Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 43 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Very strong and great price... Cant complaint
9/23/2010

Customer review by BeBoSkI

4.0 stars 9/23/2010 by BeBoSkI
by BeBoSkI

Well i bought my bike probably like a month ago and i ride it about 3 times a week. The bike feels great and strong. size 10 in shoes but doesnt touch the wheel when im turning so thats a plus for me. The only complaint i have are the gears, they are not the best but for the price cant complaint. This bike looks great and is very comfortable. I'm 6" tall and for my size is perfect. I do reccommend this bike. GREAT BUY and very HAPPY with my bike

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeBoSkI
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW!
5/21/2011

Customer review by mboe76

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by mboe76
by mboe76

First: Walmart offered "free ship to home" and I recieved my bike in 4 days. Packaging was spectacular and I had NO damage issues. Second: This bike was EASY to assemble (with a slight exception with one break line) but went together with NO problems. Third: The parts that were pre-factory assembled, were done so with extraordinary care. I couldn't even tighten ANY bolts, as they were already as tight as possible!! Fourth: This bike is a MONSTER, and rides like a DREAM. I'm a big guy and this bike fits me PERFECT. Gearing is tight and shifting is smooth as silk. I used to have a $800 Giant, and this bike performs EVERY bit as well (a tad heavier, but this is a CAVEMAN'S bike so OH WELL). Great Buy!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mboe76
Freesoil, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value for Money!
2/22/2010

Customer review by ADiff

3.0 stars 2/22/2010 by ADiff
by ADiff

It's not exactly a 'world class' MTB, no.... But then it only costs a fraction of what one of those costs. It's a perfectly serviceable MTB capable of handling a wide range of terrains, dealing with substantial obstacles, surviving very hard rides (I don't think I'd recommend it for downhill rockhopping, though...get a another vehicle for that...29s aren't really optimal for that use anyway). For the casual rider who wants a broadly capable MTB, which can also be enjoyed everyday on urban streets and alleys...this one's hard to beat for value. Purists might disdain the down-market shifters and the lack of rear disc brake....but that's not an issue for casual riders and the rear caliper is actually a feature for such riders due to the easier maintenance. At this writing, of course, durability still to be demonstrated, but in its 1st few runs, this one has occasioned no cause at all for any 'buyers regret'....so far it's a tremendous value for money.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADiff
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for price
11/2/2010

Customer review by bubalo

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by bubalo
by bubalo

bike its realy big, its great for tall pepole, and works exelent. i recommend it

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bubalo
monterrey, N.L.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very nice bike
10/12/2010

Customer review by hammerhead7734

5.0 stars 10/12/2010 by hammerhead7734
by hammerhead7734

I bought this bike after reading the reviews. The bike is a monster! After a few minutes riding around with a screw driver it was tuned up. The seat was a bad joke but I didn't find it funny. I ride in the desert every day and this bike has amazed me. Over all this is a very nice mountain bike.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hammerhead7734
Phx. Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Thruster by Genesis EZ-29er 29" Mountain Bike
7/15/2010

Customer review by seefriedm

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by seefriedm
by seefriedm

I bought this bike last weekend. The main reason I purchased it was its size, I am 6'4" 230. Since i've had it I've upgraded the seat and put on quick release hubs and quick release seat post. I have a Lincoln MKX and the size of the bike made it difficult to fit into the back. The service department at our local Walmart (Alex@ Highland Village, TX)has been excellent. They have gone above and beyond in helping to outfit and order everything. The ride is great and I have no problems riding anywhere, especially over Smartcars!!! When you ride next to cars they do a doubletake, They passangers know something is different but not what.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seefriedm
Highland Village, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
i love it!! hahaha
1/16/2010

Customer review by iloveBikes

5.0 stars 1/16/2010 by iloveBikes
by iloveBikes

i buy my "29" by Store To Store wat...amazing service flawless service. beautiful color a really "headturner",this bike have some little problems,but hey!! for a 200dlls is a nice buy for a "29"...check other bikes and believe me 600 or 800 dlls base price i think is too much, need some upgrades...yup...front disc brake have some poor perfomance,but is safe anyway, i rate with a 8 over 10....if you have BIG feet...well......you are goin to "dance" in the pedals in some moves.....believe me it is worth the cost. the wheels looks HUUUGE!!!!!!......hahaha...kinda monster truck in bike version...lol. i hope Walmart in a very close future have in stock accesories (tires,hubs, etc etc) for "29's".the only way is by Internet. best wishes for all and buy this bike,nice and cheap with a decent performance

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iloveBikes
mission
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
5/26/2011

Customer review by TalonFixer

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by TalonFixer
by TalonFixer

Nice bike! Bought from store assembled. Got it home and went over everything to ensure tightness. Checked tire pressure - added some air and went off. What a ride! I am 6'2" 300 lbs with many knee surgeries. Bike felt wonderful and with 21 speeds to choose from - not a problem going anywhere. Cool color/graphics, white with black and red neon graphics. Brakes are spot on. I see many miles ahead! A must buy. First time I've seen a 29" bike in a department store! Just amazing!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TalonFixer
Northwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BIG E-Z
1/11/2010

Customer review by 29er

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by 29er
by 29er

Well first off the bike looks cool with the big 29" wheels buttt, does not leave much room when you are turning and if you have more that a size 10 shoe your front foot will rub on the big 29" wheel. The front brake is horrible i have adjusted and adjusted and it just does not have the stopping power to do "front indos" and i love to do them. Im having a bit of issues with the gears but i imagine with a little adjustment i can get them right "i am not a bike expert so dont quote me on this" the bike is really lite it feels like its around 25pounds but i imagine its not. Other than that i am happy with the bike it looks cool and feels cool and it does what i want except "indos"

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
29er
phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not sure yet
5/3/2011

Customer review by 23psalm

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by 23psalm
by 23psalm

Bought the " Genesis two nine" on April 29, 2011 on a Friday evening. Since I am a large fellow and out of shape due to 2 back surgeries, i thought i'd get a bike to ride since i cant lift weights , run , etc. We also bought our daughter a new bigger bike for her birthday. So when we got home that evening, I got both bikes ready to go. Walmart put the bikes together for free. We began riding together. I had a very hard time getting the gears to change and when they did, the chain went from the front smallest sprocket to the largest very quickly and sounded like it was in blender and then it jumped completely off the sprocket and broke the plastic guard into pieces. I returned the bike to Wal- Mart and they exchanged it with out hesitation. I now have the new bike siting in the garage until i can take it to a Pro bike shop and get a tune up front to back. I can say this. I am 6'2" and 300 lbs. the bike fits perfect. I tested a 26" Mongoose but for me it was too small and too expensive. I believe once i get it checked out I will really enjoy it and be able to finally exercise and get my weight back down to about 200, as i was before surgery. Nice bike, great graphics, smooth ride ( seat change is a must). Great bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
23psalm
Clanton, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
5/22/2011

Customer review by Jarhead84

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Jarhead84
by Jarhead84

Great Bike, Seat is a little small but a gel pad seat cover works well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jarhead84
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It's okay
5/25/2011

Customer review by Herp

3.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Herp
by Herp

I bought this bike as a low-end entry level bike to try out trail riding before upgrading to something more expensive. Overall, it's very attractive with the wide, knobby tires and black rims (especially when the goofy stickers are removed) and does a good job for basic point to point travel, but it isn't really designed to hold up under the rigors of actual off road mountain biking. Parts that would typically be aluminum or steel on other bikes are plastic on this bike (pedals, shift levers, brake handles, sprocket guard). Go down once, or miss a turn and go into the trees and you might end up with broken components. Most disappointing though, is the front fork suspension. After riding once or twice off road, the suspension has all but stopped working. So beware if you intend on buying this mountain bike for actual mountain biking use- it may not last you as long as you hope.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Herp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
29" Genesis
9/29/2010

Customer review by notimportant4u

5.0 stars 9/29/2010 by notimportant4u
by notimportant4u

I seen this bike sitting out in the Garden Center patio and had to have it. The ride is alot easier than I thought it would be. The dual ratchet gear shifters are way more easier than twisting on the fly. As for the tires all I can say is OH MY GAWD!!! It's like owning the monster truck of mountain bikes! 29" tires...woo-hoo! I had researched alot of bikes but had never seen one of these before. Now I am hooked! I am 5' 5" so this thing is huge and comfortable. Changed out the seat to a more comfy one (definitely don't like the "thong" seat that came on it). Have had no problem with having to readjust anything. This is my only means of transportation so I am hoping that Walmart starts carrying accessories for them, otherwise I have to go to the bike shop. As for the overall look it's awesome! Mine is a matte orange with matte black graphics. I added a rear fender which made it look cooler and will keep the mud off the back of my pants if, and when, it rains. I totally recommend this bike for anyone. P.S. The guys are jealous because this gal has a cool bike :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notimportant4u
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
3/6/2011

Customer review by lmd10

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by lmd10
by lmd10

I bought the Genesis 29er in Jan 2011 at a local store "online was out of stock"but I am glad I did GREAT STARTER BIKE FOR THE MONEY....make sure you get it tuned up and checked out if do it yourself or at a local LBS,I have been on the trails and streets with no problems, have fun riding... I am.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmd10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/10/2011

Customer review by Aladinslamp

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Aladinslamp
by Aladinslamp

I AM A WALMART ASSEMBLER....I put all these bikes together, and KNOW there price differences and the QUALITY of parts and pricing of the bikes AND BRANDS that Walmart has to offer... The Geneisis 29er is an AMAZING VALUE, it breaches and brings the high end dollars($800 plus) bikes to an affordable price of $200.. BUT REMEMBER your getting a lot more for less but you are not getting all of the $800 of quality..YOU ARE GETTING a quality bike better than any $200 bike!!!! If y our having any problems its due to who put the bike together, remember..... WE ASSEMBLERS put these bikes together for the general public,...A 15 year old bought one today, he will grow, but then my last buyer was 6Ft 6 and 250...the seat, and the feel of the bike must be adjusted for the individual...I need a bigger seat as well.as many bikes offered...as it is with all bikes...the bike is fully adjustable to young and old...NO bike comes from the factory in the box shift perfect....they are within range but need the fine tuning, if your does not work correctly..does not shift smoothly or brake correctly.. then BRING IT BACK!!!!so they can do there job...right. as for the performance of this bike.........THIS BIKE IS the best BANG for the BUCK!!!!!.........IF your a HARDCORE MTN rider. its still a nice value. but may not meet your needs of gearing and other hardcore highend requirements.....BUT that's why these bikes can cost up to $5000 BUCK's.....THIS IS THE biggest BANG FOR THE BUCK BIKE!!! and you can always take it back......but I encourage those who by this bike if you have any troubles to have it fine tuned rather than returned......swapping it out puts you into the same boat....by the way....FINE TUNING is a small adjustment......to correct how its performing,,,,most real bikers know this...but for the many who can't build there own bikes from scratch...take i t back for an adjustment rather than a return.....Thanks for listening. Aladin from Laurel MT...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aladinslamp
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
happy with bike
5/19/2011

Customer review by Gator36

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Gator36
by Gator36

Better than I expected. Aluminum frame and decent components. I'm 6'2" and it is big enough for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gator36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bike
4/2/2011

Customer review by mrgreenwrench

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by mrgreenwrench
by mrgreenwrench

Bought the genesis 29 inch white mountain bike march 30 very happy with it no problems have riden it about 40 miles no problems so far very comfortable good looking bike worth the money highly recommend :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrgreenwrench
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very strong but a little too tall
5/14/2011

Customer review by Aedes

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by Aedes
by Aedes

tried tough mountain trails, very strong.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aedes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
3/17/2010

Customer review by tightwadhavingfun

4.0 stars 3/17/2010 by tightwadhavingfun
by tightwadhavingfun

I am very happy with the Walmart 29er, I'm impressed with the bikes ride and the grearing is spot on, nice solid shifts. Some reviews say the frount brakes are weak, I'm happy with both rear and frount brakes. The complaint about your feet touching the frount wheel is correct. I wear a 9.5 shoe and have to pedal on the ball of my foot to keep from scrubing the frount wheel. The other weak linc is the frount suspention. There is no adjustments for the forks and they top out when you snatch on the bars to pull the frount wheel off the ground. The bike is a steal of a deal @ $200.00 rides as good as a $500.00 bike.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tightwadhavingfun
Eastman, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for light use
6/13/2011

Customer review by Nitto

2.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Nitto
by Nitto

This bike if a good bike for getting you back and forth on side walks and roads. If you plan on doing any "mountain biking" it would be a bad idea to purchase this bike. It does not hold up to rocky terrain very well. I took my bike in twice in one month, once because they forgot to put grease in the bearing and a second time because the forks broke, and eventually ended up buying a higher quality bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nitto
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews