Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
24
1-20 of 76 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Great Buy
3/24/2010

Customer review by Patrick19702

4.0 stars 3/24/2010 by Patrick19702
by Patrick19702

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality, appearance and overall feel of the unit. It reminded me of the quality products supplied by Sylvania many years ago. I promptly plugged it in and did a channel scan from Comcast Cable. I wound up with a lot of channels, some of which I was unaware I had; all the channels were sharp and clear. I next plugged in the antenna that was supplied with the unit and attempted to pick up some channels. I'm located about 30 miles from Philadelphia, so really didn't expect much. The analog tvs would automatically pick up 3, 6, 10, and an assortment of UHF channels. I picked up no signal at all. I walked outside with the unit and obtained similar results. My hobby is building transmit and receiving antennas of all types, so I decided to throw together a small UHF antenna, similar to what would be available at Radio Shack for about 30 bucks. When I finished building the antenna, I connected it to the TV and did another test, both inside and outside. Still no signal. In conclusion, I would suggest that this tv be purchased for use with cable only. The supplied antenna is inefficient and would probably work at a distance of no more than 5 or 10 miles from a broadcast station--and that's only a guess. A high outside antenna would probably work ok, but I wouldn't put one up just for a tv this small. The only complaint I have about the unit is that the cable attaches at the top of the set. This unbalances the set and it's hard to keep it from falling over at times.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patrick19702
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great concept but
4/5/2010

Customer review by ChicagoPaul

4.0 stars 4/5/2010 by ChicagoPaul
by ChicagoPaul

Out of the box, item is well made and easy to use. The menu is easy to follow, very intuitive. However, the auto channel load is very slow. I live about 7 miles line of sight to the Sears (Willis) Tower and found that the tv did not recognize digital signals on the low VHF channels 2 and 5 with the supplied monopole antenna. The antenna was very directional sensitive meaning that if I moved the TV I lost the channel and came up with the dreaded "no signal" message on a black screen. A nice toy, great for small space applications but a good antenna is a MUST!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoPaul
Chicagp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Less than excited
4/1/2010

Customer review by FrugalHousewife

1.0 stars 4/1/2010 by FrugalHousewife
by FrugalHousewife

The price was great, but after charging 8 hours, it would only play about 30 minutes before needing a recharge. No matter where I tried to scan in channels, I could not get CBS, ABC, NBC or public television (and I live within blocks of the PBS station). I did get a lot of the former UHF channels, but not channels I watch. I ended up taking the TV back. The Walmart associate was very nice and understanding, so it was not a bad experience.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalHousewife
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A Keeper
12/29/2009

Customer review by KingHiggs

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by KingHiggs
by KingHiggs

You can preview the owner’s manual here: http://www.curtisint.com/html/custservice/manuals/SYL_SRT702A_EN.PDF I compared this TV to many similar models before purchasing it, and in fact I bought another 7” LCD TV at the same time that I have since returned. This one is a keeper. I plan to use it most often connected to cable in my office to view news and sports, and as a portable for tailgating and for auxiliary home use [bowl season and March Madness, you know]. It has an analog/digital tuner, so it will find over-the-air digital signals, as well as (unscrambled) cable digital and analog signals. It won’t scan for both cable and over-the-air signals, so you’ll have to re-scan if you change signal sources. Fortunately, the scanning process was pretty fast. THE BAD: Sound. The sound quality rates only a “C.” I didn’t expect surround-sound quality on a unit this small, but I expected better sound quality than this unit delivers. I’ve adjusted the factory settings to increase bass and reduce treble, but the sound through the speakers is still pretty “tinny.” Sound through the included earbuds is great. For semi-permanent desk-bound use, I’m going to buy a splitter and run the audio through my desktop speakers. Scanning: I haven’t seriously tried to use this yet for over-the-air viewing, but my first brief effort at scanning for over-the-air signals found only one signal for a non-major network. I’ve seen similar criticisms of this and other portables, but that doesn’t affect my intended use, so I didn’t downgrade it. THE GOOD: Good picture, easy set-up, and easy-to-use controls. The contrast ratio is not very high, so dark-on-dark scenes can be a little “muddy,” but the contrast ratio is similar to the other similar-sized sets. For that reason, and because that doesn’t affect my intended use, I didn’t downgrade it. THE GREAT: The peripherals. Someone really thought about how people are going to use these sets. It comes with everything you need to go, plus some. Included are AC and DC adapters, RCA cable, in-ear buds, and my favorite, a 90-degree push-on coax connector. The antenna/coax input connector is on the top left of the set, and without the connector, a coax cable would arc stupidly out of the top of the set. The included connector gives it a nice finished look after installation, and the push-on connector is a real plus—no looking for a crescent wrench or pliers every time you want to use the set as a portable. The set does not have a built-in fold-out stand like some similar models, but the included stand is sturdy, adjustable for height and angle, and will let you mount the set on a wall, under a cabinet, or even sideways, at any angle you might like—it’s really cleverly designed. You could even clamp it to a surface for tailgating—it comes with a self-adhesive pad to avoid scratches. The set will also accept a standard camera tripod. The remote control is a little large at 1-1/2”W x 5-1/4”L, but it accepts two AAA batteries, included, so you don’t have to search for the non-standard button batteries that fit the tiny remotes. The manual control buttons on the face of the set mean that you don’t have to bring the remote along for tailgating, and the set is not a brick when the remote is lost or broken. With inputs for over-the-air, cable, USB and memory card sources, this is a very versatile set. I’m looking forward to using it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingHiggs
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT A HELPFUL PRODUCT,DO NOT BUY
12/28/2009

Customer review by fireman3

1.0 stars 12/28/2009 by fireman3
by fireman3

I LIVE IN THE 4TH LARGEST CITY AND CAN'T GET THE MAJOR CHANNEL (ABC,NBC.CBS) ON THIS TV. I HAVE TRYED SEVERAL LOCATION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE GET THE CHANNELS. I GET CHANNELS THAT I DO NOT NEED OR UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. I WANTED TO USE THIS TV IF WE HAD A POWER FAILURE, OR WHEN MY CABLE GOES OUT

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fireman3
HOUSTON TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Waste of money
12/29/2009

Customer review by melvinsgirl

1.0 stars 12/29/2009 by melvinsgirl
by melvinsgirl

I bought this tv for my boyfriend for Christmas because he is a sports junkie. Unfortunately he couldn't get a signal for the tv. It works well when you hook it up to cable outlet, dvd, or game sytem only. The picture quality is good, but it would be nice to watch local channels on the rf. I'm in the process exchanging it for another brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melvinsgirl
Riverdale, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Useless
12/19/2009

Customer review by Teechurbug

1.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Teechurbug
by Teechurbug

I haven't been able to pick up a signal no matter where I am at within a 2 hour radius of trying.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teechurbug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Do NOT buy it
12/19/2009

Customer review by Yeeesh

1.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Yeeesh
by Yeeesh

Did not pick up all channels when scanned. One time only picked up ONE! (and it was fuzzy). Other channels "pixilated" when watching and sound faded in and out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yeeesh
Would recommend to a friend? No
EXCELLENT TV
1/15/2010

Customer review by mountainbikeguy1

5.0 stars 1/15/2010 by mountainbikeguy1
by mountainbikeguy1

Excellent TV, just TOO small for our purpose. Have to configure to initially get picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountainbikeguy1
Syosset, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7" T.V.
12/28/2009

Customer review by Brideysgma

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by Brideysgma
by Brideysgma

This product is just perfect for a variety of reasons. Bathroom, kitchen, patio were all places I wanted news or weather. Hooks to cable easily. Perfect size. Just impressed with so much technology in such a small space.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brideysgma
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great tv for the price
11/28/2009

Customer review by Frladya27

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by Frladya27
by Frladya27

Great for take along trips!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frladya27
Ventress, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great powerful little tv
12/3/2011

Customer review by mocha64

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by mocha64
by mocha64

Bought online as a black friday special - just out of the box am getting a beautiful picture, loud volume, many channels coming in (actually three seconds before our home cable digital tv). Wanted in cases of power outages - tis the season - feel I got a great deal (free shipping)!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mocha64
Honolulu HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Great little TV
2/2/2012

Customer review by Moondreamgirl

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Moondreamgirl
by Moondreamgirl

This is a very nice TV. Small, compact, gets a good picture. Don't need a lot of room to put it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moondreamgirl
Abingdon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/8/2010

Customer review by fgcompt

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by fgcompt
by fgcompt

The only con is it has to be hookup to cable tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fgcompt
San Antonio,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
12/13/2009

Customer review by Shun43

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Shun43
by Shun43

Small, convenient. Picture quality is outstanding. Easy to program and use. Better than most small TV's. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shun43
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must have
3/27/2010

Customer review by Donangela

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by Donangela
by Donangela

I got this little TV for work. It is a perfect fit for my desk. I was very happy with the quality of the item for the price. I can get about 6-8 channels with out cable. I got one for my daughter who lives in a big city and she can get about12-14 channels

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donangela
Lexington, Nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very helpful and useful TV
3/31/2010

Customer review by daddyo53r

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by daddyo53r
by daddyo53r

I would recommend this TV to anyone who installs off air antennas. Very helpful in pointing the antenna to where it needs to go. When you put it in a pouch you can take it on the roof with you to point the antenna for all stations. A lot easier than a meter. It is very handy for the local news and weather when you are on the go too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daddyo53r
Bremen, Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bathroom TV
1/11/2010

Customer review by CummingsColorado

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by CummingsColorado
by CummingsColorado

I love this little television. The profile is very narrow and it does not take up much counter space. The picture quality is excellent. I only get about 9 stations without cable but can enjoy the television while getting ready for work and during baths.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CummingsColorado
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected
12/21/2009

Customer review by FilmmakerDJ

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by FilmmakerDJ
by FilmmakerDJ

This little monitor is a top quality product. I bought it to use as a field monitor on film shoots. I haven't had a pro project to use it on yet, but I've plugged it up to do some smaller things around the house, and it works great. I was immediately surprised at the craftsmanship when I opened the box, expecting that a $90 LCD monitor was going to be a throwaway in under a year. I've only been able to pick up PBS with the antenna, but it does indeed pick up 1080p digital transmissions. The video looks great, but the slightest movement can interfere with the signal. The speaker is pretty loud, which is more than I could ask for such a small device. All the buttons are strong, hard plastic and very responsive. The menu is intuitive and the multiple picture settings is perfect for calibrating it for my work. I even hooked up my PS3 to it and it worked without a hitch at 480i 16:9. The rechargeable battery has an indicator right on the front so you know it's charged. Plus there's a two stage power switch system so you can pack it away without worrying about it getting turned on by accident. Seriously, great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FilmmakerDJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/21/2009

Customer review by sugarsweet09

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by sugarsweet09
by sugarsweet09

Great Product!!! My husband loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugarsweet09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews