Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

65 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

65 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 62 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Happy With Schumacher charger
2/1/2017

Customer review by DRJC

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by DRJC
by DRJC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Schumacher came highly recommended and has proven to be a valuable addition to my workshop. Works great on my boat and ATV batteries.

DRJC
AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does all it claims
1/28/2017

Customer review by comeon

5.0 stars 1/28/2017 by comeon
by comeon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a charger with at least a 10amp charge rate to be able to condition deep cycle batteries. This unit does a fantastic job with the auto 15 amp charge to break down any deposits on the battery plates and giving a readout of percentage of charge and condition the batteries properly.

comeon
Maine, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
At present, the best charger I have.
9/7/2016

Customer review by MtnMan

4.0 stars 9/7/2016 by MtnMan
by MtnMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two SSC-1500A-CA chargers over a month ago and have been using them full-time on my farm to keep power equipment charged. They still work fine - even during a lightning storm which can sometimes fry other chargers. Two features I would like to see on a similar charger is an automatic 28-day test drain on the battery for batteries that that stay in long-term charging for emergency readiness, and also an indicator as to when the charger is going into desulfate mode. Another nice feature would be to have pigtails come off the battery clamp wires with the traditional low-amp two-pronged battery charger plug. This would also require some type of sheath to slide over the positive clamp so it would not short. To me, the charger is good enough to pay extra for the features I have described.

MtnMan
NC Mountians
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great easy to use buttons.
11/24/2016

Customer review by dboss

3.0 stars 11/24/2016 by dboss
by dboss

I bought this item a year ago for my Mother -N-Law, and I can't get it to work. I plugged it into a power outlet, it doesn't do anything. Do you have to connect it to the dead battery for it to come on and work. If you can please help me with this item I would appreciate it!!!!

dboss
Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
11/30/2016

Customer review by Baby Huey

5.0 stars 11/30/2016 by Baby Huey
by Baby Huey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to program and it works, especially if hooked up in proper sequence!

Baby Huey
Boone, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LED display problem right out of the box.
8/11/2016

Customer review by RJDiver

2.0 stars 8/11/2016 by RJDiver
by RJDiver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received the Schumacher SSC-1500A-CA about a month ago, and the first time I used it the, LED display number were not working properly. The unit worked well, but the display digits are not readable. The center horizontal bar of the digits is not lighting. Called Schumacher Customer Service, and was told that '..during the first 30 days after purchase the vendor that the unit was purchased from is responsible for warranty issues'. I called the vendor (WebCortex, Inc) multiple times, with NO ANSWER... Left messages, but have gotten NO REPLY.... Now the 30 days since I purchased the unit is up... Going to call Schumacher Customer Service, and see what happens. Hopefully they will replace the unit... If not, 'I will be back'..

RJDiver
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/6/2016

Customer review by The Big Boss

1.0 stars 10/6/2016 by The Big Boss
by The Big Boss

The "sleep" mode is a bad feature of this charger. You don't know what the current charging status is without pressing a button. The display and other leds turn off.

The Big Boss
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great machine
8/11/2016

Customer review by Billie

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Billie
by Billie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for a friend, he is very pleased with this machine as used it a few times before buying a new battery. It does get your car running.

Billie
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
6/13/2016

Customer review by Jaay

3.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Jaay
by Jaay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second one. My other lasted about 6 years. Does everything I need it to do.

Jaay
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delivered as promised
1/6/2016

Customer review by Joerancho67

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Joerancho67
by Joerancho67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Diesel engine that is hard to jump start with a standard gas engine battery. I was drawn to the fact this unit used electronic circuitry to control the charge and that it allowed me to see the % of charge I had in the battery while it was charging. After about 3 hrs charge I was up to 36% charge and the vehicle started right up. Running the battery down to 2% (per the meter's readout at connection) only another diesel vehicle could have got me going again. Thanks again for a great product.

Joerancho67
Murrieta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd one I have purchased.
1/22/2016

Customer review by Southern Bear

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Southern Bear
by Southern Bear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased an older model of the S&S 7 years ago. It is a great charger! Also, it does well at detecting when a battery has faulted and needs to be replaced. I have several that have been replaced on warranty that it detected as bad. I purchased this unit because I was tired of taking the older unit back and forth between the marina and home. Now I have one for each location. It is a wonderful charger.

Southern Bear
Arkansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best charger I have ever owned
1/2/2016

Customer review by Fisherman Steve

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Fisherman Steve
by Fisherman Steve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this charger for my deep cycle marine batteries, my gel cell. Its so good! The price and quality are spot on! Remember You get more sometime for your money. The is one of them!

Fisherman Steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile and light
10/30/2015

Customer review by stumpuller

4.0 stars 10/30/2015 by stumpuller
by stumpuller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Versatile in that it meets the need of my cars, trucks, tractors and mowers. Light makes it easy to prop up and visually read the digital meters. I anxious to see if regular trickle charging this winter will lengthen the battery life of my mower while it is stored.

stumpuller
Oklahoma, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Handy
1/6/2016

Customer review by Neon Nite

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Neon Nite
by Neon Nite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only Used This New One 2 Times, But It Seems To Work As Well As The Old One Did.

Neon Nite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
11/26/2015

Customer review by Lars

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Lars
by Lars
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to replace a different brand that was no longer operational..It is very quiet and seems to work as advertised...use mainly to charge boat and RV batteries.

Lars
Appleton, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/27/2015

Customer review by 53ford guy

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by 53ford guy
by 53ford guy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently bought this and use it often to charge cars overnight works great

53ford guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2015

Customer review by sparky

4.0 stars 9/6/2015 by sparky
by sparky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like the unit , but would have liked to have an off/on switch so iI didn't ho npug itevery tiv I want it off. Thanks

sparky
Surrey, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not so great
6/20/2015

Customer review by poppop

1.0 stars 6/20/2015 by poppop
by poppop

took 12 hours to charge a battery that was only 12% discharged

poppop
Casar, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not what was shown.
8/21/2014

Customer review by hatcherj10

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by hatcherj10
by hatcherj10

I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatcherj10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job of charging batteries and good cost
12/5/2013

Customer review by jakejj995

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by jakejj995
by jakejj995

bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return. I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior. Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up. These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging. Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakejj995
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews