Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 467 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

467 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

467 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
333
4 stars
72
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 stars
36
1-20 of 383 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews
Works as advertised.
3/25/2012

Customer review by Oldsmobile88Eddie

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by Oldsmobile88Eddie
by Oldsmobile88Eddie

I was cautious after a few minutes of hooking it up as it smelled like something was getting hot, but it stopped, I guess it was just the new 'getting warm' smell from the manufacturing process as it went away in a little while and didn't return. It seems like it works as advertised, quite automatic. Wal-Mart had a trusty product, and NOT a piece of junk. I used it on my 50 Olds and My New Yard Tractor. On both it worked well.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldsmobile88Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They don't work
12/4/2012

Customer review by hxracer

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by hxracer
by hxracer

I have 2 different styles of Schumacher chargers and this one doesn't work. Yours doesn't either but you won't know until your battery is ruined. It charges when you first hook it up but as your battery discharges it doesn't kick back into charge mode like my other model does. I don't have that one in front of me but it has a manual switch between 6 and 12 volts unlike this one. I sent 2 back and the ones they send me were junk like the first two. Here is how to test yours. Put it on your battery and it will show yellow charging. Come back in 2 days. It will show green as though it is charged. Unhook one of the leads and connect again. Light goes to yellow and starts charging. Junk. Another way to prove it never flip back to charge mode. Charge for a day and come back and turn the headlights on. Charger should switch to yellow charging but it won't. My other model does immediately. This piece of garbage doesn't. They are junk and the company keeps selling them. Nice.

Was this review helpful? (22) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hxracer
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Maintains a portable bass guitar amp!
4/10/2010

Customer review by WileyM

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by WileyM
by WileyM

My popular battery-powered bass guitar amp contains two 6V motorcycle batteries that provide a full 12V to the amp. Unfortunately the amp's plug-in charging adapter is totally manual, without any automation whatsoever. The amp's owner's manual literally yells at you to keep the batteries fully charged, or they will die. However, the manual also warns me to not leave the power adapter attached to the amp more that 10 hours, or the batteries will die. Yikes! What the amp needed, and this charger provides, is total ease of use. It monitors the charging state and battery condition constantly so that it can switch to a safe trickle charge, or full charging rate EXACTLY when needed. With a simple modification to the included extra pigtail cord, I was able to add a connector that plugs in perfectly to the amp. I am now able to leave the charger connected to the amp full time, without any worry of overcharge. For the life of me, I cannot figure out why the amp manufacturer passed up this excellent charger when it was sourcing a power supply. It works...perfectly, and it is a bargain at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WileyM
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Warning---This is NOT a speed charger!
5/13/2012

Customer review by rlathe

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by rlathe
by rlathe

In fact this battery is not much of a charger at all. At first glance, based on the labeling of the product, it seemed it would be perfect for my new 12volt 120amp deep cycle marine battery. I brought it home and connected the "charger" to the battery. All lights displayed, it was connected, the green light indicating it was charged, and the yellow light indicating my battery was not on an "auto trickle charge." But this was incorrect as my battery was brand new and had very little juice according the the meter on my electric motor... After much reading, in the owners manual, this is a Trickle Charger for small batteries only...motorcycles, lawn mowers....It is meant to be connected to the battery during cold months and keep in operating condition. The manual states if you attempt to charge a large battery you stand a strong possibility of damaging it. Seems this should be in bold or at least be made much clearer. I went out and purchased a Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger, and hopefully that should do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (27) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlathe
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
New design works as well as older, heavier unit
12/6/2013

Customer review by ZotzNut

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by ZotzNut
by ZotzNut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use these charger/maintainers to maintain heavy duty batteries when they are not in use. (For golf cart, trolling, and RVing use.) With one per battery, I have several of the older transformer units and of the new units which lack the transformer. Left unattended for the summer, a 36 volt unit from another manufacturer electrolyzed off all the water. I spent days refilling and recharging, and recovered only some of the batteries. The older Schumacher units did not electrolyze any water, and the batteries were ready for use. I was skeptical of these newer, lightweight units. Additionally, I was worried that there was no 6V/12V switch as on the older design. The great news is so far, they work well for either voltage. They are a great redesign. My only complaint is that the 3/8 inch bolts on golf cart batteries do not fit the 1/4 inch holes, preventing permanent installation. Until I can get the thin tabs drilled out (need to be careful, as they grab the drill bit), I use the included alligator clips. GOOD PRODUCT, GOOD PRICE

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZotzNut
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
lightweight and easy to install and operate
1/17/2016

Customer review by mikenovember

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by mikenovember
by mikenovember
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I store a car for the winter in my garage and in the spring I always have a tough time starting it. This product was recommended to overcome that issue. I know it is working properly based on the instructions. Springtime will tell whether I have solved my first start problem or not.

mikenovember
rhode island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
1/19/2016

Customer review by Conkyjoe

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Conkyjoe
by Conkyjoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had an older model Schumacher charger that quit. I charge a motorcycle battery that I use for a boat boombox. Fully charges battery overnight to 13 volts.

Conkyjoe
Bahamas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Above Expectations
3/27/2010

Customer review by INnOut

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by INnOut
by INnOut

I have a 5 year old Harley Davidson with the original battery and unfortunately neglected to keep charged this year over the winter months. The battery was completely "dead" with no power to even slightly engage the lights. Everyone including the dealer told me that I needed a new battery. I bought and used several different type chargers at various stores with no results. I finally went to Walmart to purchase a new battery when I stumbled accross this product. I liked the auto-detect voltage feature and maintenance capability as stated on the box. However, it did not indicate or suggest that it could recharge a dead battery. It does!!! My battery is restored to it's original full capability and I use it continuously (as directed) and very pleased with this product because it not only works as directed, it goes beyond. I can only imagine what the affect would be on a new battery.

Was this review helpful? (58) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
INnOut
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Idiot proof!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Boomerang

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Boomerang
by Boomerang
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Simple to hook up and use. Great little charger. Works great on my old MTD rider.mop

Boomerang
Muscle Shoals, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Astronomynut
1/28/2011

Customer review by Astronomynut

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Astronomynut
by Astronomynut

I have 2 of the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger units, 1 for a small pickup battery and 1 for 2 rechargeable scooter batteries. The charger can automatically adjust it's voltage for the 6v scooter batteries and the 12v truck battery. I originally purchased 2 units, but I like them so much I just may purchase 1 more for my deep cycle telescope battery. My batteries were the weakest link in my vehicles, because I didn't have the right equipment to keep them healthy. I have heard reports of car/truck batteries lasting 5 - 7 years with this type of charger/maintainer. So, buying a new battery every year was frustrating. Now, with the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger, I know I won't have to replace my auto or scooter batteries for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (141) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Astronomynut
Yuba City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Batteries are getting EXPENSIVE - Make them last
4/21/2011

Customer review by HighTechHobbyist

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by HighTechHobbyist
by HighTechHobbyist

Purchased two. One for my senior mother, who only drives her car once or twice a month resulting in low or dead battery every few months. NOW: No more dead battery problems for mom! (I have it all setup for her, quick unplug / replug.) Always plugged in when parked at home, NO worry of overcharge. The second charger was for me. :-) (I already have a tender jr.) 3 cars, 2 motorcycles, etc.. My larger 30/10/2 amp battery charger is for fast charging and jump starting, both of which are less than desireable for ideal battery life. Be sure it's right for you, this is a SLOW gentle charger that is intended to MAINTAIN your wet-cell batteries at ideal charge. And, it's possible you may need to lengthen the charge cable that connects to the battery for an ideal install. Not difficult for a handy person. I like....no switches, no fuss between 6/12v, auto sense. Set it and forget it. Value? Until I did my research, I figured I would buy a pair of tender jr's, but these stood out of the crowd as, equal or superior technically, and lower in price. I gave 4 stars overall since I have not had it very long.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighTechHobbyist
Sunny California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does more than I expected
7/11/2011

Customer review by pboxcapour

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by pboxcapour
by pboxcapour

I've had this charger for a few months now, and it's doing a great job. It is a slow charger (like it's supposed to be) so it won't charge quick so you can quickly jumpstart something. But it's purpose is to slowly charge something. I have a battery that loses it's charge after a short while and this charger works great. I use it on a riding lawnmower battery. After I've cranked the battery a few times and then put it on the charger, it takes a couple of hours to fully charge it. I like that it has lights that show when it's charging, if the connection is bad, and if the battery is now fully charged. It will also let you know if the battery is bad and can't be charged. And when it's fully charged, it stops pulling electricity. I thought it was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pboxcapour
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Saved 100%
1/23/2016

Customer review by Samkenmom

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Samkenmom
by Samkenmom

Great brand item at a great price. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samkenmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not maintain charge as I expected-
11/27/2015

Customer review by Nicknomer

2.0 stars 11/27/2015 by Nicknomer
by Nicknomer

I just bought one of these assuming it would operate similarly to an old 1.5A Schumacher Battery Companion maintenance charger, but upon testing this new model, found it doesn't work the same. On my other one, when connected to a battery, it will start charging, and delivers the full current until it detects the voltage reached 14.5V. At that point, it would then drop down to float mode, and output 13.25V at low current which can be held indefinitely to maintain the battery at full charge without boiling off any electrolyte. If the voltage drops below the threshold for some reason, either from loads or the battery exhibiting self discharge, it will then kick back on to charging cycle until it again reaches 14.5V and go back into float mode. This one, however, operates differently. When it detects a battery is connected, it starts outputting charge current for some interval of time even if it sees something beyond 14.8V, which is higher than I expected. Source output voltage in charge mode is 16.5V, and drops to 14.5V a few minutes later. What disturbed me is it didn't shut down even after reaching and holding a high voltage on a small 12AH SLA I was charging as a test, and the battery actually started seeping fluid from the case, from the internal pressure building up. Possibly the internal microprocessor algorithm is looking for something of a dynamic response from the battery during charge, and the battery I was testing was an old one, but I didn't expect the charge to keep on going after reaching the high levels. I tried again after letting it sit for awhile, and then I did see it terminate charge and go into the green slow fade in/out LED maintenance mode, but now the wrinkle is that it is not outputting any maintenance charge current at all, and when I put a load on the battery to drop it down in voltage, even below 11.5V, it never kicked back into charge mode, and apparently would have allowed the battery to fully discharge if left alone over the long term. This design appears to be more for single charge use where it will charge a battery back up at a low rate, but then disconnected and manually reconnected the next time it's needed. It did not work as a maintenance charger on the one I received. Just happened to be the Thanksgiving holiday so unfortunately I couldn't reach Schumacher for comment, but decided I'll be returning it, as I didn't like the characteristics of how high it charged up to before shutting down, and the way it never kicks back on if the monitored battery voltage drops below threshold.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicknomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked without any issues
2/1/2014

Customer review by Chief1994

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Chief1994
by Chief1994
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My car sits in the garage and only comes out now and again. The 2 year old battery was petering out, low cranks when I turne the key. This product worked like charm. At first I thought maybe it was not working as the "charging" light was on for about 20 hours. Finally it went off as my battery must have been really drained. Turned the key and it sounded like a new battery. Rarely do I find something at this price that does what it is supposed to do, this one will not dissapoint you.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chief1994
Peachtree City, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy to use
12/13/2015

Customer review by adamsleretired

4.0 stars 12/13/2015 by adamsleretired
by adamsleretired
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had it for about 3 weeks. Small, appears to be reasonable well made. Easy to use. Cables supplied with it are well made. Bought it to keep lawn tractor battery charged during winter. Seems to be working ok. Have ordered another set of leads to connect to truck/auto battery if needed.

adamsleretired
MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Watch the charge !
12/18/2011

Customer review by Vacguy

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Vacguy
by Vacguy

I bought this as I have a couple of vehicles/garden tractors that I wanted to protect the batteries over the winter. First use on my antique vehicle the unit continued to charge even when the battery ( checked with a voltmeter ) was at full charge. I disconnected the unit and used it on the graden tractor with a small battery. The unit cycled and stopped charging when the battery was a little above fully charged. Tried on another car and the unit continued to charge and not shut down even though the battery got to 13.17 volt of charge. Full battery charge for a 12 volt battery is 12.66, 12.45 is 75%, 12.24 is 50 % and 12.06 is 25 %. Overcharging a battery is just as bad as it going flat. No way would I assume that this gives a proper charge without constant monitoring and checking which defeats the whole purpose. Don't assume just because a light goes on or off that you have what is correct. Mine is going back....

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vacguy
Athens, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NOT for Charging LARGE batteries!
5/18/2012

Customer review by akladjfg

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by akladjfg
by akladjfg

Quote from Owner's Manual: "If you are maintaining a fully charged large battery, you will be properly utilizing the battery charger. However, if you use the battery charger to charge a large battery, such as a marine deep cycle battery, that was not fully charged, you may lose some of the battery’s capacity. This would cause the large battery to be unable to hold a charge and become useless. Therefore, we do not recommend charging a large battery with this unit." The manual considers all car and truck batteries to be "Large Batteries" So, this device is only for maintaining an already fully charged large battery. Owner's Manual PDF www.batterychargers.com/Documents/0099001192WB-00.pdf

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akladjfg
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for Motorcycles.
2/24/2011

Customer review by dugdug1983

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by dugdug1983
by dugdug1983

I bought the Schumacher Speed Charge Battery Maintainer and Charger for my motorcycle to keep the battery from draining during the long colorado winter months, and it works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (156) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dugdug1983
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Manual or Auto?
11/13/2009

Customer review by budongman

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by budongman
by budongman

I bought the first one that had a selector switch for 6 or 12 volts. It has been functioning properly for well over a year. The second one was an auto switch select between 6 and 12 volt. It was DOA. I returned it and bought the manual select unit and it is working properly. The units are sensitive to voltage change and will charge and maintain the proper levels very accurately.

Was this review helpful? (250) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
budongman
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews