Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 53 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Excellent Product
5/19/2010

Customer review by Vico1244

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Vico1244
by Vico1244

Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards. Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it

Was this review helpful? (114) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vico1244
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pellet rifle
12/5/2012

Customer review by MarkinnorthGa

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MarkinnorthGa
by MarkinnorthGa

My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture. Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can. There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety. The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer. As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install. I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement.

Was this review helpful? (104) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkinnorthGa
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good pellet rifle and very accurate
4/2/2011

Customer review by brentcsj5

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by brentcsj5
by brentcsj5

i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brentcsj5
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great!!!
1/29/2010

Customer review by snipertraining

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by snipertraining
by snipertraining

This is a amazing gun! when i first tryed it one of my friends just got it in the mail and it only took like 5 mins to sight but after that, we droped some coke cans and a couple birds from about 100 yrds. although i dont recomend trying to on a cow =) but over all its a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (145) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snipertraining
Locust grave, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Gamo Silent Cat
8/6/2010

Customer review by Stewie10

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by Stewie10
by Stewie10

The name says it all "Silent Cat" and will kill any other small animal you choose. It is a ton of fun to shoot and even though it has a sound supressor it is pretty loud but worth it.

Was this review helpful? (76) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stewie10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very accurate air rifle!!`
5/21/2013

Customer review by ElkhornRanch

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ElkhornRanch
by ElkhornRanch

After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElkhornRanch
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice addition-would recommend
9/30/2011

Customer review by 4fensquared

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by 4fensquared
by 4fensquared

Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4fensquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
loud
9/11/2010

Customer review by juice22

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by juice22
by juice22

I returned rifle because irt was deemed to loud for the neiborhood I live in. There was a whole lot of power coming out of this gun. but it was a little to noisy.........

Was this review helpful? (62) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juice22
york,sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
"Great Gun, very very very powerful"
2/17/2013

Customer review by iwuvr

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by iwuvr
by iwuvr

#I own the big cat version of this but there are the same rifle internally, just different stock and this one is a bit quieter considering the suppresor# I spent alot of time trying to find the perfect Springer Air Rifle. I debated back and forth from Nitro Piston Bejamin/Crosman to Gamo and RWS Magnum rifles. There are alot to chose from in the Air Rifle world. I think I read almost every blog or review for moderatly priced rifles. I finally chose this after seeing that all the reviews seemed to be very consistent. I like the sleek look, hence it really looks more like a 22lr or mag. I took this beast home and that same day I painted it digital camo . It looks pretty cool but shoots even better than it looks. It took 7 rounds to zero at 25 meters. I also tested it on 50 meters and it shoots great. I can hit quarter size groupings with no probelm. This rifle is easily capable of shooting through 3/4 to 1 inch plywood, so ensure you have a proper backstop. Again this rifle is extremly accurate! I truly believe people who get bad groups are because they have not mastered proper grip. The best type of hold is Artillery. Look it up on google or youtube. Also guys and gals I would suggest you upgrade the scope if you plan to use this beyond 30 yards. Although the scope they give you is okay #what do you expect for less than $150# there are much better optics out there for less than 50 bucks. I bought the tasco 3-9x40 30/30 and it works like a dream. You can find them from 27.99 to 38.99 at most dicks,walmarts or bass pro. Lastly do not entertain the negative remarks about this rifle. Not every rifle made will be perfect no matter what the company says. If you get a lemon, just box it up and exchange it for a new one. I attached some pics for you as well. Here is a link where a guy shoots a decent grouping with this rifle http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PXN-bgqiyM

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iwuvr
The Old Guard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/6/2011

Customer review by Tripp2k8

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Tripp2k8
by Tripp2k8

very accurate rifle the scope is very precise once you get it adjusted right pretty powerful rifle i would recommend it .

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tripp2k8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
accurate, powerful, relatively quite
7/23/2012

Customer review by nnaf

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by nnaf
by nnaf

Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem. All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nnaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/27/2013

Customer review by SPERCAT

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by SPERCAT
by SPERCAT

I read some of the early reviews and they helped.One said that it was loud and it is if you use the original pellets,but if you use the red fire pellets,what a differance in the sound of the gun.This gun is great,I also got a different scope the squirles don't like it so much though.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPERCAT
MARYLAND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Bang For The Buck, But Beware!!!
5/12/2015

Customer review by KLVegas

5.0 stars 5/12/2015 by KLVegas
by KLVegas

This is an awesome rifle for the money. I read lots of reviews before purchasing this gun and I can honestly say that all the positive reviews were right - this is a great gun all round. Build quality, accuracy, ease of use, power, value, none of these vital features can be faulted. I did ready some negative reviews about things such as the scope not being better (no mil dots) and the trigger no being smooth, but IMHO I think those reviews were unwarranted. Firstly, at $150, or there abouts, how can you expect a gun to come with a $500 scope? Secondly, the scope provided is more than adequate for anything you should be expecting to use a gun in this price range for. Thirdly, as of mid-2014, Gamo addressed the issue of the poor trigger and started to ship the Silent Cat with their awesome SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) at NO extra cost. This, IMO, made this rifle perfect. However, BUYER BEWARE!!!!!! If you intend to purchase this rifle from a Walmart store, or from an on-line retailer then you need to make 100% sure that you will receive the NEW spec. rifle. The new spec. rifle comes with the SAT trigger and a newly printed box, but those are the ONLY differences. The model number is exactly the same on the old and new spec. models, and there are still lots of the old spec. models out there. Especially on the shelves of Walmart stores. A few days ago I ordered one of these from Walmart.com for same day store pick-up. BIG MISTAKE! When I got to the store to collect the rifle I was not only given an old spec. rifle, but one which had CLEARLY been used and returned. The store had one more in stock, but that too was an old spec. model. After doing lots more research I found that most of my local stores had the old spec. models in stock. All is not lost. Still wanting to purchase from Walmart, I learned that by ordering on-line and selecting "ship to home" the rifle would be shipped directly from Gamo and shipping is/was free. So, in conclusion. Awesome rifle, but if you end-up with an old spec. model return it and find the new spec. version (if the box has a picture of a squirrel then it's and old one, if it has a picture of a cat and says SAT, it's a new one).

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KLVegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!
6/24/2013

Customer review by ajw59

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by ajw59
by ajw59

I have owned this gun for about 5 months now and recorded over 50 kills with it. I shoot it atleast once a day dropping some sort of pest around my house. It is deadly accurate with both the scope and iron sights. It isn't too bad with weight or trigger pull. I can drop a squirrel at over 80 yards with it no problem. Very good for pesting and just hunting small game. It is cheaper than its friend the bone collector, and it has 750 fps less than it, but in the end it still is just as deadly from 10 to 100 yards. I would recomend this for anyone over the age of 14.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajw59
Winston, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great rifle for small game with great range,
12/2/2012

Customer review by gilbert1290

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by gilbert1290
by gilbert1290

This silent cat had more power then i had expected, and it was able to penatrate a 1inch pc of solid wood behinde my target. great gun for the mony......

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gilbert1290
Palmerton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT GUN!!!!!!!!!!!
5/18/2013

Customer review by DOGHUNTINMAN

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by DOGHUNTINMAN
by DOGHUNTINMAN

I just got this gun, and it is awesome! I would highly recomend this gun to anyone. For the price it is great. Ive studied on this gun for a week, and the MSRP. on it at the GAMO store is $270. SO BUY IT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DOGHUNTINMAN
Burnsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than Expected!!!
8/30/2014

Customer review by EDCAZ

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by EDCAZ
by EDCAZ

Bought it just for fun and was very impressed with the accuracy. Very strong. The only downside to it is that it is a single shot. The Gamo platinum pellets, included, make a great difference with accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EDCAZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very quick and powerful
8/30/2013

Customer review by grady173200

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by grady173200
by grady173200

I bought my first Gamo about 5 years ago. We sat up a firing range in our basement. My friends and I shot targets all winter. We fired at least 5000 rounds at these targets. The game never jammed or failed to fire. I gave my old Gamo to my son-in-law and I bought this new one. I love it like the original. You will not be disappointed. One thing about it though is that it does make noise. It is not as loud as a 22 rifle but it is close.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grady173200
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fine gun for price
10/28/2014

Customer review by msmalibu

4.0 stars 10/28/2014 by msmalibu
by msmalibu

This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msmalibu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mechanically Unsound
4/22/2013

Customer review by jpdaddyof2

2.0 stars 4/22/2013 by jpdaddyof2
by jpdaddyof2

I'm 45 Y/O and love to plink-hunt small game. Given the recent 22 shortage I purchased this rifle as a replacement for our (22 powder) rifles. I have shot several different types of .177 ammo through this rifle and have owned it for several months. Love the speed and power of the rifle but accuracy is it's downfall. We target practice and sight in with targets before hunting small game, the silent cat (Break Barrel) seems to have problems with correctly locking into its same position each time. When looking at its grouping at 30 yards through the scope (+) one will see that with the best of ammo (10 Cents a shot pellets) the holes will be aligned Up & Down the vertical line of your scope. I believe this to be from the barrel drooping as we have cleaned the barrel between every shot trying to find a fix to its problem. Also have tried adding a By-pod as a fix for accuracy which worsened the problem raising the projectiles high above the scope vertical line. Open the rifle before purchase and notice the cheap mechanism that holds the barrel up after cocking, I wish I had paid more attention before purchasing. Looks Great, Sounds Great, Powerful, But not worth a flip at shooting small game past 15 yards (50-50 chance) of hitting whats in the cross hairs. (Back to the 22 Powder!)

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpdaddyof2
Eupora Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews