Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 63 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Asus VH242H
6/15/2010

Customer review by Smitty0507

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Smitty0507
by Smitty0507

Good monitor, great value. Only complaints are that the built in speakers are really not great and the stand seems a little flimsy. As with any monitor make sure that you stress test it by leaving it on for the first 48 hours that you have it. If nothing breaks you can be assured that you have a pretty good product that will last awhile under normal usage; if something does break, well it's still under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smitty0507
Destin, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice and Bright
5/11/2010

Customer review by dirac

4.0 stars 5/11/2010 by dirac
by dirac

Very nice monitor. Sharp and clear, negligible shipping costs ($0.97). Thinking of buying anohter one for work to replace two 19in 4:3's LCD's.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dirac
Bloomington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The tricks of the trade?
10/8/2010

Customer review by laddieboi

3.0 stars 10/8/2010 by laddieboi
by laddieboi

Simply put- I used this monitor to get the full HDMI-quality for my X-Box 360 Elite. The monitor I was using, a Dell 24-inch LCD with 1980x1080 resolution but only a DVI/VGA setup, I placed with my CPU, which had a 20" inch Samsung. Needless to say, upon opening the box, I thought I was shipped the wrong Asus monitor. Now I know what "class" means. I think it's a bit tricky. It really IS quite noticeable how much an inch can make with these manufacturers. With the Dell, I got what was advertised. THIS monitor is a 23.6 inch, not a true 24" like my Dell. It does have the full 16:9, HD, 1080p performance. It DOES have a striking picture. However, using the HDMI port, I was shocked at how low the volume was- even with a headset- making the speakers essentially useless, as well as the headset!!! Fortunately, my X-Box Elite came to the rescue- a 1:2 audio-out adapter I placed in the headphone jack, and ran RCA cables to my stereo, where I now have astounding audio. But, because the pricing was so low- for a true HD experience- Asus produced a nice product. But had I known the picture differential with the Dell, I would have got a 25.5 Asus as advertised by Wal-mart instead. Then I would have had a true 24" experience. Shipping, even through severe weather- took one day, as usual- Wal-mart is superior in this regard. Please learn the tricks of the trade before buying the new 'classes' of monitors. Things are NOT always as they seem.

Was this review helpful? (25) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laddieboi
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Stuff
6/2/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this is an amazing monitor have had no issues beautiful quality and great price will buy more!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Forked River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/13/2012

Customer review by RJV2

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by RJV2
by RJV2

Very good monitor at a great price. Great for weatching movies and videos online. Built in speakers could be of a little better quality but over all very happy with ASUS product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJV2
Cape Coral FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't be beat for the price
7/10/2010

Customer review by BoarderX

4.0 stars 7/10/2010 by BoarderX
by BoarderX

This screen is a great value for the price. It's not the highest quality monitor you will find though. The buttons are a little flimsy, and the color adjustments are difficult to use at times. Other than that, its a great size for a great price, I would definitely reccommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoarderX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good value
7/25/2010

Customer review by RetiredUSAF6866

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by RetiredUSAF6866
by RetiredUSAF6866

This has turned out to be a very good 24" monitor for the price. I only use my system for gaming and I'm not a technophile, and so far I have no complaints. Set up was a snap and the to-my-door delivery was extremely fast.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredUSAF6866
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
8/5/2010

Customer review by Chirag98

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Chirag98
by Chirag98

Pros: Great monitor! It has amazing quality, VGA, DVI AND HDMI ports, as well as an audio out port for headphones! I love it and am treating it like my baby. The blacks actually look black and the contrast is great. Don't get fooled by the lower contrast ratio, it's much better than my previous 21" Acer widescreen. It even comes with a built in speaker! Cons: None really.. Except I kinda wish the speakers were louder. Not really complaining though since I usually have headphones in anyways. Side note: I can't really complain but I wish there was a way to adjust the height of the monitor. I may just be getting a little greedy for the price, though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chirag98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
7/12/2010

Customer review by MinnTechGeek

2.0 stars 7/12/2010 by MinnTechGeek
by MinnTechGeek

Problem #1 was my own fault. I mis-read the resolution as 1920x1200 but it was only 1920x1080. Problem #2: It is much harder to read anything on it compared to my previous 22" monitor (A Synaps that I also bought at WalMart) Problem #3: When the screen blanks due to the screen saver turning on, about 10% of the time the screen won't show anything when I press a key or move the mouse. I didn't have this problem with any of my previous monitors on the same PC. I've turned off the screen saver to avoid this, but I don't like that I now have to worry about screen burn-in and a shorter monitor life. Problem #4: Unless you are looking at the monitor directly from the front (not slightly from the side or below) small text will be nearly impossible to read (again, compared to my previous monitor hooked up to the same PC). So you definitely don't want to use this as a second monitor off to the side.

Was this review helpful? (10) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MinnTechGeek
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GET THIS YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!
7/10/2011

Customer review by Austin999

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Austin999
by Austin999

I use the monitor for gaming, movies, normal stuff, etc... I use it everyday for about 12 hours and the picture is just astounding After buying a cheepo monitor with a serious backlight bleeding problem then switching to my tv then to this I know I will be getting another. The monitor when set to its certain mode matching whatever your doing makes a huge difference over the already great image. For example playing bfbc2 looks better set to gaming mode than movie or general. If your still pondering over that 30" in your other tab take a chance and trust me 24' is plenty big anything bigger is what you would call a TV!!! I have a friend that uses his 50 inch sony in his living room and he prefers using my computer now over his. Dont think, just buy this!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Austin999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Asus rules!
8/10/2010

Customer review by millhouse

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by millhouse
by millhouse

At first I thought I would take a chance on a brand I knew nothing about because the price was too good to pass up. Come to find out Asus has been around for quite a while. This moniter is awesome. I like it so much I am planning to use an Asus motherboard, DVD burner and Video card in my first Gaming computer build. Thanks for the great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
millhouse
Abilene, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal
8/14/2010

Customer review by Bluestar22

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by Bluestar22
by Bluestar22

Very nice monitor for the price! Easy set up, all cables included. sharp detail, easy to read text and pictures are very clear. I belong to Netflix and this screen is wide enough and big enough to watch movies on in comfort. Delivery was quick and only cost 97 cents! Very happy with the first one so I bought a second one for my other computer. Good deal!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bluestar22
Glens Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Computer Monitor
8/14/2010

Customer review by retiredcomputernut

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by retiredcomputernut
by retiredcomputernut

I am very well pleased with my 24 inch ASUS computer monitor. It has a great picture and the installation and adjustments are easy. It is a good bang for the buck. Walmart was great to deal with online. They shipped my product a head of schedule.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredcomputernut
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SHIPPED APO
8/20/2011

Customer review by Chooch79

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Chooch79
by Chooch79

Cheaper than Amazon and Newegg after APO shipping charges!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chooch79
APO, AP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Monitor
7/10/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great monitor for the price. Only drawback is that the shiny surface does attract some extra dust.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Simply Gorgeous
7/10/2010

Customer review by CartPusherDoug

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by CartPusherDoug
by CartPusherDoug

I just cannot get over how beautiful this monitor is. The color, brightness, contrast, and tint are astounding. I do not get any "light bleed" from any of the sides or corners, and the clarity is unreal. I have not tried the VGA or DVI ports, only HDMI. I ran a 12 foot HDMI cable from the ATI video card in my tower to the back of this baby, and fired it up. Once the settings were all tweaked, I was truly amazed. The only minor annoyance i've had with this monitor was setting my resolution to 1920x1080 (true HD 1080p) I was getting a black box all the way around my window. The aspect ratio was correct, and I fought for about a half hour to get this black box to go away. Lo and Behold, it did not have anything to do with my monitor, it was the "overscaling" with the video card properties. Once that was resolved, HD movies, games, even websites have never been so clear. I have been a fan of Asus hardware for years, but the main things i have purchased were motherboards and optical drives. This is my first Asus monitor purchase, and I would like to say that i am VERY happy! Recommend to Everyone!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CartPusherDoug
New Martinsville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great deal for the money.
7/13/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this for home because I have a different model 24" Asus monitor at work. I love the color, crisp images, and contrast of the one at work. I am equally impressed with this one. One of the best priced 24" LCD's and you are not losing out on quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so happy
7/13/2010

Customer review by laurlea

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by laurlea
by laurlea

I hooked it right up and was able to use it right away. I haven't even used the disc it came with to see what's on it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laurlea
Missoula, MT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best performances/value if you get it from Walmart
7/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

True bright colors. 23.6" screen = huge. Clear sharp image. many kinds of setting available for you/suit you. cool and beautiful design with high gloss finish. can be rotate and adjust easily the angle of the screen to suit your taste. it is a Really Phenomenal LCD monitor for that cheap price. Super great quality...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Butte, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent display @ a great price
6/27/2010

Customer review by bacccc

5.0 stars 6/27/2010 by bacccc
by bacccc

For less than $190 delivered to your door - this monitor cannot be beat. Great bright monitor with sharp and crisp colors!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bacccc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews