Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 90 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Good product, excellent value
11/1/2010

Customer review by ellwoodAV

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by ellwoodAV
by ellwoodAV

It's Sunday evening and I've been surfing with this unit since Friday evening. It's working out very well for me. I'm using it in a mid size town in eastern WV as I visit people who aren't internetters. I'm getting speed tests randing from 150 - 400 Kb/s upload and download in EVD0 mode. This is enough for my Office Outlook, Office Communicator and internet surfing. There is a slower mode that the unit sometimes operates in called RXTT something something, and if it goes into that mode it's like downgrading from DSL to dial-up. I don't know how it selects the mode but so far it seems when I first connect it might be in the slower mode for a few minutes and them bump up to the faster EVD0 mode. It's doing what I need it to do, and I like the no-contract one-month-at-a-time $40 unlimited plan. Most months I won't even need this and it will be put away. It's nice to know I can just go on-line and sign up for a month anytime I need it. The installation and acount setup is all done through the USB unit itself, so you don't have to worry about getting it set up before leaving your existing connection network.

Was this review helpful? (137) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ellwoodAV
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much better then dial-up!!
8/27/2010

Customer review by fakexflowers

4.0 stars 8/27/2010 by fakexflowers
by fakexflowers

I bought this because where I live I cannot get dsl, or cable, and I have too many trees around my house for sat. internet. It's not the fastest internet out there but it is much, much faster then dial up! Mostly I get good speeds with it, sometimes it has some lag, but usually if I just keep refreshing the page it'll load up faster. I can watch video's with it and play games even mmo's.. And now that virgin offers unlimited usage for $40 a month it's even better!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fakexflowers
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/29/2010

Customer review by CADMom

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by CADMom
by CADMom

We moved to an area where our only internet options were dial up or $60+ per month with 2 year contracts. The Virgin Mobile works great and is affordable. I like that they added the unlimited option for $40 a month and I don't need to sign a contract. I looked into some of the other wireless options, and they were $59.99 for 5GB when you were in-network. I live in an area where I am at the edge of the service area, and if you are roaming on there network, you only get 300MB. I was afraid that I would be roaming with out knowing it and rack up an outragious bill.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CADMom
Woodleaf, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this. Seriously.
4/6/2011

Customer review by onlinepicturedump

2.0 stars 4/6/2011 by onlinepicturedump
by onlinepicturedump

1. Unlimited is nowhere near unlimited. You'll burn through your plan fast, and it will slow waaaay down 2. I can piggyback off a neighbor's wifi - marked as "poor signal" - and have faster download speeds than this 3. Too slow to watch youtube or any other videos 4. It's just flat-out slow. I guess if you have a situation where you need it in an emergency, such as when you travel, it might be good. Other than that, I absolutely do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (63) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlinepicturedump
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
12/29/2010

Customer review by havetosurf

4.0 stars 12/29/2010 by havetosurf
by havetosurf

have been using this product for about three weeks now, and have had no issues whatsoever with it. I was concerned at first whether or not I could stream "Netflix" over this modem, and have had no problems whatsoever. Virgin Mobile is powered by the sprint network, so where-ever your spring signals are good, you will get good 3g coverage. Have been trying to find out if Virgin Mobile has plans to upgrade to 4g, but nothing yet. all in all, this product has worked well for me. Proper placement is your key. next to a window is the best position.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
havetosurf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Life in the Slow Lane
1/17/2011

Customer review by frustratedinflorida

1.0 stars 1/17/2011 by frustratedinflorida
by frustratedinflorida

This is so so so so slow broadband. It's like it's 1991 and you have Compuserve dial up internet at a whopping 14.4Kbps. I live in Panama City Beach FL; the zip code checker says it will work. I only get 1 bar of service. I was very disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frustratedinflorida
Panama City Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better service than my sprint 3G
11/26/2010

Customer review by madeirabeachmike

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by madeirabeachmike
by madeirabeachmike

I had doubts when I purchased this item since I had so many problems with sprint. I can say that this item has worked much better than my sprint 3g adapter.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madeirabeachmike
Madeira Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Avoid this at all costs!!
11/13/2010

Customer review by eds115

1.0 stars 11/13/2010 by eds115
by eds115

This seems like a great idea - internet access with no contracts - pay as you go. Installation went well - no problems there. Unfortunately, this thing is SLOW. Incredibly slow. I checked on Virgin Mobile's Coverage Map. According to that, I'm in an area with the "best" coverage. I regularly get a full 4 "bars" of reception. I've used this on several laptops running XP & Windows 7 - Firefox and Chrome browsers. It doesn't matter! It just goes incredibly slow. I just timed it and it loaded 4000 bytes in one minute. Thats BYTES - not kilobytes, not megabytes. It essentially will not open a webpage (not even the default Virgin Mobile homepage) and will time-out. Its not always this bad, but it frequently will take a full minute to open a single webpage. My Verizon 3G phone has absolutely no problem accessing the web. I'm not sure what the deal is with this device - the network must be incredibly feeble. It would be great if it worked! But it doesn't in any acceptable way. Thats pretty much it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eds115
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/23/2011

Customer review by Roszek

2.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Roszek
by Roszek

I had purchased this item as my normal internet went down and would be out for a while. It is fine for regular internet browsing but was too slow for multimedia. The download speeds I was getting varied between 300 Kbps and 800 Kbps but those speeds varied minute to minute; one second I’m at 800 kbps and in a blink of an eye I’m down to 300 Kbps -sometimes even down to G2 speeds. The price was nice: Item $59.00 Useless $10.00 top-off card gives you a whopping 100 megs and ten days to use um. Walmart $20.00 special top-off card gives you 1 gig and a month to use it. The $50.00 card gives you unlimited for a month; however, you can’t get the 3G speeds after 2.5 gigs.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roszek
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
thumbs up virgin mobile
11/26/2010

Customer review by lavenderlilly

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by lavenderlilly
by lavenderlilly

i purchased this product one week ago..so far i am 100% satisfied with the product..i guess if u have other wireless service this may be a step down in quality..however, i have only had dial-up and there is no comparision in speed..i cannot afford the "big companies services with their restricted plans"..this is such a great alternative and so affordable..i have only one bar but still have great service..i have been booted once and a couple of times it has frozen for a few moments but then proceeds with the downloads....i got booted several times weekly with the dial-up and download times were horrible..two thumbs up and five stars virgin mobile for providing blue collar, hard working folks with a product that we can afford and enjoy

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lavenderlilly
aiken, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the price-Returned
7/6/2011

Customer review by IAAZTraveler

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by IAAZTraveler
by IAAZTraveler

Initially purchased for a short time need of only 2 days. Found out the 10-day (100mb) and 30-day (500mb) would be used up very quickly, even disabling all auto updates to all of my programs. The unlimited 30 day plan has recently gone up to $50 from $40. There are several other options available for less. I returned this one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAAZTraveler
Apache Junction, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome! Exactly what I needed :)
11/18/2010

Customer review by SaraSue1983a

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by SaraSue1983a
by SaraSue1983a

If you only have one computer at a time that you need internet on, this works wonderfully (for more than one you'd need the other device they offer). The $40 plan through Virgin Mobile has UNLIMITED internet, wherever I go as long as it is someplace that can receive cell phone service. Yay!! The only thing that scares me is the fact that it plugs into a USB port just like a flashdrive and my kids have been known to break those. So, for $80, I try to be very careful with it. If you are afraid of having it broken, you might want to try the other one they offer. It costs a little more, but doesn't have to stick out of your computer, so it's in less danger. And buying ONE of those still costs less than buying a second one of these if it is broken.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaraSue1983a
Batesville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for travel
9/16/2011

Customer review by sspoon70

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by sspoon70
by sspoon70

I was skeptical about this product when I read some of the reviews about the service. I needed internet while traveling, so when it went on sale for 59.88, I bought it. I could not get it to set up, and dreaded having to call VM customer service. I got a very helpful person who within 15 minutes had me connected. I used it while on vacation, and even in the car traveling, and was pleasantly surprised at the speed. I had expected a "dial-up" speed, but it was much faster! I am very pleased with the service and the customer service I received from Virgin Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sspoon70
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great bargain for affordable aircard service
11/3/2011

Customer review by CJKIP

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by CJKIP
by CJKIP

I was using an ATT aircard and paying about $60 a month for an occasional need when I was out of my office. My husband told me about this card with Virgin Mobile service, and it turned out to be exactly what I needed. There is no contract and I can purchase the data plan that is right for me, as I need it. When the aircard is purchased from Walmart, you can get DOUBLE the data for the same price. Works great. I wish I found it sooner. Make sure that the area you want to use it in has good service, then don't hesitate. Great buy!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJKIP
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/25/2011

Customer review by alliep

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by alliep
by alliep

Was hesitent to try this out because I was sure that it wasn't goin to work in my area. Boy was I wrong! I love it. One of the best items i've ever bought. Fast speed, access anywhere. What more could you ask for? We purchased the exclusive Walmart plan for $20 and that lasted us about 20 days. You can't beat unlimited internet for a dollar a day!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alliep
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
3/29/2011

Customer review by ladyrkb

5.0 stars 3/29/2011 by ladyrkb
by ladyrkb

This is an excellent product. I purchased it in November and I use it daily. The only problem I have with it is the company no longer offers unlimited if you hadnt already purchased the plan before 12/31/10 and it is very fragile and my children did break one. It was so valuable to me that I purchased another one. I use SKYPE and play games with it and it has been adequate for my needs

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyrkb
Jacksboro TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than Cricket
12/6/2011

Customer review by SevenEagles

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by SevenEagles
by SevenEagles

You wonder sometimes if the hype surrounding a product is genuine. This product turned out to be better than the Cricket version when it comes to speed and reliability. Pick the plan that suits you and you're on your way. Just plug it in any USB port and the device becomes active once your computer reads it. here is no CD of software. Everything is done via the Internet. Make sure no object obstruct the device so that you can get a clear signal path, No fuss with cables and other devices, this little plug in is all you need.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SevenEagles
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Absolute Junk! Save your money!!
4/29/2011

Customer review by JDUBB12345

1.0 stars 4/29/2011 by JDUBB12345
by JDUBB12345

Speeds as fast as a turtle and if you get logged on you got lucky! Horrible Service!

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDUBB12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does NOT work with Mac OS X Lion
9/28/2011

Customer review by CooperG

1.0 stars 9/28/2011 by CooperG
by CooperG

I originally bought this to use with my Macbook because my sister has one and it works great. Only I'm running OS X Lion (10.7) and she's running Snow Leopard (10.6). It doesn't work because Lion is a 64-bit operating system and the Virgin Broadband2Go application is 32-bit. You CAN make it work, but you have to reboot Lion in 32-bit mode (hold down the numbers 2 and 3 when you start up). I called Virgin support and they were helpful only in telling me it wouldn't work. No idea if they're coming out with a 64-bit version of the software. If they were, it'd be worth hanging on to because the data rates are so good. If you have Windows 7, I'm told this works in 64-bit mode, but not on Mac in 64-bit mode.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CooperG
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/30/2011

Customer review by alibaster

1.0 stars 9/30/2011 by alibaster
by alibaster

i coudn't get this product to connect to the internet. it did not work at all, and customer service at virgin mobile was no help.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alibaster
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews