Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
269
4 stars
121
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
34
1-20 of 396 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews
My Hands Finally Have a Break
1/20/2010

Customer review by DisneyGuys07

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by DisneyGuys07
by DisneyGuys07
Walmart associate

We absolutely love this little dishwasher. Eveything about it is great. There is plenty of room to wash dishes, utensils, pots and pans, cutting boards, any large or small items. There is no center rising sprayer so you can utilize the whole lower rack. There is a spray wash arm under the bottom rack as well as the top rack. They both spin in different directions. This coupled with the sprayer on the very top of the machine does and excellent job of cleaning and rinsing anything you put in. Very quiet operation. I expected it to be much louder since it isn't surrounded by cabinets and a counter. But I was stunned to find out that it is very quiet. It fits great in our little kitchen. All we have to do is roll it off to the side of the room when not in use and it is out of the way all day. As a bonus it can be used as an extra small counter. It is the same hieght as my kitchen counter. I've actually used mine as a small center island in the kitchen when preparing a large meal. We use Great Value (Walmart* Brand) Lemon Scented Dishwasher Gel, and it does a great job in this machine. As compared to all other portable dishwashers, this is the best value and best deal, in stores and on the internet. We used the Site To Store shipping option with our order and it said the order would arrive in 7 - 14 days. We placed our order on Saturday and had our dishwasher on Thursday of the next week. Less than one week later. Sometimes I just can't wait to cook and make a mess of my dishes again. Doesn't matter to me, I won't have to wash them myself. I would highly recomend this Danby Dishwasher to anyone in the market for a portable dishwasher. (You would need a larger machine for a family with more than 4 family members I think. We have 3 family members.)

Was this review helpful? (314) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisneyGuys07
Sturbridge, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by 2wise4u

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by 2wise4u
by 2wise4u

This is my first Danby product and I did LOTS of research before spending $400 on it and let me tell you it was well worth the money. We didn't have money to renovate our 1960's style kitchen so we had become accustomed to washing dishes by hand until the baby came along, then hand washing got real old....real fast!!! We aren't rich people so I wanted to make sure that we didn't waste our money on a hunk of junk and so far it's been great!!! We've owned this little gem for about a month and have used it approximately 3-4 times a week. It's energy efficient so I don't expect a high water or energy bill (based on others comments). We are a family of 3 (which includes a 1 year old baby) and this little machine holds plenty of dishes, pots, pans and baby items that need to be sterilized. My one complaint (that has absolutely nothing to do with the operation of this machine) is the MANUAL!!!!! The only thing this manual is good for is leveling a wobbly table leg (and I'm not exaggerating)! You're better off doing what I did...I read reviews from this site and Amazon to learn how to use this thing and toss the manual in the garbage because it makes absolutely no sense at all. It takes about 2.5 hours on the longest setting to get the dishes clean but we start the wash before going to bed and they're done by morning. It does have a drying setting but unless you are washing glass or ceramic plates, the dishes will still be a little damp (stuff like plastic usually holds a bit of water). The way we get around this very minor inconvenience is to crack open the door in the morning and by the time we get home, the dishes are ready to be put away. I love it!!! It's like we've regained tons of counter space by eliminating the need for the dish rack that has been a fixture in our house for years. This machine is extremely quiet and with our open floor plan we don't notice it while watching tv unless it's draining the water during one of it's cycles. We've gotten used to the water draining but the first couple of times it happened it caught us off guard but we expect it now. It sounds like water running in an open faucet but only happens intermittently and is not that bad. When I picked this thing up from the store, my husband and a store associate were able to load it in our medium sized SUV. Unpacking it was a matter of cutting the straps and removing the cardboard box up and off of the unit. The unit is already on wheels and it's just a matter of lifting it out of the styro base and rolling it into place. The misc. parts that came with the machine include a white round cup like thingy, a metal threaded piece that fits onto the faucet and that's pretty much it. There's absolutely nothing in the manual about he white round cup thingy but it's supposed to be used to add salt to the machine. It also doesn't tell you that the salt to be used are the water softening salt tablets sold at Home Depot or Lowe's for about $6. There's also no instructions on how much salt and where to put it but it goes in the base of the machine to the back left. Unscrew the lid and fill the reservoir with salt and top it off with water. I've read that if you have soft water, you don't need to fill the machine with salt but the salt light on the machine will stay on but it won't hurt the machine to run it that way (according to reviewers on another site). Also there's another reservoir on the right hand side of the machine which is used to catch small food particles. We rinse our dishes before we load the washer to make sure it lasts as long as possible. You have to be careful loading the machine because the baskets aren't as heavy and sturdy as the machine sounds but nothing that would alarm anyone. The baskets are adequate in size for our needs and we don't feel the need to scrub the dishes before loading them. We've loaded all sorts of things into this machine and the dishes come out squeaky clean. Also, the metal part that comes with the machine needs to be screwed onto the existing faucet (we didn't use any plumbers tape) and we left this attachment on since the faucet operates the same with it on. The hoses in the back of the machine are double hoses. One for intake water and one for drainage. There's also a red button on the attachment that will allow you to release water from the faucet when the machine is in use. It's also used to bleed water from the system before you disconnect the hoses (so that you don't get sprayed in the face with water). To hook the system up, you simply roll it into place, take the snap on connection and press it down so that it fits over the new attachment on the faucet, and plug it in. We use generic dishwashing liquid and fill up the 25 reservoir and close the lid to the container. There are 2 containers where you put dishwashing liquid, one marked 15 and the other 25. I don't understand the significance of the markings but I get the impression that this machine was designed for non-US users. I also filled the reservoir for rinse aid (generic brand). The machine seems to heat the water well but I usually turn on the hot water just in case. To answer a question I had when running this machine at night, is the water won't continue to run when the cycle ends. $400 was a lot of money for us but it's worth every penny because I'm a paranoid mom that likes to sterilize my baby's sippy cups and utensils. I"m extremely happy with this machine and love love love it. It seems very heavy but nothing I can't handle myself.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2wise4u
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this Dishwasher!
7/23/2010

Customer review by AndroidFan

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by AndroidFan
by AndroidFan

I wish I knew about this dishwasher sooner. I have had this dishwasher for 2 weeks now. The dishwasher is perfect for family of 3. It would be a bit small for larger family. Wash cycles are about 2.25 hours but It is pretty quiet and I don't have to do them by hand. Silverware basket is small and has a really awkward handle(I removed it) but able to put bottle and "sippy" cup parts in the basket. I went to the hardware store looking for an adapter for the quick connector but was shown that after removing the washer that the quick connector has inside thread and outside thread. I was able to connect it easily to faucet and found out later, I could connect it directly to my water filter.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndroidFan
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great!
2/16/2010

Customer review by rockhoundmomandbestwife

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by rockhoundmomandbestwife
by rockhoundmomandbestwife

I was a little disapointed about the size but when I opened the dishwasher it was bigger then I expected. I love how great it works! I put some really mucky looking dishes in and they all came out clean.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockhoundmomandbestwife
marsing,Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/30/2011

Customer review by rollsindian

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by rollsindian
by rollsindian

I bought this dishwasher for myself for Christmas. It's perfect for a single person. No more dirty dishes in the sink! ;)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rollsindian
Chambersburg, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exellent dishwasher, horrible manual
8/11/2010

Customer review by crocAtWalmart

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by crocAtWalmart
by crocAtWalmart

We have this dishwasher for a month, and so far it does excellent job on our dishes, pots, pans etc. Stainless interior is really nice, it works quietly. However, the manual is so poorly written, it tells you just the obvious things that you can figure out yourself. For example, it doesn't tell you for how long each cycle runs and what steps it goes through. It has a confusing statement about a 'program memory' function: "Cutting off power supply during washing will not reset the current wash program". I hoped that it will continue washing after a power failure. However, the customer service explained that "The power function does not relate to when the power goes out. If there were to be a power failure the unit would not go back to the cycle it was preset at, you would have to restart the dishwasher." I still have no idea about what they meant by that power function. Next, it doesn't explain built-in water softener system. The funnel that was mentioned by one of the previous reviewers is actually needed to refill salt reservoir which is located under the spray arm. I know that because I came from Europe and the same softener system is used in European dishwashers. You can buy dishwasher salt there and add to that reservoir to soften your water which gives you better results. I assume that water in the US is already softened. I didn't want to move the dishwasher to the sink each time we want to wash dishes, so I connected my dishwasher directly to water line and drain which was a big challenge since the hoses have non-standard thread and the only option for me was to cut water hose and use several fittings to connect both hoses to water and drain. I can still reconnect the original sink attachment if I want to use it in the future (see the picture). Other than that, it's a wonderful dishwasher that exactly fits in the small spot in our kitchen and saves us lots and lots of time and effort.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crocAtWalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/22/2012

Customer review by Divinebovine26

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Divinebovine26
by Divinebovine26

I have had this dishwasher about 2 weeks and I absolutely LOVE it! I use it everyday and have ZERO complaints. This is perfect for a couple :) This is the second Danby washer I have owned and I would recommend that brand to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Divinebovine26
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
8/19/2013

Customer review by Jcro2066

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Jcro2066
by Jcro2066
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This dishwasher was bought for our summer cottage and it fits perfect and is quit.And it was half the price from Walmart I check Homedepot and Lowes for the same unit and it was almost double.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jcro2066
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I should have bought this earlier!
2/14/2011

Customer review by AntLover

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by AntLover
by AntLover

I have been without a dishwasher since we moved to this house 5 years ago. Our kitchen is small and a full size portable would be too big. The Danby is a perfect solution. I have been using it for three weeks and the dishes come out beautifully clean. In fact I could tell which Corelle had been washed in the machine because they were whiter so I promptly washed all my dishes and now all my dishes sparkle. I found the reviews on this site and the answers to questions extremely helpful. I chose site to store delivery and was glad that I have an SUV. It is heavy but once unpacked the casters allow for easy movement. I haven't had any problems except I wish it wasn't white but it wipes clean easily. I also enjoy the extra counter space. I researched dishwasher options for over two years. I was nervous that the Danby machine was quite a bit cheaper than other 18 inch portable options but this machine has exceeded my expectations and I wish I had puchased it much earlier.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AntLover
Decatur, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not work!
9/6/2010

Customer review by MomLovesThePackers

1.0 stars 9/6/2010 by MomLovesThePackers
by MomLovesThePackers

I was so excited to receive this product! Ordered it from walmart.com. It was small, but fit quite a bit of dishes inside. The manual left a bit to be desired, which I was prepared for from reading other reviews. Got everything ready, hooked it up, the lights came on, but nothing happened. It didn't run. I called Danby customer service, who told me that I had to have softener salt in it in order for it to actually run even though the manual said otherwise. Bought salt and put it in, same thing. called customer service again and explained, now they said no I didn't need salt for it to run. They recommend I take it to a service provider or return it to the store. I would have tried another one, in case mine was just a defective piece, but my store doesn't stock them and I wasn't going to go through the trouble of ordering online and then loading and unloading at store again if I got another defective one. Either way, danby's customer service was HORRIBLE!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomLovesThePackers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than a fair price. This is a deal.
7/19/2010

Customer review by TTRGirl

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by TTRGirl
by TTRGirl

Washes dishes very well (mine were fairly clean to begin with), but leaves tops of glasses wet at end of cycle and does not fully dry silverware (like most dishwashers, so no surprise, just an observation). For a compact unit, the d/w is amazingly quiet, until the faucet sprays water discharge (again, as to be expected with a portable unit). Unit now includes complete instructions AND manufacturer got smart and started shipping the faucet adapter so you should be able to use the unit right away. If you have a higher end faucet, you may still need an adapter. Rolling racks are a little wobbly if you try to roll and load from the side, but I have not had trouble front loading. This review is based on 2 uses. I pre-wash and soap all of my dishes and I don't use the dishwasher for pots and pans - ever. Overall, I am definitely satisfied. I only found 3 companies that manufacture the small dishwashers; the Danby received the best user reviews. I don't believe Consumer Rpts tests the miniature washers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TTRGirl
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Didn't work. Manual is terrible.
1/21/2013

Customer review by bmistree

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by bmistree
by bmistree
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: The overall appearance of the washer is nice: it is compact and smart. It rolls easily on its wheels. Cons: We are fairly sure that our dishwasher arrived broken: The dishwasher runs for ~five minutes and then either starts beeping or flashing its drying light. Although the machine consumes and emits water, usually, the dishwashing soap tray doesn't open and none of the dishes are clean at the end. The manual for the product is terrible. It doesn't or only barely mentions what the aforementioned beeps and flashing lights mean. And it's written in a way that I'm still unsure whether there's a real problem with the machine or I'm just unsure of how to turn it on properly. The faucet attachment for the dishwasher also has issues. It constrains the faucet in such a way that if I use my kitchen sink, the water stream is invariably over-powerful, splashing everywhere. (In contrast, my old dishwasher did not have this problem.) We are looking into returning it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmistree
stanford, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
4/5/2010

Customer review by BrandiandMatt

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by BrandiandMatt
by BrandiandMatt

This dishwasher is much better than we had expected. It has two sprayers, which help a lot. We loaded a bunch of really dirty dishes without pre rinsing them and they came out spotless. This was the cheapest portable dishwasher we could find that was not a counter top model, and we are really happy with the purchase. We have used it about 5 times since we bought it. Downside, it is pretty small and doesn't hold as much as I would like. The controls are pretty cheap and there aren't a lot of options, pretty much just on and off. The hose and cord are pretty short too. I had read reviews before purchasing it and noticed a few people say there was a part that they could not figure out what to do with and the instructions did not mention it. I had the same experience. There was a white plastic funnel looking piece that does not fit anywhere on the dishwasher. No clue what its for and its not mentioned anywhere in the manual. Odd, but whatever, the dishwasher works just fine without it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrandiandMatt
Gold Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tips to supplement manual
11/1/2010

Customer review by ShopperReviewer1

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by ShopperReviewer1
by ShopperReviewer1

The manual is useless. Thanks to other reviewers, I learned helpful things about this machine. Here are a few tips of my own. I brought this home a few days ago to replace another small portable dishwasher that had served me well for the last 6 years. One problem a few others noted, the first time I tried to use it, it stayed in prewash, then drained, beeped and flashed the dry light, would not advance in cycle. This was clearly a fault of some kind, I suspect overflow. I finally set the machine on the sixth cycle (rinse), it worked, and after that I was able to run a regular cycle. I bought water softener salt (search Amazon for Somat) since I have hard water. I added salt to the reservoir, the light stayed on. I learned that the first time you add salt, you must also add water to dissolve salt and prime the system. Thereafter, only salt is added when the light comes on; the reservoir stays full of water. (I learned this from reading a Miele manual, they also make models with softeners.) The cycles are very long compared to my old machine, but use minimal water and detergent, and clean well. The hoses and hookup are plastic, do not appear the most durable.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperReviewer1
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The only half size portable dishwasher
5/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Our place is small and a full size portable dishwasher wouldn't fit. The countertop dishwashers are too small. After a ton of research this was the only half size dishwasher we could find. It works pretty well, and it's quite enough. Hooking it up to the sink is extremely easy, you just have to change the faucet head with the one that comes with the dishwasher. The only problem with it is that the instruction manual is a joke. You'll have to figure most things on your own. But it's a dishwasher and not a space shuttle, so it shouldn't be a problem for most people. At the time of this review, we've only used it three times, so I have no idea how long it'll last. I hope it'll last for years.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tips & Extra Info
12/13/2009

Customer review by Suz54

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Suz54
by Suz54

1. We had to remove the stemware racks to load tall glasses on top rack. Easily done. 2. Comes with a large funnel/cup not discussed in the manual. It is for filling the water softener dispenser with water softener salts. 3. Regular cycle (the one just below pots & pans) takes about 2 hours start to finish. "Little Dan" has freed us from the drudgery of dishes and cluttered counters. Dishes are squeaky clean.

Was this review helpful? (166) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suz54
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you seek QUALITY @ a GR8 price BUY THIS MACHINE
8/17/2010

Customer review by LXIX

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by LXIX
by LXIX

I owned a full size Whirlpool portable dishwasher for 14 years. I got my $400 buck worth out of and then some. Sold if for $75 on craigslist to some college guys. When it became apparent that a new dishwasher was needed (nothing last for ever) I first shopped locally here in The Twin Cities. This same Danby dishwasher was over $425 plus another $75 for shipping. The sales people were not happy that WalMart is able to under cut their prices by $200. I always buy local if it's at all possible, but let's face it, saving $200 in this economy is a deal only the foolish would pass up. I bought the dishwasher on Thursday and it was delivered to my apartment the following Wednesday. Keep in mind the .99cent shipping charge. I quickly loaded the dishwasher on my appliance dolly and 45min had it up & running. The instruction booklet is just about worthless, but it's not a mission to Mars. If you have soft water like I do, DO NOT USE A RINSE AID LIKE JET-DRY!!- you will have suds in the bottom of the dishwasher & it might leak a little if you do. No leaks here but did have suds until I found out about the soft water. This machine uses A LOT LESS DETERGENT than a full size portable. I've put dried & baked on lasagna bake ware & dishes in this lil bugger and I be dang if the bake ware & dishes came clean, with NO PRE-WASH!! My silverware hasn't been this clean since I bought it. My Pfaltzgraff stone ware just sparkle!! The dishwasher is much better than expected- would like it much better if it came in any color than white. The instructions are weak and better suited for a starting a fire in the fire place during cold Minnesota nights!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LXIX
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No more handwashing
5/31/2010

Customer review by LoveThisDishwasher

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by LoveThisDishwasher
by LoveThisDishwasher

I do love this dishwasher! Everything comes out sparkling clean. I rinse my dishes before I load the washer but I know you don't have to. I did my research before I bought this one and had read everything written about it. It is true that there are no instructions on how to hook it to the faucet but I figured it out on my own and I am not a mechanical person. The funny thing is they left out this detail but have very specific instructions on loading each item along with diagrams. And it is true that it takes a very long time to go thru a cycle. I started it on the regular cycle but switched to the economy to cut down on the time and because they are rinsed when I put them in. Out of curiosity I plugged up the sink to see how much water it would use especially given the amount of time that it runs and because I had heard that it saves on water when dishes are washed in a dishwasher. I have a small sink - it only used enough water for the complete cycle to fill the sink HALFWAY! I am totally pleased. And now I am free from the sink and can thankfully spend my time on other things!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveThisDishwasher
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product at affordable cost
12/23/2010

Customer review by TooTiredToPickAnotherName

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by TooTiredToPickAnotherName
by TooTiredToPickAnotherName

I have owned Danby Products before and have never been disappointed. This is a well built machine at a great price. It does have a long cycle but I've never had a built in so I don't really have much to compare it to other than doing by hand. the Normal Wash setting runs about 2.5 hours from start to finish. But it is very quiet compared to what I have heard in friend's homes. I live in a small home and my bedroom is right next to the kitchen. I am able to start the washer before I go to bed and not hear a peep. It is like having my own magic elves doing the dishes while I sleep. Of course, nothing is perfect and I will say that the "drying" mechanism doesn't always mean that I wake up to dry dishes, but it seems that it depends on the dishes. Ceramic type dishes dry very well while plastic seem to be what holds the droplets of water... Also, top rack doesn't seem to get the benefit of the heat like the bottom rack. Secondly, I've read tons of reviews on a variety of websites (competing sellers) and a lot of the problems can be avoided by reading the manual, which is not an easy feat since the manual is not all that clear on some things. The number one thing I've read is what is the funnel for... well, if you open the machine and pull out the bottom drawer, you will see a great big dial looking thing next to the water arm... that is where you would put water softener salts (if you live in a hard-water area)... Unscrew that cap and the funnel use is obvious. Third, If you don't think the adapter will fit your faucet, know that the quick-release adapter has threading on inside and out, if your faucet has threads on the outside, just take the big fat washer out of the adapter and you will see the inner threading (don't forget whenever you work with water, you MUST use thread tape). Now the machine does heat your water but I have an older home and don't have the strongest water pressure. I alleviate this by turning on both the cold and hot taps full blast and it seems to be working. I will continue to buy Danby products because what the manual doesn't cover, usually common sense and a little examination of the machine takes care of and I've never been disappointed in the quality of workmanship and affordability.

Was this review helpful? (120) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooTiredToPickAnotherName
Covington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Life saver!!
11/16/2009

Customer review by kkmarlie22

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by kkmarlie22
by kkmarlie22

I am so happy with this dishwasher. I have a small kitchen with little counter space, so washing dishes by hand was really annoying. The dishwasher doesn't have the option to dry the dishes, so they come out pretty wet; however, having perfectly clean dishes outweighs having to dry them off. It's pretty simple to use and connecting the dishwasher hose to the sink is super easy! I don't think it's noisy, but my kitchen isn't connected to my living room, so I don't know if it would be loud in an open concept home. I like that I can fit my largest cooking pot, my largest skillet and my largest pan inside. I figured it would be too small for those and I'd just do the pots and pans by hand, but nope! It's perfect! It's a good idea to have someone help you unload the dishwasher from your car. It's really heavy. I have to walk up some stairs to get to my door so it was really hard to get the box to the door. I used a dolly, but I still needed another person to help me maneuver it. Even though it's portable, it's a good idea to keep it near the sink because it's heavy to push on the wheels. An upside to it being big is that it gives me extra counter space! I love it and I am really happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkmarlie22
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews