Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-18 of 18 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Worth Every Penny!
7/21/2011

Customer review by MeMyCatsandI

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by MeMyCatsandI
by MeMyCatsandI

First off, the instruction manual that came with the bike was horrible. If you are not "handy" or have not assembled exercise equipment or furniture before, you WILL have a difficult time putting this thing together. Fair warning. However, once this bike is assembled you will not be disappointed. I love this bike! The resistance is HIGH, so don't worry that you won't get a good workout. I broke my previous bike, which I also purchased from Wal-mart for about half the price a year ago. Once I started using this bike, I realized that the previous bike was simply not a tough enough workout even though it had an adjustable resistance knob. I had to "work up" to this one to be able to do my usual hour long work outs. I don't feel any cooling effect from the fan, so don't expect this thing to keep you cool while you work out. I set up a fan right next to me for that purpose. Also, the seat is slightly uncomfortable and takes a little getting used to, though I find that true of all bike seats. Your bum just has a period of adjustment when you first start working out. Once your bum gets used to the seat (any seat) its not so bad. Also, the seat height is adjustable and I think that making sure it is at the proper height helps to minimize bum pain. My arms are looking great because this is a TOTAL body work out. Please do yourself a favor and buy this bike! Oh, by the way... regarding the heart rate monitor. In order to get it to read your heart rate, do not grab the handles as hard as you can and squeeze them assuming that is the only way it will be able to "feel your pulse". It is not actually feeling for a pulse like the nurse at your doctor's office. It took me a while to figure this out, so consider this my good deed for the day. To get your heart rate reading, LIGHTLY place your thumbs (or your index fingers) on the metal heart rate monitor. (There needs to be light in the room as it uses infrared waves or some other hocus pocus to see "through" your finger!) Wait patiently for about 20-30 seconds. Be patient. It seems to be fairly accurate, although it changes the longer you wait. For example, it might flash 77 first, which is clearly wrong (at least in my case!). If you wait, it will post another reading that more accurately reflects an exercising heart rate. It is pretty close to what I count myself when I stop to take my pulse from my neck or wrist.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeMyCatsandI
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good deal, good bike
8/30/2011

Customer review by ros2

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by ros2
by ros2

This bike is superior to the cheaper bikes I have tried. It IS a bit of a task to assemble, but anyone familiar with a screwdriver should be able to get it together. I'm deducting a star for the fact the bike I received had a stripped bolt which I had wait to obtain from the manufacturer directly. It provides excellent resistance and a strong cardio workout. If "whooshing" sounds are annoying to you, you might call this noisy, but I'm exercising not reading at a library so the sound is acceptable. It has a feel like cross-country skiing. Overall, well worth the purchase price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ros2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Usage:Every day
exercise with confidence
12/29/2010

Customer review by yoziczar

3.0 stars 12/29/2010 by yoziczar
by yoziczar

After a slightly tedious assmenbly I found this product to be built tough to last. I had to reassemble the electronics box to the frame a few times to the bar as the speed did not initially register.It seems fine now and I am satisfied with this product. Time will tell though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yoziczar
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seat was supposed to be comfortable.....
1/24/2011

Customer review by kelcas

3.0 stars 1/24/2011 by kelcas
by kelcas

I ordered this bike because it was a good price and the seat was supposed to be extra comfortable. When I got the bike about a month ago I was only riding a few minutes at a time. The seat was uncomfortable on my tailbone then but I could tolerate it. Two days ago I decided to stay on for an hour. Boy was this a mistake!!! I could hardly sit yesterday! My tailbone is killing me! When you sit on that seat all of your weight is focused on the tailbone and this is not good. Hoping I can find a seat cover that will help!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelcas
Mangham, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Gives good cardio exercise.
7/6/2011

Customer review by ghonbarg

3.0 stars 7/6/2011 by ghonbarg
by ghonbarg

Gives a good workout, but a little noisey. Putting it together was easy, but some bolts holes didn't line up very well. Foot pedals plastic, probably won't last, cheap. Air from fan not directed toward rider in anyway so doesn't help cool you down. Pulse monitor jumps around, makes you wonder what correct pulse reading is.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghonbarg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Golds Gym Bike
1/11/2011

Customer review by Greybeard33

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Greybeard33
by Greybeard33

Product is an exercise bike that is sturdy and effective. It was relatively easy to assemble with most of the intricate parts pre-assembled at the factory.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greybeard33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good cardio workout
2/11/2011

Customer review by greenwinniethepooh

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by greenwinniethepooh
by greenwinniethepooh

I like the way that I can work my upper body as well as having a low-impact workout for my lower body. The fan keeps me cool, too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenwinniethepooh
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/6/2011

Customer review by INCJR

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by INCJR
by INCJR

Very good product i use it every day and enjoy it very much

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INCJR
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
helpful if it works.
5/5/2011

Customer review by toslow4thekids

2.0 stars 5/5/2011 by toslow4thekids
by toslow4thekids

this product is very noise, had problems putting it together . wrong instruction manual. no serial number on machine thank goodness still had the box ,lots of pieces missing. customer services was really nice received missing parts in about 3 days. my advice if u can go to the store and check it out before u buy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toslow4thekids
ill
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by crzhorse

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by crzhorse
by crzhorse

iy's easy to assemble and the heart feature is a plus . If you do not have a helper available you can assemble yourself, all the tools you need come with the bike,except a phillips screwdriver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crzhorse
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/30/2012

Customer review by have6

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by have6
by have6

I assembled products like this before and had little trouble putting it together only the handle bars gave me a problem at first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
have6
tamaqua pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid, well-made exercise bike.
3/3/2013

Customer review by Amends

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Amends
by Amends

I have had this bike for two full months. There have been no problems. I ride every day with an occasional day off. I ride for 30 minutes and travel 4.50 miles. I have ridden for over 29 hours and the bike has performed well. I would recommend checking the nuts and bolts occasionally because they will loosen up a bit. Other than that , I'm very happy with the bike and my wife has stared to use it also. I might question the calories burned feature because it seems off a bit (too low). I would buy this bike again and that's the best review that I can offer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amends
Worcester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Exercise Bike
2/13/2013

Customer review by Cindymk64

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Cindymk64
by Cindymk64

I was surprise on how this bike works. Easy to assemble and well built with a comfortable wide seat. The shipment was 3 days ahead of schedule. It gives you a great work out. I would recommend this

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cindymk64
Jackson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gold's Gym stationary bicycle
2/12/2011

Customer review by pafireman

4.0 stars 2/12/2011 by pafireman
by pafireman

Fairly easy to put together, still adjusting to handlebars being further away from each other than my last exercise bicycle, unit is very sturdy, very strong resemblence to my old bike purchased from Sears (private label from same manufacturer?), just put it together yesterday and it appears to be a very good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pafireman
Elysburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
good value for the money
1/2/2011

Customer review by HappyinJesup

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by HappyinJesup
by HappyinJesup

This is a very well built machine. When received the console was broken, probably in shipping. Called customer service and item was promptly replaced. Its a little loud when in use, however overall I am very pleased. Easy assembly with good instructions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyinJesup
Jesup, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
sturdy but heavy
12/16/2012

Customer review by tempocontour

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by tempocontour
by tempocontour

Great exercise bike for the money. Here are my pros and cons for this exercise bike. pros: easy to assemble, comfortable height adjustable seat, sturdy assembly, able to disconnect arm exercise bar from peddle to be able to peddle without arm bars getting in the way, large display readouts for calories, time, heart rate, distance traveled, readout display come on automatically at start of workout, cons: heavy, not easy to move around (previous owned bike had wheels at front to roll around, this lack wheels), arm exercise bars are a little close together for a wide short person to use comfortably, no vent for direct blowing/cooling, calories burned readout is inaccurate, readout display require 4 D cell battery, display readout is not back light lit, heart rate readout is very hard to figure out, Even with all the cons, the bike gives a very good workout for the price I payed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tempocontour
Boston, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not happy with transaction
1/13/2011

Customer review by beau39

2.0 stars 1/13/2011 by beau39
by beau39

We ordered & received a Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390 exercise bike through Walmart.com. The bike was received with instructions including the user's manual for a Pro-Form XP Whirlwind 280, which appears to be the same as the Gold's Gym 390. However, the information in the package thanked us for buying from Sears, and the warranty information is for a Sears exercise bike. I don't understand why the material in the package is all from Sears, not Walmart. The tools included were not heavy duty enough for assembly of the bike. Fortunately I had my own tools to complete the job. The fan part of the bike that came allready assembled makes a rather loud clicking noise when you use the bike. If I had purchased this product at a store instead of on-line, I would have returned it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beau39
Bella Vista, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Bad assembly
1/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 1/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After calling Gold Gym we determined that the bike had been assembled incorrectly at the factory. They will be send me a replacement part and I hope i can reassemble it correctly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Versailles, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.