Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 72 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
LOVING IT
9/3/2011

Customer review by MZBLUE902

4.0 stars 9/3/2011 by MZBLUE902
by MZBLUE902

Ok I consider Myself handy but this took Me (alone) about a day to put together. But now that it's up and running I'm loving it. Nice height, very accessable since it's next to My bed and quiet. I don't wake My son when I get up to get My work out going. When putting it together since the instructions has more pictures than words it took extra time to realize ther cotter pin had a catch on the foot bar assembly also a screw fell out while I was moving it into position. Customer service was great at fixing this problem. Programing it is also a challenge so I just use quick start and keep time on My tv or lap top. Overall I'm glad I bought it. At 5' 7 it works perfectlly for Me and the foot pads are so soft if I want to go slow without shoes I can but for My big work outs I have to add shoes or it get's slippery.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MZBLUE902
Maumee, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine, No Joke!
8/12/2010

Customer review by Mexkiwi

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by Mexkiwi
by Mexkiwi

My husband just got back from Iraq and this is the type of elliptical they had over there and he loved working out on it so we decided to get it. It took about two weeks to arrive (make sure you have more than 2 people when you pick it up because this thing is super heavy) and about an hour to put together. Intructions are easy to read and all the little parts are packed individually. Strong, yet smooth and super quiet. We both work out on it everyday and we love it, and I love how you can put your information and it will create a workout for you. Plus it has a charger so you don't have to worry about changing batteries. Most people that asks us how much it was think it was too pricey but its a really good invesment and believe me, you will get your money's worth. If you're thinking of getting this product I say go for it, you won't be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mexkiwi
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great machine at a great price
3/31/2011

Customer review by Stratbrat

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by Stratbrat
by Stratbrat

I echo all the positive comments mentioned in these reviews, so no need to repeat. I am very impressed with the build quality and smoothness of operation. Please be aware the box is very heavy, and you'll need someone to assist you in moving it around (a WalMart associate helped bring it to my van). Even the individual pieces are quite heavy - a testament to the excellent construction. I was able to assemble it myself, but it would have been helpful to have an assistant. The instruction manual is poor, but you can eventually figure things out. One gripe I have is the rather simple console; for the price of this machine, it should be backlit. And also for the price, a water bottle should be included (the screws are provided along with the holes in the frame). If you call customer service, you'll find out there is indeed a water bottle for this machine (at a nominal price); they are sending me one free of charge (and I didn't even haggle).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stratbrat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy, and well built.
6/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love this machine. Shopped around, and decided this was best for my family. My spouse weighs close to 300 lbs, and after doing some research, I found that some of the other machines in the same price range that claim to be able to support that weight don't perform well. I found the product cheaper at other sites, but decided to purchase it through Walmart because of the free site-to-store shipping and extended warrenty. I was able to assemble it by myself, (31 yr old female), but I could see how some might struggle with wheel part. I thought the directions were pretty simple and it took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble. We've had the machine about two weeks with both of us using it daily, and so far, everything is running smoothly. It feels very sturdy, and as to date, there is no squeeking, popping, or cracking noises. My only complaint is that it does not come with a bottle holder, and the display does not light up, so it can difficult to see if the room isn't well lit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pasco, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
1/22/2010

Customer review by Veryactiveretired

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by Veryactiveretired
by Veryactiveretired

I looked at and used several ellipticals before deciding on this unit. At the store this unit seemed to fit well. The 18" stride works very well for me, and the foot pads are close enough to be comfortable. I also like the length of the bars. I'm 6'0" and the layout is very upright and cozy. Unit took a little over an hour to assemble. For the money this machine is solid and very quiet. It glides on the rollers quite nicely. Very happy, did not want to spend more. Will see how it operates in a year. When assembling the unit you have to make sure you tighten everything properly. Easay to assemble. My wife is 5'5" and is also very comfortable on this unit.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veryactiveretired
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Smooth, Quiet, Sturdy
1/19/2011

Customer review by AZDesertShopper

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by AZDesertShopper
by AZDesertShopper

Took about 2 hours to put together - and the first half hour was just to free it all from its packaging. If there's ever a cellophane tape shortage in the world, blame Schwinn. Assembled by single mom handy with tools, no problems. Better to have someone lift the wheel portion, it is the heaviest, but it can be done alone. All screws and hardware are shrink wrapped onto cardboard and labeled, very easy to follow along with assembly manual - is helpful in that it's more visual (pictures with labels, the key parts enlarged). Very stable and sturdy, whisper quiet in operation. Had 2 screws left over that I found out are for the water bottle holder, which doesn't come with it. REALLY? For the price of half the cellophane tape they used, they could've thrown one in. Only thing I wish it had was a backlight to the display. I haven't figured out the control panel yet to add a user, I just keep using QuickStart for now. In all, a well made product, and I'm happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZDesertShopper
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value.
8/2/2010

Customer review by HappyTofu

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by HappyTofu
by HappyTofu

Don't expect a $3,000, gym-quality elliptical when purchasing this, because it isn't. The Schwinn 420 is, however, a tremendous value and a good compromise for those of us looking for something above a Gazelle or InMotion, but without a fortune to spend. In fact, my only disappointment (though one I knew going into the purchase) is the medium-length stride. Otherwise, this elliptical feels sturdy, has good resistance, and offers all the computerized features I could want (distance and time, calories burned, etc), including a programmable routine. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyTofu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Proportioned for Short Women
2/18/2010

Customer review by Sealynx

3.0 stars 2/18/2010 by Sealynx
by Sealynx

This product is well made and can be put together easily by one person. The hardest part is opening the heavy 170lb. box. I have had no problem with squeaking or functions, but I do have a problem with having to lean WAAAAY forward to grab the uprights. This makes for a very uncomfortable ride. If you are buying this product for someone under 5'4", I would find one at a dealer and try it out first.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sealynx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
11/29/2011

Customer review by chibhawk

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by chibhawk
by chibhawk

Schwinn 420 Elliptical Found this product at a different department store for $447 plus tax but thought my comments might be helpful (sorry Walmart...I still spend $1500/month at your store anyway)... All parts were included and nothing seemed to be damaged or scratched. I took a complete inventory before assembling it though, just in case. It took about 3 hours to assemble but only because my 4 and 6 year olds were "helping"... Could have done it in about 45 min without them. Thankfully, I own a nice set of torx drivers (in conjunction with my cordless drill) because the provided wrench was worthless and time consuming. My first work-out was just that, a WORK-OUT! The machine was dead quiet too. Everything seemed to be operating as planned and it wasn't much different than the $2500 version at our local health club. Kuddos to Schwinn so far! Cons - no cup holder, no cooling fan, no backlit display Worth the money though...If something breaks I'll be sure to post again...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chibhawk
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Elliptical for a great price
6/1/2010

Customer review by Nerfalus

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Nerfalus
by Nerfalus

I spent a lot of time looking for an elliptical for my wife's birthday. I tested out 10-15 other products in this price range and most felt unstable, or were really loud. The 420 is very stable (it weights 150lbs) and runs very quiet. We have it in our basement now, so the noise is not a problem, but I was pleased to see it was a quiet machine. Total it took me about 1.5 hours to put it together, but its pretty simple as long as you pay attention to the instructions (I forgot to put the black washers on the handles, had to take them off and put them back on again). The settings are fine and the display is easy to read, if your looking for a good elliptical under 1000$ then this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nerfalus
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Product!
4/28/2011

Customer review by Shellbel

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by Shellbel
by Shellbel
Walmart associate

I purchased this elliptical machine expecting a minimal quality product, man was I wrong. The sturdy steel construction says a lot about the craftsmanship. I like that it has preset and custom settings. Gives an amazing burn your legs and butt workout! The only down side was putting it together, very difficult at times and the instructions were vauge to say the least. It made a quite squeeking sound at first, but a little grease fixed that up. Over all an amazing product, well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shellbel
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Quality
7/15/2010

Customer review by acmean1

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by acmean1
by acmean1

This elliptical is just a well made,sturdy,quality exercise machine. It is a recommended buy from Consumer reports. I put it together and noticed how perfect and everything goes together with very hardened heavy steel pieces. The machine is very smooth and quiet to get a great workout on. To set up the console program is a little less desired, not enough explanation of modes, and their definitions, but simply enough to just hit quick start and get in a time/calorie/speed/power workout. Overall it is a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acmean1
Macon,Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great value !!
2/16/2010

Customer review by Thornwood

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by Thornwood
by Thornwood

I did my homework selecting the best value elliptical. After reading all the reviews I selected the 420. It went together in about 2 hours and the directions were easily followed. After using the machine for the last month it remains very quiet and the workout that me and my wife get are great. No complaints...and the site to store shipping meant that I had no shipping costs to pay!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thornwood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
7/9/2010

Customer review by RevSD

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by RevSD
by RevSD

My wife and I are both using this equipment. I am nearly three hundred pounds and it is working for me fine. We feel this is a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RevSD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful product
3/11/2011

Customer review by shopaholic1975

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by shopaholic1975
by shopaholic1975

I previously purchased a golds gym elliptical, not a good idea. I returned it and purchased this one after alot of research, I'm glad I did. It is a very high quality product. I use it daily and it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopaholic1975
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Actually a very nice elliptical
5/19/2010

Customer review by Jamonster

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Jamonster
by Jamonster

My wife really wanted an elliptical trainer to keep her from having to drive to the gym, and I figured it wouldn't hurt me any if i worked out a little more. I was very hesitant to buy a "home" elliptical, since the quality was supposedly much lower than commercial units. After the assembly, I am very satisfied that we made the right purchase. The 420 is practically all metal and is very sturdy. The stride is extremely smooth and hardly makes any real noise at all, and most importantly...my 5'2" wife is extremely happy and getting a great workout. There honestly isn't a better elliptical for under a 1000 dollars, and stay away from the cheaper plastic units.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamonster
Amarillo, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
overall great quality
4/18/2011

Customer review by ratequeen

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by ratequeen
by ratequeen

I love this machine. It went together very easity in about an hour. All the parts were there. It was very quiet for the first 2 weeks but now there is a little noise coming from one side. I partly think it is because one person that got on it a few times is over the weight limit. This is an awesome machine and is well worth the money. I have had it for about 2 months now and the noise does not affect the ability of the machine to work properly. I wish it had multiuser programs instead of just one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ratequeen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not work, poor customer service
2/16/2011

Customer review by badschwinn

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by badschwinn
by badschwinn

The electronics did not work from the beginning. Called Schwinn (Nautilus) customer service and was put on hold for 25 minutes before someone picked up. Could not help with the problem. The parts needed are out of stock and back ordered due to high demand (for an obvious defect). Finally sent the wrong part. Still do not have a working eliptical!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badschwinn
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Schwinn 420
11/30/2010

Customer review by CG307

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by CG307
by CG307

I like this machine. It's kinda large but any quality elliptical will be. It took a few hours to assemble. Some of the programming instructions are screwy but I'm figuring it out. I use it every day for a few minutes to warm up before aerobics or yoga. I try to use it each night, but I get home late & don't want to be too hyper coz I go to bed early so I can rise early. It is quiet & sturdy & gives a decent workout. Great value for the money. I've been using it a short while & can already feel the difference in my quads, which is good since I have weak knees & want to keep them strong.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CG307
Louise TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
4/19/2010

Customer review by Ellipticalfanatic

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by Ellipticalfanatic
by Ellipticalfanatic

The Schwinn 420 is a great machine. It was easy to put together and it's very sturdy. I use it for an hour a day 6 days a week and I'm so glad I purchased this. It makes no noise.....literally no noise! I will buy another one when I wear this out in 10 years! Make no mistake about it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ellipticalfanatic
Greensburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews