Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 78 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Stamina PT
1/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After searching through what seemed like countless power towers online, I finally decided on this one from Walmart because of the price, and because of the free shipping. I wanted a simple, no frills, no moving parts, user friendly power tower and that is exactly what this is. It does exactly what it is supposed to do, and nothing more. I weigh in at the limit of this tower, 250lbs. and it does rock slightly when doing chin-ups. But most people interested in a power tower will not have that problem with this item. Dips are great if a little wide, and push-ups are great as well. My only advice is that if you also want to include knee raises, go with another product. I can do knee raises fine, but I also have a wider reach, and for most people this PT would prove difficult for doing knee raises. Overall, I am satisfied with my no frills PT. Assembly time was 1:30 hr., which was about average. I don't know why weight machines insist on using their own one of a kind tool to fasten bolts instead of a standard wrench or socket set, but it was easy to construct. So far I've used this PT every day without problems, and it is easy to move around when I need to.

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
LA, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Power Tower Review
12/27/2010

Customer review by RodneyG

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by RodneyG
by RodneyG

I have been performing dips/pull-ups/push-ups for over twenty years and find this particular Power Tower to be one of the better ones out there for a home set-up. First, box arrived via Fed-Ex in under three days of order placement completely intact and unscathed. Assembly was complete in around 1 hour and 15 mins. Used my own socket set which worked much better then included tool. Pay attention to assembly, as I found illustration to be poor. I am using the power tower in a second bedroom on berber carpet and there is little sway of movement when doing dips or pull-ups. Construction is solid and tight fitting. Padded dip & pull-up handles provide nice cushioning when most other makers do not. I also like that the dip and push-up bars are slightly wider then most other towers, as I get a better pectoral stretch/workout. Push-ups work well when you also have something to slighly elevate your feet up in order to sink down nice and low. Over-all I find this tower to be well worth the money and better then a majority of more expensive ones. Happy Dipping & Pulling!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RodneyG
Fort Myers, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great power tower
2/6/2011

Customer review by ValiantMoogle

4.0 stars 2/6/2011 by ValiantMoogle
by ValiantMoogle

I've been using it for a couple weeks and it is holding up well. The pull-up bar worked loose a bit but tightened up fine. I'm 235 pounds and it seems stable enough for me. The tower is on carpet and wobbles a bit when I do dips, but if I do them facing the other way it does'nt wobble. The dip bar can also be used to do Roman chair leg lifts as you can support the back of your arms/shoulders on the frame of the tower. I hope it lasts for many years.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValiantMoogle
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome tower
12/25/2013

Customer review by jienger

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by jienger
by jienger

This tower is great! Put it together with my brother in law in 20 minutes. It's way sturdier than the picture shows. I was presently surprised at the quality. Great piece of equipment to add to my home gym.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jienger
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for workout routine
9/12/2011

Customer review by schlizabeth

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by schlizabeth
by schlizabeth

This product was easy to assemble and works just great. It's currently being used on carpet and is a little bit wobbly when doing pull ups, but other than that it's great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schlizabeth
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for Pull-ups, Dips, push-ups, and Abs.
4/18/2011

Customer review by 1Pare

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by 1Pare
by 1Pare

This pull-up station is very firm. It does shake a little, but not enough to hinder a hard workout. Construction is stronger than the picture shows. I can do knee raises for abs, pull-ups, push-ups, and dips. I highly recommend this for working out. Easy to assemble and move around once assembled.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Pare
Valley Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use, sturdy, great for pull-ups
6/22/2013

Customer review by Fusionvic

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by Fusionvic
by Fusionvic

Stamina 1690 Power Tower It took me about 30 minutes to install everything. I opted to use my own socket, ratchet, and combination wrench instead of the included "wrenches". The entire set up is fairly heavy and once installed, takes up a sizable amount of room in the corner. I weigh 150 pounds, and mainly wanted the 1690 for pull-ups and chin-ups. However, the knee raises and dips come in handy. I'm not really interested in the push-up or sit-up functions of the 1690 though, but it is available. I noticed that if I have a lot of hip/leg motion while performing chin-ups and pull-ups, the 1690 can sway a bit although I do have medium-pile carpeting. However, I never found it to become unbalanced enough that it would topple over. There is foam padding on the top bar, but I am already starting to get calluses at the lowest joints of my middle and ring fingers on both hands. The Stamina 1690 manual comes with photo illustrations showing the different exercises that can be performed, which is a nice touch. In normal use, I find the Stamina 1690 to be very sturdy. I am not feeling or seeing any flexing of the bars or hardware. If the bolts somehow snap, one could easily go to a hardware store and procure high-strength metric fasteners to replace them but it is unlikely we'll put enough shear force to snap one of them. Overall: 5/5 stars, fairly pricey for use just as a pull-up or chin-up bar, but far more sturdy and stable than those that grip into a door jam/wall.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fusionvic
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Passable pull-up station
4/19/2011

Customer review by Ben007

4.0 stars 4/19/2011 by Ben007
by Ben007

The Powertower has multiple handles in order to perform different exercises. One can do dips, pullups, pushups, and situps. And if the user really wanted to, leg lifts can be done as well. However, there is one minor problem with the tower and that it does have some slight stability problems. When I first used the side with the "dip" handles, the entire tower rocked back and forth. I fixed the problem by setting weights on the opposite side of the tower stand. With the extra 60 pounds sitting on the tower it does not move at all. The manual states that the weight limit for users on the tower stand is 250 pounds. I am 175 and the tower easily handles my weight with no give at all. If there are any improvements that I could suggest, then maybe some adjustable rubber feet rather than the static rubber ones that come with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ben007
Lexington, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy and functional- gets the job done!
4/14/2011

Customer review by GymRat677

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by GymRat677
by GymRat677

This is a great multi-use tower for an excellent price. It was easy to assemble with the tools provided (took me about 1 hour). My only complaint is that this unit is clearly built for men. I bought it for use with P90X and it gets the job done, however the push up and triceps dip bar are spaced too far apart for my 5'3, 120 lb frame and unfortunately are not adjustable. I've been using the pull up bar mainly with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GymRat677
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
"Dip" Section is Sturdy but not "Pullup" Section
9/29/2012

Customer review by umesh1989

2.0 stars 9/29/2012 by umesh1989
by umesh1989

The "Dip" Section is good and sturdy. But the "Pullup" Section & that part of the frame is quite weak .

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
umesh1989
Massachusetts, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money
2/10/2011

Customer review by littlejoefromkokomo

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by littlejoefromkokomo
by littlejoefromkokomo

I had one of the doorway type of pull up bars and was happy with it. After I moved I really didn't have a doorway where it would work. So I had to buy a free standing type. This one is far sturdier and beefier than what you would think by looking at the picture. The tubing looked very small in the picture. It is not. I'm 150 lbs and it works great for me. I think it's well worth the money. I used by own socket wrench, assembly is easy and takes about 1/2 hour.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlejoefromkokomo
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excell tower for pull ups and chin ups.
5/29/2011

Customer review by spaceghost277

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by spaceghost277
by spaceghost277

It is rated for up to 250 lbs. I weight 195 so I don't have a problem with it supporting me. It is pretty strong yet it is light to move around. I was thinking of an over the door bar but was worried that the wall would damaged. Also worried that it a bar would slip off. This tower was the answer, it is working perfectly for what I need. It is a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spaceghost277
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't Beat the Price!
8/14/2012

Customer review by uptoyou

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by uptoyou
by uptoyou

I did extensive research on these towers as I fell and injured myself with the doorway pull-up bars (would NOT recommend--that's another story though). I just couldn't justify spending $500-600 on one of these so I bought this one from Wal-Mart knowing I could return it if I didn't like it. Well, this works. You get a different workout than the other pull up bars (it's harder). And yes, this wobbles. I think they probably all do. I just put weights on and will probably buy sandbags once we finish our move to anchor it just for me (who's paranoid now). Bought since I use P90X and this is perfect for me. Would recommend as the best value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uptoyou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great PS does the trick
6/23/2011

Customer review by trR56

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by trR56
by trR56

this thing is great! And so cheap. I have it right in my room. Allows me to do pull ups and dips at any time I want throughout the day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trR56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price for the good product
8/20/2014

Customer review by pett2520

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by pett2520
by pett2520

Everything is good. A second person maybe needed for installation. It's hard for a person to install the base without help. It can still install by just one person, which I did it myself, but it's just little bit hard. The tools that came with is helpful when nothing is available. However, personal tools are suggested.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pett2520
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great equipment for the home fitness operator
3/3/2013

Customer review by Jaythetrucker

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Jaythetrucker
by Jaythetrucker

Well engineered equipment sturdy enough for the home fitness operator Easy to assemble and move around also an excellent price. All u need is motivation and you'll be on your way.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaythetrucker
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
8/21/2014

Customer review by ifresh3000

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by ifresh3000
by ifresh3000

Overall it's an excellent product both for the money and your body. It's easy to build, I built the whole thing in one day, just follow the manual book step by step. It has 4 exercises: pull ups/chin ups, push ups, sit ups, and dips. The quality is great very durable metal construction.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ifresh3000
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Product
3/19/2013

Customer review by svshumilov

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by svshumilov
by svshumilov

great product/price push-up handles wobble a bit because of the wholes are bigger the bolts, but doesn't bother me. I guess the vendor should check more often how the product is assembled wherever they make it. But I would still recommend this product. It is very comfortable and light.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
svshumilov
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Power Tower
1/2/2012

Customer review by SimonsSay

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by SimonsSay
by SimonsSay

Doesn't look like much online, but it is a very good piece of equipment. This is the best deal you will find at $89 (when I bought it).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimonsSay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Went together easily
10/23/2013

Customer review by REN88

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by REN88
by REN88

I assembled this device myself. Just used the cover picture of the booklet to do it. It fits in my living room. Seems solid enough to me. I only weigh 145 lbs. Did some chin-ups on it after everything was tight. I like it and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REN88
Brockton, Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews