Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 481 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

481 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

481 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
344
4 stars
74
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
36
1-20 of 397 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 397 total reviews
1-20 of 397 reviews
Works as advertised.
3/25/2012

Customer review by Oldsmobile88Eddie

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by Oldsmobile88Eddie
by Oldsmobile88Eddie

I was cautious after a few minutes of hooking it up as it smelled like something was getting hot, but it stopped, I guess it was just the new 'getting warm' smell from the manufacturing process as it went away in a little while and didn't return. It seems like it works as advertised, quite automatic. Wal-Mart had a trusty product, and NOT a piece of junk. I used it on my 50 Olds and My New Yard Tractor. On both it worked well.

Was this review helpful? (54) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldsmobile88Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They don't work
12/4/2012

Customer review by hxracer

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by hxracer
by hxracer

I have 2 different styles of Schumacher chargers and this one doesn't work. Yours doesn't either but you won't know until your battery is ruined. It charges when you first hook it up but as your battery discharges it doesn't kick back into charge mode like my other model does. I don't have that one in front of me but it has a manual switch between 6 and 12 volts unlike this one. I sent 2 back and the ones they send me were junk like the first two. Here is how to test yours. Put it on your battery and it will show yellow charging. Come back in 2 days. It will show green as though it is charged. Unhook one of the leads and connect again. Light goes to yellow and starts charging. Junk. Another way to prove it never flip back to charge mode. Charge for a day and come back and turn the headlights on. Charger should switch to yellow charging but it won't. My other model does immediately. This piece of garbage doesn't. They are junk and the company keeps selling them. Nice.

Was this review helpful? (31) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hxracer
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Warning---This is NOT a speed charger!
5/13/2012

Customer review by rlathe

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by rlathe
by rlathe

In fact this battery is not much of a charger at all. At first glance, based on the labeling of the product, it seemed it would be perfect for my new 12volt 120amp deep cycle marine battery. I brought it home and connected the "charger" to the battery. All lights displayed, it was connected, the green light indicating it was charged, and the yellow light indicating my battery was not on an "auto trickle charge." But this was incorrect as my battery was brand new and had very little juice according the the meter on my electric motor... After much reading, in the owners manual, this is a Trickle Charger for small batteries only...motorcycles, lawn mowers....It is meant to be connected to the battery during cold months and keep in operating condition. The manual states if you attempt to charge a large battery you stand a strong possibility of damaging it. Seems this should be in bold or at least be made much clearer. I went out and purchased a Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger, and hopefully that should do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (36) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlathe
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
New design works as well as older, heavier unit
12/6/2013

Customer review by ZotzNut

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by ZotzNut
by ZotzNut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use these charger/maintainers to maintain heavy duty batteries when they are not in use. (For golf cart, trolling, and RVing use.) With one per battery, I have several of the older transformer units and of the new units which lack the transformer. Left unattended for the summer, a 36 volt unit from another manufacturer electrolyzed off all the water. I spent days refilling and recharging, and recovered only some of the batteries. The older Schumacher units did not electrolyze any water, and the batteries were ready for use. I was skeptical of these newer, lightweight units. Additionally, I was worried that there was no 6V/12V switch as on the older design. The great news is so far, they work well for either voltage. They are a great redesign. My only complaint is that the 3/8 inch bolts on golf cart batteries do not fit the 1/4 inch holes, preventing permanent installation. Until I can get the thin tabs drilled out (need to be careful, as they grab the drill bit), I use the included alligator clips. GOOD PRODUCT, GOOD PRICE

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZotzNut
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Money Saver
7/5/2016

Customer review by harry64

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by harry64
by harry64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this 6 weeks ago and I was so pleased I have purchased two more ( the last one is a 1562-CA). The first purchase paid for itself in the first 48 hours. It charged a lawn & garden tractor battery that was 2 years old and dead. I was ready to replace it but thought I might as well give this charger a try. To my surprise it charged up in 48 hours and has continued to charge and start the tractor every time. I now have one for my ATV and industrial tractor. I don't see any difference between the 1562-A and the -CA.

harry64
Rhinelander, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for a While
7/1/2016

Customer review by RobM

2.0 stars 7/1/2016 by RobM
by RobM

I have owned two of these and both eventually failed. The second one had a slightly different outward appearance and I purchased it when the first one failed, since it looked like an updated model. Unfortunately, same result - stopped working. Gave it 2 Stars since it did work when I got it (them) and for a couple years afterwards, but such a simple electronic device should last more than a couple years. Was using it as a 'maintainer' for a vintage car. No more of this brand for me....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Above Expectations
3/27/2010

Customer review by INnOut

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by INnOut
by INnOut

I have a 5 year old Harley Davidson with the original battery and unfortunately neglected to keep charged this year over the winter months. The battery was completely "dead" with no power to even slightly engage the lights. Everyone including the dealer told me that I needed a new battery. I bought and used several different type chargers at various stores with no results. I finally went to Walmart to purchase a new battery when I stumbled accross this product. I liked the auto-detect voltage feature and maintenance capability as stated on the box. However, it did not indicate or suggest that it could recharge a dead battery. It does!!! My battery is restored to it's original full capability and I use it continuously (as directed) and very pleased with this product because it not only works as directed, it goes beyond. I can only imagine what the affect would be on a new battery.

Was this review helpful? (63) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
INnOut
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Maintains a portable bass guitar amp!
4/10/2010

Customer review by WileyM

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by WileyM
by WileyM

My popular battery-powered bass guitar amp contains two 6V motorcycle batteries that provide a full 12V to the amp. Unfortunately the amp's plug-in charging adapter is totally manual, without any automation whatsoever. The amp's owner's manual literally yells at you to keep the batteries fully charged, or they will die. However, the manual also warns me to not leave the power adapter attached to the amp more that 10 hours, or the batteries will die. Yikes! What the amp needed, and this charger provides, is total ease of use. It monitors the charging state and battery condition constantly so that it can switch to a safe trickle charge, or full charging rate EXACTLY when needed. With a simple modification to the included extra pigtail cord, I was able to add a connector that plugs in perfectly to the amp. I am now able to leave the charger connected to the amp full time, without any worry of overcharge. For the life of me, I cannot figure out why the amp manufacturer passed up this excellent charger when it was sourcing a power supply. It works...perfectly, and it is a bargain at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WileyM
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works
7/3/2016

Customer review by JWSimi

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by JWSimi
by JWSimi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried other charges that cost more, but this little one does the job just as good. I have 5 cars I try to keep charged. The one I use to buy, you can't buy in Calif. anymore. I like the looks and indicators better on this one then the others. I got 3 of them and getting ready to order 1 more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWSimi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Product
7/22/2016

Customer review by Reddy

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Reddy
by Reddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well. Charged my motorcycle battery pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Astronomynut
1/28/2011

Customer review by Astronomynut

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Astronomynut
by Astronomynut

I have 2 of the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger units, 1 for a small pickup battery and 1 for 2 rechargeable scooter batteries. The charger can automatically adjust it's voltage for the 6v scooter batteries and the 12v truck battery. I originally purchased 2 units, but I like them so much I just may purchase 1 more for my deep cycle telescope battery. My batteries were the weakest link in my vehicles, because I didn't have the right equipment to keep them healthy. I have heard reports of car/truck batteries lasting 5 - 7 years with this type of charger/maintainer. So, buying a new battery every year was frustrating. Now, with the Schumacher SpeedCharge Battery Maintainer and Charger, I know I won't have to replace my auto or scooter batteries for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (141) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Astronomynut
Yuba City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Watch the charge !
12/18/2011

Customer review by Vacguy

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Vacguy
by Vacguy

I bought this as I have a couple of vehicles/garden tractors that I wanted to protect the batteries over the winter. First use on my antique vehicle the unit continued to charge even when the battery ( checked with a voltmeter ) was at full charge. I disconnected the unit and used it on the graden tractor with a small battery. The unit cycled and stopped charging when the battery was a little above fully charged. Tried on another car and the unit continued to charge and not shut down even though the battery got to 13.17 volt of charge. Full battery charge for a 12 volt battery is 12.66, 12.45 is 75%, 12.24 is 50 % and 12.06 is 25 %. Overcharging a battery is just as bad as it going flat. No way would I assume that this gives a proper charge without constant monitoring and checking which defeats the whole purpose. Don't assume just because a light goes on or off that you have what is correct. Mine is going back....

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vacguy
Athens, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does more than I expected
7/11/2011

Customer review by pboxcapour

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by pboxcapour
by pboxcapour

I've had this charger for a few months now, and it's doing a great job. It is a slow charger (like it's supposed to be) so it won't charge quick so you can quickly jumpstart something. But it's purpose is to slowly charge something. I have a battery that loses it's charge after a short while and this charger works great. I use it on a riding lawnmower battery. After I've cranked the battery a few times and then put it on the charger, it takes a couple of hours to fully charge it. I like that it has lights that show when it's charging, if the connection is bad, and if the battery is now fully charged. It will also let you know if the battery is bad and can't be charged. And when it's fully charged, it stops pulling electricity. I thought it was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pboxcapour
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT for Charging LARGE batteries!
5/18/2012

Customer review by akladjfg

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by akladjfg
by akladjfg

Quote from Owner's Manual: "If you are maintaining a fully charged large battery, you will be properly utilizing the battery charger. However, if you use the battery charger to charge a large battery, such as a marine deep cycle battery, that was not fully charged, you may lose some of the battery’s capacity. This would cause the large battery to be unable to hold a charge and become useless. Therefore, we do not recommend charging a large battery with this unit." The manual considers all car and truck batteries to be "Large Batteries" So, this device is only for maintaining an already fully charged large battery. Owner's Manual PDF www.batterychargers.com/Documents/0099001192WB-00.pdf

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akladjfg
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Batteries are getting EXPENSIVE - Make them last
4/21/2011

Customer review by HighTechHobbyist

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by HighTechHobbyist
by HighTechHobbyist

Purchased two. One for my senior mother, who only drives her car once or twice a month resulting in low or dead battery every few months. NOW: No more dead battery problems for mom! (I have it all setup for her, quick unplug / replug.) Always plugged in when parked at home, NO worry of overcharge. The second charger was for me. :-) (I already have a tender jr.) 3 cars, 2 motorcycles, etc.. My larger 30/10/2 amp battery charger is for fast charging and jump starting, both of which are less than desireable for ideal battery life. Be sure it's right for you, this is a SLOW gentle charger that is intended to MAINTAIN your wet-cell batteries at ideal charge. And, it's possible you may need to lengthen the charge cable that connects to the battery for an ideal install. Not difficult for a handy person. I like....no switches, no fuss between 6/12v, auto sense. Set it and forget it. Value? Until I did my research, I figured I would buy a pair of tender jr's, but these stood out of the crowd as, equal or superior technically, and lower in price. I gave 4 stars overall since I have not had it very long.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighTechHobbyist
Sunny California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for Motorcycles.
2/24/2011

Customer review by dugdug1983

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by dugdug1983
by dugdug1983

I bought the Schumacher Speed Charge Battery Maintainer and Charger for my motorcycle to keep the battery from draining during the long colorado winter months, and it works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (157) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dugdug1983
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Manual or Auto?
11/13/2009

Customer review by budongman

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by budongman
by budongman

I bought the first one that had a selector switch for 6 or 12 volts. It has been functioning properly for well over a year. The second one was an auto switch select between 6 and 12 volt. It was DOA. I returned it and bought the manual select unit and it is working properly. The units are sensitive to voltage change and will charge and maintain the proper levels very accurately.

Was this review helpful? (250) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
budongman
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked without any issues
2/1/2014

Customer review by Chief1994

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Chief1994
by Chief1994
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My car sits in the garage and only comes out now and again. The 2 year old battery was petering out, low cranks when I turne the key. This product worked like charm. At first I thought maybe it was not working as the "charging" light was on for about 20 hours. Finally it went off as my battery must have been really drained. Turned the key and it sounded like a new battery. Rarely do I find something at this price that does what it is supposed to do, this one will not dissapoint you.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chief1994
Peachtree City, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skeptical but glad I tried it..........
12/10/2010

Customer review by OhioConsultant

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by OhioConsultant
by OhioConsultant

I normally do not post reviews simply due to the lack of time I seem to have however, this time is different. I have several motorcycles and quads with batteries. I have always used Battery Tender products in the past and have worked out well. I picked up another bike and needed another Battery Tender and ran across the reviews for this Schumacher SpeedCharge. I read the reviews and noticed a couple of guys said this thing actually brought their dead battery back to life again. One even stated that it did after the dealer told him the battery was bad. Based on that, I gave it a try. The reason is that I have a DRZ400S with a dead battery that my Battery Tenders will not charge. They just blink indicating that the battery is completely hosed. After I received the Schumacher, I plugged it in and after about 24 hours, it blinked just like the Battery Tender. I unplugged and plugged it back in and it started the process over. After another 24 hours, the green light appeared and showed a fully charged battery!!!!!!! I have started the bike several times since then. I am sold on this thing and will order another when I need another charger/maintainer. Highly recommend. One thing I can say is that I was surprised at how small the unit was when I received it. The picture does make it look larger. Don't care though, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhioConsultant
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Charger...easy to use.
4/21/2010

Customer review by NeoGeo

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by NeoGeo
by NeoGeo

This was an excellent product that paid for itself on the first use! . We used it to successfully charge a dead battery on our classic Mustang. The battery went from dead to fully charged in about a day. . Charger was easy to connect and the instructions are clear, there's even an explanation of the status lights right on the charger. . Besides charging it can recondition and maintain a charge on both 6 and 12 volt batteries automatically (no switches to change).

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeoGeo
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 397 total reviews
1-20 of 397 reviews