Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 187 reviews
5 stars
164
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 170 reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It!
9/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (141)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bread Baking Magic
2/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven
8/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Iron is the way to go Dutch!
1/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Arrived Broken
12/14/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unfortunately, this cast iron double dutch oven box arrived at the store in terrible condition. The box was not within another box packed with paper around like everything else we order site-to-store. The box the dutch oven was in looked like it was in a war. So the girl opened it for us and one of the cast iron handles was broken in three pieces. She apologized and credited our account. We ordered a different Lodge Dutch Oven and this one came in perfect condition with a larger outer box that had a lot of paper surrounding it to cushion the inner box during shipping. The rating I gave it does not reflect the dutch oven itself--it's on the packaging! It is a gift, so I'm sure they will like this one. They specifically wanted cast iron and the new one we choose was even less expensive than the double dutch oven and it is in perfect condition. We would recommend this product if the packaging would have been adequate and the handle wouldn't have been broken in three pieces. It's very sturdy and heavy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (56)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Main Pot
2/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
versitle dutch oven
12/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I LOVE IT
3/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the perfect size - not too big. I especially like to cook brown rice in the dutch oven it comes out beautifully.I use the 'top' a lot as a 10-11 inch skillet/ fry pan. If I need something bigger I also bought the 15" skillet which I also love. Lodge makes beautiful cast iron pans. Good for you, cooks food beautifully, excellent value, extremely durable. It heats up fast...boils water faster...and holds heat in for a LONG time after cooking. It took a few days to become more non-stick. Now I just use a small amount of oil and food does not stick. You can use metal utensils. It's great for obtaining a nice sear. Everything cooks beautifully! Easy to clean. I also read in How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman that he recommends cast iron. It's the best because it cooks food so beautifully without any potentially toxic non-stick coatings. Cast iron also contains...Iron! So it's kind of nutritious! If you leave water on the pan it will rust even within a few hours. You just wash it off. If it's just a little it comes off easily. You have to wash it right away and rub on a little oil. Right now I'm using a paper towel. I am going to try a pump that will spray oil, to make that step even faster.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big Hunk of Iron does the job
8/8/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Stew Pot
9/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very pleased with purchase. Great item and fabulously priced. Speedy delivery. The dutch oven (stew pot as I call it) is heavy, cast iron made by the one and only Lodge Co. The added bonus, is the lid is also a 10" skillet. Both are pre-seasoned, ready to cook in - - the oven, on stovetop, or over a campfire. You can't go wrong with this item. Will definitely be ordering more Lodge products from Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
durable cookware
3/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great addition to my set!
1/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Double Dutch Oven
9/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Exactly what we were looking for to cook sour dough bread!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
None Better! Perfect in every way!
7/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Cast Iron cooks everything much better, Period! and this Dutch Oven is no exception. I use it for everything. I deep fry in it, make stew and chili in it, boil potatoes and make rice in it, and to top it off, I use the lid as a fantastic no stick frying pan. I make pancakes, eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, and even steamed broccoli in it. You name it, you can cook it in this sweet Double Dutch Oven and Lid. It heats perfectly and makes food taste so much better. So even if your new to cast iron, you will love it. Keep it seasoned, use no soap, and you will have a set that will last forever. PS Use very little oil when re-seasoning your cast iron, it's the reason so many new users have problems. Put on, wipe off, heat 1 hr in oven at 350 degrees. Easy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Dutch Oven
10/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a superior product. The lid's doubling as a cooking vessel is very useful. I keep the Dutch oven, as with all my ironware, oiled so there is never a question of rusting. For safe removal of the lid while cooking, take care NOT to align the lid handles and pot handles. Also, when removing the lid, take care not to pass an arm or a hand over the pot through hot steam. I enjoy cooking with my Lodge Logic Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven immensely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great dutch oven for baking gluten-free bread!
7/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Purchased this dutch oven because it is made in USA, is cast iron and is very reasonably priced as compared to the colorful enamel coated ones that currently sell for about $250.00. Purchased specifically for baking bread in the oven. Performed very well and I bake gluten-free breads which are the most challenging of all baking projects. Bread had nice crust and soft flexible texture. Best gluten-free bread I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Cookware is to Die for!
6/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The dutch oven arrived before it's expected date, which was a real plus! The oven itself is a perfect size for two-person meals. It is sturdy & even all the way around, so there are no 'thin' spots as seen in lesser quality cast iron. It comes fully seasoned...and a quick wash & more 'seasoning' probably wasn't necessary, but I did it. I made chicken paprakash and it was fabulous. I used the lid to brown the chicken, while browning the other ingredients in the bottom. The only 'downside' is the weight of it, 13 pounds. However...that is what cast iron is. And this one is F A B U L O U S!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Like the item
8/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like this
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just right.
8/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have been looking for the right dutch oven for baking bread. This is perfect, plus I intend to use it for Boeuf Bourguinion (beef stew) so the frying pan/lid will come in handy for browning the beef. It also provides a little more headroom in case the bread rises too much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small but enough capacity
1/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this with the intent to bread no knead bread so far so good. Not mention the top lid converts to a small frying pan. I am really pleased. I'm slowly weaning myself away from stainless and over to traditional, functional, classic but modern looking cast iron for its overall cost and durability.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643928, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-