Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
269
4 stars
121
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
34
1-20 of 396 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews
My Hands Finally Have a Break
1/20/2010

Customer review by DisneyGuys07

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by DisneyGuys07
by DisneyGuys07

We absolutely love this little dishwasher. Eveything about it is great. There is plenty of room to wash dishes, utensils, pots and pans, cutting boards, any large or small items. There is no center rising sprayer so you can utilize the whole lower rack. There is a spray wash arm under the bottom rack as well as the top rack. They both spin in different directions. This coupled with the sprayer on the very top of the machine does and excellent job of cleaning and rinsing anything you put in. Very quiet operation. I expected it to be much louder since it isn't surrounded by cabinets and a counter. But I was stunned to find out that it is very quiet. It fits great in our little kitchen. All we have to do is roll it off to the side of the room when not in use and it is out of the way all day. As a bonus it can be used as an extra small counter. It is the same hieght as my kitchen counter. I've actually used mine as a small center island in the kitchen when preparing a large meal. We use Great Value (Walmart* Brand) Lemon Scented Dishwasher Gel, and it does a great job in this machine. As compared to all other portable dishwashers, this is the best value and best deal, in stores and on the internet. We used the Site To Store shipping option with our order and it said the order would arrive in 7 - 14 days. We placed our order on Saturday and had our dishwasher on Thursday of the next week. Less than one week later. Sometimes I just can't wait to cook and make a mess of my dishes again. Doesn't matter to me, I won't have to wash them myself. I would highly recomend this Danby Dishwasher to anyone in the market for a portable dishwasher. (You would need a larger machine for a family with more than 4 family members I think. We have 3 family members.)

Was this review helpful? (314) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisneyGuys07
Sturbridge, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Product at affordable cost
12/23/2010

Customer review by TooTiredToPickAnotherName

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by TooTiredToPickAnotherName
by TooTiredToPickAnotherName

I have owned Danby Products before and have never been disappointed. This is a well built machine at a great price. It does have a long cycle but I've never had a built in so I don't really have much to compare it to other than doing by hand. the Normal Wash setting runs about 2.5 hours from start to finish. But it is very quiet compared to what I have heard in friend's homes. I live in a small home and my bedroom is right next to the kitchen. I am able to start the washer before I go to bed and not hear a peep. It is like having my own magic elves doing the dishes while I sleep. Of course, nothing is perfect and I will say that the "drying" mechanism doesn't always mean that I wake up to dry dishes, but it seems that it depends on the dishes. Ceramic type dishes dry very well while plastic seem to be what holds the droplets of water... Also, top rack doesn't seem to get the benefit of the heat like the bottom rack. Secondly, I've read tons of reviews on a variety of websites (competing sellers) and a lot of the problems can be avoided by reading the manual, which is not an easy feat since the manual is not all that clear on some things. The number one thing I've read is what is the funnel for... well, if you open the machine and pull out the bottom drawer, you will see a great big dial looking thing next to the water arm... that is where you would put water softener salts (if you live in a hard-water area)... Unscrew that cap and the funnel use is obvious. Third, If you don't think the adapter will fit your faucet, know that the quick-release adapter has threading on inside and out, if your faucet has threads on the outside, just take the big fat washer out of the adapter and you will see the inner threading (don't forget whenever you work with water, you MUST use thread tape). Now the machine does heat your water but I have an older home and don't have the strongest water pressure. I alleviate this by turning on both the cold and hot taps full blast and it seems to be working. I will continue to buy Danby products because what the manual doesn't cover, usually common sense and a little examination of the machine takes care of and I've never been disappointed in the quality of workmanship and affordability.

Was this review helpful? (120) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TooTiredToPickAnotherName
Covington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Tips & Extra Info
12/13/2009

Customer review by Suz54

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Suz54
by Suz54

1. We had to remove the stemware racks to load tall glasses on top rack. Easily done. 2. Comes with a large funnel/cup not discussed in the manual. It is for filling the water softener dispenser with water softener salts. 3. Regular cycle (the one just below pots & pans) takes about 2 hours start to finish. "Little Dan" has freed us from the drudgery of dishes and cluttered counters. Dishes are squeaky clean.

Was this review helpful? (166) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suz54
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Little Dishwasher with Big space inside
11/27/2009

Customer review by Michelletiara

5.0 stars 11/27/2009 by Michelletiara
by Michelletiara

This dishwasher is an absolute gem. It is about 3/4 size of a regular dishwasher. It works like a dream, and I can fit lots and lots of dishes, pots, and pans inside. We had to leave ours with our old house when we sold it. (The buyers wanted it). I really miss it, and am tempted to purchase another for our current home. However, $400 is pretty steep.

Was this review helpful? (95) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michelletiara
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
If you seek QUALITY @ a GR8 price BUY THIS MACHINE
8/17/2010

Customer review by LXIX

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by LXIX
by LXIX

I owned a full size Whirlpool portable dishwasher for 14 years. I got my $400 buck worth out of and then some. Sold if for $75 on craigslist to some college guys. When it became apparent that a new dishwasher was needed (nothing last for ever) I first shopped locally here in The Twin Cities. This same Danby dishwasher was over $425 plus another $75 for shipping. The sales people were not happy that WalMart is able to under cut their prices by $200. I always buy local if it's at all possible, but let's face it, saving $200 in this economy is a deal only the foolish would pass up. I bought the dishwasher on Thursday and it was delivered to my apartment the following Wednesday. Keep in mind the .99cent shipping charge. I quickly loaded the dishwasher on my appliance dolly and 45min had it up & running. The instruction booklet is just about worthless, but it's not a mission to Mars. If you have soft water like I do, DO NOT USE A RINSE AID LIKE JET-DRY!!- you will have suds in the bottom of the dishwasher & it might leak a little if you do. No leaks here but did have suds until I found out about the soft water. This machine uses A LOT LESS DETERGENT than a full size portable. I've put dried & baked on lasagna bake ware & dishes in this lil bugger and I be dang if the bake ware & dishes came clean, with NO PRE-WASH!! My silverware hasn't been this clean since I bought it. My Pfaltzgraff stone ware just sparkle!! The dishwasher is much better than expected- would like it much better if it came in any color than white. The instructions are weak and better suited for a starting a fire in the fire place during cold Minnesota nights!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LXIX
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by 2wise4u

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by 2wise4u
by 2wise4u

This is my first Danby product and I did LOTS of research before spending $400 on it and let me tell you it was well worth the money. We didn't have money to renovate our 1960's style kitchen so we had become accustomed to washing dishes by hand until the baby came along, then hand washing got real old....real fast!!! We aren't rich people so I wanted to make sure that we didn't waste our money on a hunk of junk and so far it's been great!!! We've owned this little gem for about a month and have used it approximately 3-4 times a week. It's energy efficient so I don't expect a high water or energy bill (based on others comments). We are a family of 3 (which includes a 1 year old baby) and this little machine holds plenty of dishes, pots, pans and baby items that need to be sterilized. My one complaint (that has absolutely nothing to do with the operation of this machine) is the MANUAL!!!!! The only thing this manual is good for is leveling a wobbly table leg (and I'm not exaggerating)! You're better off doing what I did...I read reviews from this site and Amazon to learn how to use this thing and toss the manual in the garbage because it makes absolutely no sense at all. It takes about 2.5 hours on the longest setting to get the dishes clean but we start the wash before going to bed and they're done by morning. It does have a drying setting but unless you are washing glass or ceramic plates, the dishes will still be a little damp (stuff like plastic usually holds a bit of water). The way we get around this very minor inconvenience is to crack open the door in the morning and by the time we get home, the dishes are ready to be put away. I love it!!! It's like we've regained tons of counter space by eliminating the need for the dish rack that has been a fixture in our house for years. This machine is extremely quiet and with our open floor plan we don't notice it while watching tv unless it's draining the water during one of it's cycles. We've gotten used to the water draining but the first couple of times it happened it caught us off guard but we expect it now. It sounds like water running in an open faucet but only happens intermittently and is not that bad. When I picked this thing up from the store, my husband and a store associate were able to load it in our medium sized SUV. Unpacking it was a matter of cutting the straps and removing the cardboard box up and off of the unit. The unit is already on wheels and it's just a matter of lifting it out of the styro base and rolling it into place. The misc. parts that came with the machine include a white round cup like thingy, a metal threaded piece that fits onto the faucet and that's pretty much it. There's absolutely nothing in the manual about he white round cup thingy but it's supposed to be used to add salt to the machine. It also doesn't tell you that the salt to be used are the water softening salt tablets sold at Home Depot or Lowe's for about $6. There's also no instructions on how much salt and where to put it but it goes in the base of the machine to the back left. Unscrew the lid and fill the reservoir with salt and top it off with water. I've read that if you have soft water, you don't need to fill the machine with salt but the salt light on the machine will stay on but it won't hurt the machine to run it that way (according to reviewers on another site). Also there's another reservoir on the right hand side of the machine which is used to catch small food particles. We rinse our dishes before we load the washer to make sure it lasts as long as possible. You have to be careful loading the machine because the baskets aren't as heavy and sturdy as the machine sounds but nothing that would alarm anyone. The baskets are adequate in size for our needs and we don't feel the need to scrub the dishes before loading them. We've loaded all sorts of things into this machine and the dishes come out squeaky clean. Also, the metal part that comes with the machine needs to be screwed onto the existing faucet (we didn't use any plumbers tape) and we left this attachment on since the faucet operates the same with it on. The hoses in the back of the machine are double hoses. One for intake water and one for drainage. There's also a red button on the attachment that will allow you to release water from the faucet when the machine is in use. It's also used to bleed water from the system before you disconnect the hoses (so that you don't get sprayed in the face with water). To hook the system up, you simply roll it into place, take the snap on connection and press it down so that it fits over the new attachment on the faucet, and plug it in. We use generic dishwashing liquid and fill up the 25 reservoir and close the lid to the container. There are 2 containers where you put dishwashing liquid, one marked 15 and the other 25. I don't understand the significance of the markings but I get the impression that this machine was designed for non-US users. I also filled the reservoir for rinse aid (generic brand). The machine seems to heat the water well but I usually turn on the hot water just in case. To answer a question I had when running this machine at night, is the water won't continue to run when the cycle ends. $400 was a lot of money for us but it's worth every penny because I'm a paranoid mom that likes to sterilize my baby's sippy cups and utensils. I"m extremely happy with this machine and love love love it. It seems very heavy but nothing I can't handle myself.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2wise4u
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The only half size portable dishwasher
5/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Our place is small and a full size portable dishwasher wouldn't fit. The countertop dishwashers are too small. After a ton of research this was the only half size dishwasher we could find. It works pretty well, and it's quite enough. Hooking it up to the sink is extremely easy, you just have to change the faucet head with the one that comes with the dishwasher. The only problem with it is that the instruction manual is a joke. You'll have to figure most things on your own. But it's a dishwasher and not a space shuttle, so it shouldn't be a problem for most people. At the time of this review, we've only used it three times, so I have no idea how long it'll last. I hope it'll last for years.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tips to supplement manual
11/1/2010

Customer review by ShopperReviewer1

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by ShopperReviewer1
by ShopperReviewer1

The manual is useless. Thanks to other reviewers, I learned helpful things about this machine. Here are a few tips of my own. I brought this home a few days ago to replace another small portable dishwasher that had served me well for the last 6 years. One problem a few others noted, the first time I tried to use it, it stayed in prewash, then drained, beeped and flashed the dry light, would not advance in cycle. This was clearly a fault of some kind, I suspect overflow. I finally set the machine on the sixth cycle (rinse), it worked, and after that I was able to run a regular cycle. I bought water softener salt (search Amazon for Somat) since I have hard water. I added salt to the reservoir, the light stayed on. I learned that the first time you add salt, you must also add water to dissolve salt and prime the system. Thereafter, only salt is added when the light comes on; the reservoir stays full of water. (I learned this from reading a Miele manual, they also make models with softeners.) The cycles are very long compared to my old machine, but use minimal water and detergent, and clean well. The hoses and hookup are plastic, do not appear the most durable.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperReviewer1
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product, but lousy manual
12/26/2009

Customer review by kfinpgh

4.0 stars 12/26/2009 by kfinpgh
by kfinpgh

My boys and I bought this dishwasher as a gift. She wanted a small footprint dishwasher since her kitchen is small and this one fit into our budget. This dishwasher has nice features like a stainless steel interior and multiple wash cycles, but could still use a few improvements. She says it does a great job on dishes, which is the important part. The silverware basket is not on the outside of the bottom basket and rack space is wasted if you don't have a plate to insert between the basket and the outside of the rack. The manual was very poorly written and omitted some important things. The dishwasher came with items that were not explained in the manual. We had to assume the funnel included in the packaging was for the sink's drain so discharge would not splatter all over. The manual also did not explain the purpose of the upper rack pieces that we eventually removed or how to remove the covers on the silverware baskets. We eventually figured that out, too. We also had to figure out that the beeping towards the end of the cycle was to tell us the hose could be disconnected from the faucet. The dishwasher also does not turn off by itself so we need to guess as to when the cycle is really done. Once we passed those minor glitches, it's doing a decent job. She has had it only a week or 2, so we cannot attest to its durability. We may end up replacing it in a year so she can have a built-in model.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kfinpgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a blessing!
12/2/2009

Customer review by HadToHave1

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by HadToHave1
by HadToHave1

I am a stay at home mom and felt like if I did 1 more dish I would go crazy. I purchased this to save my sanity and so far so good! Another person who rated this said that it doesn't have a drying cycle but it does. Sometimes it dries better than others, I think it has to do with how many dished I have piled in it. The more dishes the least likely it is to dry all of them. I run the dishwasher once a day at night. The complete wash takes about 2 hours. I usually open the door when it is done and leave it open to dry the rest of the way over night. For the most part it dries ok. I think that $399 is a high price but it is worth it. This dishwasher is a lot less than others I have seen. Overall I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HadToHave1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Life saver!!
11/16/2009

Customer review by kkmarlie22

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by kkmarlie22
by kkmarlie22

I am so happy with this dishwasher. I have a small kitchen with little counter space, so washing dishes by hand was really annoying. The dishwasher doesn't have the option to dry the dishes, so they come out pretty wet; however, having perfectly clean dishes outweighs having to dry them off. It's pretty simple to use and connecting the dishwasher hose to the sink is super easy! I don't think it's noisy, but my kitchen isn't connected to my living room, so I don't know if it would be loud in an open concept home. I like that I can fit my largest cooking pot, my largest skillet and my largest pan inside. I figured it would be too small for those and I'd just do the pots and pans by hand, but nope! It's perfect! It's a good idea to have someone help you unload the dishwasher from your car. It's really heavy. I have to walk up some stairs to get to my door so it was really hard to get the box to the door. I used a dolly, but I still needed another person to help me maneuver it. Even though it's portable, it's a good idea to keep it near the sink because it's heavy to push on the wheels. An upside to it being big is that it gives me extra counter space! I love it and I am really happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkmarlie22
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
works great!
2/16/2010

Customer review by rockhoundmomandbestwife

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by rockhoundmomandbestwife
by rockhoundmomandbestwife

I was a little disapointed about the size but when I opened the dishwasher it was bigger then I expected. I love how great it works! I put some really mucky looking dishes in and they all came out clean.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockhoundmomandbestwife
marsing,Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this Dishwasher
6/16/2011

Customer review by pkspeaks

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by pkspeaks
by pkspeaks

The dishwasher was great right out of the box . I drove my dad's truck down to the store, a Walmart associate loaded it up, I drove home, unloaded it and with the help of a two wheeled hand truck cart thingy, brought it into my house and unboxed and hooked it up all by myself. I just took it out of the box hooked it up and ran a load of dishes that had been sitting for 3 days. (kids didn't want to wash them, I wanted to put the Danby to a test right away.) The Danby passed the test with flying colors. Milk curdled and dried in the bottom of a glass and 3 day old chocolate pudding in a pot. This little dishwasher washed it all sparkling clean. I have really hard water at my house. It actually killed my last portable dishwasher after I moved here. I specifically bought the Danby because of the built in water softener. I have only had the dishwasher for a few weeks so only time will tell if it can put up with my water. The other concerns I read about online were not a problem. the silverware baskets are removable and can be positioned anywhere in the drawer/trays. they separate so you can use only half the basket if you have only a little silverware. also the top cover on the basket is removable if you have large handled silverware. The dish trays themselves are multi positional. if you have large pots the tines in the bottom drawer can fold down so you can lay them flat. As for the softener salts, you can purchase it anywhere that they sell water softener products. In the area where I live even the grocery stores sell bags of water softener salt. My unit took about 2 quarts to fill and I used the hint about adding 2 cups of water while filling the salts that another person listed. It did take the added water to make the fill salt light go out. So far I am very happy with my unit. I have only one area of concern and that is that the drawer glides for the top basket are very small/thin. and it jams when I push the top drawer/basket into the unit. I hope that it will not break. I am very conscious of the slide when I push in the drawer and try not to manhandle it if it jams. I bought the 2 year extended warranty. I think this is the area that will break first and I hope that it is covered under the warranty. The unit is small and if I could have found a full sized unit with a softener I may have tried to afford it. But I am very happy with this one and the price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pkspeaks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I should have bought this earlier!
2/14/2011

Customer review by AntLover

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by AntLover
by AntLover

I have been without a dishwasher since we moved to this house 5 years ago. Our kitchen is small and a full size portable would be too big. The Danby is a perfect solution. I have been using it for three weeks and the dishes come out beautifully clean. In fact I could tell which Corelle had been washed in the machine because they were whiter so I promptly washed all my dishes and now all my dishes sparkle. I found the reviews on this site and the answers to questions extremely helpful. I chose site to store delivery and was glad that I have an SUV. It is heavy but once unpacked the casters allow for easy movement. I haven't had any problems except I wish it wasn't white but it wipes clean easily. I also enjoy the extra counter space. I researched dishwasher options for over two years. I was nervous that the Danby machine was quite a bit cheaper than other 18 inch portable options but this machine has exceeded my expectations and I wish I had puchased it much earlier.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AntLover
Decatur, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be Ready for wet socks
12/10/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/10/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product work great but one BIG problem we had it for 2 weeks and every time we used this product it would leak water out the bottom. At first we were thinking that the problem was that we started it and left so when it stop the water was still on and had no where to go. So we ran it again same problem...So if you are looking to buy this product just keep in mind its Not house broke and it still tinkle on the floor

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/4/2011

Customer review by Tmanz

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Tmanz
by Tmanz

I was very nervous when I first ordered this dishwasher, because The reviews I read were mixed, and a lot of people seemed to have broken parts when they received it. I had to take the risk because I am fed up with washing dishes by hand. Wal-Marts price was lower than other sights so I decided to just order it. We used the sight to store option, and when we picked it up it was too big to fit in the back seat of our Carola. Luckily enough the wal-mart worker who helped us load it was very very helpful. He took it out of the box for us and then it fit. I was very surprised at how big it was. When we got home everything seemed to be intact, so we loaded it up, and when we went to run it we realized the latch that locks it shut is plastic and was broken. I called Danby up right away and they sent someone to fix it the next day! All in all it works GREAT! It fits a lot of dishes and cleans them really well. I don't even have to really rinse them before putting them in. About the user manual....Everything in it is helpful, the rest is kind of common sense in my opinion. If you have a water filter on your faucet, you can connect the adapter right to it! I was pleased with this because i really did not want to get rid of our filter. If you are looking for a inexpensive, smaller portable dishwasher I would get this one. and if something happens and it comes with a broken part, Danby costumer service was very nice and helpful in replacing the part right away.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tmanz
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Danby portable dishwasher
12/10/2009

Customer review by ScRAmMbLeDEggS

1.0 stars 12/10/2009 by ScRAmMbLeDEggS
by ScRAmMbLeDEggS

I was so excited to buy this for my Mom. She has a Danby chest freezer that has worked perfectly for almost 15 years. Since I figured this was a great brand, it was exciting to see how happy she was. We unpacked it after calling a couple of strong neighbors to help get it in the house (it's heavy). We read the instructions (pretty basic), loaded some dishes, hooked it up to the kitchen faucet, plugged it in, dialed the desired wash mode and pressed the on button. For nearly a half hour, it stayed on pre wash, we reread instructions thinking we did something wrong. We tried again. It stayed on prewash again. Meanwhile, we had no idea that the faucet adaptor was shooting a thin stream of water all over the counter top. We tried it again. After two and a half hours of trying to wash a few dishes (which could have been washed by hand in a matter of minutes) we were ready to pull out our hair. Needless to say, something was wrong with the wiring, apparently, and those strong neighbors came back to load it back into the pick up. It went back, my Mom was so dissapointed, and it killed me. Hello Sears, gonna check out their dishwashers. This really was a dissapointment as it was a Christmas gift for her. Maybe we just got a lemon and others would be okay, but, once burned, twice careful. If you buy one, hope it works better than this one!

Was this review helpful? (20) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScRAmMbLeDEggS
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Broken on delivery
12/29/2012

Customer review by MadDishwasher

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by MadDishwasher
by MadDishwasher

My wife and I purchased this for Christmas as a family type gift as we both hate doing dishes. Everything looked great hooked it up turned on the water. Thought it was great. Loaded it with dishes and started it on its first cycle. The machine filled up as it is supposed to so we headed to the living room. My wife went to the kitchen and screamed. What is wrong the machine has put water everywhere. Do you think we hooked it up wrong I mean there aren't any directions she asks. No I don't so we clean up the water and I inspect the machine that has a slice in the hose coming from the pump so once pressurized it sprays all through itself and my floor. Can't get customer service to answer the phone. Can't get parts at the repair store. Waiting on an email reply. Yeah

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadDishwasher
Altoona, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Danby didn't do it
11/9/2010

Customer review by TravnDave

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by TravnDave
by TravnDave

I was very disappointed that this relatively attractive, nicely featured (stainless steel tub, nylon racks), 18-in portable dishwasher gushed massive amounts water out the bottom when I first used it. I was thankful that I have not yet installed my new wood floor. Danby customer service did not suggest repairs, just advised me to return it to Walmart. Walmart accepted the return with no difficulties. Later found out that the local appliance repair listed on the Danby website no longer repairs Danbys, as they claim they can't obtain parts. Living in a rural area (Walmart is 25 miles away) I would not recommend this dishwasher since apparently it would be impossible to repair.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravnDave
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this Dishwasher!
7/23/2010

Customer review by AndroidFan

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by AndroidFan
by AndroidFan

I wish I knew about this dishwasher sooner. I have had this dishwasher for 2 weeks now. The dishwasher is perfect for family of 3. It would be a bit small for larger family. Wash cycles are about 2.25 hours but It is pretty quiet and I don't have to do them by hand. Silverware basket is small and has a really awkward handle(I removed it) but able to put bottle and "sippy" cup parts in the basket. I went to the hardware store looking for an adapter for the quick connector but was shown that after removing the washer that the quick connector has inside thread and outside thread. I was able to connect it easily to faucet and found out later, I could connect it directly to my water filter.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AndroidFan
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews