Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 71 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Scope hard to zero in but the rifle is great.
6/9/2016

Customer review by None

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by None
by None
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son and I tried to zero the scope in at around 20 yards but couldn't get it to stay where we wanted it. The open sights work great and the gun is getting better the more it is used. Not sure yet which pellets will produce the best results but it sure is fun to shoot targets, cans, etc. with. We where impressed with how the rifle can bury some pellets into a 3/4" plywood backstop with ease. If you shoot certain pellets and miss the backstop all together then you will hear a loud crack much as the sound a 22 long rifle makes when fired. It is not from the rifle but the pellet breaking the sound barrier and will appear to come from the area the pellet is traveling through at that time.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
None
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gamo Silent Cat
2/2/2016

Customer review by LadyKingFish

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by LadyKingFish
by LadyKingFish

Bought this for my husband to kill squirrels that are stripping our 6 pecan trees bare before we get any. I took it home put the scope on and had it ready for him to fire when he got home. The Gamo Scope is not great (double imaging badly) but it was well enough to get the gun zeroed in after a dozen lead cone head pellets at 75 feet. Had a very tight grouping of .5 inch the last 5 shoots. ( Wish I could upload the target image to show you. ) It is easy for him to break/pump in his hands but I have to use the table for an assist. The suppressed sound was very surprising for the amount of power. We traded the Gamo scope for a Bushnell and now it is a perfect marriage of rifle and scope to help put down those pesky critters inside the city limits without breaking any firearm laws. We highly recommend this weapon for small critter kills, target shooting and plinking.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyKingFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a quiet rifle
5/26/2016

Customer review by Kevin

4.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Kevin
by Kevin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent rifle overall, accurate, nice trigger, appears well made. The "silencer" is only useful in cocking the gun. It is louder than my 22lr. Disappointed with the noise, but it is the best rifle you will ever find for $109. I am happy with the rifle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fine gun for price
10/28/2014

Customer review by msmalibu

4.0 stars 10/28/2014 by msmalibu
by msmalibu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msmalibu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater
7/9/2016

Customer review by stopthestupidnickname

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by stopthestupidnickname
by stopthestupidnickname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice high quality .177 pellet rifle. After scope is mounted you will notice 'ghosting' at the bottom of the reticle(when looking thru scope)that is caused by the guard on the front sight. You could remove the guard, or maybe use a riser on the scope mount to remedy this. I just got used to it. Even with the sound suppressor, PBA pellets are loud because they break the sound barrier and 'crack'. Rifle is a little loud just because of the mechanical noise, even with sub-sonic pellets. Accuracy is best for me with round-nosed pellets. I like the option of being able to remove scope, and still have adjustable sights. Whole lotta fun to shoot, just remember this rifle is not a toy, and can deliver velocities the same as a .22 cal powder rifle. Would rate this rifle as excellent, if it weren't for the ghosting in the scope.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stopthestupidnickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very accurate air rifle!!`
5/21/2013

Customer review by ElkhornRanch

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ElkhornRanch
by ElkhornRanch

After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElkhornRanch
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Gamo Silent Cat
5/28/2016

Customer review by none

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by none
by none
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice gun. Right out of the box barrel sights accurate at 35 yds. Barrel silencer maybe oversold as the gun still has a pretty loud "pop" to it. Haven't mounted the scope and probably won't. Good buy at this price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
none
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
6/27/2016

Customer review by Krystal

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Krystal
by Krystal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my sons 12th birthday, he loves it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krystal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good gun but spring powered guns jump
12/7/2015

Customer review by Madeirabch

3.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Madeirabch
by Madeirabch

The Gamo Silent Cat can be an accurate pellet gun. I have fired off about 300 rounds with about 150 from a fixed bench at a target at 20 yards. Most of the initial shots the gun were with the gun held down on the bench for stability. To sight in the scope a lot of the 5 shot groups were with in a 1 inch diameter. I was pleased with the results at the range. As for power the pellets were going half way through a telephone book. After taking it out free standing and shooting the accuracy was quite a bit less than what I saw at the range. This gun is spring powered and jumps a lot more than my 22 rifle when the trigger is pulled. When I go out in the woods I try to look for a tree I can stabilize the barrel with to keep thing from jumping too much. Unfortunately I don’t have a tree every time I take a shot.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madeirabch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific product.
7/9/2016

Customer review by Jack

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Jack
by Jack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Terrific product. Once the scope is set, it's incredibly accurate assuming you have the right pellets. The pellets matter significantly!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good pellet rifle and very accurate
4/2/2011

Customer review by brentcsj5

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by brentcsj5
by brentcsj5

i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability.

Was this review helpful? (73) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brentcsj5
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not really for beginners
6/25/2016

Customer review by olderthandirt

2.0 stars 6/25/2016 by olderthandirt
by olderthandirt

As my old air rifle was laid up waiting for parts I purchased the Silent Cat as a temporary fill in after reading some web reviews. First off it is $144 in the store. Higher then listed online. The scope when mounted is too low and the sight picture is partially obscured by the iron sights. The pin in the bottom of the rear scope ring and matching hole in the top of the receiver was a good design but the height of the mounted scope made them useless. I had spare 1" high scope rings so swapped with the factory mounts which helped. I Won't be able to test the scope maintaining zero until tomorrow but clarity of the scope was good. It is fixed parallax so no adjustments are possible other than elevation and wind age. The "C" clip holding the iron sight wind age adjustment screw disappeared after the first firing. The iron sights set up appears to be pretty good set of sights and were easy to achieve a sight picture with the Fiber Optic inserts Spring operational loudness is same as a Diana model 48 (loud) . Did not shoot the accompanying light weight pellet so am not sure if the so called sound suppressor works any better with the high velocity pellets. Light weight pellets are probably not suited for this models velocity as accuracy will suffer. The rifle is easy to (their spell check won't let me use the work describing the action of pulling of the barrel to charge the spring) and is light weight so a day shooting shouldn't wear anyone out. Some break-in pellets were fired at approx 18' and the rifle seemed very accurate and tomorrow at a longer distance will tell the real accuracy. Trigger is stated as two stage adjustable on the box but is only adjustable for length of pull ( single stage ). With just a coupe of tweaks to the product it could be a great little air gun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olderthandirt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Product
5/19/2010

Customer review by Vico1244

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Vico1244
by Vico1244

Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards. Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it

Was this review helpful? (127) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vico1244
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Bang For The Buck, But Beware!!!
5/12/2015

Customer review by KLVegas

5.0 stars 5/12/2015 by KLVegas
by KLVegas

This is an awesome rifle for the money. I read lots of reviews before purchasing this gun and I can honestly say that all the positive reviews were right - this is a great gun all round. Build quality, accuracy, ease of use, power, value, none of these vital features can be faulted. I did ready some negative reviews about things such as the scope not being better (no mil dots) and the trigger no being smooth, but IMHO I think those reviews were unwarranted. Firstly, at $150, or there abouts, how can you expect a gun to come with a $500 scope? Secondly, the scope provided is more than adequate for anything you should be expecting to use a gun in this price range for. Thirdly, as of mid-2014, Gamo addressed the issue of the poor trigger and started to ship the Silent Cat with their awesome SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) at NO extra cost. This, IMO, made this rifle perfect. However, BUYER BEWARE!!!!!! If you intend to purchase this rifle from a Walmart store, or from an on-line retailer then you need to make 100% sure that you will receive the NEW spec. rifle. The new spec. rifle comes with the SAT trigger and a newly printed box, but those are the ONLY differences. The model number is exactly the same on the old and new spec. models, and there are still lots of the old spec. models out there. Especially on the shelves of Walmart stores. A few days ago I ordered one of these from Walmart.com for same day store pick-up. BIG MISTAKE! When I got to the store to collect the rifle I was not only given an old spec. rifle, but one which had CLEARLY been used and returned. The store had one more in stock, but that too was an old spec. model. After doing lots more research I found that most of my local stores had the old spec. models in stock. All is not lost. Still wanting to purchase from Walmart, I learned that by ordering on-line and selecting "ship to home" the rifle would be shipped directly from Gamo and shipping is/was free. So, in conclusion. Awesome rifle, but if you end-up with an old spec. model return it and find the new spec. version (if the box has a picture of a squirrel then it's and old one, if it has a picture of a cat and says SAT, it's a new one).

Was this review helpful? (68) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KLVegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good gun, bad scope
1/29/2016

Customer review by MrWafflehead

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by MrWafflehead
by MrWafflehead

When I sighted in this gun, I got groups all over the target at 20yd. I thought the problem was the barrel not locking into position correctly, but I did a little research and figured out the scope is parallax-free at 100 yd, not 20. At 20 yd the crosshairs dance all over the target if you move your head just slightly. I replaced the factory scope with an AO (adjustable objective) scope which allows me to dial in the distance to the target. Problem solved, tiny groups all day long. 100 yd is a good range for a high powered rifle scope, but its crazy to put one on a pellet rifle. The replacement scope cost about $100 at airgundepot. Only complaint about the gun is the funky stock design makes it a little uncomfortable to carry. I have big hands.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWafflehead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
accurate, powerful, relatively quite
7/23/2012

Customer review by nnaf

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by nnaf
by nnaf

Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem. All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nnaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pellet rifle
12/5/2012

Customer review by MarkinnorthGa

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MarkinnorthGa
by MarkinnorthGa

My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture. Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can. There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety. The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer. As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install. I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement.

Was this review helpful? (169) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkinnorthGa
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money at any price!
4/10/2016

Customer review by wibbee

1.0 stars 4/10/2016 by wibbee
by wibbee

The only reason I gave this item a one is that it does resemble a gun and that's about as far as it goes. Accuracy was non existent, even using a bench rest. It's not that silent as they say, using their pellets. I'd say it was as loud as a .22 rimfire sometimes. The noise varied per shot which had me baffled and the other people present. It is a single break action gun. All shooting was done indoors at approximately 15 yards.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wibbee
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice addition-would recommend
9/30/2011

Customer review by 4fensquared

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by 4fensquared
by 4fensquared

Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4fensquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only had it a few weeks
6/10/2016

Customer review by donkeykibble

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by donkeykibble
by donkeykibble
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Accurate,heavy recoil for pellet gun, like a 22. Soft rubber butt, comfortable in hand

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donkeykibble
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews