Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 71 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Caution-No good for Windows 7
12/5/2009

Customer review by meeserlover

3.0 stars 12/5/2009 by meeserlover
by meeserlover

Good price, and it works on my Vista system, But I have a DVD drive on that computer. This was offered with my netbook purchase, but it is incompatible with Windows 7. I even called the company, Targus, there is no upgrade available yet.

Was this review helpful? (68) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meeserlover
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Did What I needed It To Do
3/12/2010

Customer review by bobh2

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by bobh2
by bobh2

I purchased this to go with my Acre netbook, which had Windows 7 starter. Had no problems getting my Microsoft Office software downloaded with this product. I don't know why some gave a poor review because they couldn't get it to match up with Windows 7. It worked fine with mine. I highly recommend it for someone who has the Acre with Windows 7 starter.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobh2
Buchanan, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Needed for netbook
12/24/2009

Customer review by sunny0956

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by sunny0956
by sunny0956

I purchase a netbook about three months ago, and love it. There was only one thing missing. I needed an external DVD Drive. I purchase this product on line and love it. It works great and the price was right.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunny0956
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It does work on Windows 7!
7/2/2010

Customer review by HockeyGuyJason

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by HockeyGuyJason
by HockeyGuyJason

Even though it says not sold in store, it was sold at my local Walmart in Citrus Heights. I needed one for my eMachines em250 so this works. I was able to recover my machine with discs I ordered from Acer. Tried installing programs and it works well too. This unit will play DVD movies with VLC Media Player and Media Player Home Classic Cinema which are both freeware. There have been some reports of this not working on Windows 7, but it works 100% on my em250 without a problem. It works best when plugged in to a netbook with the A/C on but If you have it plugged in without the Netbook A/C, it may drain your battery faster then you think. You cannot finish a movie on a 3 celler , but maybe a sixer or a niner. One big thing that I would like to mention is that I do not reccomend this for kids who have netbooks, the design is too flimsy and the door can break off easy. Its meant for people who are gentle with their electronics. Overall a good product, but you get what you pay for I suppose. A complaint I and others would have is the short cord. You can use a longer cord with this if you have one. I encountered no real issue in file transfer speeds between shorter and longer cords. Overall I am satisfied with this unit, but it has that feeling that you can break it within the first few weeks of ownership if you do not take care of it like a precious and delicate china dish.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HockeyGuyJason
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
I fix computers with this.
5/18/2011

Customer review by Sk8eRPR

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Sk8eRPR
by Sk8eRPR

This is useful for me because I insert the Windows XP, Vista or 7 in this device and select the option boot from USB CD/DVD rom when I have this kind of computers like in the following examples 1- When mini laptops (netbooks) doesn't have CD/DVD rom by default because there is no space to install one of them. 2- When regular laptops doesn't work the CD/DVD rom. 3- When computers doesn't work CD/DVD rom. Etc etc... I used to do it through regular USB (pendrive, usb flash) but it was too much work and most of the times doesn't work so I end up buying this USB CD/DVD rom which works excellent for my needs. Also the USB cord stores under the unit. I've uploaded the pictures.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sk8eRPR
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Less Expensive Than the Rest
12/23/2009

Customer review by IcartM

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by IcartM
by IcartM

I purchased this item to go with a netbook I also purchased. Sometimes it hesitated and I had to unplug it and plug it back in again. When I looked at others on the Internet I found the prices to be much higher. Overall I would recommend this IF you weren't using it all the time. If you can use it to load software that requires a CD or DVD but load it so that you don't need the disk all the time. I didn't use it to play movies but I'm sure it would be fine. Given its flimsy nature I don't see it lasting a long time unless its handled very delicately.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IcartM
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little Drive
3/22/2010

Customer review by Hilltopjimmy

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by Hilltopjimmy
by Hilltopjimmy

I bought the Targus External DVD Drive to use with my netbook. It's small, easy to use (love the holder underneath for the USB cord), and it works like a charm. Great for adding software on CDs to the netbook. It's not a CD or DVD writer, but then my netbook has an SD card that will take care of that. Found the best price at WallMart.com, and the Ship to Store feature was free, quick, and hastle free.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hilltopjimmy
Allentown PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It worked well
12/5/2009

Customer review by ppc1

4.0 stars 12/5/2009 by ppc1
by ppc1

It is small, lightweight, and needs no power supply, reads cd,s and dvd,s, and it was a good price !!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppc1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Met all expectations
6/12/2010

Customer review by Bettyh

5.0 stars 6/12/2010 by Bettyh
by Bettyh

Great little optical drive - truly plug and play. Convenient for travel. The cable fits nicely in a slot on the bottom of the player. This was purchased to install software to my Dell mini netbook and it worked perfectly. Excellent value. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to play DVDs or install software - it does not burn DVDs or CDs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bettyh
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Targus DVD-ROM Review
9/30/2010

Customer review by AnotherShoppersReview

4.0 stars 9/30/2010 by AnotherShoppersReview
by AnotherShoppersReview

The Targus DVD-ROM is a reasonably priced USB 2.0 attached device for your computer. I purchased this specifically to install programs and music onto my netbook. I successfully installed several music CDs and some programs onto my netbook. The small form factor makes it easy to take with me as needed and since it works off the netbook power I don't need to worry about lugging a power brick with me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherShoppersReview
Lower Hudson Valley NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does what it is supposed to do!
5/1/2010

Customer review by DancingQueen24

4.0 stars 5/1/2010 by DancingQueen24
by DancingQueen24

I bought this to upload programs and to watch movies with my Acer One Netbook with windows 7. In order for the DVD player to work you must download VLC Media Player (for free) and watch movies there. The player is a little noisy, but with headphones in, in flight I doubt I will hear it. Also it shows finger prints like no other. It is also super light weight and would easily break if dropped or tossed into a bag without some protection. But over all, for what I will be using it for it pays for itself.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DancingQueen24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great product
6/19/2010

Customer review by texmama4

4.0 stars 6/19/2010 by texmama4
by texmama4

I needed it for my netbook to upload cd/dvd/rom. Its easy to store, lightweight. Works with my acer netbook with windows 7 starter. Had no problems.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texmama4
San Antonio Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Does what it was designed to do.
2/11/2010

Customer review by jjdeis

4.0 stars 2/11/2010 by jjdeis
by jjdeis

I take issue with the review that it doesn't work with Windows 7. I have used it on two different netbooks. One with Windows 7 Starter and the other with Windows 7 Home Premium. Worked fantastic. It does seem a little flimsy but put it in a padded case.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjdeis
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT a CD burner
5/28/2010

Customer review by mdocker

2.0 stars 5/28/2010 by mdocker
by mdocker

i have not been able to play DVD movies on it yet, and it is not a CD burner. Guess i misread something. But for all else it is okay. Oh it does play audio CD's..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdocker
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked for awhile, but then stopped
11/7/2010

Customer review by happiness2011

1.0 stars 11/7/2010 by happiness2011
by happiness2011

So, I bought this seeing all the wonderful reviews about it, and it worked great...for two months! After which, it cannot seem to read disks at all and just makes a really high pitch buzzing sound. For the record, I didn't abuse it. I even gave it its own little cubby to sit in while I used it. So point being, it was made cheap, you paid 75% more than what it costs to make it, and you'll be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happiness2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
no decoder
7/13/2010

Customer review by mcbinc

1.0 stars 7/13/2010 by mcbinc
by mcbinc

I bought the Targus online for $39, which is a good price compared to $59 instore at WalMart and Best Buy. The top is flimsy, very thin, as in almost paper thin. The Targus is not for throwing in your book bag with your net-book. It's toooo delicate, that is the first problem. The second, it does not come with a windows media decoder, so one can not watch DVD's, unless one goes on-line and purches a decoder program for $15. That raises the price to $54 !!! I took it back and exchanged for a Lite On External which in the store costs $49, yet online costs $59. The Lite On may be bulky, and needs an external power scource, which I prefer, but it works !!! At speeds of 24X compared to 8X read speed on the Targus. The Lite On also plays DVD's from the get-go. The Lite On is also a lite-scribe burner !! The Lite On may be a small block, yet the block is durable, and can travel with you. Targus is too flimsy to take out of your house, and you cannot watch movies. This is the second time I have bought a Targus product only to return it to the store. Both times my response to Customer Srvice was "Targus is cheesy," not durable. I will not purchase a Targus product again

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcbinc
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
5/1/2010

Customer review by Tobeornotobe

3.0 stars 5/1/2010 by Tobeornotobe
by Tobeornotobe

The DVD player did not come with any software. I tried to play a movie and my laptop did not recognize it. i had to go online and download a program to play the movie. Its not plug-and-play DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tobeornotobe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This device is worth the price!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Aethermoon

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Aethermoon
by Aethermoon

I have dropped this device 2 times, and it keeps on ticking. It runs really loudly, but that is my only complaint. The load times for movies are decent, and I noticed that the drive doesn't 'sleep' and stop spinning unless I tell it to do so. I assume this will shorten the life of the motor within it, but I am a satisfied user!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aethermoon
Findlay, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/27/2011

Customer review by sda35

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by sda35
by sda35

DID NOT WORK !!! after reading the reviews about how easy it was to use with a Acer Netbook I was convinced it would. Just plug it in and it would play, not additonal attachments or cords needed . Well it didn't! It just sat there spinning and nothing happened. I returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sda35
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
good idea but fails in delivery
4/14/2011

Customer review by Morbeus

1.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Morbeus
by Morbeus

This is a nice size and affordable, but it does not work. I got it to work twice then had to do a system restore to get it to work again. Others had similar problems and some had no problem at all. It could be worth the gamble.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Morbeus
amarillo, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews