Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 55 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Keep food fresher longer on shelf, in fridge, and in the freezer
1/24/2016

Customer review by Larrs

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Larrs
by Larrs

I find this to be an outstanding product. I vacuum pack shelf items like flour, nuts, baking powder, etc. I buy large wheels of cheese and cut them in wedges. After wrapping in plastic wrap, I vacuum them in large bags. I can keep this cheese for months in the refrigerator. I also wrap all kinds of meat cuts and poultry in plastic wrap and them vacuum them. Good bye freezer burn. They are also great for traveling - portable and re-vacuumable. My only critique is that occasionally there are bags that don't hold the vacuum. I live in Mexico but always buy many bags when I am in the US.

Larrs
Mexico City, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does a respectable job...
6/29/2014

Customer review by audchild

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by audchild
by audchild
Top 250 contributor

I see many reviews stating the bags don't hold the vacuum seal. Yes, here and there you get one that won't hold a seal...but, seriously, for the price you can't beat it. Far and away, most all the bags do a great job, if you make sure the zipper is closed and rub your finger over the valve after pumping all the air out. I can put fresh baked bread in these and remove the air, and they will keep for about 10 days in the fridge. Now, anyone who bakes fresh breads knows, it only takes about 3 days to see mold on your loaves, so this is a great product for stuff like that. I also seal up meat, cheese, veggies, fruit, you name it. I think the best thing I've found so far to do with these bags would be 1. freezing on sale bananas for my morning smoothies. Just peal, freeze overnight on a sheet pan. Load the large zip loc with about 6 or so and pump the air out. You can open, remove desired amount and reseal with no problems. And 2. marinating meats. You'll be surprised at how deeply your marinade/bourbon/wine, etc, penetrates the meat when it's done in a vacuum sealed bag. And since the pump is easily cleaned, I don't worry about a little marinade/meat juice getting on it. All in all, a very good value for your hard earned grocery dollars.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audchild
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Easy to use and works.
1/15/2016

Customer review by none

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by none
by none

The bags and pump work great. I use them all the time and my food stays fresh. I wish they were reusable.

none
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Ziploc manual vacuum pump
10/21/2015

Customer review by carks

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by carks
by carks

I already had this pump and the electric pump from Foodsaver. I plan on giving the new Ziploc pump to my daughter to get her started with vacuum sealing. I also have a Foodsaver and the jar connections. The manual Ziploc pump actually works better - it is much faster at both sealing and making a vacuum. I have to leave the electric pump connected so it always works (not a problem) but it is difficult to make the seal on a Ziploc bag to start the evacuation of air. The Ziploc pump always seals easily. I do use both - each is at opposite ends of the kitchen. The manual pump is certainly cheaper and I recommend it for a beginner vacuum sealer. I can always find Ziploc vacuum bags in a store, but not the pump. I divide foods into portions then store them in Ziploc bags i the freezer so I can use a portion and then reseal them in the bag - this is not easy to do in a Foodsaver bag sealed by the machine. This item is a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a joke.
1/22/2016

Customer review by bonbon

1.0 stars 1/22/2016 by bonbon
by bonbon

I wanted to wash the pump before using it but the handle broke when I went to remove the top. A straw would do better removing the air.NO GOOD

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bonbon
Would recommend to a friend? No
extremely disappointed
1/13/2014

Customer review by Aliuqehs

1.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Aliuqehs
by Aliuqehs

I was looking for a way to keep my food from getting freezer burnt all the time because it seems like I am constantly throwing out food if I don't use it fast enough, I read a blog that suggested getting a vacuum sealing machine, (well I don't have the money for that right now.) Then I saw a comment that was along the lines of "why pay all that money for an expensive machine when you can get the ziploc vacuum sealer pump and bags for just a few dollars?" Next time I went shopping in walmart I came across these, so I bought the starter kit plus a box of each bags, quart & gallon. I was very excited to try them out when I got home, I used them all on the new food I just bought, I checked them out about 2 days later and almost all the seals had came undone. Extremely disappointing. I tried to fix the problem by putting tape over the valves so air couldn't leak out, I checked the next afternoon and once again, most of the seals still came undone. I will try once more by taping up the edges of the bag in one last desperate attempt to save my food, but after that I'm just not gonna buy any more freezer food or this product until I have the extra cash on hand to get a better system. I'm sad that I wasted my money. This is a product I would have kept on buying, I hope they can fix the issue someday.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aliuqehs
Bemidji, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT!!!
6/14/2010

Customer review by lilangelett

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by lilangelett
by lilangelett

These bags work great, their fast and easy use and keep food safe from freezer burn

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilangelett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'd love to love them!
12/9/2015

Customer review by Sarah

1.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Sarah
by Sarah

I have two issues with these guys that I really loved when they were still in the box: the gallon bags can not be pumped, I can't get the air out. The quart bags can be pumped, they look great for a few hours then need to be repumped. I do a lot of prep work in advance and store my produce sliced and chopped in Pyrex boxes. I thought the bags would be a great alternative and could also be frozen, well..they are not up to the task, sadly.

Sarah
New Orleans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Inexpensive and effective food storage tool.
6/27/2011

Customer review by RobsZ3

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by RobsZ3
by RobsZ3

I bought the Ziplock Vacuum Starter Kit to replace my battery-chomping Reynolds Handi-Vac food storage system. The Reynolds bags were becoming difficult to find and that's not the case with Ziplock. It's less expensive, available, and just as effective for sealing and storing food.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobsZ3
Owasso, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nifty little gadget
5/19/2014

Customer review by SamGG123

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SamGG123
by SamGG123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to remove air from Mason Jars/Lids for juicing. It is very quick and easy and was the cheapest alternative to purchasing a vacuum sealer unit. Plus, it is small and doesn't take up any room on the counter. Not to mention the noise level with a vacuum sealer unit! After punching a small hole in the lid with a push pin, just place a small piece of electrical tape over the hole and remove the air with the Ziploc Vacuum Sealer unit. It keeps the air out until we are ready to use it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamGG123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ziploc seal bags
11/16/2009

Customer review by cooktoplease

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by cooktoplease
by cooktoplease

I love the procuct but couldn't find the bags after I purchaced the procucts. It is so neat. I can reseal the bags even when I have taken an item from them. And I put my lettuce in the gags and seal and don't loose any lettuce anymore. It is really great.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooktoplease
Trout Creek, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great idea. Doesn't work
12/3/2013

Customer review by blathem

1.0 stars 12/3/2013 by blathem
by blathem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The little hand pump isn't the problem. it pulls out a lot of air,but maybe one bag in ten holds for any length of time. I won't be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blathem
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ziploc vacuum system with bags
12/6/2015

Customer review by Geordee

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Geordee
by Geordee

I have been using this for years. I had an expensive sealing system & never did really like it. As a single person it is hard to buy any kind of meat for one. This system works perfect. It is very rarely I get any freezer burn on my meat. It is sometimes hard to get the quart size bags & my only complaint. Very simple to use. No big sealer unit on countertop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geordee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Storing Food in Fridge
7/18/2013

Customer review by CaregivingMadeEasier

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by CaregivingMadeEasier
by CaregivingMadeEasier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second purchase so I have an extra vacuum pump to use with the bags. I use these vacuum bags to store produce and keep it fresh, to seal up cheese and keep it from molding, and to freeze fresh veggies from the garden. Using the hand pump is easy, effective, and uses no batteries YET you can still get all the air out through the vacuum suction area of the bag. Have bags in both sizes so can use for small or medium size items.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaregivingMadeEasier
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Neat pump but bags don't hold a seal.
12/30/2013

Customer review by MountainCustomer

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by MountainCustomer
by MountainCustomer

Very simple but functional manual vacuum pump. However, the bags as provided in the starter kit are poor at holding the vacuum. Only one of the three bags in the starter kit held the vacuum seal for 24 hours. One of the three would not hold for a single hour. I ordered two extra boxes of bags with the kit. I will continue to try more bags from each box, but so far I am quite disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainCustomer
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worked at first, but next day the vacuum was gone.
11/3/2015

Customer review by Marco

1.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Marco
by Marco

It seemed awesome at first. Vacuum sealed perfectly and easily. Looked like astronaut food! But was disappointed to find the vacuum was not holding the next day - looked just like three regular bags of ziplocked food. Bummer.

Marco
Nashville , TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
BAG DOES NOT HOLD SEAL
1/2/2014

Customer review by Chicagoland2

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Chicagoland2
by Chicagoland2

THE BAGS DON'T HOLD THE SEAL FOR MORE THAN A WEEK. I even tried sealing the pump seal and zip-lock ends with 2 inch transparent tape. BAGS STILL LEAK AIR. THESE ARE A WASTE OF MONEY. I think the good reviews came from people who did not wait to see how well these hold.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chicagoland2
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
while it lasts
11/30/2015

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Bill
by Bill

Get it while it lasts. the company is discontinuing these items and it too bad because they really work well. I will not buy anymore from S A Johnson, nothing, nada!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice n easy
2/6/2012

Customer review by sillyokie

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by sillyokie
by sillyokie

This is a very simple way to protect food from freezer burn. No electric, just a few pumps and the air is gone. The bags are sturdy and seem well equipped to handle the job. Time will tell, but so far I'm very pleased with this whole system.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sillyokie
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
BETTER THAN ELECTRIC
9/24/2015

Customer review by meme48

5.0 stars 9/24/2015 by meme48
by meme48

I bought this awhile back. It is so easy to use and it works awesome. I have owned a couple of electric vacuum sealer machines in the past but they end up not working after awhile or not working like they are supposed to. The Ziploc Vacuum works great each and every time. I will never buy another electric vacuum sealer again. Ziploc works way better than any of them. I highly reccommend Ziploc Vacuum to everyone...they won't be disappointed.

meme48
Auburn, ME, United States
Gender:Female
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews