Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 395 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

395 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

395 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
227
4 stars
87
3 stars
30
2 stars
25
1 stars
26
1-20 of 393 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 393 total reviews
1-20 of 393 reviews
I Think I've Finally Found It!
8/24/2016

Customer review by Lauren

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Lauren
by Lauren

I had been looking for makeup products with good coverage to cover my acne. I didn't want something that would be oily on my skin, too drying, or too heavy where I felt like I had heavy makeup on. I found this and I was so happy! There are many different shades (usually difficult to find my skin tone with other lines) and it has acne fighting products so it helps to clear your skin while you're wearing it. I've only tried it once, but I must say I am very happy with it. A little of this product goes a long way so it will last me a long time! It gives me nice enough coverage to cover any red acne bumps, but it doesn't leave my skin feeling oily or greasy. It gives my skin a matte finish which I like a lot because it mimics how my natural skin looks. Thank you so much Neutrogena for creating this product!

Lauren
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
I love this product
8/23/2016

Customer review by Itsme

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Itsme
by Itsme

Hi guys! Thank you neutrogena for this amazing product. It makes my dkin smooth and clear. I have an inquiry, does this product has sun protection on it?

Itsme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!
5/29/2011

Customer review by NewCanadian

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by NewCanadian
by NewCanadian

I absolutely love this product - this is the best product I have ever tried for my skin. I have blemishes, and this is the only foundation that works perfectly for me - even if I leave it overnight, my skin is completely clean the next day, even if it is very hot outside, my skin is completely clean after using this foundation. What is best is that my skin looks very natural while using this product, and helps me to fight any blemishes and redness. I tried many other foundations, but none of them contains Salicylic Acid, which probably helps to fight blemishes and clean your skin. I wish Neutrogena would sell the makeup products in Canada! I moved to Canada last year, and now I need to go to the US to buy this (seriously!), because nothing else works for my skin!

Was this review helpful? (65) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewCanadian
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a review but an observation and recommendation
3/5/2013

Customer review by Lablady

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Lablady
by Lablady

Hello, I've been reading the comments/reviews of the other two liquid foundations from Neutrogena. Most of the reviewers note they have oily skin and wonder why the foundations are breaking them out. I have used Neutrogena Skin Clearing in the past and have returned to using that foundation. I like it a lot but I'm worried about the glass bottle breaking during travel. I have oily sensitive skin and I've found that I need the skin clearing makeup. It has .5 percent of salicylic acid, which keeps your pores clear and is not enough to irritate. I've been using a department store brand (has .5 percent SA) and mixing it with another department store brand of the same line with good results. However, due to budget cuts I have returned to Neutrogena's Skin Clearing foundation and will mix it with the Healthy Skin foundation. Those of you that are having difficulties with shine/oil control/breakouts may want to try this combination to see if it works for you. Good luck and hope it helps.

Lablady
Perry Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Very effective product works well!
4/20/2014

Customer review by tnaik01

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by tnaik01
by tnaik01

I've tried all sorts of foundations, from mineral to mousse fo expensive and I mean 55 dollars a bottle expensive brands. I initially had them listed but understanding the guidelines I removed them. The 55 dollar brand was amazing but I couldn't afford 55 on foundation forever. I heard about this Neutrogena make up for a long time and for whatever reason never tried it. I regret that. As soon as I started using it I saw my skin clear up, I wanna say about 80%! This foundation blends well, it is affordable, goes on my brush nicely! Most importantly it just makes my skin look better without makeup. My skin has healed and I rarely get the large amounts of acne I was getting with other brands. In addition to the benefits to my skin, I do love that this makeup holds up past 12 hours! My eyeliner stays better on it, it doesn't wear off, and it doesn't come off on my clothes. I have used other foundations even minerals in which my eyeliner will smudge or makeup will be a hot mess at the end of the day. For whatever reason this foundation holds. It also layers well if you want to add extra coverage which I found out on accident. Lastly people have complimented me and told me I look better, I don't know if it is because my skin has cleared up or evened out but I will keep buying it. This bottle lasts me about 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnaik01
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Caused my skin to break out.
7/13/2016

Customer review by banjixi

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by banjixi
by banjixi

As a 16 year old, I'm very acne prone and have combination skin. Recently I switched from a higher end NARS foundation to this, hoping to save some money. I kept everything else in my skincare routine the same, yet I began to break out all over my forehead nose and chin. This has never happened to me before and I'm highly disappointed. I hoped that this was help prevent acne, not cause it.

Comment from Neutrogena - 7/13/2016

We're glad you brought this to our attention, Banjixi. It's definitely not typical to see more breakouts while using our product, and we want to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon!

banjixi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Thank you for expanding your shade range....
4/16/2016

Customer review by ClassiqueTouch47

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by ClassiqueTouch47
by ClassiqueTouch47

As a long time high end foundation consumer, I am blown away by this foundation. My skin is oily and I am currently experiencing stress related break outs. Not only does this shade match my skin perfectly, it keeps my oil at bay better than any other high end product that I've used (including airbrush foundation). My first day of use of the foundation resulted in multiple compliments on my "perfect skin". My skin is far from perfect so the credit is due to the foundation. A special thanks to Carrie Washington,creative director and spokesperson, for not only working tirelessly to make Neutrogena an truly all enclusive brand but for taking the time to send a letter to my home to make me aware of the new shades. I am tremendously grateful. As a working professional, my appearance is very important and this foundation makes my polished face super easy to achieve. THANK YOU NEUTROGENA!

ClassiqueTouch47
Denham Springs, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Formula Change
9/20/2012

Customer review by LizardW

3.0 stars 9/20/2012 by LizardW
by LizardW

I'm pretty sure the formula for this liquid foundation has changed in recent years. I have two bottles of this: one in medium beige and one in natural ivory. I compared the ingredients list of the two bottles, and the formula is definitely not the same. The bottle of medium beige does not contain any highly comedogenic ingredients (according the several lists I've obtained from different websites#. However, the natural ivory bottle, which I bought at least a year after the medium beige bottle, has a sticker on it that says "NEW!"; its formula contains sodium chloride which is highly comedogenic; it also contains diazolidinyl urea #I don't know how comedogenic that is, I just know it's a preservative#. My point being, even though the new formula is oil-free, it's still slightly comedogenic; whereas the older formula was not. This is upsetting because this foundation is supposed to help clear acne, and it cannot really accomplish this by adding ingredients/changing its formula for the worst #in my opinion#.

LizardW
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still love it after 15 years
1/19/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I started using Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid foundation back in 2001 when I was in 8th grade. My skin has always been horribly sensitive and I needed something to cover the red spots and even my skin tone. $10 was a lot of money to spend on a makeup product when you're 14 but I was desperate! It's now 2016 and I'm still using this foundation in the same color. I see a noticeable difference in my skin after I apply it. It provides fantastic coverage without looking heavy or cakey. My skin just looks natural and healthy. I love this foundation!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good
7/18/2016

Customer review by married2acop

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by married2acop
by married2acop

works well, wanted to know if there is a concealer that is waterproof with this formula?

married2acop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Love This
5/15/2011

Customer review by UsingForYears

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by UsingForYears
by UsingForYears

I absolutely LOVE this product. Been using it for almost 10 years. It keeps my face from getting oily and breaking out. It covers my flaws without making me look like I'm wearing makeup. 5 stars!!

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UsingForYears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by shortieee

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by shortieee
by shortieee

foundation doesnt feel caked on when applied on skin& love that it doesnt clog pores and is very light!(:

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortieee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"You look terrible! What happened to you?"
8/8/2015

Customer review by Tdc628

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by Tdc628
by Tdc628

I was very disappointed with this product. I have dryer but normal skin and break out once in a while. I usually don't use a lot of makeup. When my Clinique foundation ran out, I thought this would be a better cost alternative. Boy, was I wrong. I first tried this product at the beginning of July for a week and thought I had over washed my face and my skin wasn't agreeing to it. My skin looked terrible and took weeks to return to normal. I took a break from makeup to allow my skin to breathe until yesterday when I tried it again. This product caused an allergic reaction/burn/skin issue that made my eye swollen and under eyes bumpy and red (the same reaction as before). My skin is now breaking out and 100 times worse than before I put it on. It looks like a chemical burn. I will never buy Neutrogena products again after this experience. Now, I'm afraid to go out of my house because of how embarrassing my face looks. This product does more harm than good.

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/8/2015

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid Makeup. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product as that is not typical of our products. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday.

Tdc628
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
gives you natural glow even if you have acne.
6/15/2012

Customer review by ilovebanni

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by ilovebanni
by ilovebanni

i bought this foundation .i came home tried it right away and i fell in love with this product.it feels so light on your face.it looks so natural gives you great coverage.my face is filled with acne scarring and bad acne you can ever imagine but if it works for me it sure will work for anyone and on top of that it has salicylic acid in it which prevents acne.dont hesitate just buy it if you have oily skin and acne.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovebanni
shrewsbury ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Dr3aMA

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Dr3aMA
by Dr3aMA

I have a mixture between nodular and surface acne, therefore not many products actually works on my skin, every foundation that i have used makes my acne worse, i do not have severe acne just mild so i was very skeptical about this product actually working, to my surprise it actually works, i mean really IT ACTUALLY WORKS! the redness and size of my bumps were reduced in just the first day of using this product, not to mention it is very light weight on the face and doesn't feel like you are wearing a mask of make up.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dr3aMA
Crittenden, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It made my skin flawless!
6/23/2016

Customer review by Bellatrix12

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Bellatrix12
by Bellatrix12

I have tried so many different brands of make-up and acne washes to get rid of my pimples. This has been the only product to get the job done. My breakouts were caused by hormones, so I thought I would never find something to help. I have been dealing with breakouts for about 4yrs, and tried a lot of face washes and make-up. I went out on a whim and tried this make-up. I'm so glad I tried it. I never thought that wearing make-up would make my skin so healthy! It goes on smooth and is not oily. My skin looks flawless now!

Bellatrix12
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
It's okay...
11/2/2014

Customer review by NeutrogenaFan

2.0 stars 11/2/2014 by NeutrogenaFan
by NeutrogenaFan

I used this product for about a year, I stopped and now am using Clinique's acne solutions makeup. It was my "first" foundation, which was absolutely necessary because of all the hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face. It did a good job covering and looking natural for a few months, but as I kept using it (I think it oxidized, getting more orange, and maybe I was getting darker and lighter with change of seasons) it got less and less natural. As with all makeup, it felt gross on my skin as the day went on, and the fragrance was too strong for my liking. I also suspected that it made my acne worse because my skin wasn't breathing, but it wasn't something you can blame the product for--Clinique's does the same thing, and maybe all makeup does because it is sitting on your skin. Overall, natural-looking (at first) and good for its price. I wouldn't get it again, though. It's not detrimental to your skin but it's not going to improve your skin either.

NeutrogenaFan
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Love the product--mostly
2/8/2016

Customer review by SunnyinSeattle

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by SunnyinSeattle
by SunnyinSeattle

I do love this product it has helped cover and clear up my acne unlike any product I have used before. Most foundations make it worse. It blends well, easy to apply, very buildable. It makes my skin look incredibly even smooth without being cakey. It does help a little bit with controlling oil as well. I do have a few complaints however. I have pale skin, but their lightest shade is still to dark for me. This isn't usually an issue I encounter either. Additionally, the lighter tones tend to have a pink-ish (cool) undertones, so anyone with pale skin and yellow undertones be aware. The color and shade are off a bit for me personally but I usually correct it with other products because not having breakouts is far more important to me than a perfect match. Long story short: It's a great product that does exactly what it says, but they need to expand the color and tone palette even more than they have.

SunnyinSeattle
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Neutrogena Makeup
7/1/2016

Customer review by Judy

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Judy
by Judy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the only foundation I use. It is wonderful for acne prone skin.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
yes and no
1/2/2012

Customer review by missSammy

2.0 stars 1/2/2012 by missSammy
by missSammy

I purchased this product with high hopes. I really like how the makeup itself looks and feels on my skin, but its been a few weeks and there is no change in my acne! Then again, everyone's skin reacts differently to different things. Its nice makeup, so i would recommend it, but don't get your hopes up for clear skin..

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missSammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 393 total reviews
1-20 of 393 reviews