Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1916 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1916 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1916 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1236
4 stars
314
3 stars
137
2 stars
109
1 stars
120
1-20 of 1898 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1898 total reviews
1-20 of 1898 reviews
Wierd installation
1/4/2010

Customer review by bassman63

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by bassman63
by bassman63

Installation took longer than expected partly due to different variations possible configurations. It seemed like Ooma tried to make it simple but actually made it more complicated. In a typical scenario of a cable modem with a wireless router, they suggested installing the device between the modem and router. They do NOT recommend plugging straight into the router. It seemed to work ok but after a week I started to drop calls and then it would shut down and route all my calls to the voice mail. The web site wasn't much help trouble shooting this problem and after about another week of problems I figured out that this device works better if it IS plugged straight into the router, haven't had any problems since. It also has intermittent hum as well as an occasional echo. The echo can be quite annoying at times and the only way I've been able to stop it is to end the call and re-dial.

Was this review helpful? (100) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bassman63
Torrance, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unbelievable
10/15/2010

Customer review by BargainHunterBob

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by BargainHunterBob
by BargainHunterBob

I was worried on spending over $200 on a phone system I never heard of but I am so happy I did less then $4.00 for a month taxes and 911 fees it will take just 7 months to pay for itself I can fax with it I could not do that with the Magic Jack the Magic Jack was a hit or miss with calls and I had to reboot my computer 8 to 10 times a day to keep it working with Ooma it's a perfect phone system never had a dropped call and it dose not hook up through the computer so no more reboots. This is a leap of faith well worth the jump!!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainHunterBob
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Free calls with ooma
12/26/2009

Customer review by stoshu

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by stoshu
by stoshu

When I first heard of the ooma calling unit, I was a little skeptical of how clear the conversations would be. I must say after purchasing the unit , it was money well spent. The setup & activation was easy. I am now making calls nationwide for FREE. I will have to pay a yearly tax of approx. 12.00, but that it much better than the $45.00 I was paying per month for my local telephone service. The only con to this unit is I was not able to Port my telephone number over to ooma at this time, and they didnot have any local telephone numbers to assign to me. I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend the purchase of the ooma.

Was this review helpful? (78) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stoshu
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not the best
12/20/2010

Customer review by 1234567800000000

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by 1234567800000000
by 1234567800000000

One problem I've experienced using this product is that it makes a noise to the person on the other end every 5 or 10 minutes that sounds like I'm hitting the buttons on the phone. It beeps in their ear real loud. I can't hear that on my end, so I didn't even know it was happening. I've done different experiments with different phones and going back and forth between this product and my land line, and it seems the problem is inside this machine somehow. Also, there is a lot of delay in the transmission of our voices. This ends up making us take on top of one another which is annoying. It's like the old-time cell phones. I have a 3Mb DSL connection, so I'd figure it would be fast enough. The sound is also very loud in the phone on both ends. It's like the power is so strong that you can't turn the volume down low enough. You end up having to hold the phone away from your ear all the time, so that also gets annoying. Considering the lack of monthly fees except for the taxes, I'd say this may be great for some people to use for long distance, or just as a second line to use occasionally. I talk for long periods so it's not of much use to me. I'm not interested in dealing with the annoying parts for that long. I'll be returning this product, but it's not necessarily a piece of junk or anything. The voice mail seems to work good, and the machine itself is cool. It has an adjustable light dimmer that's really a cool idea.

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1234567800000000
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I've tried them all and THIS is the one !
3/21/2014

Customer review by SDMike

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by SDMike
by SDMike

I considered a landline, but it's now fiberoptic in my town. So, in the event of a widespread power outage like we had a few years ago, the phone service would still be on the fritz. I started with Magic Jack. Nothing but probs. They couldn't hear me or me not hear them. Complaints of echoing. Dropped calls. Frustrations. Then I tried Net-Talk, same thing. Then I tried Basic Talk. Echoing and poor call quality. Then I tried Ooma Telo VOIP. Had for about two weeks now and no complaints. Crisp, easy to hear, no echoing or other digital noise. This one's a keeper. Sure, the upfront cost kept me away, but after trying all the others, except Vonage, I went to Ooma. After the equipment cost it's free sailing. I checked my state taxes for California and was told $4.95 a month. THAT'S IT ! 5 bucks a month for home phone service. Even if you spread the cost of the equipment of $120 at $10 a month for one year to cover equipment cost, $15 a month for one year for phone service is a steal. After that first year it only costs you $5mo for the state taxes. NOT BAD.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDMike
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best overall VOIP
2/8/2014

Customer review by harborisland

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by harborisland
by harborisland

I did extensive research into VOIP and decided on OOMA. While a few others may have comparable service,OOMA has the best sound and technology.Its virtually free after buying the equipment-anywhere from 99 -150 online,and you only pay around 3.50 monthly in taxes.Free local and long distance.Nice online dashboard to manage numbers and features.For 9.99 a month you get a whole slew of extra features,some are pretty cool.I will opt for the premier after my 90 day free trial.Caller ID,voicemail are included free without premier.Most people wont need the other fancy features but again..some of them are really cool..like hearing your voicemails in an email..call blocking and call forwarding etc.It was the reviews that finally decided it for me.While you may choose another similar product,i can only say THIS product..OOMA is great and exceeded my expectations.No dropped calls..clear sound..loud enough..just a happy camper.Easy to install too.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harborisland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superior Product - Reduced ROI Over Previous Model
9/27/2010

Customer review by OhioConsultant

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by OhioConsultant
by OhioConsultant

First the good. This is a superior product over all the other PC independant VOIP solutions for the home. This is my second one and I continue to purchase for family however, this may be the last one for reasons sited below. Now, the not so good. Ooma has changed their cost structure three times in the past 3 years. Three years ago you could implement one of these without a monthly charge. Two years ago they changed that and began charging you $10 per year for taxes. This year they changed the model yet again and they are charging you nearly $4 per month in taxes. My biggest complaint is that they do not tell you this on the box, nor do they tell you on the website directly. You must literally dig through mounds of information to find it and it still does not mention that the charges are monthly so you are left believing that it is a reduced yearly fee. I called Ooma and was told that they did not want to publicize the new rate structure so they tried to be discrete. Yes, those are the exact words of the associate. The reason for the two stars on the value is simple. What used to be five stars is no longer. Your return on investing $220 into this hardware considering my local phone company charges $20 per month for nationwide unlimited plan will now be over 1 year. In other words, assuming your device lasts that long, you will not see a return on the money you spent for over one year. To sum it all up. There is still value to this product as long as you are prepared to wait over 1 year to receive it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioConsultant
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works like a charm
3/7/2014

Customer review by HappyinParker

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by HappyinParker
by HappyinParker

I was looking for ways to save money and I considered getting rid of my home phone completely until a friend of mine told me he had this. I researched it and it seemed to good to be true at first glance. I thought this is my answer to saving money. I am saving about 40-50 dollars per month by using Ooma and there is NO differrence at all. Installation was a breeze, calls are perfect, unit is stylish with more features than I had before and the price cannot be beat. I am paying 3.79 per month to have a home phone and I dont have long distance charges. I can use all of my existing phones and it even has a built in answering system so I was able to do away with that too. I would reccommend Ooma to everyone I meet and dont let the phone companies tell you that VOIP does not work - it does and there is NO difference at all. Excellent customer service, excellent device and excellent price - what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyinParker
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent alternative to high priced phone service
2/5/2014

Customer review by WoodTinker

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by WoodTinker
by WoodTinker

When I purchased the Ooma system I was looking for something that would allow me to have a home phone that wouldn't cost me an arm and a leg. After reading through articles on the system I felt it was the lesser of the evils I found, so why not give it a try. I ordered the unit and it arrived actually much faster than I thought it would and it was soon time to decide whether to keep the old phone number or get a new one. I opted for the new one. The set up was extremely easy and direct, answer the questions on the page and hit next, choose a new phone number from the list and continue to the end. After the "activation" was complete, it's plug and play. Setting up the house wide phones could be a slight problem for some people, but to have a phone, it couldn't be any easier. The first call I made was long distance, and the call was as clear as a bell, I believe even better than the original Cox system. You just have to remember to drop off the "Premier Package" before the 60 free days or you will be adding another $10 to the monthly bill.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WoodTinker
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good-sounding phone calls at a can't-beat price
12/15/2013

Customer review by RobD60

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by RobD60
by RobD60

I purchased the Ooma Telo after about a year of hemming and hawing. Long story short, we cancelled our internet/VOIP provider's service because it wasn't dependable, went with a new ISP and purchased a Telo for a landline. The Telo gives good-quality calls with little or no lag. Setup took about 10 minutes, though in some cases it may take up to 25 (according to the documentation). The Telo guide was bare-bones basic but sufficient for the set-up. We never needed to contact customer service--which, so far as I can see from Ooma's web page, seems to be mostly of the online variety. The unit functions perfectly with our existing wireless handset. But we now have a non-local number. We'd intended to port our old number but found that we'd have had to continue service with our former phone provider for the duration of the porting process (Ooma says this can take "two to three weeks"). Haven't tried the Ooma Premier services, though they're offered free for a trial period. Count me satisfied with the Basic service.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobD60
Dixon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent VOIP (former MagicJack)
4/3/2014

Customer review by trineox

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by trineox
by trineox

I have used magicjack for years but recently in the last year or so the service has went downhill. I have not changed service providers or anything else. I got to the point I had to switch. Saw a news report on FOX about ooma and went to work doing my research online. The reviews by several tech magazines and websites report the service has the best VOIP quality. I have already paid for both my magicjack #'s till 2015 and 2017. Instead of porting, I just forwarded the numbers over. The Ooma device is designed so you can connect it between your ISP modem and your router/computer to get the best call quality. It had a wide selection of local numbers to pick when activated it, based on the ooma calculator the phone bill will only be 3.82 a month (unless I keep the premier features which is + 10$). After the premier feature trial runs out, I am staying with the basic sevice of 3.82 a month. People that I called on the magicjack (cellphones mostly), no longer complain about my phone skipping, stuttering, etc, they said it is really clear. Im sold on ooma!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trineox
shelbyville, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Probably a great product if you live in the states
2/6/2010

Customer review by BrutallyHonestReviews

1.0 stars 2/6/2010 by BrutallyHonestReviews
by BrutallyHonestReviews

I had a terrible customer service experience with Ooma over this purchase. If you live in the continental US, Alaska, Hawaii, or Puerto Rico, and have a decent internet connection, you'll probably be fine... If you live in one of the US territories, look elsewhere. After receiving an email from Ooma stating I'd have no problem using this where I live, I went ahead & bought this to save on long distance rates. Once I got it, I realized that they require a credit card to set this up, but don't accept anything but an address in the 50 states or Puerto Rico. Their 800 number doesn't work from overeas, either, but you can reach them at their corporate phone number which is (650) 325-6662. That said, if you ask to talk to someone, you'll either get tech support in the Philippines or you just get an email address unless you know the person's number.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrutallyHonestReviews
Guam, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
You will save money with OOMA
8/23/2010

Customer review by FrugalWMShopper

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by FrugalWMShopper
by FrugalWMShopper

OOMA Telo is great. Setup was extremely easy. I was surprised by the voice quality. My friends and parents didn't notice any difference. My old phone provide charged me $25/mo for basic service, and not to mention long distance cost. Now with OOMA, I can call anywhere in the US without any long distance cost. Just $3.47 a month for tax and fee. You can't beat that. If you have high speed internet at home, you are set for OOMA to save some big bucks.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalWMShopper
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't know why everyone doesn't have one
6/10/2010

Customer review by BDA123

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by BDA123
by BDA123

I have had this for a year. I bumped my internet speed up to make sure I had plenty of bandwidth. Work extremely well. I was having trouble with it when I first got it and the problem ended up being a faulty cable modem. I had know idea it was dropping data packets until I hooked my phone up. Got a new modem and everything has been great for the past year. Voice quality is excellent. The online options are awesome. Ported my old phone number over my wife and kids don't even know the difference. Don't know how I would do without it. I went from an internet bill of $45 and a phone bill of $55 to an internet bill of $55. Haven't look back since and my internet is much faster all of the rest of the time.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BDA123
ABQ, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No free telephony at all...
8/22/2012

Customer review by Artos888

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Artos888
by Artos888

Customer beware! Ooma has changed the deal, this is not a one time bulk payment for unlimited telephone service for as long as the device lasted... not anymore! now the company is charging $4 per month on top of you having to buy the interface. Not a good deal anymore, if you divide the cost of the device by the 12 months of warranty plus the $4 per month and the extra $1 for yearly taxes, you will end up paying around $22 per month... that's the new deal, and this is considering they replace your interface if it breaks within the warranty period. There are companies that offer a way better deal and way better customer service. Ooma claims the $4 they are charging is government's taxes and fees... but you can type in your browser "VoIpo" and you will see that this company charges $5/month and you don't have to buy the interface, and this is not a "none for profit company"... so? what happened to the "mandatory government taxes and fees"?

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Artos888
Lake Mary, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doesn't Fax, Terrible Customer Service
1/31/2012

Customer review by terrypirate

2.0 stars 1/31/2012 by terrypirate
by terrypirate

Purchased Ooma telo. Customer service is terrible. Voice quality is good. Ooma does not like to Fax. My system worked for a while, then stopped faxing. Contacted customer service. They route you around in hopes you will go away. The first two levels are in the Philipines and the third is in Palo Alto. The first two really resist letting you go to the third. All three levels finally admitted that faxing with the Ooma was on a "Best effort Basis" not Really not one of its strong points. If you have talked to the third level of of customer support and need to call them back, you have to go through the first two again and they really fight you. The really try to keep you talking to them in the Philipines. I am going to return my unit to Costco and go back to Time Warner. It works and Customer service is responsive.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terrypirate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall worth the money
6/6/2011

Customer review by ramfan54

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by ramfan54
by ramfan54

First the Ooma installed very easy between the cable modem and router without any noticeable internet speed degradation. The product is well built, the customer service has been good, the voice clarity and volume are excellent. There are a couple of issues however. There is a small 1/4 second or so latency like when you see satellite interviews on TV, not quite as bad as those but it does lend to overtalking the other person because of the delay. Because of this, we decided to keep it to replace our long distance carrier only but have not moved our main line over to Ooma yet. Second, I took internet speed benchmarks using speedtest.net before installing Ooma then after when not in use but turned on, and during a phone call. As mentioned before, there is not internet speed degradation when dormant, I get 14ms latency, 20 Mb/s download, 4 Mb/s upload over cable internet. However, during a phone call, the results have been consistently lower, I still get 14ms latency (ping), but half the download speed, 10 Mb/s and much slower upload speed, 0.25 Mb/s. I don't notice a real difference in general internet usage like reading a news site, but I wouldn't want to be doing large uploads like sending pictures, etc during a Ooma phonecall.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ramfan54
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
6/8/2010

Customer review by bz123

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by bz123
by bz123

After doing a bit of research, I decided to take the plunge and replace my current VOIP with Ooma. Setup was fairly easy and I have it installed behind my router instead of directly into the cable modem. So far, it's been working great. The call quality is very good and have not had a dropped call. I did not port a number so don't know about that and did not opt for the premier subscription so the only monthly charge is the government tax. My only complaints are 1) no web interface to configure the unit unless one plugs a computer directly into it 2) did not have a large pool of phone numbers for my area Overall, I'm glad I got it. The cost savings alone makes up for the two minor cons above.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bz123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
solid service - review international rates
5/11/2010

Customer review by brrwwp

4.0 stars 5/11/2010 by brrwwp
by brrwwp

Installation was painless. However, international rates still too high if not included in their bundle. Telco has lower bundled rates to some countries. Customer service not as helpful as I expected...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brrwwp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stop Paying Expensive Phone Service
8/6/2011

Customer review by Jane264

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by Jane264
by Jane264

I ordered my Ooma one afternoon & it was at my door the next day at 6pm. It is a snap to set up. I did have to go outside to the phone box & disconnect the landline to eliminate a buzz on the line. It was like a phone wall plug that I unplugged but they are not all the same. Then I plugged the phone line into the Ooma & into the wall phone outlet to make all the wall outlets hot. The sound was clear as a bell. However, I occasionally have a buzz on the line & don't know how to get rid of it. Someone more tech savy could probably fix it. Please be aware that you still have to pay the phone taxes & Ooma charges $10 a month for it's premier service which includes caller ID. So it will probably cost you about $14 a month if you want caller ID. After buying the Ooma box I went online & found that there are numerous VOIP services & some are much cheaper than Ooma with no box to buy. VOIPO is $150 for 2 years of service. Less than $7 a month. If I had not bought the Ooma box I would go with a service that provides a free box. But now I know it is available & can change later. At least I am away from the cable company that significantly raised my rates every year. I will break even in about 9 months & then save about $25 a month.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jane264
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1898 total reviews
1-20 of 1898 reviews