Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

138 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

138 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 116 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Big for the cooktop
7/22/2014

Customer review by VivaLaWally

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by VivaLaWally
by VivaLaWally

I purchased two of these - one skillet for me and one skillet as a gift. I got them on sale and I am somewhat happy with the purchase. I have enough room for the skillet on the cooktop but it seems as if the heat is far more concentrated in the center, because my burner is not as large as the base of the 15-inch skillet. I do use this skillet many times on the outdoor grill without any issues and I would recommend using this skillet as a griddle for fatty meats in order to contain the grease. This 15-inch skillet will take all the heat you can through at it. The main problem I am finding with these 15" skillets and many of the other skillets & chicken fryers I purchased from Lodge is the casting seam on the left side of the handles. I have been in construction many years but if I do not use an oven mitten or potholder this seam hurts my hand because I need to grip it tightly due to the weight of the skillet. When the skillet is hot, I must use a mitten or holder, due to the heat, so it is not an issue then. What I did was grind the seam down with a bench grinder and then I buffed it with my wire wheel. I notified the Lodge Company about these issues, so we will see if they will pay more attention to this finishing process. I will offer to smooth out the handle, of the other skillet, if the receiver wants this modification performed on her skillet. One photo depicts the casting seams of the two 15-inch skillets before modification. One photo depicts the handle after I smoothed it down.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VivaLaWally
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Bigger is better in the kitchen
6/23/2013

Customer review by TheBracha

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by TheBracha
by TheBracha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are cooking for a bunch of people, this is just the ticket to have punched. Most any cook knows how wonderful a cast iron skillet is and this one is wonderful. One thing, it says it is seasoned, well maybe a bit but to really season a cast iron pan here is what my gourmet cooking partner says to do and she is is right on the mark. Preheat the oven to 250, liberally coat the skillet with vegetable oil and let it season in the oven for four hours, let it cool in the oven after the heat is turned off. OR Preheat the oven to 400, liberally coat the skillet with vegetable oil and let it season in the oven for two hours, let it cool in the oven after the heat is turned off. Repeat this for TEN days. Your skillet will be really seasoned and all you will ever do to clean it is wipe it with a paper towel and put it away. For the price these sell for, they can't season them ten times, that is your job. NEVER, NEVER, NEVER put this in a dishwasher or in soapy water, you will lose the seasoning and need to start over.

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBracha
Hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT. I'm going to have this forever!
3/22/2013

Customer review by kariscyan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by kariscyan
by kariscyan

It took a few days to become more non-stick. Now I just use a small amount of oil and food does not stick. You can use metal utensils. It's great for obtaining a nice sear. I did not guess from the picture of its description how huge it is! The bulk of this pan is a bit alarming at first until you realize that whenever you would have had to cook items in batches, not anymore! Saves me time! The sides are also higher than usual. Everything cooks beautifully! Easy to clean. I also read in How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman that he recommends cast iron. It's the best because it cooks food so beautifully without any potentially toxic non-stick coatings. Cast iron also contains...Iron! So it's kind of nutritious! If you leave water on the pan it will rust even within a few hours. You just wash it off. If it's just a little it comes off easily. You have to wash it right away and rub on a little oil. Right now I'm using a paper towel. I am going to try a pump that will spray oil, to make that step even faster. Also it is very heavy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kariscyan
Montreal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best pan ever~
10/12/2011

Customer review by Windmere

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Windmere
by Windmere

Believe it or not I bought this pan for my wife on our 10th wedding anniversary. (It was a supplemental gift, I got her a Florida vacation too)... Anyway, she did not hit over the head with it because I bought it as an anniversary gift. She LOVES it. She fried a whole pound of bacon in it on the first use and it was outstanding ...even heat distribution, excellent capacity. The only down side was that the pan in the picture has pouring spouts and ours does not. So she was not able to easily pour the bacon fat into a jar for future use. She said she could do it, but it made a slight mess because of no pouring spouts. Because the pan was slightly different from the pictured pan, i.e. no pour spouts, I marked "meets expectations" rating as good rather than excellent. I also would caution that the pan is (obviously) very, very heavy...so be careful when pouring and lifting. The pan is so good that my parents actually had me order another pan for them as well. It is truly a necessary pan in you kitchen. You won't be sorry you ordered it. Fast shipping too...very reasonable shipping cost, especially for the weight of the pan. Walmart is the best!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windmere
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Use a Tape Measure and LARD
8/16/2014

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by mrblueu
by mrblueu
Top 10 contributor

First, get a tape measure and stretch it out to 15" so you will know exactly how HUGE this skillet is. This is a skillet that most people would rarely use due to it's size. You may seriously want to look at the 13.5" which is also very large, or even the 12" which most people find more accommodating. Second, I read the reviews and posting about using oil for seasoning. I would not suggest oil when seasoning cast iron. I would suggest lard. If you don't have lard, use shortening such as Crisco. In reality, you don't need to do anything but use the Lodge cast iron that is already seasoned. Every time I get new Lodge cast iron cookware, the first things I do after a quick wash, is fry greasy foods such as bacon. The more you use your cast iron, the prettier it gets and the more non stick it gets. Fried eggs slide out of my lodge cast iron skillets and I have never sanded the skillets or did any extra seasoning other than drying the pans out and rubbing a little lard or crisco into the pans. You really don't need to do anything extra other than use it use it use it and dry well, rub in crisco after each use, that's it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
Where have you been all my life!!
8/20/2016

Customer review by grtgrn

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by grtgrn
by grtgrn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had two 12 inch skillets for a loooong time and use them quite often. However, there's several dishes that I make that are just too much for one of those. I always ended up needing both. Now with this big, beautiful, deep pan, I can cook everything together and have it perfectly done! Everyone in my family will be so happy that the kielbasa and kraut will be nicely browned and there will always be plenty for each. Thank You Lodge for this wonderful size. My only sorrow is that I didn't have it when all of my children were growing up. It would have made things so much easier on me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grtgrn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It cracked when we put it in oven!!
8/18/2016

Customer review by Lizard

1.0 stars 8/18/2016 by Lizard
by Lizard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this just for a special camping trip. After I got it, we decided to cure it and while it was is the oven for the first time we heard a loud pop and it had cracked down the middle! Two days before we left for our trip!! I had many cast iron lodge items and trusted buying this item because of where it came from. I was so saddened that we did not have this pan for our trip!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lizard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a skillet as you've not seen before!
4/22/2010

Customer review by ShareRe

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by ShareRe
by ShareRe

This is a huge skillet and can cook almost anything in the stove or over the campfire. The handle is a bit short for the size of the skillet yet performs its job. The cost is ridiculously affordable and I love this skillet.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShareRe
Eastern Shore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love Cast Iron
11/26/2010

Customer review by mSKUFFhill

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by mSKUFFhill
by mSKUFFhill
Walmart associate

I am new to cooking with cast iron, and I really love the Lodge products I've been getting. This skillet helps me cook great pancakes and stir fry's. Also I love to brown chicken breasts in it, then pop the whole pan straight into the oven to finish cooking them. This skillet will last a lifetime (unlike many of the more expensive skillets I've owned). Curing and cleaning is easy, and there is so much cast iron cooking information right on the internet. I am looking forward to adding more cast iron to my kitchen!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mSKUFFhill
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love it enough to marry it
4/29/2010

Customer review by myratfink

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by myratfink
by myratfink

Words cannot describe how happy this pan makes me. Four years ago it looked like a monster and I wondered if I should have bought such a huge pan. I burned several things in it due to the learning curve of cast iron - it's not as sensitive to your adjustments of the flame on the stove, so once it's hot, it can get rip-roaring hot on any temp above medium. But once you find the sweet spot, boy, oh boy. The non-stickiness only gets better as time goes on. If it looks "dry" after using/cleaning, rub some oil on it and leave it on a medium low burner or moderate oven until oil loses it's glossiness. Don't soak for more than an hour or two, don't use soap - baking soda for worst-case scenario, and if you need to scrub it, use a flat-edged metal spatula instead of steel wool or other abrasive tools. This pan doesn't look enormous to me any more, in fact, it's the only thing that comfortably cooks for my family of five. It's a great size for searing off meat and roasts, making quesadillas, 3 or 4 pancakes or small sandwiches at a time, 4-5 hamburgers, a dozen or more scrambled eggs, or maybe 6-8 fried eggs. This pan never leaves my stove-top and is used several times a day. Most of the time I can just wipe it clean, the rest of the time a quick rinse will usually do. Scrambled eggs are the exception and still necessitate a bit of soaking and scraping, although even those are doing better and better and as my pan gets more seasoned and I hone my technique, I find I can keep them from sticking for most of the cooking process. Fried eggs now slide around in the pan better than they EVER did in a non-stick. Even burnt cheese no longer sticks to this pan. Amazing! I can't believe I ever wasted my time with anything other than the classics. I do agree that the handle is too short to properly support the weight of the pan with one hand, but realistically, I'm not sure ANY handle could practically do that for a 12-pound pan. This is no problem for me since this pan has its very own dedicated burner, and I only move it when it's cool. I grab a potholder when I need to pour something from it hot. Pouring will be awkward no matter how you do it - it's a TWELVE POUND pan. Try a ladle :)

Was this review helpful? (113) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
myratfink
St Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A really great deal!
6/7/2010

Customer review by thegoodnicknamesaregone

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by thegoodnicknamesaregone
by thegoodnicknamesaregone

This 15" cast iron skillet was actually way bigger than I imagined but perfect for searing larger cuts of meat and making meals for a larger group all in one pan. The best feature ( besides the great price) is that I can not only cook on the stop top, range or camp fire, but that I can go straight from the stove top to right into the oven! You can't beat cast iron and you can't do that with toxic teflon!

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thegoodnicknamesaregone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cast Iron is the best!
10/18/2013

Customer review by KitchenHack

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by KitchenHack
by KitchenHack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love cooking with cast iron and have always wanted a bigger skillet. This is a really big skillet and I love how you can really get a good sear on food. It is easy to clean and you can use it on the stove or oven at the highest heat. This skillet was considerably cheaper at Walmart and I ordered it online and a few days later went to pick it up. Once again, retro skillet wins!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitchenHack
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The perfect skillet
7/15/2016

Customer review by Rapunzel

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Rapunzel
by Rapunzel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This pan is my new go to for everything. Perfect size for all my big meals and nothing tastes better than cast iron cooking. The latest edition to my collection but certainly not my last piece.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rapunzel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice skillet
9/2/2012

Customer review by Shopping4kiddos

4.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Shopping4kiddos
by Shopping4kiddos

I ordered this and a Better Homes skillet which is also cast iron, but has ceramic coating on the bottom. I got tired of eating Teflon and decided to try cast iron for a change. I really like them both, but the Better Homes is my favorite because it sticks less. Yes, they've both been cared for in the same manner and as directions stated. The Better Homes pan (texture) even looks a little different. I know it's a 15", but I wasn't expecting it to look so huge. This thing is heavy. I think it would be great over a campfire and I also like that I can cook a meal for my large family in it without overflow. Great quality pan that should last my lifetime. If I had to do it over, I would have bought it again. Both skillets work great on my glass top stove.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopping4kiddos
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product - Uniquely capable
11/10/2010

Customer review by ClarkMcC

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by ClarkMcC
by ClarkMcC

Big in this instance is definitely better. I bought this product for use with an induction range top that has a 13" center "burner" which is capable of 4.6 KW of power. No other pan I have used comes close to gracefully handling this level of power with no localized hot spots. Easy to clean as has been noted. Recommended for all cooktops, but especially well suited for induction cooking.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClarkMcC
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Large skillet
7/2/2016

Customer review by Joel

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Joel
by Joel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a perfect size. Tall walls and large enough for 4 nice size pork chops.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cast Iron Skillet
5/9/2016

Customer review by KingDog

4.0 stars 5/9/2016 by KingDog
by KingDog

It's a cast iron skillet. It does what cast iron skillets do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy Happy Happy
11/7/2013

Customer review by Sulae

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Sulae
by Sulae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Better than anticipated!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sulae
Monroe, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge is the Best
5/23/2013

Customer review by Kgram

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Kgram
by Kgram
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very large pan, and very, very heavy!!! But there's nothing like a seasoned Lodge Cast Iron pan!!! They last forever and cook extremely well! A size that is needed for cooking a large meal!!! And best yet, MADE IN USA !!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kgram
Ventura, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Pan
1/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cast iron is a great cooking surface, especially when properly seasoned. While I do prefer the colorful appearance of Le Cruset enameled ironware, this plain black, 15" Lodge skillet has proved to be perfect for my needs and at a reasonable price. It heats evenly and quickly and food does not stick. Clean up is simple, just wipe out with a damp cloth. Lodge skillets come pre-seasoned and with proper care, the cooking surface should last decades. The size and weight may seem daunting at first but when it comes to sauteing large quantities of assorted meat and vegetables, it works in your favor. The weight keeps the skillet solidly on the stove top and centered over the burner, the size makes it possible to do multiple batches and just continue pushing each batch to the side until finished. The depth of the skillet is also an advantage, preventing food from jumping out onto the stove while it is being rapidly stirred and flipped. In this, the Lodge 15" skillet is far superior to a flat, stove-top griddle for sauteing. If you like stir-frying or sauteing your food quickly and evenly, but have been disappointed by a traditional Chinese Wok, which is not designed for Western style stoves, try the Lodge 15" cast iron skillet. You should be pleasantly surprised with the excellent results you achieve from this inexpensive alternative to imported enameled iron cookware.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Appomattox, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews