Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 27 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Fair
12/6/2009

Customer review by pearce369

3.0 stars 12/6/2009 by pearce369
by pearce369

The electronic control of the unit will not allow you to apply a slow charge rate for long periods of time required to bring a extremely low battery back to life and full charge. I have experienced this multiple times, the charger will shut down showing a bad battery message. This is not the case, I connect my older manual Schumacher charger to the battery and place on a mauual 2 amp. rate and allow the charger to continue to charge for extended periods of time, the batteries are not bad and still in service long after the charge with no problems. Electronic chargers are great for simple applications but I do not reccomend them for very low battery conditions as it will indicate a bad battery when this is not the case.

Was this review helpful? (97) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pearce369
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great All-Purpose Automatic Battery Charger
1/7/2012

Customer review by NRAMember

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by NRAMember
by NRAMember

I use this charger several times a month. I charge/maintain my daughter's 4 wheeler battery (no charging system) and my deep cycle john boat battery pretty often. It works perfect for my lawn mower battery as well since I charge it fully twice a year. I've had this charger now for nearly 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. It has a desulfation mode for batteries that have begun to sulfate due to lack of use or charging. It is also automatic in that when the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically switches to a trickle charge and will not overcharge.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NRAMember
Northeast, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Charger
1/20/2010

Customer review by acruxksa

4.0 stars 1/20/2010 by acruxksa
by acruxksa

I picked one of these up at a local walmart yesterday and have charged my wifes car battery (dead because the kids left the door open all night ). It had no trouble bringing the battery up to a full charge from 8.0v. Also charged my portable power pack much faster than the wall wart that came with it. It is currently refreshing one of my ATV batteries. It has a function that is supposed to recondition the battery, we shall see, but in any case it sure seems to be getting the job done. the price was fantastic and the value is there. I've read other favorable reviews and agree with a reviewer from another site that an Amp meter reading would be nice. That's all this charger is missing. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (19) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acruxksa
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
JUNK! Don't waste your money!
5/2/2012

Customer review by fishfishfish

1.0 stars 5/2/2012 by fishfishfish
by fishfishfish

I am about to receive my thrid charger in the less than 2 years (a different model this time)! The fan starts making noise then dies and the charger over heats and dies shortly thereafter. Charging a deep cycle trolling mottor battery....nothing special! On a bright note, the Schumacher customer service department is easy to deal with once you get to them (10-15 min wait on hold everytime). I had a different Schumacher charger that lasted over 15 years...this one is pure junk. Don't waste your time or money!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishfishfish
Not what was shown.
8/21/2014

Customer review by hatcherj10

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by hatcherj10
by hatcherj10

I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hatcherj10
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/14/2012

Customer review by 10sbum

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by 10sbum
by 10sbum

I bought it to keep my motorhome batteries charged while in storage. It worked GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10sbum
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Does the job of charging batteries and good cost
12/5/2013

Customer review by jakejj995

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by jakejj995
by jakejj995

bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return. I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior. Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up. These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging. Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakejj995
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
outstanding battery charger
4/26/2010

Customer review by kofa

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by kofa
by kofa

this is w/o a doubt the very best charger i have ever owned.... it has all the bells and whistles (by far more then most) at a great price.... buy it, u won't be dissatisfied in the least....

Was this review helpful? (10) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kofa
pinal county, az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wont charge a fully dead battery
1/7/2013

Customer review by Bobjr94

2.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Bobjr94
by Bobjr94

I bought one of these several years ago and if the battery is flat dead, it will not start charging. You have to hook up jumper cables or a manual battery charger until it gets a few volts, then it will take over. It definitely needs a dead battery mode or button. If the battery is just run down but to low start start the car(like 8 or 10 volts) it works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobjr94
Roy, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Worth the money
4/28/2011

Customer review by noreece

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by noreece
by noreece

I have only used it a few times, but it did exactly what I needed it for, to top off and boil my RV batteries. The only thing I am uncomfortable with is that there is not an on and off button. I have to hook it up, plug it in ,then adjust the settings. I am happy with it so far. I've had it for a couple of weeks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noreece
LaCygne, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good with minor nit
9/2/2014

Customer review by blamkin86

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by blamkin86
by blamkin86

I bought this unit to replace the 10a Schumacher charger I'd purchase earlier. The charger works fine and as expected, as far as I can tell. For those unfamiliar, there are two versions of this charger: one with three buttons, one with only two. The pictured unit has all three buttons, including user-selectable voltage/SOC%; the unit I received had only two. Thinking about returning it to Walmart, but it appears that Schumacher has simply changed their product, and the one pictured is NLA.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blamkin86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not happy
5/5/2014

Customer review by bassasin

2.0 stars 5/5/2014 by bassasin
by bassasin

says you can pick 3 charge rates but it picks them. Deep cycle batteries are not able to handle a 15 amp charge rate. Lost many batteries charging at this rate and contacted a delco tech. He said 10 amp is the best.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bassasin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/27/2010

Customer review by rdc48

1.0 stars 12/27/2010 by rdc48
by rdc48

this is the second charger to buy in 3 years both are not working any more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdc48
marshall texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
SCHUMACHER BATTERY CHARGER IS A GOOD BUY!
10/17/2014

Customer review by Cosmicviewer

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by Cosmicviewer
by Cosmicviewer

I really like my Schumacher SSC-1500A Battery Charger. It is lightweight, and holds up well under tough conditions (handling, and use). I purchased my charger several years ago, and it has held up very well despite being banged around and knocked over more times than it should have. There are some instructions printed on the unit for batteries still in the vehicle (I use mine to charge car, truck, motorcycle, lawn mower, and boat batteries), but you need to look up any additional instructions (such as charging different types of batteries, charging a battery outside of a vehicle, etc.) in their user manual. The manual is easy to read by the way. The charger is very safe in my opinion. You can’t take the positive and negative connectors and get a spark by touching them (not that I would ever recommend that!), because it is not in charge mode until you hook it to the battery – correctly. And even then you need to make one other selection prior to it beginning to charge. I actually have two other chargers for the same type of use, but I go for my Schumacher when I need to charge – or trickle charge – a battery. I highly recommend this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cosmicviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
handy tool to have.
5/18/2014

Customer review by DonJoe

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by DonJoe
by DonJoe

Easy to use...dummy proof. Can't go wrong

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
5/17/2011

Customer review by Outback1

4.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Outback1
by Outback1

The fan is loud and runs all the time that it is plug in.But I like it. Got it for my Marine Battery needed the three cycle. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outback1
North Little Rock, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not what it is advertised as
5/15/2014

Customer review by Diehardperchjerker

3.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Diehardperchjerker
by Diehardperchjerker

It is advertised as a 3 amp, 8 amp and 15 amp charger. It isnt. It is only 3 amp and 15 amp. I did not get what I thought I was getting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diehardperchjerker
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Failed in 6months No warrentry coverage
12/9/2011

Customer review by K1YCM

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by K1YCM
by K1YCM

After failure called the listed phone number: Does not answer Went to web site listed: They had not paid their bill, the site is up for sale

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K1YCM
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/10/2010

Customer review by TJSEnterprises

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by TJSEnterprises
by TJSEnterprises

Quick charge, quiet, worked as advertised. Definitely not disappointed

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJSEnterprises
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poor Instruction Manual
3/25/2011

Customer review by Bill987654321

3.0 stars 3/25/2011 by Bill987654321
by Bill987654321

I thought I had found a good charger and it might very well be, however, the manual has no mention of what the selections mean for the size button. The manual doesn't even mention the size button. I was planning on using the charger to charge very expensive agm deep cycle batteries and I would rather not guess on what to do. So, I will be returning this charger.

Was this review helpful? (4) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill987654321
Old Bridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews