Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Worth the price!
5/10/2010

Customer review by TheRunningAcct

4.0 stars by TheRunningAcct

I did my share of research on HR Monitors. I needed one to train for my marathon because I just had heart surgery. The garmin has great features that make it easy and efficient. Had to buy the HR Transmitter separately (easily paired with the watch and got a great deal). The learning curve for the device is LESS than that of texting on a new phone. Never locks up, very accurate (easily shows which side of street you're on), fast and responsive. The touch bezel sensitivity is adjustable and easily locks/unlocks to avoid accidental touches. It has many features for every type of person (comepletely customizable--even sounds). Can scroll through many screens full of info at different paces (or when you choose by touching the bezel), or stay on one screen with 1,2,or 3 data fields (larger font with fewer data fields). Basic watch function. It is larger than normal watch (cant see getting a larger one), but not bulky and annoying when running. Free software is awesome; tons of info to track your progress. If you dont need one like I did than might want to go with a less expensive one (...after all people ran for generations without them), but if you want all the data for training and/or just like the best there is... this is the only choice!

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheRunningAcct
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
S0 far so good...
10/5/2011

Customer review by xharveywallbangerx

4.0 stars by xharveywallbangerx

I haven't used all of the functions yet. I haven't read any of the directions in the operator manual but the quick start guide was enough to get me started. The watch sets it's own time. The training functions are the primary reason I made this purchase. It has a training partner that runs a pace that you set. It works really good for keeping your time on mark (ex. 7 minute miles...). It records each the data from each mile such as individual mile times, total times. The watch also monitors your pace in MPH as well as the average speed on each lap/mile. I like it and for the price you are NOT going to get a better deal without buying 2nd hand. The only downside I have experienced so far is that it comes with a nonreplaceable chargeable battery so you have to recharge the watch with the included adapters (AC/USB) when the battery dies.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xharveywallbangerx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Good Product
2/8/2012

Customer review by AarRun

5.0 stars by AarRun

Advisable to read the manual before use. I read the manual during my Garmin's first charge. Easy to use, extremely helpful. I've had it a month and my average mile pace has improved by 30 seconds. Easy to scroll through screens while you're running, you just have to get use to steadying your hand/arm so you can read it. Battery life is good. I run 4 times a week, two 5-6 mile days, one 8 mile day and a short 3 mile recovery run, and i am only on my 3rd charging cycle. I started a 4 mile run with 16% battery life. At the end of the run I saved it and 2 minutes later the battery died. Be sure to save your run right after in case your battery is low. Lots of Pros, haven't found any Cons yet other than you need to make sure the battery life is sufficient for your run/walk.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AarRun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
12/19/2010

Customer review by Teachnlife

5.0 stars by Teachnlife

This watch does it all. The learning curve isn't that steep, either. Once you get the hang of the functions, it will effortlessly monitor your workouts and races. The Garmin software also allows you to set up training programs and workouts and keep a log of all activities. An added bonus is the "normal" design. It doesn't look like you are lugging around a kitchen appliance on your wrist (as previous models appear).

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Teachnlife
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/20/2012

Customer review by YukonJack48

5.0 stars by YukonJack48

What a great product. Does everything I wanted it to do and more. It keeps track of my mileage and i can upload it along with my routes I ran. I'm very happy I bought this ... and am buying another one for my daughter to help w/ her workouts. The operators manual is a bit confusing at times, but it's a very easy piece of gear to figure out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
YukonJack48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great GPS Watch
3/29/2012

Customer review by DealFinderT

5.0 stars by DealFinderT

I have had this watch for less than month and I love it! I haven't really explored all the options this watch offers.I figured out the mode and information I need it to display and that's about it. I'm not great with electronic gadgets so I keep my direction guide handy so I can refer to it. The GPS on watch has been flawless. I have had no problems finding or with losing a signal during a run. It did take me a hour or so to figure out how to set up the software and to sync my watch with my computer so I could transfer my data. Once I figured it out it has worked great too. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews about GPS watches before I decided to buy this one. My exprience so far leads me to believe that some of the negative reviews or complaints about this watch maybe be due to user error and not necessarily flaws with the watch. I'm excited to use it more and learn about all the features it provides.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DealFinderT
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
"Great Piece of Machinery"
4/5/2012

Customer review by wess122

3.0 stars by wess122

I give 3 stars cause I order 2 GF 405 and only one is working. The other one worked only for a week...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wess122
Utuado, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny!
4/10/2012

Customer review by FISHBONE35242

5.0 stars by FISHBONE35242

Great training device for Mt Biking, Road Cycling, Swimming, and Running! I love this thing! I am an avid triathlete and this is, BY FAR, the best thing I have ever purchased to assist my training. I HIGHLY recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FISHBONE35242
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded expectations! Great sports watch.
2/21/2012

Customer review by cds2014

5.0 stars by cds2014

I bought this for my son who is a distance runner. Spent months reviewing different sport watches and comparing features before deciding on the Forerunner 405. Sport watches definitely are an investment and so far this one has lived up to it's reputation. My son loves its accuracy and ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cds2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
3/2/2012

Customer review by stickman1

4.0 stars by stickman1

I'd been pricing this model for a long time and got the right price here. The watch has been decent so far. The GPS tracking is fairly accurate, but not perfect as I already knew, but has many cool features. The ANT agent feature was a slight problem at first getting the download to sync with my computer, but their tech dept. helped me get it up and running. I like being able to run routes without mapping online later and knowing what pace I'm running during the workout. I'm a late comer with this technology, but hey better late than retail, haha.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
stickman1
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much too complicated
4/9/2012

Customer review by GordononMaui

2.0 stars by GordononMaui

I was looking for a simple distance/time/route keeper for trail running. I found this has too many features and I was spending too much time figuring it out. I am not a tech newbie, but this escaped me. I would have to use it all the time to remember how to use it. I'm just a casual trail runner, not a competitve athlete, so it was overkill. Now I just use my GPS enabled phone. Returned watch to WM, no problem at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GordononMaui
Maui, HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day