Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 297 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
173
4 stars
54
3 stars
11
2 stars
18
1 stars
41
1-20 of 246 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews
Wouldn't work
5/6/2011

Customer review by GraphicBob

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by GraphicBob
by GraphicBob

I had to return it and had no problems doing so. I bought the unit to work with the new eprint printer which I love but everything went wrong from there. The unit asked my cable provider for too many ip addresses so they thought I was doing a stolen movie scam and shut me down. Then the cable system decided my cable drop was bad and installed a complete new entrance cable which will get buried in June. Then it was determined my modem was bad so that got replaced. Then they decided all my cables were all bad so they got replaced. The last straw was when they said the network receptacle on my PC was bad I reinstalled my old router and everything worked fine and apparently did not need the new router to work with the printer.

GraphicBob
Traverse City Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Installation and Use
3/31/2010

Customer review by Darrel

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by Darrel
by Darrel

The installation went very easy by just following the set up instruction and using the CD supplied with the unit. The use and functionality are excellent and my three computers and wirelss printer found the router without any trouble. The speed is excellent and routinely faster than the basic Linksys 54mbs router.

Darrel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Doesn't work
8/19/2011

Customer review by southernbelle14

2.0 stars 8/19/2011 by southernbelle14
by southernbelle14

I only ordered this because i wanted to have a wireless printer installed on my computer. This did not work because I have a wireless internet card. I am still waiting on my refund.

southernbelle14
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent excellent performance.
9/4/2011

Customer review by BakerSnake

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by BakerSnake
by BakerSnake

The title says it all. I am truly impressed.

BakerSnake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT EXCELLENT VALUE!!
2/21/2011

Customer review by MsVenus

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by MsVenus
by MsVenus

This thing works like a CHAMP! I was disappointed at first because I brought it home and couldn't get it to work, it wasn't too long before I realized it was the Ethernet Cord that came with it that was the problem! Walmart is the BEST when it comes to returns/exchanges tho so I wasn't very concerned about it, I just took it back and got a different one. I had the new one hooked up and working in less than 10 minutes! It delivers all it promises to!! I couldn't be happier :) I HIGHLY recommend this router to anyone looking for a wireless router!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsVenus
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
FINALLY!! One that works!!
1/30/2010

Customer review by iLIKEnDISLIKEWalmartStuff

5.0 stars 1/30/2010 by iLIKEnDISLIKEWalmartStuff
by iLIKEnDISLIKEWalmartStuff

I have had the experience of a lifetime spending countless hours trying to figure out a way to make other routers work with what I want to connect. I've learned more about routers than any normal person needs to. I have bought, messed with and returned 2 different routers from belkin and d-link. I wish I would have bought this Linksys by Cisco WRT120N in the first place because it was the EASIEST one I've ever set up. It took me less than 10 minutes to install the disk, set up security, hook up a desktop, laptop, XBOX 360, Wii, and two iPhones. Not one of these items had any problems what so ever connecting to this router for the first time. Like I said, I wish I would have bought this one the first time. Do yourself a favor, don't go through what I did and spend hours trying to figure out another router. Just go buy this one. And for the great price, you will not go wrong! Ahhh.. I can breathe easier now. Finally, no router stress! lol

Was this review helpful? (111) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iLIKEnDISLIKEWalmartStuff
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will eventually fail with 3+ devices connected
8/11/2011

Customer review by ambyrle

1.0 stars 8/11/2011 by ambyrle
by ambyrle

This router was great at first, but has become nothing but a headache. If you're going to have more than 2 or 3 devices connected to it, devices will constantly lose their internet access (they'll see the router, but not be able to connect to the internet) and you'll have to reboot (power cycle) the router to reconnect the device. This is despite settings to the contrary (I set the max number of devices to 100 and it still couldn't handle more than two or three). We have a desktop, a laptop, a Wii, an ipod, and two iphones that we like to connect with regularly and the router just refuses to allow more than two or three at a time to access the internet. I know enough to be comfortable navigating all the router settings. I've researched this issue at length and a LOT of people are having it. I tried every recommended fix to no avail. We're giving up and buying another router, and it won't be Cisco this time. I expect better from them, and am disappointed. In short, if you have more than 2 devices that you connect to your wireless network, DO NOT buy this router!

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ambyrle
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's just OK
2/6/2012

Customer review by 27or72

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by 27or72
by 27or72

Pros: Easy to set up and when working it works well. Good range. Cons: Needs to be reset often I have owned this router for approx. a year and a half. It's an OK router, but nothing to brag about. It was purchased to replace an older router that was incompatible with our Wii. It was easy to set up and connect all of our devices to it. It has a good range and I am able to stay connected throughout my house and yard. The problems I have had with it are that without any notice all of my devices will lose connection and the router will need to be reset for them to reconnect. The worst part of this is that I will lose connection several times over the next few days to a week, having to reset the router each time. Then it run without any problems for 2 to 4 weeks at a time until I have to repeat this cycle again. It's not the worst problem in he world, but still rather annoying. Hindsight being 20/20 though, I would have purchased a different router.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
27or72
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/11/2010

Customer review by Anaheimer

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by Anaheimer
by Anaheimer

I bought this product about a year ago as an upgrade from my D-Link (which had no issues by the way). The price was cheap and the name I trusted. It installed quickly and so did the upgraded firmware. After a few weeks I did run in some of the issues others had with the dropped connections. I just resetted and went on with my business (every 20-30 min.) but it only lasted a few weeks until I upgraded the firmware. After that the drop connection came back for a few days then haven't had any issue's since. With a complete total of 10 months of pure enjoyment and no issues, this is a great product. Having more than 4 devices running at a time does slow down the speed but in my household that doesn't matter because only 2 at the most are running the same time. People that complain about issues and only try a few times or days to correct it, do not give the time and patients to fix the errors or issue's and give whatever product a chance to show it's protential. I did and it was worth the wait. Most users are inpatient and want something now, slow down people and wait, if nothing in a month then fine replace it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anaheimer
Anaheim, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow.. Beyond Amazing
12/12/2009

Customer review by DannyVee

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by DannyVee
by DannyVee

For this price i thought this would be an amateur router But this is the best router i've ever had The range is amazing I have a house with many floors, im in the basement right now and that is very very far from the router itself I have full signal and connecting with amazing speed You wont regret buying this product

Was this review helpful? (125) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DannyVee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cisco got it right!!
11/2/2009

Customer review by CompAdmin

5.0 stars 11/2/2009 by CompAdmin
by CompAdmin

This router is amazing. After following the "dummy" proof instructions i had my laptop and gaming system connected to my network and surfing the web securely in about 10 minutes. I was going to get the wrt54gs2. But for about 10 more bucks i got a router that is N and G capable (N is the new faster prtocol).

Was this review helpful? (208) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CompAdmin
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
11/28/2009

Customer review by AndrewsFamily

4.0 stars 11/28/2009 by AndrewsFamily
by AndrewsFamily

My mom purchased this router as kind of a family Christmas present. It was $80 in stores and on sale for half price. The router was easy to install (I installed it and im only 14) it took a little while but simple and easy. The only thing is we have a internet, cable, and phone package and our phone is in with our modem or something like that and it makes our home phones make a weird noise but you can still hear people. I guess this can be fixed. Other than that it has been great. It's a little slow with multiple computers, but you still get great quality and no lagging on videos.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndrewsFamily
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst router I have ever had!
5/14/2010

Customer review by Ealadin

1.0 stars 5/14/2010 by Ealadin
by Ealadin

I bought this to solve a performance issue I have with a new belkin router I have. I cannot play a movie on the wii with netflix and play Lord of the Rings online at the same time wired or wireless. it prefers one over the other. I bought this router off wal-mart.com and hooked it up. Man. I could not even load a web page it was so slow. it was like going from High speed internet to dial up. I received so many loading errors because of timeout isses trying to get on the internet it was ridiculous. I didnt expect great, but sure didnt expect lousy. I went to a speed test website and it didnt even get a third of the speed I got from my belkin router. I sent this thing back. its worthless wired and the coverage is about like a wireless g network except with slower speed. I dont have wireless n network stuff but know it carries better signal and further coverage using the N technology. My old belkin wireless G router was better than this, just too bad the g one died, I may not like the belkin router but at least I can choose to do something between watching a movie or play a game instead of not even be able to surf the internet!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ealadin
Mineral Wells, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Drops Wifi at least once a Day
12/29/2012

Customer review by crustychemist

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by crustychemist
by crustychemist

The router drops wifi at least once a day. Your computer can still see the router but is not able to connect. Reseting the router is the only fix. Wired connections are unaffected but so what, I wanted a wireless router. Doing a Google search shows many, many people complain about the same problem. Cisco even mentions the issue without giving a definitive solution. Cisco hints "your computer software software may not be compatible". They mean Windows 7 which supports IPv6 and the WRT120N does not. The WRT120N was designed and manufactured pre-Windows Vista and Windows 7. On top of everything else, the installation disk installs crapware "Network Magic" on your computer. This software will nag you every day to purchase it. If you hit the button "purchase now", Cisco tells you Network Magic is no longer sold. I guess it will just nag forever pointlessly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crustychemist
Ahwahnee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
POJ!! dont buy this junk
4/20/2010

Customer review by concepttech

1.0 stars 4/20/2010 by concepttech
by concepttech

I've always been a loyal customer to linksys but after owning this junk never again.I was using the old style WRT54GS for 4 years with no troubles what so ever til it quit working a few weeks ago.So I purchased this router WRT120N.As soon as everything was installed the router starts to drop connection ever 15 mins or so.I updated the firmware checked all the settings and everything looked good so I checked on the net for away to fix it and for reviews to see if someone else had the same problems.I found that on quite a few sites theres loads of people with the same problem.So to make a long story short I bought a netgear wireless n 150.That I highly recommend by the way.So please stay away from this junk and buy you a netgear router.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
concepttech
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
worked great for 4 months
9/27/2010

Customer review by AttilaTheMom

2.0 stars 9/27/2010 by AttilaTheMom
by AttilaTheMom

After the 90 day return period expired this router started randomly disconnecting from the internet, we'd "repair" the connection, which would last maybe 20 min before it disconnected again. This got to be so frustrating I replaced it with a belkin. let's hope that one lasts longer. The cisco "network magic" software that comes with it would be nice, IF they didn't want you to pay for that separately. So some of the features I thought I was getting with this router turned out to cost extra.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AttilaTheMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works as it should, easy to install as it states
12/23/2011

Customer review by luvemall

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by luvemall
by luvemall

I have set up a netgear router once before and needed technical assistance to get that working correctly. This linksys router I bought because the store I visited did not have the netgear one I initially had so I bought this and thought I would again be on the telephone with technical assistance. Imagine my surprise when I just followed the easy install softwear that comes with the router and all of a sudden it says "Congratulations you are now internet connected" or something like that, when I bought my first smart phone I thought I would need someone to link that in with the router for me but not so, it immediately linked with the new smart phone and I never thought it could be so easy! Definitely works well for my needs, I am sure someone with an office or professional use might need a more advanced router or dual channel router but for my needs this works great. Price is excellent as well and no waiting its readily available in many stores. Now I have ordered another one for my sister as she needs to have a wifi network for her smart phone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvemall
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Linksys quality with a walmart price
11/4/2012

Customer review by walmartian80

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by walmartian80
by walmartian80
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned linksys rounters in the past and loved the ability to flash the hardware and make it a mini server. Nothing has changed. These little routers are still fun to mod and reliable. Make sure you update to the latest firmware and dont use the setup CD. Throw the setup disc away and use your built in tools in windows to setup. Very fast and easy. Only expectation that it lacks is broadcasting power. I have a desktop, a laptop, and two smart phones taht all have 2 bars at any time. They all are within a 1800 square ft house with the router in the very center of my home. Its signal is weak but at tested speeds (19.56 Mb/s, speedtest.net) its still plenty for digital cable broadband. Dont buy if you have a huge home or need to reach distant buildings or spaces.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartian80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Router
5/18/2011

Customer review by MOMinIL

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by MOMinIL
by MOMinIL

I bought this after purchasing another that I didn't realize was not wireless. I have had other wireless routers that I spent hours on the phone to get set up. This came with very understandable and precise directions and I got it set up in minutes on my own. Works wonderfully with not only my computer, but also my iPhone and on demand on my satellite TV. I would recommend this product to anyone that is looking for an excellent and inexpensive wireless router.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOMinIL
Quincy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great device
11/13/2009

Customer review by ValueshopperinSC

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by ValueshopperinSC
by ValueshopperinSC

I followed the directions and it came up, ran, found my devices including my iPhone, and worked. It is set up for easy installation in a home/small office setting. The Network Management software is good, but, not worth the extra $50 they want to charge. I would strongly recommend the wireless router to a friend. It is a good value.

Was this review helpful? (60) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ValueshopperinSC
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1-20 of 246 reviews