Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

84 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

84 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 69 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
The ONLY Wok you will ever need!
7/26/2010

Customer review by pixiesplace

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by pixiesplace
by pixiesplace

I have struggled for years with different woks, trying this one and that one, never satisfied. One wok had to be vigorously seasoned and reseasoned over and over to keep it from rusting (steel) and was too thin at the same time, giving uneven cooking results. Another required spending a fortune (a stainless steel wok) that did not do much better on the cooking end, and still had to be scrubbed after each use due to meat sticking. This Lodge Pro Logic Cast Iron Wok is in a class of its own. It was already preseasoned when brand new. We just rinsed it out with hot water, dried it, and sprayed the inside of it lightly with some organic olive oil Pam, then went about to make the best stir fry ever! It held the heat well, the heat was distributed well without hot spots, and the food cooked to perfection. We did not have to use high heat to get the desired stir-fry results. We found (on an electric stove top) that a setting around 6 was quite adequate. We even used swiss chard instead of bok choy for our leafy greens, which need to cook a bit longer, but it was no problem. The sides of the wok are sloped just right onto which we could move the items that need only to continue to be kept hot but not cooked further. The veggies were all fresh, added in stages according to how long the item should cook to be just right. Everything came out perfect...still nicely crunchy, delicious, using a minimal amount of olive oil compared to the other woks I've cooked in, no sticking, and easy clean-up. Positively the best stir fry we have ever created in our home after many years of stir frying! Hurrah to Lodge! This is a pan I will pass on to my children. Remember that if you dry the pan with a paper towel after washing it out, do not rub as the paper toweling (yes, even Bounty) will pill some, so do not rub, just blot and put on the stove stop with the burner on med low for a few minutes to dry it out, then spray with the Pam. We live in Wyoming so it air dries in a minute or two, but most places in the U.S. have fairly high humidity, so it is better to heat it up some to get rid of all the moisture before spraying it. This is especially important after using the pan and washing it. Be sure to dry well and then spray again before you put it away. I use a paper towel to spread the Pam evenly and into the pores before I put it away. The care is to easy, and the patina finish from the factory seasoning is especially nice. Lodge does a great job, and it is MADE IN THE USA! I have never been disappointed by a Lodge product. We also use Lodge fry pans (the 8" is great for omelets) and love them. Nonstick without the toxic, forever peeling/wearing teflon or other "nonstick" finish!

Was this review helpful? (89) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pixiesplace
Central Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best wok I have ever owned
8/2/2010

Customer review by RobertInNC

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by RobertInNC
by RobertInNC

I've owned several woks and this is the first one that I have been happy with. I use it on my glass top stove without any problems. It takes about 10-15 minutes to preheat on high on the largest burner. It actually sears the meat and vegetables, since it gets very hot and retains its heat. All my other woks lost their heat quickly and ended up steaming or boiling the food. The bottom is flat on the outside and curved inside. Very heavy, so it didn't slide around even on my glass top until I accidentally got some oil on the bottom of the wok. You need pot holders to touch the handles. You need to scoop the food out of the wok rather than lifting the wok and pouring the food into a bowl since the wok is so heavy - the only complaint I have, and it is a minor one. Overall, this is the best wok you can buy for the home cook, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertInNC
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Product
2/15/2010

Customer review by VeryHappySoFar

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by VeryHappySoFar
by VeryHappySoFar

Have a new gas stove top and it works great on it. Nice, large bowl makes it easy to stir even when quite full. Couldn't be happier especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeryHappySoFar
Baraboo, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The real deal
6/12/2011

Customer review by CarolinaWirehead

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by CarolinaWirehead
by CarolinaWirehead

Nice thick base and lip. Holds food on edges as well as a hammered wok, but holds heat better. Works great on my glass top electric range due to thicker flat bottom (inside is rounded, outside is square, as it should be). Very easy to clean, comes ready to use. We have bought lots of Lodge brand cast iron over the years, always impressed. We looked for a wok for a couple months, glad we stuck with Lodge. Worth twice the price.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarolinaWirehead
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Product and Excellent Service
4/6/2012

Customer review by james012345

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by james012345
by james012345

I ordered this yesterday at 11 AM my time. Shipping was free. It arrived the next afternoon at about 3PM from out of state. Yes -- really. The product is exactly what I wanted and, having used cast iron skillets many years and endured the "non stick " coated aluminum cheapos -- there is no comparison. This is the best you can do -- the "Real mcCoy". Walmart gets a lot of bad press, but really -- this is ourstanding service -- well beyond what anyone can reasonably expect. So my ratings are all excellents for Lodge and all excellent for Walmart. And no -- I'm not nor have I ever been a Walmart employee -- their price is better than ebay! So buy it here or buy it on ebay and wait 2 weeks and pay shipping and pay a little more for the same thing :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
james012345
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
2/23/2010

Customer review by new2mp3s

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by new2mp3s
by new2mp3s

I love the wok! It is well built and price right.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
new2mp3s
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hot Wok Cold Oil Food No Stick
4/22/2011

Customer review by NORMrso

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by NORMrso
by NORMrso

Would I recommend this product? Depends...if you have the BTUs to put into it, yes. I don't think you'll be happy with this wok if you're going to try to cook with it on the stove top. I'd planned to use mine on a propane burner outside from the get go. And it really is great. To get true wok hei you need high heat and I can get this baby brandin' iron hot. In the intrest of full disclosure, I'm a sucker for Lodge cast iron cook ware. Hey, I'm a Texan, what'd ya expect. I do a mean stir fry with a little peanut oil, cubed pork tenderloin, green beans, onion, garlic, chicken broth...little of this, little of that...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NORMrso
Liberty, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice
7/30/2011

Customer review by leboson

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by leboson
by leboson

So far so good. Does a terrific job. In fact I think i will get rid of all my teflon pans and buy some other pans of the same brand.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leboson
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lodge is a great Cast Iron cookware company.
5/14/2013

Customer review by BornRandy

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by BornRandy
by BornRandy

Quality Heavy Cast Iron Wok. Came 'pre seasoned' but I used the first time heating it as an opportunity to build on that initial coating. It arrived gray and is now the typical black cast iron color. I found a different source for asian constructed iron woks that were around 20 dollars plus freight. The woks can be flexed with bare hands and are known for uneven heat and breakage. With the free shipping, this one was a comparable prices for easily 5 times factor quality increase. Buy it once and have an heirloom for your great grandkids. I have several hundred pounds of antique collectable and still very functional -brand name- cast iron cookware that I use regularly. This is just as good or in some cases better than those. Better because Griswold or Wagner did not make a Wok. Dutch ovens, bean pots, Frying pans, pot roasters, chicken friers, griddles, Waffle irons yes, but not woks :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornRandy
Small Town Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why Buy More Than One Wok per Lifetime?
8/12/2011

Customer review by JinxDJinn

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by JinxDJinn
by JinxDJinn

Great Wok, works great does what a wok should do most excellently. I've had a few woks, steel, electric, but I suspect this will be the last one I ever buy. It's big, it's heavy and it cooks like a dream. What more can you ask for? And yes, it works like a charm on my glass top stove. I can see this sucker being passed down to my son and he to his son or daughter. Now I just have to find a lid for it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JinxDJinn
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Thrilled I bought this!!
9/17/2011

Customer review by patty105

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by patty105
by patty105

Was looking for wok that was quality. Well, leave it to Lodge! Made in the USA!!!! Did you read that? Made in the USA!! This is thick cast iron. I will use it stovetop and outdoors as well. Ring type base built in so you do not need a separate ring as with cheaper woks. Heats evenly. This is something you can pass down to family cause it will outlast you! Price is incredible compared to others. I Cannot brag enough on the quality. Too, it is pre-seasoned, so don't worry about that process. Thank you WalMart for having this. I found this in a local WM store

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patty105
al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing
2/19/2010

Customer review by theuberguru

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by theuberguru
by theuberguru

I have cooked with a few woks in the past and this is the best. It heats a little slow but when it gets hot it holds and maintains heat well. I have a gas stove and I had a wok that came from Taiwan and this is far better even a friend from China loves it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theuberguru
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Piece Of Cookware
6/1/2012

Customer review by Wokmaster

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Wokmaster
by Wokmaster

The wok arrived as promised and a day shorter than the expected delivery time. The piece was flawless in manufacturing, and the seasoning was as stated and ready to use out of the box. I, however, decided to do a second seasoning with olive oil for 1.5 hours and the utensil came out perfectly seasoned for my need. I love to deep fry. I am fortunate to own Griswold Cast Iron pieces nearly 100 years old, other Lodge items, American Metal Craft pots, and other cast iron articles that are just as useful….cast iron is truly the best. I read all the reviews starting with the lowest rating going to the highest and then in reverse….I was apprehensive my range would not heat the massive item to a high enough temperature but fortunately the range has a power burner which does the job…yes, there is an iron mass on the base that requires time to come to the right heat but that keeps the temps going strong with the addition of the many items during the cooking process….The passion of cooking allows for the patience needed for great results….keep the heat up enjoy the process and fun! A perfect tool. I stared off with a deep frying process and used rice noodles fried to a delicate crunch, then some corn tortillas for the real test….both came out as desired. I used a candy thermometer to attain the right temperature: 390 to 400 which varied as I was still learning the stove dial. The 14 inch size kept splattering at a minimum…foil on the stove top kept it even more clean. The cool down time on the oil and the wok was more than 3 hours for 64 ounces of Peanut Oil to reduce down to 100 degrees….excellent heat retention and a great time to relax after all the work…I strained the peanut oil through cheese cloth once it was cooled for the next use and it is stored in the frig. As a deep fryer this is a perfect piece. A 16 pizza pan is a perfect cover to have handy in case of the oil overheating and coming into a flame. There was no smoking of the oil. I was cooking at 390 to 400 and still practicing with the temp controls. A 12 inch glass lid works well too even though it sets slightly inside the wok. This is a great addition to any passionate chef’s home kitchen…enjoy. PS: It even has a gong sound if bumped.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wokmaster
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent wok for stir frying.
2/3/2011

Customer review by wokwithme

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by wokwithme
by wokwithme

It's a Lodge, need I say more. It fits on my small burner on my stove perfectly. Has a flat bottom but is round inside. No need to hold the handle while cooking due to it being so stable with its heavy weight. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wokwithme
Naples, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works perfectly on my induction cook top.
2/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Little heavy to handle, but that makes it quite rugged and even heating on the induction cook top. I put a piece of parchment between the wok and the glass cook top to keep it from scratching, but it doesn't burn because the pan never gets much above 400 degrees F. I can measure the temperature with my infrared thermometer I got from Radio Shack. I'd like to find a 14" lid to keep the heat in as I cook. I also seek a wok stirer or spatula - I'll check out a Chinese cooking supply store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Real value and Quality
8/7/2013

Customer review by George123654

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by George123654
by George123654

I love this. Sturdy, very well made and preseasoned. Sits on the burner and doesn't move. Have cooked lots of things in it. For cast iron it is smooth and cleans well. When not in use it sits on the table holding fruit. A great buy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
George123654
Talking Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pro logic cast iron wok
11/23/2010

Customer review by NewcastleChef

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by NewcastleChef
by NewcastleChef

This is the perfect product to cheat with, what I mean is with all your standard thin metal woks like carbon steel you need very high heat in order to compensate for the pan dropping temperature once the ingredients are put in the pan, which with a standard residential stove you have zero chance of recovery. This cast iron wok retains the heat extremely well, it takes a while to get up to temperature, but once it did I only noticed a very slight drop in pan temerature once ingredients were added but it quickly recovered. This wok is perfect for the average residential gas stovetop with around 12K to 15K BTU's. I don't think this wok would work well with an electric range, but that's just an opinion and not from testing it. Of course with any cast iron pan you need to keep oil on it. It would be nice to have some sort of storage cover/lid come with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewcastleChef
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Wok
3/18/2013

Customer review by PawPawSteve

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by PawPawSteve
by PawPawSteve

Wonderful Wok. round on the inside, but flat base outside so it sits on electric stove. A very good buy. and made in America!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PawPawSteve
Linden, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product, works better than stainless ste
6/19/2012

Customer review by hearthisword

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by hearthisword
by hearthisword

I bought this as an anniversary gift for my husband who LOVES to cook - and LOVES cast iron. This wok did not disappoint! He was very impressed with the quality of the product and with how well it worked. The flat bottom makes the transfer of heat from the stove to the wok more efficient. We would definitely purchase this item again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hearthisword
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/4/2011

Customer review by jimbullfrog

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by jimbullfrog
by jimbullfrog

We purchased this about two weeks ago,it is a great wok.The wok is heavy and i preheat it until it smokes a little before adding oil.Then it stir frys flawlessley whatever you put in it,we have made some great meals with the wok.The build is great i put it directly on the burner,on our jenn-air gas stove. If you need a wok,this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimbullfrog
clarkdale,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews