Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 138 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It!
9/25/2011

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by ren1216
by ren1216
Top 500 contributor

I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA!

Was this review helpful? (114) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Bread Baking Magic
2/2/2012

Customer review by onthelev

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by onthelev
by onthelev

Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onthelev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven
8/18/2010

Customer review by terraame

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by terraame
by terraame

The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
terraame
Southwick, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Dutch Oven with skillet lid
5/27/2016

Customer review by KarlaK

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by KarlaK
by KarlaK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have many enameled cast iron dutch ovens & cook exclusively in them or in Lodge cast iron. Cannot beat the taste, performance and peace of mind that chemicals are not leaching into your food. Very convenient to go from stove to oven or even the grill or campfire. A few years ago I was intimidated to use real cast iron. It's easy, lodge provides the directions, just follow them. Also satisfied with Wal Mart for fast shipping and products were packaged well to prevent damage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KarlaK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Iron is the way to go Dutch!
1/8/2011

Customer review by findsit4u

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by findsit4u
by findsit4u

My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time!

Was this review helpful? (61) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
findsit4u
Gatorville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Arrived Broken
12/14/2010

Customer review by WalmartInternetBuyer

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by WalmartInternetBuyer
by WalmartInternetBuyer

Unfortunately, this cast iron double dutch oven box arrived at the store in terrible condition. The box was not within another box packed with paper around like everything else we order site-to-store. The box the dutch oven was in looked like it was in a war. So the girl opened it for us and one of the cast iron handles was broken in three pieces. She apologized and credited our account. We ordered a different Lodge Dutch Oven and this one came in perfect condition with a larger outer box that had a lot of paper surrounding it to cushion the inner box during shipping. The rating I gave it does not reflect the dutch oven itself--it's on the packaging! It is a gift, so I'm sure they will like this one. They specifically wanted cast iron and the new one we choose was even less expensive than the double dutch oven and it is in perfect condition. We would recommend this product if the packaging would have been adequate and the handle wouldn't have been broken in three pieces. It's very sturdy and heavy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartInternetBuyer
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Main Pot
2/9/2011

Customer review by ProfesorII

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by ProfesorII
by ProfesorII

This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProfesorII
Spring Hill, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
versitle dutch oven
12/9/2010

Customer review by oldhoosier

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by oldhoosier
by oldhoosier

this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldhoosier
indianapolis in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A value well worth it!
2/18/2016

Customer review by JoeyfromJersey

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by JoeyfromJersey
by JoeyfromJersey

I love this dutch oven. It is gourmet quality. It comes preseasoned which makes it easy to use before the first use. There's a new craze making no knead breads and this on is a winner for it. The lid can be used alone as a skillet or baking pan in the oven. I highly recommend Lodge. This was a recommendation for me and I recommend it to everyone too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeyfromJersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big Hunk of Iron does the job
8/8/2011

Customer review by Redbull72

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Redbull72
by Redbull72

I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redbull72
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Product Review
4/25/2016

Customer review by Edum

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Edum
by Edum

Love my Double Dutch Oven. I just used it to fry some fresh tomatoes and looking forward to use it for more countless cooking. This one is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love This!
3/4/2016

Customer review by kcarter0601

4.0 stars 3/4/2016 by kcarter0601
by kcarter0601

I love this dutch oven, excellent quality. Very heavy duty. The only complaint I have is when using as the dutch oven, so cooking with lid on, the lid becomes rusty. I can only assume this is from the steam being produced while cooking. I had to try and get as much of the rust out as possible and oil it down. And this occurred at first use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcarter0601
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Artisan Bread Baker-5 qt cast iron double oven
4/23/2016

Customer review by DBSH

5.0 stars 4/23/2016 by DBSH
by DBSH

Best for baking artisan bread. REALLY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBSH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
durable cookware
3/5/2011

Customer review by Tres47

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Tres47
by Tres47

Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tres47
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What I wanted, but Walmart sells an alternative
2/26/2016

Customer review by BreadByPaul

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by BreadByPaul
by BreadByPaul

Can't beat cast iron, and you don't have much choice in the US anymore. Lodge is it. BUT if you're after a dutch oven for baking bread in a standard stove oven, consider Lodge's "Combo Cooker". The diameter (the crucial measurement for bread) is the same as the "double dutch", the handles are like traditional fry pan handles, not ears, and the volume is smaller (it's rated at 3 qts) but that's irrelevant for bread. AND if's $10 cheaper!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BreadByPaul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge Logic Cast Iron Cannot Be Beat
1/20/2016

Customer review by CyberAmazon54

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by CyberAmazon54
by CyberAmazon54

This is a heavy, cast iron piece. Well made. Serves the purpose for which I bought it (to make bread). On this piece, I love the fact that the lid can also be used as a skillet on the stovetop. This is a versatile, well-made piece. (Emphasis on the "heavy" as it is... heavy!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CyberAmazon54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great addition to my set!
1/16/2012

Customer review by TkkyGrnny

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by TkkyGrnny
by TkkyGrnny

I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TkkyGrnny
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My first cast iron cookware
2/15/2016

Customer review by Lynn

5.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Lynn
by Lynn

I wanted something that I could use for different things. I searched and searched through every venue that carried cast iron cookware . I finally found this combo set that i can use as a frying pan , a roaster and a cooking pot. I have been using the top portion to fry eggs grilled cheese pancakes. I also have cooked a pork roast and it in the oven. This combo set is wonderful and I know I will get many years of use out of it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE IT
3/22/2013

Customer review by kariscyan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by kariscyan
by kariscyan

I love the perfect size - not too big. I especially like to cook brown rice in the dutch oven it comes out beautifully.I use the 'top' a lot as a 10-11 inch skillet/ fry pan. If I need something bigger I also bought the 15" skillet which I also love. Lodge makes beautiful cast iron pans. Good for you, cooks food beautifully, excellent value, extremely durable. It heats up fast...boils water faster...and holds heat in for a LONG time after cooking. It took a few days to become more non-stick. Now I just use a small amount of oil and food does not stick. You can use metal utensils. It's great for obtaining a nice sear. Everything cooks beautifully! Easy to clean. I also read in How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman that he recommends cast iron. It's the best because it cooks food so beautifully without any potentially toxic non-stick coatings. Cast iron also contains...Iron! So it's kind of nutritious! If you leave water on the pan it will rust even within a few hours. You just wash it off. If it's just a little it comes off easily. You have to wash it right away and rub on a little oil. Right now I'm using a paper towel. I am going to try a pump that will spray oil, to make that step even faster.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kariscyan
Montreal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Nothing Better
11/27/2010

Customer review by dawger51

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by dawger51
by dawger51

This is about the 10th piece of Lodge cast Iron that we own. We use this as our slow cooker. Cheapest cuts of beef, browned and cooked in the oven at 200 degrees for 8 hours. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawger51
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews