Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
44
1-20 of 126 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
My go to Cleanser
2/2/2016

Customer review by gemini15

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by gemini15
by gemini15

I have used every cleanser out there and I always come back to this cleanser. It can be a little bit drying but besides that it is perfect. Helps clear up any acne right away and really improves your complexion. I hope they never stop making this! Its the best!!

Comment from Neutrogena - 2/2/2016

Hello, gemini15! We're glad you brought this to our attention, because we wouldn't expect your face to feel even a little bit dry while using our products. We want to learn more! Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

gemini15
kenosha,wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
My skin is red
1/28/2016

Customer review by Rose

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Rose
by Rose

I washed my face with this cleanser for about 30 mins ago , it felt good at first and my face felt clean . I decided to look at the review and I see a lot people had a reaction . My cheeks have been red since I cleaned my face and my face feels hot :(

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 1/28/2016

Hi Rose. Thank you for reaching out to us. Your experience with this product is not something we would expect to hear about. We would like to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

Rose
Anaheim CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
My reaction was painful!
1/18/2016

Customer review by Disappointed114

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Disappointed114
by Disappointed114

After less than 48 hours using the product, 3 washes, my eyes had swollen shut and my face and neck were burned raw and itchy. I stopped using the product immediately and nearly a week later I'm finally able to see the skin around my eyes appear less swollen and the rest of my face regaining its moisture. I would definitely not recommend this product. I bought this after many years successfully using the Pore Refining range and with extreme confidence in the brand, and I was thoroughly disappointed by this reaction.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/18/2016

Hello and thanks for writing a review for our Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. We're saddened to hear that this product cause a reaction as that's not typical of our products. We take events like this very seriously and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

Disappointed114
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Ruined my skin
11/29/2015

Customer review by cnagirl5

1.0 stars 11/29/2015 by cnagirl5
by cnagirl5

I have always loved Neutrogena and the products. I bought this product as I've had a month of problems with my skin; figuring this would possibly help, as Neutrogena has always help with my acne as a teenager. So I used this product once, and my skin felt great. The second use wasn't that bad, I noticed some burning but thought that my skin was just so dry that I'd double up on lotion, that was Neutrogena Daily Moisturizer. Nope, third use was horrible! My eye's began to burn and my face was swollen and terribly dry and was bright red all day (totally embarrassing) and it was also full of bumps. Immediately stopping using product and my face is still messed up after two days! It's so dry and burning to even put anything on. Wouldn't ever recommend this product!

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/29/2015

We're sorry to hear about this, cnagirl5. We definitely wouldn't expect you to experience a burning sensation while using our products, and we want to learn more. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday 8AM to 8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

cnagirl5
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Burning Skin
12/11/2015

Customer review by AW2176

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by AW2176
by AW2176

I have used this product twice and after reading reviews I was surprised to see how similar of an affect this was having on myself and other reviewers. My skin feels course and swollen. My entire face burns after washing it and days later. This morning my under eye area is puffy and swollen (although on the bottle it reads that you should stay away from sensitive under eye area) But it is supposed to dissolve makeup so I use it on my whole face. It's a little conflicting in directions. I will not be using this product any longer. It is disappointing because I choose Neutrogena since it is dermatologist recommended. This is a product that needs to be discontinued from its line.

Comment from Neutrogena - 12/12/2015

Thanks for your review. We'd like to gather more details about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, Monday - Friday, 8AM - 8PM ET. We look forward to helping.

AW2176
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Skin Burning
12/15/2015

Customer review by Amit

1.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Amit
by Amit

Hello, I used this face wash today for the first time and the skin of my face started burning and turned red and swollen. Please suggest.

Comment from Neutrogena - 12/15/2015

Hi Amit, we're sorry to hear you had this experience while using our product. The reaction you had is not what we would expect. We'd like to speak with you so we can learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at: 1-800-582-4048 we are available Monday-Friday from 8AM-8PM ET. Thank you, and we look forward to your call.

Amit
San Ramon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
RUINED MY SKIN!
8/5/2015

Customer review by Richelle

1.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Richelle
by Richelle

I have used multiple Neutrogena products over the years and loved it, however I bought this and used it before bed and the next morning my face was bumpy, extremely dry and actually burning (I do not have sensitive skin and have never had an allergic reaction to any facial cleanser before). I did not use this again and now am 6 days out and my face is still soooo dry and bumpy. I have not used any face makeup in almost a week and applied 7-8 applications of lotion a day trying to get rid of these bumps and dryness. Even under my eyes, eyelids and lips are dry. THIS IS THE WORST PRODUCT I HAVE EVER USED AND SHOULD BE TAKEN OFF THE MARKET IMMEDIATELY!!! After I read the reviews of others having the same reaction to mine I am horrified and will never buy anything Neutrogena again, NOT TAKING THE RISK!

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/6/2015

We're very sorry to hear about your experience, Richelle. We'd like to learn more about what happened so we can share with our medical team. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We're looking forward to hearing from you.

Richelle
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
HORRIBLE!!! SKIN ON FIRE, EYES SWOLLEN
10/22/2015

Customer review by Steffi1982

1.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Steffi1982
by Steffi1982

I used this product TWICE and woke up in the morning with my eyes swollen and my face red and burning and feeling very rough. I looked horrible!! Today is day two and my face is still on fire! I'm really upset as i do not have sensitive skin at all and never had an issue like this!! I'm super upset as I can see that multiple other people had this issue and nothing was done! This product needs to be off the shelf!!! I want my money back!!!

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/22/2015

Hi Steffi! Thank for the review, swollen eyes, a red face and burning is not something we would expect from the use of our product. Please call us so we may gather additional information with regard to our use at 1-800-582-4048, Mon-Fri between the hours of 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to chatting with you soon!

Steffi1982
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Superb!!
9/26/2012

Customer review by Kathy

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Kathy
by Kathy

Iam asian dan 28 years old, living in Malaysia (pretty hot and humid here most of the times). I first bought this product when I was 15 years old and it helps me a lot with my oiliness in my teenage years. Iam 28 but I still use it, especially in the evening after work to remove my makeup, oil and dirt. Now that Iam married, I influenced my husband to use it for his face. He has oily skin, with blackheads on forehead and nose. It works great on him too!! I believe that the Salicylic Acid really does helps in clearing the pores and regulates the oil as well as sebum. He no longer suffers from "over-shininess" during the day. Am still trying to coax him into using them twice daily though. You know how some men are not really into this skincare thingy. But I would definitely recomend this to anyone with oily skin. I also wish Neutrogena would come up with a smaller size bottle for travel purposes.

Kathy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
This stuff broke me out...
8/4/2012

Customer review by AquaLady

2.0 stars 8/4/2012 by AquaLady
by AquaLady

I have been using Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream cleanser for years, & I love it, except that it would leave my skin oily looking a few hours after I used it. So I decided to try this Deep Clean (non cream) cleanser instead, hoping that it would decrease the oil build up. And it definitely does help with oily skin, but for me its too drying. My skin feels very dry & tight and now I'm having more breakouts than when I started this cleanser. My skin hasn't been this broken out since I was a teenager, and I'm not happy with it. So I'll be switching back to the Cream cleanser again. I love Neutrogena products, and since this was the from the same brand I thought it would keep my skin clean & clear like the cream cleanser always has. But instead, it's given me new pimples all over my cheeks & jawbone. I never thought I had sensitive skin, but I think this cleanser is just too harsh for my skin type.

AquaLady
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Reaction
10/7/2015

Customer review by LB1966

1.0 stars 10/7/2015 by LB1966
by LB1966

I am a big fan of Neutrogena and have been for years, but I've used this product twice, and my skin is red, and my eyes were almost swollen shut when I woke up this morning. My face feels like it is on fire. So disappointed and how long will this last?

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/7/2015

Hello, LB1966! We appreciate your time and would like to speak with you regarding your experience. This is not a result we would expect from our products and we would like to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

LB1966
Greensboro, NC
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Finally, clean AND smooth skin!
8/12/2011

Customer review by Kristen

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Kristen
by Kristen

I always check out product reviews online before purchasing any type of product. When researching this cleanser I was a little reluctant to purchase it because it didn't really advertise as being meant for eliminating acne. Over about the past half year my acne has mostly vanished, however I still get the occasional minor breakout, and little bumps that keep my skin from being smooth. I have very oily skin in the t-zone, and this product keeps my face from looking like an oil slick. :) As a bonus it leaves my skin incredibly soft, smooth, and zit free! It gives me a smooth canvas to put makeup on. I've used Neutrogena for a few years now, and it works better for my skin than any other brand. Along with this cleanser, (which I used just to wash my face in the morning) I also use the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash daily scrub, and the Oil-Free Moisturizer for Sensitive Skin at nighttime. Lastly, I also use their Rapid Clear 2-in-1 Fade & Fight Gel when needed. I am very impressed with their Deep Clean cleanser, and I will continue to use it along with their other products. Thank you Neutrogena!

Kristen
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most of my face is now rough skin!
10/28/2014

Customer review by roseyredcheeks

1.0 stars 10/28/2014 by roseyredcheeks
by roseyredcheeks

I picked this up about a week ago because I really needed a good daily facial wash. My skin is pretty oily and I couldn't stand for it to look gross during the day without makeup on. I saw this and was instantly excited. I've used the makeup remover wipes since middle school and I purchase some Neutrogena makeup from time to time. I've never had any complaints. Until I used this product. The first time I used it was the night I bought it. It made my skin tighten up and become uncomfortable, but I thought maybe it was supposed to do that. The second time I used it was last night. When I woke up in the morning I found I had horrible irritation all over my face. Redness was all over my cheeks and forehead, and I have these rough skin patches on most of my face. I'm very upset about the state of my skin and I really wish I didn't waste my money on this product.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 10/29/2014

Thank you for your review, rosyredcheeks. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

roseyredcheeks
Bassett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
My skin is dry, tight and rashy!
5/6/2014

Customer review by Kitty

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Kitty
by Kitty

I've used other Neutrogena products (Visibly Even) and decided to buy Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. By the second day, i felt tightness and itchy around my mouth and chin. By the third day, my skin had completely broken out into fine bumps all over and is dry. My family says I look older as my face seems puffy, very dry and almost cracked. I am disappointed in this product. The directions merely say to use less frequently if dryness or irritation occurs. There is no contra-indications or clear guidelines for use. Example: that it's specifically for problem skin or how often it must be used. Most of your other products clearly state, 'use morning and evening'. This does not! I used it daily for 3 days. It's been a week since I've stopped and my skin has only marginally recovered! This is clearly not suitable for normal, clear skin. Terrible, misled and disappointed.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 5/6/2014

Thank you for taking the time to review this NEUTROGENA® product. We would like to learn more about the skin rash you had while using this product, as this is not typical of any of our products. Please call our customer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST Monday through Friday. One of our care specialists will be happy to speak with you.

Kitty
Cape Town, South Africa
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
My face is not broke out and red.
9/18/2015

Customer review by Yml62lep

5.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Yml62lep
by Yml62lep

I don't have sensitive skin but for some reason some bar and face gel products for the face break me out. And often times make me itch. But a few years ago while searching for a product that I could use that would not result in bumps or me itching. I tried Neutrogena Deep Clean and have been a faithful user ever since. Thank you,

Yml62lep
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Horrible reaction
9/27/2014

Customer review by knmsph94

1.0 stars 9/27/2014 by knmsph94
by knmsph94

I don't normally have sensitive skin and I consider it to be pretty oily. I bought this product because I wanted to try something different from my normal skin cleanser. I used it the first night I got it and it seemed to work pretty good. I put on moisturizer after and woke up with my skin feeling fine. The next time I used it, I followed with my moisturizer (which I have used forever so I know it had nothing to do with my reaction) and I woke up with a sunburn sensation on my face. Mainly on my cheeks and it was blistered, dry, and bright red. It was extremely irritating and it burned so badly. Not to mention I had an important event that night and needed to take pictures. Who wants pictures taken with blisters all over their face?I will never buy this product again and it will make me think twice before buying any neutrogena product.

Comment from Neutrogena - 9/27/2014

Hi, knmsph94. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This type of reaction is not typical of our products. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

knmsph94
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Awesome face soap!
9/2/2015

Customer review by HappywithN

5.0 stars 9/2/2015 by HappywithN
by HappywithN

I have been using this product everyday for nearly 10 years. It was the only product that I found to help my complexion by making it smooth and blemish free. I am 58 years young and will continue to use this product for my next 58 years! Thank you Neutrogena® for your great products!

HappywithN
Franklin, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Simply Amazing!
4/6/2013

Customer review by Kiko

4.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Kiko
by Kiko

I use this product and then the Neutrogena moisturizer meant for adding moisture after cleansing... after bathing in the morning. And I use the daily scrub blackhead remover every second day at night. My skin has become spotless and no big, noticeable pimples have appeared over 3 weeks now!! I always had one at any given point of time before, not any more! Results showed up over a week! No breakout. Occasional pimples (very very less) do come up but they are relatively small than before and the cyst form way quicker allowing it to be removed with adequate hygiene and care. I am so glad I made this choice after watching numerous videos on the internet! Thank you!!!! Also recommend you to purchase an oil control film to help regulate your oil content if you have oily skin. Any brand goes for that I guess..:)

Kiko
Iquique, Chile
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Male
Leaves a burning, itchy rash
7/18/2014

Customer review by mdf2014

1.0 stars 7/18/2014 by mdf2014
by mdf2014

I bought this product thinking I couldn't go wrong since I used others in the Deep Clean line, but I was wrong. The first time I used it my skin felt soft and clean and I was so happy, but when I used it the following evening before I went to bed I was left with a burning, itchy, flaky rash around my mouth. Thinking my skin just needed some time to get used to the product, I used it the following two or three nights but got the same result. For the past three days I've been using a moisturizing soap on the area and applying aloe vera to reduce the redness and itching. My skin in that area feels especially tight as well, and it feels like the skin around my mouth is chapped. I'm returning this product to the store I got it from as soon as I can, and I'm hoping my skin will go back to normal soon.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/18/2014

Thank you for your review, mdf2014. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you since this is not typical of our product. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you!

mdf2014
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Really improves my complexion
7/4/2015

Customer review by "Midwest to West Coast"

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by "Midwest to West Coast"
by "Midwest to West Coast"

I have been using this product for about 9 plus years and will continue to use. I absolutely love this cleanser. It says on the bottle that it improves your complexion and it noticeably does. I'm looking for a new moisturizer now and I know I'll find one that will work for me from Neutrogena. Thanks for your wonderful products!

"Midwest to West Coast"
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews