Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

152 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

152 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 151 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Great for dry/combination skin

Customer review by katgeo

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by katgeo
by katgeo

I've been using this for several years now, and it still looks great on my face. I used to have dry skin but over the yeas it's become more of combination of dry to normal, it still looks great. If you have large pores or wrinkles you should definitely try this out, I have large pores so using foundation made my skin look worse, tried various face tints and this one has been the best. It evens out the color of my face (and doesn't look orange, most stuff does on my face), it doesn't cover things completely but for things like spider veins or the occasional blemish I use a liquid concealer stick over the tint. I can't say whether the retinol in it does anything, but the sunblock in it does. I don't really use it on my nose unless I'm going to be in the sun during the day, when I don't my nose gets sunburned but the rest of my face is fine. This is a perfect product for someone who has dry to normal skin and/or visible pores or fine lines and wrinkles. It works with your skin instead of against it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day

Customer review by rainydayjane

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by rainydayjane
by rainydayjane

I have tried many expensive department store products with all kinds of promises, but this is the one I keep reaching for. I just turned 50 and while I still have good skin, I do have a few fine lines that heavier foundations accentuate. This product is like a healthy sheer wash that adds a light glow and has light coverage that you can build on. It blurs out uneven skin tones, but still lets my natural freckles show through. Unlike a lot of other products these days, I really appreciate that Neutrogena has stayed true and doesn't load their products with heavy perfumes. I also love the clear pump where I can see exactly how much is left and there is no struggle to get it out of the bottle. I also use the Neutrogena sheer highlighting blush and the Healthy Volume Mascara that contains olive oil. These products together with a little darkening eye brow pencil take 10 years off my face. Perfect. These products for the price and quality are superior and I am so happy that Neutrogena makes them.

Farmington Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal

Customer review by CaliSunshine22

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by CaliSunshine22
by CaliSunshine22

I'm not one for reviews but after finding this product I felt the need to. I have been a long time bare minerals girl (5+years) and after buying my last jar I was highly disappointed with the new formula and especially at $28 a pop since I felt like I kept having to reapply my makeup, so I have been on a mission to find make up that is good for my skin and has a barely there look to it. I love this product! I have been wearing it for over two weeks and I can really see the difference in the health of my skin (I'm 24). It's NOT a foundation it's merely a tinted moisturizer but I work outside and am not one for layers of make up. This gives a light dewy look to your face and adds a bit of color along with giving a brighter youthful look. The SPF is awesome as well the the pump applicator. When I want a more coverage look I add a little bit of concealer under this and my skin looks flawless. Or if I'm going out on the town I wear the Healthy Skin Foundation with this underneath and my makeup stays put after dusting with a light powder. Overall I'm hooked on Neutrogena after years of pricey makeup. I have pretty decent skin however with my high exposure to sun and sweat (woohoo Central Cali sunshine) I really want to take care of my skin and I feel this product does what it says it's suppose to. It may not be for everyone but it sure worked for me :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Central Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Neutrogena's HSE Does It All

Customer review by bMod84

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by bMod84
by bMod84

This product is EXACTLY what it says it is, a "Healthy Skin Enhancer!" I was so happy when I discovered it for it has everything I want and need in ONE bottle (Retinol, SPF, and Oil-free)! And if that wasn't enough, it also provides minimal yet amazing coverage! I can't express how liberating it is to have only 1 step for moisture and makeup, not to mention my skin feels clean, never greasy or heavy, and even my breakouts have reduced in frequency and severity. After discovering it more than 6 months ago I have officially dumped my other, more expensive, moisturizers and foundations. This product has not only cut down on my "primp" time, it has also helped to smooth slight lines on my forehead (wow)!!! LOVE IT! RECOMMEND IT! And plan on using it for a long time to come! If you haven't tried it yet, you definitely should! The best 10 bucks you'll spend!

Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First TM I've tried and going back to it!

Customer review by Best TM

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Best TM
by Best TM

I first tried this because I was sick of heavy foundations that broke me out and Bare Minerals made my skin itch like crazy and broke me out. I used this for a week or so and within that time my skin cleared up. I had absolutely no blemish on my skin, my pores were smaller, and tone was more even. It made me excited to wake up in the morning to find my skin even better than the day before! It also made my combo skin comfortable and soft. Not too dry, not too oily. I also found I almost didn't need to apply much of anything to my face after a week. But then stupid me thought I would go to Sephora and try the more expensive TM's. I thought more expensive = must be better. I was OH SO WRONG! I tried Laura Mercier and while I liked the dewy glow it gave, it broke me out and clumped up. Then I tried Tarte, that made my skin also itch and looked weird/shimmery throught the day. So the price was not worth those. Then I tried Boots No7 and while I like it, it slightly made me break out and at the moment the color is too dark for my winter skin color. I will be going back to this as soon as I can get the sample of this Tarte TM off my face!

Best TM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I was Amazed! My new forever product!

Customer review by nmcalderon

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by nmcalderon
by nmcalderon

For years I've struggled with oily skin and mild acne which was manageable. When I turned 30 in 2103, everything changed (hormonal changes#. I had acne like never before and was prescribed creams by my dermatologist. I stopped using makeup until I was told to try Neutrogena because it is "oil-free & non-comedogenic." You will see encouraging & discouraging trial and error, you will find what works. Thank you Neutrogena...from cleansers, to body wash and makeup, I have found my forever brand. Helpful color hint: For years I was a NC40 year round and in the Summer a C5. I'm a medium/olive. In Neutrogena: Healthy Skin Enhancer in Neutral to Tan ##40#, Healthy Skin Glow Sheers Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer Light to Medium ##30#. Next, finding a concealer & ready to try the Shine Control Primer.

Phillips Ranch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily

Customer review by Micha

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Micha
by Micha

I hate the feeling of any kind of foundation, they always feel way too heavy and I end up breaking out. Since I've been using this, which has been for three months now (and one bottle's lasted me this long and it's only halfway), my skin has cleared up so much now that sometimes I feel confident enough not to wear it at all. My boyfriend has been complimenting me on how clear my skin's been looking, and so have my friends and even my mom! I love this stuff. The only qualm I have with it is that my skin is olive toned, but pale, so it looks a little pinkey on me. But I could be the only one who notices that. And because of my skin tone and the lightness of it, it's hard for me to find products for my skin that don't make my face look like a mask, and this product has by far worked the best on my skin.

Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
completely natural looking AND has spf!

Customer review by joey c

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by joey c
by joey c

as a guy i'm nervous when i use anything with color. i want to look good and healthy, but the products have to be uber-natural in appearance and they have to work. i read a review written by paula begoun about this product and decided to try it out. initially i think i bought a color to light and was not happy, but then got number 40, neutral to tan, and it's perfect. after blending on my skin color is enhanced, not masked. in fact, i've been out of it for a while and today was the first day i had some to wear, a friend who sees me all the time said 'why do you look so good and well rested?'. to me, that says it all! oh, and of course it has broad spectrum sun protection to keep the skin underneath looking good even after the product comes off! this is definitely one for the guys!

joey c
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Helped me quit face powder cold turkey

Customer review by VibrantIceDancer

4.0 stars 8/11/2013 by VibrantIceDancer
by VibrantIceDancer

I'm 42, fair to light skin, and have some acne scars on my chin and darker patches on my cheeks and forehead due to hormonal changes. For years I've been using mostly tinted sunscreens which left my skin looking oily or mineral powder foundations, but they always made me look older because everything would settle into the fine lines around my eyes. I've always preferred the natural look so I've been steering away from the "aging" foundations that just seem heavy and fake looking. I tried this product on a whim, because I liked what it offers - a retinoid treatment, sunscreen, and light coverage. After using it one day, I completely stopped putting powder over my makeup, because it never gets oily looking! (I live in Texas where it's hot and humid and I have an oily t-zone, so this is a big deal.) It doesn't completely cover all of my imperfections, but it evens out my whole complexion, smells great, and I've been very happy with how my skin has looked throughout the day. My only small complaint is it tends to pill up if you try to spread it out too much in an area, so I've just adjusted my application technique. I also use pure aloe vera as a light moisturizer underneath it. So far, so good.

Cedar Park, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
I never wear "regular" makeup anymore.

Customer review by Bravo

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Bravo
by Bravo

I love this stuff. I've been using it for a few years now, and though I am sometimes wooed by the siren call of other makeups, I always return to this because it's so superior. Full coverage makeups tend to sit in my little lines and wrinkles and dry out the skin on my nose. This does neither. I also love the sunscreen. As for the colors, I too wish there were just a few more options for us pink people. Although my skin is very, very light, I absolutely cannot wear "Ivory to light," as it is much too yellow. I can, however, wear "fair to light," although in the dead of winter it's just a hair too dark for me. During those months, I can lighten it using a pressed powder. I prefer to use it by itself, though, so I would LOVE to see a VERY LIGHT SHADE WITH PINK UNDERTONES! :)

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've Been Converted!

Customer review by MissPlaced

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by MissPlaced
by MissPlaced

I was one of those people who staunchly refused to wear makeup at all but for special occasions a couple of times a year when it was a social requirement, tops. I never liked feeling like I was wearing a mask, I CERTAINLY didn't like looking like I was wearing makeup, and finally, makeup always left me red and itchy after a couple of hours. I tried this once, and I was hooked. I still looked natural, but better! It helped ease the lines between my brows and around my mouth, and just left my skin feeling lovely all around. No itchiness, no redness. Now, I can't go a day without this stuff. And the Healthy Skin Enhancer has acted as a gateway cosmetic product. Now, I'm trying all sorts of Neutrogena cosmetics - the only brand that doesn't make me want to peel my face off!

Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shocking--in a good way!

Customer review by beautyobessed

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by beautyobessed
by beautyobessed

I'm a teenager with really oily skin, but have weird dry patches in the winter. Since it's spring, I wanted a face product that feels like a tinted moisturizer but covers like a foundation becuase I have moderate acne. Once I put my concealer on, I take my Healthy Skin Enhancer and dab a bit on a brush and swirl it in cirucular motions and it looks so beautiful and effortless! Literally leaves my skin glowing but without the oil! To my surprise, it's only spring and I am in the second to darkest shade becuase I have olive toned skin, so I will definitely have to pick up the darkest shade once summer comes! Plus there's SPF! the price is a bit much for the amount you get but in the end I'm saving much more than on a high end product.Best product ever!

New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light with great coverage!

Customer review by Raven1112

5.0 stars 3/21/2015 by Raven1112
by Raven1112

I recently began using neutropenia products as my dermatologist recommended it because of my oily skin, he said the salycilic content would help. I am utterly amazed at the difference! With other products I was constantly blotting my face, and within 5-6 hours of wearing makeup I would have to wash my face and reapply my makeup as my eyes would sting because my eye makeup would run. I began using the deep clean face wash and my face was so clean! No more blotting every hour! I then started using the eye shadow with more running makeup! I've since began using more of your products...this skin enhancer is fabulous...I put it on after washing my face and am happy to say that my skin looks better and makeup stays on all day!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
This Product is Great!

Customer review by Kaity5

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Kaity5
by Kaity5

I love this product! I've never worn foundation (just eye makeup and blush - we have good genes in our family# but as I've gotton older #42) I started using mineral powder to keep a more flawless but natural look. Now that I live in Vegas I've found that sometimes in heat my face would look shiny and I wanted a better solution. This is it! It holds up much better in the heat and even after hiking in the hot sun all day, I can dab my face with a tissue and I look fresh and put together - no melting effect and no breakouts! As an added bonus, my skin quality has improved. I am switching my mosturizer to Neutrogena as well as a result of the great performance of this product. Thanks Neutrogena!

Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Healthy looking skin tone!

Customer review by B from NC!

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by B from NC!
by B from NC!

Please don't stop making this product! I've been using the enhancer in light to neutral (I think is the name) for about 10 months. I have gone through both summer and winter where my skin color changes at least 2 shades but this one shade works all year-round! I hate wearing foundation because it feels heavy and looks cakey on me (and makes me break out) but tinted moisturizer tends to feel oily and look shiny. This product gives me sun protection and is so lightweight, I forget I put it on. I have red patchy skin from allergies but the skin enhancer really helps even out the tone, even after I take it off! It's a great all around product that I highly recommend :D

B from NC!
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by alialm22

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by alialm22
by alialm22

SINCE I TRYED THIS MY FACE LOOKS SMOOTH AND SOFT I USE TO HAVE DRY PATCHES ON MY FACE AND WHEN I PUT ON ANY FOUNDATION MY FACE WOULD PEEL/ FLAKE AND IT WAS JUST TERRIBLE I THOUGHT MY ONLY OPTION WAS TO NEVER WEAR MAKE UP BUT I DECIDED TO PURCHASE THIS IN MY FIRST TRY I WAS SKEPTIC but when i put it on its litterally like no foundation i ever put on its amazing i kept looking at my face wow ey wow my nose whitch is the most that flakes was soft than it had ever been in months its wonderful ill never ever stop using it im soo happy i found something that works this works just one try and its hello to amazing skin im soo glad i could wear make up again with no worries

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this!!

Customer review by Smilesa lot

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Smilesa lot
by Smilesa lot

i turned 76 a month ago,have very young and healthy skin, usually guessed at being 60.I do have sensitive skin and a small area of rosacea on my cheek. I had been using another brand product and my skin was looking as if I had a rash. I bought the Enahncer in Fair to Light as I am very fair. It is perfect! I love the feel of it plus i get just the coverage I need. I use it as foundation. I use the Neutrogena facial bar to cleanse my face and I use the Neutrogena Anti-Wrinkle deep wrinkle moisturizer then apply the Enhancer. I work 2 part-time jobs and get compliments on my skin all the time. Thank you Neutrogena for caring for my skin.

Smilesa lot
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Try this product guys!

Customer review by MetroMan

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by MetroMan
by MetroMan

I am a guy, and I TOTALLY agree with the review from MirrorMirror (also a guy). This product is really fantastic. I have tried several forms of make up over the years and this is the first one that truly evens out my complextion without looking or feeling like I am wearing anything. It takes such a small amount, 1 to 2 pumps, applys quickly and evenly with a wedge/sponge, and ta-dah - smooth even toned skin in less than a minute. A quick application of Shine Control translucent powder and I am set for the day! I highly recommend this to guys looking for that something extra you've been looking for to improve your appearance!!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
naturally awesome

Customer review by pinkbug79

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by pinkbug79
by pinkbug79

I've been on a search for years and bought top of the line products from the mall to ordering on line. ..I have oily skin that does break out a lot. ..but I went out on a limb and bought this. ..figured its a quarter of the cost I've been spending so I bought it. glad I did. .it evens out your face,feels like u have nothing its a 3 in 1 and oil free!!! And wont clog pores. ..I havent broken out any since I've been using it the past 2 weeks I do Finnish the look with the mineral pressed powder. .it last all day! ! The pump does get stuck time to time but all said. ..this is awesome! Way to go neutrogena! !

Wyandotte. ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pros and cons

Customer review by Philly

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Philly
by Philly

Retinol, light coverage, sunscreen-- these are wonderful. But with so many people complaining about the colors and the pump, why can't these be fixed? The lightest shade is yellowish and a shade too dark on me. And the pump does not give enough control over how much comes out. And even though I keep it tightly capped, the first pump of the day always has that thickened clump-- ugh! Finally, I wonder how much product I should be using to get real sun protection. When I used sunscreen I used a lot, but I can't use as much of this stuff because you don't rub it into your skin the way you apply sunscreen. Just wondering.

Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews