Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
29
1-20 of 97 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Back to Bissell!
1/14/2010

Customer review by pickiness

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by pickiness
by pickiness

We have a 15 year old panasonic upright and a newer rainbow. Both are on the higher end of the vacuum world. Our 15 year old upright is finally loosing suction and I'm tired of the bags. So we started our search. Rather than going for another expensive vacuum we did some comparison shopping. Ultimately we brought home the Bissell Powergroom. We have a medium size house, pets and children and half thick pile carpet and the remainder tile and wood floors. Let me tell you this "cheap" vacuum made our semi white carpet (only a few years old) look like new again. It lifted the thick carpet and actually seamed to lift the dirt from way down too. Keep in mind this is after our 2k Rainbow, cleaning people and our semi expensive panasonic. The ONLY problem is the many plastic parts and the fact you can't stop the brush. I was worried about this. So rather than returning it, we went and got the other model we considered. This is the newer Hoover Purelyclean upright. I got it home and literally did a side by side test. WOW! There was no comparison. In fact, I immediately packed up the Hoover and will be keeping the Bissell. The Hoover did not lift our carpet like the Bissell. It did not have nearly the suction as the Bissell. And the retractible cord barely retracted. Took several tries. The only nod I would give to Hoover is not with the cleaning part, but rather the mechanism and housing around the power brush. It was higher quality and easier access. Nonetheless the warranty is the same (2 yrs) and we're keeping the more powerful, less expensive, same weight Bissell suction king. One last thing, which is minimal. The Hoover did have washable filters, but have fun trying to get to them. The canister and filters on the Bissell are logically accessible and very easy to take out.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickiness
Waukesha,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Vacuum
11/30/2009

Customer review by Walmart301

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by Walmart301
by Walmart301

Last night, we bought the Bissell PowerGroom Vacuum. The sunction was SuperB. It works so great and easy to assemble. It has a light where you can see even dark space. The cord is very long and the design was beatiful. Its easy to remove the dirt, no need for bags. It has a wide angle of cleaning. I love it and cleaned my house in less than 15 minutes where my old vacuum takes me an hour to vacuum the house. The cost is $98 at walmart, its really a good price for a great vacuum like this one.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmart301
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I don't know how I feel about this one!
5/3/2010

Customer review by AliyahsThought

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by AliyahsThought
by AliyahsThought

I love love love the product. It cleans very well, easy to clean the filters and access all parts of the model. I can even easily detach the bottom of the vacuum to release the spinning brush and clean it and replace the belt. I couldn't on my previous Bissell. Now the bad part...this is my third tme using it and the band/rubber belt/whatever it's called snapped! I'm upset about that, but the cleaning is still very superior. I love the vacuum so much that I will get it replaced and keep one or two extra bands in case it happens again. I read some other negative reviews that I am not having the same problem with so it may be an individual product issue. This vacuum does an excellent job picking up edges and does not spit dust back out and I have vacuumed both carpet and bare floor. My previous model did spit out dirt and I thought I was going to loose my mind.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AliyahsThought
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/16/2011

Customer review by HoustonPillu

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by HoustonPillu
by HoustonPillu

As far as suction and cleaning carpet is concerned it is a very good product. Appearance & color is nice. I found that the Filter for air, before entering the motor does not locks in place although it never came out in operation. The hand held brush for cleaning carpeted stairs rotates because of suction, thus if I press hard on the carpet it will stop spinning. But this is true for all manufacturer and models equipped with this kind of attachment. The flexible wand is stiff, if pulled to reach father place it will pull the vacuum cleaner instead of stretching the tube. If using any attachment the wand has to be removed from a connection and this open tube have to be closed with tissue paper or else the brush will throw any carpet fibers trapped on it back in the room through the opening. They should have put a feature to manually shut off the brush if not needed. Easy to empty the dirt. I liked the headlight feature. Overall, good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoustonPillu
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not What I had hoped for
8/6/2012

Customer review by Cat105945

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Cat105945
by Cat105945

The 1st time I tried to use the turbo brush attachment it sprang apart and flew everywhere, causing all the dust I had just vacuumed up to go flying around the room. I have had this vacuum since late March and only used it every other week or so and had to replace the belt 3 times. I remove any and all hair or other items that get wrapped around the bristle brush before and after each use. The last time I used it the motor started smoking and I went in search of the pre-motor filter that the user guide says is there thinking it may be the cause only to find out NO SUCH FILTER EXISTS. The vacuum did a pretty good job of cleaning, but it also attracted quite a bit of dust to just stick to the outside of the machine. After only a little more then 4 months I wouldn't have thought I'd be needing to buy another vacuum. I wish I would have read all of these reviews before buying because I wouldn't have bought this one that's for sure. Not sure I will even buy another bissle.

Comment from Joe - 8/17/2012

Sorry you've been unable to locate your pre-motor filter. It is located in the slide out tray underneath the dirt container. You can find instructions to clean it on page 12 of this user's guide: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=646&icid=ccrr If this has never been cleaned it can hurt your machines suction and smell like a dirty furnace filter. I hope this helps. *The post motor filter is located on the side of the machine. The pre-motor filter is under the dirt cup.

Cat105945
Lodi, Ca.
Gender:Female
It works.
1/12/2010

Customer review by CRAZY4KATIE

5.0 stars 1/12/2010 by CRAZY4KATIE
by CRAZY4KATIE

I purchased this vacuum at my local Walmart this evening. I went there to purchase the "Bissell Powerforce Turbo Bagless" after reading several good reviews. They were out of that model. There was one left in the "Powergroom" model. I went ahead and purchased it without knowing what the reviews said because I needed a vacuum. As soon as I got home, I got on Walmart.com and read the reviews for this model (just out of curiosity). I was a little worried when I noticed there were only four reviews. My husband assembled it in just a matter of minutes. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it picks up everything. I have vacuumed our floor two times this evening and it amazes me at how much it has fluffed our carpet back up. We have two children and our carpet has a lot of traffic so it was beaten down pretty bad. We are now able to see our foot prints in the carpet because it fluffed it so much. I only gave it four stars for durability because I have only owned it for a few hours, but it appears to be well built.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRAZY4KATIE
ELIZABETH, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product ...
3/20/2010

Customer review by stephnms

5.0 stars 3/20/2010 by stephnms
by stephnms

I didn't buy this vacuum to get rid of pet hair like most of the people who've rated it so far - I just wanted a good vacuum with great suction that would hold up well. I've been very pleased with this product so far, and I've been amazed at the dirt it has picked up. After the first use, my carpets looked brand new. The last two vacuums I owned were Eureka's, and they were horrible. From now on, it's Bissell for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stephnms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good vacuum, but not totally convinced
2/8/2010

Customer review by janettiepoo

5.0 stars 2/8/2010 by janettiepoo
by janettiepoo

So yesterday my Dirt Devil broke, right as I was getting ready to vacuum massive amounts of dog hair. After looking at walmart.com and reading some reviews, I decided I would go to the store and check it out. I ended up buying this Bissel for about $100, which isn't bad as vacuums go. I got it home and assembled it with no problems, and then vacuumed and vacuumed and vacuumed until I just couldn't vacuum any more! I lost count of how many times I emptied the canister--which was much less of a hassle to empty than the one I had before. I also really like the furniture brush/tool that came with it, as it actually got my couch clean! So far, I'm loving the vacuum... I'm just not totally convinced as to its durability, after reading some other reviews. Only time will tell, I guess.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
janettiepoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice at first
7/6/2010

Customer review by stacygrz

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by stacygrz
by stacygrz

I bought this vacuum in November after my last Bissell died. I loved it at first. It made the carpet stand up nice and really soft to walk on. Was instantly disappointed with the little hand held brush, seemed to just spin, not pick anything up. Now it is July and the repair shop that Bissell recommended wants to charge me $90 to fix it. Kind of funny thing, the guy at the repair shop called Bissell vacuums "cheap disposables". He said Bissell is owned by Hoover and is the name that Hoover uses to market their cheap disposable vacuums that aren't meant to last more than a year. And while they do often offer 1-2 year warranties, they have so many limitations they aren't warranties. My roller mechanism froze up, the motor died on the last one, neither was covered by the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stacygrz
Devner, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
WOW!
3/28/2011

Customer review by verypicky4myfam

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by verypicky4myfam
by verypicky4myfam

After searching for a inexpensive vacuum that we could use to clean quick messes from the dogs and kids on my bare floors, we settled on the Bissell Powergroom. Little did I know that it would work as good if not better on my carpets than my expensive Kirby! I love how you can see the dirt and pet hair. The floor actually looked cleaner and smelled so much better. Now, only time will tell if this $80 vacuum will last, some of the parts seemed like cheap plastic. The vacuum is also heavy and a little hard to push. But as far as suction power, all we could do was vacuum over and over (at least an hour in one room) until no more dirt was pulled up. With the canister I could actually see what I was missing with my Kirby! By the way, we vacuumed half the room with the Kirby first, then for kicks used the power groom. I have a zip lock back full of hair and dirt to prove what my other vacuum missed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
verypicky4myfam
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
J-U-N-K
1/18/2010

Customer review by LilDsmommy

1.0 stars 1/18/2010 by LilDsmommy
by LilDsmommy

This product is JUNK. I am so disappointed. It blows dirt/dust back out somehow(and yes the dirt container was empty), it doesn't pick up any more than my $30(christmas time special a few yrs. back) does. It is so weak, while going along walls and furniture, it won't pick up anything. You have to literally roll it right over items to get it to pick them up...and even at that, it DOESN'T ALWAYS. However, the most disappointing part is how it blows debris back out. I am taking this back this week and getting something else!

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilDsmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
FRAGILE
1/18/2010

Customer review by maddevildog

1.0 stars 1/18/2010 by maddevildog
by maddevildog

HANDLE WITH CARE!! I bought this vacuum and brought it home to vacuum. I went to empty the container and then once I put it back on the release handle broke off. Only had it home for 10 minutes and the thing broke. No force was used at all. This is the third Bissell owened in two years. The first two just lost suction after 1 year. Thought I would give Bissell another chance. Never again will I buy a Bissell Vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maddevildog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Cheaply made!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Justice

3.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Justice
by Justice

This vacuum does pick up okay; however, when I try to remove the waste receptacle, it gets jammed on the cyclone piece that becomes detached each time I use the machine. I end up having to pull very hard to get it to release. The lever loosens it only a fraction of an inch. A lot of times some dirt ends up back on the floor because of that. I have to reattach the cyclone pieces each time I dump the dirt. It seems to still pick up pretty well, even though those pieces are not very stable. It is a pain, though. Also, I had used a flea powder on my carpet recently, and ever since I vacuumed it my vacuum now roars with each use! It used to be a quieter machine. I don't think I am that rough on vacuums, but this one started messing up after about a year. The roaring thing was only this last month or so (close to 2 years after purchase).

Comment from Joe - 9/12/2012

Thanks for your review Justice. The upper tank filter may need to be replaced securely as it shouldn't hit the dirt cup when you pull it out. If the threads are damaged you can contact us to get a new one. Additionally, make sure to thoroughly clean all of your filters as that could cause the vacuum to sound loud. I hope this helps.

Justice
1/20/2011

Customer review by bigsister18

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by bigsister18
by bigsister18

Works very well. We have owned it for maybe 6 months and 2 days a week we have at least 10 people in our house. Which means sometimes there is up to 6 kids and 3 dogs in the house.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigsister18
Elkins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth it
5/4/2010

Customer review by idahoshoppernerd

2.0 stars 5/4/2010 by idahoshoppernerd
by idahoshoppernerd

I bought this one to replace my old eureka.and it was not worth it.it needs regular maintenance since it has like plastic edges in the back of the dust collector bucket and a lot of dust gets stuck in there.Plus the little blue filter(that is on top of the dust collector) that looks like a strainer collects a lot of dust too.So keep a toothbrush handy to clean those areas and the little blue filter...they love collecting dust.Also something I noticed is that pulls the threads on the carpet,and I dont' even set the dial on the lowest floor setting.And on top of that,speeds really fast and the suction on the vac is not paired with the spinning brush.is like it spins fast but it doesn't pick up the dust with the same strenght as the brush...not worth what I paid

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idahoshoppernerd
Nampa,ID.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It really cleans well!!!
1/9/2010

Customer review by marjala

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by marjala
by marjala

I researched and decided on this model to replace a nine year old Dirt Devil Platinum which still works but my carpets have started looking beaten down. We all have allergies and I figure the Hepa filter and cyclonic action hopefully would get the dust better. I looked at Dyson products but could not rationlize the price. I have owned this one week and love it. The first time I vacuumed it pulled really fine dust out of my carpets and rasied the nap. It is quieter than my Dirt devil and weighs less. The only thing I am concerned about is it mostly plastic except for the beater bar. I also do not like the fact the beater bare does not stop when you put it into the upright position to use the above the floor tools. So be careful leaving it in one spot on carpeting when using the above floor tools. We own a short haired dog who sheds and between the turbo brush and the upholestry tool it gets the dog hair off the sofa and chairs. I only gave four stars for durability because I am fearful some plastic part will break, so I did purchase the extended warranty to hopefully protect my purchase from being a waste. So far so good and for about $100 bucks I am pleased!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marjala
Capital region of NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT
10/15/2010

Customer review by MrsWatson09

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by MrsWatson09
by MrsWatson09

We purchased this vacuum about 5 months ago and LOVE it. We have 2 ferrets, a blue heeler and a husky mix, which leads to a lot of pet hair in our home. This vacuum not only gets all of the hair out of both the carpet and the furniture, but it leaves a visible difference in the room, which is then clean enough for my to put the baby on. It is very easy to empty and is super user friendly. It's also a great looking machine. The price is great, which is always a plus. As I've said we have only had it for 5 months so I don't know if it will last for years, but even if it dies after 1 year I will still purchase this same vacuum again!! But I've not had any problems with it so far. I've never loved a vacuum so much!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsWatson09
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Vacuum
5/6/2012

Customer review by mlinfla

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by mlinfla
by mlinfla

I could not believe the pet hair, lint, etc. that this vacuum pulled out of my carpet. Being bagless is even a greater feature and the see through canister lets you see when you need to empty and shows what is lurking in your carpets and bare floors that you're not even aware of. 5 different settings make it great for bare floors to heavy pile carpeting. I have recommended this to several people already and will continue to do so. So happy I purchased this. I use to hate to vacuum and now my neighbor comments on how much I vacuum. Because it's lightweight and easy to use with the 35' cord, it makes a dreadful chore a delightful experience. Keeping the dirt out of my carpets, I feel, will give my carpet a long life expectancy.

mlinfla
Marianna, Florida
Gender:Female
WORST VACUUM EVER!!!
10/16/2011

Customer review by MyHusbandSaysImAwesome

1.0 stars 10/16/2011 by MyHusbandSaysImAwesome
by MyHusbandSaysImAwesome
Walmart associate

I bought this vacuum two months ago. From day one it had horrible suction...I mean HORRIBLE suction, at least compared to my TEN YEAR OLD Dirt Devil. Also, any time I would be vacuuming, the "onboard tools" would fall right off. Last week I was smelling a burning sound so I shut it off for a while, check it out and everything looks fine, so I continue vacuuming and I start noticing little black balls of something trailing wherever I vacuum. I tip the vacuum up and the entire wheel assembly rockets off and goes sprawling across the floor. The vacuum had melted the wheel assembly. Just useless. I turned around and bought a Hoover Elite Rewind in the same price range and I love it. If you are thinking about this vacuum, change your mind. I have had problems with it since I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyHusbandSaysImAwesome
Las Vegas, NV.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
The Powergroom is a great value vacuum cleaner
2/4/2012

Customer review by Treasure the Kids

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Treasure the Kids
by Treasure the Kids

This vacuum cleaner is compared to my former old vacuum cleaner. Bissell pros: seems quieter, headlight seems brighter, front edge seems lower because can go under small spaces better, dust collection cup removes and is returned easily, nice long cord (maybe a little too long), a little heavier, but manageable, doesn't have a dusty smell that the old one had when it is used. Bissell cons: On/Off button on left side is low and not that convenient because I'm right handed (if it was about 3" higher it would be better), handle is solid with no opening for your hand (the old vacuum cleaner handle has an opening for your hand so it does not slip out of your hand ) so you have to make sure you grip it tight.

Treasure the Kids
Sacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews