Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
573
4 stars
354
3 stars
84
2 stars
32
1 stars
38
1-20 of 1036 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1036 total reviews
1-20 of 1036 reviews
Got it for school
3/4/2011

Customer review by winsomewomanhd

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by winsomewomanhd
by winsomewomanhd

Laptop was given to me at Christmas. I am now back at college after 30 years. I have had several computers over the years new, and old. Never have I had one where MS Word was not included. I live out of town and going back to school could afford Internet right away. Imagine my frustration when after working 3 days on a thesis paper I was no longer able to access it in any way in ANY way. I was aware that it was threatening me with 'limited' use of the program that was No use and I could not believe it. I had a lovely laptop given to me by my very elderly mother, aunt and uncle for school and What value was it???? They where embarrassed and I was quite unhappy! Other than that.. The battery is a nuisance and certainly not a selling point! I like the sleek look it is easy to work with. The Toshiba "Cards" and some of the things it does come with are strange. All in all for the money I am happy with it. I use it for hours a day some times it slows down a bit but always recovers Windows 7 is what makes it all work.

winsomewomanhd
vancouver,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product!
7/19/2010

Customer review by Tree

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by Tree
by Tree

I am pleased with my new lap top. I took 3-4 years researching brands and prices of laptops. I finally decided on this laptop because it was the right price for what I need it. I did think it had a camera because that was one of my requirements, but forgot to check in the specifications on this one before I purchased. So I'm disappointed in that because communicating with my relatives out of the area is a priority. The only thing I didn't learn in my research was the software I would need like privacy protection and warranty protection, in case it gets broken, or crashes etc. I don't have that additional money right now, and therefore wouldn't have purchased it at this time. Those things are very important - vital even! So think about factoring those things in when you purchase. I just hope the reputation that Toshiba has is true and I won't have to worry about a crash. I will have to purchase Spy ware or Nortell for privacy protection. Thank you.

Tree
Prince George's County, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Laptop
4/2/2010

Customer review by Donna

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Donna
by Donna

I'm a self-taught computer user, meaning that I've pretty much learned a PC on my own, but I have learned other valuable info at work and by just experimenting here at home. This is my first experience using a laptop. I bought it because of Toshiba's reputation. But I don't like the way the cursor scoots around the screen without being manipulated by my using the mouse. Also, I would have preferred having Windows XP, that is on my desktop computer, which I'm using. I'm probably just used to XP, but I do try to get used to Windows 7. The way I have to close out a window is kind of spooky - sometimes when I just place the cursor over the "X" and don't click on it immediately, the window closes without my having to click on it. (Sometimes I change my mind about closing the window, but NO, I'm not fast enough.) There are a couple of other things that I can't recall right off-hand, but you do have a very nice product, and I might buy another one.

Donna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my Laptop
2/14/2010

Customer review by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL
by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL

My husband got me this for Chrismas after getting me a very expensve laptop that did not work after 2 days. So we exchanged it for the same on and after 2 hours it didn't work. I went with him and we picked this one. It is made better, thicker, and all out tough! I droped this once from thetable when my baby girl grabed me one day and IT is still working with NO issues!! I love the easy to see screen, and It works well for work, persoal or just play. I tell everyone I see out looking to get this or another Toshiba. My dad has one of the very first Toshibas ever made, yes its abit slow now but still works well and i hooked to my ethernet! My friends or children use that when they need to borrow the Net =) When I out grow this Meaning when its old and my oldest child is ready for one she will get this one ANd I will be buying only TOSHIBA!! I just love this lap top, I just wish it were all silver or they had all black. That is my only complaint! LOVE THIS LAPTOP WONDERFUL PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET!! WOULD PAY MORE FOR IT IF I HAD TOO!!

mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL
Belle Vernon, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nifty laptop!
7/9/2010

Customer review by phall0106

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by phall0106
by phall0106

I needed a laptop to surf the web, watch online movies and DVDs and do some word processing, so I wanted a machine that could move through web pages pretty quickly, would load movies and videos pretty fast and could open and close windows and Word docs at a reasonable speed. I also wanted something with a screen large enough I wouldn't have to squint to see stuff. This laptop does all of that. The movement from one window to the next is very smooth, the visual of whatever is on the screen is crisp and colorful and of good quality. I haven't watched any videos yet, but websites load very quickly and are easy to track. The sound quality on this has been fine--no complaints there (but I also don't blast my volume). The only thing is that the battery doesn't last as long as the icon says, but it easily got me about two hours on one charge. I love this laptop and would highly recommend it to anyone else. I would also purchase it again.

phall0106
Manchester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satellite L455D-S5976 Laptop
11/12/2010

Customer review by Iggy

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by Iggy
by Iggy

so far, its been an easy to use right out of the box laptop. User interface is real friendly and first time setup is even easier. it does a minor issue with minor Microsoft updates and some kinds of anti-virus programs such as AVG and Nortons. The laptop does have a small issue with being on for several hours on the ac adapter, being shut down and then being restarted. it has had a tendency to want to boot into full scan disk as if it had a problem. its a minor inconvenience but nice to see that if win 7 detects a problem, it can self fix without no user actions required. Battery life decent but it could be a little closer to what is stated. So far i have managed to only get about 1 1/2 to 2 hours on the battery as compared to the 3 1/2 stated. I'm also just a little concerned that if you have a major problem and you need to restart the laptop from out of box new, there are no system discs provided although you have the option to create them if you are computer savvy enough to know where to look. Otherwise, its a excellent starter laptop for anyone who is new to using a laptop.

Iggy
Mount Vernon, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW
3/29/2010

Customer review by Cisco tech

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by Cisco tech
by Cisco tech

This is a great laptop. It has a screen bigger than others and alot of typing space. Although it doesnt have a webcam or mic built in its fairl easy to find 1. If your buying a laptop for musical purposes I wouldnt recommend this because it has a poor sound card transfer. This laptop gets maybe 2 hours and 30 minutes of battery life. The olny problem i have had with this laptop is i have a dead pixi its not a big deal but it is unfixible and quite annoying, also internet explorer 8 has had trouble with opening facebook, but thats a ie problem not toshiba. This laptop is fairly skinny, and has 3 usb ports. But it has 3 vents and starts VERY COLD. In my 3 days of using this computer it has never gotten hot. It comes starderd with windows 7 which is great, and runs smooth. It is also durable hard to scratch and is littterrally prone to fingerprint except the screen but thats with every screen. The screen doesnt scratch at all but does shoe fingerprints. The wifi pick p and set up is great and it almost doulbles your coverage. I like this computer, and recomind it to students and teachers.

Cisco tech
conyers, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good computer overall.
8/17/2011

Customer review by <NickName>

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by <NickName>
by <NickName>

I got this computer about 3 to 4 years ago, I am currently 15 years of age, and I must say this is a good computer overall. The only problems I would have to say is about 45-60 minutes of batery life. So I keep it plugged in all the time no big deal for me. And if it is unpluged my wirelss connection will time out every five minutes or so. Performance wise is good, but I do 3D modeling and Texturing and this isn't the computer for doing that kind of stuff. So now I'm going to upgrade it with more RAM and maybe put a new Processor in it to make it faster and smoother when running bigger programs that I use. So overall if you don't use big programs like I do for 3D modeling and Texturing, and only mainly for watching videos (no big internet ones, downloaded ones) listening to music, surfing the web, and don't mind leaving your laptop plugged in all the time this laptop is for you.

<NickName>
Gillette, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst laptop I've ever had
3/17/2011

Customer review by usmc

1.0 stars 3/17/2011 by usmc
by usmc

I bought this laptop for my son who is a Marine in Afghanstain. I mailed it over there and when he opened it out of the box there were some keys missing and the box on back was busted but he had no choice but to use it like it was because that was only way he had to communicate with his son and it takes so long to mail it back to me then i mail to toshiba and so on but after a month of use it shut down saying boot manger missing go tit today got call toshiba for repair tomorrow and hes so upset hes setting in Afghanstan with noway to communicate with his son and want have till i send this off to get fixed and then mail to him it will probally takes couple months to get all done wish I had laptop to go ahead and mail to him I am so upset with toshiba my son sitting over there fighting for us and now have noway to communicate with his family especially his 2 year old

usmc
Kelso, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the price!
10/1/2010

Customer review by klham

4.0 stars 10/1/2010 by klham
by klham

I did some online research and looked at customer reviews before I made my purchase. I wanted a Toshiba because they are currently a leader in this genre. The only drawback was with the Norton Internet Security program that was pre-installed. When I set it up and had to reboot the laptop, I couldn't access my wireless network because of a program glitch. If you want Norton, download it from the website instead of messing with the pre-installed; you'll need tech support in order to disable it. Other than that minor inconvenience, it works great. Until this purchase, I was an exclusive desktop user, so getting used to using a laptop would have been a challenge no matter which one I purchased. But the transition was easy. I like the keyboard because the keys function similarly to a desktop keyboard. The only thing that's missing is the number pad, which I don't miss.

klham
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inadequate.
7/9/2012

Customer review by Oscillator

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Oscillator
by Oscillator

I've owned this laptop for a year and a half now and it hasn't crapped out on me or ever stopped working. That said, it's hard to say this thing ever really worked to begin with. I can't think of a single spec on this laptop that I genuinely like. The internal speakers are average, there is no internal camera nor internal microphone, the graphics card is bad and it has insufficient RAM for someone like me. I can't listen to music on an internet browser while actually browsing through different pages without terrible lag. The computer can't even handle watching videos in 1080p, nor can it handle having several tabs open at once unlike any of my previous laptops. I think this would be a good computer to give you your son or daughter as a beginner laptop. If you're as tech savvy as I am, then I definitely do not recommend this.

Oscillator
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Laptop
1/30/2010

Customer review by Bulldog

4.0 stars 1/30/2010 by Bulldog
by Bulldog

I really do like the Laptop for a computer. However, when I went to use it in the car to play a movie on it the sound was horrible. The laptop was purchased December 27 or 28 of 2009 and so I took it back to exchange it and they told me even though I had not had the item for 30 days I would have to send it back to you. It sounds like the speakers are blown and I cannot find a way to adjust them. The store where it was purchased does not have any on display where you can here the sound when purchasing and had I of known it would sound the way it does I more than likely would never have bought it. I bought it for the DVD Player, for Work projects and for Travel. I also purchased it because of the way this model looks. Its appearance is really what sold it to me. Would I recommend it to someone else? That I do not believe I would unless I told them to listen to the sound on it first to make sure it is what they wanted. Is there anything you can do to help me with my problem? If they all sound the way mine does then NO I would not recommend it to anyone. I would tell them not to buy anything like this before listening to it first. HELP ME IF YOU CAN!

Bulldog
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
what were you thinking ?
5/31/2010

Customer review by George

4.0 stars 5/31/2010 by George
by George

little short on RAM but you get what you pay for. the hinge design forced you to place various connections all around the computer, left right and front... the headphone and mic jack are in front of touch-pad making the touch-pad hard to use when using headphones/mic, not to mention the laptop was designed for right handed person. Cords coming out the right for power plus cords coming out front for headphones/mic plus network connection on left make for a very messy setup with cords going every direction. I love windows 7 but i can't give Toshiba any credit for that, unless y'all get serious about ergonomics and making required connections less obtrusive i will be looking to different manufacturer next time. the hinge design on the L455D is neat bit it sacrificed more important features.

George
Enterprise, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Laptop
2/29/2012

Customer review by Kay

3.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Kay
by Kay

My dad bought this laptop in '09 and it does pretty good for the price. However, if you're looking for a great gaming laptop, this probably isn't the right one for you. It couldn't run most of my games without major lag spikes that went down to nearly 5 fps or less. It even went extremely bad on Minecraft, which I had thought would work on most laptops. However, when the lag is gone, it can run games at a great amount of fps. So the lag is not constant. The laptop also freezes up frequently and crashes once in a while. It will freeze, then stop responding for over 30 minutes until you're left with no other choice but the take out the battery and restart it. It also overheats a lot and made my room feel like an oven. I eventually got a cooler and the overheating problem was fixed. Next, though, the charger died randomly one day. I then got a new charger for a small price and it worked fine. Overall, this laptop has worked well enough to help me carry on with my school work and such. It's definitely not good for gaming, but I am not a heavy gamer so it isn't a major problem. It is a good laptop, but I've seen better. It starts getting the major problems at least a year after buying it.

Kay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toshiba Time Now
10/27/2010

Customer review by CoolGramma

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by CoolGramma
by CoolGramma

I've had a Toshiba before and it was great. Someone messed up their repair of it - I think he spilled something on it by mistake and it was "Bye-bye" Toshiba, but I'm back for more! It's a good, tight computer and doesn't feel as if it's going to fall apart if you type on it a bit too quickly. I love all the features on it - there are plenty that I haven't even gotten to yet. I use it for home and school where I teach students with learning disabilities how to use computers - most especially Word and Excel. It's a great "machine" for that because it goes so much, Much, MUCH faster than the school computers. That's why I've been taking in a computer to school for 9 years - they just got me my own desktop - brand new - but it doesn't beat my Toshiba!

CoolGramma
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent laptop for the price
6/22/2010

Customer review by AT

3.0 stars 6/22/2010 by AT
by AT

I've had a Toshiba laptop in the past; while about 8 years ago, I hope that the quality has changed. In that circumstance the MoBo faulted twice, once for the ethernet port and another for the power adaptor connection - each required a full MoBo replacement. The price is great for this model, I only plan on using it for media in the entertainment room. The screen isn't huge, but that doesn't matter when I output media to the 50 inch LCD TV. One drawback I noticed was sound quality via USB. I had static in the output, and I had to reduce the sound output quality to "FM" as opposed to the default "CD." This isn't a big deal, I haven't noticed the issue with DVDs or other media, only through USB output. As with any laptop not purchased with software options, it comes with a lot of what I consider useless applications. Took a while to clean it up to my specs. Also consider the MS Office apps are all trial versions, hope you have your own copies. Again, decent comp for the price, and I was in need of one quickly as my other laptop died on me. This is still a fairly good upgrade to a laptop that was about 4 years old. Not sure how I recommend it for quality gaming, as I have a desktop rig for that reason. Good luck with your purchase options.

AT
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok for the price
9/7/2011

Customer review by Dave

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Dave
by Dave

For the price it's pretty good deal. Great for school work, web browing, office apps, burning cds and low quality youtube videos. As far as video and gaming go it's not that great but the ATI graphics helps a lot compared to intel based, battery life is only about 2hrs. The sempron CPU gave me bluescreens after a year and was the bottle neck of them system so I upgraded to a turion, after the upgrade it can run 1080 video smooth, gaming performance on older stuff like half life 2, dirt 2, portal 2 is decent now, ram, video and even drive speed picked up decent on experience index. My next laptop will probably be a much more expensive HP gaming laptop since I think they have solved the heat issue in their new laptops.

Dave
Staunton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Laptop
10/5/2010

Customer review by Glenn

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Glenn
by Glenn

This laptop is excellent for the money. I do not play games but surf extensively. The only thing I have found is that there is a delay in the letters appearing on the screen when typing. Sometimes I have to retype things. I talked to computer repair guys for which laptop they recommend. They all recommended Toshiba. So I bought two for my kids in college. The laptops lasted all four years (through parties and dormatories) and they are still using them. Being a Reliability Electrical Engineer that was good enough for me. When I retired last month and needed a laptop, to travel and work consulting on the road, I wanted a rugged enough computer to carry with me everywhere. I knew that this Toshiba would do it.

Glenn
Hazlehurs, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eh, about this Laptop
7/25/2011

Customer review by bababrandon

2.0 stars 7/25/2011 by bababrandon
by bababrandon

Im only 16 years old, and ive had three laptops, this laptop is the worst one. I really enjoy how crisp the screen is, battery life is 45 minutes when i use internet, its very poor. Also, my disk drive (idk if thats what its called the place you put disks in) stopped working, it says, not enough memory to read disk, or error everytime, i barely even use this laptop for anything just my itunes laptop :[ And its crashed and erased my music 3 times, ive had it with this laptop, the keyboard falls apart, three of my keys wont stay on and others are beginning to feel loose. Not worth the price, you can find a better laptop for the same price or lower

bababrandon
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best for the price
5/2/2010

Customer review by slick

4.0 stars 5/2/2010 by slick
by slick

Would have preferred to have intel but AMD Athlon isn't bad for the amout of ram and harddrive. Somehow programs needs to be simplified more so use is easier. In other words windows that stop you from doing something should be bigger for older people to read easier as well. Literature with this computer didn't tell you about the product code for windows office and that should be addressed so access to documents is easier. Size of unit fits my life style and it is secured at my home. Would have bought a beefier unit had I been able to afford it and this is my second Tosheba Satellite. Over all am pleased to be a customer of this unit.

slick
Mt. Home, Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1036 total reviews
1-20 of 1036 reviews