Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 380 reviews
5 stars
220
4 stars
83
3 stars
29
2 stars
23
1 stars
25
Sort by: 
1-20 of 380 reviews
1-20 of 380 reviews
Not a review but an observation and recommendation
3/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hello, I've been reading the comments/reviews of the other two liquid foundations from Neutrogena. Most of the reviewers note they have oily skin and wonder why the foundations are breaking them out. I have used Neutrogena Skin Clearing in the past and have returned to using that foundation. I like it a lot but I'm worried about the glass bottle breaking during travel. I have oily sensitive skin and I've found that I need the skin clearing makeup. It has .5 percent of salicylic acid, which keeps your pores clear and is not enough to irritate. I've been using a department store brand (has .5 percent SA) and mixing it with another department store brand of the same line with good results. However, due to budget cuts I have returned to Neutrogena's Skin Clearing foundation and will mix it with the Healthy Skin foundation. Those of you that are having difficulties with shine/oil control/breakouts may want to try this combination to see if it works for you. Good luck and hope it helps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My one and and only Foundation
9/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I been using this foundation for almost a year and there's no other better product to provide a smooth light and perfect coverage all without causing acne breakouts or clogging my pores. The only complaint I have heard is that there's not many shades which is not a problem for me because I'm super pale and pretty comfortable with Shade 20 Natural Ivory, I always had struggled to find a lighter enough foundation before and if your skin is super pale too you may relate, the difference is that this one won't turn yellowish or get sticky. Love it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All time favorite
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My skin has been through it good times and its bad times and this foundation has stayed with me throughout. Its not to heavy, and not too light. It doesn't look cakey, yet it covers blemishes and scars. It easy to apple, easy to match up and you definitely won't regret it! I have nothing bad to say about this product and I've been using it for years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
disapointed
9/12/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a teenager with acne-prone and oily skin and had started to try out makeup. I was excited to try this out because I was very pleased with other Neutrogena products but was very disappointed when it turned out very cakey and didn't blend well and didn't stay on well especially around my nose where I am VERY oily. I gave this a 2 star instead of 1 star because I noticed it might have improved my acne or at least didn't worsen it. Not impressed by this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My combination oily skin never looked/felt so good
5/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My skin is oily in some places and extremely dry in others. Because of the large pores that make my skin so oily, I am also prone to have lots of sweat on my face if I am in a crowded environment. This being said, I was extremely impressed with this foundation! It doesn't have much coverage but it gives you a natural looking smooth and clear finish. If you have extreme break outs you'll have to rely on good concealer, but if you are blessed with clear skin other than the occasional break out (unlike me) this will work out great. Also it is important to know that if you have portions that are dry on your face you will have to moisturize them well or else they will crack easily if anything actually sticks to it. But if you do that like I did it turned out beautifully and I was lucky enough to get an amazing match on my first try, although it is considerably more dark in the bottle than it will be on your skin. It is easy to work with and you can easily layer it if you are someone who likes more coverage. I would definitely recommend this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Formula Change
9/20/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm pretty sure the formula for this liquid foundation has changed in recent years. I have two bottles of this: one in medium beige and one in natural ivory. I compared the ingredients list of the two bottles, and the formula is definitely not the same. The bottle of medium beige does not contain any highly comedogenic ingredients (according the several lists I've obtained from different websites#. However, the natural ivory bottle, which I bought at least a year after the medium beige bottle, has a sticker on it that says "NEW!"; its formula contains sodium chloride which is highly comedogenic; it also contains diazolidinyl urea #I don't know how comedogenic that is, I just know it's a preservative#. My point being, even though the new formula is oil-free, it's still slightly comedogenic; whereas the older formula was not. This is upsetting because this foundation is supposed to help clear acne, and it cannot really accomplish this by adding ingredients/changing its formula for the worst #in my opinion#.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best foundation I have tried
8/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this foundation for a year and I must say I LOVE IT! Not only because of the "feel" and how it looks on my skin, but the smooth covering and accurate treatment I can apply if I have a breakout. It really works! I think I could stay forever with Neutrogena's products :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Keeps my oil under control
7/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am 63 years old but still have combination skins with a very oily T-Zone and constant acne breakouts on my chin and forehead. I am very happy with this foundation: it is not heavy at all, yet covers pretty well, and looks good even on my older skin. It keeps my facial oil well under control as long as 12 hours after applying. I got the Classic Ivory which has more yellow tone. Next time I will try Natural Ivory which seems to have pinker tones that needed for older skin. Will be buying again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
"You look terrible! What happened to you?"
8/8/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very disappointed with this product. I have dryer but normal skin and break out once in a while. I usually don't use a lot of makeup. When my Clinique foundation ran out, I thought this would be a better cost alternative. Boy, was I wrong. I first tried this product at the beginning of July for a week and thought I had over washed my face and my skin wasn't agreeing to it. My skin looked terrible and took weeks to return to normal. I took a break from makeup to allow my skin to breathe until yesterday when I tried it again. This product caused an allergic reaction/burn/skin issue that made my eye swollen and under eyes bumpy and red (the same reaction as before). My skin is now breaking out and 100 times worse than before I put it on. It looks like a chemical burn. I will never buy Neutrogena products again after this experience. Now, I'm afraid to go out of my house because of how embarrassing my face looks. This product does more harm than good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's okay...
11/2/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this product for about a year, I stopped and now am using Clinique's acne solutions makeup. It was my "first" foundation, which was absolutely necessary because of all the hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face. It did a good job covering and looking natural for a few months, but as I kept using it (I think it oxidized, getting more orange, and maybe I was getting darker and lighter with change of seasons) it got less and less natural. As with all makeup, it felt gross on my skin as the day went on, and the fragrance was too strong for my liking. I also suspected that it made my acne worse because my skin wasn't breathing, but it wasn't something you can blame the product for--Clinique's does the same thing, and maybe all makeup does because it is sitting on your skin. Overall, natural-looking (at first) and good for its price. I wouldn't get it again, though. It's not detrimental to your skin but it's not going to improve your skin either.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My only regret is that I did not try this sooner!
4/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to for this product. I'm in my 40's, still break out (badly at times) and have sensitive skin. For years, I did not try this foundation because I thought it would be too drying for my adult skin and that it was geared more towards teenagers. After a very bad break out that was not clearing up due to a reaction from another foundation and a moisturizer, I tried this and I'm so glad I did. This foundation gives great coverage, the consistency is good (not at all what I expected; I thought it would be runny) and it helped my skin. It did not dry me out or break me out. I paired it with the Neutrogena Shine Control Powder (because that's the only powder I use; love it) and my makeup stays put pretty much all day. It goes on smooth and makes your skin look almost flawless. This is my new go to foundation and Neutrogena is now my new go to brand for all my makeup needs. Bottom line, if you're older, have adult acne, or just want a good foundation that keeps your skin clear, don't be afraid to try this. I can honestly say that you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Flawless natural look
8/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using neutrogena skin clearing oil free liquid foundation for years to hide my combination skin problem areas such as redness, uneven skin tone, and pimples. I cannot tell you how many compliments I have received from family and friends asking me my secrets to such great looking skin. As someone with many complexion issues, this makeup really helps lift my self esteem and allows me the confidence to feel good in my own skin!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NO MORE MAKE-UP BREAK OUTS!
7/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you have ever had breakouts using other make up, you have to try this! I started using it a couple of years ago and have never had another break out on my face from oily pore clogging make up. I hated the cycle of wearing make up, breaking out from it, wearing more to cover the break outs and then causing more. This one has an additive that prevents break outs. It is made without the ingredients that clog sensitive skin. I am not an expert ~ just a consumer that has battled this my whole life and now I tell everyone about this wonderful product. Honestly, you have to try it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The only foundation I might ever use!
4/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using this foundation well over a year now, and I honestly believe it's one of the most UNDER-rated foundations on the market right now! Initially, I didn't buy it thinking it would actually heal my skin (because it won't), I just hoped it would keep it from breaking out more! I've since gone to the dermatologist and have nearly flawless skin now, but I still use this foundation every day because after trialing many others, I realized this is the only foundation I've found that looks natural, matte, and feels clean on my skin! A lot of others feel and look greasy, they smell, and they rub off, but this one seems to dry and stay put! It also looks exactly like the texture of natural skin, and manages to cover up some of my light pigmentation, so you get coverage without looking cakey! The only con: every shade seems to have slightly pink understones, so I do wish they would come out with more yellow-undertoned shades to match my skin tone more perfectly (which is the only reason I've experimented with other foundations!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't work like I'd hoped.
6/14/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have an oily, breakout-prone skin type. My face doesn't have a lot of pimples, but I usually have at least one at all times. I was very excited when I saw this advertised in a magazine. I bought it and started using it, it covered nicely and looked natural! But at the end of the first week of use, my skin was BEYOND dry! It was SO flaky! I used my moisturizers religiously. I used this product for 6 more weeks because I know how products change the chemistry of your face and can take a while to work as stated, but my face only got worse. Because of the dry skin, I actually developed MORE acne! It took me 3 to 4 monhts (November through February or March) to clear up the dry skin on my nose. It was horrendous. Maybe this makeup would work for somebody with a lot of acne...and I mean LOTS of cystic acne bumps! It would cover well and they probably need all the acne help they can get. As far as the average person, I wouldn't recommend this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My skin has never been so clear and smooth!
4/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by far the best foundation I have ever used! It was recommended to me by a friend when I was breaking out very badly (both with cystic acne and small whiteheads). Previously I only used bare minerals because all of the other liquid foundations I had tried clogged my pores and made my acne worse (mac, makeup forever, dior). My skin is also very sensitive so I was terrified to try another liquid foundation but buying this one was the BEST thing I could have ever done for myself. The consistency is so light that you don't even feel like you are wearing anything at all and the coverage is amazing!!! But the best part is that it truly helps treat and prevent acne!! Each night after i wash up, my skin looks clearer and feels smoother. It really is a medicine that just happens to look flawless. I always get compliments on my skin when I wear it. I hope they NEVER discontinue it! (plus it's 1/4 of the price of most others!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A breath of fresh air
6/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Been suffering with acne for a while and have tried EVERYTHING. And with troubled skin comes foundation to cover it up. Turns out the foundation I was using by Maybelline helped contribute to my breakouts. Switched to using this daily instead, also changing my night time face wash to the Neutrogena Rapid Clear. The difference is astronomical. The makeup blends so much better with my skin and actually looks NATURAL, which is very important to me. Plus, my skin is clearing up and is probably the best it's look in years. I wish I had found this sooner and made the switch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The only foundation I will ever use!
6/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using this foundation since I was in high school, possibly even earlier, so well over a decade now. It is by far the best foundation I have ever used. Over the years I have occasionally tried other products because they were recommended to me, usually from someone who says I should use more expensive makeup, but I have tried products that cost up to three times as much and they NEVER work as good. My skin always looks perfect when I use this. I will never even bother buying anything else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the product--mostly
2/8/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do love this product it has helped cover and clear up my acne unlike any product I have used before. Most foundations make it worse. It blends well, easy to apply, very buildable. It makes my skin look incredibly even smooth without being cakey. It does help a little bit with controlling oil as well. I do have a few complaints however. I have pale skin, but their lightest shade is still to dark for me. This isn't usually an issue I encounter either. Additionally, the lighter tones tend to have a pink-ish (cool) undertones, so anyone with pale skin and yellow undertones be aware. The color and shade are off a bit for me personally but I usually correct it with other products because not having breakouts is far more important to me than a perfect match. Long story short: It's a great product that does exactly what it says, but they need to expand the color and tone palette even more than they have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I highly recommend this!
4/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This foundation is wonderful. I have tried so many foundations from so many brands and price points, and this one is definitely my favorite. It looks pretty natural on my ever-changing skin (dry in the winter, oily in the summer, often combination), while still providing a nice medium coverage, enough to even out my skin tone from pinkness. It also doesn't have a bad influence on my acne, which is so important. During the months leading up to when I started using this foundation, I had pretty severe acne, so this was a great find, since it down-played the redness and didn't make me break out more. I highly recommend this! Note: I have tried applying this with a makeup sponge and with a foundation brush, and I like using a brush better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-