Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 61 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Gamo Silent Cat
2/2/2016

Customer review by LadyKingFish

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by LadyKingFish
by LadyKingFish

Bought this for my husband to kill squirrels that are stripping our 6 pecan trees bare before we get any. I took it home put the scope on and had it ready for him to fire when he got home. The Gamo Scope is not great (double imaging badly) but it was well enough to get the gun zeroed in after a dozen lead cone head pellets at 75 feet. Had a very tight grouping of .5 inch the last 5 shoots. ( Wish I could upload the target image to show you. ) It is easy for him to break/pump in his hands but I have to use the table for an assist. The suppressed sound was very surprising for the amount of power. We traded the Gamo scope for a Bushnell and now it is a perfect marriage of rifle and scope to help put down those pesky critters inside the city limits without breaking any firearm laws. We highly recommend this weapon for small critter kills, target shooting and plinking.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyKingFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very accurate air rifle!!`
5/21/2013

Customer review by ElkhornRanch

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ElkhornRanch
by ElkhornRanch

After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElkhornRanch
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
fine gun for price
10/28/2014

Customer review by msmalibu

4.0 stars 10/28/2014 by msmalibu
by msmalibu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msmalibu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One Junk
4/27/2016

Customer review by Latonka

1.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Latonka
by Latonka

Bought 2. One ok and one is junk in need of return

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Latonka
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good gun but spring powered guns jump
12/7/2015

Customer review by Madeirabch

3.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Madeirabch
by Madeirabch

The Gamo Silent Cat can be an accurate pellet gun. I have fired off about 300 rounds with about 150 from a fixed bench at a target at 20 yards. Most of the initial shots the gun were with the gun held down on the bench for stability. To sight in the scope a lot of the 5 shot groups were with in a 1 inch diameter. I was pleased with the results at the range. As for power the pellets were going half way through a telephone book. After taking it out free standing and shooting the accuracy was quite a bit less than what I saw at the range. This gun is spring powered and jumps a lot more than my 22 rifle when the trigger is pulled. When I go out in the woods I try to look for a tree I can stabilize the barrel with to keep thing from jumping too much. Unfortunately I don’t have a tree every time I take a shot.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madeirabch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the money at any price!
4/10/2016

Customer review by wibbee

1.0 stars 4/10/2016 by wibbee
by wibbee

The only reason I gave this item a one is that it does resemble a gun and that's about as far as it goes. Accuracy was non existent, even using a bench rest. It's not that silent as they say, using their pellets. I'd say it was as loud as a .22 rimfire sometimes. The noise varied per shot which had me baffled and the other people present. It is a single break action gun. All shooting was done indoors at approximately 15 yards.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wibbee
Would recommend to a friend? No
good gun, bad scope
1/29/2016

Customer review by MrWafflehead

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by MrWafflehead
by MrWafflehead

When I sighted in this gun, I got groups all over the target at 20yd. I thought the problem was the barrel not locking into position correctly, but I did a little research and figured out the scope is parallax-free at 100 yd, not 20. At 20 yd the crosshairs dance all over the target if you move your head just slightly. I replaced the factory scope with an AO (adjustable objective) scope which allows me to dial in the distance to the target. Problem solved, tiny groups all day long. 100 yd is a good range for a high powered rifle scope, but its crazy to put one on a pellet rifle. The replacement scope cost about $100 at airgundepot. Only complaint about the gun is the funky stock design makes it a little uncomfortable to carry. I have big hands.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWafflehead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good pellet rifle and very accurate
4/2/2011

Customer review by brentcsj5

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by brentcsj5
by brentcsj5

i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability.

Was this review helpful? (69) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brentcsj5
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gamo Silent Cat.177
4/10/2016

Customer review by SunnyofCapeCod

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by SunnyofCapeCod
by SunnyofCapeCod

Excellent gun for the price scope adjusted a couple times. It serves the purpose

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyofCapeCod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really nice gun!
1/19/2016

Customer review by Superman

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Superman
by Superman

I like everything about this rifle, the weight of the rifle is excellent the construction of the rifle is very sturdy and strong, very light recoil, and very inaccurate, also very powerful. As for any kid under 18 be very careful if you purchase this rifle because this rifle with not only put your eye out, but it put you out, or whoever you're pointing at , so be very careful and follow all safety guidelines. I always feel like I'm paying too much, but for this rifle I'm okay with the price. look like it will last a long time, as Iong as I continue to maintain it. I believe that's the key to mostly anything keep it well maintained and it last longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Superman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Bang For The Buck, But Beware!!!
5/12/2015

Customer review by KLVegas

5.0 stars 5/12/2015 by KLVegas
by KLVegas

This is an awesome rifle for the money. I read lots of reviews before purchasing this gun and I can honestly say that all the positive reviews were right - this is a great gun all round. Build quality, accuracy, ease of use, power, value, none of these vital features can be faulted. I did ready some negative reviews about things such as the scope not being better (no mil dots) and the trigger no being smooth, but IMHO I think those reviews were unwarranted. Firstly, at $150, or there abouts, how can you expect a gun to come with a $500 scope? Secondly, the scope provided is more than adequate for anything you should be expecting to use a gun in this price range for. Thirdly, as of mid-2014, Gamo addressed the issue of the poor trigger and started to ship the Silent Cat with their awesome SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) at NO extra cost. This, IMO, made this rifle perfect. However, BUYER BEWARE!!!!!! If you intend to purchase this rifle from a Walmart store, or from an on-line retailer then you need to make 100% sure that you will receive the NEW spec. rifle. The new spec. rifle comes with the SAT trigger and a newly printed box, but those are the ONLY differences. The model number is exactly the same on the old and new spec. models, and there are still lots of the old spec. models out there. Especially on the shelves of Walmart stores. A few days ago I ordered one of these from Walmart.com for same day store pick-up. BIG MISTAKE! When I got to the store to collect the rifle I was not only given an old spec. rifle, but one which had CLEARLY been used and returned. The store had one more in stock, but that too was an old spec. model. After doing lots more research I found that most of my local stores had the old spec. models in stock. All is not lost. Still wanting to purchase from Walmart, I learned that by ordering on-line and selecting "ship to home" the rifle would be shipped directly from Gamo and shipping is/was free. So, in conclusion. Awesome rifle, but if you end-up with an old spec. model return it and find the new spec. version (if the box has a picture of a squirrel then it's and old one, if it has a picture of a cat and says SAT, it's a new one).

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KLVegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lou Sal
7/19/2015

Customer review by zylver11

5.0 stars 7/19/2015 by zylver11
by zylver11

When I purchase this, rifle I was getting very frustrated because I was unable to sight the rifle, and after spending some time reading thru ought different, reviews and blogs, and finally, I came across, the key remedy, rise the scope so I Order a set 11 mm. tail dove high profile double screw rings for the scope and, but mean while I received the order, I improvise by putting electrical tape and little pieces of plastic to rise the scope and that was it, from the point it was so relieved, because I really like, that rifle the design the mechanics, the fluted concept and it is .177 so it works, the skeleton structure and plenty power and mainly I bought it because I have several squirrels tin the back yard and they are becoming very territorial, but I have neighbors very close by, so that is way I bought the .177 smaller round. and not the 22. so I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zylver11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
5/19/2010

Customer review by Vico1244

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Vico1244
by Vico1244

Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards. Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it

Was this review helpful? (127) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vico1244
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pellet rifle
12/5/2012

Customer review by MarkinnorthGa

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MarkinnorthGa
by MarkinnorthGa

My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture. Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can. There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety. The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer. As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install. I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement.

Was this review helpful? (165) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkinnorthGa
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice addition-would recommend
9/30/2011

Customer review by 4fensquared

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by 4fensquared
by 4fensquared

Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4fensquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
accurate, powerful, relatively quite
7/23/2012

Customer review by nnaf

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by nnaf
by nnaf

Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem. All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nnaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very quick and powerful
8/30/2013

Customer review by grady173200

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by grady173200
by grady173200
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my first Gamo about 5 years ago. We sat up a firing range in our basement. My friends and I shot targets all winter. We fired at least 5000 rounds at these targets. The game never jammed or failed to fire. I gave my old Gamo to my son-in-law and I bought this new one. I love it like the original. You will not be disappointed. One thing about it though is that it does make noise. It is not as loud as a 22 rifle but it is close.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grady173200
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT GUN!!!!!!!!!!!
5/18/2013

Customer review by DOGHUNTINMAN

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by DOGHUNTINMAN
by DOGHUNTINMAN

I just got this gun, and it is awesome! I would highly recomend this gun to anyone. For the price it is great. Ive studied on this gun for a week, and the MSRP. on it at the GAMO store is $270. SO BUY IT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOGHUNTINMAN
Burnsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great!!!
1/29/2010

Customer review by snipertraining

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by snipertraining
by snipertraining

This is a amazing gun! when i first tryed it one of my friends just got it in the mail and it only took like 5 mins to sight but after that, we droped some coke cans and a couple birds from about 100 yrds. although i dont recomend trying to on a cow =) but over all its a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (155) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snipertraining
Locust grave, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!
6/24/2013

Customer review by ajw59

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by ajw59
by ajw59

I have owned this gun for about 5 months now and recorded over 50 kills with it. I shoot it atleast once a day dropping some sort of pest around my house. It is deadly accurate with both the scope and iron sights. It isn't too bad with weight or trigger pull. I can drop a squirrel at over 80 yards with it no problem. Very good for pesting and just hunting small game. It is cheaper than its friend the bone collector, and it has 750 fps less than it, but in the end it still is just as deadly from 10 to 100 yards. I would recomend this for anyone over the age of 14.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajw59
Winston, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews