Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 45 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Not what was shown.
8/21/2014

Customer review by hatcherj10

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by hatcherj10
by hatcherj10

I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatcherj10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job of charging batteries and good cost
12/5/2013

Customer review by jakejj995

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by jakejj995
by jakejj995

bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return. I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior. Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up. These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging. Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakejj995
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LED display problem right out of the box.
8/11/2016

Customer review by RJDiver

2.0 stars 8/11/2016 by RJDiver
by RJDiver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received the Schumacher SSC-1500A-CA about a month ago, and the first time I used it the, LED display number were not working properly. The unit worked well, but the display digits are not readable. The center horizontal bar of the digits is not lighting. Called Schumacher Customer Service, and was told that '..during the first 30 days after purchase the vendor that the unit was purchased from is responsible for warranty issues'. I called the vendor (WebCortex, Inc) multiple times, with NO ANSWER... Left messages, but have gotten NO REPLY.... Now the 30 days since I purchased the unit is up... Going to call Schumacher Customer Service, and see what happens. Hopefully they will replace the unit... If not, 'I will be back'..

RJDiver
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Schumacher 15 amp automatic battery
8/12/2016

Customer review by DaveF

5.0 stars 8/12/2016 by DaveF
by DaveF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used it on my Optima battery in my drag race car and my lawnmower battery on the same day and worked great on both. I used a friends at the race track 2 weeks ago and had to have one! replaces my large roll around I have used for years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New in box didn't work.
8/3/2016

Customer review by Biglulu

1.0 stars 8/3/2016 by Biglulu
by Biglulu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would not charge I own two others the fan wouldn't come on it would just overheat and turn off I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biglulu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine
8/11/2016

Customer review by Billie

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Billie
by Billie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for a friend, he is very pleased with this machine as used it a few times before buying a new battery. It does get your car running.

Billie
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fair
12/6/2009

Customer review by pearce369

3.0 stars 12/6/2009 by pearce369
by pearce369

The electronic control of the unit will not allow you to apply a slow charge rate for long periods of time required to bring a extremely low battery back to life and full charge. I have experienced this multiple times, the charger will shut down showing a bad battery message. This is not the case, I connect my older manual Schumacher charger to the battery and place on a mauual 2 amp. rate and allow the charger to continue to charge for extended periods of time, the batteries are not bad and still in service long after the charge with no problems. Electronic chargers are great for simple applications but I do not reccomend them for very low battery conditions as it will indicate a bad battery when this is not the case.

Was this review helpful? (109) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pearce369
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great All-Purpose Automatic Battery Charger
1/7/2012

Customer review by NRAMember

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by NRAMember
by NRAMember

I use this charger several times a month. I charge/maintain my daughter's 4 wheeler battery (no charging system) and my deep cycle john boat battery pretty often. It works perfect for my lawn mower battery as well since I charge it fully twice a year. I've had this charger now for nearly 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. It has a desulfation mode for batteries that have begun to sulfate due to lack of use or charging. It is also automatic in that when the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically switches to a trickle charge and will not overcharge.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NRAMember
Northeast, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Product
6/13/2016

Customer review by Jaay

3.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Jaay
by Jaay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second one. My other lasted about 6 years. Does everything I need it to do.

Jaay
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review
7/13/2016

Customer review by Spats

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Spats
by Spats
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Button to select a battery type was flimsie

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spats
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Battery Charger
5/16/2016

Customer review by DeeJay

4.0 stars 5/16/2016 by DeeJay
by DeeJay

Decided to purchase a battery charger after my travel traler battery died on me in the middle of camping. It is a Great thong to have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeJay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Will buy from again. Good service, no hassle.
6/22/2016

Customer review by Skip

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Skip
by Skip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Will buy from again. Good service, no hassle .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Charger
1/20/2010

Customer review by acruxksa

4.0 stars 1/20/2010 by acruxksa
by acruxksa

I picked one of these up at a local walmart yesterday and have charged my wifes car battery (dead because the kids left the door open all night ). It had no trouble bringing the battery up to a full charge from 8.0v. Also charged my portable power pack much faster than the wall wart that came with it. It is currently refreshing one of my ATV batteries. It has a function that is supposed to recondition the battery, we shall see, but in any case it sure seems to be getting the job done. the price was fantastic and the value is there. I've read other favorable reviews and agree with a reviewer from another site that an Amp meter reading would be nice. That's all this charger is missing. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (22) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acruxksa
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
8/14/2012

Customer review by 10sbum

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by 10sbum
by 10sbum

I bought it to keep my motorhome batteries charged while in storage. It worked GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10sbum
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
SCHUMACHER BATTERY CHARGER IS A GOOD BUY!
10/17/2014

Customer review by Cosmicviewer

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by Cosmicviewer
by Cosmicviewer

I really like my Schumacher SSC-1500A Battery Charger. It is lightweight, and holds up well under tough conditions (handling, and use). I purchased my charger several years ago, and it has held up very well despite being banged around and knocked over more times than it should have. There are some instructions printed on the unit for batteries still in the vehicle (I use mine to charge car, truck, motorcycle, lawn mower, and boat batteries), but you need to look up any additional instructions (such as charging different types of batteries, charging a battery outside of a vehicle, etc.) in their user manual. The manual is easy to read by the way. The charger is very safe in my opinion. You can’t take the positive and negative connectors and get a spark by touching them (not that I would ever recommend that!), because it is not in charge mode until you hook it to the battery – correctly. And even then you need to make one other selection prior to it beginning to charge. I actually have two other chargers for the same type of use, but I go for my Schumacher when I need to charge – or trickle charge – a battery. I highly recommend this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cosmicviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JUNK! Don't waste your money!
5/2/2012

Customer review by fishfishfish

1.0 stars 5/2/2012 by fishfishfish
by fishfishfish

I am about to receive my thrid charger in the less than 2 years (a different model this time)! The fan starts making noise then dies and the charger over heats and dies shortly thereafter. Charging a deep cycle trolling mottor battery....nothing special! On a bright note, the Schumacher customer service department is easy to deal with once you get to them (10-15 min wait on hold everytime). I had a different Schumacher charger that lasted over 15 years...this one is pure junk. Don't waste your time or money!

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishfishfish
Good with minor nit
9/2/2014

Customer review by blamkin86

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by blamkin86
by blamkin86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this unit to replace the 10a Schumacher charger I'd purchase earlier. The charger works fine and as expected, as far as I can tell. For those unfamiliar, there are two versions of this charger: one with three buttons, one with only two. The pictured unit has all three buttons, including user-selectable voltage/SOC%; the unit I received had only two. Thinking about returning it to Walmart, but it appears that Schumacher has simply changed their product, and the one pictured is NLA.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blamkin86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delivered as promised
1/6/2016

Customer review by Joerancho67

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Joerancho67
by Joerancho67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Diesel engine that is hard to jump start with a standard gas engine battery. I was drawn to the fact this unit used electronic circuitry to control the charge and that it allowed me to see the % of charge I had in the battery while it was charging. After about 3 hrs charge I was up to 36% charge and the vehicle started right up. Running the battery down to 2% (per the meter's readout at connection) only another diesel vehicle could have got me going again. Thanks again for a great product.

Joerancho67
Murrieta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd one I have purchased.
1/22/2016

Customer review by Southern Bear

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Southern Bear
by Southern Bear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased an older model of the S&S 7 years ago. It is a great charger! Also, it does well at detecting when a battery has faulted and needs to be replaced. I have several that have been replaced on warranty that it detected as bad. I purchased this unit because I was tired of taking the older unit back and forth between the marina and home. Now I have one for each location. It is a wonderful charger.

Southern Bear
Arkansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good!
1/31/2016

Customer review by bishop1978

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by bishop1978
by bishop1978

I've only used the charger twice, but so far so good. The charger got the battery to 100% charge and went into maintence mode. Easy to use, extremely portable, and doesn't take up a lot of room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bishop1978
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews