Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

150 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-20 of 127 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Everything I Wanted
6/7/2010

Customer review by AZGolfGirl

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by AZGolfGirl
by AZGolfGirl

I was looking for a replacement for a Calphalon non-stick grill pan because it was terrible to clean. No matter what I did - spray with cooking spray, use lower heat, use higher heat, boil water in it after cooking - I could never get it clean enough to make me happy. I researched different products and Lodge grills got consistently great reviews. I couldn't be happier! After letting the grill cool, I just use really hot water and a stiff toothbrush to clean the ridges. One other thing I've read and tried was putting some sea salt in the bottom of the pan before putting food on...this keeps the drippings from sticking. Now, a job that used to take overnight soaking and a minimum of 15 minutes of scrubbing has been whittled down to mere minutes. Additionally, I paid over twice as much for the Calphalon pan, so this is a total bargain!

Was this review helpful? (58) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZGolfGirl
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just what I wanted
3/21/2010

Customer review by ancheez

5.0 stars 3/21/2010 by ancheez
by ancheez

I had been looking for an indoor grill for some time and I am so glad I purchased this product. It is my first cast iron product and I was fascinated to learn about its upkeep (cleaning and seasoning the grill) and the benefits it would bring to my diet (foods enriched with iron). So far, the food I have prepared has been perfect! The grill really gives it a smokey taste, it is just what I wanted! The only down side is that the seasoning from the bottom gets on the stove and requires prolonged cleaning, not too bad, but a quick wipe won't suffice. For me, this is not a big deal and can therefore recommend the product.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ancheez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just as I expected.
11/9/2010

Customer review by NHHappyHomemaker

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by NHHappyHomemaker
by NHHappyHomemaker

This is not a glamorous item, but extremely useful when your family is big into grilled cheese, pancakes, and french toast. It is heavy, so be sure to use two hands when moving it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHHappyHomemaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Makes outdoor grilling tastier, cleaner & easier
8/30/2010

Customer review by Rokei

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Rokei
by Rokei

I use the griddle on my outdoor gas grille at low temperature. Meat & fish are cooked evenly and flavorful. Cleanup is very easy, just put it under running faucet and use a soft brush to clean it. Wonder why I never thought of getting a cast iron griddle before.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rokei
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Totally happy with the Lodge
9/23/2010

Customer review by ncMoosebert

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by ncMoosebert
by ncMoosebert

We recently got a fantastic deal buying an outdoor gas grill from Walmart. The first thing we cooked was hamburgers and I could see how the grease dripping on the burners would create problems eventually. We bought the Lodge griddle plate to put on the grill and save that investment. It works WONDERFULLY and catches all the grease. You can turn the ribbed side up and it cooks umpteen hot dogs at once, evenly, and with no grease drip. Turn the flat side up and hamburgers are extremely easy to sear the sides and flip with no meat loss. The griddle on the grill gives a humongous amount of control on temperature of the cook surface. It also fits just fine across two burners of our indoor gas cooktop. Follow the instructions about no sudden heating or cooling and how to clean it (it takes a bit of maintenance, don't slack here) and it'll last forever. Site-2-store was seamless and free shipping, and Walmart's cost of the griddle was least among real alternatives. Kudos. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncMoosebert
Raleigh/Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heavy, High Quality Griddle
9/8/2010

Customer review by FreeThoughts

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by FreeThoughts
by FreeThoughts

My family uses this cast iron griddle almost daily. Grilled cheese sandwhiches, warming tortillas, cooking bacon, quesadillas, etc...The trick I have learned to prevent foods from sticking, is to start with the heat very low and adjust it as needed while cooking. My experience: medium/low is usually enough to heat this griddle for everyday type cooking.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeThoughts
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great indoor stovetop grill
4/9/2012

Customer review by chfinman

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by chfinman
by chfinman

I love this grill, it is everything I expected and wanted. This is large and fits two burners perfectly. Grill heats up quickly, then turn down the flames to medium and grill maintains the heat. I can cook 8 chicken breasts at the same time. Everything I cook turns out delicious. One of the reasons this grill is soo good is because this item is made of cast iron, which also means the grill is heavy (16lbs). This is not a problem for me but might be a problem for those who cannot or do not want to pick up heavy items. I have several cast iron items, a fry pan and dutch oven both of which I have had for over 35 years and this is a perfect item to add to my collection. I prefer cookware that is not coated with enamel or non-stick and I do not like aluminum cookware. Cast iron lasts forever and you get terrific results.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chfinman
Hillside, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
1/29/2011

Customer review by twinbuyer

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by twinbuyer
by twinbuyer

This is my first cast iron piece of cookware. I was very wary of getting cast iron because of the weight and not being sure if it was really non-stick. I even tested out my sister's cast iron griddle to see how it worked before I bought this one. I love it!!! It is heavy but manageable. And it is really non-stick. I have made pancakes, fried eggs, and grilled cheese sandwiches on the griddle side and potato slices on the grill side. All of them worked great. I just put a little butter or oil on it and spread it around once at the start of my cooking and don't add anything further and nothing has stuck so far. I used it right out of the box - no further preseasoning since it comes preseasoned. I look forward to cooking on it and I am thinking about other cast iron pieces I might want. Cleaning has been easy, too. I let the griddle cool and put some water over it, wipe it with a dobie, rinse it and everything has come off. I then just follow the directions and dry it and rub a little oil on it and put it away. I was worried that I would be putting an oily pan in my cupboards but if you just use enough to spread around the whole griddle, it soaks in and is good to go! I hate non-stick coating - it eventually comes off and there are health concerns. This is truly an alternative to non-stick coated cookware!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twinbuyer
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Purchase
11/4/2011

Customer review by Kelly99

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Kelly99
by Kelly99

This item met and exceeded my expectations in quality. The cast iron griddle fits over 2 burners completely. It is big enough to cook 3 large pancakes at one time. Visit me at MainelyEwesFarm.blogspot.com to see it in action.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kelly99
Bradford, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just what i expected
4/21/2011

Customer review by chris213

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by chris213
by chris213

The first thing i grilled was ribeye steaks and they came out perfect. Then it was t-bones with sauted onions and peppers and garlick. nothig sticks to this grill front or back. THANK YOU, CHRIS...

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chris213
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very functional cooking utensi.l
2/3/2011

Customer review by PopKaufman

4.0 stars 2/3/2011 by PopKaufman
by PopKaufman

Bacon does not splatter near as much as I thought, and the way the grease drains off works great. Just enough coating remains on the cooking surface to fry eggs. If there is such a method as healthy frying, this is it. The only tip is to make sure our range is perfectly level by dropping a teaspoon of oil on the surface and tweak the levels of your range.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PopKaufman
Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/7/2012

Customer review by Blessed2HAVE

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Blessed2HAVE
by Blessed2HAVE

This product is well worth the money spent! This is our first attempt with indoor grilling; and we are very happy with the purchase. The product is very well made, and gives an excellent performance, especially if you're new to the indoor grilling process. WARNING; it is quite heavy so be careful when handling.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blessed2HAVE
Bellwood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Fatcat45

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Fatcat45
by Fatcat45

This is cast iron griddle is your Saturday morning pancake machine. Kitchen captains of yore realized that a cast iron griddle can't be beat for even, consistent cooking. Yeah sure, you could use a frying pan, but if you are willing to put up with the losing 2 of your stove burners, the volume of production and cooking ease are the benefits of using a griddle. If the pock-faced, acne-like surface puts you off, you could take an orbital sander and spend 3 hours to grind the surface smoother. The Lodge stuff is not bad compared to China-made stuff. And it's made in USA. All the marketing about "pre-seasoning" will not make the cookware non-stick. You best follow the same seasoning treatment to the Lodge cast iron as you would w/ those that are naked. Overall, w/ Walmart's price and Lodge's offering you will have a great piece of cookware.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fatcat45
Kalifornia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Iron man griddle
6/25/2010

Customer review by ManInTheKichen

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by ManInTheKichen
by ManInTheKichen

Value is the intrsection of price and function. The price of this item is far lower than the high end brands and it's seasoned cast iron. The more expensive grddles are often aluminum and if they don't cast in enough re-enforcing ribs into the aluminum, it will warp. Once cast iron heats up it cooks great. It is heavy, but thats part of the anti-warp strategy of this manufacturer. Cast Iron pots and pans have been around forever and continue to offer great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ManInTheKichen
Mecosta, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lodge Logic cast iron griddle
10/11/2010

Customer review by Lovetogourmetcook

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Lovetogourmetcook
by Lovetogourmetcook

Great value - great performance. Remember to let the griddle heat up for at least 8 minutes on the high setting before attempting to cook. Otherwise, food will stick and you'll get frustrated! Works beautifully for pancakes, bacon, eggs, etc.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovetogourmetcook
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than I expected.
8/21/2010

Customer review by redonice

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by redonice
by redonice

This griddle and the cast iron Dutch oven I purchased are my new favorite pieces of cookware. It came ready to use out of the box and with good instructions on care. Both pieces are heavy duty cast iron which is perfect for my intended use. I cook with both items outside on my infrared gas grill and there are no problems with the intense heat. Yes, they are pretty heavy to lift, but it sure beats a thin, cheap one that would warp from the heat.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redonice
Warren, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
can't go wrong with cast iron
8/29/2011

Customer review by whostolemynickname

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by whostolemynickname
by whostolemynickname

glad we went with the bigger one, very nice. use it in the kitchen but looking forward to taking it camping too

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whostolemynickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great griddle!
11/14/2010

Customer review by jamay

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by jamay
by jamay

I love it! Steaks taste like they came off the grill. Bacon done in a snap. eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns resturaunt quality. grilled veggies, grilled cheese sandwiches griiled sandwiches wonderful. Do yourself a favor, buy one!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamay
Modesto, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/8/2013

Customer review by ChoosieShopper

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by ChoosieShopper
by ChoosieShopper

Love it! If you rub a little vegetable oil on after every cleaning it never sticks. If you go to the lodge web site there are videos on how to clean and care for the griddle. Would definetly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChoosieShopper
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid, Serviceable Griddle
2/14/2014

Customer review by IowaTownGuy

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by IowaTownGuy
by IowaTownGuy

I love pancakes on Sunday mornings. This griddle serves me well. With the gas flame adjusted just right, my pancakes turn out golden brown. And when I'm done with it, it cleans up easily. Being flat, it stores without taking up much space. It should be noted that being made cast iron, it's heavy, though most folks can handle it without difficulty.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IowaTownGuy
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews