Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Nice size skillet for family size meals.
11/21/2013

Customer review by Andy206

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Andy206
by Andy206
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to replace all of my cookware because of purchasing an Induction Cooktop. I primarily went with Cast Iron Enamel Cookware. I had done a great deal of research both on-line and in stores. Lodge Cast Iron Enamel Cookware was highly rated and very reasonably priced as compared to other brands. Walmart had the best prices of all. The lid for the 6 Qt. Cast Iron Enamel "Casserole/large Sauce Pot fits perfectly on this 11" Skillet. I have used the pan twice for a Greek Scramble Egg meal and sauteed mushrooms. Both items came out great, there was very little food that stuck to surface as I was cooking, and clean-up was a breeze. Having never ordered from Walmart, I was impressed with their site. In that we were moving into our new condo in 10 days, and needed cookware before we could cook at home, I was impressed with how quickly the items came. I ordered 4 different pots and pans. I was emailed the estimated time of arrival, and EVERY ONE of the items arrived ON TIME! The Lodge Enamel Cast Iron Cookware is high quality and VERY economical.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andy206
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A fine entry level porcelain cast iron product
3/4/2010

Customer review by CPTJohnC

4.0 stars 3/4/2010 by CPTJohnC
by CPTJohnC

My wife has been reading about the health issues surrounding various kinds of cookware for some time, which means that we limit the use of our anodized aluminum, and we're in the process of eliminating our non-stick stainless steel. She is pretty well convinced that cast iron is the way to go, and it seems like porcelain cast iron is the most practical. The obvious choice in this field would be Le Creuset, but if you've priced it, you know how costly it is. I discovered the Lodge item as a cheaper alternative, and I decided to purchase it to make an initial determination regarding the practicality of using cast iron cookware on an everyday basis in our home. While I cannot say it is of the same quality as the Le Creuset, as I have not cooked with that brand, I don't see any major faults at first examination. The porcelain is even, with no thin spots or gaps. The skillet seems well made, even, no irregularities or problems. It cooked evenly, with no apparent hot spots or other flaws. It is not as 'non-stick' as traditional (teflon) non-stick cookware, but I did not expect that it would be. It cleaned up nicely, with a minimum of effort. If you're looking to try porcelain coated cast iron, and don't want to spend hundreds of dollars to see if it matches your style, I would say this is a fine way to put your toe in the water, so to speak.

Was this review helpful? (99) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPTJohnC
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I actually own the 6 quart dutch oven
11/8/2012

Customer review by msdldavies

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by msdldavies
by msdldavies

I actually own the blue enamel coated 6 qt dutch oven and love it. And, the prices are very reasonable compared to Le Creuset, which are extremely over priced. Lodge is the recommended brand of cast iron frying pan by America's Test Kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msdldavies
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
it does what i bought it for
12/7/2010

Customer review by babetoo

4.0 stars 12/7/2010 by babetoo
by babetoo

a little of the enamel coating is rough around the rim. doesn't affect the cooking process. for the price it is a really good buy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babetoo
escondido, calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Can be used on glass stove top
1/19/2011

Customer review by HairyChicken

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by HairyChicken
by HairyChicken

Great Value, Lodge is the best in cast iron cooking, Saw the same product almost twice as much $$

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HairyChicken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid product
1/2/2016

Customer review by coffeesnob

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by coffeesnob
by coffeesnob

Holds heat, almost non-stick, very pleased

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeesnob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This pan meets all expectations
8/25/2013

Customer review by penattheready

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by penattheready
by penattheready
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second Lodge pan. The first is a large pot, which I use a great deal. It's great to clean, the heat distribution is outstanding and it's a great size. I've wanted an iron skillet for a while and finally purchased this one. I was hesitant because of the black interior thinking it was something other than what I was accustomed to. However, I was wrong and could kick myself for taking so long. It browns chicken breasts perfectly, sautees vegetables evenly. I have a top that fits well, so I don't have to use it exclusively for uncovered dishes. The only drawback is that it's heavy. But not as heavy as the pot. And anyway, its attributes far outweigh (no pun intended) its heft. Oh, love the blue color, too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
penattheready
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not quite what I expected
8/27/2013

Customer review by Rcjfej

3.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Rcjfej
by Rcjfej
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the looks of the pan, but...it sticks terribly. If you are going to fix something that includes deglazing the pan, you'll be fine. If not, food sticks to the interior like there is no tomorrow. The interior is coated with a matte finish, not cast iron, so metal utensils are not recommended.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rcjfej
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooks much better than stainless steel
8/30/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased an expensive set of stainless steel cookware and food always stuck to the skillet and was very hard to clean. We purchased the Enameled Cast Iron Skillet and problem solved. If you do not have one get one it cooks great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
lodge has a great product
11/29/2013

Customer review by Ja9M

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Ja9M
by Ja9M
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the lodge pan works great on my induction stove top, non stick is very easy to clean up, the only complaint is it is a very heavy pan

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ja9M
Enumclaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cast Iron Pan
6/12/2014

Customer review by StPaul1

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by StPaul1
by StPaul1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It seems to me that cast iron aids in the frying process or baking cornbread. I really like this piece with the extra handle to help in moving the pan without scrubbing it over my glass top cooking surface. This is a heavy pan and once it is up to temperature you will likely have to turn the heat down because it really holds the heat while cooking. The color blue is a nice addition to my kitchen. I would recommend this pan.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StPaul1
Niceville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/26/2011

Customer review by supershot

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by supershot
by supershot

Very heavy skillet but will stick if not sprayed with none stick coating before cooking.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supershot
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It cooks just like I thought it would.
2/9/2015

Customer review by Flor

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by Flor
by Flor

The skillet is wonderful and it cooks really good. I have cast my other skillet to the trash and I'm only using the two I got from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/8/2012

Customer review by SirFryer

3.0 stars 8/8/2012 by SirFryer
by SirFryer

Did not read the description close enough. Thought the cooking surface was cast iron. No it also is enameled so can not be seasoned but can be washed with soap. Never will be as slick as seasoned cast iron. Sure is purty tho.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SirFryer
West Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exactly as pictured and very heavy.
3/12/2014

Customer review by kathleen8

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by kathleen8
by kathleen8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After much review I decided on these two pieces and they are exactly as described. The cover of the 6 quart dutch oven fits the 11 inch skillet perfectly which is a plus. My only surprise was the interior of the pans are different. The skillet's interior is done with a black coating but the dutch oven is a light tan enameled, I think, coating. I haven't had a chance to try them out yet and I will add final comments once I have used both.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kathleen8
MANITOWOC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good quality
12/28/2012

Customer review by lodgebuyer55

2.0 stars 12/28/2012 by lodgebuyer55
by lodgebuyer55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had bought the same skillet from my local hardware store, but wanted the color Walmart had. The black interior of the Walmart one was uneven and rough, while the one from the hardware store was smooth and even. It's totally possible that some of the Walmart stock is better quality, but the one I got wasn't. Also, returns were easy but know that the return desk is only open til 10 at night, even though the store is open til midnight. You local store may be different.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lodgebuyer55
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pan
4/4/2014

Customer review by Jobalo

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Jobalo
by Jobalo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great pan. Enough said.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jobalo
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by madcook

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by madcook
by madcook
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

product came out of box chipped. returning to store today.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madcook
wadsworth ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Same as seasoned skillet,
4/12/2012

Customer review by Mkoijn342

2.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Mkoijn342
by Mkoijn342

DuPont coating would have made it better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mkoijn342
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year