Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 343 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

343 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

343 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
239
4 stars
68
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
1-20 of 334 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews
Nice Machine
8/12/2011

Customer review by pkstauch

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by pkstauch
by pkstauch

I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature!

Was this review helpful? (93) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkstauch
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Brother 770
1/10/2016

Customer review by JEBSEMB

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by JEBSEMB
by JEBSEMB

I am thoroughly pleased with this machine. I also have the PE 780D and it does a wonderful job. I wanted to have a backup and found the 770 does the same thing, just doesn't have all the Disney patterns so I was able to save quit a bit by purchasing the 770 for the backup. I would highly recommend the 770 for anyone who is beginning to do embroidery and still be able to use it for craft items as the 5x7 hoop is the perfect size hoop for most craft items and the 4x4 hoop, which you can purchase also works with this machine. The only difficult feature is the screen size for viewing the picture of the item but if you copy your downloaded files to the memory stick properly you can use the folder names to identify your patterns. You can also identify the order of the files by reviewing the memory stick on your computer to determine the order of the file patterns as they come up in the same order on the machine when loaded.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEBSEMB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for the Price!
4/18/2014

Customer review by AggieLady02

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by AggieLady02
by AggieLady02

I originally purchased a Singer Futura XL400 but returned it the next day after numerous/continual problems. I bought this to replace it and couldn't be happier. My mother in law has a very expensive Brother Innovis embroidery machine and this has most of the same features and functions as well as equal ease of use. Set-up is a breeze and there are on screen animations to guide you through anything you may need to know. The embroidery is beautiful and neat- comparable to a much nicer machine. I did have an issue with my bobbin thread showing on the top with my first practice piece, but after researching it, I realized I just needed to re-thread it with the foot up (otherwise the tension is off). Easy fix. I have even downloaded images and fonts to use with this machine and they all work great! My next purchase will be Elipse hoop set for added versatility, however the included hoop is a great size and works just fine. Overall its a great value and produces high quality embroidery designs and lettering. I am very pleased with the performance of this embroidery machine.

Was this review helpful? (180) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AggieLady02
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Excited to start with machine embroidery
7/3/2016

Customer review by drbootsie

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by drbootsie
by drbootsie

I found it very easy to get started embroidering with this machine. It's easy to thread, directions are clear, and the touch screen is intuitive. I had some questions that weren't answered in the directions that came with the machine, but I found good answers quickly online. I read about many different embroidery machines, from low to very high price, but the PE770 does everything I want to try for a modest cost. Because I live far from any sewing machine sales rooms, my choices of machine brands were limited, but Brother is sold online by several distributors, and there is plenty of information about Brother sewing machines online, so I was able to make an informed choice for a machine that fits my needs. (I'm new to machine embroidery, but have used many sewing machines, so your mileage may vary.)

drbootsie
Pocahontas County, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Save yourself the hassle
4/1/2016

Customer review by Jb123

1.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Jb123
by Jb123

I had multiple tension issues with my brand new PE770. I adjusted the tension on the machine and the bobbin case to no avail, so that machine was replaced. Fast forward 2 months later and now I'm having the same exact issues on the replacement. Both machines worked great for a couple weeks before things got REALLY bad. I use only brother bobbin thread and only the bobbins that came with the machine. I called Brother and the lady was clueless. Her only comment was that it should be working correctly (exactly!!!) and told me I had take it in to get serviced which is 45min away no less. This is absolutely absurd! This machine is only 2 months old! I have 2 other friends who have returned their PE770 so I can say in complete confidence that the recent PE770s are substandard. Please save yourself the headache and get something else!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jb123
Would recommend to a friend? No
This machine is so user friendly
7/20/2016

Customer review by Gatornanny

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Gatornanny
by Gatornanny

This is my 2nd brother- PE770 1st one still in use. I love this machine and do a lot of items for friends & family. They love getting my gifts, almost as much as I enjoy making them. The PE- 770 is so user friendly that as like me someone new to embroidery can create beautiful designs in no time at all.

Gatornanny
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Embroidery PE-770
7/21/2016

Customer review by n4jill

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by n4jill
by n4jill

Found an advertisement on this Brother PE770 embroidery machine. It was easy to set up and had no problem in transferring any of my patterns and worked very well on the machine. I really love this machine.

n4jill
Warsaw, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good embrodery
1/23/2013

Customer review by mondayblues

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by mondayblues
by mondayblues

I have had the PE770 embroidery machine for awhile but was a little afraid of this type of machine. I have always had a plain sewing machine, never one this detailed. After I read instructions I venture out to do one color embroidery. It turned out great. When my grand-daughter got married she wanted me to embroidery the initials of the bridesmaids on a dress coat for each girl. I was worried about setting the distance between letters and getting them balanced, but they turned out fine. Just a lot of figuring when your ready to use, but it works good. Have done a few more items since and I plan on doing more. So far I'v enjoyed experimenting and learning as I go. It does a professional looking job. It has alot of built in patterns and Brother offers patterns online free. Walmart had the best price and the rebate was a bonus. Hope to have many years of use from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mondayblues
Willis,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Value
7/11/2016

Customer review by JToler

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by JToler
by JToler

Definitely a learning curve, but not difficult. The only issues I have are user error. I have used it for applique and monogrammed on different weights of fabrics with little problems, which is usually stabilizer and not the machine. I am pleased with the machine and would definitely purchase it again. My sewing skills are advanced which I feel maybe helps but not necessary.

JToler
Rupert, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my PE770
7/15/2016

Customer review by Dawn309

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Dawn309
by Dawn309

I have had my PE770 for over 5 years now. It has only been worked on once in all that time. I have hauled it all over the country in my RV and it always works great.

Dawn309
Weeki Wachee, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It!
7/14/2016

Customer review by Jb100

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Jb100
by Jb100

This is my 3rd embroidery machine & I find it very easy to use. Love that I don't have to hook it up to a computer, just use the USB stick. Highly recommend, even for beginners.

Jb100
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good machine
7/22/2016

Customer review by Melissa

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Melissa
by Melissa

I have owned this machine for almost 3 years. It made a weird noise and I used my warranty I bought thru Walmart with no issue. They couldn't fix it so they sent it to brother. It runs like a dream. Even when it was making a weird noise. I think most people have issues because they do not know how to get their item tight in the hoop. This machine is a workhorse for the price. I would definitely tell someone to purchase this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melissa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CLOSE TO EXPECTATIONS
7/11/2016

Customer review by JEAN51

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by JEAN51
by JEAN51

I have other Brother machines including 4x4 emb, so it wasn't hard to learn basics. Some difficulty using USB patterns, but cards are fine. Still have not used all the features.

JEAN51
Duncanville, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased.
7/13/2011

Customer review by alb1

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by alb1
by alb1

My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (91) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alb1
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well worth it!
7/5/2016

Customer review by Vicki

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Vicki
by Vicki

I had researched MANY different machines (not just Brother) when I was looking for a reasonably priced embroidery machine. The PE770 was just that machine!! Very user friendly. This machine is a beast! And so far, it hasn't had a problem with any of the threads I've purchased. Really enjoyed using this machine!!

Vicki
Bruceville-Eddy, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE MY MACHINE
7/3/2016

Customer review by knuthouse01

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by knuthouse01
by knuthouse01

I love my machine...can't believe I waited so long to get it. Even for someone not very computer literate, it is easy to figure out (thanks to youtube videos, and friends who also have this machine). My hope is to become proficient enough to actually make things to sell to raise money for our canine rescue group. Would HIGHLY recommend this machine!!!

knuthouse01
Cumming, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Takes a bit
4/12/2011

Customer review by simplestitches

3.0 stars 4/12/2011 by simplestitches
by simplestitches

I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use. The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format. Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplestitches
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
1/29/2012

Customer review by NiniMorris

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by NiniMorris
by NiniMorris

When I purchased my Brother PE770, I had never used an embroidery machine before, although I am an experienced seamstress and quilter. I did my research prior to making the purchase. I have found the machine went above and beyond my expectations. Some have complained about the hoop being difficult to insert. It is only a matter of learning how much pressure you need to insert and remove the hoop. With practice it becomes so easy you don't even realize you are doing it. I have found it is very user friendly, and after receiving the machine and reading the manual once, I was able to produce my first embroidery. Within a few minutes I was able to do my first applique. The applique is what I use my machine the most . It produces professional quality results with minimum effort. While there is limited editing available internally, in order to completely design your own or edit purchased designs, it is really necessary to have an editing software. These can be purchased at low cost (with some being free or offering a free trial basis). The learning curve is not any larger than learning to use any computerized machine. I was producing work for customers with in a week. While this machine is designed for home use, I have built up a rather impressive business in the 2 short years I have owned this machine. While I would love to have a commercial machine, I have decided to purchase another Brother PE770 to add to my business. One week shy of the two year mark and I have put 5.5 million stitches on it. Nini

Was this review helpful? (286) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NiniMorris
Monroe, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple to use and fun
6/13/2016

Customer review by Gits

4.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Gits
by Gits

I only gave 4 stars because retrieving designs from a flash drive is not as user friendly as I expected. The file representation is limited and if you have several similar files on the same flash drive, it can be tricky to choose the right one. Also, the bobbin winder did not wind the thread tight enough for a free standing lace project. But, I have discovered prewound bobbins and they are wonderful and cheaper than buying the thread and bobbins. All in all, this is a great machine for a beginner and very simple to thread and use. I have been using a Singer Futura C200 for about 7 years and the Brother is much simpler to use and the stitching is great.

Gits
Temple, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2010

Customer review by Craftmom44

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Craftmom44
by Craftmom44

Couldn't be more pleased. Easy to use and was using downloaded designs the first day. I have been using a very old machine for about a year, so not new to machine embroidery, and loving the larger field and unlimited capabilities possible with the USB connection. Found I had less thread breakage using the slower speed. I use small thread cones and found I needed a standing cone holder since they didn't fit well on the installed thread holder and it corrected a problem of needle breaking with threads not feeding properly, but that was not the fault of the machine, just my choice of thread manufacturer. I've had less than 3 weeks, so can't attest to durabilty, but Brother makes a great little machine hence my purchase. Value was wonderful, at least a $100 cheaper at Walmart than thru my Brother dealer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craftmom44
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews