back to life a battery that was fully discharged. It took several hours, but seemed to work okay.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
JUNK! Don't waste your money!
5/2/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am about to receive my thrid charger in the less than 2 years (a different model this time)! The fan starts making noise then dies and the charger over heats and dies shortly thereafter. Charging a deep cycle trolling mottor battery....nothing special! On a bright note, the Schumacher customer service department is easy to deal with once you get to them (10-15 min wait on hold everytime). I had a different Schumacher charger that lasted over 15 years...this one is pure junk. Don't waste your time or money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good with minor nit
9/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this unit to replace the 10a Schumacher charger I'd purchase earlier. The charger works fine and as expected, as far as I can tell. For those unfamiliar, there are two versions of this charger: one with three buttons, one with only two. The pictured unit has all three buttons, including user-selectable voltage/SOC%; the unit I received had only two. Thinking about returning it to Walmart, but it appears that Schumacher has simply changed their product, and the one pictured is NLA.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SCHUMACHER BATTERY CHARGER IS A GOOD BUY!
10/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like my Schumacher SSC-1500A Battery Charger. It is lightweight, and holds up well under tough conditions (handling, and use). I purchased my charger several years ago, and it has held up very well despite being banged around and knocked over more times than it should have. There are some instructions printed on the unit for batteries still in the vehicle (I use mine to charge car, truck, motorcycle, lawn mower, and boat batteries), but you need to look up any additional instructions (such as charging different types of batteries, charging a battery outside of a vehicle, etc.) in their user manual. The manual is easy to read by the way. The charger is very safe in my opinion. You can’t take the positive and negative connectors and get a spark by touching them (not that I would ever recommend that!), because it is not in charge mode until you hook it to the battery – correctly. And even then you need to make one other selection prior to it beginning to charge. I actually have two other chargers for the same type of use, but I go for my Schumacher when I need to charge – or trickle charge – a battery. I highly recommend this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PERFECT - BEST ALL IN ONE EVER!
6/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
All my big boy toys are charged and ready to play...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Charger, bad service from Schumacher.
4/13/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought a used (Like new) $26.00 from ebay Schumacher SSC 1500A-CA. I love the charger and in fact it has some features my previous model did not. The new one has an energy savey mode. I have used Schumacher chargers for years. I had an older charger that quit working. It was out of warranty but I figured I would order the part and fix it. Schumacher was no help and never stocked the part for this model nor did their parts dealer. They just figured people would just spend another $60.00 on a new charger. The only reason I bought a new Schumacher charger was that it was similar to my old model and I could use parts from the old one if ever needed. The only reason I would not recommend this item to a friend is that parts are not available.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
didnt last very long
6/1/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Started acting up within the first month. clamps rotted out within three cant find receipt or proof of purchase to return it. Would NOT buy another one unless on shore power only. maybe if you had a inverter type generator. but a regular one will kill it quick. but then i took it and batteries to house and left plugged in for a week and it died a week later. VERDICT: not for regular use. Occasional use for small (12v group 24) Battery only. not for use on golf cart type batts like most sailboats have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642849, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-