Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

190 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

190 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 166 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
Worked fine..
7/25/2016

Customer review by rich3298

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by rich3298
by rich3298
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this item as a replacement for my 30+ year old Shumacher charger. I've ony used it once, it charged quickly and I really like the ability to store cords, clamps, etc inside the case. The digital display is a nice feature as well.

rich3298
Franklinville, NY 14737, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product with good feautures
6/14/2016

Customer review by Earl

4.0 stars 6/14/2016 by Earl
by Earl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit appears to work quite well, The instruction booklet supplied is not too clear and somewhat vague as to proper utilization (let your common sense prevail!). My charger came in an "opened" condition, at a discounted price (apparently had been returned by a previous purchaser - reason uknkown, but guaranteed to be in good condition! unknown.

Earl
Leesburg, Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great features
6/1/2016

Customer review by Joe M

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Joe M
by Joe M
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this unit over a month ago to charge my R V chassis batteries. With the help of a service technician on the phone I was able to revive one of the two batteries. I am now using it to maintain the charge on both batteries and has been working great.

Joe M
Clearwater,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome charger
6/2/2016

Customer review by Jhicks

5.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Jhicks
by Jhicks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this charger for two weeks now and it does the job - and then some. It will give you the voltage output of the battery before and after charging. It is super lightweight and works like a charm.

Jhicks
Luling, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not show charging voltage during "Chaging".
4/25/2016

Customer review by RAHL

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by RAHL
by RAHL

This is my second SC1200A-CA, the first was returned for what I think is a deficiency or error by myself. The charger will show battery voltage only when not charging. After that display keeps shutlling between a progressive percent and a fixed 12 Volts. '12 '

RAHL
Carolina Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Buy the older version, it is better
11/19/2015

Customer review by cmdrdata

3.0 stars 11/19/2015 by cmdrdata
by cmdrdata

I bought this charger (SC1200A-CA) because a friend of mine has one that looked like it. After unboxing it I noticed there is a button missing (display select switch for voltage an percent charge). I was told that it is a newer and improved model (CA model). I am disappointed with it. It took minutes for the "automatic" V to % mode to work. Also there is not a way to know whether it is "de-sulfating" or "abort" mode. Both have the same flashing orange LED glow.

cmdrdata
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Super charger!
1/13/2016

Customer review by Rudy8

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Rudy8
by Rudy8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this charger to replace one that was 30 years old. Amazing difference in charging time and thoroughness of charge. I highly recommend this product. Appears very well made and has conveniently long cables for hookup. Good owners manual included.

Rudy8
Lancaster PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great.
10/19/2015

Customer review by Dink

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Dink
by Dink
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We care for "snowbirds" homes in Arizona. About ten car batteries die while sitting idle during the summer months. I had a 12 volt charger that worked 50% of the time. My new Schumacher charger has worked every time. We are quite pleased with the results.

Dink
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT CHARGER. USER FRIENDLY.
12/3/2015

Customer review by rummy115

5.0 stars 12/3/2015 by rummy115
by rummy115
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this charger hoping that it would be simple on start up, It was very simple to use. I love it.

rummy115
Youngstown, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Adequate replacement for dead charger
8/24/2015

Customer review by philS

5.0 stars 8/24/2015 by philS
by philS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Charger works well in all modes, is lighter in weight and slightly larger than the old, other brand, charger I had that failed after over five years use.

philS
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Features!
10/13/2015

Customer review by HeWhoMatters

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by HeWhoMatters
by HeWhoMatters
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about a month ago and I am so happy I did.

HeWhoMatters
Albany, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great so far
2/16/2014

Customer review by Grandpa0260

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Grandpa0260
by Grandpa0260
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I hooked this up and charged my battery on my riding mower and leave it on to maintain the charge since it has that feature and it works great so far.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa0260
Norman Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Be Very Careful
8/11/2012

Customer review by olygene

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by olygene
by olygene

This charger charges 12V batteries only. If you have a 6V battery, it will not work. Some Schumacher chargers will charge 6V batteries but this one will not. Also, I was charging the coach batteries in a RV and had the selector set for 8amps. The charger LED indicator showed that I was at 35% charge for half an hour. I switched to 12amps and the charger said I was 95% charged. After waiting 3 hours to minimize surface charge, I measured the voltage with a multimeter and found 12.47 volts or almost a 90% charge. I cannot find anything in the users manual to explain this situation but if you rely on this charger's LED indicator in 8amp mode you might overcharge your battery. If the 8amp converter is not working correctly, I am worried that the trickle charge (2amp) may not work properly. I bought this charger to replace a dumb charger where I had to measure the voltage with a multimeter to ensure a proper charge. Looks like I'll be replacing this charger and keeping the meter.

Was this review helpful? (40) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olygene
WA and AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Charger died in 9months, cust. service very poor
6/24/2014

Customer review by SWobie

1.0 stars 6/24/2014 by SWobie
by SWobie

I had this product for about 11 months. Probably only used it 5-6 times charging a deep cycle battery. After 9 months, the fan died. Used it for one more full charge and now its completely dead. Plugged it in and unit has no power, no lights, no noise. On hold for Schumacher customer support for exactly 45 minutes. Hung up, tried again later the same day and still on hold for over 15 minutes so will try another day. This is very poor customer service! I would recommend another product with better customer service. Aside from the dead charger, it was very noisy when it was working. The fan is too loud and there is a constant hmming noise. It's something that you would have to use in a basement to avoid hearing the noises. I do not know how loud other products from other manufactures, but it's worth trying something else since the noise of this product is unbearable.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWobie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Little Powerhouse
3/8/2011

Customer review by moots13181

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by moots13181
by moots13181

This product is surprisingly small and lightweight for the capability and features it has! It's actually lighter than my 20' long jumper cables and a lot easier to deal with! For instance, without plugging it in you can use it as a battery meter. The microprocessor control is great and there's a built-in cavity below the handle for the cord and cables. Another thing I was impressed with was the built-in automatic anti-sulfation mode. I had a bad battery I tested it on and after it tried to rescue the battery it finally flashed "bAd" in the readout. So I didn't need to page through the manual to figure out what the red flashing light meant. It's got plenty of power and will maintain a battery at lower amperage once it has reached capacity automatically which is really nice because you can plug it in and forget about it until you need to use the battery.

Was this review helpful? (43) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moots13181
Rhinelander, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
2/12/2017

Customer review by Duste

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Duste
by Duste
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own an earlier model of this charger and it has served me well. I found I needed an additional unit and unhesitatingly went for the newer model of a proven charger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duste
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does just what I needed it to do!
8/30/2013

Customer review by mntncougar

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by mntncougar
by mntncougar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had two generator batteries, brand new but never charged and completely dead. After reading the reviews I was hopefull this charger might ressurect them, even though running the generator did not. It worked! Each battery took more than 24 hours but both of them came up to 100% charge. That was only a few days ago so I don't know how well the charges will hold, but at least I can keep the batteries up now by trickle charging them (with a different charger). Obviously this should work as well or even better on a good battery that has just gotten run down, such as a car battery with the lights left on. Hopefully it will last, but right now I'm very pleased with the purchase. It is a bit noisy, only because it apparently has a fan that runs constantly, but that is not a problem for me as I used it in my basement. It's quite light weight, so I don't know how well made it is, but time will tell. So far, very good!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mntncougar
Coventry, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charged battery
2/9/2017

Customer review by vortec1999

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by vortec1999
by vortec1999
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Workes fine

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vortec1999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works well, fan is a weakness
11/3/2016

Customer review by NMmountainman

4.0 stars 11/3/2016 by NMmountainman
by NMmountainman

My charger is working fine and is automatic. I have read articles about this unit and it seems the cooling fan is the first this to go out, then it overheats and dies. I listen to the fan and if I ever hear it having trouble (bearings would seize up) I plan on replacing it before the unit overheats.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMmountainman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beyond Expectations
12/21/2010

Customer review by Shadowraythe

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Shadowraythe
by Shadowraythe

I bought this product with hopes to charge a battery in a truck that was dead for over 2 months. After about 6 hours on this charger, the truck started right up. I didn't really think it would work. I also liked that I could see at what percentage the battery was charged, on the charger. Good product. Worked beyond my expectations. I definitely would recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (136) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadowraythe
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews