Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
42
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 184 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Great addition to any speaker system...
1/19/2013

Customer review by truckerlarry

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by truckerlarry
by truckerlarry

diffinately improves everyones speaker system. The bass is incredible. My Cerwin Vegas are very crisp and clear and this subwoofer is just what the doctor ordered. Very powerful and very sensitive. Cabinet is vibration-free. Very good quality. Equal to those twice and three times more money..I am considering buying one more...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
truckerlarry
Parkersburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Subwoofer
4/6/2014

Customer review by 323Romans

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by 323Romans
by 323Romans
Walmart associate

This powered subwoofer is amazing. I didn't think much of this unit and thought all of the reviews were overgeneralized hype, but this product lives up to its praises. The whole delivery process went rather smoothly without any issues. I unpacked the box and at first glance thought this was a little too light to be a good subwoofer. I plugged it into my system without any issue and then I was surprised by the responisvness, tone, and overall quality of this speaker. The speaker was tight and didn't overwhelm the rest of the system. We have a smaller house and we like to listen to our music loud enough to hear it thoughout the home and this woofer does an excellent job. We have a 12 inch Acoustic Research in our family room and I am thinking about buying another one of these to compliment that system. I got this on sale for $98....you cannot go wrong at that price.....or at the normal price of $139 either. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
323Romans
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
A bargain subwoofer
4/5/2010

Customer review by klg49er

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by klg49er
by klg49er

I purchased this subwoofer to pair it up with the Vizio VSB200 sound bar (also available at Walmart). I noticed that the Vizio Sound Bar User Guide’s illustration of how to connect a powered subwoofer, was a photo of this subwoofer, so I figured Vizio had probably tried it out with its sound bar and that at the very least, the sub wouldn’t tank the sound bar. Set up was a simple matter of connecting one cable (enclosed in the subwoofer’s box) from the soundbar to the subwoofer. This sub doesn’t provide house-rattling bass, to be sure, but we were looking for a fuller, richer, deeper bass sound, with at least a little cinematic emphasis in dramatic scenes, and that’s what we got. Our primary use is for HD Cable television and Pay Per View movies. I rate the sub 5 out of 5 because it has much better performance than we had any right to expect for $99.99.

Was this review helpful? (67) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klg49er
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Budget Model for Smaller Rooms
1/8/2016

Customer review by GemsForTheMoney

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by GemsForTheMoney
by GemsForTheMoney

~ SONY often surprises with its speakers, better than one would expect at their price point. This particular Sub is limited in how low it can go & rolls-off pretty fast when reaching its bottom, especially with symphonic type music. More internal amp power likely would have helped. But it's a nice low-note, lower-freq addition for a kick-bass drum &/or an electric bass - or the pipe organ in "The Sound of Music," etc. It handles the LFE (low freq effects) amp channel better than expected for movies where that's used from a pre-amp Out. ~ So until you can get that $600 12" 300w Sub for a Home Theater, this will sound good enough for most things, especially with corner placement. ~ Would have preferred a front firing reflex port for extending the low-end probably. ~ Read the enclosed literature; don't run it at its max volume knob setting. Fine-tune system match with your amplifier Sub gain controls (as SONY explains). Also check the Auto-Off switch. Switch that Off to keep the Sub from going to "sleep" after about 2-mins without a bass signal (through lots of dialogue or a long accoustic guitar segment). Most times it's OK to leave the Auto-Off On though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GemsForTheMoney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best booty bass for the money
4/13/2015

Customer review by Bonkaboy

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Bonkaboy
by Bonkaboy

I can't believe how awesome this sounds. And for $100 bucks, unbelievable. Yes it looks like something you made in your garage but I didn't buy it for looks. I have a unique set up that makes it sound so much better. I have a wall unit with TV section. I had to take the doors off to fit my 40" TV inside. I replaced 40" with a 60"and mounted it on the outside of the wall unit. I decided to put the sub behind the tv so its in an empty shell behind the 60" and the sound is 100% better, louder, fuller, and deeper. The only little negative is if there isn't music on the TV it shuts down but as soon as music starts playing it auto-starts in about 1-2 seconds. Doesn't due this with movies and DVDs I think you can turn this feature off but its to much work to get behind the 60". Besides it more fun when you hear that bad boy kick in and notice what a difference a sub makes. For the money you can't beat this sub, and its a SONY.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonkaboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great addition
12/14/2009

Customer review by zunismama

5.0 stars 12/14/2009 by zunismama
by zunismama

Added this subwoofer to the Vizio Soundbar (also available at Walmart) and the effect was a great home theater sound without wires stretching all over the place! Love it! And for the price, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zunismama
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!
1/23/2011

Customer review by Russ12897

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Russ12897
by Russ12897

I read the reviews on this product before buying. Most were very good. I was a little bit skeptical however because I am a HUGE audio freak, and have been for years. This sub, shakes the windows, fills the room with bass, and when I popped a cd in my blu ray player, I felt like I was live at the concert. VERY good product.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ12897
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
subwoofer
12/14/2010

Customer review by caustin

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by caustin
by caustin

This is an excellent low cost sub woofer system. It performs well in my 7.1 channel surround sound system made by Sony. The original sub system burned out so this was a replacement. I am very happy with this unit and its performance. Setting the two controls about mid range works best in my system . Much higher and the neighbors will start beating on the walls.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caustin
oregon coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for a basic good enough woofer
4/5/2011

Customer review by GetTheKnow

3.0 stars 4/5/2011 by GetTheKnow
by GetTheKnow
Walmart associate

For around 100 bucks you won't beat this woofer. I purchased it to give a bottom to an office audio system that needed it. I also chose this product because it has clips to attach left and right leads for connecting to my system. Many woofers have only the one plug for system hook up. If you compare the quality of this woofer to the $200 - $250 ones like I did in a large electronics store, you will notice the relative inferior quality of this woofer. Just need a woofer to give a bottom? It does it. Need a woofer for a higher quality system and you are a quality music lover? You will be disappointed. The high quality is just not there, in spite of the Sony brand.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GetTheKnow
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Hard to beat for the money
1/14/2016

Customer review by Allaboutthat

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Allaboutthat
by Allaboutthat

Go ahead and make the purchase. You will not be disappointed. For $99 you can't beat it. Period. Frequencies in low end start to get muddy when system is cranked up... But that is not this subwoofer's fault. System is overpowered. You can cut back the levels on sub and receiver... Works nicely. Auto on / off is a plus. My receiver has two RCA outputs to sub. The cable provided works in right output of receiver. Gave 5 *s because I am still not believing the sound this gives for only $99..... Is replacing a $320+ sub

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allaboutthat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Sub
7/5/2011

Customer review by TexasDave

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by TexasDave
by TexasDave

While any man would love a higher powered larger sub this meets my needs perfectly. I think the only thing that needs to be said is my wife hates it but me and my son LOVE it!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/7/2011

Customer review by JohnnyQuest

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by JohnnyQuest
by JohnnyQuest

Awesome speaker...deep deep bass! Gotta love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyQuest
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value For The Price
7/10/2013

Customer review by snuke

4.0 stars 7/10/2013 by snuke
by snuke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased a new receiver but kept my 15-year old speakers which still produce a remarkable sound. However, I wanted a little more bass (movie) sound. After researching several products, I found many of them to be over my budget. I finally found the Sony Subwoofer which was within my budget and the ratings were good. So far, I am pleased with my purchase. I did not give this product a 5-star rating because I wished it had a remote control to turn off the power. I have remotes to turn of the TV, CD player and DVD player. But, I still have to walk up to the subwoofer to turn of the power which is located in the back of the subwoofer. Also, I have only had the subwoofer for a month. I feel after a product has been used for a few additional months, I can then truly rate the product. By the way, I ordered this product online and picked up at the store. The box was wrapped very securely but after opening the box, I could tell the product had been returned by a previous customer. The power cord and paper work were lying loosely in the box. The nonskid items to be placed on the bottom to protect floors and/or furniture were missing. But, since the product has worked well, I choose not to request an exchange.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snuke
Missouri City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product, great price...
3/29/2012

Customer review by Lairdo

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Lairdo
by Lairdo
Top 1000 contributor

I haven't really used this sub-woofer a lot (YET) but, I have done some testing with it and IT ROCKS!! I was looking for a sub to enhance my Vizio soundbar that's hooked up to PS3 and TV. This thing does more than deliver, it nearly chips the paint off of my walls! I'm using it in a fairly small room so I only have the level set up to about half. In a larger room, you could really crank it up and be very satisfied. For $99 you can't go wrong with this sub-woofer. I've used it to watch (listen) to some ball games and a couple of movies. It sounds spectacular. I also tried it out with a couple video games and the sound really puts you "in" the game. I set the cut-off frequency to max since I will rarely (if ever) encounter a frequency that will actually make it shut off. The stand-by mode is awesome too. Turn it on, let it go, and when it's not receiving an audio signal, it shuts off (sleeps). Buy this and you'll be happy, like me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lairdo
Marion, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Very good sound, easy install!
7/18/2011

Customer review by CampingMachine

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by CampingMachine
by CampingMachine

Connection to an existing Vizio Soundbar was simple and quick. The results were FANTASTIC! Very good subwoofer sound and makes watching TV more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampingMachine
Lyons, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big boom for your room!
7/21/2010

Customer review by sbradford7

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by sbradford7
by sbradford7

Big boom at a great price. Efficient and deep 10" active sub. Lots of connectivity for both Sub/Satellite or direct sub. Has cut-off and and bass volume knobs for customizing your subwoofer. Sub can be set to turn off after 1 min of inactivity, thus saving on your electrical bill. Easy to setup and will add that degree of bass you need for your sound system at a very competetive price.

Was this review helpful? (25) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbradford7
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value
2/25/2011

Customer review by georgeoj

4.0 stars 2/25/2011 by georgeoj
by georgeoj

excellent product for the price. only downside is auto power doesn't work very well, so use power button (lower left back panel).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
georgeoj
stuart, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Awsome sound
2/5/2016

Customer review by Topgun

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Topgun
by Topgun

First of all let me say I know nothing about electronics. I wanted to hook up surround sound in my basement and decided to buy this subwoofer. I couldn't be happier, this sub produces major bass and is simple to hook up and adjust if you want. There are cheaper used ones you can buy but their used and your taking a chance of them being worn out or not working at all... For a brand new sub for a house/apt surround sound system you won't be disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topgun
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is an awesome Subwoofer and great value
4/27/2015

Customer review by BillD

5.0 stars 4/27/2015 by BillD
by BillD

I read the reviews before I purchased and was concerned by some of the negatives. I couldn't understand why there were so many positives but some really awful reviews. Regardless, I went with the positives, bought the product and couldn't be happier. However, in the process of moving it and having to change to longer cables the sound changed and I got almost no bass at all. I found I had reversed the wires on one channel and it put almost identical inputs 180 degrees out of phase cancelling each other out. It was a simple fix and could explain some of the negative comments. Unlike me, if you take the time to wire it as per the instructions with color coded speaker wire you will be very pleased with the result. I have never heard my 40 year old albums and cassette tapes sound so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/28/2015

Hi BillD! Thanks for your sharing your experience with your new sub-woofer. We appreciate your time and feedback. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Vincent

BillD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth The Money
3/31/2010

Customer review by Koop2010

4.0 stars 3/31/2010 by Koop2010
by Koop2010

I bought this subwoofer to finish off my surround system. The rest of the system is Pioneer but I wasn't willing to spend what Pioneer wanted for their powered subwoofers. This subwoofer does a pretty good job for the money. But to be honest I think I like the down firing subwoofers better. For the price though Sony has good quality equipment. It's only been 1 month since I bought the subwoofer but I use it pretty hard and quite often.

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Koop2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews