Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 144 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
Works great so far
2/16/2014

Customer review by Grandpa0260

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Grandpa0260
by Grandpa0260
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I hooked this up and charged my battery on my riding mower and leave it on to maintain the charge since it has that feature and it works great so far.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa0260
Norman Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Be Very Careful
8/11/2012

Customer review by olygene

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by olygene
by olygene

This charger charges 12V batteries only. If you have a 6V battery, it will not work. Some Schumacher chargers will charge 6V batteries but this one will not. Also, I was charging the coach batteries in a RV and had the selector set for 8amps. The charger LED indicator showed that I was at 35% charge for half an hour. I switched to 12amps and the charger said I was 95% charged. After waiting 3 hours to minimize surface charge, I measured the voltage with a multimeter and found 12.47 volts or almost a 90% charge. I cannot find anything in the users manual to explain this situation but if you rely on this charger's LED indicator in 8amp mode you might overcharge your battery. If the 8amp converter is not working correctly, I am worried that the trickle charge (2amp) may not work properly. I bought this charger to replace a dumb charger where I had to measure the voltage with a multimeter to ensure a proper charge. Looks like I'll be replacing this charger and keeping the meter.

Was this review helpful? (35) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olygene
WA and AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Shumacher SC-1200 Series Charger/Maintainer
10/21/2015

Customer review by TaxmanSkip

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by TaxmanSkip
by TaxmanSkip

I have been a long-time user of Shumacher chargers for more years than I care to remember and their quality and dependability are superb! I have quite a few of the SC-600 and SC-1200 units and could not be happier. I primarily use the 600-series for motorcycles, scooters, garden tractor and a mobile power generator; but they can easily be used on any vehicle. The SC-1200 unit for this review is what I consider a slight step above the 600's, in that they have a little more flexibility towards overall "charging" actions - as well as the same automatic "maintainer" features. In my opinion, you cannot go wrong with either unit but I would definitely have one of the 1200's around and the cost difference is only a few dollars more. As I mentioned, both models are superb and perform in an outstanding manner. I highly recommend either or both units.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaxmanSkip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Charger died in 9months, cust. service very poor
6/24/2014

Customer review by SWobie

1.0 stars 6/24/2014 by SWobie
by SWobie

I had this product for about 11 months. Probably only used it 5-6 times charging a deep cycle battery. After 9 months, the fan died. Used it for one more full charge and now its completely dead. Plugged it in and unit has no power, no lights, no noise. On hold for Schumacher customer support for exactly 45 minutes. Hung up, tried again later the same day and still on hold for over 15 minutes so will try another day. This is very poor customer service! I would recommend another product with better customer service. Aside from the dead charger, it was very noisy when it was working. The fan is too loud and there is a constant hmming noise. It's something that you would have to use in a basement to avoid hearing the noises. I do not know how loud other products from other manufactures, but it's worth trying something else since the noise of this product is unbearable.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWobie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Little Powerhouse
3/8/2011

Customer review by moots13181

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by moots13181
by moots13181

This product is surprisingly small and lightweight for the capability and features it has! It's actually lighter than my 20' long jumper cables and a lot easier to deal with! For instance, without plugging it in you can use it as a battery meter. The microprocessor control is great and there's a built-in cavity below the handle for the cord and cables. Another thing I was impressed with was the built-in automatic anti-sulfation mode. I had a bad battery I tested it on and after it tried to rescue the battery it finally flashed "bAd" in the readout. So I didn't need to page through the manual to figure out what the red flashing light meant. It's got plenty of power and will maintain a battery at lower amperage once it has reached capacity automatically which is really nice because you can plug it in and forget about it until you need to use the battery.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moots13181
Rhinelander, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beyond Expectations
12/21/2010

Customer review by Shadowraythe

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Shadowraythe
by Shadowraythe

I bought this product with hopes to charge a battery in a truck that was dead for over 2 months. After about 6 hours on this charger, the truck started right up. I didn't really think it would work. I also liked that I could see at what percentage the battery was charged, on the charger. Good product. Worked beyond my expectations. I definitely would recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (132) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadowraythe
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
A great little charger
7/1/2010

Customer review by Har1

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by Har1
by Har1
Walmart associate

This unit is considerably smaller than my older 10 Amp Charger, yet will charge a full size battery quicker. Another great feature is the "battery tender" mode which will keep the battery full, but never overcharged It can be used for auto, marine, or smaller batteries, i.e., motorcycle, snowmobile, ATV or lawnmower. This charger is an exceptional value at this price.

Was this review helpful? (170) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Har1
Woodruff, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Charges ok when monitored....
1/9/2011

Customer review by triedthis

4.0 stars 1/9/2011 by triedthis
by triedthis

I've had this model for 5-6yrs. I really like the pushbutton selection, and the digital readout, for % of battery charge, and volts remaining, and the alternator check feature. I don't like having to stay with the battery, for fear of the charger not recognizing that the battery is fully charged. When I charge any battery whether it be a deep cyle or regular flooded cell, from say a 60% charge. My charger will not realize that the battery is charged unless I unplug the charger for a minute, then plug it back in. Then it sees the battery as 100% where as before I unplugged it, it was stuck at say 86%. After I plug it back in and "reset" it. It will maintain the 12v battery at the recommended 12.9-13.1 float charge. Maybe something is fried in the sensing network? Other than that it works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triedthis
South east
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best battery charger for the $
1/9/2016

Customer review by Supertaz

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Supertaz
by Supertaz

First of all - just because it's feather light doesn't mean it's cheap. I design these kinds of things for a living. This is a microprocessor supervised high efficiency switching power supply with some really impressive thermal managment and battery reconditioner /(but doesn't seem to be a desulfation). It takes like a minute at the 100A setting to get a battery down at 8 or 9 Volts to crank a big ornery old V8.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supertaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does just what I needed it to do!
8/30/2013

Customer review by mntncougar

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by mntncougar
by mntncougar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had two generator batteries, brand new but never charged and completely dead. After reading the reviews I was hopefull this charger might ressurect them, even though running the generator did not. It worked! Each battery took more than 24 hours but both of them came up to 100% charge. That was only a few days ago so I don't know how well the charges will hold, but at least I can keep the batteries up now by trickle charging them (with a different charger). Obviously this should work as well or even better on a good battery that has just gotten run down, such as a car battery with the lights left on. Hopefully it will last, but right now I'm very pleased with the purchase. It is a bit noisy, only because it apparently has a fan that runs constantly, but that is not a problem for me as I used it in my basement. It's quite light weight, so I don't know how well made it is, but time will tell. So far, very good!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mntncougar
Coventry, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
website description is not accurate!
1/22/2014

Customer review by ontheriver11

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by ontheriver11
by ontheriver11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I saw this comment before I purchased the charger. I mistakenly assumed that Walmart would have corrected the product description but they have not. I ordered what was described as a 3 level (2, 6 and 10amp) car charger. What is in the box is a 2 level charger (3 and 10 amps). The outside of the box also says it is a 3 level charger) but the product is not. Please, Please correct your description to be accurate. I almost returned the charger, but decided I needed a charger immediately so I have kept it. I say I would not recommend this product because the web site and package description does not match the charger inside. However, the charger works perfectly at the two levels it has. PS: I may have the exact amperages incorrectly listed, but the idea is right. Two levels, not three as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (56) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ontheriver11
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
11/14/2013

Customer review by ndua

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by ndua
by ndua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Price was rite, product exceded expectations. simple to use, lots of safety features to prevent doing damage to batteries, charger and yourself. Charger works well, replaced an old schumacher and this one is much lighter and more compact and doesn't hum at all. I like that it tells you % of charge as well as actual voltage in the battery.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndua
Bally Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice, works well
2/8/2010

Customer review by dnidi

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by dnidi
by dnidi

Nice charger, use it on motorcycle and garden tracker. Works well, and can re-pair batteries that have been discharged for a long time. No issue with noisy fan. Mine is quiet enough, I dont leave it running all the time.

Was this review helpful? (92) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dnidi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
5/18/2011

Customer review by Sonnyjo1

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Sonnyjo1
by Sonnyjo1

This is used in my boat to charge trollling motor batteries and the starting battery. It not only charges but tells how much of a charge is left on the trolling batteries. By using the % of charge, I can sometimes go 3-4 days without charging. If you don't have a built in charger, this is a must have item.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sonnyjo1
Garland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very helpful
5/1/2011

Customer review by dutchman2

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by dutchman2
by dutchman2

this is my second one. the first one lasted 14 months. when i called for warranty they said send it back no questions asked. in the mean time i ordered another on. i like the mechanics on the charger, easy to operate. we will see how Shaumacher handles the waranty.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dutchman2
New Iberia, "LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It works
5/13/2011

Customer review by cwaldman2

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by cwaldman2
by cwaldman2

Replaced 30 year old Schumacher that stopped working. New unit is light, easy to use, and so far works great (charged my dead tractor battery in 2 hours).

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cwaldman2
New Hope PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does the job.
6/30/2010

Customer review by hdeem

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by hdeem
by hdeem

It's a good all around charger. I needed something for a riding mower. marine battery, car, diesel truck and a gel type battery. It handles them all.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hdeem
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Failed After One Charge
12/17/2013

Customer review by Iratethis

1.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Iratethis
by Iratethis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charger worked for about 20 minutes (it did actually charge the battery) then the LED's began flashing and it would not reset. This is not mentioned in the troubleshooting portion of the instructions. After a lengthy wait for Schumacher customer service for assistance I was told in about 10 seconds that the unit was faulty and too return it to Walmart; just what I wanted to do 9 days before Christmas.......I returned it and noted that the same model was $7.00 higher in the store (I passed)

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iratethis
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product
7/12/2010

Customer review by heinzpickle

4.0 stars 7/12/2010 by heinzpickle
by heinzpickle

I bought this for our deep cycle battery. So far it has been doing exactly what I wanted. Great buy and great product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heinzpickle
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works great!
7/18/2010

Customer review by Radiogeek1

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by Radiogeek1
by Radiogeek1

I purchased this battery charger as a back-up to a larger unit I also own, but it's small size and light weight make it very user friendly, and it's the one I think I'll use most. While I don't think it's suitable for jump starting, it does a very nice and quiet job of charging. Note hat the item was also available in stores, but the online price was much better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radiogeek1
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews