Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 115 reviews
5 stars
102
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 100 reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Beautiful cast Iron Wok
8/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a wonderful Wok It has a nice smooth finish and is nicely seasoned. it is heavy and does not move around on the range the flat bottoms keeps this Large Wok sturdy I love that Lodge makes its cast Iron Here in the USA... I can't help but be a loyal customer as their Cast Iron is in most ways as good as it has been for the last 100 years I have a 70+ year old 12 lodge cast Iron skillet which is beautiful the inside finish is smooth like silk, far smoother then the current pans that lodge is making however it doesn't have the second handle like the new pans, and that second handle I think evens the playing field between the old and new. however it is possible to make new lodge pan as smooth as an antique lodge pan, by sanding and re-seasoning, It dose however take a lot of work and for some pans, having the smoother surface doesn't seem to make any difference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far, so wonderful!
3/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Well, I've had my new wok for about a week-and-a-half, and used it about half a dozen times. So far it's been wonderful. Naturally it's a bit heavy, which is a good thing if you like your wok to stay stationary, but not so much if you're given to moving the pan around as you stir or serve up its contents. Along with being heavy, it's just large, and when use on an electric (coil) stove top (which I have) the two factors do combine to make for a significant temperature difference as you move from the center of the wok. (I'm not sure if other stove tops work the same way or not.) Naturally it takes the slight additional care that's goes with iron cookware. It is pre-seasoned and ready to use, but of course doesn't yet have the full seasoning that comes with years of proper use and care. I went into this purchase knowing all these factors, and so there were no surprises. And I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge is a great Cast Iron cookware company.
5/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Quality Heavy Cast Iron Wok. Came 'pre seasoned' but I used the first time heating it as an opportunity to build on that initial coating. It arrived gray and is now the typical black cast iron color. I found a different source for asian constructed iron woks that were around 20 dollars plus freight. The woks can be flexed with bare hands and are known for uneven heat and breakage. With the free shipping, this one was a comparable prices for easily 5 times factor quality increase. Buy it once and have an heirloom for your great grandkids. I have several hundred pounds of antique collectable and still very functional -brand name- cast iron cookware that I use regularly. This is just as good or in some cases better than those. Better because Griswold or Wagner did not make a Wok. Dutch ovens, bean pots, Frying pans, pot roasters, chicken friers, griddles, Waffle irons yes, but not woks :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pro logic cast iron wok
11/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the perfect product to cheat with, what I mean is with all your standard thin metal woks like carbon steel you need very high heat in order to compensate for the pan dropping temperature once the ingredients are put in the pan, which with a standard residential stove you have zero chance of recovery. This cast iron wok retains the heat extremely well, it takes a while to get up to temperature, but once it did I only noticed a very slight drop in pan temerature once ingredients were added but it quickly recovered. This wok is perfect for the average residential gas stovetop with around 12K to 15K BTU's. I don't think this wok would work well with an electric range, but that's just an opinion and not from testing it. Of course with any cast iron pan you need to keep oil on it. It would be nice to have some sort of storage cover/lid come with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best wok I have ever owned
8/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned several woks and this is the first one that I have been happy with. I use it on my glass top stove without any problems. It takes about 10-15 minutes to preheat on high on the largest burner. It actually sears the meat and vegetables, since it gets very hot and retains its heat. All my other woks lost their heat quickly and ended up steaming or boiling the food. The bottom is flat on the outside and curved inside. Very heavy, so it didn't slide around even on my glass top until I accidentally got some oil on the bottom of the wok. You need pot holders to touch the handles. You need to scoop the food out of the wok rather than lifting the wok and pouring the food into a bowl since the wok is so heavy - the only complaint I have, and it is a minor one. Overall, this is the best wok you can buy for the home cook, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gift for my friends - Cast Iron lover
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought two of this wok. beautiful!!! pre-seasoning is not perfect but absolutely ready to use. This is really good size and heavy of course. It is perfect for stir-frying and anything! Wish I can have several size wok.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
2/15/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have a new gas stove top and it works great on it. Nice, large bowl makes it easy to stir even when quite full. Couldn't be happier especially for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The ONLY Wok you will ever need!
7/26/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have struggled for years with different woks, trying this one and that one, never satisfied. One wok had to be vigorously seasoned and reseasoned over and over to keep it from rusting (steel) and was too thin at the same time, giving uneven cooking results. Another required spending a fortune (a stainless steel wok) that did not do much better on the cooking end, and still had to be scrubbed after each use due to meat sticking. This Lodge Pro Logic Cast Iron Wok is in a class of its own. It was already preseasoned when brand new. We just rinsed it out with hot water, dried it, and sprayed the inside of it lightly with some organic olive oil Pam, then went about to make the best stir fry ever! It held the heat well, the heat was distributed well without hot spots, and the food cooked to perfection. We did not have to use high heat to get the desired stir-fry results. We found (on an electric stove top) that a setting around 6 was quite adequate. We even used swiss chard instead of bok choy for our leafy greens, which need to cook a bit longer, but it was no problem. The sides of the wok are sloped just right onto which we could move the items that need only to continue to be kept hot but not cooked further. The veggies were all fresh, added in stages according to how long the item should cook to be just right. Everything came out perfect...still nicely crunchy, delicious, using a minimal amount of olive oil compared to the other woks I've cooked in, no sticking, and easy clean-up. Positively the best stir fry we have ever created in our home after many years of stir frying! Hurrah to Lodge! This is a pan I will pass on to my children. Remember that if you dry the pan with a paper towel after washing it out, do not rub as the paper toweling (yes, even Bounty) will pill some, so do not rub, just blot and put on the stove stop with the burner on med low for a few minutes to dry it out, then spray with the Pam. We live in Wyoming so it air dries in a minute or two, but most places in the U.S. have fairly high humidity, so it is better to heat it up some to get rid of all the moisture before spraying it. This is especially important after using the pan and washing it. Be sure to dry well and then spray again before you put it away. I use a paper towel to spread the Pam evenly and into the pores before I put it away. The care is to easy, and the patina finish from the factory seasoning is especially nice. Lodge does a great job, and it is MADE IN THE USA! I have never been disappointed by a Lodge product. We also use Lodge fry pans (the 8" is great for omelets) and love them. Nonstick without the toxic, forever peeling/wearing teflon or other "nonstick" finish!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the wok! It is well built and price right.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The real deal
6/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice thick base and lip. Holds food on edges as well as a hammered wok, but holds heat better. Works great on my glass top electric range due to thicker flat bottom (inside is rounded, outside is square, as it should be). Very easy to clean, comes ready to use. We have bought lots of Lodge brand cast iron over the years, always impressed. We looked for a wok for a couple months, glad we stuck with Lodge. Worth twice the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Product and Excellent Service
4/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this yesterday at 11 AM my time. Shipping was free. It arrived the next afternoon at about 3PM from out of state. Yes -- really. The product is exactly what I wanted and, having used cast iron skillets many years and endured the "non stick " coated aluminum cheapos -- there is no comparison. This is the best you can do -- the "Real mcCoy". Walmart gets a lot of bad press, but really -- this is ourstanding service -- well beyond what anyone can reasonably expect. So my ratings are all excellents for Lodge and all excellent for Walmart. And no -- I'm not nor have I ever been a Walmart employee -- their price is better than ebay! So buy it here or buy it on ebay and wait 2 weeks and pay shipping and pay a little more for the same thing :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good wok!
12/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am Asian so I am very picky about what I use to cook my daily meals. I had used several non-stick woks but they would last a year or two. I came to the point of making a change for my cooking equipment. After a long search, I have decided to give this Lodge cast iron wok a try. I am very skeptical but so far so good. It just feel right about it. And I don't know if I just imagine or I really could taste the differences of the taste of the food I make. It seems to look and taste better. Though I am still very new with this wok, I don't seem to make the wok hot enough as I hope for. I heat the wok about 10 minutes before using but the temperature doesn't seem to be high enough for my stir fry that I am used to in Asia.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Thrilled I bought this!!
9/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was looking for wok that was quality. Well, leave it to Lodge! Made in the USA!!!! Did you read that? Made in the USA!! This is thick cast iron. I will use it stovetop and outdoors as well. Ring type base built in so you do not need a separate ring as with cheaper woks. Heats evenly. This is something you can pass down to family cause it will outlast you! Price is incredible compared to others. I Cannot brag enough on the quality. Too, it is pre-seasoned, so don't worry about that process. Thank you WalMart for having this. I found this in a local WM store
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice
7/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far so good. Does a terrific job. In fact I think i will get rid of all my teflon pans and buy some other pans of the same brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hot Wok Cold Oil Food No Stick
4/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Would I recommend this product? Depends...if you have the BTUs to put into it, yes. I don't think you'll be happy with this wok if you're going to try to cook with it on the stove top. I'd planned to use mine on a propane burner outside from the get go. And it really is great. To get true wok hei you need high heat and I can get this baby brandin' iron hot. In the intrest of full disclosure, I'm a sucker for Lodge cast iron cook ware. Hey, I'm a Texan, what'd ya expect. I do a mean stir fry with a little peanut oil, cubed pork tenderloin, green beans, onion, garlic, chicken broth...little of this, little of that...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super
7/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great quality will last you for a while. Makes great lomein etc. definitely would buy again [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Wok!
9/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a very nice wok; it is LARGE and heavy.... so be sure to take that into account. I also purchased the cast iron trivet made by Lodge that is about 8 inches around. I put it in the bottom of the wok and it gives a very large cooking area for baking chicken--or even a turkey---and with the cast iron trivet in the bottom of the wok, the juices flow into the bottom of the wok and not on the food. The extra height using the trivet also allows hot air to circulate under the food for more even cooking. I would HIGHLY recommend this item.... I've used woks costing 4-5 times the price and this is the BEST!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent wok for stir frying.
2/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a Lodge, need I say more. It fits on my small burner on my stove perfectly. Has a flat bottom but is round inside. No need to hold the handle while cooking due to it being so stable with its heavy weight. Very happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cast iron wok
3/24/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most woks are not made of cast iron. They heat up and cool down quickly. Some say this is great, others prefer less abrupt temperature changes. Since this wok is cast iron and a hefty one at that, it requires much more heat up time then a steel counterpart. There is a flat bottom so a wok ring is not necessary. Using this on an electric stove won't give you as much of a cooking area as the burner doesn't get nearly as hot as a gas burner and doesn't have the added effect of the flames heating the sides of the wok. I've not tried using it on my gas bbq but don't see why I couldn't. If you are looking for a wok that will outlast you and your children this is it. That Lodge is one of the last companies making anything in the US is an added bonus.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this about two weeks ago,it is a great wok.The wok is heavy and i preheat it until it smokes a little before adding oil.Then it stir frys flawlessley whatever you put in it,we have made some great meals with the wok.The build is great i put it directly on the burner,on our jenn-air gas stove. If you need a wok,this is the one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643919, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-