Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 72 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
LOVE THIS RAZOR
12/2/2012

Customer review by DemureDulcet

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by DemureDulcet
by DemureDulcet

I absolutely LOVE the Venus Embrace razor and blades. I recently shaved with a different razor (not the Venus Embrace) because I ran out of blades, and it was not a good experience. It wasn't then til I realized how well designed the razor is. The retractable head really helps with trying to difficult areas and minimize cuts! The grip is all around great! I love the pointer finger rest, it really makes a big difference I noticed. My arm was actually getting tired from shaving when using the other razor, when using my Venus Embrace everything is well supported when shaving. I do not use the dock for the razor, every time I suction it to my shower it falls off, but other than that I'm in love with this product! Get's the job done quite well. <3

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DemureDulcet
Weirton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Would use no other
7/11/2012

Customer review by Swansoda

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Swansoda
by Swansoda

I bought this razor when it first came out and have never thought of using anything different. (I just wish the pink colored one was around when the blue/green one came out, but it's pointless to spend that amount of money on a new razor when the one I have is perfectly fine). But when I'm in a hurry to get a quick shave in the shower using my body wash instead of using my satin care shave cream, it does a good job. I tend to miss a couple hairs doing it that way, but then it shaves them off nice right after stepping out of the shower...and it does well in shaving the whole bikini area....and underarms are hard to shave, but it does a pretty good job there too, though I have to reapply the shave cream to be able to shave off the missed hairs, because it doesn't go over the wet underarm skin well without the shave cream. (And that's what my 4 stars on missed hairs is for, counting more than legs.

Swansoda
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
6/3/2015

Customer review by Jen38

1.0 stars 6/3/2015 by Jen38
by Jen38

I wanted to like this product but agree with so many other reviewers -- the five blades would likely work well if it weren't for the moisture ribbons. They are built up entirely too high and don't allow the blades to reach the skin properly! Also, depending on whether a particular area of skin is a little more dry or wet, the razor will either drag a bit and cause abrasions or else get too slimy and just slip around. I don't spend all this time and money shaving to end up with sore stubbly legs and underarms. Forget using this on my bikini area -- I don't trust this razor and it's going nowhere NEAR there! The little purple blade pop-out mechanism also keeps falling off. This is sadly going in the trash :(

Jen38
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Olay Moisturising Lotion
8/5/2015

Customer review by uday

3.0 stars 8/5/2015 by uday
by uday

This lotion moisturises and improves skin softness and smoothness to leave skin youthful looking.

uday
Bangalore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it!!
1/28/2012

Customer review by bless

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by bless
by bless

So I have tried a lot of brands before I started using Venus. Gillette was always my all time fav. I used to use the disposibles till a friend advised me to use the refillables. I love their five blade system which gives a close shave. Shaving is never a hassle for me with this one. But the only thing that prevented me from giving them 5 stars is because their package mentions 2 cartridges. This is so misleading as it makes you think there is 3 in total. The razor comes without any, and no one will realize that untill they bought it. I didnt read the previous reviews earlier. Now I realize there are many like me who did get fooled. Other than that its a great product minus the price. Could you please reduce the pricing of the cartridges please? The margins are set too high.

bless
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Olay Moisturising Lotion
7/24/2015

Customer review by uday

3.0 stars 7/24/2015 by uday
by uday

This lotion moisturises and improves skin softness and smoothness to leave skin youthful looking.

uday
Bangalore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Olay Moisturising Lotion
7/24/2015

Customer review by uday

3.0 stars 7/24/2015 by uday
by uday

This lotion moisturises and improves skin softness and smoothness to leave skin youthful looking.

uday
Bangalore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gel Dries out after one use
4/26/2013

Customer review by Alcy12

3.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Alcy12
by Alcy12

Okay I do love venus and have been using it for so very long but the embrace I've been using for a while and I gotta admit the ONLY thing I don't like about it that the moisture gel dries and becomes hard out after only one use. And it wouldn't bother me if this was like one or two times every maybe five or six blades because come on no product is completely perfect but this has happened for the last five blades in a row! I actually have to peel off the gel after the second shower because it hardens and interferes with my shaving! It's such a waste and if I wanted something like that I'd go back to the divine series. I really like the embrace except this detail. If this continues I'm going back to divine or I'm going to a different product.

Alcy12
London, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great product for Some
10/6/2014

Customer review by ericole

3.0 stars 10/6/2014 by ericole
by ericole

The embrace blade is "my perfect match" blade, however I am terrified to try another product. Not completely positive I've not already tried them considering I have tried most of the products by Venus. I am extremely particular about my shave. Hair on my legs irritate me to the point I always shave twice daily to ensure soft, smooth skin. When Venus first came out I was ecstatic. I kept trying but went back to man blades. Also, Gillette product. I have tried most blades on the market and I wish I could find a Venus product I could love. Have tried the refills and disposable blades as well. Suppose it just proves we are all different and what works for one doesn't for all.

ericole
Morristown, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
disappointed
4/13/2013

Customer review by Carol

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Carol
by Carol

I have been a very loyal Venus user for years. (since it first hit the market) However, I am forced to switch brands. I cannot count how many razors broke in the handle in the midst of shaving over the years. I kept buying because I am loyal and they do a great job when they are not broken. I have switched to a brand that the handle is enforced with metal. For the cost of Venus razors and blades it just should not ever happen. That is just $$ wasted! Shaving is not a job to be left half undone. I was so angered each time it happened but this was my last straw with this product. I have even recommended this product to others and now I have to go back on that recommendation.

Carol
Chillicothe, OH 45601, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Handle breaks every time
5/26/2013

Customer review by Robyn

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Robyn
by Robyn

I have been purchasing all of the refillable Venus razors for many many years and each time I purchase one within a month or two the handle breaks in the same exact spot where the plastic and rubber are. This is a definite defect in the razor as it happens every single time in the exact same place. I continue to buy these razors because I love the shave and I always have replacement blades left but I thought it was about time to contact Gillette about this defect as these are not inexpensive razors to purchase! I have written to Gillette as well to find out what they will do about this defect and hopefully they will compensate me somehow as well as correcting this defect!

Robyn
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Best Razor ever Brought ! Super Close Shave !
10/9/2012

Customer review by GothicMonsterGirl

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by GothicMonsterGirl
by GothicMonsterGirl

i brought this razor Couple weeks ago it is best razor i ever spent on it gives close shave i ever had my face and legs and with no nicks or cuts it leaves your legs feel so silk like and no miss hair The Five Blade gives most close shave on your face and legs i can shave my legs go for about two weeks without have to shave them Again but i use it on my face everyday ! it works good too i recommend buy Satin care Razor gel too it best razor gel i ever use it is really nice razor is very easy clean no stuck hair in blades constantly and is very Safe for bikini area i use this razor all the time i would most like Buy other i recommend you Get this Razor Now !!!!

GothicMonsterGirl
MonsterWorld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the worst razor ever
8/28/2013

Customer review by Martina

1.0 stars 8/28/2013 by Martina
by Martina

with five blades you would think the razor would actually remove some hair. i have hair blonde hair that is thin and fine, thank goodness, because when I shave with this razor it is like giving my legs a buzz cut, suitable for the marines. I bought it as an upgrade to my old school sensor excel boy was that a big mistake I spend three times as long shaving my legs due to the need to repeat over and over---and try to remove shaving cream from the blader--and they still arent smooth when I come out of the shower. The blades are $ and the pack only came with two---its clear this product was designed to make women shave everyday and buy blades non-stop.

Martina
Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This is great!
12/1/2011

Customer review by Keida

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Keida
by Keida

So my first Venus razor was the original and that was absolutely superb! It was smooth, gave me a nice close shave and all. But I was at the supermarket the other day, and I saw the new Venus Embrace razor and I decided to try it out and it was great! It was at first weird feeling 5 blades because I was used to 3, but after I got used to it, it gave me a nice, closer shave and the ribbon of moisture is amazing as I don't have to use moisturizer like always did after I shave. In addition, I used the Satin Care Alluring Avocado shave gel, which was recommended in the package, and that just made the experience a whole lot better :)

Keida
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Classic Razor for Close Shave
6/21/2011

Customer review by LipstickLost

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by LipstickLost
by LipstickLost

Gillette Venus' Embrace was the first razor I tried from Gillette. The 5 blades make a large difference while shaving. With my dark, thick hair, my legs require me to shave daily. Embrace left no stubble. The ribbon of moisture helps with the shaving, but doesn't last for more than a month and a half. I would recommend using shaving gel or cream while using Embrace. The blades last a surprisingly long time--mine stayed sharp (and clean with regular disinfecting) for four months! I would recommend this razor for the girls with dark hair or a lot of thick hair who have to shave daily.

LipstickLost
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The moisture bars work.
3/31/2014

Customer review by Kayla15

2.0 stars 3/31/2014 by Kayla15
by Kayla15

I feel like my shaving cream was getting in the way of the razor. The moisture bars work so well that I feel like I don't need shaving cream. I will still use shaving cream as a guide. I'd shave a section of my leg, like my shine, then wet that section of my leg with a face cloth then shave that section of my leg again just to feel the moisture bars. I like that even though I will still use shaving cream as a guide it isn't needed. Although I have dry legs and I didn't get as close of a shave as I could have because of it. I will try Venus & Olay in Sugarberry next.

Kayla15
Taunton, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pleasantly surprised
7/19/2011

Customer review by Person

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Person
by Person

I've had this razor for a while, but i was using the original Venus heads, because they were cheaper. I just got the correct heads in a very large pack at costco, which also came with a bonus SatinCare sensitive skin shave gel (which is also very good). I put on one of the blades that night and tried it. it glided so well and i didn't nick myself once. i usually nick myself around my knees or the back of my knees, but i didn't! It glided amazingly, which will be great for me, because then i can shave very fast without having to worry about missing hairs or nicking myself!

Person
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All-Around Wonderful Razor
2/15/2010

Customer review by Aryy

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by Aryy
by Aryy

I can't say enough good things about this razor. I haven't changed the blade in about 5 months, and though I don't recommend that, it still gives me a clean shave every time. I've conditioned my underarms to be able to be shaved just under water, and this razor just by itself has kept my sensitive skin from getting irritated. The colored areas on the handle are rubbery grips that work really, really well to help me keep a hold of it in the shower. All in all, gives a perfectly clean shave, great for sensitive skin, and easy to grip while wet. A great beauty investment!

Aryy
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
1/20/2011

Customer review by Tess

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Tess
by Tess

OMG!!!! this is the BEST razor ever. i love it soooo much. it shaves soooo close to my skin. the ribbon of moisture to me actually helped my skin! the pod for the razor to rest in is easier to put on your shower wall when the wall is wet. i hope this helps. it really gives me nice smooth legs. i love it soooo much! i really reacomend venus razors for beginners because i dont think i have ever cut myself with a venus razor... also the colors are awesome, and i love how you can change to different blades if you get the refillables.

Tess
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ineffective Razor - Terrible Razor
9/28/2013

Customer review by daisy198

1.0 stars 9/28/2013 by daisy198
by daisy198

This razor is the worst razor I have used. I thought with all the blades it would give a good close shave however that is not the case. The Protective Ribbon of Moisture does help to not cause burn but it also covers the blades creating a slim over them and causes the shave to be horrible. It misses hair and you have to continue to go over and over trying to get all the hair. I typically don't have to shave but maybe every 3 days with this not the case at all, I would have to shave everyday to keep a smooth shaved leg.

daisy198
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews