Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1527 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

1527 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

1527 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
473
4 stars
300
3 stars
120
2 stars
135
1 stars
499
1-20 of 1496 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1496 total reviews
1-20 of 1496 reviews
Stay away from Keurigl "hot" 2.0 K cup refillable
2/15/2017

Customer review by joemontana

1.0 stars 2/15/2017 by joemontana
by joemontana

The top for this was broken within three times of using it. I received this as a gift, or the whole machine would be back in your hands by now. You made the top too flimsy, and when you try to remove it from the machine, or take the special lid off, it will crack and break because the seal for the top part of the brew basket is to tight to get off easily. Mine broke from where the little red button is down to where the "lock symbol is located. You have to have this piece in place to brew coffee. If you don't, it will ask you if you are making hot water. The rest of the top around the edge is also loose. I've had the use of this machine for about a month, but the top was broken within the first three days. I tried to buy other replacement inserts without the design flaws this one has, but they won't work in your machine. They have a much simpler design and don't seem so flimsy.

joemontana
montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Works, and is eco-friendly! A must have!
3/17/2011

Customer review by Aray the coffee-holic

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by Aray the coffee-holic
by Aray the coffee-holic

So the rumor is true... when you first use the My K-cup, it leaks. And you might possibly get grounds in your cup. But a simple adjustment of the rubber gasket, and a wipe down of your counter, and the issue is solved. Haven't had an issue since. In my opinion, a lot of the reviews were written immediately after that first messy cup, without really considering how small the issue really is. As far as flavor... you decide the type of coffee and the strength of your cup. It might take some time to get it just right, but so worth it. I do recommend getting a couple extra baskets if there are multiple coffee-holics in the house. All in all... Great invention! Will prevent so much waste in our landfills, while saving money! If 1 person drinks 1 cup per day for a year = 365 non-biodegradable plastic cups thrown away! And that's if you drink only 1 cup(which most people don't)! Multiply that by every coffee drinker that uses a Keurig... and now you can see how eco-friendly the My K-cup is!

Aray the coffee-holic
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Save your money
7/11/2014

Customer review by styg

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by styg
by styg

We bought this accessory to use our own coffee when we are out of K cups. We have filled it between half and full of Starbucks Pike roast and it comes out terrible. Not even close to what it should taste like. Basically the Keurg pushes the water through the machine too fast for the coffee to actually brew. When I look at the inside of the my K cup after use you see the water basically jets through the coffee leaving a kind of hole. There is a you tube video showing a person inserting a used K cup in between the filter basket and bottom part of the my k cup thus slowing the brew process and making a decent cup of coffee. I should not have to do this with a genuine Keurig accessory. I called customer service and with little help. It is a very well built accessory but functions poorly for a person who likes a medium to stronger cup of coffee. There are other brands out there that are supposed to be much better for about the same price. I wish I had the receipt to get my money back!

styg
Georgia
this product is No Good
3/21/2011

Customer review by Lux

1.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Lux
by Lux

I held off buying a Keurig because I didn't want to use the k-Cups but I loved the idea of Quick single serving coffee, no more wasted 1/2 pots of coffee etc.. Well when I saw this item was available I bought it THAN I bought the Coffee Machine. I also bought several machines and these My K-Cups as presents for friends and family last Christmas. Well thats the last time I buy gifts before I try them out 1st. What a Horrible disappointment this product it and none of the "Fixes" people are coming up with work very well either. The Machines where Sold Out all over the country ths last Xmas so this Co should do something about this terrible product. No I am Not buying your k-Cups, I take my coffee very serious and buy high quality beans and have several different types of makers. Please fix this item so i can use this machine agin as it just sits and collects dust now. Luckily a few friends where able to Return my present after discovering how bad this filter system works. I didnt unfortunately.

Lux
Beverly Hills Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!
11/13/2015

Customer review by Georgia Story

5.0 stars 11/13/2015 by Georgia Story
by Georgia Story

Love my Keurig/Mr Coffee brewer! I grind my own beans because I am picky and I use an espresso grind (very fine) . If you use pre-made K-cups it is very easy to use. If you use the three part coffee filter with the gray holder and lid with a plastic and metal insert filter. After a while however this plastic and metal filter wears out and you have to either replace it or use paper filters. I have only found the paper filters at one store and I haven't seen them since. Need to be able to order them from the Keurig site. Also it would be great if the plastic and metal insert filter could be replaced from this site (without having to buy the whole kit) I have two of the sets of the gray holder now and would prefer not to have to buy another whole set. The set comes with two, so that means I have worn out 4 now. The metal separates from the plastic at the seams and the result is grounds in my coffee (hence the paper filters) Other than that, there is no problem with my Keurig/Mr Coffee hybrid. Love it!!

Georgia Story
Jesup, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible
2/2/2011

Customer review by Brian

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Brian
by Brian

I purchased a Keurig coffee maker for my home because my wife and I often only make 1-2 cups of coffee each day right before heading to work. The My K-Cup was a (seemingly) perfect item for us. We are regularly taking our coffee in travel mugs to work, and don't require gourmet coffee daily. The problem is, it LEAKS! Every single cup I brew with the My K-Cup has hot water (that doesn't pass through the My K-Cup) run down the outside of the assembly. I have found an "eHow" article on ways to address this common problem [@], but haven't been able to try the recommendation of using a washer yet, but this proves this product was not properly tested by Keurig. From what I can tell, the My K-Cup sits lower than a regular K-Cup does, and when using the My K-Cup, the needle at the top does not come down far enough into the My K-Cup to prevent splash-back of hot water.I am EXTREMELY disappointed in this product and Keurig for not owning up to the defect and correcting the problem.

Brian
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
My K-CUP?
2/8/2011

Customer review by FrankNitty

3.0 stars 2/8/2011 by FrankNitty
by FrankNitty

After first reviewing the other reviews, I kept putting off and putting off getting this item. My wife walks in the door today with it in hand surprising me with it. Despite what others have said, I decided to give it a try. Being the techy person that I am, I started looking at the design of the My K-Cup. The Design is defective because the hole at the top is way too big. I begun putting coffee grains into filter. I made sure no coffee was on the edges, the top was secure on top and then I dropped into the K-Cup Assembly. Fingers crossed, I turned on machine and watched as the water heated. Then it HAPPEN! Water poured from the bottom of the My K-Cup and the top of the My K-Cup. The hole on the top of My K-Cup is to big so that was why the water poured from the top. Now if your like me, I don't mind this happening; but use a travel mug when you use this filter because the splashing of coffee is going to happen and by using a travel mug, the cup is tall so the coffee doesn't splash all over the place.

FrankNitty
Aston PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I to was reluctant to buy...but...
11/29/2011

Customer review by Lyne

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Lyne
by Lyne

Bought the Brewer along with the My K-Kup filter last weekend! Although I really love the pods, drinking my own favorite coffee was important for me to purchase. I do not know if because of all the complaints, Keurig made changes to their designs, but I had no problems since the purchase. Of course, the right grind (French press and/or filter) is very important. I followed the instructions to the letter, without doing anything to the rubber or otherwise and making sure that the cover is tight but not to tight as described in the instructions. I found that the instructions that came in the box with the My K-Kup filter was very easy to follow. As for the weakness of the coffee, it is hard for me to comment, since everyone's taste buds are different. I do know that by using filtered water and the right amount of coffee my cup is always perfect. I intend on using everyday with my favorite brand...hey you cannot get a coffee in a shop for $0.02/cup. Hope this review helps.

Lyne
Montréal, Québec
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mine doesn't leak and isn't messy!!
3/26/2012

Customer review by JES42

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by JES42
by JES42

I've been reading how bad the MY K-CUP is. Yes, it can leak and it can get your counter soaked. HOWEVER there is a very simple fix for it. If you've taken the time to keep the various parts of your Keurig machine nice and clean, then you've probably removed the little rubber washer on the pointed tube that pierces the K-CUP. Chances are that once you've washed it off, you just slid it back up the tube until it seated itself at the top. Well, if you did just that, THAT is your problem. Open the lid, slide the rubber washer DOWN the tube until the beveled part is sitting right at the top of the opening on the tube or even a bit closer to the pointy end. Do not push it all the way up, closing the lid the next time you brew will set the washer at the proper position on the tube. If you look at the top of the MY K-CUP you will see a round opening about 3/4s of an inch wide. The rubber washer is meant to sit inside that and form a seal to prevent water from escaping. The best part?? It's free and dead simple!!

JES42
New Freedom, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good idea badly implemented
6/30/2011

Customer review by sweeperdave

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by sweeperdave
by sweeperdave

The My K-Cup is an accessory Keurig offers that allows users to brew their own ground coffee using a Keurig brewer. The My K-Cup comes in three pieces - a holder that replaces the pre-filled capsule holder, a metal mesh filter basket, and a screw on lid. The My K-Cup is easy to use in that one simply places ground coffee in the basket, screws on the lid and places in the machine. The actual brewing process, then, is the same as when using regular K-Cup capsules. Unfortunately, during the brewing process hot and unbrewed water is forced out the top of the M K-Cup and leaks everywhere making a mess. Trying to mitigate this issue, I used smaller amounts of coffee and coarser grinds which did not end the leaking problem and yielded a weak and unacceptable brew. I wonder how Keurig with its fairly decent machine can manage to continually hurt its brand by marketing this near worthless accessory. Keurig needs to fire its My K-Cup designers and marketing team and get rid of or replace this most inane accessory.

sweeperdave
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible. Grounds everywhere.
1/7/2017

Customer review by Becksontap

1.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Becksontap
by Becksontap

After getting a keurig for Christmas, I wanted to continue using the ground coffee bags I had already purchased. I was excited to try this and thoroughly disappointed in the results. The water shoots down the center of the filter with such force that it pushes the grounds to the side and upwards. My coffee was filled with grinds and decreasing the amount I put in the filter had no different result. Very disappointed.

Becksontap
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
read the instructions&it's GREAT!
11/23/2012

Customer review by Nanc

4.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Nanc
by Nanc

Let me address some of the previous reviewers:: IT DOESN'T FIT:: If you would read the instructions it CLEARLY says you have to remove the k-cup holder in your Keurig BEFORE you use your "my k-cup" IT LEAKS WATER:: If you tighten the lid all the way you would not have an issue. If you tighten it until you can not turn the lid anymore you will be good. CLOGS:: Again, did you read the instruction about what size grounds to use? Not to pack it full? GROUND IN COFFEE:: Yet again, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! Did you ensure that there was no coffee on the rim of the filter? That no grounds were in between the filter and the filter holder? DO that and tada, NO GROUNDS!! I got a Keurig because I was wasting too much money brewing a half a pot and not drinking it all. I love that I can use regular coffee and brew one cup at a time. All in all if you read the instructions and have some common sense you will get a good use out of this. Play around with the water setting and amount of grounds until you find what you like.

Nanc
Chi Town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now I'm Satisfied!
12/19/2010

Customer review by WV Triker

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by WV Triker
by WV Triker

I, too, was at first very disappointed with the My K-Cup, with splashing and spraying of water all over the place (my wife thought I had to be "doing it wrong" and I thought it was broken). After reading the "gasket tip" I immediately went to the kitchen and tried it out: Bingo! Works as it should now. Just ease that flat, round gasket down about 2/3 way on the top needle and you get a nice, proper seal and no more mess. Now I'm happy with it. The only con is in my opinion it should come with two screen baskets. I like it (now) because I can create my own custom blends and use different coffees as I feel like it. It's a great product. One hint: The instructions say to use a French press grind. Open a used k-cup and you'll see it is really an espresso grind; that makes a big difference. And get a bur grinder, not one of those cheap-o blade type. With a good grinder you can even re-grind ground coffee to the right fineness and use it properly with much better flavor.

WV Triker
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect strong cup of coffee
9/9/2011

Customer review by Smokin' hot granny

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by Smokin' hot granny
by Smokin' hot granny

I read the reviews before purchasing this product, so I opened the box carefully and made sure I hung on to the receipt. My first couple of cups of coffee were weak and unimpressive but I got my method figured out and now I love the k-cup! The instructions said to use a coarse grind coffee--did not work well....I'm using a finer, not quite espresso, grind. I rinse the inside of the basket and then spoon in enough coffee to completely fill the basket (about 2 TBSP) and level off the top. I place it in the holder and make sure no loose coffee is on the edge of the basket, holder, or inside the top of the lid. Before I place it in the coffee maker I pull the rubber sleeve that that surrounds the needle down a little (learned that from reading reviews....don't know if it really makes a difference but thought I wouldn't take any chances) then select a 10 oz. cup and brew. I'm not crazy about really dark roasts but I like STRONG coffee and my k-cup is delivering a mug of strong, hot, coffee that's really excellent.

Smokin' hot granny
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Useless filter
1/6/2017

Customer review by jim87

1.0 stars 1/6/2017 by jim87
by jim87

I was excited to try this filter, only to find out the water shoots through the middle leaving almost all the coffee grounds dry. The cup has alot of fine grounds at the bottom. I would not purchase again.

jim87
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Surprised by Negative Reviews
10/16/2012

Customer review by MandieSue76

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by MandieSue76
by MandieSue76

I've had my My K-Cup for years... 3-5 at least. I had to buy replacement filters in April, after the original ones I purchased got kinda icky and beat up. All parts are dishwasher safe, and you can buy extra filter packs to have on hand so you're not dumping the cup every time you want a fresh cup of coffee (as a stay at home mom, I have 3 every morning). I recently visited a friend for the weekend and they had a different style of reusable, pretty sure it was an ecobrew, and it was the biggest PITA. I had to dig the grounds out with my pinky finger if I wanted a second cup. I'm coming back here to purchase a new My K-Cup because my old one is finally starting to break. I have started getting some grounds in my cup, but only a few, and I actually had MORE in my cup with the ecobrew and that was brand new. I've never noticed leaking, or anything weird, and my Keurig itself is about 6 years old. I would highly recommend the My K-Cup. It's been a wise investment.

MandieSue76
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not buy this product!
12/7/2012

Customer review by Anita Moore

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Anita Moore
by Anita Moore

This item definitely does not work as well as the pre-packaged Kcups. It's hard to add coffee into the tiny filter, the water runs far too quickly through the coffee and makes a horrible cup of coffee and it's extremely messy after use. I noticed in the instructions too that it mentions "there are line markings on the inside of the filter basket that designate 1 tablespoon and 2 tablespoons." in regards to adding coffee for desired strength...if those markings are there I sure couldn't find them, the inside of the basket (which is lined with black plastic) is the most idiotic place in the world to put them because you cannot see them!!! I have to say that I really wonder if the designers of this product ever actually tried it themselves on a daily basis and thought "this makes a great cup of coffee", if they did ANY testing on it at all...it would never have been put on the market. The design needs a lot of work! Mine is going in the trash where it belongs.

Anita Moore
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Watery, crunchy coffee. Mmmmmm.....
12/26/2010

Customer review by AS400Jockey

1.0 stars 12/26/2010 by AS400Jockey
by AS400Jockey

This _could_ be a great gadget if it were designed correctly. The main problem with this is the seal between the top of the K cup and the hot water spigot. This thing has a depression in the top where the seal is supposed to sit. The problem with it is the depression is too deep. So, the rubber gasket between hot water entry and the cup is LOOSE, so it doesn't seal. You can actually rattle the cup around after closing the hatch. So - water leaks like a sieve and much/most of the water travels on the OUTSIDE of the cup instead of through the coffee grounds. The result is a very weak cup of coffee, with lots of crunchy grounds swimming around in the cup. A real bummer. My next trip to the hardware store will include a trip to the rubber washer selection... I'll see if I can shim this thing up a little bit and get it to work as it should. I'll need either a little washer to go in the depression, or a larger one to use to raise up the 'collar' a little bit.

AS400Jockey
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy Fix
12/19/2011

Customer review by kandie

3.0 stars 12/19/2011 by kandie
by kandie

Obviously this My K-cup does not work for all the Keurig machines that it says it does. I have the Mini Keurig (which I love), but I had the same leak problems as many of the other reviews and because of that the water is not going over the grounds so of course you are going to get a weak cup of coffee and my cup was only half full. I pulled the beveled gasket down a ways like alot of people suggested and that still did not help, so I pulled it right off and placed it on the cover of the My K-cup and it was too small (that is why it leaks) so I went to [@] and bought an o-ring to take up the slack. I brought the cover with me so I would know what size to fit it. It was 59 cents, got home, placed the o-ring inside the cover, pulled the gasket around the needle down a little ways and voila! It worked, no leaking and a good cup of coffee! The company is Danco Inc. Stk No 35729B 3/16X5/8x3/32 #12 o-ring. Try it, it was a 62 cent fix w/tax. I only gave this product 3 stars because it is something that Keurig needs to address and fix!

kandie
Peshtigo, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love My K Cup!
1/4/2013

Customer review by Big Daddy G

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Big Daddy G
by Big Daddy G

After reading the instructions, and the reviews/suggestions, and some trial and error, this works great for me! I drink over 4-5 cups per day, so this accessory is going to save me tons of money by using my own coffee. No drips, no coffee grounds in my cup, and great full taste. Definitely fresh ground beans taste the best (using grind setting between drip and espresso), and filling the cup (loosely, not tamped down) to about 1/8" from the top is my preference. I also used the suggestion of cutting the top rim off a used K cup, and inserting the empty bottom part of the cup into My K cup holder - this allows the water to stay in contact longer with the coffee, resulting in a very rich brew without building up to much pressure. For Christmas, I got my Keurig machine, my K cup accessory, and about 160 K cups of various flavors, as well as a couple bags of whole bean coffee and a new bean grinder. Santa was VERY good to me this year!!!

Big Daddy G
Willard, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1496 total reviews
1-20 of 1496 reviews