Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 136 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

136 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

136 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
49
1-20 of 136 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
I love this!!
7/22/2016

Customer review by pikachu12

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by pikachu12
by pikachu12

Have been using it for five years, everyday, twice a day. It always makes me feel fresh and clean. I would HIGHLY recommend especially if you have oily or combination skin (not great for dry skin)

pikachu12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Cleanser works great for my skin!
6/29/2016

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa

I have tried so many cleansers over the years and they have either made my face too dry/ squeaky clean or good moisture but not clean enough. But just happened to try Neutrogena Deep Clean and it has been working so well with my skin type. I am throwing out all of my old stuff no more searching for me!

Lisa
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Made my face tight and SWOLLEN!
4/5/2016

Customer review by Anna

1.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Anna
by Anna

I wanted to try this product because I find the wipes very good, and I like Neutrogena. However after using this cleanser I woke up with an extremely dry and itching face! My eyes were extremely swollen, my face felt so tight and I had white small dots on my forehead! At first I did not understand that it was the cleanser but after doing some research on google I found over 100 reviews of people having the same symptoms! I even found a British article specifically pointing this product out as dangerous! I stopped using this product 3 days ago and my face is not swollen anymore, but it is still extremely dry. I have to take allergy medicine and moisturize my face frequently for it to stop bothering me. I highly suggest that you look into this product ASAP because this customer experience was very scary and unpleasant.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 4/6/2016

Thanks for reaching out to us, Anna. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Everybody's skin is a little bit different, and we can assure you that this is not a typical reaction. We take matters like this seriously and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to hearing from you!

Anna
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
OUCH......
5/26/2016

Customer review by TIffani

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by TIffani
by TIffani

I used this product about 4 times and it felt like it burnt my face. The last time I used it I could literally feel it burning my face. I woke up the next morning with dry skin and bumps all over my face.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 5/27/2016

Hey Tiffani! Thanks for taking time to reach out. We're so sorry to hear about the experience you had with our cleanser. We can assure you that this is not typical. In fact, we'd like to take the opportunity to learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. Thanks so much! We look forward to your call.

TIffani
Santa Maria
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Terrible Product!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Daniel

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Daniel
by Daniel

This product has caused inflammation, redness, skin peeling and burning. This is a skin peel product that burns. I do not recommend at all.

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/6/2016

Thanks for your review, Daniel! We would like to gather some more information about your experience with this product since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 9AM-7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Daniel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible!!!
5/2/2016

Customer review by Nicole314

1.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Nicole314
by Nicole314

My face is swollen, itchy, burning and I now have a rash. I don't have sensitive skin at all. I have used numerous products for many years and have never experienced any discomfort of any kind until now.

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/3/2016

Thanks for making us aware of this, Nicole314. It's not typical to experience a swollen, itchy, and burning face while using this product, and we want to learn more about your experience. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 Monday-Friday between 9am-7pm ET. We look forward to speaking with you.

Nicole314
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
AMAZING..NEVER STOP MAKING IT
3/29/2016

Customer review by pikachulol

5.0 stars 3/29/2016 by pikachulol
by pikachulol

This is an amazing cleanser for oily/combination/acne prone skin. Keeps my acne at bay and kills of any before it grows out of control. I tried changing my cleansers after I ran out but nothing could control my acne and keep my skin so clear and almost flawless like this cleanser does. I really hope they never stop making this or change the formula because im a customer for life.

pikachulol
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
This has been my go to product for many years!
3/21/2016

Customer review by cmoore

4.0 stars 3/21/2016 by cmoore
by cmoore

I absolutely love this product! It makes my face look and feel refreshed. Most importantly it does even my complexion! I rarely get pimples, but when I do I always pop them. This leaves a dark spot on my face. I use the Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser and the dark spot becomes lighter and lighter with each wash. This product does dry out the skin so I try to use a half a pump for each wash. I only use once a day and give my face a break from this product on the weekends.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/22/2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Cmoore. We'd like to learn a bit more about your experience with our product. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM ET Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. We really appreciate you sharing this with us and look forward to your call!

cmoore
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Superb!!
9/26/2012

Customer review by Kathy

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Kathy
by Kathy

Iam asian dan 28 years old, living in Malaysia (pretty hot and humid here most of the times). I first bought this product when I was 15 years old and it helps me a lot with my oiliness in my teenage years. Iam 28 but I still use it, especially in the evening after work to remove my makeup, oil and dirt. Now that Iam married, I influenced my husband to use it for his face. He has oily skin, with blackheads on forehead and nose. It works great on him too!! I believe that the Salicylic Acid really does helps in clearing the pores and regulates the oil as well as sebum. He no longer suffers from "over-shininess" during the day. Am still trying to coax him into using them twice daily though. You know how some men are not really into this skincare thingy. But I would definitely recomend this to anyone with oily skin. I also wish Neutrogena would come up with a smaller size bottle for travel purposes.

Kathy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
This stuff broke me out...
8/4/2012

Customer review by AquaLady

2.0 stars 8/4/2012 by AquaLady
by AquaLady

I have been using Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream cleanser for years, & I love it, except that it would leave my skin oily looking a few hours after I used it. So I decided to try this Deep Clean (non cream) cleanser instead, hoping that it would decrease the oil build up. And it definitely does help with oily skin, but for me its too drying. My skin feels very dry & tight and now I'm having more breakouts than when I started this cleanser. My skin hasn't been this broken out since I was a teenager, and I'm not happy with it. So I'll be switching back to the Cream cleanser again. I love Neutrogena products, and since this was the from the same brand I thought it would keep my skin clean & clear like the cream cleanser always has. But instead, it's given me new pimples all over my cheeks & jawbone. I never thought I had sensitive skin, but I think this cleanser is just too harsh for my skin type.

AquaLady
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
My face is itching
3/22/2016

Customer review by Lovely28

1.0 stars 3/22/2016 by Lovely28
by Lovely28

I used this product 3 times at the first it feel good my face but after the third used my face was red and itching bad; I always read the reviews before I buy a product of course not for this one. I went to the web site and check reviews OMG why is this product still on the stores they should remove it ASAP. Don't used his product.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/23/2016

Thank you for your review, Lovely28. We want you to know that this reaction is truly not typical of our products, and we'd like to learn more about your specific bottle of product. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Lovely28
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Love
3/30/2016

Customer review by ginnyv85

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by ginnyv85
by ginnyv85

I have been using this cleanser for years. I love it. I have sensitive skin and it cleanses without irritation or breakouts. Removes my makeup well.

ginnyv85
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Finally, clean AND smooth skin!
8/12/2011

Customer review by Kristen

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Kristen
by Kristen

I always check out product reviews online before purchasing any type of product. When researching this cleanser I was a little reluctant to purchase it because it didn't really advertise as being meant for eliminating acne. Over about the past half year my acne has mostly vanished, however I still get the occasional minor breakout, and little bumps that keep my skin from being smooth. I have very oily skin in the t-zone, and this product keeps my face from looking like an oil slick. :) As a bonus it leaves my skin incredibly soft, smooth, and zit free! It gives me a smooth canvas to put makeup on. I've used Neutrogena for a few years now, and it works better for my skin than any other brand. Along with this cleanser, (which I used just to wash my face in the morning) I also use the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash daily scrub, and the Oil-Free Moisturizer for Sensitive Skin at nighttime. Lastly, I also use their Rapid Clear 2-in-1 Fade & Fight Gel when needed. I am very impressed with their Deep Clean cleanser, and I will continue to use it along with their other products. Thank you Neutrogena!

Kristen
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruined my skin
11/29/2015

Customer review by cnagirl5

1.0 stars 11/29/2015 by cnagirl5
by cnagirl5

I have always loved Neutrogena and the products. I bought this product as I've had a month of problems with my skin; figuring this would possibly help, as Neutrogena has always help with my acne as a teenager. So I used this product once, and my skin felt great. The second use wasn't that bad, I noticed some burning but thought that my skin was just so dry that I'd double up on lotion, that was Neutrogena Daily Moisturizer. Nope, third use was horrible! My eye's began to burn and my face was swollen and terribly dry and was bright red all day (totally embarrassing) and it was also full of bumps. Immediately stopping using product and my face is still messed up after two days! It's so dry and burning to even put anything on. Wouldn't ever recommend this product!

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/29/2015

We're sorry to hear about this, cnagirl5. We definitely wouldn't expect you to experience a burning sensation while using our products, and we want to learn more. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday 8AM to 8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

cnagirl5
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
My skin is dry, tight and rashy!
5/6/2014

Customer review by Kitty

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Kitty
by Kitty

I've used other Neutrogena products (Visibly Even) and decided to buy Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. By the second day, i felt tightness and itchy around my mouth and chin. By the third day, my skin had completely broken out into fine bumps all over and is dry. My family says I look older as my face seems puffy, very dry and almost cracked. I am disappointed in this product. The directions merely say to use less frequently if dryness or irritation occurs. There is no contra-indications or clear guidelines for use. Example: that it's specifically for problem skin or how often it must be used. Most of your other products clearly state, 'use morning and evening'. This does not! I used it daily for 3 days. It's been a week since I've stopped and my skin has only marginally recovered! This is clearly not suitable for normal, clear skin. Terrible, misled and disappointed.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 5/6/2014

Thank you for taking the time to review this NEUTROGENA® product. We would like to learn more about the skin rash you had while using this product, as this is not typical of any of our products. Please call our customer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST Monday through Friday. One of our care specialists will be happy to speak with you.

Kitty
Cape Town, South Africa
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Most of my face is now rough skin!
10/28/2014

Customer review by roseyredcheeks

1.0 stars 10/28/2014 by roseyredcheeks
by roseyredcheeks

I picked this up about a week ago because I really needed a good daily facial wash. My skin is pretty oily and I couldn't stand for it to look gross during the day without makeup on. I saw this and was instantly excited. I've used the makeup remover wipes since middle school and I purchase some Neutrogena makeup from time to time. I've never had any complaints. Until I used this product. The first time I used it was the night I bought it. It made my skin tighten up and become uncomfortable, but I thought maybe it was supposed to do that. The second time I used it was last night. When I woke up in the morning I found I had horrible irritation all over my face. Redness was all over my cheeks and forehead, and I have these rough skin patches on most of my face. I'm very upset about the state of my skin and I really wish I didn't waste my money on this product.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 10/29/2014

Thank you for your review, rosyredcheeks. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

roseyredcheeks
Bassett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Burning Skin
12/11/2015

Customer review by AW2176

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by AW2176
by AW2176

I have used this product twice and after reading reviews I was surprised to see how similar of an affect this was having on myself and other reviewers. My skin feels course and swollen. My entire face burns after washing it and days later. This morning my under eye area is puffy and swollen (although on the bottle it reads that you should stay away from sensitive under eye area) But it is supposed to dissolve makeup so I use it on my whole face. It's a little conflicting in directions. I will not be using this product any longer. It is disappointing because I choose Neutrogena since it is dermatologist recommended. This is a product that needs to be discontinued from its line.

Comment from Neutrogena - 12/12/2015

Thanks for your review. We'd like to gather more details about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, Monday - Friday, 8AM - 8PM ET. We look forward to helping.

AW2176
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
RUINED MY SKIN!
8/5/2015

Customer review by Richelle

1.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Richelle
by Richelle

I have used multiple Neutrogena products over the years and loved it, however I bought this and used it before bed and the next morning my face was bumpy, extremely dry and actually burning (I do not have sensitive skin and have never had an allergic reaction to any facial cleanser before). I did not use this again and now am 6 days out and my face is still soooo dry and bumpy. I have not used any face makeup in almost a week and applied 7-8 applications of lotion a day trying to get rid of these bumps and dryness. Even under my eyes, eyelids and lips are dry. THIS IS THE WORST PRODUCT I HAVE EVER USED AND SHOULD BE TAKEN OFF THE MARKET IMMEDIATELY!!! After I read the reviews of others having the same reaction to mine I am horrified and will never buy anything Neutrogena again, NOT TAKING THE RISK!

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/6/2015

We're very sorry to hear about your experience, Richelle. We'd like to learn more about what happened so we can share with our medical team. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We're looking forward to hearing from you.

Richelle
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Horrible reaction
9/27/2014

Customer review by knmsph94

1.0 stars 9/27/2014 by knmsph94
by knmsph94

I don't normally have sensitive skin and I consider it to be pretty oily. I bought this product because I wanted to try something different from my normal skin cleanser. I used it the first night I got it and it seemed to work pretty good. I put on moisturizer after and woke up with my skin feeling fine. The next time I used it, I followed with my moisturizer (which I have used forever so I know it had nothing to do with my reaction) and I woke up with a sunburn sensation on my face. Mainly on my cheeks and it was blistered, dry, and bright red. It was extremely irritating and it burned so badly. Not to mention I had an important event that night and needed to take pictures. Who wants pictures taken with blisters all over their face?I will never buy this product again and it will make me think twice before buying any neutrogena product.

Comment from Neutrogena - 9/27/2014

Hi, knmsph94. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This type of reaction is not typical of our products. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

knmsph94
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
My reaction was painful!
1/18/2016

Customer review by Disappointed114

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Disappointed114
by Disappointed114

After less than 48 hours using the product, 3 washes, my eyes had swollen shut and my face and neck were burned raw and itchy. I stopped using the product immediately and nearly a week later I'm finally able to see the skin around my eyes appear less swollen and the rest of my face regaining its moisture. I would definitely not recommend this product. I bought this after many years successfully using the Pore Refining range and with extreme confidence in the brand, and I was thoroughly disappointed by this reaction.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/18/2016

Hello and thanks for writing a review for our Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. We're saddened to hear that this product cause a reaction as that's not typical of our products. We take events like this very seriously and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

Disappointed114
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews