Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 68 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Not what was shown.
8/21/2014

Customer review by hatcherj10

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by hatcherj10
by hatcherj10

I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatcherj10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job of charging batteries and good cost
12/5/2013

Customer review by jakejj995

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by jakejj995
by jakejj995

bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return. I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior. Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up. These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging. Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakejj995
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Fair
12/6/2009

Customer review by pearce369

3.0 stars 12/6/2009 by pearce369
by pearce369

The electronic control of the unit will not allow you to apply a slow charge rate for long periods of time required to bring a extremely low battery back to life and full charge. I have experienced this multiple times, the charger will shut down showing a bad battery message. This is not the case, I connect my older manual Schumacher charger to the battery and place on a mauual 2 amp. rate and allow the charger to continue to charge for extended periods of time, the batteries are not bad and still in service long after the charge with no problems. Electronic chargers are great for simple applications but I do not reccomend them for very low battery conditions as it will indicate a bad battery when this is not the case.

Was this review helpful? (115) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pearce369
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Great Charger, bad service from Schumacher.
4/13/2017

Customer review by dodge73dart

2.0 stars 4/13/2017 by dodge73dart
by dodge73dart

I just bought a used (Like new) $26.00 from ebay Schumacher SSC 1500A-CA. I love the charger and in fact it has some features my previous model did not. The new one has an energy savey mode. I have used Schumacher chargers for years. I had an older charger that quit working. It was out of warranty but I figured I would order the part and fix it. Schumacher was no help and never stocked the part for this model nor did their parts dealer. They just figured people would just spend another $60.00 on a new charger. The only reason I bought a new Schumacher charger was that it was similar to my old model and I could use parts from the old one if ever needed. The only reason I would not recommend this item to a friend is that parts are not available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dodge73dart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great All-Purpose Automatic Battery Charger
1/7/2012

Customer review by NRAMember

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by NRAMember
by NRAMember

I use this charger several times a month. I charge/maintain my daughter's 4 wheeler battery (no charging system) and my deep cycle john boat battery pretty often. It works perfect for my lawn mower battery as well since I charge it fully twice a year. I've had this charger now for nearly 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. It has a desulfation mode for batteries that have begun to sulfate due to lack of use or charging. It is also automatic in that when the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically switches to a trickle charge and will not overcharge.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NRAMember
Northeast, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Best brand to purchase
4/27/2017

Customer review by PAWOODCHUCK

5.0 stars 4/27/2017 by PAWOODCHUCK
by PAWOODCHUCK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a smart charger for my AGM batteries and since my older chargers were this brand... didn't need to look for other brands! But the real test is how it works over several years.

PAWOODCHUCK
Western Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Compact Charger
1/29/2017

Customer review by JeepersCreeper

4.0 stars 1/29/2017 by JeepersCreeper
by JeepersCreeper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have only used it once to bring back to life a battery that was fully discharged. It took several hours, but seemed to work okay.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeepersCreeper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DIED fast - my 3rd unit already.
12/23/2016

Customer review by Sergey

1.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Sergey
by Sergey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A decent charger, but it is unreliable as you don't know when it will die on you. I had a first one that worked for over 1yr then fan gave out so I got a new one. The 2nd charger worked for maybe 5-6 individual charges then just died. Won't charge anything. Lights up, but will not charge. Unreliable at best.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sergey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Schumacher Speed Charger
12/12/2016

Customer review by CajunJim

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by CajunJim
by CajunJim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had two of these already. I lost one to the flood in Baton Rouge and wanted the exact replacement. It is an awesome charger. I have fished bass tournaments for decades using the legacy of battery chargers throughout. This particular technology in this charger is outstanding as it can be. I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CajunJim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
15A automatic
2/4/2017

Customer review by Papa

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by Papa
by Papa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Set it and forget it. The only thing you have to do is hook it up and plug it in.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/14/2012

Customer review by 10sbum

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by 10sbum
by 10sbum

I bought it to keep my motorhome batteries charged while in storage. It worked GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10sbum
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Just what I expectec
3/12/2017

Customer review by Jerry

5.0 stars 3/12/2017 by Jerry
by Jerry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works as it should!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Charger
1/20/2010

Customer review by acruxksa

4.0 stars 1/20/2010 by acruxksa
by acruxksa

I picked one of these up at a local walmart yesterday and have charged my wifes car battery (dead because the kids left the door open all night ). It had no trouble bringing the battery up to a full charge from 8.0v. Also charged my portable power pack much faster than the wall wart that came with it. It is currently refreshing one of my ATV batteries. It has a function that is supposed to recondition the battery, we shall see, but in any case it sure seems to be getting the job done. the price was fantastic and the value is there. I've read other favorable reviews and agree with a reviewer from another site that an Amp meter reading would be nice. That's all this charger is missing. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (22) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acruxksa
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Schumacher Battery Charger
12/17/2016

Customer review by FullSailDale

1.0 stars 12/17/2016 by FullSailDale
by FullSailDale
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My new Schumacher battery charger is supposed to maintain a full charge in my (also brand new) Interstate R/V battery. It charges the battery, then says it's "charged and maintaining" the battery, while the truth is, the battery is steadily being discharged by the lights in my R?V. I realize this, when the lights are so dim, that I can hardly see the ceiling. Extremely disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FullSailDale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great charger
3/15/2017

Customer review by rosie

5.0 stars 3/15/2017 by rosie
by rosie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works great! Was a replacement for another older model of the same brand.

rosie
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Set and forget
3/10/2017

Customer review by mr maintainer

5.0 stars 3/10/2017 by mr maintainer
by mr maintainer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charger is a nice improvement on the older ones I have. It charges, and steps down to a maintain mode. The only function that is not outlined is the "desulfate" mode. It is easy to use, and showers % charge. I am glad I bought it !

mr maintainer
Minnesota, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SCHUMACHER BATTERY CHARGER IS A GOOD BUY!
10/17/2014

Customer review by Cosmicviewer

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by Cosmicviewer
by Cosmicviewer

I really like my Schumacher SSC-1500A Battery Charger. It is lightweight, and holds up well under tough conditions (handling, and use). I purchased my charger several years ago, and it has held up very well despite being banged around and knocked over more times than it should have. There are some instructions printed on the unit for batteries still in the vehicle (I use mine to charge car, truck, motorcycle, lawn mower, and boat batteries), but you need to look up any additional instructions (such as charging different types of batteries, charging a battery outside of a vehicle, etc.) in their user manual. The manual is easy to read by the way. The charger is very safe in my opinion. You can’t take the positive and negative connectors and get a spark by touching them (not that I would ever recommend that!), because it is not in charge mode until you hook it to the battery – correctly. And even then you need to make one other selection prior to it beginning to charge. I actually have two other chargers for the same type of use, but I go for my Schumacher when I need to charge – or trickle charge – a battery. I highly recommend this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cosmicviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very bad
12/9/2016

Customer review by Richard

1.0 stars 12/9/2016 by Richard
by Richard

Stop working after 4 months. Dont power on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for me
2/14/2017

Customer review by Djlavergne

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Djlavergne
by Djlavergne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Light weight easy to use and works great. Just about charges any type of battery. I needed it to charge a marine battery. Suits me perfect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Djlavergne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good with minor nit
9/2/2014

Customer review by blamkin86

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by blamkin86
by blamkin86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this unit to replace the 10a Schumacher charger I'd purchase earlier. The charger works fine and as expected, as far as I can tell. For those unfamiliar, there are two versions of this charger: one with three buttons, one with only two. The pictured unit has all three buttons, including user-selectable voltage/SOC%; the unit I received had only two. Thinking about returning it to Walmart, but it appears that Schumacher has simply changed their product, and the one pictured is NLA.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blamkin86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews