Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
28
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
I love it
12/2/2009

Customer review by PTBonBon

5.0 stars by PTBonBon

I looked at every portable TV on the market and this is the only one that offered everything needed. It comes with all adapters and can be used with its own antenna or be hooked up to cable. It is also very reasonably priced compared to others with less features. Also made by a well known name. I am thinking of buying another one for my office. Also received it from Walmart in one day!

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PTBonBon
Marion, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good But,
12/18/2009

Customer review by Chuckaroo

4.0 stars by Chuckaroo

This is a real ice TV with lots of extras included. The base is excellent (but takes patience to put it together). Comes with ear bud, remote, external antenna cable adapter, jacks and cable for adding an external source like a DVD player, Batteries for the remote and it can be mounted to a wall. The only negative is the antenna does not pick up squat. It is not the TV's fault but the poor planning on allowing a digital signal and trying to pick it up with an analog antenna. You will need to purchase a portable antenna, that will cost you half the price of the TV to get decent reception, in most areas. Not sure which one is best, without adding a monster to such a neat small package. The antenna will be a problem with any digital TV. Progress is not always that great.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chuckaroo
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Nice Buy and Great Picture
12/25/2009

Customer review by chapru

5.0 stars by chapru

I purchased this tv despite some of the negative reviews because they all centered around reception. I live in a suburban area and received most of the digital channels with the built in antenna. I picked up a cheap set of rabbit ears ($5 on ebay) and hooked it up to the included adapter. I immediately received the rest of the channels. Granted I might have to move the antenna to find the right spot, but I think the poor signal is more on the end of the tv stations. The picture quality and sound are great.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chapru
Wilkes Barre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/17/2009

Customer review by beachboy1

5.0 stars by beachboy1

I tried 2 other small portable tv's and couldn't get any channels using the installed antenna. Got 2 channels with an optional antenna. I then got the Sylvania and again not much with the original antenna but bought a cheap radio shack antenna 15-1874 for $12.00 and was able to immediately pick up 12 channels indoors. Very happy with the picture quality. Sound could be a little better. But overall I am very pleased with the Sylvnania.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
beachboy1
St. Petersburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
11/30/2009

Customer review by LNUDON

1.0 stars by LNUDON

PURCHASED THIS TV ON LINE. IT DID NOT WORK RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. WOULD NOT GET A PICTURE AND JUST KEPT SHOWING NO DATA AVAILABLE. CALLED COMPANY REP AND HE SAID TO UNPLUG IT FOR 15 MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN, IF STILL NOT WORKING SEND IT BACK. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS TV.

Was this review helpful? (47) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LNUDON
Would recommend to a friend? No
9" sylvania portable
12/2/2009

Customer review by Tstoner

3.0 stars by Tstoner

I purchased this TV at a good price! Set it up and I could not receive any channels with the pull up antenna. Hooked it up to cable and got all the channels!! Picture very good for small lcd tv./ sound not very good, but has outlets for extra spreakers. It has lots of options and is a good value for a portable. However if you want to use it with the built in antenna, forget it. I don't think any small lcd will receive much with this antenna unless you are in a big city!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tstoner
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
over air antenna does not pickup signals
12/8/2009

Customer review by surfhb

1.0 stars by surfhb

I tried to get the over the air channels to work and kept getting no signal. I wanted to use this tv for outdoor use but it does not pickup any tv signals in my area. Is this an inherent problem with this tv as other people have also indicated that using the portable antenna does not work well either.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
surfhb
Huntington Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
great product
2/10/2010

Customer review by nannieshe

5.0 stars by nannieshe

hooked it up to cable and has a great picture and awesome sound. came with ac adapter so its plugged in and receives HD channels I don't get on my reg TV. would definitely recommend specially for the price, picture and sound.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nannieshe
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice accessories, weak antenna
12/23/2009

Customer review by Pijo

4.0 stars by Pijo

TV has well thought out accessories – wall charger, car charger, coax cable. The supplied single pole antenna only gets two channels in my area. I attached a dipole antenna and it gets five. Dipole antenna should be supplied. Note: Battery must be charged before first use. Plugging it in and turning it on immediately will give you a black screen. It won't run off the wall charger if the battery is totally dead.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pijo
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Review
3/4/2010

Customer review by KlingonWarrior

4.0 stars by KlingonWarrior

I received this and I expected it to perform like the Digital box that is used on top of the older TVs. I was surprised how easy it worked. I did not pick up very good with the pole antenna that was attached to the top of the TV. I had to use an external antenna to get any good reception. The one thing I like about this is after it searches for channels, you can search for more without losing the first found channels. This way when you move the antenna to get channels you didn't have the first time, you don't loose the channels already found. The only thing I found bad is sometimes the TV will just for get a channel that has not had a signal for a while. I have had it happen twice. I had to perform a completely new search.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KlingonWarrior
Riverside CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Good over all.
12/26/2009

Customer review by buyerthings

4.0 stars by buyerthings

Picture quality is very good but seems to be on the dark side. There are picture level adjustments though. Sound is good with the two speakers, but no where does it say that it is in stereo. I live 12 miles away from the city and I get all the channels in. I am very satisfied with it's ability to pull in stations. There needs to be instructions on how to charge the internal battery and for how long. Great for the price over all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
buyerthings
Spingfield Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9 inch portable tv
1/2/2010

Customer review by loveelectronicsmore

4.0 stars by loveelectronicsmore

The tv works well but picture was dark tried to lighten but not much luck with that. TV works great otherwise. Locates channel even some I never had before on cable like the sub channels on local tv stations that were on same cable channel 4,6,and 8 but not on Old uhf channels that are on different cable channels. Battery works well also. Haven't tried over the air channels yet as I am 50 miles from the stations and may not come in. Overall I would buy one again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
loveelectronicsmore
Knoxville,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed...
1/6/2010

Customer review by walmartyr53

4.0 stars by walmartyr53

Bought this as a present for use in the kitchen. Turns out to have a very nice pic with adequate sound.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartyr53
NW PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A worth while LCD TV
12/24/2009

Customer review by toby22

4.0 stars by toby22

This TV will never replace your 52 inch LCD. But for the price, it allows the convience of mobility. Without a proper antenna, it struggles to acquire all of the local video stations. My 52 inch Samsung has the same problem. I would say that the acquisition of channels is more of a problem of the technology rather a problem of the monitor. In all, I am quite pleased with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
toby22
cincinnati ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Rural Rating
12/22/2009

Customer review by StorageTech

1.0 stars by StorageTech

I was hoping that this product would meet my expectations for a digital TV for times when we had a loss of power or cable was out. Upon receiving this product I tried to scan for channels but was unable to get any, seeing that the signal was extremely week, I purchased 2 different antenna's, one that had regular rabbit ears for HDTV and the other a higher cost unit meant to be placed on a wall. Neither product help me get any better reception than the regular antenna that came with the unit. If you live close to a tower you probably will get better results, but it shows me that the digital signals are very weak and if you are rural (10 or greater miles) your signal quality will be weak or nothing. The quality of this unit is not bad, I am not sure if it was due to the unit having poor reception capabilities or the location I live in. Just make sure you are able to receive a digital signal prior to purchase or you'll have to return this unit. This unit can be hooked up to cable or satellite with its onboard tuner.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StorageTech
Outside Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Deal For The Price
3/3/2010

Customer review by Bat1960

5.0 stars by Bat1960

This is a real nice little TV for the money. I didn't expect much but I have been very pleased with it. I mainly purchased it for times when we experience a power outage in our area during the winter or during summer rain storms. A great emergency back up TV. Reception will vary from city to city. Indoors I pick up only 2 channels on the antenna it has. Outside I get about 5 channels. As long as I get at least one main area channel, I'm happy. It has a great picture and a great sound. For the money, you can't go wrong. You can connect cable to it, and it comes with many accessories.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bat1960
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Where are the Channels?
1/3/2010

Customer review by bambiker

1.0 stars by bambiker

I bought this TV for my Husband for Christmas. I bought this TV so we could keep informed during power outages which we have quite often in our neighborhood during even minor storms let alone hurricanes. We live only 25 miles from downtown Houston so it's not like we are out in the boondocks. This TV picks up ONE station - FOX. And it picks that up POORLY. I hooked it up to cable and it works great. Which does us NO GOOD during a storm and power outage. I would NOT recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bambiker
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mich
2/26/2010

Customer review by DJMich

5.0 stars by DJMich

All I wanted was a tiny portable TV to use in the backyard and to go camping with. After many searches I decided it had to be a 9 inch. I read many reviews and this seemed to be the best for under $100. NOW, I have it hooked up to a digital cable receiver on my Kitchen Bar. We watch it all the time while getting dinner ready and even during dinner sometimes. The stand is really nicer than I thought it would be. The only complaint I have is that some shows on some channels are a bit dark. This seems to be a common problem on alot of these small TV's. Bottom Line, I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DJMich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The One To Invest In.
1/3/2010

Customer review by girlstogirls

5.0 stars by girlstogirls

When I first bought this gift for my friend we had trouble getting it to work, but after sometime, we were able to view the news, and the picture color is awesome. I really like this nine inch portable television. Give it a try and you to will like it. I wish it had a clock, and a case for it.That would have bought it to another level, but it's not bad at all. Thanks Walmart, you've done it again Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
girlstogirls
New Orleans,La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A
1/27/2010

Customer review by BILLJOWHG

5.0 stars by BILLJOWHG

EXCELLENT TV, PURCHASED IT IN CASE ELECTRIC GOES OUT. PICKS UP ALL 5 CHANNELS IN THE WHEELING ,WV AREA BY ANTENNA ONLY RECEPTION, AND OVER 100 CHANNELS WHEN CONNECTED TO COMCAST.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BILLJOWHG
WHEELING,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 74 total reviews