Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

98 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

98 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 83 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Best wok I have ever owned
8/2/2010

Customer review by RobertInNC

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by RobertInNC
by RobertInNC

I've owned several woks and this is the first one that I have been happy with. I use it on my glass top stove without any problems. It takes about 10-15 minutes to preheat on high on the largest burner. It actually sears the meat and vegetables, since it gets very hot and retains its heat. All my other woks lost their heat quickly and ended up steaming or boiling the food. The bottom is flat on the outside and curved inside. Very heavy, so it didn't slide around even on my glass top until I accidentally got some oil on the bottom of the wok. You need pot holders to touch the handles. You need to scoop the food out of the wok rather than lifting the wok and pouring the food into a bowl since the wok is so heavy - the only complaint I have, and it is a minor one. Overall, this is the best wok you can buy for the home cook, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobertInNC
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Lodge is a great Cast Iron cookware company.
5/14/2013

Customer review by BornRandy

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by BornRandy
by BornRandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality Heavy Cast Iron Wok. Came 'pre seasoned' but I used the first time heating it as an opportunity to build on that initial coating. It arrived gray and is now the typical black cast iron color. I found a different source for asian constructed iron woks that were around 20 dollars plus freight. The woks can be flexed with bare hands and are known for uneven heat and breakage. With the free shipping, this one was a comparable prices for easily 5 times factor quality increase. Buy it once and have an heirloom for your great grandkids. I have several hundred pounds of antique collectable and still very functional -brand name- cast iron cookware that I use regularly. This is just as good or in some cases better than those. Better because Griswold or Wagner did not make a Wok. Dutch ovens, bean pots, Frying pans, pot roasters, chicken friers, griddles, Waffle irons yes, but not woks :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BornRandy
Small Town Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this wok!
7/28/2016

Customer review by Count2Ten

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by Count2Ten
by Count2Ten
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The weight and design of this wok are just perfect for me. It reaches heat quickly and retains heat as you cook. It came already seasoned and ready to use. It is easy to clean and maintain. I look forward to many years of use. It only gets better each time I use it and more non-stick.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Count2Ten
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
2/15/2010

Customer review by VeryHappySoFar

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by VeryHappySoFar
by VeryHappySoFar

Have a new gas stove top and it works great on it. Nice, large bowl makes it easy to stir even when quite full. Couldn't be happier especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryHappySoFar
Baraboo, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Pro logic cast iron wok
11/23/2010

Customer review by NewcastleChef

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by NewcastleChef
by NewcastleChef

This is the perfect product to cheat with, what I mean is with all your standard thin metal woks like carbon steel you need very high heat in order to compensate for the pan dropping temperature once the ingredients are put in the pan, which with a standard residential stove you have zero chance of recovery. This cast iron wok retains the heat extremely well, it takes a while to get up to temperature, but once it did I only noticed a very slight drop in pan temerature once ingredients were added but it quickly recovered. This wok is perfect for the average residential gas stovetop with around 12K to 15K BTU's. I don't think this wok would work well with an electric range, but that's just an opinion and not from testing it. Of course with any cast iron pan you need to keep oil on it. It would be nice to have some sort of storage cover/lid come with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewcastleChef
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Hot Wok Cold Oil Food No Stick
4/22/2011

Customer review by NORMrso

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by NORMrso
by NORMrso

Would I recommend this product? Depends...if you have the BTUs to put into it, yes. I don't think you'll be happy with this wok if you're going to try to cook with it on the stove top. I'd planned to use mine on a propane burner outside from the get go. And it really is great. To get true wok hei you need high heat and I can get this baby brandin' iron hot. In the intrest of full disclosure, I'm a sucker for Lodge cast iron cook ware. Hey, I'm a Texan, what'd ya expect. I do a mean stir fry with a little peanut oil, cubed pork tenderloin, green beans, onion, garlic, chicken broth...little of this, little of that...

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NORMrso
Liberty, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The ONLY Wok you will ever need!
7/26/2010

Customer review by pixiesplace

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by pixiesplace
by pixiesplace

I have struggled for years with different woks, trying this one and that one, never satisfied. One wok had to be vigorously seasoned and reseasoned over and over to keep it from rusting (steel) and was too thin at the same time, giving uneven cooking results. Another required spending a fortune (a stainless steel wok) that did not do much better on the cooking end, and still had to be scrubbed after each use due to meat sticking. This Lodge Pro Logic Cast Iron Wok is in a class of its own. It was already preseasoned when brand new. We just rinsed it out with hot water, dried it, and sprayed the inside of it lightly with some organic olive oil Pam, then went about to make the best stir fry ever! It held the heat well, the heat was distributed well without hot spots, and the food cooked to perfection. We did not have to use high heat to get the desired stir-fry results. We found (on an electric stove top) that a setting around 6 was quite adequate. We even used swiss chard instead of bok choy for our leafy greens, which need to cook a bit longer, but it was no problem. The sides of the wok are sloped just right onto which we could move the items that need only to continue to be kept hot but not cooked further. The veggies were all fresh, added in stages according to how long the item should cook to be just right. Everything came out perfect...still nicely crunchy, delicious, using a minimal amount of olive oil compared to the other woks I've cooked in, no sticking, and easy clean-up. Positively the best stir fry we have ever created in our home after many years of stir frying! Hurrah to Lodge! This is a pan I will pass on to my children. Remember that if you dry the pan with a paper towel after washing it out, do not rub as the paper toweling (yes, even Bounty) will pill some, so do not rub, just blot and put on the stove stop with the burner on med low for a few minutes to dry it out, then spray with the Pam. We live in Wyoming so it air dries in a minute or two, but most places in the U.S. have fairly high humidity, so it is better to heat it up some to get rid of all the moisture before spraying it. This is especially important after using the pan and washing it. Be sure to dry well and then spray again before you put it away. I use a paper towel to spread the Pam evenly and into the pores before I put it away. The care is to easy, and the patina finish from the factory seasoning is especially nice. Lodge does a great job, and it is MADE IN THE USA! I have never been disappointed by a Lodge product. We also use Lodge fry pans (the 8" is great for omelets) and love them. Nonstick without the toxic, forever peeling/wearing teflon or other "nonstick" finish!

Was this review helpful? (104) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixiesplace
Central Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Product and Excellent Service
4/6/2012

Customer review by james012345

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by james012345
by james012345

I ordered this yesterday at 11 AM my time. Shipping was free. It arrived the next afternoon at about 3PM from out of state. Yes -- really. The product is exactly what I wanted and, having used cast iron skillets many years and endured the "non stick " coated aluminum cheapos -- there is no comparison. This is the best you can do -- the "Real mcCoy". Walmart gets a lot of bad press, but really -- this is ourstanding service -- well beyond what anyone can reasonably expect. So my ratings are all excellents for Lodge and all excellent for Walmart. And no -- I'm not nor have I ever been a Walmart employee -- their price is better than ebay! So buy it here or buy it on ebay and wait 2 weeks and pay shipping and pay a little more for the same thing :)

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
james012345
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Love Lodge!
5/4/2016

Customer review by Monogramseverything

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Monogramseverything
by Monogramseverything

This beautiful, cast iron, made in the USA Lodge wok puts the stainless steel ones to shame. It cooks wonderfully and is a breeze to clean. I had been waiting months for this to come back in stock as every place else wanted $80 for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monogramseverything
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/23/2010

Customer review by new2mp3s

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by new2mp3s
by new2mp3s

I love the wok! It is well built and price right.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
new2mp3s
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The real deal
6/12/2011

Customer review by CarolinaWirehead

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by CarolinaWirehead
by CarolinaWirehead

Nice thick base and lip. Holds food on edges as well as a hammered wok, but holds heat better. Works great on my glass top electric range due to thicker flat bottom (inside is rounded, outside is square, as it should be). Very easy to clean, comes ready to use. We have bought lots of Lodge brand cast iron over the years, always impressed. We looked for a wok for a couple months, glad we stuck with Lodge. Worth twice the price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolinaWirehead
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent cookware
4/19/2016

Customer review by Penny

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Penny
by Penny

It is much lighter than I thought. I can choose the way I like, every flexible. I hope I can use is all my life.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thrilled I bought this!!
9/17/2011

Customer review by patty105

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by patty105
by patty105

Was looking for wok that was quality. Well, leave it to Lodge! Made in the USA!!!! Did you read that? Made in the USA!! This is thick cast iron. I will use it stovetop and outdoors as well. Ring type base built in so you do not need a separate ring as with cheaper woks. Heats evenly. This is something you can pass down to family cause it will outlast you! Price is incredible compared to others. I Cannot brag enough on the quality. Too, it is pre-seasoned, so don't worry about that process. Thank you WalMart for having this. I found this in a local WM store

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patty105
al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good wok!
12/9/2014

Customer review by Datchanee

4.0 stars 12/9/2014 by Datchanee
by Datchanee

I am Asian so I am very picky about what I use to cook my daily meals. I had used several non-stick woks but they would last a year or two. I came to the point of making a change for my cooking equipment. After a long search, I have decided to give this Lodge cast iron wok a try. I am very skeptical but so far so good. It just feel right about it. And I don't know if I just imagine or I really could taste the differences of the taste of the food I make. It seems to look and taste better. Though I am still very new with this wok, I don't seem to make the wok hot enough as I hope for. I heat the wok about 10 minutes before using but the temperature doesn't seem to be high enough for my stir fry that I am used to in Asia.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Datchanee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice
7/30/2011

Customer review by leboson

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by leboson
by leboson

So far so good. Does a terrific job. In fact I think i will get rid of all my teflon pans and buy some other pans of the same brand.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leboson
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Wok!
9/15/2014

Customer review by dittybopp

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by dittybopp
by dittybopp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very nice wok; it is LARGE and heavy.... so be sure to take that into account. I also purchased the cast iron trivet made by Lodge that is about 8 inches around. I put it in the bottom of the wok and it gives a very large cooking area for baking chicken--or even a turkey---and with the cast iron trivet in the bottom of the wok, the juices flow into the bottom of the wok and not on the food. The extra height using the trivet also allows hot air to circulate under the food for more even cooking. I would HIGHLY recommend this item.... I've used woks costing 4-5 times the price and this is the BEST!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dittybopp
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent wok for stir frying.
2/3/2011

Customer review by wokwithme

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by wokwithme
by wokwithme

It's a Lodge, need I say more. It fits on my small burner on my stove perfectly. Has a flat bottom but is round inside. No need to hold the handle while cooking due to it being so stable with its heavy weight. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wokwithme
Naples, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good
5/8/2016

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 5/8/2016 by John
by John

Good solid wok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy
5/3/2016

Customer review by shawn

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by shawn
by shawn

It worked great. Even though it is pre-seasoned I would suggest seasoning it before use. Over all works great. Well worth the Money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge 14" Wok
4/21/2016

Customer review by Lynne

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Lynne
by Lynne

As a collector of cast iron, this piece is very nice. I didn't reseason it prior to my first use and it cooked beautifully. Nothing stuck to it. Cleaned up easily too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews