Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 77 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Excellent job
12/9/2009

Customer review by MakeLifeEasy

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by MakeLifeEasy
by MakeLifeEasy

We have had our Magellan 4.3 RoadMate 1420 GPS for almost two years and can't say enough about it. The RoadMate always takes us where we need to go, and we never have a problem with charging. We simply keep the RoadMate in our car, securely in the console after use. Why take it out? It is solely for roadtrips. We highly recommend this product. In fact, we are giving some as gifts this holiday season.

Was this review helpful? (100) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MakeLifeEasy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Amazing and User Friendly!
12/13/2009

Customer review by MomSaysSo

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by MomSaysSo
by MomSaysSo

This unit has saved me time, gas, frustration; and it has given me confidence I can go anywhere! Touch screen: Enter your home address or zipcode to help the amazing unit know what your state, etc. are and you will be in business. Immediate re-routing without saying it is re-routing - just gives you the newest directions. It SAYS the street names that it wants you to turn on - signals with a bell sound to verify at turn - reminds you to stay on the highway you are on when major intersections are crossed that you need to avoid. It announces when you have arrived and gives the street name and number. So many extras available - like an I-Pod with its menu for restaurants, gas, I could go on. You won't be disappointed! Night backlight is incredible! You can push "Where am I?" and it gives location, etc. You can even zoom in or out of the screen! I don't want to EVER be without mine! This is a lifesaver!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomSaysSo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
good product for the price
12/24/2009

Customer review by northjersey1

4.0 stars 12/24/2009 by northjersey1
by northjersey1

Nice size screen, easy to program, but the only down fall is that if you are getting to an intersection, and you are not too sure which way to turn, it won't tell you right at the point "make a left or a right" or whatever the case may be. Overall nice for the price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
northjersey1
belleville,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Buy a Tom Tom!
12/7/2009

Customer review by eldredjle

1.0 stars 12/7/2009 by eldredjle
by eldredjle

I am going to be taking this unit back as soon as I am able to. I got it in the mail and there is no way to charge this unit other than plugging it into your car. Unless you have the liberty of leaving a GPS in your car safely at night this isn't the unit for you. Wish it would have been clear on the product description as to what you get. In addition, Tom Tom is so much better. You can download maps directly from the internet and you can plug your unit into the computer to charge. Don't waste your time with this unit. Sorry, but it's true!

Was this review helpful? (56) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eldredjle
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
best thing i ever owned
12/12/2009

Customer review by mcfarlneknows

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by mcfarlneknows
by mcfarlneknows

this thing is awsome as soon as i pull it out of the box and turn it on it knows exactally where im standing so easy to put in information very nice looking

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcfarlneknows
seymour indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product
1/9/2010

Customer review by jay1586

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by jay1586
by jay1586

I bought this for my daughter, and not having owned one before, I was apprehensive. It has proven to be a valuable product, worth the great price. It provides spoken turn by turn directions, displays speed and direction, allows route choice by time or distance and has 2d and 3d views. Sites can be saved and easily recalled for use. There are many more neat options. I would easily recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jay1586
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/17/2010

Customer review by EleventhHeaven

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by EleventhHeaven
by EleventhHeaven

We love this product. I first bought a Garmin Nuvi that did not give the spoken street name. I took it back and got this one. It was very important to me to have the spoken street name as opposed to "Turn Right" only.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EleventhHeaven
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Needs improvement
12/24/2009

Customer review by wheelman

2.0 stars 12/24/2009 by wheelman
by wheelman

doesn't have useful information like a nuvi I own . Needs improvement it was telling me to turn left make a u-turn in middle of intersection to go back to right when in could have shown right turn on the first place - can't be doing that when driven an 18 wheeler.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wheelman
Miramar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
not ready for primetime
1/19/2010

Customer review by Gregg101

1.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Gregg101
by Gregg101

This gps should not have been released to the public. This is because it is provided with an old map (over 2 years old), and after contacting Magellan Customer Service, I was told that they have not been given a date by their map supplier (NAVTEQ). This means that each buyer of this product must live with an OLD ELECTRONIC MAP, and pay again for a map update. I returned my unit. What a joke and waste of the consumer's time. Clearly a "don't buy".

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gregg101
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Product
1/18/2010

Customer review by gingergirl777

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by gingergirl777
by gingergirl777

I've used a cell phone carrier's GPS system for a couple of years now, but was very tired of paying those monthly fees + all the taxes they apply. I decided to research handheld GPS systems. I decided to order the Magellan 1420 after spending a lot of time in comparison and reviews. It is awesome! It offers more than my phone service GPS and it's very easy to use. Great buy for the money spent!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gingergirl777
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Buy
1/5/2010

Customer review by amomus

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by amomus
by amomus

Originally bought the Tom Tom SE 125 and returned it. I think it was defective because it was very slow visually and map move is sluggish frames. We exchanged it for this one and it works great. Not at all sluggish and shows turn by turn on the map. Very great price for it and the features are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amomus
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Magellan RoadMate 1420
1/6/2010

Customer review by RDarby

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by RDarby
by RDarby

This product is great. I have been on several long trips already to test it and it has taken me directly to my destanation. When you call the Magellan 800 number tech support staff is very helpful and always seem to go the extra mile to help you. The downloads and updates are easy to put in your Magellan Road Mate 1420. I would defintely recomand this product to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RDarby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding traveling Aid
1/8/2010

Customer review by WanderOne

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by WanderOne
by WanderOne

The Megellan 1420 is the second portable GPS we have owned. It has proven to be the best ever. It has many features only found in more expensive GPS's. We are so happy with the Megellan we have purchased an additional one as a gift for a family member. It is great finding routes in the local area as well as when traveling in other states.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WanderOne
Victorville, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall, Good Product
12/28/2009

Customer review by Lindz2002

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by Lindz2002
by Lindz2002

First GPS I've ever owned... Overall this GPS in great if you just want one with the basic package to get you from point a to b. Very, very easy to use. Didn't need to read owners manual, pretty self explanatory. Love how it tells you your turns ahead or time. Gets signal VERY quick and faster that the TomTom I have seen. If you are just wanting a basic unit with all the necessities to get you going, this is the one for you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lindz2002
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
So-so!
12/23/2009

Customer review by Gadget123

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by Gadget123
by Gadget123

I had an older GPS (1996) which had built-in addresses and was very simple to operate. This has a lovely screen, great color and a nice voice. But it is no improvement on the old black and white version and far more complicated to run. The price was excellent, but I was disappointed by its complexity. Sometimes less really is more!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gadget123
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Crazy GPS
1/6/2010

Customer review by foreigneyes

2.0 stars 1/6/2010 by foreigneyes
by foreigneyes

This Gps is absolutely crazy. I used it twice and it keeps on giving me wrong directions. I am returning it I soon as I have a chance

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foreigneyes
Would recommend to a friend? No
worth the money
12/28/2009

Customer review by elCaliente72701

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by elCaliente72701
by elCaliente72701

We bought this product as a gift because we had loaned the giftee (daughter) our Magellan and she liked it so much a new one as a gift made perfect sense. These are easy to use and are reliable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elCaliente72701
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great product
1/20/2010

Customer review by Likegoodgadgets40

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by Likegoodgadgets40
by Likegoodgadgets40

This is a great product; it is not about luxury anymore this product has a lot of features for the price. I would do definitely recommend it, nowadays we need to take advantage of the technology.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Likegoodgadgets40
Lauderhill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great unit
1/22/2010

Customer review by Kat

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by Kat
by Kat

This is a great gps, easy to program , a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kat
Bethlehem.Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/30/2009

Customer review by WillieDynamite

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by WillieDynamite
by WillieDynamite

I purchased it for my wife. It works great so easy to setup and use recommended for first gps purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WillieDynamite
charlotte nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews