Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 400 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

400 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

400 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
235
4 stars
85
3 stars
30
2 stars
25
1 stars
25
1-20 of 398 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 398 total reviews
1-20 of 398 reviews
My combination oily skin never looked/felt so good
5/7/2017

Customer review by irish121

4.0 stars 5/7/2017 by irish121
by irish121

My skin is oily in some places and extremely dry in others. Because of the large pores that make my skin so oily, I am also prone to have lots of sweat on my face if I am in a crowded environment. This being said, I was extremely impressed with this foundation! It doesn't have much coverage but it gives you a natural looking smooth and clear finish. If you have extreme break outs you'll have to rely on good concealer, but if you are blessed with clear skin other than the occasional break out (unlike me) this will work out great. Also it is important to know that if you have portions that are dry on your face you will have to moisturize them well or else they will crack easily if anything actually sticks to it. But if you do that like I did it turned out beautifully and I was lucky enough to get an amazing match on my first try, although it is considerably more dark in the bottle than it will be on your skin. It is easy to work with and you can easily layer it if you are someone who likes more coverage. I would definitely recommend this product!

irish121
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
My only regret is that I did not try this sooner!
4/29/2017

Customer review by andie

5.0 stars 4/29/2017 by andie
by andie

I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to for this product. I'm in my 40's, still break out (badly at times) and have sensitive skin. For years, I did not try this foundation because I thought it would be too drying for my adult skin and that it was geared more towards teenagers. After a very bad break out that was not clearing up due to a reaction from another foundation and a moisturizer, I tried this and I'm so glad I did. This foundation gives great coverage, the consistency is good (not at all what I expected; I thought it would be runny) and it helped my skin. It did not dry me out or break me out. I paired it with the Neutrogena Shine Control Powder (because that's the only powder I use; love it) and my makeup stays put pretty much all day. It goes on smooth and makes your skin look almost flawless. This is my new go to foundation and Neutrogena is now my new go to brand for all my makeup needs. Bottom line, if you're older, have adult acne, or just want a good foundation that keeps your skin clear, don't be afraid to try this. I can honestly say that you won't be disappointed.

andie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!
5/29/2011

Customer review by NewCanadian

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by NewCanadian
by NewCanadian

I absolutely love this product - this is the best product I have ever tried for my skin. I have blemishes, and this is the only foundation that works perfectly for me - even if I leave it overnight, my skin is completely clean the next day, even if it is very hot outside, my skin is completely clean after using this foundation. What is best is that my skin looks very natural while using this product, and helps me to fight any blemishes and redness. I tried many other foundations, but none of them contains Salicylic Acid, which probably helps to fight blemishes and clean your skin. I wish Neutrogena would sell the makeup products in Canada! I moved to Canada last year, and now I need to go to the US to buy this (seriously!), because nothing else works for my skin!

Was this review helpful? (66) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewCanadian
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
not the best
5/24/2017

Customer review by Andreag789

1.0 stars 5/24/2017 by Andreag789
by Andreag789

it does prevent my breakouts a little bit never had a problem with it that has to do with making me breaking out but it doesn't stay on my skin at all it rubs off easily. Im a teen i put my makeup on at 6 30am and by 9 its already faded a lot and by 12 it completely rubbed off my skin

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/24/2017

Thanks for writing this review. We wouldn't expect this product not to last on your skin. We'd like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048. We're available Monday-Friday, 9AM-7PM ET. We look forward to speaking with you.

Andreag789
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Very effective product works well!
4/20/2014

Customer review by tnaik01

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by tnaik01
by tnaik01

I've tried all sorts of foundations, from mineral to mousse fo expensive and I mean 55 dollars a bottle expensive brands. I initially had them listed but understanding the guidelines I removed them. The 55 dollar brand was amazing but I couldn't afford 55 on foundation forever. I heard about this Neutrogena make up for a long time and for whatever reason never tried it. I regret that. As soon as I started using it I saw my skin clear up, I wanna say about 80%! This foundation blends well, it is affordable, goes on my brush nicely! Most importantly it just makes my skin look better without makeup. My skin has healed and I rarely get the large amounts of acne I was getting with other brands. In addition to the benefits to my skin, I do love that this makeup holds up past 12 hours! My eyeliner stays better on it, it doesn't wear off, and it doesn't come off on my clothes. I have used other foundations even minerals in which my eyeliner will smudge or makeup will be a hot mess at the end of the day. For whatever reason this foundation holds. It also layers well if you want to add extra coverage which I found out on accident. Lastly people have complimented me and told me I look better, I don't know if it is because my skin has cleared up or evened out but I will keep buying it. This bottle lasts me about 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnaik01
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Not a review but an observation and recommendation
3/5/2013

Customer review by Lablady

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Lablady
by Lablady

Hello, I've been reading the comments/reviews of the other two liquid foundations from Neutrogena. Most of the reviewers note they have oily skin and wonder why the foundations are breaking them out. I have used Neutrogena Skin Clearing in the past and have returned to using that foundation. I like it a lot but I'm worried about the glass bottle breaking during travel. I have oily sensitive skin and I've found that I need the skin clearing makeup. It has .5 percent of salicylic acid, which keeps your pores clear and is not enough to irritate. I've been using a department store brand (has .5 percent SA) and mixing it with another department store brand of the same line with good results. However, due to budget cuts I have returned to Neutrogena's Skin Clearing foundation and will mix it with the Healthy Skin foundation. Those of you that are having difficulties with shine/oil control/breakouts may want to try this combination to see if it works for you. Good luck and hope it helps.

Lablady
Perry Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
10/1/2011

Customer review by shortieee

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by shortieee
by shortieee

foundation doesnt feel caked on when applied on skin& love that it doesnt clog pores and is very light!(:

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortieee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love This
5/15/2011

Customer review by UsingForYears

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by UsingForYears
by UsingForYears

I absolutely LOVE this product. Been using it for almost 10 years. It keeps my face from getting oily and breaking out. It covers my flaws without making me look like I'm wearing makeup. 5 stars!!

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UsingForYears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
I highly recommend this!
4/9/2017

Customer review by Summer3

5.0 stars 4/9/2017 by Summer3
by Summer3

This foundation is wonderful. I have tried so many foundations from so many brands and price points, and this one is definitely my favorite. It looks pretty natural on my ever-changing skin (dry in the winter, oily in the summer, often combination), while still providing a nice medium coverage, enough to even out my skin tone from pinkness. It also doesn't have a bad influence on my acne, which is so important. During the months leading up to when I started using this foundation, I had pretty severe acne, so this was a great find, since it down-played the redness and didn't make me break out more. I highly recommend this! Note: I have tried applying this with a makeup sponge and with a foundation brush, and I like using a brush better.

Summer3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
gives you natural glow even if you have acne.
6/15/2012

Customer review by ilovebanni

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by ilovebanni
by ilovebanni

i bought this foundation .i came home tried it right away and i fell in love with this product.it feels so light on your face.it looks so natural gives you great coverage.my face is filled with acne scarring and bad acne you can ever imagine but if it works for me it sure will work for anyone and on top of that it has salicylic acid in it which prevents acne.dont hesitate just buy it if you have oily skin and acne.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovebanni
shrewsbury ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Dr3aMA

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Dr3aMA
by Dr3aMA

I have a mixture between nodular and surface acne, therefore not many products actually works on my skin, every foundation that i have used makes my acne worse, i do not have severe acne just mild so i was very skeptical about this product actually working, to my surprise it actually works, i mean really IT ACTUALLY WORKS! the redness and size of my bumps were reduced in just the first day of using this product, not to mention it is very light weight on the face and doesn't feel like you are wearing a mask of make up.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dr3aMA
Crittenden, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
yes and no
1/2/2012

Customer review by missSammy

2.0 stars 1/2/2012 by missSammy
by missSammy

I purchased this product with high hopes. I really like how the makeup itself looks and feels on my skin, but its been a few weeks and there is no change in my acne! Then again, everyone's skin reacts differently to different things. Its nice makeup, so i would recommend it, but don't get your hopes up for clear skin..

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missSammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still love it after 15 years
1/19/2016

Customer review by EriYoshida

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by EriYoshida
by EriYoshida

I started using Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid foundation back in 2001 when I was in 8th grade. My skin has always been horribly sensitive and I needed something to cover the red spots and even my skin tone. $10 was a lot of money to spend on a makeup product when you're 14 but I was desperate! It's now 2016 and I'm still using this foundation in the same color. I see a noticeable difference in my skin after I apply it. It provides fantastic coverage without looking heavy or cakey. My skin just looks natural and healthy. I love this foundation!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EriYoshida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Formula Change
9/20/2012

Customer review by LizardW

3.0 stars 9/20/2012 by LizardW
by LizardW

I'm pretty sure the formula for this liquid foundation has changed in recent years. I have two bottles of this: one in medium beige and one in natural ivory. I compared the ingredients list of the two bottles, and the formula is definitely not the same. The bottle of medium beige does not contain any highly comedogenic ingredients (according the several lists I've obtained from different websites#. However, the natural ivory bottle, which I bought at least a year after the medium beige bottle, has a sticker on it that says "NEW!"; its formula contains sodium chloride which is highly comedogenic; it also contains diazolidinyl urea #I don't know how comedogenic that is, I just know it's a preservative#. My point being, even though the new formula is oil-free, it's still slightly comedogenic; whereas the older formula was not. This is upsetting because this foundation is supposed to help clear acne, and it cannot really accomplish this by adding ingredients/changing its formula for the worst #in my opinion#.

LizardW
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
"You look terrible! What happened to you?"
8/8/2015

Customer review by Tdc628

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by Tdc628
by Tdc628

I was very disappointed with this product. I have dryer but normal skin and break out once in a while. I usually don't use a lot of makeup. When my Clinique foundation ran out, I thought this would be a better cost alternative. Boy, was I wrong. I first tried this product at the beginning of July for a week and thought I had over washed my face and my skin wasn't agreeing to it. My skin looked terrible and took weeks to return to normal. I took a break from makeup to allow my skin to breathe until yesterday when I tried it again. This product caused an allergic reaction/burn/skin issue that made my eye swollen and under eyes bumpy and red (the same reaction as before). My skin is now breaking out and 100 times worse than before I put it on. It looks like a chemical burn. I will never buy Neutrogena products again after this experience. Now, I'm afraid to go out of my house because of how embarrassing my face looks. This product does more harm than good.

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/8/2015

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our Neutrogena SkinClearing Liquid Makeup. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product as that is not typical of our products. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday.

Tdc628
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
It's okay...
11/2/2014

Customer review by NeutrogenaFan

2.0 stars 11/2/2014 by NeutrogenaFan
by NeutrogenaFan

I used this product for about a year, I stopped and now am using Clinique's acne solutions makeup. It was my "first" foundation, which was absolutely necessary because of all the hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face. It did a good job covering and looking natural for a few months, but as I kept using it (I think it oxidized, getting more orange, and maybe I was getting darker and lighter with change of seasons) it got less and less natural. As with all makeup, it felt gross on my skin as the day went on, and the fragrance was too strong for my liking. I also suspected that it made my acne worse because my skin wasn't breathing, but it wasn't something you can blame the product for--Clinique's does the same thing, and maybe all makeup does because it is sitting on your skin. Overall, natural-looking (at first) and good for its price. I wouldn't get it again, though. It's not detrimental to your skin but it's not going to improve your skin either.

NeutrogenaFan
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
3/13/2012

Customer review by Annie1983

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Annie1983
by Annie1983

Great cover up foundation! Goes on smooth and stays all day!! helps keep skin clear!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie1983
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
I get more pimples with this foundation
3/28/2017

Customer review by Mayel

1.0 stars 3/28/2017 by Mayel
by Mayel

I used. Neutrogena products for years but I am using skin clearing micro clear for 3 months and leaves my skin more oily and shines more and I get more pimples . This products doesn't work my skin so I don't recommend this product so going back to my old foundation with lorea' l .

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/28/2017

Thank you for writing this review. We wouldn't expect this product would cause your skin to become more oily, shiny, or have more pimples. We'd like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048. We're available Monday-Friday, 9AM-7PM EST. We look forward to speaking with you.

Mayel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
The only foundation I might ever use!
4/7/2012

Customer review by maakeuup

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by maakeuup
by maakeuup

I've been using this foundation well over a year now, and I honestly believe it's one of the most UNDER-rated foundations on the market right now! Initially, I didn't buy it thinking it would actually heal my skin (because it won't), I just hoped it would keep it from breaking out more! I've since gone to the dermatologist and have nearly flawless skin now, but I still use this foundation every day because after trialing many others, I realized this is the only foundation I've found that looks natural, matte, and feels clean on my skin! A lot of others feel and look greasy, they smell, and they rub off, but this one seems to dry and stay put! It also looks exactly like the texture of natural skin, and manages to cover up some of my light pigmentation, so you get coverage without looking cakey! The only con: every shade seems to have slightly pink understones, so I do wish they would come out with more yellow-undertoned shades to match my skin tone more perfectly (which is the only reason I've experimented with other foundations!)

maakeuup
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work like I'd hoped.
6/14/2012

Customer review by amberjh90

2.0 stars 6/14/2012 by amberjh90
by amberjh90

I have an oily, breakout-prone skin type. My face doesn't have a lot of pimples, but I usually have at least one at all times. I was very excited when I saw this advertised in a magazine. I bought it and started using it, it covered nicely and looked natural! But at the end of the first week of use, my skin was BEYOND dry! It was SO flaky! I used my moisturizers religiously. I used this product for 6 more weeks because I know how products change the chemistry of your face and can take a while to work as stated, but my face only got worse. Because of the dry skin, I actually developed MORE acne! It took me 3 to 4 monhts (November through February or March) to clear up the dry skin on my nose. It was horrendous. Maybe this makeup would work for somebody with a lot of acne...and I mean LOTS of cystic acne bumps! It would cover well and they probably need all the acne help they can get. As far as the average person, I wouldn't recommend this.

amberjh90
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 398 total reviews
1-20 of 398 reviews