Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
79
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
15
1-20 of 268 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 268 total reviews
1-20 of 268 reviews
Great HD for the Price
9/9/2010

Customer review by MattInNorthATL

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by MattInNorthATL
by MattInNorthATL

After doing some extensive research, I decided to purchase this camera as it runs rings around the Flip. Controls are simple enough to just pick up the camera and go. That is, if you already have a memory card. You really can't beat $140 for an HD cam but, expect to shell out at least an extra $20 to $80 dollars for a good sized memory card. The on board memory is so tiny that you can only shoot about 5 secs of video and maybe take 5 still shots. You can record about 10 hours of footage with a 32 gb card depending on what setting you use. I bought a Sandisk 16gb for about $20 on Ebay and I can record about 2 hrs in 1080p. Only other draw back is the battery life. Depending on what mode you shoot in...1080p, 720 60/fps, 720 30/fps or WVGA. 1080p will get you about 50 minutes of battery life. 720p will get you about 1 1/2 hrs and WVGA will get you appox 90 mins. You can purchase generic batteries online for about $4-$5. The camera does come with a wall charger and a battery can be fully charged in about 20 minutes. Only other purchase you might consider is a stereo mic as the camera does come with an external mic jack and the on board mono mic is not really adequate. I bought a Sony stereo mic and it makes all the difference! Pros: Great HD clarity, ease of use at a great price! Cons: Having to add accessories right away to be able to even use the camera. Bottom line: If you're looking for something affordable, easy to use, shoots great HD picture and can fit in your pocket...this IS your camera!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MattInNorthATL
Canton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nic e little camcorder.
3/5/2010

Customer review by Crumpton

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Crumpton
by Crumpton

I have had the camcorder fro a little over 2 weeks and have published many videos on you tube. I like the fact that it will fit in my pocket and I dont have a big camcorder to tote around.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crumpton
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great pocket Video Camera
6/8/2010

Customer review by Crewsr3

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Crewsr3
by Crewsr3

I've been very happy with this Video Camera. Its nice and small so I can put it in my pocket and go. It super easy to off load the video's and upload them to YouTube. The software that comes with it is worthless and I don't even use it. **Also you have to buy a memory card for it so factor that into the cost of the camera.** The quality is really good. I tend to shoot in 720p @ 60 fps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crewsr3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I'm a fan of this product
8/3/2010

Customer review by VonnegutFan77

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by VonnegutFan77
by VonnegutFan77

I think the Kodak Zi8 is a great camera - easy to use, affordable, and versatile. You HAVE to buy a memory card, but you can get a 4GB SD card for less than $20. The screen size on this camera is awesome. You can just pop out the USB and download the videos. You can even play them on your TV. It charges quickly. It's a really fun little camera. If you want to make serious videos, you really need an external mic ... but at least this camera has an external mic jack. Totally cool. If you don't want to use an external mic, you just have to be close to the camera and talk loudly. I would definitely recommend this camera b/c of it's ease of use, price, and quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VonnegutFan77
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little camera
6/25/2010

Customer review by Bebita24

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Bebita24
by Bebita24

This HD camera is pretty good. The video quality is excellent; just what you'd expect HD video to look like. I also have a Flip video, not HD, but seems as if close up video is better on the Flip. You have to stand a lot further back from your subject to get the same close up video with the Kodak. I don't know why this is, but other than that, this camera is great. I also like the expandable memory the Flip does not have. I have a 9 month old baby girl and use it quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bebita24
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
zi8 video camera
1/7/2010

Customer review by irulethe70s

4.0 stars 1/7/2010 by irulethe70s
by irulethe70s

here is my review on the zi8 i got mine at amazon.com on sale and very impressed so far zooms weak but its a pocket camcorder so whatever softwares pc only so bummer cause i use mac few issues but if you ignore them its a nice camera and if you ignore the pc only software its a all around rockstar camera

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
irulethe70s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for the money
12/22/2010

Customer review by montelover

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by montelover
by montelover

This video camera is a great value. Takes great video and is small enough to take anywhere. The only problem I have with it is the sound. It does have a microphone plug to add another microphone so that will probably be the first thing I add to it. The software for it is also great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
montelover
Independence, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/21/2010

Customer review by kelly52369

1.0 stars 12/21/2010 by kelly52369
by kelly52369

The video camera only works if it plugged in to the charger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelly52369
Southaven, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not a reliable camera
4/7/2010

Customer review by acgretlcello

2.0 stars 4/7/2010 by acgretlcello
by acgretlcello

This camera will not turn on when you want it to. Even when you try to take pictures/videos, it will freeze on you. I've tried switching batteries a few times and it still won't work. Picture quality is blurry sometimes. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Just don't waste your time or money on this camera.

Was this review helpful? (2) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acgretlcello
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice little camera
12/13/2010

Customer review by Ti12

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Ti12
by Ti12

I was looking for my first small not that expensive HD camera, and I chose this over the flip U260 that was on sale. This has the 60 fps option on video, tale photos and can accept SDHC. Excellent performance on good light conditions. Yes, a little more money than U260, but big difference in between 60fps flip.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ti12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nothing fancy
6/3/2010

Customer review by GrumpyGrizz

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by GrumpyGrizz
by GrumpyGrizz

We were looking for an easy to use camera capable of Video and Stills. For the price, we were pleasently surprised. Stills look really good and I am learning how to do Video. It won't make you a professional but it will record you vacation memories.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrumpyGrizz
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great video camera
7/16/2010

Customer review by all4awa

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by all4awa
by all4awa

getting ready for our 1st grandson so we bought this for our son and daughter in law. Gave it to them now so they will know how to use it when baby gets here in 1 month...they love it and very easy to use. Just plug in to upload to PC. Very happy with this camera...of course we bought them a memory card to go with you will for sure need one....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
all4awa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/15/2010

Customer review by Snag919

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by Snag919
by Snag919

Bought this as a surprise gift for my daughter and son-in-law. They charged the battery and off they went and they haven't been disappointed since. Now they/we have video and pictures of the kids and family to share.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snag919
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Teens Love It!!
6/29/2010

Customer review by clommen

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by clommen
by clommen

Purchased this for my son's 17th birthday. Him and his friends are always videoing something. It is extremely user friendly. Charged the battery and needed minimal time reading the instruction manual.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clommen
Carlos, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Camera
12/20/2010

Customer review by Handshoe

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Handshoe
by Handshoe

We purchased this camera to take short video clips at my sons sporting events. Once we started playing with the settings and purchased an 8gb card we now use this camera and a monopod and record the complete game. We are more than pleased with the quality of the video and sound. I would recommend that you purchase extra battery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handshoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Will record many pleasant memories!
12/20/2010

Customer review by BigBlueBabe

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by BigBlueBabe
by BigBlueBabe

The video pocket camera is a gift. It's a good value in comparison with other less known brands.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBlueBabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera!
6/1/2010

Customer review by Curtbossy

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Curtbossy
by Curtbossy

I bought this to record my daughter's last marching band parade and I was totally impressed with the quality. The pictures are crystal clear and the sound is great. This camera is a great bargain!

Curtbossy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little camera
7/18/2010

Customer review by Dana

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by Dana
by Dana

I bought this and was very impressed by the quality video it took. The big reason I like this is because I can record whenever I want and look like I am using a Blackberry and not a nerdy camcorder. The only thing I would say a con is you will need to keep it fairly stable while recording because it can be jittery to watch at times afterword. But for its size and prize this camera is awesome and I bring it any trip or event I go to.

Dana
Southern NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Features Price & Quality = 5 Stars
10/11/2010

Customer review by Coaster

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Coaster
by Coaster

This is obviously a personal video camera, and no one should expect to capture professional quality video with it. That said, it's amazing what it can do. For those of us who've felt like dorks at family events carrying around the overnight suitcase size cameras of the past, it's a godsend. The audio is easily fixed with an external mic, either clip-on or hand held, because of a standard mic input. If you've ever 'pushed' your film to take low-light pictures, you'll understand the graininess of this camera's output. Good lighting is essential for good product. But a candle lit birthday cake and the face of a little girl blowing out the lights... well, it's worth the graininess. Kodak has done a more than acceptable job creating this camera. The features are all there for the job it was designed to do. No flash? No problem. It takes very nice pictures in room lighting and it's fast!!! I've always chaffed at the length of time it takes for 'traditional' digital cameras to go through their process: focus, determine if flash is necessary, find the faces, make sure the flash is charged, refocus, take the picture. By the time that has all taken place the moment is gone. The Zi8 can take about a picture a second with a good class 6 card or better. My only complaint, as others have noted, is the included movie software. Quicktime is not the easiest to use. Kodak could find a better partner for this. I've used other software for creating nice videos with great transitions and burned them directly to DVD's or a DVD image on my hard drive for later duplicating. Ditch the Quicktime, tho. All, in all, this is a great camera and is the state of the art for now. Way to go Kodak.

Coaster
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it!
5/3/2010

Customer review by CaptainTiki

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by CaptainTiki
by CaptainTiki

This camera does everything I want it to. It's fun finding subjects for the macro lens (I actually use it) and using my mic with the external mic jack has really improved the sound in my videos. If I lost my Zi8 today I'd buy another one just like it tomorrow.

CaptainTiki
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 268 total reviews
1-20 of 268 reviews