Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
67
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
1-20 of 305 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews
great vacuum!
2/13/2010

Customer review by klhanks5

4.0 stars 2/13/2010 by klhanks5
by klhanks5

I have to say I read a lot of reviews before buying this vacuum. I finally settled on this one and knew the issues I would have before buying. The filters on this vacuum do have to be kept clean in order to avoid some of the problems that other people are experiencing. It will lost suction and make a high pitched noise if you don't keep the filters clean. I clean mine after every use and have had the vacuum for 4 years. I was online today looking to see what the price was as I was going to buy another one my husbands office. I think this is an amazing vacuum but you have to be willing to keep the filters clean, which really you should be doing with any vacuum! Just know that this vacuum is worth the money if you are willing to take care of it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klhanks5
Spanish Fork, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My Favorite Vacuum
4/7/2010

Customer review by hschoolingmomof2

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by hschoolingmomof2
by hschoolingmomof2

We have owned this vacuum for about 4 years now. It is the first vacuum that has lasted me over a year. We have 5 pets-2 dogs and 3 cats, plus 2 kids. My vacuums have to work and they have to last. I love this bissell. I have never had to replace the belt and the motor has never even waivered. I had a bit of trouble with the hand held vacuum device, but I called Bissell and they sent me out a new one. I also own the Bissel 2x cleaning machine, which I love and the Pet Hair Eraser, that I don't particularly like. The Lift off has convenient attachments and the filters are easily cleaned and emptied. I don't really find them messy, but if you are not familiar with bagless, I can see where you might think they are. This is by far the nicest bagless I have owned. We have owned Dirt Devil, Hoover, Eureka and some Shark kind. Even the Pet Hair Eraser isn't as good as this one. The suction on the Lift off is excellent and REALLY picks up the dog hair. The other thing I like about it is that when the unit is in the upright position, the rotator bar automatically stops. I had a Hoover that ate through my new carpet because the rotator bar kept going. You can also turn the rotator bar off and on and it works well on hard floors. The foam filters can be washed and air dried. I purchased a second set so that I can rotate them without waiting for the filters to dry. I even washed the hepa filter, though you are not suppose to. Having used many kinds of vacuums, I HIGHLY recommend the Lift Off.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hschoolingmomof2
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best vacuum for Mohawk smartstrand silk carpet
12/5/2013

Customer review by bargaincrazy17

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by bargaincrazy17
by bargaincrazy17

I love to vacuum now, really!!! I have been trying to push my older Hoover windtunnel on my new Mohawk Smartstrand Silk carpet for months. It's awful! It was almost impossible to push and left deep grooves. I had read online that finding a vacuum for this type of carpet was near impossible and someone recommended this Bissell 89Q9. I ordered it online with free shipping and it arrived very quickly. My son put it together for me and I put it on the highest setting and started to vacuum. I am absolutely thrilled at the ease that it glides over the carpet. Plus, when I tested the vacuum for the first time I had just vacuumed with my older vacuum so I didn't expect to find any dirt in the canister. I was shocked when I saw how much dust/dirt it still picked up. This vacuum also works great on my hardwood floors. There are two or three other vacuums recommended by others for the silk carpet but this one had all the features I was looking for - good price, bagless, and onboard tools.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargaincrazy17
Plainwell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum
2/2/2014

Customer review by RuralCountryGal

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RuralCountryGal
by RuralCountryGal

I have a 2 year old lab that sheds like crazy and this vacuum pickups all of his hair with no problems. The first time I emptied the vacuum, I thought with all the hair I picked up I could of got another pet out of it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RuralCountryGal
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great on heavy carpet
11/11/2013

Customer review by xyzpdqabcnbc

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by xyzpdqabcnbc
by xyzpdqabcnbc

I bought this vacuum based on a blog site of a lady that had the same problem I did. Basically we bought Shaw carpet, platinum series frieze. I knew before buying the carpet the vacuum may be an issue based on one salesman's comments. Sadly my Hoover Windtunnel can not push through the carpet. This vacuum glides with the beater bar on well enough. The suction is good. Perhaps the best thing ever is the detachable canister for our stairs. The other vacuum I own is also an upright and it is nothing short of dangerous when I had to use that thing on the stairs. The canister when detached is very light weight. The "pet brush" attachment is great at picking up the new carpet fibers still coming out and my daughter's very long hair. We do not have a pet but we have some serious hair issues just from my daughter. I do not know long term how durable this will be. Other buyers complain about suction after a while. It mentions on other sites and the manual you MUST keep the filters clean. I am not crazy about bagless vacuums but there are other features to make up for this vacuum. One poor design was detaching to hose. You can not wrap your hand around the entire hose to pull it off. There is a little lip sticking up to help in removing it but it is really not helpful. My issue is I had carpal tunnel surgery earlier in the year. I need to get a firm grip on things and my grip just doesn't feel very firm. That being said I can still get it off. Eventually I will get used to it. Pros: great on stairs has a very high setting for the spinning brush detachable canister lot's of attachements light canister bagless because you don't have to buy expensive bags pretty long electrical cord you can turn the spinning brush on or off easy to find switch to turn the unit on Con's: It is a little heavy when pushing the entire unit you must keep the filters clean or your suction will suffer bagless (this is a con for me) stiff removal of the hose for attachments the electrical cord must be manually hand wrapped

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xyzpdqabcnbc
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum
6/30/2011

Customer review by GCMonie

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by GCMonie
by GCMonie

Love this machine. It picks up everything and is awesome with pet hair. I have two dogs that shed constantly and a long-haired cat so I have to vacuum every day. Up until now, I have not found a vacuum that could match my old Kirby. This one one does (and it's much lighter too). I also love it that you can lift off the canister for stairs and such. My only suggestion would be to offer a longer hose.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GCMonie
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value, Flexible Performance
10/11/2010

Customer review by PhilWV

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by PhilWV
by PhilWV

The is our second Bissell "lift off" vacuum. The first unit lasted more than 6 years, and the only failure was a simple-to-replace power switch. The switch is readily available from site like the RepairClinic for about $5.00. We compared this Bissell "lift off" to top brands, like Dyson, and found the Bissell suction performance to be within 90% of the Dyson product. So, for a mere 10% extra suction...the Bissell offers huge advantages over the Dyson. For example, the "lift off" featire allow you to remove the main vacuum and suction hose, and attach of suction-powered mini beater brush and clean your cargeted steps like never before. Bissell invested a lot of time and money in designing this "lift off" feature. The feature makes the vacuum so much more portable you will enjoy cleaning steps, curtains, and other hard to reach places. When finished, the lift off vacuum simple drops back into place on the main unit...without any difficulty...due to the solid guide pin and cradle design. Never a mis alignment...never a pinched cord or hose. The "utility" of any product is a function of its versatility, ease of use, and performance under varying circumstances. Bissell got this one right. Buy this vacuum without hesitation. Cleaning the machine is simple, easy to do, and quick...which saves time. The only maintenance is replacing two filters...to ensure high-performance filtering of the vacuum's exhaust air to trap dust mites and other microscopic particles with an industry leading HEPA filter. The charcoal layer of the HEPA filter actually traps oders and freshens the air as you vacuum. In short...great vacuum...great value...BUY IT with confidence that you will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhilWV
Charles Town, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love, love, love this vacuum
4/9/2014

Customer review by UtahDawn

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by UtahDawn
by UtahDawn

After getting new carpet for my home (soft, plush Mohawk) I almost despaired of ever being able to clean it. Tried the Dyson, Shark, Eureka, Dirt Devil. Kept buying vacuums and brought them home, and couldn't move them on the carpet, so had to keep returning them. And don't try taking a carpet sample in and trying that out. We did that. Took a large piece of carpet into Lowe's and tried all their vacuums on it. The Eureka worked great. Got it home, and I had to struggle to just move it on my carpet. At the store though we didn't have the pad under it. Finally, because of reviews here, I ordered the Bissell 89Q9 from Walmart. It came in just a day, and I can't believe how beautifully it works. I don't even have it on the highest setting, and it moves like a dream. Seems to take up a lot of stuff from carpets that were supposed to be clean. So I highly recommend this vacuum, especially for those very soft plushes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UtahDawn
Farmington Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What you need to know
7/1/2014

Customer review by AnAppealToHeaven

3.0 stars 7/1/2014 by AnAppealToHeaven
by AnAppealToHeaven

First the good. I have had it for at least 6 months now and the suction is still great. Light enough for me to carry up and down stairs. I like being able to empty it everytime I vacuum. Now the bad: 1)The pet hair handle, which is one of the main features that I bought this vacuum for, is pretty much useless. Doesn't bother me so much because the vacuum itself is good at getting up the pet hair up. 2)Design Flaw A- There are two sections to the filter/canister portion. There is no way to access and clean the upper part where the filters are. Dirt and hair just stays up there. If there's a way to clean it, I haven't figured it out yet. When you take the lower canister off to empty it, some of the dust and dirt that is still in the upper portion falls out onto the ground and the vacuum cleaner itself! 3)Design flaw B- The 'lift off' part neither stands up, nor lies flat. You constantly wrestle with this thing. It is tall and skinny, with the hose portion attached at the top. The slightest movement of the hose causes it to fall over. The back is where the hose attaches so you can't lay it down on that side. But the front is curved so it doesn't lie flat either. The sides are also a no-go for the same reasons. One side has the hooks for the power cord, for example. It's always rocking, rolling, falling. 4) Design Flaw C- the exhaust is at the back so it blows directly on to you. Use this thing for more than 5 minutes and you are being bathed in hot stinky air. And I only use it to vacuum one bedroom, a hall and an area rug! I dont hate it, but I cannot recommend it. Show details

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnAppealToHeaven
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
So practical
4/1/2014

Customer review by Monimary

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Monimary
by Monimary

Finally a vaccum cleaner that makes sense, powerful, dirt cup easy to empty. Long cord, really picks up dog hair, I have two shelties, and it picks up the big clumps of hair no problem. Thanks Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monimary
St.cloud, Fla.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for SmartStrand Silk Carpet
6/18/2014

Customer review by michellesemd

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by michellesemd
by michellesemd

I bought this vacuum because other reviewers said it worked on SmartStand Silk carpet. The vacuum does work well on the carpet. As other reviewers have noted, the attachment pieces fall off, but this is a minor problem to deal with in a reasonably priced vacuum that works on SmartStrand Silk carpet. It also seems to work well on Masland Miami carpet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michellesemd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works on New Soft Nylon Carpeting
6/30/2014

Customer review by oregonstategrad

4.0 stars 6/30/2014 by oregonstategrad
by oregonstategrad

I LOVED by old vacuum cleaner......however, after purchasing new Soft Nylon Carpets I quickly learned that my old vacuum would NOT work on it!!! I began researching ones that would work. Some of the carpet manufacturers put out lists of vacuums they recommend, so I began by checking those out. The Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9 was one of those. It was in the mid to low price range and got very good reviews. It was one of the only ones that reviewers specifically talked about it working on the New Soft Nylon Carpets!!!! Thus my decision. So far so good....the adjustable carpet/floor heights is what makes the difference. Here is my only complaint: the WEIGHT....It weighs 26 lbs versus my old one which weighed only 10 lbs......I decided that I will keep this new vacuum on our lower floor where the new carpet is and have put our old one upstairs. I can use this one on the stairs as the canister part comes off for this use which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oregonstategrad
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets Expectations for the price.
6/3/2010

Customer review by Buba10

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Buba10
by Buba10

Big help since I have a dog & a cat in the house.Working great for now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buba10
Ft. Lauderdale,FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Love this vaccum
11/27/2010

Customer review by criscoathome

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by criscoathome
by criscoathome

I bought one of these lift-off vaccums a few years ago and loved it. Then a HYLA salesman came by with a demo and my family thought it would be better, so when we bought the HYLA, the salesman took 'my lift off' :( As it turns about after a few months of carrying water and unclogging hoses, I bought this new Lift Off and and once again am in love with my new vaccum...it does great with dog hair and anything I need to clean up. Will never let another vaccum salesman in the house. For the money, this vaccum is the BEST

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
criscoathome
Sullivan, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for thick carpet
11/22/2013

Customer review by Goblue100

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Goblue100
by Goblue100

We bought new carpet and our dyson was very difficult to move. This was one that Shaw recommended and the price was good. So far, it is doing the job and you can push it. It is also nice that you can turn off the brushes-good for long carpet

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goblue100
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/21/2013

Customer review by return2sender28655

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by return2sender28655
by return2sender28655

This machine is a piece of junk, The manual states that when vaccuming hardwood floors, to turn the brush off, but there is no suction when you turn the brush off. I called Bissell and the cust. service person said, Yes Mam there is no suction when the brush is turned off, but you can purchased a floor attachment to do the floors, Hello why would I want to buy a seperate attachment when the box and manual says that this machine can be used on hardwoods. I taking this back now. Don't be fooled like I was.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
return2sender28655
28655
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Skip this one and buy a better brand
1/31/2010

Customer review by cleaningmommy1985

1.0 stars 1/31/2010 by cleaningmommy1985
by cleaningmommy1985

I thought Bissell was a good name brand and registered for this when my husband and I got married. We had another vacuum so we kept this one in the box till we bought our first home. The first 2 weeks it was nice... and then it started losing suction. It also started making a humming noise. I took it apart and cleaned everything on it. It was so dusty in it... not just the parts that are going to get dusty but all of it. The dirty bin is a big mess to dump and clean. I feel like I have to clean the vacuum more than my carpets. Also it only spreads everything around if you try to use it on hard floors. The attachments are a joke because you get the extender on and then an attachment and all you do is knock the dirt and dust to the floor there is no suction at all. Then the motor broke less than a year after we took it out of the box. Not worth the box it was packaged in! We are not going to wast our money on anything bissell makes any more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleaningmommy1985
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
BISSELL LIFT-OFF MULTI-CYCLONIC BAGLESS UPRIGHT
7/29/2013

Customer review by consumersheri

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by consumersheri
by consumersheri

this vacuum ROCKS. we have a white sybierian husky and this machine takes care of the shedding of her coats, which are severe. 2 thumbs up plus. I recommend this vacuum to all pet owners.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
consumersheri
oak view ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great on pet hair.
2/10/2014

Customer review by PetOwnerLinda

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by PetOwnerLinda
by PetOwnerLinda

So far so good! The only thing is that I expected the overall vacuum to be a little lighter. It's still a heavy vacuum used in the traditional manner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetOwnerLinda
Durant, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum for really thick carpet!
3/19/2014

Customer review by PeppermintPatti2

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by PeppermintPatti2
by PeppermintPatti2

We got new carpet and we chose a Mohawk, with a very thick pile. We have a Dyson vacuum and I could not even push it across this carpet. This vacuum works great on it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeppermintPatti2
Bastrop, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews