Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good Value
11/11/2009

Customer review by GaryODS

4.0 stars 11/11/2009 by GaryODS
by GaryODS

These have more than met expectations. The length adjustment seems to be positive, I haven't noticed any slippage. The wrist straps are just OK, but the adjustment seems solid. The handles are lame, they are hard plastic and slotted near the heal of your hand. I find them barely tolerable. The other weak point is the tip of the walking poles. While I'm still getting used to them, I'm having a lot of slipping. What I mean it that I plant it OK, but as I’m moving past it and pushing off with my arms all too often the tip slips. I've gone to the Sportline web site to see if I could buy the little tennis shoe looking tips, but the Sportline site only seems to list sports electronics. I couldn't find any mention of the walking poles. They really do add an additional level of execration to your walking. Where I’ve been walking the same route for a while now, I find myself breaking a sweat much earlier in the walk and the backs of my upper arm have been fatigued since I began using the poles. Given my experience with the equipment, I'd still buy the product. I originally bought them because they are real cheap (low cost), but I think unless I really get into using the walking poles (lets say in 3 months or so) they will work for me just fine. Sure wish I could find better tips for the poles. One last comment, when I walk with my wife I usually have to slow down for her. When she walks with the poles I not only don't have to slow down for her, but I have speed up some to keep up. They do make a difference. Below where it asks how often I use the equipment the correct answer would 5 -6 times a week.

Was this review helpful? (76) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaryODS
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Save your money
7/22/2010

Customer review by Larryboy23

1.0 stars 7/22/2010 by Larryboy23
by Larryboy23

I used these three times, for an hour each, total of ten miles. The rubber tips have a hole worn thru to the carbon rod. You cannot buy replacement tips. These poles are only good if you're gonna be walking on grass. Save your money for good set of poles.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larryboy23
Numidia PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY.!!
6/15/2010

Customer review by SMYRNACHUCK1

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by SMYRNACHUCK1
by SMYRNACHUCK1

I BOUGHT THESE ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO. I WAS 285 VWITH ARTHRITISBIN THE KNEES AND ANKLES I COILD BARELY WALK 100 YARDS IN LEES THAN 2 WEEKS I WAS WALKING A MILE TO THE BEACH AND BACK. NIOW I DO ABOUT 4 MILES -5 MILES IN AN HOUR AND ALYERNATE WITH CTCLING. I NEVER WOILD HAVE OPERSISTED WITH THE WALKING WITH OUT THE POLES THEY PROVIDE BALANCE AND HUST ENOUGHAID IN WALKIONG SO THAT I CAN WALK AT LEAST TWICE AS FAR AND FAST WITH THEM THAN WITHOUT. I LOVE THEM. INE SLIGHT PROBLEM AFTER ABOUT 2 WEEKS WALKING ON PAVEMENT THE SHARP POUNT WORE THROUGH THE RUBBER TIP. V I TOOK SIEM DUST TAPE AND WRAOPOP4ED AROUND THE TIP UNTIL ICOULD USE A CANE TIP AND IT HAS BEEN WORKING FINE. I HAVE LOST 50 LBS AND AM NOW WORKING ON MY NEXT 50!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMYRNACHUCK1
New Smyrna Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Pretty good for the price
4/18/2010

Customer review by MKKsquared

4.0 stars 4/18/2010 by MKKsquared
by MKKsquared

The poles arent bad for the price. Like another reviewer wrote, I also experienced a lot of slippage on paved roads. I think a softer rubber tip would remedy this. I got a really great workout without having to exert myself that much more than I do when I walk normally. Really felt it in my arms, core, even but and thighs. I am more than a little self concious walkin around my neighborhood using these(I live in rural TX if that says anything) so I didnt really like how much noise they make on a paved road. THWACK, THWACK, THWACK! Using them in grassy areas works a lot better because they are quieter and dont slip. Another benefit: I live in an area with a lot of stray dogs and a lot of people fail to see the benefit of keeping their dogs on leashes. So Im more than a bit weary when I go out walking. Having two metal sticks with me gives me a little more peace of mind knowing that if I had to I could mount a proper pack of wild dogs defense!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MKKsquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The BEST Value on Walking Poles ANYWHERE
6/2/2011

Customer review by PoleWalker

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by PoleWalker
by PoleWalker

I've used a variety of walking (or trekking) poles, priced from $70 each, to these Walmart poles at under $10 each, and these are fully the equal of the more expensive ones, so a MUCH better value. Some of the other reviewers don't seem to know how to use this type of equipment - the tips are only for smooth surfaces. They should be removed for use on anything other than pavement. I usually hike around 15-20 miles a week, year-round, and these poles have reduced discomfort and increased my speed - wouldn't want to do without them. The trails I hike on are desert trails - sand, rock, and gravel. The metal tips do wear out, but last longer than much higher priced ones.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoleWalker
Southwestern USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, bad tips
2/20/2011

Customer review by dclstx

3.0 stars 2/20/2011 by dclstx
by dclstx

Makes exercising fun. Used twice, tips are worn out. Called mfg, they said they would mail new tips at no charge, they do not sell tips. That was 3 weeks ago, still no tips. Would suggest Walmart stock tips that fit these poles because this seems to be a problem with everyone I speak with.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dclstx
St. Croix, USVI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value @ $20 for the pair
11/27/2011

Customer review by CAhiker

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by CAhiker
by CAhiker

We bought these poles Oct 2010 (quick delivery) for Grand Canyon/Phantom Ranch from the South Rim since friends recommended poles! We needed cushioning for the relentless downhill and pushing for steady uphill, and these poles made all the difference! 25 miles over 3 days. Great value @ $20 for the pair - we could buy 5 sets for the price of the BEST ones! Have since used in South Sierras for day hikes, weekly for local DG (decomposed granite) paths - steep uphills and slippery downhills. Good for upper-body workout and stability. Best form for use (found online) is cross-country skiing (poles generally behind) on the flat and to push uphill, and placing ahead for downhills. Watch the pin straps: pin for one strap worked loose, lost, replaced with screw (point filed off). Other pin for strap worked loose, saved, reinstalled with super glue. Good to go for another year!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAhiker
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
double knee replacement
5/4/2010

Customer review by jaxblue1234

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by jaxblue1234
by jaxblue1234

purchased these for my mom who is 81 and just went through double knee replacemnt surgery. My sister actually owned some and let my mother borrow them and she loved them. we are encouraging her to walk as much as possible. she is able to walk without the use of anything, i think it just gives her a sense of security, and if at 81 she wants to use a couple of walking sticks to make her feel more comfortable while she is rehabilitating, then a couple of walking sticks she shall have! prolly one of the best investments i have ever made... she really enjoys her daily walks. they are adjustable, compact, very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaxblue1234
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1/6/2012

Customer review by Live2Hike

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Live2Hike
by Live2Hike

These are great and the price was right! Loved the padded nylon wrist straps, found them more comfortable than the non-padded. Adjusting for height preference, tightening/loosening and packing away was easy. Have used them on a couple of hikes rated as difficult-strenuous and these held their own.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Live2Hike
Bay area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
2/2/2012

Customer review by Casssie

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Casssie
by Casssie

I love the walking poles, they give me balance when I walk. I am overweight & my knees hurt when I walk. I am under doctors care & am loosing weight but in the meantime they help me to walk without pain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Casssie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
handy item
3/1/2010

Customer review by maggiemagoo

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by maggiemagoo
by maggiemagoo

This product is amazingly good quality for the price, Didnt realize came in pairs until I received them. Really give you good exercise when walking, Will use them more when snow melts off

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maggiemagoo
Aledo, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The Price is Right
10/9/2012

Customer review by Stalphos

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Stalphos
by Stalphos

I've used these on 3 trips now. Once going down the Grand Canyon. I've only used them on trails and I also use these for my a-frame tent. I've put my full weight (200 lbs plus 35 lbs backpack) on them a couple times when I slipped on some rocks. They work great. No slipping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stalphos
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/18/2011

Customer review by happyhiker1

2.0 stars 4/18/2011 by happyhiker1
by happyhiker1

When the 2nd pair of trekking poles I ordered were not available. I went to the Walmart in Cherry Hill NJ and found a pair,for the same price, that are much more sturdy than the pair I bought online.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyhiker1
audubon nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month