Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 61 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Hacking it up with Sidehack
1/13/2010

Customer review by SteamMama

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by SteamMama
by SteamMama

The factory builds the bike and then disassembles only the handlebars, peddles, seat, reflectors, front tire and the break connections near the handlebars. You need only to put these back on, and since the factory already had them put together, you are assured it all fits! The bike is very well made and strong. My kids take it on jumps and such and it has held up completely. You also get stopped and asked by many, "Where'd you get that Sidehack??!!!!" Great fun to tell them, Walmart! Enjoy... For more info go to www.Impaktbicyles.com.

Was this review helpful? (81) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteamMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HACK ALL DAY
1/14/2010

Customer review by FamousFerg

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by FamousFerg
by FamousFerg

This bike is like a trophy! Once put together, it's almost too clean to ride, lol. The box is huge & packaged very well! Big props to Greyboy, TrulyOdd & the crew. Everything about this bike exceeded my expectations. If you're looking at this bike, you already know. I feel lucky to get one before SOLD OUT...again.

Was this review helpful? (71) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamousFerg
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hacking is fun!
6/9/2010

Customer review by Larry63r

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by Larry63r
by Larry63r

I am 45. My son is 13. We both take turns as Monkey and Pilot. I also use it for hauling stuff like the icechest and chairs to the river when we go swimming. We ride it every day. My son also takes his friends for rides on it. It was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larry63r
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome product
6/4/2010

Customer review by bmxstuntrider

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by bmxstuntrider
by bmxstuntrider

it is worth the money you pay for it your kids will love it my motto for it is "respect your monkey trust your polit"

Was this review helpful? (39) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmxstuntrider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OMG 2 much FUN
6/25/2010

Customer review by BMXER4LIFE

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by BMXER4LIFE
by BMXER4LIFE

This is the most FUN we have had on a bike in a long time. Took it to our local BMX track River Valley BMX & every one was riding it. I am going to have to get anther one soon. Here is a pic from the Great Northwest Nationals. & yes it is all stock & took 2ND :~)

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMXER4LIFE
Sumner WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic
7/12/2010

Customer review by metcalf

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by metcalf
by metcalf

Overall I was very satisfied with what I got for the price. The bike came shipped with no problems and almost fully assembled. As a bike mechanic, I was actually surprised at how dialed in and solid it was. There has been a slight break-in period with normal adjustments, like brakes, headset, etc. A few things that Walmart doesn't tell you about this bike that you might want to know before you buy: Weight limit is 350 lbs total Headset is 1" threaded Cranks are 3 pc forged, unsealed BB Comes with gyro Wheels are 48 spoked, single walled, unsealed Frame, forks, bars, etc are hi-ten steel This bike would NOT hold up if you took it to the skatepark or tried jumping or grinding with it. It flexes quite a bit when I ride it with a monkey so both the pilot and the monkey would have to be pretty light for it to hold up over a long period of time. Honestly though, for the money you are getting what you pay for. The bike isn't high performance, but you're not paying a high performance price. I bought the bike to goof around on with my kids and so far we have loved it and have no complaints. Buying it through walmart.com was also really easy and I actually preferred it to ordering through a bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metcalf
Salt Lake City, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very fun and active product
12/8/2010

Customer review by thebestsidehackmonkeyeva

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by thebestsidehackmonkeyeva
by thebestsidehackmonkeyeva

this sidehack is very fun and good for a active child my son is 12 and absolutely loves this product i very well recomend this product

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebestsidehackmonkeyeva
middletown,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Strong bike. Rated to carry 350 lbs
11/24/2010

Customer review by Biblicalprofessor

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by Biblicalprofessor
by Biblicalprofessor

Got an email message saying it was in, called and asked if they could assemble..no problem Ready in a half hour Free ship to store was great.. Saved a 100.00$ Ship charge Only thing it needed was a bigger Seat for the 300 Lb monkey. I already have a 20" 450 watt electric Rear wheel on it (modified currie)

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biblicalprofessor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun Bicycle
7/13/2010

Customer review by vegasAl

4.0 stars 7/13/2010 by vegasAl
by vegasAl

Not a bad product BUT it is for children. I got the bike for an occasional ride around my neighborhood. I am an adult and the frame is a bit small for a full sized person. I'll probably look for a larger seat at the bike shop. The only problem is my wife makes me peddle her around. The small amount of assembly was very easy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vegasAl
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
loved it
6/13/2010

Customer review by erikaj

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by erikaj
by erikaj

i bought this for my boyfriends birthday and he said it was his favorite present ever! I've been trying to buy this since the show aired and it was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
erikaj
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It was bent
11/4/2010

Customer review by Dazzzzzzz

3.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Dazzzzzzz
by Dazzzzzzz

I really love this bike, I waited a long time for them to come back into stock and then today it finally arrived. You cant imagine how disappointed I was when I put it together and found one of the crank arms was so badly bent it wouldnt rotate without hitting the frame.... The box was all beat up when I got it, seemed it had a very rough time in transport.... obviously at some point it got a serious hit and the crank suffered. I wanted to ride it so much I bent the crank back and got it running, but this seriously bad... walmart.com are rough with their shipping. So 5 stars for the product, 1 star for the delivery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dazzzzzzz
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
outstanding product
6/10/2010

Customer review by Shineysides

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Shineysides
by Shineysides

Worth the wait for the sidehack to come available again. Solid built, great value, excellent time. Im in my mid-twenties and now I ride the sidehack everywhere I go. Pick up friends, hit the skate park, you name it. Do not hesitate to buy this, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shineysides
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A lot of fun
3/28/2011

Customer review by fyouobama

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by fyouobama
by fyouobama

its a lot of fun but when i took it out of the box it was scrathed up and paint chipped off. wal mart could do a better job in shipping but the bike is a lot of fun

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fyouobama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hack owner
3/5/2011

Customer review by kod38

4.0 stars 3/5/2011 by kod38
by kod38

I bought this sidehack in the first run for Walmart. I had several things go bad right away and could not get replacement parts. I am sure the warranty parts problem is ironed out by now. Having said that, I purchased parts locally to replace the broken ones and Walmart took good care of me and reimbursed me. This sidehack is a real head turner and has created alot of fun for me and my son. With a few upgrades it can last a long long time. I highly recommend this , the price is right for entry . The parts used are not the greatest, but you can only expect so much for $275. You will definitely enjoy the ride!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kod38
Not so sunny Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You can't go wrong.
8/2/2014

Customer review by Peatbog

4.0 stars 8/2/2014 by Peatbog
by Peatbog

I bought this when the price was $199. That is a bargain for what you get. I had it delivered to the store so it only went through shipping in a Walmart truck instead of UPS or FedEx as would have happened had it been shipped to my home. It is less likely to become damaged that way. In fact, the bike was fine when I got it. The bike is double boxed and that makes it even less likely to be damaged. You have to put on the seat and seatpost, which requires a metric hex (Allen) wrench. You must put on the front tire which requires either the proper size wrench or an adjustable wrench. You also have to put on the handlebars and stem which requires an adjustable wrench and a hex wrench to adjust the handlebars. The you must attach the front brake cables. If you haven't done this before, it is relatively easy because of the detangler (ask your kid, he'll probably know what that is). Just look it over, loosen everything up, take your time, get those cable ends slips on, and adjust the cable. I spent more time removing all the paper and cardboard protective pieces than I did putting the bike together. Once that is done you are ready to ride...well almost, as the bottom bracket on my bike was extremely over-tightened. I could tell when I pedaled it. The bottom bracket is the bearings and parts that hold the shaft that the pedals attach too. If you do not have the proper tools to do this, it is nearly impossible to accomplish. Here is a website that shows this being done on another Walmart bike. While the bike is different, the bottom bracket is the same: http://undergroundvelo.proboards.com/thread/3758/peatbogs-walmart-mongoose-adventurers-wonderland?page=2 Once I adjusted the pre-load on the bottom bracket bearings, it pedaled much easier. If you do that, it would be good to re-grease the bearings also. There is a thin coating of grease on them, but a little more would be better. Also, be careful, as while the ball bearings are in a cage, the balls are loose and may fall out, roll away, never to be seen again! But after that, this bike is really fun. Obviously at this price, you will not get a pro-caliber bike, but I don't care. My kids and I have fun on this bike. My youngest daughter and her friends have fun on this bike. We have already gotten $200 of fun out of this bike. So from here on out, it is free fun! I will probably replace the cranks and bottom bracket bearings on this bike, mainly so I can put a smaller sprocket on the front to make it easier for the kids to pedal when they have their friends on it playing the "monkey". You can't change the sprocket on the cranks that came with the bike because of how it is made. But for bigger kids and adults, the gear ratio is fine anyway. Anyway, like I said at the beginning, for $200, this is a bargain of fun.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peatbog
Massillon, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Pretty Decent
9/6/2014

Customer review by FastEddieSpaghetti

3.0 stars 9/6/2014 by FastEddieSpaghetti
by FastEddieSpaghetti

Once assembled, this bike is a lot of fun. The instructions were written in pretty good English but seemed to skip important info along the way. A couple of the things that came preassembled were incorrect so I had to take them apart and then put them back together correctly. My 3-year-old son liked the bike from the minute I put him on the platform and showed him how to hold on. For me, since I'm 6' tall, if I want to sit down much I'll need to get a longer seat post. I don't know how well some of the parts will hold up over time but I should be able to replace things along the way and keep it rollin' along as my son grows up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FastEddieSpaghetti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome re-juvination bicycle
6/30/2010

Customer review by sidehackdad

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by sidehackdad
by sidehackdad

1 great blast from past ,re-styled and introduced to a new generation, sidehack; a new way to ride! Have had "monkeys" ranging in age from 4 to 75. Your kids will love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sidehackdad
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike!
7/1/2010

Customer review by ourfamily7

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by ourfamily7
by ourfamily7

this bike exceded my expectations by a mile. much higher quality than i thought it would be. kids and myself love it. great item for our family. if you have active kids this is a great purchase. don't forget the helmets!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ourfamily7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
assembly of sidehack
12/31/2010

Customer review by nubscycling

4.0 stars 12/31/2010 by nubscycling
by nubscycling

I am a lifelong bicycle guy with tons of experience in all aspects of cycling. I have two issues with the sidehack. First. One of the fork dropouts was welded at an angel that required a bench vice to straighten enough to ride on Christmas morning. Second... The seatpost was the wrong diameter. It wasn't even close to fitting. It had the exact same outside diameter as the seat tube it was supposed to fit into; it oculdn't have been driven in with the seat collar removed and an eight pound sledge hammer. The only solution was to borrow one from one of my other bicycles. I can only imagine how frustrated other kids must have been Christmas morning. BUT it is a solid bike and a smooth ride.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nubscycling
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Base-Will Need Changes
2/21/2011

Customer review by BurdetteBMX

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by BurdetteBMX
by BurdetteBMX

Having a bracket-mounted 'hack in the '80s, I really enjoyed getting a new hack last summer. I changed the cranks, grips, wheels, freewheel, and added front brakes. I am dumping the gyro and rear brakes when I get a chance. I also removed the white foam tape and went with black athletic tape. For under $300, you get a whale of a bike that turns heads wherever it goes. If you want to take it on a track, you definitely have to upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurdetteBMX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews