Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 166 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It!
9/25/2011

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by ren1216
by ren1216
Top 500 contributor

I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA!

Was this review helpful? (138) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Top 500 contributor
Bread Baking Magic
2/2/2012

Customer review by onthelev

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by onthelev
by onthelev

Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done.

Was this review helpful? (72) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onthelev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven
8/18/2010

Customer review by terraame

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by terraame
by terraame

The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
terraame
Southwick, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Iron is the way to go Dutch!
1/8/2011

Customer review by findsit4u

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by findsit4u
by findsit4u

My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time!

Was this review helpful? (64) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
findsit4u
Gatorville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Arrived Broken
12/14/2010

Customer review by WalmartInternetBuyer

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by WalmartInternetBuyer
by WalmartInternetBuyer

Unfortunately, this cast iron double dutch oven box arrived at the store in terrible condition. The box was not within another box packed with paper around like everything else we order site-to-store. The box the dutch oven was in looked like it was in a war. So the girl opened it for us and one of the cast iron handles was broken in three pieces. She apologized and credited our account. We ordered a different Lodge Dutch Oven and this one came in perfect condition with a larger outer box that had a lot of paper surrounding it to cushion the inner box during shipping. The rating I gave it does not reflect the dutch oven itself--it's on the packaging! It is a gift, so I'm sure they will like this one. They specifically wanted cast iron and the new one we choose was even less expensive than the double dutch oven and it is in perfect condition. We would recommend this product if the packaging would have been adequate and the handle wouldn't have been broken in three pieces. It's very sturdy and heavy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartInternetBuyer
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Main Pot
2/9/2011

Customer review by ProfesorII

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by ProfesorII
by ProfesorII

This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProfesorII
Spring Hill, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
versitle dutch oven
12/9/2010

Customer review by oldhoosier

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by oldhoosier
by oldhoosier

this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun.

Was this review helpful? (66) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldhoosier
indianapolis in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Big Hunk of Iron does the job
8/8/2011

Customer review by Redbull72

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Redbull72
by Redbull72

I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redbull72
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
I LOVE IT
3/22/2013

Customer review by kariscyan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by kariscyan
by kariscyan

I love the perfect size - not too big. I especially like to cook brown rice in the dutch oven it comes out beautifully.I use the 'top' a lot as a 10-11 inch skillet/ fry pan. If I need something bigger I also bought the 15" skillet which I also love. Lodge makes beautiful cast iron pans. Good for you, cooks food beautifully, excellent value, extremely durable. It heats up fast...boils water faster...and holds heat in for a LONG time after cooking. It took a few days to become more non-stick. Now I just use a small amount of oil and food does not stick. You can use metal utensils. It's great for obtaining a nice sear. Everything cooks beautifully! Easy to clean. I also read in How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman that he recommends cast iron. It's the best because it cooks food so beautifully without any potentially toxic non-stick coatings. Cast iron also contains...Iron! So it's kind of nutritious! If you leave water on the pan it will rust even within a few hours. You just wash it off. If it's just a little it comes off easily. You have to wash it right away and rub on a little oil. Right now I'm using a paper towel. I am going to try a pump that will spray oil, to make that step even faster.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kariscyan
Montreal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
durable cookware
3/5/2011

Customer review by Tres47

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Tres47
by Tres47

Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tres47
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great addition to my set!
1/16/2012

Customer review by TkkyGrnny

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by TkkyGrnny
by TkkyGrnny

I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TkkyGrnny
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Love it!
2/24/2017

Customer review by MythicalGem

5.0 stars 2/24/2017 by MythicalGem
by MythicalGem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality product made in USA. Works amazingly well. It smelled a bit when I decide to season it when new (even thought it is pre-seasoned). It is now shinny jet black, very pretty & smooth. I'm getting used to the weight of it after lifting it a few times. Love it that I can use any kind (wood, metal, etc) utensils with it & not having to worry about ruining it. Use it on stove top with my Kitchenaid 10" glass cover & it works perfect, leaving a gap for steam to escape & glass don't "clouded" over & liquid doesn't split out when pot is full. Worth the price & Walmart has the best price. Wished they had the 14" wok when I was looking for it. Ended up buying another brand. Lodge has quality products & if all things being equal, I prefer to support Canada &/ USA companies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MythicalGem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dutch oven for baking gluten-free bread!
7/28/2014

Customer review by Gingerwine

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Gingerwine
by Gingerwine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this dutch oven because it is made in USA, is cast iron and is very reasonably priced as compared to the colorful enamel coated ones that currently sell for about $250.00. Purchased specifically for baking bread in the oven. Performed very well and I bake gluten-free breads which are the most challenging of all baking projects. Bread had nice crust and soft flexible texture. Best gluten-free bread I have ever eaten.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gingerwine
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just right.
8/1/2010

Customer review by azKIDder

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by azKIDder
by azKIDder

Have been looking for the right dutch oven for baking bread. This is perfect, plus I intend to use it for Boeuf Bourguinion (beef stew) so the frying pan/lid will come in handy for browning the beef. It also provides a little more headroom in case the bread rises too much.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azKIDder
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:55 - 64
Small but enough capacity
1/12/2015

Customer review by Goodcooks4

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Goodcooks4
by Goodcooks4

I bought this with the intent to bread no knead bread so far so good. Not mention the top lid converts to a small frying pan. I am really pleased. I'm slowly weaning myself away from stainless and over to traditional, functional, classic but modern looking cast iron for its overall cost and durability.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodcooks4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
None Better! Perfect in every way!
7/30/2012

Customer review by Mystore6325

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Mystore6325
by Mystore6325
Top 1000 contributor

Cast Iron cooks everything much better, Period! and this Dutch Oven is no exception. I use it for everything. I deep fry in it, make stew and chili in it, boil potatoes and make rice in it, and to top it off, I use the lid as a fantastic no stick frying pan. I make pancakes, eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, and even steamed broccoli in it. You name it, you can cook it in this sweet Double Dutch Oven and Lid. It heats perfectly and makes food taste so much better. So even if your new to cast iron, you will love it. Keep it seasoned, use no soap, and you will have a set that will last forever. PS Use very little oil when re-seasoning your cast iron, it's the reason so many new users have problems. Put on, wipe off, heat 1 hr in oven at 350 degrees. Easy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mystore6325
La Plata, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Top 1000 contributor
Two in one pan love it!
10/6/2016

Customer review by Cookie

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by Cookie
by Cookie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love my pans!! I get two for the price of one because the lid is a pan also!!They are preseasoned and easy to care for. This is the best product I have gotten in a long time! Seasoning them after every use is as easy as wiping them dry. This is a product I know I will have for a lifetime!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Twofer
2/5/2017

Customer review by SakonnetRoyal

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by SakonnetRoyal
by SakonnetRoyal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A skillet and a Dutch oven made in the USA, I'm a hay camper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SakonnetRoyal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Cookware is to Die for!
6/2/2010

Customer review by Movo

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by Movo
by Movo

The dutch oven arrived before it's expected date, which was a real plus! The oven itself is a perfect size for two-person meals. It is sturdy & even all the way around, so there are no 'thin' spots as seen in lesser quality cast iron. It comes fully seasoned...and a quick wash & more 'seasoning' probably wasn't necessary, but I did it. I made chicken paprakash and it was fabulous. I used the lid to brown the chicken, while browning the other ingredients in the bottom. The only 'downside' is the weight of it, 13 pounds. However...that is what cast iron is. And this one is F A B U L O U S!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Movo
Sacremento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
LODGE Double Dutch Oven is great concept
7/23/2016

Customer review by bonhoo

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by bonhoo
by bonhoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used lid as skillet to cook hashbrowns with great results, did not stick & cleaning was easy. Plan to make artisan bread soon which is main reason I bought this pot/lid. It is quite heavy, but retains heat very well. I picked this up @ the store to save shipping costs & it arrived in good condition tho only in box from manufacturer. According to some reviews, handles were broken or pot was cracked, so I inspected before leaving pick up desk, all was in good condition. I did wash with hot water & oiled with spray before use. So far I am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bonhoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews