Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 38 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 38 reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Wish they had a shade darker than medium.
9/18/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My skin tone is usually a tanned one, I wish this loose powder would be available in a tone similar since medium creates a pale tone in my face and doesn´t look pretty since it doesn't match.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great
2/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I once was a makeup consultant for a company that produced makeup and other personal care products and I liked their loose face powder quiet a bit. but this face powder is less expensive and looks just as great. I have a shiny face even though I am over 7o years old and this product is the best for reducing my shinny face and doesn't cause my rosacea to flare up. And the results are very professional.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good coverage
3/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice light coverage to finish off ones base make-up. Does not clog ones pores, and keeps a shine free coverage all day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
True translucent look
5/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I have been using this powder for years and love the way it absorbs oil and has a true translucent look !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product doesnt exists in the Europe store?
8/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I couldnt find this product in any shop in Europe, do you know why this happens? Thank you in advance.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
2/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My other powder got discontinued, so I wanted to find a good replacement. This did not disappoint, especially for the price. I wasn't sure what to expect since I kind of picked this at random, but I am really happy with it. The powder comes out of the container really easily, which I like, although it can be a little messy. The powder goes on nicely, the color is good, and it lasts several hours before it needs to be retouched. I will buy again and would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
have bought this product over & over again
8/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great make powder very good item use all the time [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not exactly "shine free".
8/10/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product in "Light" and tried wearing it both over liquid foundation makeup and alone. Maybe my skin is just extremely oily, but this product didn't leave me shine free all day. Maximum, I'd say about three hours. It also made my face look very cake-y when I applied it over liquid foundation. However, I did notice an improvement with the amount of oil and shine on my face compared to my last powder foundation; the shade is too light for my skin alone but over the liquid foundation, it really helped with the orange tint the liquid leaves on my face, so I'm happy to report that it was worth trying out. I'll be on the lookout for better oil-control, but this is a good foundation to buy if you do experience a little shine here and there at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Got oily in less than 2 hours
7/13/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this about 2 months ago have noticed that lately my skin has been out of control oily. I thought it was dietary issues or skincare products that were to blame. I purchased a different powder today that I've used in the past and realized it was just this powder that was failing to keep my skin oil-free. Even if I pack the powder on, my skin becomes oil slick within a couple of hours. Do not reccomend!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ofmay be
7/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
GOod [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Maybelline Loose Powder
11/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
good
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I miss the Shine Free Pressed Powder!
5/27/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am disappointed in the quality of this product compared to the Shine Free Pressed Powder that has been discontinued. I had been using the pressed powder for many years and LOVED it. I use many high-end make up brands, but was always devoted to the Shine Free Pressed Powder that I've used since the 1990s! I would have easily paid 4 times the price. The loose version doesn't measure up. The coverage isn't as good. Also, it's too big and messy to carry in my purse. I don't know why Maybelline discontinued the pressed version and kept selling the loose powder. Bad choice, Maybelline.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best drugstore powder
5/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Im a MAC makeup artist and I use this powder on on my freelance clients. It's best suited for oily skin types but I've used this on dry and combo skin and it sets beautifully and makes foundation last much longer. I prefer this over my high end powders as it just makes makeup last so long. The only down fall I'd say is they need a better color range. I also think this is better than the new fit me loose powder they just put out in my opinion. I hope they never discontinue this powder!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Needs More Color Options
5/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While it gives me good coverage and doesn't leave my face looking like a disco ball, it's too dark for me. I'm pale. We're talking some porcelain-ivory make-up is too dark for me. "Light" in my tan, if I could tan. I have to mix it with cornstarch to make it light enough. I can't seem to find the "translucent" shade of whatever brand powder I normally use. If you aren't really pale I'd say go for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too Dark
5/16/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I normally wear Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse in Porcelain Ivory. I am naturally PALE. I just wanted a powder to set my my make-up. This isn't it. As a powder it's fine, but it's entirely too dark for me. I had to mix it with cornstarch to make it light enough. I can't seem to find my usual "translucent" powder I normally use. I thought "light" would work, but Maybelline's Light is my Tan.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of money
8/24/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't know if I just have ULTRA oily skin, but this powder did NOT work for me. It does take the shine away as soon as I apply it, but after less than 30 mins my face is oily again. Not to mention this powder has no coverage whatsoever (I bought the color medium) and it looks cakey when I apply it. It just did not work with me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Maybelline Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder
8/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my favorite face powder, and it is priced more reasonably than other brands.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesnt help reduce shine
3/28/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried alot of powders because i have very oily skin and decided to try this product because i like alot of maybellines stuff, but this powder made me every more oily and shiny than i was without any makeup at all. It says it is shine free, but it didnt work at reducing shine at all and it looked cakey. It was also way to dark even in the lightest shade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
shine free product
1/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like this powder because I don't like shine and this does it for me. Very fine. Not heavy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loose powder
3/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the product. It truely does away with the shine. I just wish the powder puff would last. My puff always wears out before I finish using the powder. It comes apart and the stuffing falls out. Other powder puffs I buy separately, are smaller and don't do the job. I would love it if you would either add an extra puff or put one out there that a consumer could buy separately.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-