Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
58
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 stars
17
1-20 of 190 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
A good value
3/29/2010

Customer review by MicheleZT

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by MicheleZT
by MicheleZT

I purchased this about a month ago, and have had no problems. The assembly was easy, although I had a second person helping me. A single person could put this together (hardest part is getting the bottom legs on but you could prop up the machine on some wood). I lined up all my pieces initially and then it took about 1.5 hours to assemble. I purchased extra high temp auto grease at the auto store and actually used the grease on all my screws and pieces to help them go in easier. I purchased the RCA Universal 500mA AC adapter from Walmart and it works great (it is positive tip polarity). I never ran the console on batteries. The machine does not squeak after a month of pretty much daily use. Just a note: it is heavy. It was delivered curbside to my house and we opened it up outside and carried it in piece by piece. I went with the delivery option since the box would not fit my Highlander well. It is a rather large box. Overall, I am happy with the unit. For the price, it was a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MicheleZT
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1st time user
11/19/2009

Customer review by WalMartJunkie643

5.0 stars 11/19/2009 by WalMartJunkie643
by WalMartJunkie643

This is the first elliptical machine that I have used. I have been researching the machines for about a year, and wanted an efficient one, that was also a good price. I found just that at my local Super Wal Mart. My husband and I put the machine together. I recommend using 2 people to put it together. Also give your self plenty of time. We took about 2.5 hours to put it together. We wanted everything to fit nice and tight, after reading other reviews on other machines, I gathered that some of the bolts needed constant tighten after assembly. If you take the time to put it together and have your husband or super strong friend tighten the bolts super duper hard you will not have to worry about the bolts lessening or having "things" move. We have used our machine for about 2 week every other day for about an hour and no problems, perfect machine for the first time user. Programs are wonderful, as well as having the iPod hook up!

Was this review helpful? (92) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartJunkie643
Kuna, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great deal on a great exercise machine
12/30/2010

Customer review by CreativeCritters

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by CreativeCritters
by CreativeCritters

I'm an avid exerciser and do my research before buying exercise equipment. This is my 3rd elliptical (I had the other 2 for years and simply worked them to death), and I knew what I was looking for. This machine is solidly built and easy to put together. I'm a woman and I was able to put it together myself. All the parts were included and were well organized, and the instructions were easy to follow. It took me about 2 hours including unpacking everything. This elliptical has a lot of great features too. The incline ramp really works your butt, and I've had a chance to try all the preset workouts (each 30 min. long) and they're all very challenging. I also like that the resistance goes up to 12- I like a challenge! The elliptical is pretty easy to move around, and is fairly quiet, even when I'm working out hard. This is the best elliptical that I've bought yet, and I highly recommend it. The price was quite reasonable as well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CreativeCritters
Fairview Park, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much better than I was expecting
2/2/2011

Customer review by Razi123

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Razi123
by Razi123

We purchased the stride trainer 595 before reading any reviews. And now that I'm reading through the reviews a few of them are making me chuckle. We purchased this for me because I have been trying to lose weight and when winter hit and we lost our primary babysitter for our son, my time outside at the track was completely eliminated. I love this thing! I can burn an easy 500 calories in 30 min. I feel like I'm dying after about 15 min because I push to stay in the 65rpm range....but with the reviews saying it is noisy I completely disagree...I am 220 pounds and it is very quiet and I don't play music or anything typically watch a tv show or read a book. the only complaint I would agree with is the screen. It is pretty cheapish...but the different options and the 12 resistance levels are awesome. This is defiantly worth the 450. If you are having issues with noise try greasing it really well...my husband did that as he was putting it together, he has even started using it as of last night! Yeay! lol

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razi123
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical
1/6/2010

Customer review by ColdwaterBob

4.0 stars 1/6/2010 by ColdwaterBob
by ColdwaterBob

I had been looking for an elliptical trainer to complement my home gym. I purchased the Golds Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical in early October as soon as it was available in my local store. I love the workouts (except getting the machine down stairs into my gym) and have lost a significant amount of weight as well as improving my cardio and blood pressure. It is an all-round great way to work out. The machine is sturdy in construction and has many nice features for the price range. My only concern after using it 4 times a week for 13 weeks is that it is starting to develop some light clicking noises. I rechecked all the bolts and nuts and found them to be tight. I am very noise sensitive and little noises like that make me think there may be something wearing. Other than that, I am very happy with my purchase. I do recommend getting a plug in power supply to replace the batteries.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColdwaterBob
Coldwater Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great even for the bigger gals/gents
7/22/2010

Customer review by WestHillgirl

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by WestHillgirl
by WestHillgirl

I bought this, and I was 305lbs. I knew I was over its weight limit but I couldn't afford the bigger ones. I planned on losing some weight first so that I could use it. I lost 17lbs using the machines at work so I was down to 288 and I started using this. It had no issues with my weight and doesn't rock at all. I am now, thanks to this machine and eating right, down another 16lbs and 1 pants size. The fan is a little underpowered (they all are though) I always use the Hi one. The MP3 Player makes it all worth while, the time would go so slow without music/books to listen to. Instead, having the fan and MP3player I am able to do 30 min every day. I started out doing zero resistance for the first 3 weeks, then I started doing some of the resistance training. It feels just like a gym machine esp with the resistance. You know, I shopped everywhere before I bought this, HSN, QVC, Bestbuy etc for a machine that felt like a gym machine, this was the closest thing I could find under $500. I totally recommend this product and I am SO glad I bought it. It makes a tiny clicking during use, but I am pretty sure thats because of me assembling it and its very soft, nothing that I worry about at all, esp since it has been used 30+ times since being built with NO issues.

Was this review helpful? (94) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WestHillgirl
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent elliptical for the $$
7/23/2012

Customer review by TNBrownsfan

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by TNBrownsfan
by TNBrownsfan

I waited for months to review this product and I usually don't write reviews but felt compelled after buying this Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 and reading some negative reviews. I'm in my 40s, 5-10 about 180, and I workout daily. I've put this machine through the ringer and have found it to be an excellent buy. I can't believe anyone has had trouble putting this machine together. Yes, it may take a couple hours but the instructions are simple to follow. It absolutely feels and performs like an elliptical you would find at your local gym or paid hundreds of dollars more for. I love the longer stride length, the adjustable incline, and the preset workouts are awesome. This machine can be used for both the beginner and advanced workout. I've owned it for months and still haven't completed all the preset workouts. Every time I use this elliptical I feel like I've received an excellent workout!! I would highly recommend this machine to others! This is a great piece of workout equipment - no doubt!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNBrownsfan
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A bit exspensive, but worth it overall.
4/18/2011

Customer review by Avaniqafaye

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Avaniqafaye
by Avaniqafaye

While this was very exspensive for my tastes, my research proved this machine to be worth the purchase. As far as workout quality now that i have it, it exceeds my expectations. There are however some minor points i think i should mention just incase it is important to you and your purchase. 1) You can barely feel the fan on high 2) The pulse rate monitor is not accurate. It had crazy numbers that just jumped from 90 to 165 back to 110 in the same reading, even with fresh batteries. 3) Minor clicking did occur after about a week of use. Its not too bad and honestly doesn't bother me, but to some it might become annoying. 4) I am 5'9 and though the stride is alot better than most, it still felt a little short imo. 5) The MP3 player works great! I used my blackberry and had no issues, the sound quality is great too. 6) Definatly make sure you have at least 2 people to put this thing together, It is HEAVY. LOL 7) Definatly look in to getting the wall plug in, it might be cheaper in the long run. Overall i give the product a 4 star rating. I would have given it a 5 but the pulse monitor and fan lowered it for me.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avaniqafaye
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/6/2011

Customer review by Disappointed20something

3.0 stars 4/6/2011 by Disappointed20something
by Disappointed20something

I purchased this elliptical in February, and I put it together myself (I am an small/medium, athletic type). Surprisingly, this machine started squeaking shortly after I bought it...maybe a couple of weeks later, but I figured that I did not put enough grease on it. However, by now I am very annoyed! After using this machine for barely two months, it is now scraping, but the thing is...it is not scraping on any part that I had to put together. A large portion of this machine was put together--the part with the circular part that the pedals need to go around. I do not not know to fix this except for either replacing it (I guess it is an axle or something) or filing it down. I honestly do not even know how it happened! It is like a when the break pads on a car get worn down and the breaks start to scrape. But this is not just regular scraping; it sounds terrible! I'm very disappointed!!! The saying "You get what you paid for" is so very true! :(

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed20something
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GG Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical
7/14/2010

Customer review by SRMan47

4.0 stars 7/14/2010 by SRMan47
by SRMan47

I have had this for a couple of weeks now and have to say I like it. I was able to put it together by myself in a couple of hours even though the instructions say two people. All of the parts were there and nothing was broken. The delivery was quick, but the delivery guys said that they only did curb side delivery when I asked them to wheel it into the house. I ended up paying them a few bucks a piece to get it where I wanted it. The machine works as advertised and will put a whuppin on ya if you are out of shape like me. This is just the ticket for folks wanting to get back into some sort of shape with out killing yourself at a gym. It does eat batteries alive so you will do good to get the wall power brick. The only other thing I am not thrilled with is that the display is hard to make out and could use back lighting, but that may just be the lighting in the room I have it in. In all I have to say that this was a good buy, but only time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRMan47
Simi Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My Best Purchase of 2009
1/5/2010

Customer review by MeikaC

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by MeikaC
by MeikaC

I bought my Elliptical trainer about 2 months ago. I love all the features of the trainer. It had everything I was looking for. A fan, music player outlet, several preset programs, bottle holder, it even lets you know how long you've been on or how much longer you have to go on a workout program. The resistance adjuster is right @ your fingertips. I get an outstanding workout on this machine, I love everything about it. I work out at least every other day for about an hour & I sweat hard. I hate going to the gym but vow to be Slim-Goody again by the end of 2010. So this was definetely my best purchase of 09...

Was this review helpful? (72) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeikaC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the Money
1/17/2010

Customer review by Kushman

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by Kushman
by Kushman

First off My dad is old school and he always told me you get what you pay for. I had seen on consumer reports that the ideal eliptical has heart rate montiors that strap to your chest and have digital screens and what not. Well they tested the $999.99 to $4500.00 machines. For $447.00 at my local Wal-Mart I got what I paid for and more! I am 6'6" and weight 265 and I fit nicely on this machine, my knees dont hit anywhere and it feels very comfortable working out and with 8' celings I dont even come close to hitting my head, Ha! I put it together by myself and the instructions and hardware were all there and it was very simple to assemble. In my opinion I got what I paid for and more!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kushman
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lose screw...lose star
12/1/2009

Customer review by Brain42

4.0 stars 12/1/2009 by Brain42
by Brain42

I had to dock one star because a screw was missing that was required had to got to Ace to get one to replace it. Overall though it's been a good machine, I'm about three workouts in and find myself nicely smoked at the end of a workout.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brain42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So and So..
12/29/2010

Customer review by CaliLOVERT

3.0 stars 12/29/2010 by CaliLOVERT
by CaliLOVERT

The quality of the steel frame and overall performance is really good. Just a little dissapointed but overall happy with my purchase. First of all, I shouldve read the manual clearly before buying. I thought it had the automatic incline where you have to push a button and it inclines..Well, with this machine, you have to actually physically get on your knees, look all the way down and push a little lever to adjust the incline whether low, medium , or High.. with 3 levels only.. I wasnt expecting that at all.. This machine will really make you sweat within 30 minutes with Level 1 on Resistance. It wobbles a little bit while youre on it. The monitor runs on batteries. The heart monitor does not give continuous reading, you have to physically take your hand off and put it back in place to get an accurate heart reading. Theres no LCD lighting. The fan works well. The MP3 connector does not work that well with my I touch bec. it makes a static noise when you move the cord around but it works. Overall, It works and it does the job for a good cardio workout. For its price, it is still a good deal. Easy to assemble , easy to follow instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliLOVERT
Baldwin Park,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So far it is working well
3/31/2010

Customer review by pokey97988

4.0 stars 3/31/2010 by pokey97988
by pokey97988

Much quieter and a better workout than a treadmill. I've been using it almost every morning and I've noticed that I feel better when I go into work after exercising. I took my time putting this together by myself. It wasn't hard but takes a long time to bolt the parts together because the bolts have locktite on them and requires a lot of force to tighten them correctly. You can save a lot time by using a hex socket and wrench. Make sure you tighten the foot pedals down all the way or they will creak when elliptical is being used. Make sure you buy the Jensen Jen1700 power adapter so you won't need to buy and replace expensive D cell batteries. I used a meter to determine the polarity of the adapter plug. The internal conductor on the adapter plug should be positive voltage. I hear that the Gold's Gym DC power adapter is way overpriced so don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pokey97988
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
This is wonderful!
3/3/2010

Customer review by readytosew

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by readytosew
by readytosew

I have been looking for an eliptical for a long time. Price, size, and reviews were what I was looking at before purchasing one. This one met and exceeded my expectations. I read the other reviews and was a little concerned at first. My husband and son put it together for me in about 2 hours. I now use it everyday and get a great workout! It is awesome!! I wanted to use it for a while before writing my review, and I am glad that I did, I now know it works great!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
readytosew
Vaughn,MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Solid Machine at a Great Price
9/27/2010

Customer review by Granth998

4.0 stars 9/27/2010 by Granth998
by Granth998

I've wanted an eliptical machine for a long time but the decent ones were just too expensive, until I found this one. This has an 18" stride, the action is very smooth, and most important it has a very solid feel similar to high-priced elipticals in workout facilities. Yes, as others have mentioned it is not perfect and that's the reason for my 4-star and not 5-star overall rating. Biggest problem is they try to extract more money from you right out of the box, with a card on top that has a phone number to call to purchase an AC plugin to power the console for some undisclosed price (it's about $90 with shipping). This little swindle doesn't do much to enhance the buying experience and people are understandably upset by this. In any case, you'll more than likely have to make a trip back to the store to pick up 4 D-size batteries to power the console until you decide what to do about the AC adapter (as mentioned below, get a $14 universal adapter from Walmart). The decision to try to force people into spending an additional $90 after purchase for the ac adapter required them to lower the power requirements of the console in the event someone opted to stay with the 4 batteries solution (trust me, you'll want to get the AC adapter or you'll go nuts changing batteries all the time). So they skimped on power by having a regular LCD instead of the more typical backlit LCD (I have to have the room well lit to even see the monitor), a very weak fan (helped somewhat by the AC adapter), and the worst sounding, tin-can speakers I've ever heard. I won't even use them they sound so bad. One last complaint on the console is that it's not tilted upwards enough, forcing you to bend down slightly to read it (unless you're a pretty short person). AC power solution - I bought a $14 Powerline universal AC adapter (3-12 Volts/600ma) from Walmart and it works perfectly. Set it to 6V and be sure to use positive polarity or you will ruin your console. Overall, this machine excels where it matters most - the performance of the machine itself. In my opinion, the problems some are having with loud squeaks or breakage could be due to improper assembly. One issue for me, though was that I could not find the grease for the moving arms that the instructions said were included, so I improvised and used WD-40. Not sure if this hurt or helped but noise is not an issue. I have faint squeaking, nothing major at all. Be very patient putting this together and reading, even re-reading the instructions a few times just to make sure you're doing it correctly. Tightening bolts until they are very snug and following directions will reduce squeaking to a minimum. If assembled properly, I don't think the noise is an issue, although it will never be as whisper quiet as a health club eliptical costing much more. I think in spite of the poor console and lack of AC adapter, this is a super machine for the money. I get a great workout and I love the many resistance and incline levels included. I do hope that Golds Gym will read these reviews and fix the console issues. They could charge a little more, include an AC adapter and this would really be an incredible machine!

Was this review helpful? (119) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granth998
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great choice
2/9/2011

Customer review by Jimkaz

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by Jimkaz
by Jimkaz

I purchased a Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine from WalMart three days ago and here is what I have found so far: I first read tons of elliptical reviews before this purchase and the ratings are all over the place. Be wary. The assembly took about 2.5 hours and was straight forward and simple. My wife asked me to break the man code and actually follow the directions. This was a wise move. (sorry guys) The instructions said that two people are needed for assembly. Not so. If you have a small block of wood to put under the frame for the first couple steps you can climate the second person. The only assembly problem I had was installing the right handle on a spindle that I had to grease first. The handle would not fully slide onto the spindle. After removing the grease from the spindle I found that there was some paint overspray on the base of the spindle. I took some 100 grit sandpaper and quickly removed the paint. No other issues. The machine is very stable and quiet. It has a fan worth about 50 cents but that does not concern me. If a good fan is important to you, spend 10 bucks and buy a real fan and put it on a chair next to you and you will have better cooling than any exercise machine on the market. The panels that hold the batteries in are lame but the power supply is the way to go anyway. Elliptical versus Treadmill: As far as a good work out, this elliptical is far superior to a treadmill for me and my wife. On a treadmill I could leisurely walk slowly for 30 minutes but the effort and results were minimal. (I’m lazy) On the elliptical, the first thing I noticed was that after about 10 minutes using the lowest resistance setting, I could really feel the workout. At first I didn’t like this because the treadmill was easier. But using that line of thinking, sitting in my recliner and pumping some small hand weights while watching the biggest looser is even easier, but my need is to GET A WORKOUT!!! My advice: Choose an elliptical over a treadmill and this one is a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimkaz
Sun Prairie, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the Price
12/29/2010

Customer review by BHazard

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by BHazard
by BHazard

I've used tons of $2,000+ ellipticals at gyms for years, and I can honestly say this $450 machine gives just as good of a workout as higher priced machines. It's not flashy, but it does what it is supposed to do extremely well. I've found the highest incline to be the best stride, as the machine tilts downwards for some reason on the other inclines. The only thing lacking in this elliptical is the console. While it does have a few preset modes, the console is practically worthless aside from seeing time left and calories burnt. It has a cheap look and feel to it. The ipod speakers are also not amplified and practically worthless. The cup holder and fan are a nice touch though. The machine makes absolutely no squeaking noise either, when properly greased. Even if it were to start making noise after a few months (even $2,000+ machines eventually do with wear), just re-grease the inner rods and the problem is solved. If you can't, then get a protection plan. Just like a car, moving parts like this need maintenance occasionally. It would be ignorant to think otherwise. If you can overlook a barebones console and just need a good workout, this elliptical is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BHazard
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!!!
3/10/2011

Customer review by mickeymouse1980

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by mickeymouse1980
by mickeymouse1980

I did a TON of comparison shopping before buying this machine. I think I made a GREAT choice. I have been using it for about 3 weeks now and love it. I try to use it every other day and I have had no noise issues so far. It's quiet enough that I can use it while my husband sleeps in the same room. The fan isn't spectacular but that's not a big concern to me. The speakers are plenty loud and the display is easy to read if you are working out in the light which most people do so the fact that it doesn't have a light isn't a problem. The programs were actually TOO hard for me so it gives me more motivation to be able to work through them in the future. It's a great machine for a beginner and an experienced athlete. I would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mickeymouse1980
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews