Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

153 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
92
4 stars
42
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
A great little charger
7/1/2010

Customer review by Har1

5.0 stars by Har1

This unit is considerably smaller than my older 10 Amp Charger, yet will charge a full size battery quicker. Another great feature is the "battery tender" mode which will keep the battery full, but never overcharged It can be used for auto, marine, or smaller batteries, i.e., motorcycle, snowmobile, ATV or lawnmower. This charger is an exceptional value at this price.

Was this review helpful? (133) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Har1
Woodruff, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Beyond Expectations
12/21/2010

Customer review by Shadowraythe

5.0 stars by Shadowraythe

I bought this product with hopes to charge a battery in a truck that was dead for over 2 months. After about 6 hours on this charger, the truck started right up. I didn't really think it would work. I also liked that I could see at what percentage the battery was charged, on the charger. Good product. Worked beyond my expectations. I definitely would recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (101) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shadowraythe
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Nice, works well
2/8/2010

Customer review by dnidi

4.0 stars by dnidi

Nice charger, use it on motorcycle and garden tracker. Works well, and can re-pair batteries that have been discharged for a long time. No issue with noisy fan. Mine is quiet enough, I dont leave it running all the time.

Was this review helpful? (76) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dnidi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works great so far
2/16/2014

Customer review by Grandpa0260

4.0 stars by Grandpa0260

I hooked this up and charged my battery on my riding mower and leave it on to maintain the charge since it has that feature and it works great so far.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grandpa0260
Norman Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Little Powerhouse
3/8/2011

Customer review by moots13181

5.0 stars by moots13181

This product is surprisingly small and lightweight for the capability and features it has! It's actually lighter than my 20' long jumper cables and a lot easier to deal with! For instance, without plugging it in you can use it as a battery meter. The microprocessor control is great and there's a built-in cavity below the handle for the cord and cables. Another thing I was impressed with was the built-in automatic anti-sulfation mode. I had a bad battery I tested it on and after it tried to rescue the battery it finally flashed "bAd" in the readout. So I didn't need to page through the manual to figure out what the red flashing light meant. It's got plenty of power and will maintain a battery at lower amperage once it has reached capacity automatically which is really nice because you can plug it in and forget about it until you need to use the battery.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
moots13181
Rhinelander, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is a really nice device. If you hook it up wrong, nothing gets damaged. The digital readout tells you the state of your battery when you first hook it up, then it starts charging. As it gets closer to full battery voltage, its slows down so you dont overcharge (damage) your battery. Similar chargers sell for quite a bit more and some that cost more do not have the features this one has. This exceeded my expectations which is rare in today's marketplace.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
website description is not accurate!
1/22/2014

Customer review by ontheriver11

5.0 stars by ontheriver11

I saw this comment before I purchased the charger. I mistakenly assumed that Walmart would have corrected the product description but they have not. I ordered what was described as a 3 level (2, 6 and 10amp) car charger. What is in the box is a 2 level charger (3 and 10 amps). The outside of the box also says it is a 3 level charger) but the product is not. Please, Please correct your description to be accurate. I almost returned the charger, but decided I needed a charger immediately so I have kept it. I say I would not recommend this product because the web site and package description does not match the charger inside. However, the charger works perfectly at the two levels it has. PS: I may have the exact amperages incorrectly listed, but the idea is right. Two levels, not three as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (43) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ontheriver11
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
5/13/2011

Customer review by cwaldman2

5.0 stars by cwaldman2

Replaced 30 year old Schumacher that stopped working. New unit is light, easy to use, and so far works great (charged my dead tractor battery in 2 hours).

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cwaldman2
New Hope PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Charges ok when monitored....
1/9/2011

Customer review by triedthis

4.0 stars by triedthis

I've had this model for 5-6yrs. I really like the pushbutton selection, and the digital readout, for % of battery charge, and volts remaining, and the alternator check feature. I don't like having to stay with the battery, for fear of the charger not recognizing that the battery is fully charged. When I charge any battery whether it be a deep cyle or regular flooded cell, from say a 60% charge. My charger will not realize that the battery is charged unless I unplug the charger for a minute, then plug it back in. Then it sees the battery as 100% where as before I unplugged it, it was stuck at say 86%. After I plug it back in and "reset" it. It will maintain the 12v battery at the recommended 12.9-13.1 float charge. Maybe something is fried in the sensing network? Other than that it works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
triedthis
South east
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Failed After One Charge
12/17/2013

Customer review by Iratethis

1.0 stars by Iratethis

This charger worked for about 20 minutes (it did actually charge the battery) then the LED's began flashing and it would not reset. This is not mentioned in the troubleshooting portion of the instructions. After a lengthy wait for Schumacher customer service for assistance I was told in about 10 seconds that the unit was faulty and too return it to Walmart; just what I wanted to do 9 days before Christmas.......I returned it and noted that the same model was $7.00 higher in the store (I passed)

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Iratethis
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
11/14/2013

Customer review by ndua

5.0 stars by ndua

Price was rite, product exceded expectations. simple to use, lots of safety features to prevent doing damage to batteries, charger and yourself. Charger works well, replaced an old schumacher and this one is much lighter and more compact and doesn't hum at all. I like that it tells you % of charge as well as actual voltage in the battery.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ndua
Bally Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SC-300A vs Battery Tender Plus
4/12/2014

Customer review by PaulRS

4.0 stars by PaulRS

I've had my BT+ for over 10 years and was thinking about getting another maintainer for my motorcycles to reduce the rotation I've been doing. The SC-300A currently has a 5 yr warranty and the various (3) connectors like the BT+ and walmart.com has an awesome price. You should always read the manual before using...but this SC-300A is going to work in ways that are not described in the manual. It will have the yellow charge LED lit and flash the green charged LED. It does not talk about this in the manual...so I called technical and the tech said it must be broken. Bought another and it worked the same way...meaning as it gets closer to fully charged the green charged LED is on longer than the charging yellow LED....So...I figured the first tech was confused and the manual mute. It is supposed to work that way. As it charges, both LEDs take turns flashing when it gets to a certain level and the green charged LED flashes longer and longer until turning solid when fully charged. I did get a "knowledgeable tech" that confirmed. The SC-300A is going to be a great addition to my charger/maintainer options. It has almost the same connectors as the BT+, has a higher 3 amp starting point, is priced nicely, and has a 5 yr warranty. I'm going to give it the chance to earn my confidence like my BT+ has. The BT+ has a small cig lighter type connector that I use on one of my BMW bikes. The SC-300A has a similar but larger connector that will fit in an automobile cig/accessory plug. The connectors seem interchangeable between either charger. I would have given it 5 stars if it were made in USA.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PaulRS
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charger died in 9months, cust. service very poor
6/24/2014

Customer review by SWobie

1.0 stars by SWobie

I had this product for about 11 months. Probably only used it 5-6 times charging a deep cycle battery. After 9 months, the fan died. Used it for one more full charge and now its completely dead. Plugged it in and unit has no power, no lights, no noise. On hold for Schumacher customer support for exactly 45 minutes. Hung up, tried again later the same day and still on hold for over 15 minutes so will try another day. This is very poor customer service! I would recommend another product with better customer service. Aside from the dead charger, it was very noisy when it was working. The fan is too loud and there is a constant hmming noise. It's something that you would have to use in a basement to avoid hearing the noises. I do not know how loud other products from other manufactures, but it's worth trying something else since the noise of this product is unbearable.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SWobie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job.
6/30/2010

Customer review by hdeem

5.0 stars by hdeem

It's a good all around charger. I needed something for a riding mower. marine battery, car, diesel truck and a gel type battery. It handles them all.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hdeem
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/18/2011

Customer review by Sonnyjo1

5.0 stars by Sonnyjo1

This is used in my boat to charge trollling motor batteries and the starting battery. It not only charges but tells how much of a charge is left on the trolling batteries. By using the % of charge, I can sometimes go 3-4 days without charging. If you don't have a built in charger, this is a must have item.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sonnyjo1
Garland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Complete Charge
10/19/2011

Customer review by WizardNo1

5.0 stars by WizardNo1

I used this charger to recharge a dead battery on my Lincoln Cartier Town Car. I left it running for 12 hours and it completely charged the battery. I have had no trouble with the battery since.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WizardNo1
Starkville, MS 39759
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
very helpful
5/1/2011

Customer review by dutchman2

5.0 stars by dutchman2

this is my second one. the first one lasted 14 months. when i called for warranty they said send it back no questions asked. in the mean time i ordered another on. i like the mechanics on the charger, easy to operate. we will see how Shaumacher handles the waranty.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dutchman2
New Iberia, "LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poor Quality
1/12/2010

Customer review by spacedace64

2.0 stars by spacedace64

This charger has a cooling fan inside. After 3 months of owning this product, the fan started buzzing and making all kinds of horrible noises. Of course, this is after the warranty has run out so I've ended up with a $50 piece of junk!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
spacedace64
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nice product
7/12/2010

Customer review by heinzpickle

4.0 stars by heinzpickle

I bought this for our deep cycle battery. So far it has been doing exactly what I wanted. Great buy and great product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
heinzpickle
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Different charger than advertised
6/12/2014

Customer review by Speakersx2

2.0 stars by Speakersx2

They are advertising a 3 stage charger, sending a 2 stage charger in the 3 stage box. I read another review that said the same thing I just kept the charger cause I was in need!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Speakersx2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 129 total reviews