Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

awesome movies but
2/14/2010

Customer review by SLIPKNOT21

4.0 stars 2/14/2010 by SLIPKNOT21
by SLIPKNOT21

i love the lord of the rings movies and when i heard about them coming to blu-ray. i was soooo excited!! but then i heard that they were releasing the theatrical versions first and have to wait til 2012 for the extended versions. so any lotr fan out there save your money and wait till the extended versions come out

Was this review helpful? (88) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLIPKNOT21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Theatrical Release is well worth owning!
4/6/2010

Customer review by Hildeman

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by Hildeman
by Hildeman

There are certain films that we all should be very excited to see on Blu-ray. "The Wizard of Oz", "Citizen Kane", "Metropolis", "Casablanca", and "Star Wars" come to mind just to name a few. The Lord of the Rings trilogy is definitely on that list. Many are complaining because this release only features the theatrical editions, as though the theatrical editions are poor films. True, I would love to have the extended editions on blu, and we will eventually. However, that is a far cry from claiming that no one should purchase these. Remember that this series won 17 academy awards - all for the theatrical versions! If you are a film fan, a Tolkien fan, or a Blu-ray fan, you should buy this set of films. Let's stop all the hating on the theatrical cuts. Peace.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hildeman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally - LOTR on Blu-Ray
4/18/2010

Customer review by afwilliam

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by afwilliam
by afwilliam

My wife and I bought this set a week ago, and as total movie geeks, we were extremely impressed. As expected, picture quality was amazing. We saw so many details we missed in standard-definition viewings. As has been stated in other reviews, yes - these are the theatrical versions. But we're both huge fans of the series and of Blu-ray, so we couldn't pass up the opportunity to visit Middle-Earth in high-defintion. Also, the special features are very lacking, especially considering they're not in HD. Overall, this set is worth every penny. If you would rather wait for the extended versions, then wait. But if you're like us and want to experience the journey to Mt. Doom in high-def, I definitely recommend buying the theatrical version of Lord of the Rings on Blu-Ray.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
afwilliam
Mt. Pleasant, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Wait for extended
4/2/2010

Customer review by Icedragon1

3.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Icedragon1
by Icedragon1

LotR fans wait for the extended editions on Blu-ray and just rent these...they aren't worth paying for as theatrical only versions

Was this review helpful? (12) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Icedragon1
Would recommend to a friend? No
A great addition to my collection...
5/9/2010

Customer review by Sith4x4

4.0 stars 5/9/2010 by Sith4x4
by Sith4x4

I knew these blu's were the theatrical editions when I bought them, but no one forced me to get them and I will buy the extended editions when they come out on blu-ray. The movies themselves are great. To me the picture quality should blow you away on a blu-ray, but these don't really do that. All three discs are definite upgrades from the dvd's. The PQ on FOTR isn't quite as good as TTT or ROTK. The audio is spectacular. Great home theater experience. I don't regret buying these blu's at all and don't think of it as double dipping.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sith4x4
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Brilliant Picture
8/16/2010

Customer review by Pope95

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by Pope95
by Pope95

This is a great value with brilliant picture and sound. A must have for LOTR fans!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pope95
Columbus,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Not what i expected
4/20/2010

Customer review by vtt103

1.0 stars 4/20/2010 by vtt103
by vtt103

this is just the regular and not the extended verision i expected. there will be another release of this movie later or new year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vtt103
Would recommend to a friend? No
!!!! THEATRICAL VERSIONS !!!!
8/8/2010

Customer review by mrATOSS

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by mrATOSS
by mrATOSS

LISTEN UP PEOPLE THEASE ARE THE THEATRICAL VERSIONS IN BLUE RAY, ALL THREE MOVIES PLUS THE DIGITAL COPIES ARE IN THAIR !!!!!! THEATRICAL VERSION !!!!!!! THEASE ARE GOLDEN GEMS, ANEY ONE WHO LOVES THEASE MOVIES SHOULD BUY THEASE, WHILE YOU STILL CAN...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrATOSS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cant go wrong
6/15/2010

Customer review by ngsoldier19

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by ngsoldier19
by ngsoldier19

Blue ray makes everything that much better......plus if your like me and cant wait for the extended version then buy this.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ngsoldier19
east stroudsburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome!
5/3/2010

Customer review by JBACC

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by JBACC
by JBACC

It was a birthday present and was very happily received. Can't go wrong with the blue ray quality...great movie to boot.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBACC
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
5/3/2010

Customer review by wobbledy

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by wobbledy
by wobbledy

very beautiful on blue-ray

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wobbledy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
As Expected
5/5/2010

Customer review by kthxbai

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by kthxbai
by kthxbai

LOTR BD has a clear picture and really brings out some of the background scenery that is so prevalent in the saga. The BD version does not include the extended scenes like the LOTR Extended Editions. I own these as well and can say you aren't missing much. Overall a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kthxbai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Outstanding visuals, light on extras
5/17/2010

Customer review by Grumpy0ldGuy

4.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Grumpy0ldGuy
by Grumpy0ldGuy

The Lord of the Rings' breathtaking locations lend themselves to the BluRay experience. If you liked the movies, this is well worth the price. The missing star in my rating stems from the meager extras. While there are a few extras, there could have been much more. So... buy it for the BluRay version of the movie, but don't expect much else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grumpy0ldGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes