Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
Great Machine
1/29/2012

Customer review by NiniMorris

5.0 stars by NiniMorris

When I purchased my Brother PE770, I had never used an embroidery machine before, although I am an experienced seamstress and quilter. I did my research prior to making the purchase. I have found the machine went above and beyond my expectations. Some have complained about the hoop being difficult to insert. It is only a matter of learning how much pressure you need to insert and remove the hoop. With practice it becomes so easy you don't even realize you are doing it. I have found it is very user friendly, and after receiving the machine and reading the manual once, I was able to produce my first embroidery. Within a few minutes I was able to do my first applique. The applique is what I use my machine the most . It produces professional quality results with minimum effort. While there is limited editing available internally, in order to completely design your own or edit purchased designs, it is really necessary to have an editing software. These can be purchased at low cost (with some being free or offering a free trial basis). The learning curve is not any larger than learning to use any computerized machine. I was producing work for customers with in a week. While this machine is designed for home use, I have built up a rather impressive business in the 2 short years I have owned this machine. While I would love to have a commercial machine, I have decided to purchase another Brother PE770 to add to my business. One week shy of the two year mark and I have put 5.5 million stitches on it. Nini

Was this review helpful? (192) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NiniMorris
Monroe, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Issues with Operation Manual
1/4/2010

Customer review by SewGal

4.0 stars by SewGal

I spent a couple of days reading and rereading the manual. The illustrations and instructions were clear for bobbin winding, threading, preparing the hoop, and embroidering the builtin designs, letters, and frames. The adjustment, layout, and size instructions were clear. Use of the EM memories, however, has been a challenge. I could not delete a pattern recalled from memory by following the manual. By accident, I discovered the pattern display must be touched to bring up the delete key. I have not been able to stitch a recalled pattern from an EM memory. I have an email request into Brother support for an explanation of how to do this. Since I purchased the PE770 to do labels for a family quilt collection, it is important to be able to create and size and postion alpha string patterns and store them and frames in memories before recalling and stitching. Also important to store them on a flash memory, which I haven't been able to test yet. The PE770 has a nice assortment of builtin designs, alphabets, frames, and borders. As for machine function, the operation and stitch quality is good. But he hoop does not seem to seat as firmly and precisely as I expected. And when the hoop was removed to check bobbin thread and replaced to embroider the same design enlarged with another color thread, the registration was off. Although I don't expect to do this regularly, I was surprised and disappointed with the result. I hope problems with the memories can be resolved, and if so I would give a higher rating.

Was this review helpful? (184) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SewGal
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Price!
4/18/2014

Customer review by AggieLady02

5.0 stars by AggieLady02

I originally purchased a Singer Futura XL400 but returned it the next day after numerous/continual problems. I bought this to replace it and couldn't be happier. My mother in law has a very expensive Brother Innovis embroidery machine and this has most of the same features and functions as well as equal ease of use. Set-up is a breeze and there are on screen animations to guide you through anything you may need to know. The embroidery is beautiful and neat- comparable to a much nicer machine. I did have an issue with my bobbin thread showing on the top with my first practice piece, but after researching it, I realized I just needed to re-thread it with the foot up (otherwise the tension is off). Easy fix. I have even downloaded images and fonts to use with this machine and they all work great! My next purchase will be Elipse hoop set for added versatility, however the included hoop is a great size and works just fine. Overall its a great value and produces high quality embroidery designs and lettering. I am very pleased with the performance of this embroidery machine.

Was this review helpful? (114) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AggieLady02
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
good machine for the price
11/20/2010

Customer review by sewgreart

4.0 stars by sewgreart

had a small learning curve after using my PE 200 for years but the manual was quite helpful. Enlarging the pages helped me because I was able to read and understand it easier you need to be aware that the machine counts 2 patterns as one from the USB drive. Spent an hour and a half figuring that out! There is only one hoop and thin material is hard to tighten in it. Bottom line; the machine makes beautiful designs. you can enlarge and decrease them easily. You can also turn them in any direction. I love using it

Was this review helpful? (89) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sewgreart
mulberry fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Machine
8/12/2011

Customer review by pkstauch

4.0 stars by pkstauch

I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature!

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pkstauch
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very pleased.
7/13/2011

Customer review by alb1

5.0 stars by alb1

My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
alb1
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
fantastic machine
12/11/2013

Customer review by StitchForYou

5.0 stars by StitchForYou

I did a lot of research on embroidery machines and this one is top-rated. I love it, and Walmart honestly had the best price!

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StitchForYou
San antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works as advertised
3/5/2011

Customer review by karoakequeen

5.0 stars by karoakequeen

This machine is easy to use right out of the box. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. there are several websights to get additional patterns for free or low cost. I would recommend this machine to anyone who is starting out with an embroidery machine. There are accessories that will work with this machine that are not very expensive. Over all, I really like this machine

Was this review helpful? (126) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
karoakequeen
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Machine
3/29/2010

Customer review by LovetoEmbroidery33

5.0 stars by LovetoEmbroidery33

This machine has done everything that I ever expected and then some. I would recommend this Embroidery Machine.

Was this review helpful? (54) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LovetoEmbroidery33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
More than I expected...AWESOME!!
5/5/2014

Customer review by MONOMOM

5.0 stars by MONOMOM

I had the machine up and running within 30-minutes! It is SO easy to use! The machine basically works itself. Easy threading - in fact - has an automatic threader which is a plus for me! I love the fact that I can download a design onto my USB Drive and pop it in the machine. I don't have to have a computer right next to it which is great! Hooping definitely takes practice - and I did end up purchasing a smaller 4x4 hoop just for smaller areas/items that I wanted to embroider such as collars, cuffs, ribbons, etc. The machine comes with the 5x7 hoop and I think it is the perfect size for just about anything! I even monogrammed a duffle bag! I did buy Sulky Embroidery Thread because I had read it was the best. I have not experienced any breaks or problems with the thread so far. It looks really nice too even though it is a little more expensive. I am still learning about stabilizers but I did purchase a light weight cut away, a medium weight cut away, and a water soluble stabilizer just to experiment The only thing I would add - is at least a software program to create monograms and edit designs. Yes, there are software programs out there but as a newbie, it has been overwhelming trying all the demos and then trying to decide. Plus they are ALL expensive! I feel that Brother could at least offer one with this machine - it doesn't have to be a Professional software - just one that would allow the creating and editing. I am a mother of 3 and I am a beginner -- this is my first embroidery machine and I did alot of research before deciding on this one.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MONOMOM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Takes a bit
4/12/2011

Customer review by simplestitches

3.0 stars by simplestitches

I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use. The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format. Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
simplestitches
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good embrodery
1/23/2013

Customer review by mondayblues

4.0 stars by mondayblues

I have had the PE770 embroidery machine for awhile but was a little afraid of this type of machine. I have always had a plain sewing machine, never one this detailed. After I read instructions I venture out to do one color embroidery. It turned out great. When my grand-daughter got married she wanted me to embroidery the initials of the bridesmaids on a dress coat for each girl. I was worried about setting the distance between letters and getting them balanced, but they turned out fine. Just a lot of figuring when your ready to use, but it works good. Have done a few more items since and I plan on doing more. So far I'v enjoyed experimenting and learning as I go. It does a professional looking job. It has alot of built in patterns and Brother offers patterns online free. Walmart had the best price and the rebate was a bonus. Hope to have many years of use from this machine.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mondayblues
Willis,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/18/2012

Customer review by Cajunrosedesigns

5.0 stars by Cajunrosedesigns

I purchased this machine for my daughter-in-law to be. She had been using mine but wanted one of her own. She is in love with it. She has created sooo many items with it and she has only just begun. It sews very, very smoothly and very easy to operate. Of course she is one to read the entire book before beginning to use it. (Not like me...i just like to jump in). The only feature she does not have that mine does is that you cannot put multiple images on the design set at once. But of course she sort of got around that and fine tuned her design area. She does plan on purchasing the software for that in the future. But for now she is having a ball....I would highly recommend it to anyone. LOL now my other daughter in law wants one!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cajunrosedesigns
Ville Platte, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful machine for all!!
1/11/2014

Customer review by Scrapjan

5.0 stars by Scrapjan

I originally ordered the pe 400 and returned it as it only had a 4x4 hoop!! I am so glad I got this machine the PE 770 that has the 5x7 hoop it works like a dream!! I have been appliqueing and monograming like crazy!! Love it!! And walmarts sale price was unreal!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scrapjan
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great embroidery machine for the money
3/17/2012

Customer review by mommy22girlies

5.0 stars by mommy22girlies

I got this embroidery machine about a year ago and didnt know how great it was until a had it awhile...I was a little scared of messing it up so I friend helped me get started. I have friends that have paid way more their machines compliment me on the work I do on it! I have to say to be careful of buying cheap appliques and alphabets from places you dont know about bc they sometimes dont stitch out right...I LOVE Planet Applique and Applique Market also I get fonts from 8 Claws and a Paw. The hoop is sometimes tricky to get out but for the money you can't beat this machine!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommy22girlies
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not hard to use.
3/16/2010

Customer review by Gagaof4

5.0 stars by Gagaof4

This embroidery machine is fantastic. I have not used the flash drive or the card slot yet, but will very soon. I wish the manual explained some things in more detail, but so far I have figured out everything. I am enjoying it, so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gagaof4
Fairview, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great inexpensive embroidery machine
9/5/2013

Customer review by knitnpj

5.0 stars by knitnpj

I have two Viking sewing/embroidery machines and bought this one as a back up when I thought one was damaged beyond repair. Like having an embroidery only machine as I don't have to adjust the tensions so much. The Brother PE770 is not as fast as the other two but fast enough and has a generous 5X7 embroidery field. Have seen nothing but good reviews for this machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
knitnpj
waxahachie, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for regular sewing
5/30/2010

Customer review by DenimFan

5.0 stars by DenimFan

Somehow I missed the fact that this was an embroidery-only machine. I wanted one that would also do regular sewing. I believe the value for the $ was excellent, but it wasn't what I wanted. I returned it but felt bad that I hadn't realized what it would do.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DenimFan
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great workhorse
12/1/2013

Customer review by Monogramseverything

5.0 stars by Monogramseverything

I have been using my machine for hours at a time day after day. It's a great work horse and value for the money. It's easy and quick to set up. I bought the Brother PED Basic to transfer designs from computer to card, I haven't tried using the USB port on this machine. I also love that you can save designs on this machine. Other great features are that it alerts you when bobbin thread and spool threads are running out.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Monogramseverything
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Machine has all the features I need.
10/15/2011

Customer review by XpertQuilter

5.0 stars by XpertQuilter

This machine has all the features I was looking for in an embroidery machine including onscreen enlarging and reducing patterns. It reads all my Brother embroidery cards. I can also upload embroidery patterns from a USB memory stick and save them for later retrieval. I love the color change feature that allows me to choose from several popular brands of embroidery thread. The machine is lightweight, super easy to thread, and the LCD panel is user friendly. Overall I think this was a good buy for the price I paid for the machine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
XpertQuilter
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 98 total reviews