Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
31
3 stars
20
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 89 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Great Bike for The Price
1/10/2011

Customer review by BargainSurferWalmart

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by BargainSurferWalmart
by BargainSurferWalmart

I've owned many bikes from cheap to ones costing over $1000. Recently two of my bikes were stolen and I needed a new bike to ride on bike paths with the kids and run errands around town. I chose the Huffy Savanna for the extremely low price of $99.99. I thought I'd get a pretty basic bike with poor quality craftsmanship and components for this price, boy was i surprised. The Huffy Savanna is a very good bike for the price. The frame geometry, seating position and handlebars are the perfect setup for riding around town or on the beach bike path. The seat is high quality, well sprung but a little hard. The spring loaded seat post is excellent for absorbing bumps and not a feature you'd normally find a on a sub $300 bike. The Shimano brakes are excellent and better than many of the more expensive brands of bikes you'll find in a dedicated bike shop. The Shimano Revo shifters and gears are OK and better than most other setups you'll find on the sub $300 bikes. However, they are not really the precision shifters I'm use to on higher end Shimano gear sets but hey I only paid $100. After you learn their limitations the Shimano Revo gears and shifters are very useable. The bike is very comfortable. I did a 5 mile ride yesterday with some dirt trail riding and I completed a 10 mile beach bike path ride today. The bike performed perfectly and I never felt uncomfortable on the bike. A few years ago a bike of this quality and features would have cost $400 to $500 and if you buy a Giant, Trek, Cannondale, Raleigh, Mongoose or Schwinn, you will still spend upwards of $500 or more. The factory applied stickers that suffice for graphics are the weak point of the bike. They are very old school, boring designs and poorly affixed and aligned. However, they can be easily removed with a hair dryer to give you a clean look and show off the remarkably good paint job. The rear bike rack is very useable for those of us that commute or run to the store for a few things. I use mine to hold a large bike box which holds spare inter tubes, air pump, wrenches, snacks etc. The key to purchasing this bike from Walmart is to go on a day when the bike mechanics are working assembling bikes. I did and was able to test ride the bike in the parking lot. I found the gears were not properly aligned and so the bike mechanics spent 15 minutes adjusting the bikes gears, brakes, wheels etc. until it was perfect. I did a second test ride and all was good. If you buy this bike online then you'd better be a good bike mechanic or know one who can make all the adjustments for you. My conclusion is that you cannot buy a better bike than the Huffy Savannah for the bargain price of $99.99. I recommend it and I'd buy another in the future.

Was this review helpful? (132) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainSurferWalmart
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A walmart best
3/9/2011

Customer review by kodoan

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by kodoan
by kodoan

I purchased this bike about a year ago for exercise, daily commuting and weekend overnight bike trips. I will ride 3 to 6 hours a day on the weekends. I have looked at hundreds of bikes and their reviews. I compared prices and features and read many bike touring blogs before choosing this bike. I'm still satisfied with my purchase and wouldn't choose any of the others. I bought this bike when it was $119 and it was a great bargain then. I uploaded some pics so you can see I really own this bike and how I've customized my bike for touring. I immediately took off the decals to reveal a beautiful, midnight blue paint job. Everything but the mudflaps were purchased at walmart. I have added panniers ($27), mudflaps ($30), computer ($20), front and back lights ($30), water cage and bottle ($10), air pump ($10), bullhorns ($7), tool bag & tools ($10), extra cables for brakes/shifters ($5), tube repair kit ($10), camping pots ($25), sterno (for cooking $3)), tent ($20), sleeping bag ($11), misc (about $20). Completely outfitted for less than $300. Bike is 31 pounds without gear, 47 lbs with base weight (not including food and water). This bike will handle weekend (maybe week long) treks easily. If I lost all of my gear today, I wouldn't shed a tear - I'd just walk into a walmart and I'd be back on the road!

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kodoan
Buena Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bike, requires a little work once you get it
9/14/2010

Customer review by CJHB

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by CJHB
by CJHB

I had the bike delivered to my home, it is good, and does the job. One thing to be aware, it will require you to fix the gears. I had two bikes, one for myself and one for my wife. Neither of the gear systems were aligned, so follow one of the online guides to make your gears work. Otherwise you will only have some of your gears, here is an example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRAtxmLjrLs

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJHB
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Okay bike
7/2/2010

Customer review by FatBiker

3.0 stars 7/2/2010 by FatBiker
by FatBiker

I bought this bike for commuting. About 8 miles each way. The first one I had a lot of problems with the crank bearings working loose, and the stores had no way to fix it. I traded in for another one of the same model. Turns out the first was a factory flaw (right side bearing race didn't get tightened properly at the factory, and I couldn't get them tight enough). I've ridden the second one for about 2 weeks without a problem, once I tuned it up. First off, tighten ALL the fasteners, including the pedals, handlebars, and axles. I cannot get the brakes to adjust to center on the fork, so I trued the rims to the brakes, which works for me. Love the suspended seat. I wish the rims had more spokes, as I am about 5 foot 7, and 280 lbs. Carrying clothes and gear for work, I'm pushing about 300 lbs, and havn't had a problem with it. The chain has jumped off the chainrings a couple of times when I went to apply lots of power to the pedals, can't figure that one out. Just wish it had a higher top end.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatBiker
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bike
7/17/2010

Customer review by Dan0808

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by Dan0808
by Dan0808

Wonderful Bike, I didn't have to make any adjustments to the one I got from the store. The shocks work wonderfully. I could ride this bike for hours with no pain.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dan0808
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't go wrong for 100 bucks
2/9/2011

Customer review by jaybird8309

3.0 stars 2/9/2011 by jaybird8309
by jaybird8309

Everything about this bike is CHEAP CHEAP beautifully CHEAP. I bought this bike specifically to commute to work and school an average of 10 miles a day. I noticed some some minor flaws in its manufacturing upon assembly. DO NOT ride this bike before checking and adjusting EVERYTHING, from the derailleurs and brakes down to the tension on the spokes. If you don't know how, or don't want to learn, take it to a bike shop. I fully expected to get 100 dollars worth of bike for 100 dollars, that is, not much. Not to be vague, this bike would have received five stars for "meets expectations" if the hardware necessary to install the luggage rack hadn't been overtightened at the factory to the point of stripping... (I gerry-rigged it, and now it does its job). From the sound of other reviews, I guess it's the luck of the draw in terms of factory defects, but I'd still be sure to buy it in a box and put it together myself. Despite the weight of the bike, and the cheap component materials, it rides well when tuned up. I've never owned a bike with suspension, and it's very comfortable. For 100 bucks, I can't complain about anything, it will pay for itself in 2 months anyway.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaybird8309
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Commuter Bike
5/24/2010

Customer review by WalmartRegular117

4.0 stars 5/24/2010 by WalmartRegular117
by WalmartRegular117

Pros: Excellent bike, shifts well after you tune it yourself, nice shock absorber on seat, seat feels like a dream Cons: None really besides being slow, not suitable for sidewalks, noise storage bracket REMEMBER: Check your brakes, make sure the gears shift, and that the rear shock turns and has grease, and pedal arm nut is screwed on tightly before buying a walmart bike. Will save you from excess stress

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartRegular117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the money
6/2/2011

Customer review by Philbob

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Philbob
by Philbob

With the exception of the writing in the instruction manual being soooo tiny, putting the bike together wasn't a problem. Rides nice with the suspension shock & seat. Shifts smoothly from gear to gear. Nice that the gear you are in is displayed on the shifter.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Philbob
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Pay Attention to Reviews Not Brand Names
10/21/2010

Customer review by TheBicycleMan

2.0 stars 10/21/2010 by TheBicycleMan
by TheBicycleMan

I have been riding bicycles for my main transportation for fifteen years. I chose to buy the Huffy Men's Savannah Road Bike, via site-to-store, because I am a tall man and because the bicycle was under $150.00. I read all the reviews, including the negative reviews, but decided to buy the bicycle anyway because it was a Huffy product. I am fifty years old and grew up trusting brand names. However, I am slowing realizing that brand names do not mean anything anymore. I was very disappointed in the Huffy Men’s Savannah Road Bike. It looks great on the outside but on the inside it is cheaply made and of poor quality materials. The bicycle mechanic at the Walmart store assembled it for me. Although the bicycle was priced under $150, the low cost should not mean that it is a defective product. The crank shaft made a loud clanking noise when the peddles were in use. The wheels were not in correct alignment and could not be aligned correctly. The spokes were flimsy and began to loosen after the first week of use. After only two weeks of use, I had to take it back to the store for a refund. I did not want to exchange it for another one because I remembered the reviews. Next time, I will pay attention to the reviews, not the brand name.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBicycleMan
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
defect but still good bike
5/31/2011

Customer review by vyda

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by vyda
by vyda

I bought online and got one with an abnormal fork such that the front wheel was slightly tilted and not centered with the Vbrake. It was just enough that however the brake cable was adjusted, either one pad was too close or the other pad was too far. There was no solution in the manual and I would have returned it but figured out to switch the spacer/washer between the brake pad and its arm. It shouldn't be like that, but my fix worked and for the price plus free shipping, it wasn't worth the hassle of exchanging. Everything else worked well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vyda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
poorly assembled
7/18/2010

Customer review by whd85

3.0 stars 7/18/2010 by whd85
by whd85

The bike looked good, but had to take it to a bike shop and spend an additional $60 to get the rims trued and the rear tire fixed as well as the shifters adjusted. Both tires were out of round and the rear tire went flat immediately due to an improperly installed protector that covers the spokes inside the rim. The front caliper would not shift correctly. I took it to the bike shop and they were able to straighten out the bike. I must mention that this was the condition of the bike from the factory and not the blame of Walmart. With the additional cost of getting a brand new bike fixed, I should have bought a better bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whd85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Good bike for the money
10/11/2010

Customer review by GadgetGirl5

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by GadgetGirl5
by GadgetGirl5

Just getting into riding so we didnt want to invest a lot in the 2 bikes we purchased. This suites our needs. Just a warning, if you buy it from the web site, you have to request that they put it togeth for you. My Walmart did it in a day.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetGirl5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best deal
6/20/2011

Customer review by 5toerunner

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by 5toerunner
by 5toerunner

Im planning a bicycle tour and read a lot of reviews on which bikes were best and i came across the Savannah, the reviews went both ways some had good experiences some had bad. I decided on buying it since it was only $89. I got to the store and the assembly on it was all wrong the wheels were loose, the derailleurs were not adjusted, the brakes had to be tightened, and the seat was loose. All these things were and easy fix so i bought it, it ended up only costing me $76 at the store. I got home and took about 2 hours adjusting all the problems, after the firs 20 miles the rubber for grip on the pedals started to come off. Its been three weeks now and I am using it for my bike tour training and have 203 miles on it so far, I have not gotten a flat (pump tires to 60 PSI) its a super smooth ride, highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5toerunner
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike if you give it TLC
7/8/2011

Customer review by miata69411

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by miata69411
by miata69411

Brought my 18 speed bike home. Yes its all to geather. By the Wallmart people. Is it driveable ? Yes. Do you allways want to ride with out fine tuning it? Most people will say No. So as far im concern get the bike tuned up. BIG difference! Then you will love this bike. I would go this far and say All bikes sold at Wallmart , K mart ect.....need it done. So if your tec. savey do it your self. If not you will have to spend $30. to $60. to get it done. Very Well Worth it. Some people will Think wallmart bikes are junk. But the simple fact is, it just needs TLC.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miata69411
Belmar N.J.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
12/31/2010

Customer review by pwrocketman

3.0 stars 12/31/2010 by pwrocketman
by pwrocketman

Over all the bike seemed well made initially. After my son rode it about a mile I tried it out. The front derailer wouldn't shift to the largest two sprockets (higher gears) as adjusted. While attempting to readjust, I noticed the bearings in the crank (pedal) assembly were loose. Since everything was tight, I suspect the bearing were bad as manufactured. I had read one similar review before purchasing this model but figured it was probably one in a million. Also the rear wheel had a slight wobble to it. It was just enough to drag on the brakes. Not enough to notice while riding but very apparent if you were just wheeling it around. Be sure to check for these flaws if you've purchased this bike. I returned ours in less than a week and am looking at different models now.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwrocketman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Better than expected
3/10/2011

Customer review by Yip812

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by Yip812
by Yip812

I read all the reviews after seeing this bike in the store for the past couple months. I liked the look of the girl version (I'm a girl), and it has everything I wanted: Road tires, flat bars, and a rack (although I could do the rack part myself). So I read the reviews, and decided I could handle the adjustments they inevitability seem to need. My walmart never has anyone working back by the bikes, so I was able to get the bikes out, sit on them, try out the spacing of the petals, and check out the gears. The first girl bike was good, but didn't have any price stickers, so I got out the other one, and it was not good. I don't know what was wrong with it, but it felt rickety and cheap, and made all sorts of groaning/creaking noises just from me sitting on it (I am NOT over the weight limit! lol). So I got out the mens bike and it was pretty much perfect. The red arrow design is kinda ugly, but like someone else said, the stickers come off. The gears shift perfectly and it makes for a very nice ride. The seat is kinda cushy, but isn't comfortable. I'm gonna swap it for the one on my road bike. The only adjustment I had to do was to loosen the brakes on the front, as they were rubbing on the tire. So overall, I got a fast, solid feeling, comfortable(after the seat swap) bike for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yip812
Ephrata, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Product with Some Issues
5/20/2011

Customer review by BigJimJAX

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by BigJimJAX
by BigJimJAX

We purchased this bike for my atypical 17 yo who is weight and stamina training for the military. He has currently gone from 275lbs to his current 252lbs. Bike is a relatively quality product with 2 major exception: 1) although the bike is advertised as having a full steel frame, they do not mention that the pedal mounts are made completely of aluminum... a very weird place to place mount soft metal between the steel crank shaft and the steel pedal mount. 2) Both of the inner tubes have popped because a defect in the walls of the inner tube. Never had the front and back wheel go bad within 2 weeks of the initial purchase. Beyond that, the bike has been a great purchase that my son rides daily...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigJimJAX
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Men's Huffy Savannah Hybrid
5/7/2011

Customer review by Rob311952

4.0 stars 5/7/2011 by Rob311952
by Rob311952

You can't beat this bike for the money. I brought it home and adjusted the brakes, handlebars and seat, aired up the tires to 60 psi, and went riding. Everything worked perfectly including the gear shifting. It's very comfortable with they spring seat and telescoping forks. I like having the rear carrier. I'll probably add a cup holder and it perfectly meets all my needs for $90 out the door with assembly, tax, and 1 yr. replacement warranty after the manufacturer's warranty runs out. Highly recommended if you want to get a good bike for a great value price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rob311952
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The decal comes off easy
6/12/2010

Customer review by kramkram1

3.0 stars 6/12/2010 by kramkram1
by kramkram1

I am 6 feet 5 inches 51 years old I have not been on a bike in over 20 years. After adjusting the brakes, the rear wheel and deraillers the bike rides well. Shifting is easy it has a smooth ride and handels well. It is great for the price but be ready to make adjustments. The Huffy decal peals off easy:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kramkram1
md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not as expected
7/9/2010

Customer review by vikings09

3.0 stars 7/9/2010 by vikings09
by vikings09

The bike looks very nice. However, I discovered the one I bought had a loose crank shaft. I read the manual and found that it is tightened in the factory and requires a special tool. The manual says that if during the "break in" period you find that the crank shaft is loose to bring it to a bike shop to have it tightened up. I only had the bike one day and was not going to pay to have it fixed already. I brought it back and bought a cheaper mountain bike and think it is better. For the money saved I can buy a bike rack, bike computer, and storage bag. I noticed it recently went down to $119.00. So if you find a good one it may be a good deal now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vikings09
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews