Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 451 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

451 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

451 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
322
4 stars
69
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
35
1-20 of 367 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
Awesome for Motorcycles.
2/24/2011

Customer review by dugdug1983

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by dugdug1983
by dugdug1983

I bought the Schumacher Speed Charge Battery Maintainer and Charger for my motorcycle to keep the battery from draining during the long colorado winter months, and it works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (153) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dugdug1983
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Manual or Auto?
11/13/2009

Customer review by budongman

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by budongman
by budongman

I bought the first one that had a selector switch for 6 or 12 volts. It has been functioning properly for well over a year. The second one was an auto switch select between 6 and 12 volt. It was DOA. I returned it and bought the manual select unit and it is working properly. The units are sensitive to voltage change and will charge and maintain the proper levels very accurately.

Was this review helpful? (241) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budongman
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Schumacher SpeedCharge
10/5/2010

Customer review by jrancher

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by jrancher
by jrancher

This product was very simple to use, efficient and much less expensive than "basic" battery chargers I researched. I went to 2 motorcycle shops, checked 2 internet sites and the best price I could find was 25-30 dollars more. This battery charger also has features that I found on similiar products for $60+. Turns off after charge is complete, but also senses and maintains charge if kept connected to charger. 1.5 amps is ideal for motorcycle battery use. The purchase is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (138) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrancher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Schumacher Maintenance Charger
7/22/2010

Customer review by AL01

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by AL01
by AL01

This is my second one for yet another application. I leave a vehicle in storage for up to 6 months at a time. When I return and start it, it is as though I ran it yesterday.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AL01
Lorain, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Astronomynut
1/28/2011

Customer review by Astronomynut

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Astronomynut
by Astronomynut

I have 2 of the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger units, 1 for a small pickup battery and 1 for 2 rechargeable scooter batteries. The charger can automatically adjust it's voltage for the 6v scooter batteries and the 12v truck battery. I originally purchased 2 units, but I like them so much I just may purchase 1 more for my deep cycle telescope battery. My batteries were the weakest link in my vehicles, because I didn't have the right equipment to keep them healthy. I have heard reports of car/truck batteries lasting 5 - 7 years with this type of charger/maintainer. So, buying a new battery every year was frustrating. Now, with the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger, I know I won't have to replace my auto or scooter batteries for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (134) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Astronomynut
Yuba City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Lived up to the ratings
9/9/2010

Customer review by Stevejas

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Stevejas
by Stevejas

This charger beat my expectations. I was able to fully charge a real dead battery in a car that had been sitting for months without watching over it. It was necessary for me to leave the cars location for over a week while being charged. Schumacher Battery Charger is really fully automatic and maintained the battery's charge!

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stevejas
Wildomar, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Above Expectations
3/27/2010

Customer review by INnOut

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by INnOut
by INnOut

I have a 5 year old Harley Davidson with the original battery and unfortunately neglected to keep charged this year over the winter months. The battery was completely "dead" with no power to even slightly engage the lights. Everyone including the dealer told me that I needed a new battery. I bought and used several different type chargers at various stores with no results. I finally went to Walmart to purchase a new battery when I stumbled accross this product. I liked the auto-detect voltage feature and maintenance capability as stated on the box. However, it did not indicate or suggest that it could recharge a dead battery. It does!!! My battery is restored to it's original full capability and I use it continuously (as directed) and very pleased with this product because it not only works as directed, it goes beyond. I can only imagine what the affect would be on a new battery.

Was this review helpful? (54) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INnOut
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Charger...easy to use.
4/21/2010

Customer review by NeoGeo

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by NeoGeo
by NeoGeo

This was an excellent product that paid for itself on the first use! . We used it to successfully charge a dead battery on our classic Mustang. The battery went from dead to fully charged in about a day. . Charger was easy to connect and the instructions are clear, there's even an explanation of the status lights right on the charger. . Besides charging it can recondition and maintain a charge on both 6 and 12 volt batteries automatically (no switches to change).

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeoGeo
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works as advertised.
3/25/2012

Customer review by Oldsmobile88Eddie

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by Oldsmobile88Eddie
by Oldsmobile88Eddie

I was cautious after a few minutes of hooking it up as it smelled like something was getting hot, but it stopped, I guess it was just the new 'getting warm' smell from the manufacturing process as it went away in a little while and didn't return. It seems like it works as advertised, quite automatic. Wal-Mart had a trusty product, and NOT a piece of junk. I used it on my 50 Olds and My New Yard Tractor. On both it worked well.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldsmobile88Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Maintains a portable bass guitar amp!
4/10/2010

Customer review by WileyM

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by WileyM
by WileyM

My popular battery-powered bass guitar amp contains two 6V motorcycle batteries that provide a full 12V to the amp. Unfortunately the amp's plug-in charging adapter is totally manual, without any automation whatsoever. The amp's owner's manual literally yells at you to keep the batteries fully charged, or they will die. However, the manual also warns me to not leave the power adapter attached to the amp more that 10 hours, or the batteries will die. Yikes! What the amp needed, and this charger provides, is total ease of use. It monitors the charging state and battery condition constantly so that it can switch to a safe trickle charge, or full charging rate EXACTLY when needed. With a simple modification to the included extra pigtail cord, I was able to add a connector that plugs in perfectly to the amp. I am now able to leave the charger connected to the amp full time, without any worry of overcharge. For the life of me, I cannot figure out why the amp manufacturer passed up this excellent charger when it was sourcing a power supply. It works...perfectly, and it is a bargain at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WileyM
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked without any issues
2/1/2014

Customer review by Chief1994

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Chief1994
by Chief1994

My car sits in the garage and only comes out now and again. The 2 year old battery was petering out, low cranks when I turne the key. This product worked like charm. At first I thought maybe it was not working as the "charging" light was on for about 20 hours. Finally it went off as my battery must have been really drained. Turned the key and it sounded like a new battery. Rarely do I find something at this price that does what it is supposed to do, this one will not dissapoint you.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chief1994
Peachtree City, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product doesn't last
12/27/2010

Customer review by luapfromNH

1.0 stars 12/27/2010 by luapfromNH
by luapfromNH

I bought 6 of these over several years. Started using this type to maintaining tractor, motorcycle, generator and lawn mower batteries. All have failed with green light on which indicates battery is charged. Over the years I would find batteries discharged and in some cases no longer usable after as little as 2 years of use. I am looking for other options to replace the 3 I had in operation this year. Very frustrating Do not trust these for battery maintenance unless you keep checking on them with a good meter.

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luapfromNH
Brentwood, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does more than I expected
7/11/2011

Customer review by pboxcapour

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by pboxcapour
by pboxcapour

I've had this charger for a few months now, and it's doing a great job. It is a slow charger (like it's supposed to be) so it won't charge quick so you can quickly jumpstart something. But it's purpose is to slowly charge something. I have a battery that loses it's charge after a short while and this charger works great. I use it on a riding lawnmower battery. After I've cranked the battery a few times and then put it on the charger, it takes a couple of hours to fully charge it. I like that it has lights that show when it's charging, if the connection is bad, and if the battery is now fully charged. It will also let you know if the battery is bad and can't be charged. And when it's fully charged, it stops pulling electricity. I thought it was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pboxcapour
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Skeptical but glad I tried it..........
12/10/2010

Customer review by OhioConsultant

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by OhioConsultant
by OhioConsultant

I normally do not post reviews simply due to the lack of time I seem to have however, this time is different. I have several motorcycles and quads with batteries. I have always used Battery Tender products in the past and have worked out well. I picked up another bike and needed another Battery Tender and ran across the reviews for this Schumacher SpeedCharge. I read the reviews and noticed a couple of guys said this thing actually brought their dead battery back to life again. One even stated that it did after the dealer told him the battery was bad. Based on that, I gave it a try. The reason is that I have a DRZ400S with a dead battery that my Battery Tenders will not charge. They just blink indicating that the battery is completely hosed. After I received the Schumacher, I plugged it in and after about 24 hours, it blinked just like the Battery Tender. I unplugged and plugged it back in and it started the process over. After another 24 hours, the green light appeared and showed a fully charged battery!!!!!!! I have started the bike several times since then. I am sold on this thing and will order another when I need another charger/maintainer. Highly recommend. One thing I can say is that I was surprised at how small the unit was when I received it. The picture does make it look larger. Don't care though, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioConsultant
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product description VERY misleading
12/26/2011

Customer review by dixiebooks

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by dixiebooks
by dixiebooks

To be fair, the product may be fine. It is the Wal-Mart product description that is problematic. Per the Wal-Mart description: "The Schumacher SpeedCharge maintains both 6- and 12-volt batteries, keeping them at full-charge using float-mode monitoring. Perfect for charging small and large batteries found on motorcycles, classic cars, RVs, boats and more...." The truth: It will Maintain 6v and 12v batteries but only charge 6v batteries. If you try to charge a 12v battery, you WILL ruin your battery. I found out too late and now my battery is screwed. FWIW, I had it tested just a couple of days prior and the battery tested good. Now it will not hold a charge. I am now looking at having to replace an expensive battery.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dixiebooks
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Warning---This is NOT a speed charger!
5/13/2012

Customer review by rlathe

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by rlathe
by rlathe

In fact this battery is not much of a charger at all. At first glance, based on the labeling of the product, it seemed it would be perfect for my new 12volt 120amp deep cycle marine battery. I brought it home and connected the "charger" to the battery. All lights displayed, it was connected, the green light indicating it was charged, and the yellow light indicating my battery was not on an "auto trickle charge." But this was incorrect as my battery was brand new and had very little juice according the the meter on my electric motor... After much reading, in the owners manual, this is a Trickle Charger for small batteries only...motorcycles, lawn mowers....It is meant to be connected to the battery during cold months and keep in operating condition. The manual states if you attempt to charge a large battery you stand a strong possibility of damaging it. Seems this should be in bold or at least be made much clearer. I went out and purchased a Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger, and hopefully that should do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rlathe
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great job in a little package
3/12/2011

Customer review by aperella

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by aperella
by aperella

I was always having trouble with my battery being dead and replacing the battery wasn't an option, neither was replacing my children who seem to forget how to make sure the doors are always shut when they get out of the car... so I had too many times asked family to come over and jump my car, one day I bought this charger online and now, aside from making sure doors are close, I have the peace and mind of having this...and yes I have used it now only one time but it worked perfectly and I have no doubt it will again when it is needed. It is much smaller than I imagined it would be but perfect for what our needs are! thanks Ape

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aperella
cvollins, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Owned for a year -- very happy
11/3/2013

Customer review by SurlyGuy

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by SurlyGuy
by SurlyGuy

I've owned and used this product for a year and have been very happy with it. I primarily use it on my motorcycles and just plug it in after riding. My bikes stay outdoors but under a cover so keeping the charge up is a priority when it gets cold. My other half's vehicle doesn't see much use and lately I've been taking to plugging her Blazer in for a week then alternating with the bike. I used it on a flat battery and, within 20 minutes, it charged the battery enough to start the vehicle. At this price, the unit can't be beat so I probably will get another -- one for the bikes and one for the Blazer. Great deal !!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SurlyGuy
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New design works as well as older, heavier unit
12/6/2013

Customer review by ZotzNut

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by ZotzNut
by ZotzNut

I use these charger/maintainers to maintain heavy duty batteries when they are not in use. (For golf cart, trolling, and RVing use.) With one per battery, I have several of the older transformer units and of the new units which lack the transformer. Left unattended for the summer, a 36 volt unit from another manufacturer electrolyzed off all the water. I spent days refilling and recharging, and recovered only some of the batteries. The older Schumacher units did not electrolyze any water, and the batteries were ready for use. I was skeptical of these newer, lightweight units. Additionally, I was worried that there was no 6V/12V switch as on the older design. The great news is so far, they work well for either voltage. They are a great redesign. My only complaint is that the 3/8 inch bolts on golf cart batteries do not fit the 1/4 inch holes, preventing permanent installation. Until I can get the thin tabs drilled out (need to be careful, as they grab the drill bit), I use the included alligator clips. GOOD PRODUCT, GOOD PRICE

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZotzNut
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
They don't work
12/4/2012

Customer review by hxracer

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by hxracer
by hxracer

I have 2 different styles of Schumacher chargers and this one doesn't work. Yours doesn't either but you won't know until your battery is ruined. It charges when you first hook it up but as your battery discharges it doesn't kick back into charge mode like my other model does. I don't have that one in front of me but it has a manual switch between 6 and 12 volts unlike this one. I sent 2 back and the ones they send me were junk like the first two. Here is how to test yours. Put it on your battery and it will show yellow charging. Come back in 2 days. It will show green as though it is charged. Unhook one of the leads and connect again. Light goes to yellow and starts charging. Junk. Another way to prove it never flip back to charge mode. Charge for a day and come back and turn the headlights on. Charger should switch to yellow charging but it won't. My other model does immediately. This piece of garbage doesn't. They are junk and the company keeps selling them. Nice.

Was this review helpful? (22) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hxracer
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews