Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 255 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

255 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

255 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
182
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 246 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews
Brother 770
1/10/2016

Customer review by JEBSEMB

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by JEBSEMB
by JEBSEMB

I am thoroughly pleased with this machine. I also have the PE 780D and it does a wonderful job. I wanted to have a backup and found the 770 does the same thing, just doesn't have all the Disney patterns so I was able to save quit a bit by purchasing the 770 for the backup. I would highly recommend the 770 for anyone who is beginning to do embroidery and still be able to use it for craft items as the 5x7 hoop is the perfect size hoop for most craft items and the 4x4 hoop, which you can purchase also works with this machine. The only difficult feature is the screen size for viewing the picture of the item but if you copy your downloaded files to the memory stick properly you can use the folder names to identify your patterns. You can also identify the order of the files by reviewing the memory stick on your computer to determine the order of the file patterns as they come up in the same order on the machine when loaded.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEBSEMB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great warranty
1/23/2016

Customer review by kbeulah

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by kbeulah
by kbeulah

The PE770 was within my budget, couldn't wait to upgrade from my SE400. Pros: If you have started on an SE400, you will have little trouble learning the 770. The designs I use are from Urban Threads, and I have never had issues with stitching them out. In fact, the designs are the main driver for me getting a bigger machine. Cons: It stopped working right at 750,000 stitches. In the shop now, don't know what happened. Great warranty, though. Had to take it 75 miles north to get it fixed. Of course, it died before Christmas, so I could not do any projects that I planned for the holiday season. The designs do not show up very well on the lcd display. The best thing to do is only load one design on a thumb drive and download that one. That way, you won't stitch out something you don't know. Join a users group to learn tricks and hints. They have helped me, along with watching YouTube videos. Overall, this is a great machine for someone like me - a hobbyist that doesn't want to spend thousands of dollars but still wants to do great things.

kbeulah
Beulah, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Machine
8/12/2011

Customer review by pkstauch

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by pkstauch
by pkstauch

I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature!

Was this review helpful? (69) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkstauch
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value for the Price!
4/18/2014

Customer review by AggieLady02

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by AggieLady02
by AggieLady02

I originally purchased a Singer Futura XL400 but returned it the next day after numerous/continual problems. I bought this to replace it and couldn't be happier. My mother in law has a very expensive Brother Innovis embroidery machine and this has most of the same features and functions as well as equal ease of use. Set-up is a breeze and there are on screen animations to guide you through anything you may need to know. The embroidery is beautiful and neat- comparable to a much nicer machine. I did have an issue with my bobbin thread showing on the top with my first practice piece, but after researching it, I realized I just needed to re-thread it with the foot up (otherwise the tension is off). Easy fix. I have even downloaded images and fonts to use with this machine and they all work great! My next purchase will be Elipse hoop set for added versatility, however the included hoop is a great size and works just fine. Overall its a great value and produces high quality embroidery designs and lettering. I am very pleased with the performance of this embroidery machine.

Was this review helpful? (164) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AggieLady02
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed
12/27/2015

Customer review by Shelsy

1.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Shelsy
by Shelsy

I was so excited about ordering this item. I had the brother SE400 and wanted a larger machine. But, right out of the box there were issues with the 770. The automatic threader won't work. I decided to roll with it anyway and thread the machine by hand. It continued to go downhill from there. With the correct stabilizer in place, it bunches up my fabric and gathers it too tightly, ruining my project. Then, somehow the thread stops feeding through the machine. Somewhere between 3 & 4 the tension locks up completely and it snaps the thread. Sometimes it jams in the machine and I have to work it to loosen it up. After a week of trying to make it work, I'm giving up. I'm sending it back and ordering a new one. From the reviews I've read, this is a problem that can happen, but not often. I'm willing to try my luck again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shelsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good embrodery
1/23/2013

Customer review by mondayblues

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by mondayblues
by mondayblues

I have had the PE770 embroidery machine for awhile but was a little afraid of this type of machine. I have always had a plain sewing machine, never one this detailed. After I read instructions I venture out to do one color embroidery. It turned out great. When my grand-daughter got married she wanted me to embroidery the initials of the bridesmaids on a dress coat for each girl. I was worried about setting the distance between letters and getting them balanced, but they turned out fine. Just a lot of figuring when your ready to use, but it works good. Have done a few more items since and I plan on doing more. So far I'v enjoyed experimenting and learning as I go. It does a professional looking job. It has alot of built in patterns and Brother offers patterns online free. Walmart had the best price and the rebate was a bonus. Hope to have many years of use from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mondayblues
Willis,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Happy! Happy!
1/23/2016

Customer review by Bebe

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Bebe
by Bebe

I am very happy with my PE770 embroidery machine. It only embroidery but love it. I purchased a brother because I have a regular brother sewing machine which is a project runway machine. They both are very easy to use. Since this was my first embroidery machine I didn't want to spend thousands and then find out I didn't even like doing embroidery. This came with two hoops and I purchased the 5x12 a week later and have done over 2 dozen different things from a bib to a blanket.

Bebe
Jacksonville,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pe770
1/25/2016

Customer review by Tigger

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Tigger
by Tigger

I have had a brother machine for yrs, and love this one. So easy to use probably because know how to use one. So far no problems. Will see

Tigger
Palmetto, fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased.
7/13/2011

Customer review by alb1

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by alb1
by alb1

My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (89) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alb1
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Takes a bit
4/12/2011

Customer review by simplestitches

3.0 stars 4/12/2011 by simplestitches
by simplestitches

I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use. The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format. Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplestitches
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the machine
1/17/2016

Customer review by GrammyDowning

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by GrammyDowning
by GrammyDowning

Was a little afraid to bite the bullet and by a machine but after talking to several people they suggested this machine. I am so happy that I got this one with. Very easy to thread. Still a new Embroidery person but feel this machine makes it easy.

GrammyDowning
Shepherdsville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value
1/11/2016

Customer review by curley

4.0 stars 1/11/2016 by curley
by curley

I really love my new Brother PE770 embroidery machine. It is very user friendly, I have never owned an embroidery machine before and found the instructions to be clear and the machine itself easy to use, in fact I was able to embroider a piece right away.. the only thing I do not like is the screen because it does not show the design of the piece you are working on very clearly, more like blob. Other than that I really love it.

curley
Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this machine
2/8/2016

Customer review by unknown777

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by unknown777
by unknown777

Love the bigger frame

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unknown777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!!!!
12/1/2015

Customer review by Mimi0062

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Mimi0062
by Mimi0062

I'm new to embroidering. So when I bought my first machine I went into it blind. Brother PE 770 wasn't the first one I bought. I bought a Singer I am sad to say. I sewed on the machine for about 2 1/2 weeks and I made so many mistakes. I thought I am never going to get the hang of this. The last thing I sewed messed up in the middle of embroidering a design. I got up from the machine and boxed it back up and sent it back. A friend told me about the Brother PE 770 so I thought I would try it out. I was a bit scared being I had so much trouble with my first machine. When it arrived I was embroidering within a hour from taking it out of the box. I embroidered more in two days than I did the 2 1/2 weeks I had the other machine. I love this machine. I wouldn't think twice about buying another one... I am hooked!

Mimi0062
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing machine
1/16/2016

Customer review by GOOFY

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by GOOFY
by GOOFY

the pe-770 EMBROIDERY MACHINE IS AN AWESOME MACHINE FOR SURE. IVE HAD MINE FOR FEW MONTHS AND LOVE IT. YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS MACHINE. IF ANYTHING EVER HAPPENS TO IT I WILL REPLACE IT WITH THE SAME ONE.

GOOFY
VALPARAISO,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Issues with Operation Manual
1/4/2010

Customer review by SewGal

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by SewGal
by SewGal

I spent a couple of days reading and rereading the manual. The illustrations and instructions were clear for bobbin winding, threading, preparing the hoop, and embroidering the builtin designs, letters, and frames. The adjustment, layout, and size instructions were clear. Use of the EM memories, however, has been a challenge. I could not delete a pattern recalled from memory by following the manual. By accident, I discovered the pattern display must be touched to bring up the delete key. I have not been able to stitch a recalled pattern from an EM memory. I have an email request into Brother support for an explanation of how to do this. Since I purchased the PE770 to do labels for a family quilt collection, it is important to be able to create and size and postion alpha string patterns and store them and frames in memories before recalling and stitching. Also important to store them on a flash memory, which I haven't been able to test yet. The PE770 has a nice assortment of builtin designs, alphabets, frames, and borders. As for machine function, the operation and stitch quality is good. But he hoop does not seem to seat as firmly and precisely as I expected. And when the hoop was removed to check bobbin thread and replaced to embroider the same design enlarged with another color thread, the registration was off. Although I don't expect to do this regularly, I was surprised and disappointed with the result. I hope problems with the memories can be resolved, and if so I would give a higher rating.

Was this review helpful? (204) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewGal
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
1/29/2012

Customer review by NiniMorris

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by NiniMorris
by NiniMorris

When I purchased my Brother PE770, I had never used an embroidery machine before, although I am an experienced seamstress and quilter. I did my research prior to making the purchase. I have found the machine went above and beyond my expectations. Some have complained about the hoop being difficult to insert. It is only a matter of learning how much pressure you need to insert and remove the hoop. With practice it becomes so easy you don't even realize you are doing it. I have found it is very user friendly, and after receiving the machine and reading the manual once, I was able to produce my first embroidery. Within a few minutes I was able to do my first applique. The applique is what I use my machine the most . It produces professional quality results with minimum effort. While there is limited editing available internally, in order to completely design your own or edit purchased designs, it is really necessary to have an editing software. These can be purchased at low cost (with some being free or offering a free trial basis). The learning curve is not any larger than learning to use any computerized machine. I was producing work for customers with in a week. While this machine is designed for home use, I have built up a rather impressive business in the 2 short years I have owned this machine. While I would love to have a commercial machine, I have decided to purchase another Brother PE770 to add to my business. One week shy of the two year mark and I have put 5.5 million stitches on it. Nini

Was this review helpful? (278) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NiniMorris
Monroe, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
1/13/2016

Customer review by Xmangammy

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Xmangammy
by Xmangammy

This machine has performed flawlessly! I love watching it produce the designs, and have downloaded from various embroidery sites, and all designs have come out beautifully!

Xmangammy
Oro Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2010

Customer review by Craftmom44

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Craftmom44
by Craftmom44

Couldn't be more pleased. Easy to use and was using downloaded designs the first day. I have been using a very old machine for about a year, so not new to machine embroidery, and loving the larger field and unlimited capabilities possible with the USB connection. Found I had less thread breakage using the slower speed. I use small thread cones and found I needed a standing cone holder since they didn't fit well on the installed thread holder and it corrected a problem of needle breaking with threads not feeding properly, but that was not the fault of the machine, just my choice of thread manufacturer. I've had less than 3 weeks, so can't attest to durabilty, but Brother makes a great little machine hence my purchase. Value was wonderful, at least a $100 cheaper at Walmart than thru my Brother dealer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craftmom44
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use!
1/11/2016

Customer review by Queenie61

4.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Queenie61
by Queenie61

It is easy to thread and set up for working your garments.

Queenie61
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews