Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
234
4 stars
88
3 stars
31
2 stars
25
1 stars
26
1-20 of 402 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 402 total reviews
1-20 of 402 reviews
FAVORITE THING
2/14/2017

Customer review by makeuporwakeup

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by makeuporwakeup
by makeuporwakeup

I have had this foundation all through high school and now use it in college! It is honestly the best thing ever. I only use the SkinClearing line but this is my favorite product by far! I would definetly recommend and i will continue to buy it!

makeuporwakeup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Only one I will use
2/8/2017

Customer review by samsam

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by samsam
by samsam

I've looked for something that I can wear at all times, during the day or even to evening events. It's light and not cakey! I wanted a makeup that does something for my skin and doesn't just sit on it. Break outs are going to happen but with this, I don't let a breakout ruin my day

samsam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Not a review but an observation and recommendation
3/5/2013

Customer review by Lablady

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Lablady
by Lablady

Hello, I've been reading the comments/reviews of the other two liquid foundations from Neutrogena. Most of the reviewers note they have oily skin and wonder why the foundations are breaking them out. I have used Neutrogena Skin Clearing in the past and have returned to using that foundation. I like it a lot but I'm worried about the glass bottle breaking during travel. I have oily sensitive skin and I've found that I need the skin clearing makeup. It has .5 percent of salicylic acid, which keeps your pores clear and is not enough to irritate. I've been using a department store brand (has .5 percent SA) and mixing it with another department store brand of the same line with good results. However, due to budget cuts I have returned to Neutrogena's Skin Clearing foundation and will mix it with the Healthy Skin foundation. Those of you that are having difficulties with shine/oil control/breakouts may want to try this combination to see if it works for you. Good luck and hope it helps.

Lablady
Perry Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
BEST liquid foundation EVER
1/26/2017

Customer review by Jordan27

5.0 stars 1/26/2017 by Jordan27
by Jordan27

This is the only product I've found that gives me great coverage and helps clear my skin at the same time. I use this everyday. Never dries my skin our or makes it look caked on. The coverage is perfect and it's not heavy at all. Doesn't clog my pores and doesn't create oil.

Jordan27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
My Acne Disappeared
1/17/2017

Customer review by Vania

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by Vania
by Vania

I never found other foundation that doesn't break me out when used daily. I like the natural coverage and the lightweight feel it gives. I don't have pimples on my face anymore. Thank you so much, Neutrogena. Please make a shade lighter than Classic Ivory, if possible!

Vania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Formula Change
9/20/2012

Customer review by LizardW

3.0 stars 9/20/2012 by LizardW
by LizardW

I'm pretty sure the formula for this liquid foundation has changed in recent years. I have two bottles of this: one in medium beige and one in natural ivory. I compared the ingredients list of the two bottles, and the formula is definitely not the same. The bottle of medium beige does not contain any highly comedogenic ingredients (according the several lists I've obtained from different websites#. However, the natural ivory bottle, which I bought at least a year after the medium beige bottle, has a sticker on it that says "NEW!"; its formula contains sodium chloride which is highly comedogenic; it also contains diazolidinyl urea #I don't know how comedogenic that is, I just know it's a preservative#. My point being, even though the new formula is oil-free, it's still slightly comedogenic; whereas the older formula was not. This is upsetting because this foundation is supposed to help clear acne, and it cannot really accomplish this by adding ingredients/changing its formula for the worst #in my opinion#.

LizardW
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
IN LOVE!
12/23/2016

Customer review by NK831

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by NK831
by NK831

I have fallen in love with this foundation. I have used the Neutrogena healthy skin in the past per recommendation of my sister since we both have the same skin type, Oily Combo...and I like that one too. How ever I stumble upon this one when I needed a new bottle of foundation and I thought I'd give it a try...and I am super glad I did. From the coverage to the finish, it is so flawless and I have been using it every time since I got it. The best part is that I don't get shiny which is the main issue I have with other foundations. This has now become one of my holy grail go to cosmetic items! Love it!

NK831
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
So far so good
1/3/2017

Customer review by JayScar1311

4.0 stars 1/3/2017 by JayScar1311
by JayScar1311

I've tested this foundation out for two days(not very long) but I really like it so far. I am very oily and acne prone. When I wear this foundation it looks like skin; not cakey or heavy. Since I am very oily I set with Maybelline better skin and I am good for the rest of the day. I just wish there was a color between cocoa and chestnut; right now I am mixing chestnut with my loreal pro matte to get my perfect shade.

JayScar1311
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Good
1/2/2017

Customer review by Alex21

3.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Alex21
by Alex21

This product is good don't get me wrong. It covers my imperfections flawlessly and my skin feels smooth afterwards but, the only thing is that it is not made for people with dry skin like mine. The foundation creates patches of dry skin and makes me look older than I am due to it creating wrinkles that I don't have. It needs to be more hydrating.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 1/3/2017

Thanks for the review, Alex21! We're so glad to hear that you're getting the coverage that you're looking for in a foundation. It's too bad to hear that you're experiencing some dryness after using it, though. That's not really typical, so we'd like the chance to follow up with you. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thanks so much!

Alex21
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
"You look terrible! What happened to you?"
8/8/2015

Customer review by Tdc628

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by Tdc628
by Tdc628

I was very disappointed with this product. I have dryer but normal skin and break out once in a while. I usually don't use a lot of makeup. When my Clinique foundation ran out, I thought this would be a better cost alternative. Boy, was I wrong. I first tried this product at the beginning of July for a week and thought I had over washed my face and my skin wasn't agreeing to it. My skin looked terrible and took weeks to return to normal. I took a break from makeup to allow my skin to breathe until yesterday when I tried it again. This product caused an allergic reaction/burn/skin issue that made my eye swollen and under eyes bumpy and red (the same reaction as before). My skin is now breaking out and 100 times worse than before I put it on. It looks like a chemical burn. I will never buy Neutrogena products again after this experience. Now, I'm afraid to go out of my house because of how embarrassing my face looks. This product does more harm than good.

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/8/2015

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid Makeup. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product as that is not typical of our products. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday.

Tdc628
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
It's okay...
11/2/2014

Customer review by NeutrogenaFan

2.0 stars 11/2/2014 by NeutrogenaFan
by NeutrogenaFan

I used this product for about a year, I stopped and now am using Clinique's acne solutions makeup. It was my "first" foundation, which was absolutely necessary because of all the hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face. It did a good job covering and looking natural for a few months, but as I kept using it (I think it oxidized, getting more orange, and maybe I was getting darker and lighter with change of seasons) it got less and less natural. As with all makeup, it felt gross on my skin as the day went on, and the fragrance was too strong for my liking. I also suspected that it made my acne worse because my skin wasn't breathing, but it wasn't something you can blame the product for--Clinique's does the same thing, and maybe all makeup does because it is sitting on your skin. Overall, natural-looking (at first) and good for its price. I wouldn't get it again, though. It's not detrimental to your skin but it's not going to improve your skin either.

NeutrogenaFan
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
The only foundation I might ever use!
4/7/2012

Customer review by maakeuup

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by maakeuup
by maakeuup

I've been using this foundation well over a year now, and I honestly believe it's one of the most UNDER-rated foundations on the market right now! Initially, I didn't buy it thinking it would actually heal my skin (because it won't), I just hoped it would keep it from breaking out more! I've since gone to the dermatologist and have nearly flawless skin now, but I still use this foundation every day because after trialing many others, I realized this is the only foundation I've found that looks natural, matte, and feels clean on my skin! A lot of others feel and look greasy, they smell, and they rub off, but this one seems to dry and stay put! It also looks exactly like the texture of natural skin, and manages to cover up some of my light pigmentation, so you get coverage without looking cakey! The only con: every shade seems to have slightly pink understones, so I do wish they would come out with more yellow-undertoned shades to match my skin tone more perfectly (which is the only reason I've experimented with other foundations!)

maakeuup
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work like I'd hoped.
6/14/2012

Customer review by amberjh90

2.0 stars 6/14/2012 by amberjh90
by amberjh90

I have an oily, breakout-prone skin type. My face doesn't have a lot of pimples, but I usually have at least one at all times. I was very excited when I saw this advertised in a magazine. I bought it and started using it, it covered nicely and looked natural! But at the end of the first week of use, my skin was BEYOND dry! It was SO flaky! I used my moisturizers religiously. I used this product for 6 more weeks because I know how products change the chemistry of your face and can take a while to work as stated, but my face only got worse. Because of the dry skin, I actually developed MORE acne! It took me 3 to 4 monhts (November through February or March) to clear up the dry skin on my nose. It was horrendous. Maybe this makeup would work for somebody with a lot of acne...and I mean LOTS of cystic acne bumps! It would cover well and they probably need all the acne help they can get. As far as the average person, I wouldn't recommend this.

amberjh90
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
My skin has never been so clear and smooth!
4/3/2013

Customer review by Makeupgirl07

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Makeupgirl07
by Makeupgirl07

This is by far the best foundation I have ever used! It was recommended to me by a friend when I was breaking out very badly (both with cystic acne and small whiteheads). Previously I only used bare minerals because all of the other liquid foundations I had tried clogged my pores and made my acne worse (mac, makeup forever, dior). My skin is also very sensitive so I was terrified to try another liquid foundation but buying this one was the BEST thing I could have ever done for myself. The consistency is so light that you don't even feel like you are wearing anything at all and the coverage is amazing!!! But the best part is that it truly helps treat and prevent acne!! Each night after i wash up, my skin looks clearer and feels smoother. It really is a medicine that just happens to look flawless. I always get compliments on my skin when I wear it. I hope they NEVER discontinue it! (plus it's 1/4 of the price of most others!)

Makeupgirl07
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
The best foundation!!!
11/24/2016

Customer review by Jackie90

5.0 stars 11/24/2016 by Jackie90
by Jackie90

I love this foundation. The only one I use now. I have acne prone skin and this foundation has improved my skin so much! It feels great and it's not cakey. I really recommend it. Don't ever discontinue it!!

Jackie90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
I Think I've Finally Found It!
8/24/2016

Customer review by Lauren

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Lauren
by Lauren

I had been looking for makeup products with good coverage to cover my acne. I didn't want something that would be oily on my skin, too drying, or too heavy where I felt like I had heavy makeup on. I found this and I was so happy! There are many different shades (usually difficult to find my skin tone with other lines) and it has acne fighting products so it helps to clear your skin while you're wearing it. I've only tried it once, but I must say I am very happy with it. A little of this product goes a long way so it will last me a long time! It gives me nice enough coverage to cover any red acne bumps, but it doesn't leave my skin feeling oily or greasy. It gives my skin a matte finish which I like a lot because it mimics how my natural skin looks. Thank you so much Neutrogena for creating this product!

Lauren
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Love the product--mostly
2/8/2016

Customer review by SunnyinSeattle

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by SunnyinSeattle
by SunnyinSeattle

I do love this product it has helped cover and clear up my acne unlike any product I have used before. Most foundations make it worse. It blends well, easy to apply, very buildable. It makes my skin look incredibly even smooth without being cakey. It does help a little bit with controlling oil as well. I do have a few complaints however. I have pale skin, but their lightest shade is still to dark for me. This isn't usually an issue I encounter either. Additionally, the lighter tones tend to have a pink-ish (cool) undertones, so anyone with pale skin and yellow undertones be aware. The color and shade are off a bit for me personally but I usually correct it with other products because not having breakouts is far more important to me than a perfect match. Long story short: It's a great product that does exactly what it says, but they need to expand the color and tone palette even more than they have.

SunnyinSeattle
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Thank you for expanding your shade range....
4/16/2016

Customer review by ClassiqueTouch47

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by ClassiqueTouch47
by ClassiqueTouch47

As a long time high end foundation consumer, I am blown away by this foundation. My skin is oily and I am currently experiencing stress related break outs. Not only does this shade match my skin perfectly, it keeps my oil at bay better than any other high end product that I've used (including airbrush foundation). My first day of use of the foundation resulted in multiple compliments on my "perfect skin". My skin is far from perfect so the credit is due to the foundation. A special thanks to Carrie Washington,creative director and spokesperson, for not only working tirelessly to make Neutrogena an truly all enclusive brand but for taking the time to send a letter to my home to make me aware of the new shades. I am tremendously grateful. As a working professional, my appearance is very important and this foundation makes my polished face super easy to achieve. THANK YOU NEUTROGENA!

ClassiqueTouch47
Denham Springs, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Color match and easy to remove
11/22/2012

Customer review by Linlin

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Linlin
by Linlin

I started usiing this makeup for my Junior prom last year and my skin looked absolutely flawless. I'm a light tan asian so my skin has yellow tones, and natural beige actually matches my skin color perfectly! The formula is not too thick and not too runny, I do like the glass packaging but I don't really like how you have to pour the foundation out or reach into the bottle and scrape out the sides when it starts getting low. Personally I don't think this makes my acne go away, and I can't say that it makes my acne worse either. The coverage is buildable and covers red spots of acne very well. I recommend (if youre going to use this for everyday use) that you select a shade that is extremely close to your own skin color and use this as a spot treatment if your acne is not extremely severe. If you have good areas of your face, it would be pointless to cover those areas. Overall, this foundation does what its meant to do and I would buy it again if there was a special deal for it. At the current $11-$12 price tag, this is a little more expensive for my empty wallet.

Linlin
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Great coverage, works well with oily and red skin
1/3/2012

Customer review by Makeuplover<3

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Makeuplover<3
by Makeuplover<3

Im 15 and i've had acne for probably round 8 or 9 years... Thats along time it started out to not be that bad but as i got older it got worse.. I've tried everysingle type of acne cleanser, wash, treatment and even went to the dermotologist about 4 times to help clear my skin up.. I needed a foundation and a powder that would work well with my skin and not make it oily or break out after i was done with the day.. I started wearing makeup young becuase i love playing with makeup and trying new looks. I've seriously had this foundation on for about 2 hours now and it gives me AMAZING coverage and looks natural on my skin , im number 10 which is the lightest shade and it looks great, my mom even said it looked good on me. It doesnt look cakey or any of that. I also like how it covers up the red bumps that i get on my face. I seriously recommend this product, and make sure you read the bottle when you get it becuase it tells you how much you need to put on during the day depending on how bad your acne is. I recommend it 100% and i love it already, thanks neutrogena (: hope this helps you guys

Makeuplover<3
Mounds View, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 402 total reviews
1-20 of 402 reviews