Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 180 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

180 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

180 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 157 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
Great Purchase
11/4/2011

Customer review by Kelly99

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Kelly99
by Kelly99

This item met and exceeded my expectations in quality. The cast iron griddle fits over 2 burners completely. It is big enough to cook 3 large pancakes at one time. Visit me at MainelyEwesFarm.blogspot.com to see it in action.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelly99
Bradford, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Quality,
9/20/2014

Customer review by renaissancejmr

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by renaissancejmr
by renaissancejmr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cast iron griddle came seasoned and ready to use. The side provides a deep drain area for runoff. It fits two oven burners and heats up evenly all along the center. Cleans in 2 minutes by burning off and wiping or quick rinse with grill brush.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
renaissancejmr
Brooklyn, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality cookware at great price
5/5/2016

Customer review by madmike047

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by madmike047
by madmike047

Love the performance of black iron cookware. I do most of my cooking on Lodge cookware, I rarely use anything else. The quality for the price is excellent. The Reversible Pro grid iron griddle... Great for all sorts of cooking. I use the griddle side most, I've never cooked a large quantity of scrambled eggs so quickly in all my life. Takes a bit of time to properly pre-heat (a lot of iron) but that's what makes cast iron cook so well (heat retention). Large size is good for larger amounts of food, not so much for small amounts unless you don't mind spending the time for pre-heating. I also like the fact that when using this griddle on a stove top over two burners, the area between the burners is not as hot as the areas directly over the burners, giving me a variety of temperature to work with on the large surface area (great for fried eggs). Weight is the only downside (iron is heavy). Real Butter works well for seasoning the surface.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madmike047
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Totally happy with the Lodge
9/23/2010

Customer review by ncMoosebert

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by ncMoosebert
by ncMoosebert

We recently got a fantastic deal buying an outdoor gas grill from Walmart. The first thing we cooked was hamburgers and I could see how the grease dripping on the burners would create problems eventually. We bought the Lodge griddle plate to put on the grill and save that investment. It works WONDERFULLY and catches all the grease. You can turn the ribbed side up and it cooks umpteen hot dogs at once, evenly, and with no grease drip. Turn the flat side up and hamburgers are extremely easy to sear the sides and flip with no meat loss. The griddle on the grill gives a humongous amount of control on temperature of the cook surface. It also fits just fine across two burners of our indoor gas cooktop. Follow the instructions about no sudden heating or cooling and how to clean it (it takes a bit of maintenance, don't slack here) and it'll last forever. Site-2-store was seamless and free shipping, and Walmart's cost of the griddle was least among real alternatives. Kudos. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ncMoosebert
Raleigh/Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everything I Wanted
6/7/2010

Customer review by AZGolfGirl

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by AZGolfGirl
by AZGolfGirl

I was looking for a replacement for a Calphalon non-stick grill pan because it was terrible to clean. No matter what I did - spray with cooking spray, use lower heat, use higher heat, boil water in it after cooking - I could never get it clean enough to make me happy. I researched different products and Lodge grills got consistently great reviews. I couldn't be happier! After letting the grill cool, I just use really hot water and a stiff toothbrush to clean the ridges. One other thing I've read and tried was putting some sea salt in the bottom of the pan before putting food on...this keeps the drippings from sticking. Now, a job that used to take overnight soaking and a minimum of 15 minutes of scrubbing has been whittled down to mere minutes. Additionally, I paid over twice as much for the Calphalon pan, so this is a total bargain!

Was this review helpful? (78) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZGolfGirl
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
1/29/2011

Customer review by twinbuyer

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by twinbuyer
by twinbuyer

This is my first cast iron piece of cookware. I was very wary of getting cast iron because of the weight and not being sure if it was really non-stick. I even tested out my sister's cast iron griddle to see how it worked before I bought this one. I love it!!! It is heavy but manageable. And it is really non-stick. I have made pancakes, fried eggs, and grilled cheese sandwiches on the griddle side and potato slices on the grill side. All of them worked great. I just put a little butter or oil on it and spread it around once at the start of my cooking and don't add anything further and nothing has stuck so far. I used it right out of the box - no further preseasoning since it comes preseasoned. I look forward to cooking on it and I am thinking about other cast iron pieces I might want. Cleaning has been easy, too. I let the griddle cool and put some water over it, wipe it with a dobie, rinse it and everything has come off. I then just follow the directions and dry it and rub a little oil on it and put it away. I was worried that I would be putting an oily pan in my cupboards but if you just use enough to spread around the whole griddle, it soaks in and is good to go! I hate non-stick coating - it eventually comes off and there are health concerns. This is truly an alternative to non-stick coated cookware!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinbuyer
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
lodge large griddle cast iron
7/26/2016

Customer review by 0000

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by 0000
by 0000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great product buy it online because in the store its 50.00 ???

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This grill/griddle is absolutely perfect!
6/15/2016

Customer review by Johnny

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Johnny
by Johnny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cast Iron is safe, and easy to use. I recommend purchasing a grooved scraper made by Lodge to help in cleaning it. After cleaning simply apply some vegetable oil and store. I had to get one of these because of the Food Channel show The Kitchen, where they use it all of the time and Katie says she never takes it off of her stove. What I have heard and now know is true, cast iron heats up slowly, but retains heat once food is placed on it. Aluminum and clad type of pans cool down immediately with food because of their fast conductivity, so the stove burner must heat them and the food back up. Not so with the cast iron. IT does not cool down much at all, so it cooks evenly from the start. It also takes a LONG time to cool down after cooking. Use mitts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great indoor stovetop grill
4/9/2012

Customer review by chfinman

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by chfinman
by chfinman

I love this grill, it is everything I expected and wanted. This is large and fits two burners perfectly. Grill heats up quickly, then turn down the flames to medium and grill maintains the heat. I can cook 8 chicken breasts at the same time. Everything I cook turns out delicious. One of the reasons this grill is soo good is because this item is made of cast iron, which also means the grill is heavy (16lbs). This is not a problem for me but might be a problem for those who cannot or do not want to pick up heavy items. I have several cast iron items, a fry pan and dutch oven both of which I have had for over 35 years and this is a perfect item to add to my collection. I prefer cookware that is not coated with enamel or non-stick and I do not like aluminum cookware. Cast iron lasts forever and you get terrific results.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chfinman
Hillside, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lodge Iron Griddle
7/17/2016

Customer review by jklsadjhfi

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by jklsadjhfi
by jklsadjhfi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality product, made in the USA, and you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jklsadjhfi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just what I wanted
3/21/2010

Customer review by ancheez

5.0 stars 3/21/2010 by ancheez
by ancheez

I had been looking for an indoor grill for some time and I am so glad I purchased this product. It is my first cast iron product and I was fascinated to learn about its upkeep (cleaning and seasoning the grill) and the benefits it would bring to my diet (foods enriched with iron). So far, the food I have prepared has been perfect! The grill really gives it a smokey taste, it is just what I wanted! The only down side is that the seasoning from the bottom gets on the stove and requires prolonged cleaning, not too bad, but a quick wipe won't suffice. For me, this is not a big deal and can therefore recommend the product.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ancheez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what I was looking for!!
4/24/2016

Customer review by Freshstartmomof3

4.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Freshstartmomof3
by Freshstartmomof3

I love the cast iron, it is easy to clean, made in America, and visually appealing so it stays out all the time on the stove. The grease trap is also very helpful and there is a large cooking surface. Very happy with my purchase. I have used it almost daily for a month now. The middle does not get evenly as hot as it does over the part with burners but it may be because I am using it on an electric stove. That was the only drawback or it would have gotten the full 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freshstartmomof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cast iron is the way
7/12/2016

Customer review by shrimpsoup

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by shrimpsoup
by shrimpsoup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love cooking with cast iron the best way to cook. Plus it last longer as long you keep it clean and season.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shrimpsoup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New to cast iron cookware
4/21/2016

Customer review by Junie

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Junie
by Junie

This grill fits my gas cook top perfect (two burners) for small amount of food I only turn on one burner. ...I've only used the flat side so far and sure love it! I leave it on stove all the time.. Wish I would have used cast iron along time ago. This is my first piece of cast iron cookware. I'm back on here to order more . If your looking at it then buy it!! I also purchased the grill press for bacon. nice as well. Love this Grill more than I can say!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just as I expected.
11/9/2010

Customer review by NHHappyHomemaker

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by NHHappyHomemaker
by NHHappyHomemaker

This is not a glamorous item, but extremely useful when your family is big into grilled cheese, pancakes, and french toast. It is heavy, so be sure to use two hands when moving it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHHappyHomemaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lodge pro reversible griddle
7/5/2016

Customer review by RoyG

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by RoyG
by RoyG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great, comes already pre seasoned, although I did brush on some olive oil before using it for the first time. It's cast iron, so you have to know how to care for it and cook on it. I've been using it on my Weber gas grill, and so far, no complaints

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoyG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
6/29/2016

Customer review by Diana

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Diana
by Diana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's just as you would expect from Lodge. They haven't been around for 100 years for nothing. Very solid, durable product that will outlive me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Fatcat45

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Fatcat45
by Fatcat45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is cast iron griddle is your Saturday morning pancake machine. Kitchen captains of yore realized that a cast iron griddle can't be beat for even, consistent cooking. Yeah sure, you could use a frying pan, but if you are willing to put up with the losing 2 of your stove burners, the volume of production and cooking ease are the benefits of using a griddle. If the pock-faced, acne-like surface puts you off, you could take an orbital sander and spend 3 hours to grind the surface smoother. The Lodge stuff is not bad compared to China-made stuff. And it's made in USA. All the marketing about "pre-seasoning" will not make the cookware non-stick. You best follow the same seasoning treatment to the Lodge cast iron as you would w/ those that are naked. Overall, w/ Walmart's price and Lodge's offering you will have a great piece of cookware.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fatcat45
Kalifornia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes outdoor grilling tastier, cleaner & easier
8/30/2010

Customer review by Rokei

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Rokei
by Rokei

I use the griddle on my outdoor gas grille at low temperature. Meat & fish are cooked evenly and flavorful. Cleanup is very easy, just put it under running faucet and use a soft brush to clean it. Wonder why I never thought of getting a cast iron griddle before.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rokei
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heavy, High Quality Griddle
9/8/2010

Customer review by FreeThoughts

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by FreeThoughts
by FreeThoughts

My family uses this cast iron griddle almost daily. Grilled cheese sandwhiches, warming tortillas, cooking bacon, quesadillas, etc...The trick I have learned to prevent foods from sticking, is to start with the heat very low and adjust it as needed while cooking. My experience: medium/low is usually enough to heat this griddle for everyday type cooking.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreeThoughts
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews