Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
79
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
15
1-20 of 268 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 268 total reviews
1-20 of 268 reviews
Amazing camcorder!!!!!!
5/6/2010

Customer review by Zericon

5.0 stars 5/6/2010 by Zericon
by Zericon

If I was only going to make one more purchase this year it would be a back up of this camcorder. Everthing about this camcorder is better than anyother flash memory camcorder out right now, the software to edit/share is great, the software in the camera, while some may say its 'basic' is Actually all you need!! I would have liked the camcorder to have come with an external battery charger, instead of the standard plug camera into wall cord. But this minor detail can be easily overlooked when you see the quality of the video. At 720/60 fps the action is sooo crisp it's like being there, using this and the included software you can make slow motion ids, take actions stills from the video or even speed it without losing image quality. For a flash memory camcorder, you'll have a hard time finding anything this size (perfect for a pocket, not fat like some other flash camcorders). The image quality and ease of use is like something you would expect frwom a much more expensive camcorder.

Zericon
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth it?...Yes it is..
9/14/2010

Customer review by monkeyknuckles

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by monkeyknuckles
by monkeyknuckles

Good color. Good quality. Good Video. Easy to use. Portable. This camera has 2 things that actually make it worth having. This camera has a MACRO setting, for those close up shots. This camera has an EXTERNAL MICROPHONE jack. These are absolutely critical, if you want to use the camera as an actual camcorder. You could actually use this camera in a capacity that sets it apart from other handhelds. If you need more settings than just a big red button, this is a good choice. The cost is comparable to a regular point and shoot still camera. Good price for a 1080P High definition camera. I wish it was smaller. I actually lost this camera, and bought another one to replace it. The newer version of this camera is smaller. Price is good. Good Camera..

monkeyknuckles
Portsmouth virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CAMCORDER EVER!!!!!!!
8/20/2011

Customer review by KodakFAN1000

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by KodakFAN1000
by KodakFAN1000

I love my Kodak Zi8 camcorder. For the price it is a amazing deal. It has the best quality for a little pocket video camera. Pictures are not the best but videos are great!!! I LOVE my Kodak camera!

KodakFAN1000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Best Bang For Your Buck
10/15/2010

Customer review by jayz

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by jayz
by jayz

for the money and your on a budget this is the perfect camera,besides taking excellent quality video footage the pictures are even better. heres a link to a recent video I made.

jayz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Zi8 Review
5/3/2010

Customer review by Scotteip

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Scotteip
by Scotteip

Excelent camcorder for the price. The 720p setting works best with less shaking. The 1080p setting is good if you use a tripod.

Scotteip
Forest Grove, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
money well spent
7/19/2010

Customer review by dgali

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by dgali
by dgali

This pocket video camera is an excellent alternative to lugging around a digital slr or a full size recorder.

dgali
the boardwalk AC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Great HD for the Price
9/9/2010

Customer review by MattInNorthATL

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by MattInNorthATL
by MattInNorthATL

After doing some extensive research, I decided to purchase this camera as it runs rings around the Flip. Controls are simple enough to just pick up the camera and go. That is, if you already have a memory card. You really can't beat $140 for an HD cam but, expect to shell out at least an extra $20 to $80 dollars for a good sized memory card. The on board memory is so tiny that you can only shoot about 5 secs of video and maybe take 5 still shots. You can record about 10 hours of footage with a 32 gb card depending on what setting you use. I bought a Sandisk 16gb for about $20 on Ebay and I can record about 2 hrs in 1080p. Only other draw back is the battery life. Depending on what mode you shoot in...1080p, 720 60/fps, 720 30/fps or WVGA. 1080p will get you about 50 minutes of battery life. 720p will get you about 1 1/2 hrs and WVGA will get you appox 90 mins. You can purchase generic batteries online for about $4-$5. The camera does come with a wall charger and a battery can be fully charged in about 20 minutes. Only other purchase you might consider is a stereo mic as the camera does come with an external mic jack and the on board mono mic is not really adequate. I bought a Sony stereo mic and it makes all the difference! Pros: Great HD clarity, ease of use at a great price! Cons: Having to add accessories right away to be able to even use the camera. Bottom line: If you're looking for something affordable, easy to use, shoots great HD picture and can fit in your pocket...this IS your camera!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MattInNorthATL
Canton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great pocket Video Camera
6/8/2010

Customer review by Crewsr3

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Crewsr3
by Crewsr3

I've been very happy with this Video Camera. Its nice and small so I can put it in my pocket and go. It super easy to off load the video's and upload them to YouTube. The software that comes with it is worthless and I don't even use it. **Also you have to buy a memory card for it so factor that into the cost of the camera.** The quality is really good. I tend to shoot in 720p @ 60 fps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crewsr3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Kodak Z18
10/24/2010

Customer review by rich1595

3.0 stars 10/24/2010 by rich1595
by rich1595

Easy to use video camera with a nice price tag. Videos respond well to any light source and sound value is not bad. Video quality is great, even when you connect up to a HDTV with the patch cords provided. Relatively compact enough to fit in your pocket and the controls are accessible enough to start shooting without hesitation. The camera mode is not bad, but not great. However this was not the reason I bought it for in the first place since I already own a Digital camera. Things I don't like about it is the image stabilization. While it does eliminate video blur, it does not reduce the slightest shake you have, so you either need a tripod to do long shots, or practice your posture in holding it steady for long time shooting.One other item to mention is the video software included with this camera is kinda lame. No manual is included and you really can't do too much editing as you might think you can, so if you really want to edit you video work and display it for other to see I would suggest buying a better Quality software.

rich1595
Cabot Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Easy to use, meets my needs
1/26/2011

Customer review by Kawika

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Kawika
by Kawika

I'll start by saying this is my first digital video camera device. I'm old enough to remember 8mm wind up movie cameras. But, here we are in a digital world and I was in need of a Video Camera and the Zi8 came highly recommended. I will say that for a rank novice, the device is certainly intuitive and easy to operate. I'm shooting short videos for work and uploading them to YouTube, so the HD function isn't being used, but using the camera with an external microphone, I'm finding the sound and picture quality to be excellent. The software downloaded easily from the camera on first hook up and I haven't attempted any advanced editing with that, but for my needs of quality short recorded videos, for the time being, this fits the need in a good way. I did have the camera freeze up once, and the Kodak support people were reached quickly on the phone and just told me to remove the battery and restart the camera, and it worked. I have no knowledge as to why the camera malfunctioned, but it hasn't done it since, so I'll let it be.

Kawika
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
I'm a fan of this product
8/3/2010

Customer review by VonnegutFan77

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by VonnegutFan77
by VonnegutFan77

I think the Kodak Zi8 is a great camera - easy to use, affordable, and versatile. You HAVE to buy a memory card, but you can get a 4GB SD card for less than $20. The screen size on this camera is awesome. You can just pop out the USB and download the videos. You can even play them on your TV. It charges quickly. It's a really fun little camera. If you want to make serious videos, you really need an external mic ... but at least this camera has an external mic jack. Totally cool. If you don't want to use an external mic, you just have to be close to the camera and talk loudly. I would definitely recommend this camera b/c of it's ease of use, price, and quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VonnegutFan77
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Camera for MUSICIANS !!!
3/8/2011

Customer review by Ocean

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Ocean
by Ocean

I love this camera. This is a PERFECT camera for musicians. I take full advantage of the Zi8’s external microphone jack feature, using the Zi8 on a tripod in my home music studio to record my songs (acoustic guitar & vocal). I run a cable (included with the Zi8) directly from my passive audio mixer into the camera's external mic jack, getting exactly the sound that I produce without any external sounds or degradation due to room acoustics. While still on the tripod I run a cable (also included) from the Zi8’s video output to a 52” flat panel TV in my studio for preview. Finally, I use the power cable (also included) 100% of the time so I do not need to be concerned about batteries. When you think of all the camera’s features and supplied accessories that I am able to use in my application, this makes the Zi8 the PERFECT CAMERA for the home music studio !!! Of course, videos produced with the Zi8 can be quickly and easily be uploaded to YouTube or similar sites to share with the world. GREAT CAMERA, FEATURES, ACCESSORIES, & PRICE !!!

Ocean
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing Results
4/9/2011

Customer review by TheBaron

1.0 stars 4/9/2011 by TheBaron
by TheBaron

When I bought this camera, I expected great results because of the other reviews I read, the Kodakbrand name, and the comparisons I made with competitive products. I have been surprised at the lack of sharpness in both the pictures and videos that I have taken with this camera. The reviews led me to believe that the camera's weakness showed in low light situations only but that it was great in all other situations. Yet even in settings that were not truly low light ( I.e., inerior shot with daylight coming through the windows, indoor lighting) the pictures and videos come out grainy. The deceptive aspect of this is that the images seem fine when viewed on the camera itself but grainy and out of focus when viewed on a TV screen or computer. The camera is not performing as advertised. I have yet to be satisfied with either videos or pictures that I have taken with the camera. I feel as if the only way I can possibly get a good picture is to use a tripod every time. My mobile phone camera has taken better videos and pictures in the same conditions.

TheBaron
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very nic e little camcorder.
3/5/2010

Customer review by Crumpton

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Crumpton
by Crumpton

I have had the camcorder fro a little over 2 weeks and have published many videos on you tube. I like the fact that it will fit in my pocket and I dont have a big camcorder to tote around.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crumpton
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Fun Video Camera
11/28/2010

Customer review by garyr

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by garyr
by garyr

I had been hesitant to purchase a more traditional video camera because of their cost. But the Zi8 price and features made it attractive for a first-time user like myself. It certainly is easy to use. I was impressed with how long the battery lasts between charges. Of course, I had to purchase a flash card for adequate video record time. But I am sure that is true for any pocket camcorder. Other accessories like the remote control and extra batteries are inexpensive and worth getting. I also like the fact that is has a tripod mount because the image stabilization is not all that good. One of the other features the Zi8 has that most others don't have is an external mic jack. This is important because the internal mic is not all that good. An inexpensive wired PC mic goes a long way to improve sound quality. I let a friend's seven year old use it for a day and she said she wanted one almost as much as getting a cell phone!

garyr
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Great little camera
2/3/2010

Customer review by BenB

5.0 stars 2/3/2010 by BenB
by BenB

I've been using it for a few days now and I really like several of the features. Of note, the video is outstanding! Even in lower light conditions I consistently get good results. The external microphone feature is very handy to have, but be prepeared to experiment a bit with various types of microphones until you find one that works well. It all depends upon your recording situation. That the external mic jack exists on the camera is a great plus! It would have been great if it had come with a remote instead of it being an accessory. Of particular note, the integrated software works very well and is easy to use. I was able to get it installed and running on several computers in just a couple of minutes. I've not tried it on a Mac yet, but when I do I'll post a review for it. Replaceable battery is a great feature as well. Did I say the video quality is outstanding?! The camera is great for YouTube and Facebook and the software automatically integrates with either using your account to upload the edited video. All in all, I'm extremely satisfied with the camera.

BenB
San Marcos, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little movie camera
6/7/2011

Customer review by zr1jim

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by zr1jim
by zr1jim

It performs wonderfully for its main purpose, that of a little movie camera. Video resolution is superb, even at 720p and yes you can go to 1080p if you prefer. The image stabilizer workd great as well. I took movies while on the Loch Ness Monster at Bush Gardens recently. They appear professional. An uexpected surprise was the high quality of audio recorded. When watching a movie you created on a TV or computer everything works together beautifully. The single frame photo camera works ok, but there is no flash incorporated into the camera, therefore limits your usage when light is limited. When in review mode, the zoom mode does not work. This would be nice as most others camers have this feature and it is helpful to see what an exploided or cropped picture would look like or to assure every desired detail in proper focus. After having used this camera for a month and a half, I would buy it again. Jim

zr1jim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little camera
6/25/2010

Customer review by Bebita24

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Bebita24
by Bebita24

This HD camera is pretty good. The video quality is excellent; just what you'd expect HD video to look like. I also have a Flip video, not HD, but seems as if close up video is better on the Flip. You have to stand a lot further back from your subject to get the same close up video with the Kodak. I don't know why this is, but other than that, this camera is great. I also like the expandable memory the Flip does not have. I have a 9 month old baby girl and use it quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bebita24
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
7/27/2010

Customer review by DB50

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by DB50
by DB50

This a great portable. I have 2 other cameras the flip and the vado and this is hands down the best. The picture quality is very good for what it is and that is a portable. I like the zoom on this camera and the stabilization. I also use an external mic on it sometimes and it works great too. I bought my daughter the play sport and it too is a great camera. Only one complaint and that is the arcsoft editing software is really bad and even the upgrade is not good. it is very limited as to your choices for editing software that will work with this camera. Suprisingly Movie Maker on windows seven works well with every recording format that the zi8 offers. Hopefully there will be some better programs like Roxio or some others that are simple to use that will be able to work with the Kodak. the price is right so as new improvements come out every couple of years it wont be so expensive to upgrade

DB50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding small Videocam
4/23/2011

Customer review by starvinmarvin

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by starvinmarvin
by starvinmarvin

On/off button is on right edge near top. Press it briefly to turn on. Red button below screen makes it easy: press the red button once to begin recording; press it again to stop recording; rock/tilt the red button up towards the screen to zoom in; tilt the button down away from the screen to zoom out. Press the camera icon button/bar beside the red button to get choice of recording quality; tilt red button to the right or left to change recording quality; press red button to begin recording. Microphone quality is fine for interviews and narration, but not for sounds that are far away. Microphone jack accepts external stereo or mono mic. for specialized or superior recording. Fully charged battery lets you record for quite a while. Another great feature: when you plug the USB connector into a USB port on any computer for the first time the Zi8 turns itself on and installs video software to import/upload and edit your video and photos. That same software will open up whenever you want to upload new video or photos, and it will ignore anything you already uploaded before - very clever!

starvinmarvin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 268 total reviews
1-20 of 268 reviews