Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 118 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It!
9/25/2011

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by ren1216
by ren1216

I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA!

Was this review helpful? (78) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
versitle dutch oven
12/9/2010

Customer review by oldhoosier

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by oldhoosier
by oldhoosier

this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldhoosier
indianapolis in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Iron is the way to go Dutch!
1/8/2011

Customer review by findsit4u

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by findsit4u
by findsit4u

My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time!

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
findsit4u
Gatorville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bread Baking Magic
2/2/2012

Customer review by onthelev

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by onthelev
by onthelev

Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onthelev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Main Pot
2/9/2011

Customer review by ProfesorII

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by ProfesorII
by ProfesorII

This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProfesorII
Spring Hill, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big Hunk of Iron does the job
8/8/2011

Customer review by Redbull72

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Redbull72
by Redbull72

I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redbull72
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
cast iron pot
8/23/2010

Customer review by Vejigirl

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by Vejigirl
by Vejigirl

This pot is great. Not too heavy, and definately not lightweight. Would recommend this to friends.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vejigirl
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Just right.
8/1/2010

Customer review by azKIDder

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by azKIDder
by azKIDder

Have been looking for the right dutch oven for baking bread. This is perfect, plus I intend to use it for Boeuf Bourguinion (beef stew) so the frying pan/lid will come in handy for browning the beef. It also provides a little more headroom in case the bread rises too much.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azKIDder
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Lodge Cookware is to Die for!
6/2/2010

Customer review by Movo

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by Movo
by Movo

The dutch oven arrived before it's expected date, which was a real plus! The oven itself is a perfect size for two-person meals. It is sturdy & even all the way around, so there are no 'thin' spots as seen in lesser quality cast iron. It comes fully seasoned...and a quick wash & more 'seasoning' probably wasn't necessary, but I did it. I made chicken paprakash and it was fabulous. I used the lid to brown the chicken, while browning the other ingredients in the bottom. The only 'downside' is the weight of it, 13 pounds. However...that is what cast iron is. And this one is F A B U L O U S!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Movo
Sacremento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven
8/18/2010

Customer review by terraame

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by terraame
by terraame

The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terraame
Southwick, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
1/10/2010

Customer review by datafairy

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by datafairy
by datafairy

Exactly what I wanted. Perfect for camping, scouts, soup.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
datafairy
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great addition to my set!
1/16/2012

Customer review by TkkyGrnny

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by TkkyGrnny
by TkkyGrnny

I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TkkyGrnny
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
durable cookware
3/5/2011

Customer review by Tres47

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Tres47
by Tres47

Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tres47
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/13/2010

Customer review by SoupGarden

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by SoupGarden
by SoupGarden

Excellent choice for those of us who are looking for a traditional "dutch oven" with all the value and durability of cast iron. Not only will I be able to pass this down to my grandchildren, it will help keep me strong enough to lift them well into old age--think bicep curls! I have used this multiple times since purchase; it continues to be non-stick and clean up well. A very light gloss of canola oil and it waits patiently for my next recipe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoupGarden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Nothing Better
11/27/2010

Customer review by dawger51

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by dawger51
by dawger51

This is about the 10th piece of Lodge cast Iron that we own. We use this as our slow cooker. Cheapest cuts of beef, browned and cooked in the oven at 200 degrees for 8 hours. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dawger51
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Dutch oven
2/14/2010

Customer review by noluck33

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by noluck33
by noluck33

Great item and great price. The only way to cook!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noluck33
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great choice-Great price
2/20/2013

Customer review by Shorebirdie

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Shorebirdie
by Shorebirdie

I had never had a cast iron pan before but found a no-knead bread recipe that needed a pan that could take a temp of 450 in the oven and recommended a cast iron pan. I was always worried that I wouldn't know how to pre-treat and/or wash the pan, afraid I would end up with a rusty bucket. How wrong I was. Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-treated and ready to go. Lots of info is included on its care and storage. I chose this particular item for its versatility. The top is also a frying pan. Now I am making yummy, crusty bread. And the best part? Lodge items are MADE IN AMERICA.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shorebirdie
Santa Barbara
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Made in Tennessee!
8/13/2011

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by mrblueu
by mrblueu

Lodge is the best cast iron cookware and it's made right here in the USA. I've married this dutch oven! Yes, in love I tell you! Seriously, this is one of the best dutch ovens Lodge makes. All their cast iron is wonderful but what I particularly like about this one is the lid can be used as a skillet. Also, the lid will fit some other cast iron skillets as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
i love cast iron for cooking!!!
9/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i especially like that the lid doubles as a skillet or baking dish!!!...i made chili in the pot and bacon+swiss cheese cornbread in the lid...one thing i learned from the food network channel >>> preheat the lid in the oven before adding cornbread mixture as it creates a more delicious crust !!!...also. care for cast iron properly and it will last for generations!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
south minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dutch oven for baking gluten-free bread!
7/28/2014

Customer review by Gingerwine

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Gingerwine
by Gingerwine

Purchased this dutch oven because it is made in USA, is cast iron and is very reasonably priced as compared to the colorful enamel coated ones that currently sell for about $250.00. Purchased specifically for baking bread in the oven. Performed very well and I bake gluten-free breads which are the most challenging of all baking projects. Bread had nice crust and soft flexible texture. Best gluten-free bread I have ever eaten.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gingerwine
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews