Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
11/7/2009

Customer review by thamojo84

4.0 stars by thamojo84

got it, plugged it in, it automatically sets the time-with adjustment to ur local time zone. awesome. backup battery will still sound alarm even if power goes off. awesome. it can be set for mon-fri, sat-sun, or mon-sun. awesome. dual alarm with escalating buzzer. awesome. am/fm reception-aweful. might as well not have radio tuner. the only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because of radio reception.

Was this review helpful? (118) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thamojo84
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lot of features but missing a few
7/27/2010

Customer review by jiller

4.0 stars by jiller

I agree with the other reviewer that the radio quality is not very good. The tuner skips stations that my other digital tuning clock radio picks up clearly. It's nice that it's a digital tuner, but the control knob is touchy so it's hard to tune without flying past the station that you want. I bought this one as it sets the time automatically within seconds, and every time after that. You can adjust the time zone and it automatically sets the correct time (not atomic). The 3 lithium batteries are replacable (CR2032) and the owners manual says that depending on usage, they will power the time for 2-5 years or more! When the batteries are replaced, that is the only time you will have to set the clock manually! I really love the blue numbers and size of the numbers (1.25 inches approx) with 2 dimmer selections. I also love that there are 2 alarms that can set individually to wake to gradual buzzer or preset volume radio on M-F, M-S or Sat-Sun. Now for the cons. When the alarms are turned ON, they are identified on the front left and right bottom corners as AL1 and AL2, but you can't confirm whether you've set the buzzer or radio correctly. It would be nice to see different icon indicators on the front for radio vs buzzer like some other alarm clock radios. Also, some alarm clock radios allow time setting for the alarm as hour/minute, but this one only has only (-/+) time setting. If you sometimes like to set a PM alarm for an occasional late nap, it can take a minute to scroll from your normal AM setting to the PM setting and then back again to AM after the nap. I prefer to have the hour/minute setting for easy changes to alarm time so this one's going back to the store. Not bad, but not perfect for me.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jiller
Chicago burb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best of most worlds.
7/16/2011

Customer review by metamom

5.0 stars by metamom

I've had mine for almost 2 years now and I love it! I have power outages in my neighborhood a lot and this clock always gets me up on time. I like the large display and the blue LED's. Also, the increasing volume on the alarm is very nice. It wakes me gently with soft sound that gets louder over time. It's very nice to be able to have an alarm for the week and another for the weekends and I don't have to reset it every day. And, the way the alarm turns off is nice...once you get used to it. There is a hard switch on the side to turn it off, but there is also a button on the top that turns it off for just that day. Unfortunately, it's right next to the snooze button and I hit it by mistake a couple of times when I first got it. Now, I know exactly where the snooze is and never miss. The radio isn't great, but I never expect alarm radios to be just wonderful. That's what I have a stereo for. I'm actually just about to get one for my husband and nephew and was looking to see if Walmart still carries it. I'm so glad they still do. I may just buy a couple extras to give as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
metamom
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
highly recomended
10/1/2010

Customer review by V8Power

4.0 stars by V8Power

very nice having the choice of one alarm with music and the other with the buzzer or both the same. the mp3 input is very nice as well, although it does not have a cord that comes with it to hook up, but i had one laying around from a old computer speaker set. The smart set is also a nice feature. The bad thing is that the speaker does not have enough base, and that if you leave the 3.5mm mp3 input cord in you cant listen to a radio station. the only other problem i have with it is the radio antenna, because it is in thee power cord which for me is on the floor, so i had to take part of it and place under the alarm clock. (i am also in the basement so with any antenna i get low signal, same with my phone in my room i get 2 bars and as soon as i go upstairs i get full bars) On other reviews of this it says the tuner is not good but the key is to turn it at normal speed until close to the preferred station and then turn very slowly to get it right. to see the cable type in "Cables Unlimited - 25' 3.5mm Male to Male Stereo Cable" which is the smallest walmart has and is 25 footer so really you dont need one that long unless the clock as away from your bed, but basically it shows you how cheap they are and what they look like

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
V8Power
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed.
12/29/2011

Customer review by Zayray

5.0 stars by Zayray

All I wanted was a digital clock that has numbers which can be seen in the dark. I had to look hard to find a clock that didn't have red or green numbers (simply my preference) so all the extra things on this clock were just a plus. I was impressed by how big the numbers were, because they can be seen clearly from across the room without my glasses, yet the entire clock it self is small enough to travel with should I feel the need to. I am very happy with this product and would not hesitate to buy another if the need arose for myself or a friend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Zayray
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great for twenty bucks
1/18/2012

Customer review by Iliketheclockman

5.0 stars by Iliketheclockman

It sets the time, has batter back up, 2 alarms, and the blue light isn't as annoying when you're trying to sleep. After 6 months, no problems. It even set itself for daylight savings. It's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Iliketheclockman
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Emerson SmartSet Dual Alarm AM/FM Clock Radio With
12/19/2010

Customer review by cndsue

5.0 stars by cndsue

I bought this for my son - and it is awesome - we didn't have to set it when we first plugged it in, and we didn't have to reset it when the power went out! Good radio - great alarm that starts at a low beep and gets louder with each beep! Love this clock!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cndsue
hillsville, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/6/2012

Customer review by AIGMAN

4.0 stars by AIGMAN

I LOVE THIS RADIO. EASY TO SETUP. TIME WAS SET TO EASTERN TIME ZONE;EASILY CORRECTED. TWO PROBLEMS. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE REPLACED THE DAY I BOUGHT IT. THE SCREW TO OPEN SO YOU CAN GET TO THE BATTERY VERY VERY SMALL. BATTERY HAPPENED TO BE THE SAME AS I HAVE FOR MY GARAGE DOOR OPENER.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AIGMAN
SPRINGFIELD,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this Alarm Clock
1/28/2012

Customer review by frugalshopper28

5.0 stars by frugalshopper28

After ready many reviews I was debating giving it a try. People said it didn't set to the right time when they plug it in. But the sticker on it clearly says its set for a certain time zone. It has this paper taped to the top and tells you if you are not in that time zone push a certain button until you see yours. On the paper it lists time zones and you find yours and when you find your # then it automatically puts the correct time. Sound complicated but is not, It took literally seconds. People complained about the sound of the radio, Not for us, sounds great. Actually in the morning we keep it on while we get ready. Has regular radio sound. Nice=) People said it was between channels or something, but actually what it does is if it loses signal it searches for it. With out any interruptions of the station. I see it all the time moving the dial (digitally) moving from 107.9 to 108.0 to 107.8fm with no interruption to what I am listening to. I do prefer the radio to the beep. The beep doesn't get as load as the radio. Haven't given it to much of a chance because I need to make sure it wakes me up. So for some the beep may work fine. Love the product actually went and bought a second. Easy set up. And when it gets unplugged then re plugged in it automatically puts the correct time, and the alarms didn't have to be set again. (I always double check this to make sure, recommend you do the same, just in case. never know =] ) People complained about the light being to bright, but we like it. Its not blinding, Very sutel, makes it a little easier to get through room at night, but not enough to keep you awake. Not even as bright as a night light. Just right! God Bless=)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
frugalshopper28
Riverside Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T KNOW
11/1/2011

Customer review by FLIP47

4.0 stars by FLIP47

Had no problems when I bought it in Sept., 2011, then on Oct. 30th, 2011, I woke up and the clock was not working, turned on TV to make sure power had not gone out. Got up and it started working, but time was 19 minutes fast so set it to right time, half hour later had to set it again cause it was 30 minutes fast, finally unpluged it and it reset itself when plugged back in and has worked great ever since. Hope this doesn't happen often.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FLIP47
BlACK River Falls, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
acceptable
12/25/2010

Customer review by nonamefits

3.0 stars by nonamefits

A reasonable value for the price. The blue numbers are a bit intense. Radio reception is poor but I think that's more the fault of my location than the radio.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nonamefits
Citrus county, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by KathyL13

5.0 stars by KathyL13

I bought 2 of these clocks and they were extacly what I wanted. They were easy to set up and I LOVE the blue light soooo much better from the normal orange/amber. Am very satisifed with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KathyL13
Eufaula, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great clock
4/12/2012

Customer review by lincv11

5.0 stars by lincv11

This is my fourth emerson smart clock you never have to set another clock again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lincv11
westbury ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
11/25/2011

Customer review by mycatsrlazy

1.0 stars by mycatsrlazy

I bought this seeing the reveiws were good overall and liked the features it listed. When I picked it up from the store the box was not in good shape (had been opened and damaged slightly). When I got home and plugged it in, the date and time did great in setting up by itself but the stations were terrible. I could only get one station if that to come in and even that wasn't all clear, All other channels were static. I tried another room and still same thing. Once I got a station to come in somewhat, I realized what the digital station was displaying on the clock was not actually that station. The station that was displayed would fluctuate and not stay at one station. The station that was actually playing was not even in the flucuating numbers (ex. I wanted 105.7 and the radio was going back and forth from 105.4 - 105.8 and the station that was playing was 106.3). Was very diappointed on this clock radio. It's possible that this radio was a returned item before I bought it but I returned it as defective and decided not to buy another one. Too bad though I did like the features it had.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mycatsrlazy
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
2/7/2012

Customer review by RosyPie

5.0 stars by RosyPie

I had an Emerson clock Radio before but I like this one even better. It changes time automatically for daylight savings time and is a very dependable alarm. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RosyPie
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Alarm Clock Radio!
3/17/2012

Customer review by jpg391

5.0 stars by jpg391

Just about everything is set automatically for you when it is plugged in. All you have to is push a couple of buttons to set the clock for the time zone you live in. Then set the alarm and radio station.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jpg391
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/9/2010

Customer review by swish8

4.0 stars by swish8

cheap. works great

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
swish8
green bay, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great alarm clock, terrible radio
7/27/2012

Customer review by Frogger0922

5.0 stars by Frogger0922

If you need a nice, dual alarm clock this is very nice. If you want a radio, avoid. Dual settings, automatically sets time (nice after power outage), big numbers -- all very nice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Frogger0922
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, compact alarm clock
2/1/2012

Customer review by Thanks2China

4.0 stars by Thanks2China

If you're looking for an alarm clock with fairly large numbers and with a battery backup (lithium), this might be the clock for you. It's easy to use and has a dimmer switch, too. Now for the drawbacks: If you need to set the alarm for two different times during the week or weekend you're out of luck because the alarm has just one setting for Mon-Fri and another for Sat and Sun. Also, the radio's sound quality isn't good but it performs fine as an alarm.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thanks2China
Downey CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not loud enough
12/1/2011

Customer review by MsBailey

2.0 stars by MsBailey

Bought this for my aged mother, who has a hard time waking in the morning. She wanted to wake up to music, but the radio doesn't play loud enough, except for light sleepers. The buzzer is adequate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MsBailey
Xenia, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews