Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

167 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

167 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
64
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
9
1-20 of 136 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Good, but not great.
4/21/2012

Customer review by Kaczie

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by Kaczie
by Kaczie

I needed a small bookcase to go next to my bed that wasn't too deep. This one fit the bill! It's the perfect size and is affordable, however, I was disappointed that the laminate flakes off quite easily. The shelves look great but the side panels have the particle board showing along the edges. Overall though it was worth the price and I am decently happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaczie
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great pricing on a great bookshelf
4/3/2012

Customer review by sunmoonstars67

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by sunmoonstars67
by sunmoonstars67

I ordered 2 of these when doing a room makeover. The price did make me wonder if the quality would be there, and it was. Takes about 30 minutes to do each bookshelf. I am very pleased with my purchase! As you can see I put quite a lot of stuff on each shelf and they are working out great :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunmoonstars67
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Item at a Great Price!
7/3/2011

Customer review by Keshia368

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Keshia368
by Keshia368

Despite the fact that my first purchase of this item was somehow lost in transit and had to be refunded, this item immediately became available again within 1 week. After picking the item up from the store (the longest part of the entire process), I was able to get the bookcase together in less than 30 minutes - not bad for someone who can rarely get the most simple furnishings together:) I am so loving this item!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keshia368
Atlanta,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bookcase for the money.
1/10/2012

Customer review by MikelasMom

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by MikelasMom
by MikelasMom

I was hesitant about getting this because I believe you get what you pay for. This bookcase was a pleasant surprise. It only takes about 30 minutes to put together and the instructions are simple. We bought this to hold our kids movies, books and games and it's a nice addition beside our other black Better Homes bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikelasMom
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy to assemble
1/1/2012

Customer review by kgann

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by kgann
by kgann

purchased this to fill space in an office, it was very easy to put together and it looks nice. it has plenty of room

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kgann
Springfield,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poorly made and many parts damaged or missing
6/28/2011

Customer review by Tarya

2.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Tarya
by Tarya

For $25 each I guess I shouldn't have expected swedish quality. I ordered four of these. Many of the pieces arrived dinged up with the particleboard showing through to the front. While assembly was fairly easy, the main set of bolts were very cheap and stripped easily. The boxes do not come with an allen key as they state they will, and trying to use a standard screw driver often resulted in stripped screws, because the holes often didn't line up between sides and top or bottom. With that said, assembly was quick - it took me about 15 minutes per bookshelf to get it together (though using my own screwdriver and my own nails). Most of the four different bookshelves I got did not come with the finishing nails required to secure the back to the frame. Poor quality. I had to take a sharpy to them to hide the imperfections. They will do their job fine for the next few years but I don't expect these to survive a move from this home to our next one, the way our Swedish made ones have done for 8 years.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tarya
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's made out of FLAKE-a.k.a. Fallaparticle board
1/26/2012

Customer review by ng0078

2.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ng0078
by ng0078

It's looks good when it's finished (if you don't stand too close!) Remember to buy a black marker to touchup the spots where the flake has flaked apart. Also the back panel is a piece of cardboard that you need to nail onto the back of the bookcase. You must keep in mind that you only paid $25 for it and "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" Other people may tell you it looks good. But I can't get over being annoyed at the condition of the materials they give you to start with. Also I bought an electric screwdriver because I had trouble screwing it together. When I used the electric screwdriver, the screws went in a little better, but still not all the way. I went to Lowe's and bought a set of both big and little screwdrivers and then I had to dig into the wood deeper because the holes that they drilled in the factory had not been deep enough! Finally I had the darned thing completed! I put books inside and it serves its' purpose. I had somehow almost forgotten the aggravation factor involved until Walmart asked me for this review!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ng0078
Would recommend to a friend? No
serves its purpose
6/1/2010

Customer review by ilovefreedelivery

3.0 stars 6/1/2010 by ilovefreedelivery
by ilovefreedelivery

I was looking for a bookcase with at least 4 shelves that wasn't more than 2' wide -- couldn't pass up this price. The quality isn't great (I hear my mother saying "you get what you pay for") but if you're in the market for a small shelf not meant to hold a lot of weight, this will suffice. I do notice it rocks a little more than I'd like on the carpeted floor but up against a wall it's sturdy enough.

Was this review helpful? (52) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovefreedelivery
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Excellent for the price
4/28/2011

Customer review by wondersandy

4.0 stars 4/28/2011 by wondersandy
by wondersandy

It might be smaller than it looks in the picture. But its nice and sturdy. Meets my expectations. Can easily tolerate heavy books on all shelves.

Was this review helpful? (87) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wondersandy
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Missing Parts, Low Quality & Damaged
1/27/2011

Customer review by skullgame

1.0 stars 1/27/2011 by skullgame
by skullgame

Received this after waiting about a week & a half to 2 weeks for it to arrive, & when I opened the package it had absolutely zero hardware (no screws, no nails, no allen wrench, etc). To top it off, the shelves had scratches & pits all over, & the veneer over the MDF was put on very badly, so it was hanging off one side & didn't cover all of the other side. The drill holes broke through the sides of the bookshelf as well, so it looked like it had already seen better days before it was even used. VERY LOW QUALITY product. I would normally say you get what you pay for, but in this instance you get WAY less. Ironically, the booklet says that it is "carefully inspected for quality assurance". If this is the case, I'd hate to see what products look like that escape this quality assurance step.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skullgame
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not bad!
10/6/2011

Customer review by ktctmom

4.0 stars 10/6/2011 by ktctmom
by ktctmom

After reading a lot of the reviews.. i was skeptical. We wanted 2 bookshelves in a new playroom for our 3 kids. We had TONS of books and i wanted the top shelves to be "mine". I knew that they would be smaller than their appearance online.. and they are. but they are the perfect height. I dont fear the kids would try to climb them or that they would fall on them. The bottom 3 rows fit all the books and i have enough room on top for my stuff. Yes.. the wood isnt perfect. The bottom of the shelves are not painted black. And i will definately have to go over some spots with a sharpie. But online, i see other shelves going for 60+ dollars. For 25 dollars, it was perfect! Took only 20 minutes to put one together!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ktctmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
decent shelf at a decent price
12/2/2010

Customer review by tempocontour

4.0 stars 12/2/2010 by tempocontour
by tempocontour

Bought 2 book case to put on top of my dresser. Bought from Walmart online and had it delivered to the store for free. Product were well protected with extra packaging. Store bought shelfs were less protected and prone to be damaged. Very easy to put together and not heavy. They are made of engineered wood, not solid wood. The 2 sides are covered in black wood veneer. The shelfs are veneer covered at the top and front but not the bottom. Top, middle and bottom shelfs are screwed permanent, 2 others are not. Since the wood is covered in veneer, you must be careful to not bump it against anything or it would damage the veneer and engineered wood underneath. The back is made of thick black construction paper. The back does not cover the whole length of the book case, short by 4 inches because front of shelf have a 4 inch wide toe board which I did not install. Not bad for the price but get what you pay. Not recommended for medium to high end office or high use/abuse situations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tempocontour
Boston, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Epic Buy!!!
5/20/2011

Customer review by LyghtFox

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by LyghtFox
by LyghtFox
Walmart associate

I actually bought this as a DVD shelf and it works great!! fits well over 200 DVDs. as for books, use for like manga or small books, the shelves arent tall enough to fit a lot of txt books, unless you were to take out a shelf.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LyghtFox
Sedgwick, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Very Nice for the Price!
6/1/2010

Customer review by Rowelak

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Rowelak
by Rowelak

I actually bought two of these shelves, and have them in my living room. They are great for the price! Easy to assemble and look great for what I am using them for. They are mainly holding knick nacks and photographs! Would buy them again!

Was this review helpful? (86) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rowelak
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/24/2011

Customer review by yankee

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by yankee
by yankee

I got the bookshelf in black. It looks sharp! I read the reviews and I do agree that it takes approx. 30 min. to put together. But it is not difficult to put together, it just takes time. It is sturdy and holds all the books that you would like to put on the bookshelf. I found out that it is cheaper to buy this online than in the store.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yankee
midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Missing panels - on three separate boxes
1/2/2016

Customer review by Eric

1.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Eric
by Eric

Great price? It's relative depending upon what you're actually getting in the box. I ordered three (3) bookcases and EACH one was missing the panel marked "4". Really, guys?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eric
Would recommend to a friend? No
Functional and Affordable
6/8/2011

Customer review by essdotdot

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by essdotdot
by essdotdot

Smaller than I was expecting, but came in excellent condition. After my husband put it together we filled it right up with heavy books and knick-knacks. Sturdy, even on carpet. Looks great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
essdotdot
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly as advertised
5/2/2011

Customer review by pulseman

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by pulseman
by pulseman

The product was exactly what I expected it to be when I bought it. The only negative thing that I can say about this product is that the special allen wrench that was supposed to come in the package was not there. This wasn't a big deal though because a screw driver worked fine (probably even better than the missing tool). The back cover comes folded in thirds, but it pretty much straightens up when you nail it to the bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pulseman
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great item for the price!
7/10/2011

Customer review by kt84

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by kt84
by kt84

Great bookshelf. Box is fairly heavy - bring someone with you to help carry it if you can (unless you're super-strong). Looks great, holds up well, exactly what I was looking for. Only complaint is that one of the side panels had both edges unfinished (rather than one painted black), so I have to touch it up with a Sharpie. Not a big deal - seriously, it's a $25 bookshelf, and it's definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kt84
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Defective
5/30/2010

Customer review by bratibeka

3.0 stars 5/30/2010 by bratibeka
by bratibeka

Product came in poor appearance. Cracks in the black finish.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bratibeka
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews