Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 25 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Excellent value
8/18/2011

Customer review by beachbum08

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by beachbum08
by beachbum08

I was a little hesitant at first simply because Watersnake is not as well known as some of the other brands of trolling motors but,given the difference in price,I thought I'd give it a try. The only negative thing I can say about this motor is that the packaging was a little flimsy. Despite that,my motor arrived in excellent condition. It's got plenty of power to push my 9 1/2 ft. flat bottom boat all day.I've used it just about every weekend since it arrived on lake & river & it hasn't let me down yet.Battery usage is great! I'm using a 27 series deep cycle marine battery,was out about 6 hours & still had 65% battery left when I went to re-charge. So happy with this motor,I'll be purchasing a Watersnake saltwater trolling motor next!

Was this review helpful? (48) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachbum08
Valley Forge,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
44 pd trollin motor
3/29/2011

Customer review by redthefisherman

5.0 stars 3/29/2011 by redthefisherman
by redthefisherman

good and reliable so far i bought a new deep cycle battery as well and are able to haul me and my 16 ft boat everywhere i need to go on a 20 acre lake

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redthefisherman
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Alternative to the "big names"
7/25/2011

Customer review by InfernoMan

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by InfernoMan
by InfernoMan

I purchased this to power my 16' flat back canoe. I am very satisfied with the performance and build quality of the product. At top speed it will push the boat about 5mph with a full load of gear. (about 600lbs including battery). I went with a group 27 deep cycle and have run it at full speed for 2hrs and 1/2 for 2hrs and still had power left over. Not sure of total run time I would get but I really don't want to find out. I would hate to paddle back after going the distance with the motor. Overall I am more than satisfied with the purchase and look forward to using is for quite some time

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InfernoMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW!!!!
5/19/2013

Customer review by wclifton24

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by wclifton24
by wclifton24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wasn't really sure about this trolling motor because it's just not a popular name. However, I read all the reviews and decided to buy it, at the least I could take it back if it didn't do the job. Like others, the package was very bad, the box fell apart once I cut the plastic straps. I bought the everstart #27 battery to go with it at my local wal-mart. I put it on my 14' boat and was very surprised at how well it pushed the boat with me and my girlfriend in it. I'm glad I bought this one for my boat, it saved me some money and got more motor than the big name ones!!! The only thing I wish that it had is a adjustable handle.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wclifton24
Lanett, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2012

Customer review by CptAndy

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by CptAndy
by CptAndy

I wanted to buy a smaller portable motor for my sailboat 25ft. The gasoline motor 10HP is just too heavy to carry around. I took the motor to the lake in 2 days after receiving it just to check it out. I was nicely surprised - the motor did its work - in & out from the dock, etc. I did not want to buy any larger electric motor due to possible overload of battery although I have a solar panel. You can not beat the performance & price!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CptAndy
Pittsburgh area, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Never Heard of this Brand Prior to Purchase
4/13/2012

Customer review by worspan

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by worspan
by worspan

Most bang for the buck! I purchased more pounds of thrust for much less money with this brand! It moves my 14' fishin boat with ease. I ran it over a mile into a 10 mph head wind and she worked perfectly. My battery was only down about 8% afterwards (about a half hour trip). Seems to be very well put together, very simple to set and use. I will post an update at the end of Summer after I have really had some time to use it. So far so good!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
worspan
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent trolling motor
6/17/2013

Customer review by BluegillSlayer

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by BluegillSlayer
by BluegillSlayer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upgraded from older 27lb thrust Minn Kota. Very pleased with durabity, speed and overall function. Used with 9' flat bottom fishing boat. Plenty of speed for two people on 40 acre lake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BluegillSlayer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great trolling motor, and can't beat the price.
4/7/2014

Customer review by OvertimeAnglerRay

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by OvertimeAnglerRay
by OvertimeAnglerRay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this trolling motor for my 12' Coleman Crawdad and it pushes it around the lake with plenty of power to spare. I took it out on Saturday with 20mph steady winds and it pushed the boat around the lake for 4 hours against the wind and still had plenty of battery power remaining when I was finished. I am extremely happy with this purchase and would highly recommend this motor to anyone with a small boat.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OvertimeAnglerRay
Seekonk, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!!!
6/25/2013

Customer review by BoatingNut

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by BoatingNut
by BoatingNut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my 16' fiberglass canoe. The amount of thrust was amazing. Two people ice chest full of beer and a good wind and it had no problem getting us around.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoatingNut
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good motor Right Price
6/4/2013

Customer review by Holtanian

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Holtanian
by Holtanian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This motor just as good as my last Minnkota. I used it alone on a 12 ft aluminum boat. I am happy with the price and performance.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Holtanian
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great so far
12/30/2012

Customer review by DebT01

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by DebT01
by DebT01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought it for my husbands john boat, but he pushed his friends pontoon with it also. he was very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebT01
Lakeland FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of bang for the buck
6/18/2013

Customer review by SRQTad

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by SRQTad
by SRQTad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Basically, this is a Motor Guide with a different label and works very well. Sturdy mount, control head is easy to reverse for bow mounting (which I did but see prop/mount interference warning below), plenty of power, plenty of battery life and quiet/smooth enough. Be sure to get extra props/attaching parts as the prop nut is easy to loose grip on as it is put back in place after prop removal. The prop is a different material than its Motor guide counterpart and is a bit too easy to damage but, well, don't try to dig a channel with it. Beware of the fact that the prop will hit the mount if the motor is raised all the way up and tilted all the way out with the prop facing down (positioned for stowage in bow-mount config). DON'T OPERATE THE MOTOR IN THIS POSITION. You'll destroy your prop or burn up the motor. This is not as likely to occur in transom mount config because the control handle caces away from the prop as versus pointing in the same direction. So... when you move it up and out all the way, the prop is facing away from the mount. (Not so when you've reversed the control head.) The only other negative, so far, is the lever that depresses the tilt release binds against the mount if you go all the way past the last upper tilt slot. Not really a big deal but requires that you pivot the lever up out of the way so you can get to the top of the tilt release and operate it directly. Also the lever has pretty sharp edges so handle with care. I may opt to remove the lever completely... we'll see. Over-all? It's a great motor and, if i ever break it beyond repair, wear it out or just want another trolling motor, I will buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRQTad
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good motor but,
6/25/2014

Customer review by cowboykevin

4.0 stars 6/25/2014 by cowboykevin
by cowboykevin

motor is really good motor BUT, don't believe the part about cutting through weeds, that is the 1 big reason i bought this one and it does not cut through weeds, boggs up all the time, good motor to own but look at a moss hawg for motor weed control.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cowboykevin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Motor Worth The $
6/21/2014

Customer review by devin828

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by devin828
by devin828
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This motor was well worth the money I use it when renting row boats at local lakes

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devin828
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for price and performance!
5/18/2013

Customer review by Boudreauxjet

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Boudreauxjet
by Boudreauxjet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It performed well at the river,I got it to replace the 28 lb thrust that I had gotten in 99 and was real pleased with this one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boudreauxjet
Dothan,AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great motor bad shipping/packaging
6/27/2013

Customer review by Scarz13

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by Scarz13
by Scarz13

I received the motor at my front door and fully expected it to be destroyed. It arrived in 2 days , but looked like the package was dragged by an Abrams tank! The prop and installation tool were outside the box, and there was not 8 square inches of the box not damaged, (yes, I actually measured). After the initial shock, I was happy to see the contents were not hurt. I have this motor on an 8' Bass Hunter pontoon boat , and on 3rd " speed" it will produce an 18" wake. I am a 6 foot tall 225 lb. guy so this impressed me. I fished a local lake during 20 mph gusts, and this bad boy will keep you where you want to be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scarz13
Drums, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/5/2013

Customer review by WVDuckdispatcher

4.0 stars 9/5/2013 by WVDuckdispatcher
by WVDuckdispatcher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this motor once on a 10 foot duck blind boat. This motor had plenty of power to get me and a friend with our gear to our destination without problem, but not sure how long our battery will last going through a few weeds or ice. I also purchased the biggest battery available at the time, so this may become an issue later. We only made 10 passes that were 50 yards at max through slight vegetation with no battery life left. When I got home I placed the battery on charge and it had less than 5% life left.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVDuckdispatcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does a good job
12/6/2013

Customer review by Noone69

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Noone69
by Noone69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked well first time out.Good power. There was some play in the handle.When I took it apart,it appeared it was dropped during shipping and the bolt that hold it to the shaft was pushed up so that it was not secured as tight as it should be. Took about 20 minutes to take the bolt out and reposition the bolt for maximum hold. Very pleased with the motor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noone69
Panhandle of Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent alternative to the major brand.
8/18/2014

Customer review by EdwardMoney

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by EdwardMoney
by EdwardMoney
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While it is a little on the heavy side as compared to my previous Minn Kota turbo 36 lb thrust trolling motor (which lasted me 20 years btw), the Watersnake offers a lot of value! I hope it last as long as my previous motor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdwardMoney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for me
2/11/2014

Customer review by ldb187

3.0 stars 2/11/2014 by ldb187
by ldb187
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I need a t-motor that will fit on the bow of the boat and the head of this motor will not turn around. Packaging of sloppy. I return it to my local store for a full refund and ordered a Min-kota.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ldb187
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews