Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-14 of 14 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

12/21/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A few months ago my boyfriend decided to surprise me with a Western Digital My Passport 500gb to replace my Western Digital My Book 320GB. So far i absolutely love it. Its small and easy to carry but gets the job done and constantly backs itself up and doesn't need a power source other then your computer unlike the My Books. Price isn't to bad for it, I know if he would have waited to get it the price would have come down. The only thing that may give people some problems is that it dose not have a pass word recovery option to it so be sure to write your pass word somewhere safe, other then that great thing to have for someone who needs to take his/her work with them where ever they go.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice drive...but not perfect...
1/16/2010

Customer review by Marc123456

4.0 stars 1/16/2010 by Marc123456
by Marc123456

So far the drive works well...the unlock feature works good, its quiet and fast and nice and small...thats the good stuff...now the bad stuff. Outside of drive is nice shiney plastic which virtually scratches at even the slightest touch. The drive does not come with any carry case (which you have to buy separate and not cheap..but thats ok) but the software that comes with drive is horrendous. Its very nice that it monitors your selected folders for changes, but it eats a TON of memory and cpu time while doing this. I,very shortly afterward, un-installed it completely. Havent had the drive long enough to see how it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marc123456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not at all what I expected
1/8/2010

Customer review by NoHighResGames

1.0 stars 1/8/2010 by NoHighResGames
by NoHighResGames

Well, I was very excited to get a 500 GB external hard drive for Christmas since my laptop's internal hard disk is only about 160 GB. Well, I was very disappointed to find out that the software that comes pre-installed on this drive is back up software, and that all my attempts to format the drive are unsuccessful as the drive must be protected in some way. Well, if it only backs up files from my hard drive and I can't format it, then it's completely useless to me. I need an external drive to store not only back ups but all the files I don't use on a regular basis that don't fit on my internal drive. If you're needs are the same as me, than this is not the drive for you. If, however, somehow you have 500 GB worth of files on your internal drive that you need to back up, then this is a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (11) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoHighResGames
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
The loose USB connection can be fixed for free!
11/24/2010

Customer review by robots4joey

4.0 stars 11/24/2010 by robots4joey
by robots4joey

I was extremely disappointed with this Hard drive because of the loose connection USB cable that would fall out at the slightest touch. I lived with it for almost a year when I discovered that it was an issue that WD knows about and made replacement cables that 'click' into the usb port as they are supposed to, and stay there!!! They will give you a replacement cable for free. It completely solved the connection issues, and suddenly I love my hard drive! it still has some annoyance, like the preloaded 'smartware' software (annoying is all) still very well worth it for a very low cost hard drive from a name brand company.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robots4joey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BAD Design - Loose USB connection
6/1/2010

Customer review by ocdrumguy

2.0 stars 6/1/2010 by ocdrumguy
by ocdrumguy

Well, I figured I'd wait to write my review on this, because I hoped this would be a great portable HDD. After owning this portable HDD for 5 months, I've come to realize that it is junk. Here's why: -USB Cable connection on HDD is small, thin, and loose. -The hard drive continuously disconnects from the PC at the slightest movement of the desk, or surface where the hard drive is placed on. -The USB port is not secured correctly and is flemsy. -Data transfer rate fluctuates from 4MB/s to 70MB/s, depending again, on if the connection to the cable is loose, or not. The average speed of transfer is 20-22MB/s. Sometimes, my hard drive for no apparent reason disconnects from the PC and then will not detect for several minutes. It's not the PC, as this happens on my desktop, laptop, and work computer with this hard drive. It's such a pain, because if you are transferring data, the speed drops and drops until it finally disconnects. In addition, it scratches horribly. I had it placed in a clean microfiber towel, in a case, and to my surprise it has tons of swirls and tiny streaks. Keynote: My previous, much older passport worked so good and I wanted to give this one a chance, but I should have listened to the other reviews which spoke of the problems that I am now facing with this hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ocdrumguy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
worthless as a true external drive
2/9/2010

Customer review by strayd

1.0 stars 2/9/2010 by strayd
by strayd

this is fine as a plug and play backup drive, but if you are looking to use it for strictly storage, as a device to store photos, music, video, etc just to clear out your onboard hard drive, DO NOT BUY IT. This thing is formatted for backing up c: drive contents only.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strayd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete
2/16/2010

Customer review by Starhawk85

4.0 stars 2/16/2010 by Starhawk85
by Starhawk85

I have yet to purchase this product. But as reading the reviews i did some research to figure out more info you can do anything you would like with this you can keep the software that comes preloaded or you can get rid of it it works both with PC and Mac and is easily done with a few simple click and a step by step instructions on how to do so................................................................................................................................................... http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=3865&p_created=1258601352&p_sid=sudUeGUj&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_srch=1&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NjUsNjUmcF9wcm9kcz0yMjgsMTk1LDI1NSZwX2NhdHM9MTIzJnBfcHY9My4yNTUmcF9jdj0xLjEyMyZwX3BhZ2U9MQ!!&p_li=&p_topview=1 ...................................................................................................................................................... copy and paste the above in your browser this will help with formatting the drive also with partitioning and getting it mac ready ! I will write another review after i purchase this product tomorrow. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starhawk85
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Horrible
3/4/2010

Customer review by Rukaduka

1.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Rukaduka
by Rukaduka

I bought this hard drive to back up just the basic stuff, like pictures and music. I have had so many problems it's unbelievable. I had it backing up for over 8 hours and it wasn't even half way done. It freezes my computer right up. I have constant pop ups that my dell dock, windows explorer, windows sidebar in not responding. I will be doing something simple as browsing the internet and I will get a blue screen saying that it needs to shut down. My computer is only a year old and it is not just one faulty hard drive. I am on my second one and it's just as bad. I went on the support page and downloaded the updates and it made no difference. Taking it back and getting a different brand ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rukaduka
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WD - Passport
12/7/2009

Customer review by elatos

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by elatos
by elatos

This product is fabulous for backing up your PC. WD builds great products and the Passport is not exception. The only thing that I am disappointed about is that this product is now being significantly discounted by WalMart's other competitors. I am kicking myself for paying too much for this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elatos
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Don't watse your time or money
1/25/2010

Customer review by kceitn

1.0 stars 1/25/2010 by kceitn
by kceitn

I bought this drive to use as a portable mass storage device. It comes with a bunch of software you can't get rid of and will not allow you to use the plug'n'play features as intended. I'm returning mine today (geeesh it took me 45mins to get the darn thing to reformat so I can return it). If you need something to use between school, home, and work this is not the item for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kceitn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Works like a charm
1/2/2010

Customer review by TheBKStallion

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by TheBKStallion
by TheBKStallion

I've owned two WD hard drives before, and just like this one I purchased over the holidays, they never disappoint. Very light, easy to carry around. no loud noise during being used. The backup software that's included is so much better than the one that comes with Windows. Been using it since. Overall, I've been really satisfied with my purchase. Would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBKStallion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
A+
9/21/2010

Customer review by JRnicus

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by JRnicus
by JRnicus

Great producot for files you need to be protable also great for backin up files. Very small for 500 GB. AMAZING price even on the western digital website it costmore then walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRnicus
Bridgewater, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for storing pics/videos
8/7/2011

Customer review by menta

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by menta
by menta

This is perfect for storing pics & videos. We have not had any problems w/ours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
menta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/19/2009

Customer review by NickXName

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by NickXName
by NickXName

Small, light, easy, silent and fast. No instruction book or software required.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickXName
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week