Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 72 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Very Cost-effective Upgrade BUT...
4/13/2014

Customer review by BereanTRB

3.0 stars 4/13/2014 by BereanTRB
by BereanTRB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like other reviewers, I recently decided to upgrade my bench/squat equipment which meant I would need a longer bar. But I already had a lot of standard 1" plates. This bar let me beef up my equipment without buying new weights. A great investment! I'm happy with the bar and DO recommend it BUT... Minus two stars because it's not actually 1" in diameter. It's 1/16" less, so 1" spring clips just slide around. I have regular collars with the screw tighteners so it's not really a problem for me, but buyer beware if you were planning on using spring clips. It could just be lack of quality control in an overseas plant but it could also be that they're shaving 1/16" off to reduce costs (that adds up in mass production). In any case, it should be a true 1" bar and will probably force some owners to do some extra shopping to get collars that fit. Another note, my old shorter bar won't go to waste since it's more convenient for straight-bar curls and such.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BereanTRB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CAP Barbell 1" Solid Chromed Weight Bar
5/15/2015

Customer review by LargeAl

5.0 stars 5/15/2015 by LargeAl
by LargeAl

This 7' chrome bar came very well packaged...in fact it was kind of a pain to un-wrap. I really don't see how it could be damaged unless maybe it fell off the back of the truck. This bar works perfectly with my York FTS Squat/Bench stand. The 7ft length allows me to add a 50lb standard plate to one end without fear of the bar flipping off the stand. The chrome on the knurled portion of the bar somewhat negates (smooths out) the effectiveness of the knurls but hasn't been a problem for me. Some have commented that the spring clip type collars don't work on this bar. Mine fit very snugly on the bar. Almost to tight as they can be a pain at times to remove/install. They are the CAP Barbell 1" Chrome Spring Clip Collar set bought at Academy Sports. I have loaded the bar up with 220lbs for bench press and the bar handles it with no noticeable flexing. For the price, I am very happy with this purchase. It has met all my expectations for both bench and squat exercises.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LargeAl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent product
1/5/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Exactly what I expected for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
you get what you pay for! functional and cheap
1/23/2016

Customer review by disappointed

3.0 stars 1/23/2016 by disappointed
by disappointed

functional cheap bar, defective chrome, shipping was a week late foe delivery and they lost a rubber bump stop that goes on before the weights. functional/ cheap you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Needed a longer version.
1/7/2016

Customer review by Chuck

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Chuck
by Chuck

I recently purchased a new rack and needed a longer bar. This one is fits the bill as it's the 7 ft long Olympic bar. Nice quality finish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but flakes
1/3/2016

Customer review by bsmith

4.0 stars 1/3/2016 by bsmith
by bsmith

The bar seems solid, but the chrome finish flakes everywhere. Think glitter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bsmith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality standard plate bar
9/28/2013

Customer review by happyandretireddad

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by happyandretireddad
by happyandretireddad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect bar for those looking for a standard bar to use with non-olympic plates. Has incorporated plate stops built into the bar at about 55 inches wide, perfect for squat racks and cages. One piece design allows to exceed over 250lbs without damage to bar.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyandretireddad
Long Island, NNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/13/2013

Customer review by Drumhead1970

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Drumhead1970
by Drumhead1970
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Price! Great Bar, I can use It with my new olympic bench and my older standard weights!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drumhead1970
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bar
9/1/2013

Customer review by ilanboy

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by ilanboy
by ilanboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got standard weights and just bought an Olympic bench and didn't want to go buy a whole new set of Olympic weights so I bought this bar and it fits perfectly on the bench.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilanboy
McDonough, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
120lbs bent this bar....
5/31/2015

Customer review by DMDN

1.0 stars 5/31/2015 by DMDN
by DMDN

I bought this bar as a starter bar for my girlfriend to start barbell training. I figure it would pair nicely with all my leftover standard plates. The 250lb limit seemed perfect since she wouldn't be near it anytime soon. However after doing lifts (squat/deadlift) with 120lbs I noticed it was now permanently warped. It's not severe but when rolling on the rack/safeties there is a noticeable arc to the bar now. We did not leave it loaded and only had it for 1 training session! I expected more from the reviews here. Perhaps I received a defective bar because I don't see how this bar would withstand even close to 250lbs without bending even more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DMDN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bar bends at low weight
4/16/2015

Customer review by Nater

1.0 stars 4/16/2015 by Nater
by Nater

This bar is supposed to hold up to 250 pounds. I loaded 200 pounds on the bar and did squats for 3 sets of 10 reps. The bar is now permanently bent from the weight. It is still usable but i will not be using the bar for squats again for fear of damaging the bar further. If you plan on lifting more than 200 lbs I would highly suggest buying a higher quality bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nater
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Kinda Bar
11/11/2015

Customer review by Jiyu7Nokemono

4.0 stars 11/11/2015 by Jiyu7Nokemono
by Jiyu7Nokemono

It's exactly what I needed for my Squat rack. I can use it for incline bench press as well on the rack. Sturdy and dependable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jiyu7Nokemono
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner's Barbell at a good price.
3/30/2012

Customer review by MadMatt32171

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by MadMatt32171
by MadMatt32171

Not much to it - solid steel bar, smooth ends, nice knurling, can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadMatt32171
Southern NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as advertised
4/1/2014

Customer review by Gatorw

3.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Gatorw
by Gatorw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bar is advertised as a 1" standard bar. The one I received is maybe 3/4". My spring clamps will not clamp down on bar. I have another 1" bar they work just fine on.The bar is still useable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gatorw
Winder,ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
golds gym xr 20 compatible
10/25/2015

Customer review by newbie

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by newbie
by newbie

I was afraid it wouldn't fit my bench but it does and it's awesome.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great 7 foot standard bar
10/3/2015

Customer review by Jason

5.0 stars 10/3/2015 by Jason
by Jason

I bought this to use with my new power rack because the standard 1" barbell that I already owned was only 6 feet long. I needed a 7 foot long bar to fit the rack for squats and this fits perfectly. It's exactly what I needed. It saved me from having to buy olympic weights and a bar to fit the rack. Shipping was free and only took a couple days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bar at a Great Price
4/1/2014

Customer review by jflynn82

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by jflynn82
by jflynn82
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased a multipurpose squat rack to do squats, deadlifts, and bench pressing . . . but I needed an Olympic length (7-foot) bar to use with it. However, I already one a lot of standard 1" weight plates, so I was looking for a bar to use with those weights. Look no further! This bar, coupled with the "CAP Barbell 1 Chrome Spring Clip" is the perfect solution. Well-made, and a pleasure to use . . . all at an outstanding price. I would highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jflynn82
Millville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CAP 1" weight bar
5/2/2012

Customer review by Mike6676

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Mike6676
by Mike6676

Good, sturdy 1" weight bar. One piece of solid medal (do NOT buy a bar that is more than 1 piece). Good price. Screw on collars keep weight plates secure on bar tightly with no "rolling" of plates during exercises but are removed with ease. Perfect for home gym.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike6676
7/2/2012

Customer review by Rodlow

4.0 stars 7/2/2012 by Rodlow
by Rodlow

This product works well with the CAP Bench. It's a perfect fit for 1" weights. I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rodlow
Bronx New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Solid with 350
5/20/2015

Customer review by MrDunkle

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by MrDunkle
by MrDunkle

I'f you have standard weights and a Olympic bench, this is the only way to go.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrDunkle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews