Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 379 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

379 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

379 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
216
4 stars
86
3 stars
29
2 stars
25
1 stars
23
1-20 of 377 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews
Still love it after 15 years
1/19/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I started using Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid foundation back in 2001 when I was in 8th grade. My skin has always been horribly sensitive and I needed something to cover the red spots and even my skin tone. $10 was a lot of money to spend on a makeup product when you're 14 but I was desperate! It's now 2016 and I'm still using this foundation in the same color. I see a noticeable difference in my skin after I apply it. It provides fantastic coverage without looking heavy or cakey. My skin just looks natural and healthy. I love this foundation!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!
5/29/2011

Customer review by NewCanadian

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by NewCanadian
by NewCanadian

I absolutely love this product - this is the best product I have ever tried for my skin. I have blemishes, and this is the only foundation that works perfectly for me - even if I leave it overnight, my skin is completely clean the next day, even if it is very hot outside, my skin is completely clean after using this foundation. What is best is that my skin looks very natural while using this product, and helps me to fight any blemishes and redness. I tried many other foundations, but none of them contains Salicylic Acid, which probably helps to fight blemishes and clean your skin. I wish Neutrogena would sell the makeup products in Canada! I moved to Canada last year, and now I need to go to the US to buy this (seriously!), because nothing else works for my skin!

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewCanadian
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great prodoct
2/5/2016

Customer review by Deana

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Deana
by Deana

Great foundation

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"You look terrible! What happened to you?"
8/8/2015

Customer review by Tdc628

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by Tdc628
by Tdc628

I was very disappointed with this product. I have dryer but normal skin and break out once in a while. I usually don't use a lot of makeup. When my Clinique foundation ran out, I thought this would be a better cost alternative. Boy, was I wrong. I first tried this product at the beginning of July for a week and thought I had over washed my face and my skin wasn't agreeing to it. My skin looked terrible and took weeks to return to normal. I took a break from makeup to allow my skin to breathe until yesterday when I tried it again. This product caused an allergic reaction/burn/skin issue that made my eye swollen and under eyes bumpy and red (the same reaction as before). My skin is now breaking out and 100 times worse than before I put it on. It looks like a chemical burn. I will never buy Neutrogena products again after this experience. Now, I'm afraid to go out of my house because of how embarrassing my face looks. This product does more harm than good.

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/8/2015

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid Makeup. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product as that is not typical of our products. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday.

Tdc628
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Not a review but an observation and recommendation
3/5/2013

Customer review by Lablady

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Lablady
by Lablady

Hello, I've been reading the comments/reviews of the other two liquid foundations from Neutrogena. Most of the reviewers note they have oily skin and wonder why the foundations are breaking them out. I have used Neutrogena Skin Clearing in the past and have returned to using that foundation. I like it a lot but I'm worried about the glass bottle breaking during travel. I have oily sensitive skin and I've found that I need the skin clearing makeup. It has .5 percent of salicylic acid, which keeps your pores clear and is not enough to irritate. I've been using a department store brand (has .5 percent SA) and mixing it with another department store brand of the same line with good results. However, due to budget cuts I have returned to Neutrogena's Skin Clearing foundation and will mix it with the Healthy Skin foundation. Those of you that are having difficulties with shine/oil control/breakouts may want to try this combination to see if it works for you. Good luck and hope it helps.

Lablady
Perry Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Visible changes fast!!
1/17/2016

Customer review by DopeLyss

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by DopeLyss
by DopeLyss

My face looks and feels smoother. Neutrogena never disappoints.

DopeLyss
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Formula Change
9/20/2012

Customer review by LizardW

3.0 stars 9/20/2012 by LizardW
by LizardW

I'm pretty sure the formula for this liquid foundation has changed in recent years. I have two bottles of this: one in medium beige and one in natural ivory. I compared the ingredients list of the two bottles, and the formula is definitely not the same. The bottle of medium beige does not contain any highly comedogenic ingredients (according the several lists I've obtained from different websites#. However, the natural ivory bottle, which I bought at least a year after the medium beige bottle, has a sticker on it that says "NEW!"; its formula contains sodium chloride which is highly comedogenic; it also contains diazolidinyl urea #I don't know how comedogenic that is, I just know it's a preservative#. My point being, even though the new formula is oil-free, it's still slightly comedogenic; whereas the older formula was not. This is upsetting because this foundation is supposed to help clear acne, and it cannot really accomplish this by adding ingredients/changing its formula for the worst #in my opinion#.

LizardW
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very effective product works well!
4/20/2014

Customer review by tnaik01

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by tnaik01
by tnaik01

I've tried all sorts of foundations, from mineral to mousse fo expensive and I mean 55 dollars a bottle expensive brands. I initially had them listed but understanding the guidelines I removed them. The 55 dollar brand was amazing but I couldn't afford 55 on foundation forever. I heard about this Neutrogena make up for a long time and for whatever reason never tried it. I regret that. As soon as I started using it I saw my skin clear up, I wanna say about 80%! This foundation blends well, it is affordable, goes on my brush nicely! Most importantly it just makes my skin look better without makeup. My skin has healed and I rarely get the large amounts of acne I was getting with other brands. In addition to the benefits to my skin, I do love that this makeup holds up past 12 hours! My eyeliner stays better on it, it doesn't wear off, and it doesn't come off on my clothes. I have used other foundations even minerals in which my eyeliner will smudge or makeup will be a hot mess at the end of the day. For whatever reason this foundation holds. It also layers well if you want to add extra coverage which I found out on accident. Lastly people have complimented me and told me I look better, I don't know if it is because my skin has cleared up or evened out but I will keep buying it. This bottle lasts me about 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnaik01
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Love This
5/15/2011

Customer review by UsingForYears

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by UsingForYears
by UsingForYears

I absolutely LOVE this product. Been using it for almost 10 years. It keeps my face from getting oily and breaking out. It covers my flaws without making me look like I'm wearing makeup. 5 stars!!

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UsingForYears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by shortieee

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by shortieee
by shortieee

foundation doesnt feel caked on when applied on skin& love that it doesnt clog pores and is very light!(:

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortieee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin Clearing Liquid Makeup
12/14/2015

Customer review by Susan

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Susan
by Susan

I struggle with very sensitive skin and cystic acne, so I have to be careful which foundation I use so it doesn't flair up. I was very hesitant to try this because I have been trying to find a foundation that wouldn't break me out. But I have not broken out at all from this! I cant believe it! Definitely worth a try, especially for the price!

Susan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
It's okay...
11/2/2014

Customer review by NeutrogenaFan

2.0 stars 11/2/2014 by NeutrogenaFan
by NeutrogenaFan

I used this product for about a year, I stopped and now am using Clinique's acne solutions makeup. It was my "first" foundation, which was absolutely necessary because of all the hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face. It did a good job covering and looking natural for a few months, but as I kept using it (I think it oxidized, getting more orange, and maybe I was getting darker and lighter with change of seasons) it got less and less natural. As with all makeup, it felt gross on my skin as the day went on, and the fragrance was too strong for my liking. I also suspected that it made my acne worse because my skin wasn't breathing, but it wasn't something you can blame the product for--Clinique's does the same thing, and maybe all makeup does because it is sitting on your skin. Overall, natural-looking (at first) and good for its price. I wouldn't get it again, though. It's not detrimental to your skin but it's not going to improve your skin either.

NeutrogenaFan
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Dr3aMA

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Dr3aMA
by Dr3aMA

I have a mixture between nodular and surface acne, therefore not many products actually works on my skin, every foundation that i have used makes my acne worse, i do not have severe acne just mild so i was very skeptical about this product actually working, to my surprise it actually works, i mean really IT ACTUALLY WORKS! the redness and size of my bumps were reduced in just the first day of using this product, not to mention it is very light weight on the face and doesn't feel like you are wearing a mask of make up.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dr3aMA
Crittenden, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Eh makeup
12/24/2015

Customer review by Heath

3.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Heath
by Heath

This makeup goes on a little dry. If you have oily skin then no big deal. It's nothing special , but not bad. Blends in well. It's average drug store foundation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heath
Would recommend to a friend? No
gives you natural glow even if you have acne.
6/15/2012

Customer review by ilovebanni

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by ilovebanni
by ilovebanni

i bought this foundation .i came home tried it right away and i fell in love with this product.it feels so light on your face.it looks so natural gives you great coverage.my face is filled with acne scarring and bad acne you can ever imagine but if it works for me it sure will work for anyone and on top of that it has salicylic acid in it which prevents acne.dont hesitate just buy it if you have oily skin and acne.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovebanni
shrewsbury ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Product!!!
11/21/2015

Customer review by Layla

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Layla
by Layla

First of all, let me say thank you Neutrogena for making this product!! Please don't ever change it or discontinue it! This foundation covers very well, but is lightweight. Goes on very easily without a lot of pulling and tugging on your skin. Controls oil very well and is affordable! If you have oily and/or acne prone skin like I do, do not hesitate to try this. It is amazing and the only foundation I will use from now on.

Layla
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Acne gone after 50 years!!
11/22/2015

Customer review by grandma4times

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by grandma4times
by grandma4times

I love Neutrogena Skin Clearing oil-free make-up! Microcleaar has worked so well my face feels CLEAN and it is CLEARER than it has ever been . I have tried more foundations than I care to count and this is the ONLY one that truly treats my acne and looks great all day. It stays put and doesn't change colors. I just love it! Hopefully, this make-up will stay on the market for ever! Thank you Neutrogena!

grandma4times
rogers, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
The only foundation I might ever use!
4/7/2012

Customer review by maakeuup

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by maakeuup
by maakeuup

I've been using this foundation well over a year now, and I honestly believe it's one of the most UNDER-rated foundations on the market right now! Initially, I didn't buy it thinking it would actually heal my skin (because it won't), I just hoped it would keep it from breaking out more! I've since gone to the dermatologist and have nearly flawless skin now, but I still use this foundation every day because after trialing many others, I realized this is the only foundation I've found that looks natural, matte, and feels clean on my skin! A lot of others feel and look greasy, they smell, and they rub off, but this one seems to dry and stay put! It also looks exactly like the texture of natural skin, and manages to cover up some of my light pigmentation, so you get coverage without looking cakey! The only con: every shade seems to have slightly pink understones, so I do wish they would come out with more yellow-undertoned shades to match my skin tone more perfectly (which is the only reason I've experimented with other foundations!)

maakeuup
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
yes and no
1/2/2012

Customer review by missSammy

2.0 stars 1/2/2012 by missSammy
by missSammy

I purchased this product with high hopes. I really like how the makeup itself looks and feels on my skin, but its been a few weeks and there is no change in my acne! Then again, everyone's skin reacts differently to different things. Its nice makeup, so i would recommend it, but don't get your hopes up for clear skin..

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missSammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work like I'd hoped.
6/14/2012

Customer review by amberjh90

2.0 stars 6/14/2012 by amberjh90
by amberjh90

I have an oily, breakout-prone skin type. My face doesn't have a lot of pimples, but I usually have at least one at all times. I was very excited when I saw this advertised in a magazine. I bought it and started using it, it covered nicely and looked natural! But at the end of the first week of use, my skin was BEYOND dry! It was SO flaky! I used my moisturizers religiously. I used this product for 6 more weeks because I know how products change the chemistry of your face and can take a while to work as stated, but my face only got worse. Because of the dry skin, I actually developed MORE acne! It took me 3 to 4 monhts (November through February or March) to clear up the dry skin on my nose. It was horrendous. Maybe this makeup would work for somebody with a lot of acne...and I mean LOTS of cystic acne bumps! It would cover well and they probably need all the acne help they can get. As far as the average person, I wouldn't recommend this.

amberjh90
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews