Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 36 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Inexpensive and effective food storage tool.
6/27/2011

Customer review by RobsZ3

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by RobsZ3
by RobsZ3

I bought the Ziplock Vacuum Starter Kit to replace my battery-chomping Reynolds Handi-Vac food storage system. The Reynolds bags were becoming difficult to find and that's not the case with Ziplock. It's less expensive, available, and just as effective for sealing and storing food.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobsZ3
Owasso, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT!!!
6/14/2010

Customer review by lilangelett

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by lilangelett
by lilangelett

These bags work great, their fast and easy use and keep food safe from freezer burn

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilangelett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ziploc seal bags
11/16/2009

Customer review by cooktoplease

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by cooktoplease
by cooktoplease

I love the procuct but couldn't find the bags after I purchaced the procucts. It is so neat. I can reseal the bags even when I have taken an item from them. And I put my lettuce in the gags and seal and don't loose any lettuce anymore. It is really great.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooktoplease
Trout Creek, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does a respectable job...
6/29/2014

Customer review by audchild

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by audchild
by audchild

I see many reviews stating the bags don't hold the vacuum seal. Yes, here and there you get one that won't hold a seal...but, seriously, for the price you can't beat it. Far and away, most all the bags do a great job, if you make sure the zipper is closed and rub your finger over the valve after pumping all the air out. I can put fresh baked bread in these and remove the air, and they will keep for about 10 days in the fridge. Now, anyone who bakes fresh breads knows, it only takes about 3 days to see mold on your loaves, so this is a great product for stuff like that. I also seal up meat, cheese, veggies, fruit, you name it. I think the best thing I've found so far to do with these bags would be 1. freezing on sale bananas for my morning smoothies. Just peal, freeze overnight on a sheet pan. Load the large zip loc with about 6 or so and pump the air out. You can open, remove desired amount and reseal with no problems. And 2. marinating meats. You'll be surprised at how deeply your marinade/bourbon/wine, etc, penetrates the meat when it's done in a vacuum sealed bag. And since the pump is easily cleaned, I don't worry about a little marinade/meat juice getting on it. All in all, a very good value for your hard earned grocery dollars.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
audchild
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Great idea. Doesn't work
12/3/2013

Customer review by blathem

1.0 stars 12/3/2013 by blathem
by blathem

The little hand pump isn't the problem. it pulls out a lot of air,but maybe one bag in ten holds for any length of time. I won't be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blathem
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice n easy
2/6/2012

Customer review by sillyokie

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by sillyokie
by sillyokie

This is a very simple way to protect food from freezer burn. No electric, just a few pumps and the air is gone. The bags are sturdy and seem well equipped to handle the job. Time will tell, but so far I'm very pleased with this whole system.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillyokie
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great for Storing Food in Fridge
7/18/2013

Customer review by CaregivingMadeEasier

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by CaregivingMadeEasier
by CaregivingMadeEasier

This is my second purchase so I have an extra vacuum pump to use with the bags. I use these vacuum bags to store produce and keep it fresh, to seal up cheese and keep it from molding, and to freeze fresh veggies from the garden. Using the hand pump is easy, effective, and uses no batteries YET you can still get all the air out through the vacuum suction area of the bag. Have bags in both sizes so can use for small or medium size items.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaregivingMadeEasier
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
extremely disappointed
1/13/2014

Customer review by Aliuqehs

1.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Aliuqehs
by Aliuqehs

I was looking for a way to keep my food from getting freezer burnt all the time because it seems like I am constantly throwing out food if I don't use it fast enough, I read a blog that suggested getting a vacuum sealing machine, (well I don't have the money for that right now.) Then I saw a comment that was along the lines of "why pay all that money for an expensive machine when you can get the ziploc vacuum sealer pump and bags for just a few dollars?" Next time I went shopping in walmart I came across these, so I bought the starter kit plus a box of each bags, quart & gallon. I was very excited to try them out when I got home, I used them all on the new food I just bought, I checked them out about 2 days later and almost all the seals had came undone. Extremely disappointing. I tried to fix the problem by putting tape over the valves so air couldn't leak out, I checked the next afternoon and once again, most of the seals still came undone. I will try once more by taping up the edges of the bag in one last desperate attempt to save my food, but after that I'm just not gonna buy any more freezer food or this product until I have the extra cash on hand to get a better system. I'm sad that I wasted my money. This is a product I would have kept on buying, I hope they can fix the issue someday.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aliuqehs
Bemidji, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Neat pump but bags don't hold a seal.
12/30/2013

Customer review by MountainCustomer

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by MountainCustomer
by MountainCustomer

Very simple but functional manual vacuum pump. However, the bags as provided in the starter kit are poor at holding the vacuum. Only one of the three bags in the starter kit held the vacuum seal for 24 hours. One of the three would not hold for a single hour. I ordered two extra boxes of bags with the kit. I will continue to try more bags from each box, but so far I am quite disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainCustomer
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nifty little gadget
5/19/2014

Customer review by SamGG123

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SamGG123
by SamGG123

Bought this to remove air from Mason Jars/Lids for juicing. It is very quick and easy and was the cheapest alternative to purchasing a vacuum sealer unit. Plus, it is small and doesn't take up any room on the counter. Not to mention the noise level with a vacuum sealer unit! After punching a small hole in the lid with a push pin, just place a small piece of electrical tape over the hole and remove the air with the Ziploc Vacuum Sealer unit. It keeps the air out until we are ready to use it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamGG123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BAG DOES NOT HOLD SEAL
1/2/2014

Customer review by Chicagoland2

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Chicagoland2
by Chicagoland2

THE BAGS DON'T HOLD THE SEAL FOR MORE THAN A WEEK. I even tried sealing the pump seal and zip-lock ends with 2 inch transparent tape. BAGS STILL LEAK AIR. THESE ARE A WASTE OF MONEY. I think the good reviews came from people who did not wait to see how well these hold.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chicagoland2
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1/3/2012

Customer review by kjunmanus

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by kjunmanus
by kjunmanus

This is my second time to order this product. Had no trouble with first order. I ordered 3 the second time. Two were for gifts. Not sure if they worked but the one that I ordered for myself did not work & too much of a hassle to return/exchange.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kjunmanus
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This vacuum pump really keeps food fresh longer.
6/14/2014

Customer review by glowfish

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by glowfish
by glowfish

I love this vacuum pump. It is quick and easy to use and it keeps my food fresh longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glowfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IN STORE
4/23/2014

Customer review by Jeanni49

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Jeanni49
by Jeanni49

I'd like it even better If I could get the bags in my store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeanni49
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Money Saver
2/2/2013

Customer review by Bray1231

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by Bray1231
by Bray1231

Much more convenient that a vacuum machine!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bray1231
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saves Money On Food Spoilage
9/15/2014

Customer review by glwest

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by glwest
by glwest

These bags DO work in spite of the fact that some of the other reviews state otherwise. I have used these since they first became available. They are so simple too. If you want to save a head if lettuce, left over avocado, etc, just use the appropriate size bag, be sure there is no food is IN the zipper itself. Then before pumping double check that the zipper is securely closed. Pump tight, throw in fridge and your done. The pump has a simple assembly and is lightweight and small. The ONLY downside I have found at all is that for freezer use they do not hold seals for long periods if time. This is most likely due to riffling through the freezer throwing foods around and small pin holes getting in bag. However, the very same issues occur with expensive electric pump systems. I had one. They do not work any better for freezer use. I wanted this because it takes NO counter space, which I do not have to spare. Finally these bags can be reused MANY times. In fact I read a tip that says when the bags zipper wears a bit and doesn't want to seal, just rub a bit of oil (veg., olive, etc) on the zipper itself and it's like new. I've yet to try that but many on the forum agreed it works. Please do not be deterred by neigh-sayers. This system works well and it's very inexpensive. I gave $10-$15 per roll (depending on roll length) for the electric pump system plastic and believe me, there isn't much on one roll! This is so very much less expensive. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glwest
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Amazing!
5/9/2012

Customer review by Hanson1224

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Hanson1224
by Hanson1224

You cannot beat this product for the job it does and the price!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hanson1224
Handy little tool
3/28/2013

Customer review by PoeticSeams

4.0 stars 3/28/2013 by PoeticSeams
by PoeticSeams

I bought this just for the vacuum sealer to jar salads. It was more expensive than I wanted to pay for just the sealer and it didn't have many bags in it at all. The shipping was more expensive than the product and so I feel I wasted money buying it online. But then, it was nowhere to be found in my regular wal-mart so I had to settle for ordering it online. The sealer works great. Its a little hard to tell if the jar is sealed completely or not, but it seems to do a great job

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoeticSeams
DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pump did not work at all.
4/8/2013

Customer review by Rolkeisn

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Rolkeisn
by Rolkeisn

The pump was non-functinal. It did not remove any air at all from the sealed bags.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rolkeisn
Brillion, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT INVENTION
10/2/2013

Customer review by VALEN44

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by VALEN44
by VALEN44

I JUST LOVE THESE BAGS. KEEPS ALL THE FOOD NICE . DONT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BATTERIES.JUST WASH AFTER USING. THANKS ZIPLOCK

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VALEN44
STATEN ISLAND NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews