Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
20
3 stars
20
2 stars
12
1 stars
31
1-20 of 181 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
Venus Embrace 5ct cartridges
12/23/2011

Customer review by magrl3

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by magrl3
by magrl3

When i bought this item online, it states that it contains 5 cartridges, however this is the razor w/ blade plus 1 extra cartridge. I thought i was ordering 5 cartridges but nope. Oh well. The venus embrace really does work better than anything else i've previously used so i cant really complain. I wont buy any other brand now that i've tried this one. It's pretty awesome

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magrl3
Webster, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps getting better
7/14/2009

Customer review by Texastars

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by Texastars
by Texastars

I have used Venus razors ever since they came out. When Divine came out I switched to it, the ribbon of moister gave a much better shave than the regular Venus. When the Vibrance came out I tried it as well, but it seemed to give the same exact shave the Divine razor did and switched back pretty quickly. I also tried the Breeze for a short time. This razor only worked well the first few uses. I like to take baths and the shave gel bars would sometimes just come off - then the shave hurt from where the shave gel bars were attached even though the razors could still be used. So then I was back with my trusty Divine. THEN I used the Embrace. This razor - even when it is close to being tossed always gives me a great shave. I don't know how - but it never even irritates my bikini line either. It makes my legs shine even without lotion. Venus razors keep getting better and better! I can't wait to try what they come out with next!

Texastars
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would use no other
7/11/2012

Customer review by Swansoda

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Swansoda
by Swansoda

I bought this razor when it first came out and have never thought of using anything different. (I just wish the pink colored one was around when the blue/green one came out, but it's pointless to spend that amount of money on a new razor when the one I have is perfectly fine). But when I'm in a hurry to get a quick shave in the shower using my body wash instead of using my satin care shave cream, it does a good job. I tend to miss a couple hairs doing it that way, but then it shaves them off nice right after stepping out of the shower...and it does well in shaving the whole bikini area....and underarms are hard to shave, but it does a pretty good job there too, though I have to reapply the shave cream to be able to shave off the missed hairs, because it doesn't go over the wet underarm skin well without the shave cream. (And that's what my 4 stars on missed hairs is for, counting more than legs.

Swansoda
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
venus embrace shaver
3/2/2011

Customer review by ozzy1958

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by ozzy1958
by ozzy1958

The best venus shaver yet I love the embrace blade it easy on the legs and no nicking.But it works the best with the venus shaving gell.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ozzy1958
sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Use to be my favorite, not anymore.
3/11/2016

Customer review by iluvmychis

1.0 stars 3/11/2016 by iluvmychis
by iluvmychis

This used to be my absolute favorite razor but lately, the blades start rusting within the first 2-3 days. These are far too expensive for that. Will not buy again.

iluvmychis
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE - LOVE - LOVE
6/13/2013

Customer review by Sfshopper1976

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Sfshopper1976
by Sfshopper1976
Walmart associate

This item is amazing, love the moisture strip. Works well and blades are sharp. I use it to clean up my beard and think womens razors are def fare better than the males. One of the best razors I have tried this year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sfshopper1976
San Francisco,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Main Heading Description Misleading
4/10/2012

Customer review by tryingtosaveadime

2.0 stars 4/10/2012 by tryingtosaveadime
by tryingtosaveadime

The product is wonderful! However, advertising is misleading. "Gillett Venus, Cartridges, Embrace, 5 ct leads you to believe that you will be receiving 5 replacement cartridges. In fact, you receive 1 razor and 2 replacement cartridges. My mistake for not reading further in the product detail. We will still use the product. I will be very careful the next time I make an online purchase from Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tryingtosaveadime
Winston Salem NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works like a charm!
6/12/2013

Customer review by VDev

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by VDev
by VDev
Walmart associate

This is so smooth and works like a charm. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VDev
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
Depends
8/18/2011

Customer review by TheFemaleStig

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by TheFemaleStig
by TheFemaleStig

I just changed the blades and may I say I LOVE Venus Embrace. PROS: It's the closest shave I have ever experienced, it leaves my skin feeling silky & soft, it comes with two blades and is also pretty stylish! Worried about those annoying course hairs? I swear, it doesn't even leave a single trace of the slightest shadow! When I shave with a new blade-set-thing I can barely even tell it's shaving! Instead of scratching or squeaking over my skin it glides incredibly comfortably. Not only this but your skin stays soft, silky, and hairless much longer then using any other razor I have used. CONS: But sadly all good things must come to an end. After about a week or sometimes longer the blades will wear and leave you with missed hairs, not as close of a shave, and it definitely doesn't last as long. The moisture stays, but of course that doesn't help when your not getting a good shave. OVERALL: I still love the Venus Glide and always will! It is probably the best razor I have ever used in my shaving experience. The cons are difficult sometimes, but all you have to do is keep stocked up on the razor cartridges and your fine! I will totally keep using any razors made by Venus!! :)

TheFemaleStig
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it!!
1/28/2012

Customer review by bless

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by bless
by bless

So I have tried a lot of brands before I started using Venus. Gillette was always my all time fav. I used to use the disposibles till a friend advised me to use the refillables. I love their five blade system which gives a close shave. Shaving is never a hassle for me with this one. But the only thing that prevented me from giving them 5 stars is because their package mentions 2 cartridges. This is so misleading as it makes you think there is 3 in total. The razor comes without any, and no one will realize that untill they bought it. I didnt read the previous reviews earlier. Now I realize there are many like me who did get fooled. Other than that its a great product minus the price. Could you please reduce the pricing of the cartridges please? The margins are set too high.

bless
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
6/3/2015

Customer review by Jen38

1.0 stars 6/3/2015 by Jen38
by Jen38

I wanted to like this product but agree with so many other reviewers -- the five blades would likely work well if it weren't for the moisture ribbons. They are built up entirely too high and don't allow the blades to reach the skin properly! Also, depending on whether a particular area of skin is a little more dry or wet, the razor will either drag a bit and cause abrasions or else get too slimy and just slip around. I don't spend all this time and money shaving to end up with sore stubbly legs and underarms. Forget using this on my bikini area -- I don't trust this razor and it's going nowhere NEAR there! The little purple blade pop-out mechanism also keeps falling off. This is sadly going in the trash :(

Jen38
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Gel Dries out after one use
4/26/2013

Customer review by Alcy12

3.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Alcy12
by Alcy12

Okay I do love venus and have been using it for so very long but the embrace I've been using for a while and I gotta admit the ONLY thing I don't like about it that the moisture gel dries and becomes hard out after only one use. And it wouldn't bother me if this was like one or two times every maybe five or six blades because come on no product is completely perfect but this has happened for the last five blades in a row! I actually have to peel off the gel after the second shower because it hardens and interferes with my shaving! It's such a waste and if I wanted something like that I'd go back to the divine series. I really like the embrace except this detail. If this continues I'm going back to divine or I'm going to a different product.

Alcy12
London, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not my favorite venus
11/7/2009

Customer review by Merlask

3.0 stars 11/7/2009 by Merlask
by Merlask

I'm a big fan of venus razors. This one is my second least favorite among them, but I still give it an "average" rating because I find it superior still to other non-venus products. This may seem like a strange thing to write, but for me, the 5 blades is over kill...in particular in one situation: We all do it. At some point, we ladies will get lazy or busy or it's winter time or... whatever... and we'll skip a shave. No biggie, we'll hop back on the horse next shower, it's just a lil stubble right? Well if you miss so much as a day with this razor I find the blades clog up way too fast. I never had this problem with my other venus razors, and I got just as close of a shave on a normal day with them as this one. 3 blades is plenty.

Merlask
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy this product
7/20/2009

Customer review by Rebecca

1.0 stars 7/20/2009 by Rebecca
by Rebecca

Recently I purchased the Venus Embrace and since the first use, I have been extremely disappointed. There is not one thing I like about the product. From the first use to my most recent, I have been getting severe razor burn in my armpits. I changed the blade after the first use to see if that would help and it didn't. I have not changed soaps, detergents or deodorants...the only thing that I changed was going from the first Venus razor to the Venus Embrace. I never had this problem with the old Venus...I need to change back quickly, as I am in pain, I have discomfort and it is VERY embarrassing during beach season. I strongly recommend against purchasing this product...IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY.

Rebecca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product for Some
10/6/2014

Customer review by ericole

3.0 stars 10/6/2014 by ericole
by ericole

The embrace blade is "my perfect match" blade, however I am terrified to try another product. Not completely positive I've not already tried them considering I have tried most of the products by Venus. I am extremely particular about my shave. Hair on my legs irritate me to the point I always shave twice daily to ensure soft, smooth skin. When Venus first came out I was ecstatic. I kept trying but went back to man blades. Also, Gillette product. I have tried most blades on the market and I wish I could find a Venus product I could love. Have tried the refills and disposable blades as well. Suppose it just proves we are all different and what works for one doesn't for all.

ericole
Morristown, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
disappointed
4/13/2013

Customer review by Carol

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Carol
by Carol

I have been a very loyal Venus user for years. (since it first hit the market) However, I am forced to switch brands. I cannot count how many razors broke in the handle in the midst of shaving over the years. I kept buying because I am loyal and they do a great job when they are not broken. I have switched to a brand that the handle is enforced with metal. For the cost of Venus razors and blades it just should not ever happen. That is just $$ wasted! Shaving is not a job to be left half undone. I was so angered each time it happened but this was my last straw with this product. I have even recommended this product to others and now I have to go back on that recommendation.

Carol
Chillicothe, OH 45601, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Handle breaks every time
5/26/2013

Customer review by Robyn

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Robyn
by Robyn

I have been purchasing all of the refillable Venus razors for many many years and each time I purchase one within a month or two the handle breaks in the same exact spot where the plastic and rubber are. This is a definite defect in the razor as it happens every single time in the exact same place. I continue to buy these razors because I love the shave and I always have replacement blades left but I thought it was about time to contact Gillette about this defect as these are not inexpensive razors to purchase! I have written to Gillette as well to find out what they will do about this defect and hopefully they will compensate me somehow as well as correcting this defect!

Robyn
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
WOW!
12/22/2009

Customer review by Jenbabe3

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by Jenbabe3
by Jenbabe3

I am truely in LOVE with this razor. I have tried everything: shaving with all sorts of razors, even my husband's brand of razors. i tried waxing, and creams. I hated to shave until now. I actually bought this razor as a duo holiday set. it came with the Olay Lotion. I only wanted the lotion, but the razor was free, so I would give it a try. I shave my legs, bikini area and my arms. Four shaves later and still on the 1st razor. It is amazing! Plus I love the handle and the way the razor angles over your curves. Yes it is a little pricey, but if you add up all the money you spend on cheap razors and that you need three for one job, it is totally worth the price!

Jenbabe3
Huntington Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Razor ever Brought ! Super Close Shave !
10/9/2012

Customer review by GothicMonsterGirl

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by GothicMonsterGirl
by GothicMonsterGirl

i brought this razor Couple weeks ago it is best razor i ever spent on it gives close shave i ever had my face and legs and with no nicks or cuts it leaves your legs feel so silk like and no miss hair The Five Blade gives most close shave on your face and legs i can shave my legs go for about two weeks without have to shave them Again but i use it on my face everyday ! it works good too i recommend buy Satin care Razor gel too it best razor gel i ever use it is really nice razor is very easy clean no stuck hair in blades constantly and is very Safe for bikini area i use this razor all the time i would most like Buy other i recommend you Get this Razor Now !!!!

GothicMonsterGirl
MonsterWorld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the worst razor ever
8/28/2013

Customer review by Martina

1.0 stars 8/28/2013 by Martina
by Martina

with five blades you would think the razor would actually remove some hair. i have hair blonde hair that is thin and fine, thank goodness, because when I shave with this razor it is like giving my legs a buzz cut, suitable for the marines. I bought it as an upgrade to my old school sensor excel boy was that a big mistake I spend three times as long shaving my legs due to the need to repeat over and over---and try to remove shaving cream from the blader--and they still arent smooth when I come out of the shower. The blades are $ and the pack only came with two---its clear this product was designed to make women shave everyday and buy blades non-stop.

Martina
Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews