Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1081 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
573
4 stars
354
3 stars
84
2 stars
32
1 stars
38
1-20 of 1036 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1036 total reviews
1-20 of 1036 reviews
Great Machine
10/30/2009

Customer review by MrsStrawsy87

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by MrsStrawsy87
by MrsStrawsy87

I am writing this from this exact product. I went into walmart to get this and there were none on the shelf. I asked them to check everywhere because I was really interested in this laptop.. Luckily they had one in the back it was the last one. I am so glad I got it. I bought this primarily because I am a student of the university of phoenix and I wanted a laptop to do my work on so I would be more comfortable and this laptop is excellent. The keyboard is amazing and very easy to type lengthy messages on. The display is bright and clear. It runs super fast. I have no complaints and the only thing I wish it had was a built in webcam and also for the dvd burner to be capable of lightscribe. It is a great machine though and with tax and all I only paid $425 and some change. so I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (201) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsStrawsy87
Chillicothe, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent laptop
11/5/2009

Customer review by rennogsd1996

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by rennogsd1996
by rennogsd1996

What an improvement over the first Toshiba I had which crashed after a month. This machine is fast and the screen nice and bright. Handles anything I throw at it. The price is right also. Like the other user after tax it was under 425 dollars.

Was this review helpful? (140) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rennogsd1996
Fairmont, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Value
3/7/2010

Customer review by justakidd

4.0 stars 3/7/2010 by justakidd
by justakidd

Excellent value for the price! Slightly heavy and no 10-key. But I have used this computer everyday since I recieved it, watched movies on it, and just browsed. It is excellent. I run a small business and do a lot on the internet and this computer can handle it all! Great images on the screen.

Was this review helpful? (76) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justakidd
Victoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/21/2009

Customer review by wildwolf42

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by wildwolf42
by wildwolf42

I would highly recomend this laptop for everyone that is looking for a darn good laptop for a small price and not to mention windows 7 rocks

Was this review helpful? (57) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildwolf42
West Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in Toshiba
10/19/2010

Customer review by crazyteacher

2.0 stars 10/19/2010 by crazyteacher
by crazyteacher

I purchased this laptop for my personal use. I was very pleased with it until the left click key broke after only 3 weeks of use. I just read Am386's review of her repair nightmare and that stopped me from sending my laptop in for repair. I am very disappointed in the way Toshiba handles its customers . Why should we have to send our laptops to Toshiba to be repaired and charged for the repair? These laptops are supposed to be brand new ,so why don't they last any longer than they do?I work hard for very little money and this was a big purchase for me.I will never buy another Toshiba brand of anything and I will pass the word on to friends and family members.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazyteacher
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Laptop
6/8/2010

Customer review by RottieGirl1

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by RottieGirl1
by RottieGirl1

I bought this product then read the reviews and was dreading my purchase...then my laptop arrived! I love it! I had it up and running in no time. It is a bit on the heavy side, but not as heavy as a previous Toshiba laptop I had. There is no latch to hold it closed as someone else stated, but it stays securely closed and that is no trouble at all. Don't count on a 6 hour battery. It lasts maybe a maximum of two hours when working in Windows Word. If you are playing games, it lasts about 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RottieGirl1
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop!
6/28/2010

Customer review by Phall0106

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Phall0106
by Phall0106

I needed an affordable laptop to use at home for internet and word processing. I also wanted a bigger screen (as that's what I have at work), which can translate into a higher price tag. This 15.6 inch screen is very nice and sharp with clear and bright colors. I've used this laptop only a few times since my purchase, but it was very easy to set up and get running, include connecting to my wireless router. It quickly goes from page to page, and opening documents, finding programs, etc. is very easy to do. For the price, this is a nice machine.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phall0106
Manchester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this computer
3/12/2010

Customer review by MersaydesGG

4.0 stars 3/12/2010 by MersaydesGG
by MersaydesGG

I purchased this computer alittle over a month ago, and love it. The set up was very easy, and connected directly to my wireless connection, in a matter of 20 minutes I was surfing the web. I generally use this computer for photos, web, and school work, excellent for all. The only down fall I have so far is watching movies in full screen the picture is alittle blurry but tolerable, for under 400 dollars I couldn't ask for better. The windows 7 I love as well, must say the best windows by far!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MersaydesGG
Troy,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Laptop
6/7/2010

Customer review by Delvernon

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Delvernon
by Delvernon

The Toshiba laptop was a great purchase. The price was very good, and the product is top quality. The delivery was fast, and I would not hesitate to purchase this laptop again.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delvernon
Cary, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop
9/21/2010

Customer review by amb346

4.0 stars 9/21/2010 by amb346
by amb346

I have had this laptop for a few months now and i would say im pretty satisfied. The only problems are the sound isnt very loud I have to wear headphones. Another thing is that after only a month the left mouse key broke and it costed $175 to send it in to fix it. That whole experience was just ridiculous we sent it in and after they told us that we had to pay $175 to fix it we were like we will just by a portable mouse which would be way cheaper but they refused to send the laptop back until we paid the $175 and it was fixed. It took a little over 2 weeks until i got it back. ANd I babyed the heck out of it just one day when i opened it turned it on went to click and it was broke. I babyed the heck out of it and i still do. To be honest i think it was faulty equipment or something but idk. The graphics are great. The internet speed is spectacular. The battery life is probably an hour at best. Oh and it has word and stuff but its a trial verion so after about a month or so when you go to open it it asks for a product key which didnt come with the computer and even after clicking cancel it wont let you use it at all I use the old word processer which works good. I would recommend it just because of the internet speed probably because thats the only thing i really care about. I wish the volume could be louder and the mouse didnt break after only a month. Hope this helps someone

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amb346
Connellsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Got it for school
3/4/2011

Customer review by winsomewomanhd

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by winsomewomanhd
by winsomewomanhd

Laptop was given to me at Christmas. I am now back at college after 30 years. I have had several computers over the years new, and old. Never have I had one where MS Word was not included. I live out of town and going back to school could afford Internet right away. Imagine my frustration when after working 3 days on a thesis paper I was no longer able to access it in any way in ANY way. I was aware that it was threatening me with 'limited' use of the program that was No use and I could not believe it. I had a lovely laptop given to me by my very elderly mother, aunt and uncle for school and What value was it???? They where embarrassed and I was quite unhappy! Other than that.. The battery is a nuisance and certainly not a selling point! I like the sleek look it is easy to work with. The Toshiba "Cards" and some of the things it does come with are strange. All in all for the money I am happy with it. I use it for hours a day some times it slows down a bit but always recovers Windows 7 is what makes it all work.

winsomewomanhd
vancouver,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great first laptop!
3/19/2010

Customer review by BNK2009

4.0 stars 3/19/2010 by BNK2009
by BNK2009

I purchased this laptop in january this year and so far I have had no problems with it. This is my first laptop and I got it because I start college in august this year. I only have 2 complaints about the laptop: 1. When I purchased the laptop from my local walmart I was told it had about 3hrs of battery life. Well at full charge I have had 1hr 20 mins, other times I would have 2hrs at a full charge, and sometimes I would have as much as 4hrs 10mins on a full charge. I thought that a fluxuating battery life was wierd. 2. It was advertised with a built in web cam. I opened the box to find a paper saying it was "only on some models" though from pictures I viewed online and elsewhere had shown different. But besides those 2 minor things this is an overall great laptop, a first laptop anyway. It is a great deal for your money, however I recomend buying a norton internet security or antivirus. It comes with a free trial but believe me 30 days isnt very long.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BNK2009
Bruceton Mills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!!
3/6/2010

Customer review by Thehappy4

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by Thehappy4
by Thehappy4
Walmart associate

Just wanted to share my thoughts on this product with everyone. I love, love, love this laptop. Definitely proud on my decision of getting this one. No issues with it at all. If your considering buying this, go for it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thehappy4
Cottonport, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
10/25/2009

Customer review by tele64

4.0 stars 10/25/2009 by tele64
by tele64

For the price it's great.Looks a little cheap.But gets the job done for the Price.Mine has Windows 7 almost as good as Linux.

Was this review helpful? (58) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tele64
Coats,N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
More than I asked for
8/21/2010

Customer review by Iamthe1

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by Iamthe1
by Iamthe1

First it was easy to shop on the web site. Then I received it 3 days before the original estimate. I was very happy with Toshiba laptop. It connected to my home network easily. Windows 7 is different to get used to but I love the new option available.It works great and I got a better deal online than if I shopped in the store. Overall a great experience.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iamthe1
New york state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product!
7/19/2010

Customer review by Tree

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by Tree
by Tree

I am pleased with my new lap top. I took 3-4 years researching brands and prices of laptops. I finally decided on this laptop because it was the right price for what I need it. I did think it had a camera because that was one of my requirements, but forgot to check in the specifications on this one before I purchased. So I'm disappointed in that because communicating with my relatives out of the area is a priority. The only thing I didn't learn in my research was the software I would need like privacy protection and warranty protection, in case it gets broken, or crashes etc. I don't have that additional money right now, and therefore wouldn't have purchased it at this time. Those things are very important - vital even! So think about factoring those things in when you purchase. I just hope the reputation that Toshiba has is true and I won't have to worry about a crash. I will have to purchase Spy ware or Nortell for privacy protection. Thank you.

Tree
Prince George's County, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Satellite L455D-S5976
11/21/2010

Customer review by CowboyBill1

3.0 stars 11/21/2010 by CowboyBill1
by CowboyBill1

I Purchased my laptop back in February 2010. It ran really good for 9 months until it one day locked up and I turned the computer off and it would'nt power on. I then called Toshiba technical support and I think I called India on their toll free number. Needless to say the gentleman's accent was so thick and I could hardly understand him. They said that the hard drive had crashed then they said the connection to the motherboard from the hard drive could have a short and then they finally said they think that the motherboard may have failed. Anyways I have been a PC/MAC tech more than 17 years now and the only thing that made any sense was the motherboard had failed. I have sent the computer to the depot because they said there isnt a place locally that could repair it in Charlotte NC under my factory warranty. I am waiting to hear what the exact issue is. But I do feel that if it is the motherboard it should have held up better than 9 months with gentle use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CowboyBill1
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a very good buy
10/21/2010

Customer review by sunperch

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by sunperch
by sunperch

I got this computer to replace my Acer Mini to do my photo editing projects on and i have to say that it has turned into my main computer! the graphics are really sharp on it and it is a great value for the price. I had considered a HP laptop but i am glad that i changed my mind! Pros: very fast internet and you can get to all of your programs fast. Screen size is PERFECT! and the silver color does not show fingerprints, and it is classy looking. the computer over all is easy to handle. The SD card slot is on the bottom of the computer but i like the fact that the card does not go in all the way and is easy to remove. Cons: just one, no built in cam, but easy to fix.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunperch
Samson, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First Laptop
4/2/2010

Customer review by Donna

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Donna
by Donna

I'm a self-taught computer user, meaning that I've pretty much learned a PC on my own, but I have learned other valuable info at work and by just experimenting here at home. This is my first experience using a laptop. I bought it because of Toshiba's reputation. But I don't like the way the cursor scoots around the screen without being manipulated by my using the mouse. Also, I would have preferred having Windows XP, that is on my desktop computer, which I'm using. I'm probably just used to XP, but I do try to get used to Windows 7. The way I have to close out a window is kind of spooky - sometimes when I just place the cursor over the "X" and don't click on it immediately, the window closes without my having to click on it. (Sometimes I change my mind about closing the window, but NO, I'm not fast enough.) There are a couple of other things that I can't recall right off-hand, but you do have a very nice product, and I might buy another one.

Donna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my Laptop
2/14/2010

Customer review by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL
by mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL

My husband got me this for Chrismas after getting me a very expensve laptop that did not work after 2 days. So we exchanged it for the same on and after 2 hours it didn't work. I went with him and we picked this one. It is made better, thicker, and all out tough! I droped this once from thetable when my baby girl grabed me one day and IT is still working with NO issues!! I love the easy to see screen, and It works well for work, persoal or just play. I tell everyone I see out looking to get this or another Toshiba. My dad has one of the very first Toshibas ever made, yes its abit slow now but still works well and i hooked to my ethernet! My friends or children use that when they need to borrow the Net =) When I out grow this Meaning when its old and my oldest child is ready for one she will get this one ANd I will be buying only TOSHIBA!! I just love this lap top, I just wish it were all silver or they had all black. That is my only complaint! LOVE THIS LAPTOP WONDERFUL PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET!! WOULD PAY MORE FOR IT IF I HAD TOO!!

mom/cna/bible study teacher use this for ALL
Belle Vernon, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1036 total reviews
1-20 of 1036 reviews